(2007) Brides of year 2007

to jhoo....for me, im getting cake vouchers...cos my married friends advise me that by the time of the end of delivery of cakes, they would have melted because of the heat trapped in the sun

delivery of cakes can last for a 4 -5 hours or even the whole day

hi pple,
as for me...i'll be buying those simple marble cake from Sweet Secrets, tink it won't melt so no worries on dat. Plus its relatively cheap at $8 per cake, and u get to decide what to print on e cake, be it ur wedding photo or other lovey-dovey stuff!

Hey gugi,

You coming to Singapore soon rite? Excited or not? You only have a few days in sg to settle ur stuff hoh, gotta take care ok?

I was quite surprised with my ROM too.. Mayb coz it was in a function room and that was why it looked like a wedding dinner loh. If it's at outdoor, like poolside, mayb won't look more like a ROM..

I v skinny hoh.. My FIL always asks me to eat more loh.. =P

Carol, thanks for the info. Wil probably pop by Fuse Concept to take a look.

Viv, gotta jiayou! Looking for flat can be quite tiring loh.. There was once tt I viewed 8 flats in 3hrs! Shack loh!

gugi,

You can check from this site regarding becoming PR.
http://app.ica.gov.sg/serv_pr/per_res/app_for_pr.asp

As long as you inform your guests earlier abt ur wedding, I'm sure they will turn up. So not to worry. I'm more worried abt my relatives not turning up or too many turn up.. As for friends, they will definitely turn up unless last min not free.

As for BS, you can try mine. Can go there and take a look at their photos. Quite impressive. =)

hey gals...thanks!!

stary, we're not having a church ceremony coz my church is fully booked till July 07 as far as I've known and anyway my designer won't have enough time to make the gowns anyway.

Thanks pei lin, I'm considering having it at the same hotel i initially wanted for my wedding lunch since the deposit can't be returned. So my co-ordinator is going to help me find out if can be used to offset.

me here!!

drea>> I'll reply your email once I hv the contact details with me. It's @ my FH's home.

I'm so exicted for you! ROM matters I know I know!! Can also ask me...haha.

For ROM pkg, you can take up Empire since u wanted Wedding Present for your BS but didn't select it, hehee.

As for venue, I'll email you some of the nice spots to do it.

And not to worry, you still have time to do it. Trust me, I only booked my venue in Sept when my ROM is 3 mths down the road

Oh yeah! 8 Dec...but too bad lah, we already booked our hotel venue ler.

Hallo Ladies,

Yup, talking abt the cakes for the GDL lor...

Mei, no offense lah... I know my dress plain that's y thinking of going to buy another one lor.. I think i m picky lah... coz usually i see some nice gowns and then their workmanship lousy.. I cannot take it one lor... I went to check out Blum b4.... I dun like their gowns coz they re heavily beaded!

That day, i tried on this gown at Karen Millen in Wisma. If its on 50% discount, i would hv bought it liao.... coz the price is $819!

Yup, i think i shd pop by Amoy St and check the 2 shops out!

Just came back from Mustafa.. went there to eat indian food & buy rubbish.. happy leh!

kaye... Karen Millen dresses are darn nice lor! Think can get drama glam dresses easily now coz it's xmas season.. got a lot of such dresses. I keep a lookout for you.. got anything nice, I let you know.

kaye, I just remembered another shop you can visit, it's called Lai Chan & it's located at Raffles Hotel, 2nd floor. They have got nice dresses too.

Hi merdregon,

Welcome welcome! Is your wedding in March 07? Are u going for MTM or OTR gowns? If u are thinking of MTM, time could be a bit tight. However, there's also a lot of beautiful OTr gowns around too

yeah mymelody, will sure share my pics after the PS. Will only be in apr-may period :-)
Btw, you have any places in mind already for the outdoor shoot ?

cheers....

Hi gals... mi went to the expo again today. tis time with hubby to attend the singapore home design fair. fell in love with the cellini UFO loveseat but didn't placed any deposit though it was on offer SGD1300 (can less another 10%). hubby promised dat i can get it for our study room cosy corner but muz till they got offer next yr.

430125.jpg

jas, initially we were quite keen to sign up with unim*x creative (replace * with a) but hubby decided on orange cube. we signed with them on the EA premium package (abt 10k odd after disc) but will be adding in more things.

hi all, Very stressed up with finding a suitable venue for my wedding in 2007. Have been given a date by FMIL -- 27 Oct 2007. Been searching high and low for hotels/ restaurants however seems like all i asked are fully booked for that date. Can anyone give any advice pls? know of anywhere i can hold the wedding on 27 Oct 2007? (i m still trying to pyscho MIL to change date)

Anyone knows where else is available for booking on 27 Oct 2007. I'm desperately seraching for a place (have already asked several hotels and restaurants but to no avail). date given by FMIL..insist that it's the perfect date for FH and I....Super stress!!

been fer gown selection todae.. is kinda tiring..cuz at one shot i had choosen 8 gowns.. *faint* haiz.. finally is over but overall is a really enjoyable process.... now waiting fer my photoshoot .. have arrange it to be on the 11th jan.. dun noe way decide on this date too.. got bout a mths plus to make myself more tone up.. being a chub chub kind

Thanks Mei!
I will go check it out...

I told my Mum just now that I need to get a new evening gown. Think my husband will faint... But heck... coz Wedding is once in a life time thing!

Yup, Mustafa really sells alot of funny things. My husband and I will go there and check out their things.. Some of the stuff they sell is cheaper than other places. And going to the place is like treasure hunt!

Hi Carol,

Thanks. I went to Fuse Concept already and met an ID called Wai Yeen. How's is he huh? Now waiting for his quote loh. Oh yah, can share ur hse reno photo with me? And if possible, can share with me ur quote too? Can email to [email protected]

Thanks a lot for your help.

Oh yah, I also went to a shop called V3gas(replace 3 with e).. Any comments? Reliable or not?

Janice, I think you just have to keep calling each and every hotel to check. 27 Oct 2007 is a very very popular date as you can see from the table above. Hope to hear gd news from u soon!

Morning!

kaye, I agree, wedding is once in a lifetime, wearing something you love & are comfortable is important. You'll immediately exude confidence & this translates to you looking really good.

Yeah, Mustafa really sells all sorts of things.. I bought a battery-operated nostril hair trimmer for my dad.. heheh.

im getting banana cake after trying all the cakes at bengawan solo...my mum and hubby decided that we should split into 2 groups to distribute the cakes, thus, shouldn't be any problem

hubby haven buy the shoe yet. he decided to buy back the old design he has currently. Predo front is sharp sharp one and he's not used to it, hehe..metro that day we went, and its ladies night and only ladies can go in...he wanna go queenstown to check it out

Yes, wedding is once in a life time thing, go for it if u are happy ya!

<font color="119911">hi janice, you've got a very HOT date! I booked my AD venue 2 months ago and then it was already mostly fully booked! So I had to give up my first choice. Luckily I could still get a nice hotel. In your case, if you can't get a hotel, you have to start looking for restaurants already. Try tung lok? If not you can explore options like yatch club, renting botanic gardens for a outdoor wedding, fort canning's jewel box or mount fabor's altivo</font>

<font color="119911">hi tinkerstar, my friend's working in v3gas. There were some negative comments here but if I'm not wrong, that person has left the company. But I personally like their designs. They're reliable if you ask me. A friend of mine loved their designs and went back to them 2 times for 2 houses!</font>

agnes>> nice chair!! we saw a similar one in BKK Suan Lum market but it's in black.

they have nice chairs/furnitures &amp; ornamental stuff in BKK but too bad, difficult to arrange to ship it back.

BTW, anyone read Sunday Times Pg 8 tdy? weeliew talk abt Punggol vs Sengkang flats.

I don't think it's true leh...SK flats can also command quite high price. No doubt many are selling but also many are buying.

Sometimes, cannot trust newspaper one...it's all propaganda, hehehee

Hi Muffin &amp; Toyokodreams,

My AD is also falls on 21 April 2007.
Holding my banquet at Holiday inn Parkview, ie. the same as Celestial

Think I am slow in preparation, have yet
choose my gown for PS. Going down next Sat.

Wow...so many ladies now...hee
Gals, Hows your preparation?
Have anyone went Batam before? Need some advise on Batam. Thought of gg there for short trip after ROM.

junie, i tink i wun buy such a big piece of furniture fm bkk. shipping is a problem, den if got defect also cannot change.

yeah, saw the sunday times article. but i tink it's nt really true lor. are they trying to demoralise those ppl (including us) who bought flats in SK??? dun trust them!!!

jas, agreed it's abit expensive but i treat it as an investment.
they have a smaller one which is 2/3 of this size and abt $200 cheaper. i prefer the bigger one coz can seat 2 person.

the package from unim*x creative (replace * with a) and orange cube was rather competitive. see below for comparison

unim*x creative package (we'll confirm get the usual price if we sign up coz we dun intend to sign at exhibition, oni wan to put down $200 deposit for the kitchen solid surface worktop)
price: $12,788 if sign at exhibition (u.p. $14,788);
- kitchen cabinet base
- washing machine base
- fridge base
- labour to install sink n tap
- labour to install 1 heater
- supply/install inlet/outlet piping for washing machine
- supply/install inlet/outlet piping for kitchen sink
- supply labour to install 2 sets of toilet accessories
- supply/install false ceiling/L-box for living hall
- supply/install false ceiling/L-box for dining hall
- supply/install false ceiling/L-box for bedroom passage way
- painting of whole house using ICI/Nippon emulsion paint
- painting of all doors/frame, gate, piping, etc.
- supply and install kitchen cabinet 20ft (top &amp; bottom) in laminate finish c/w ABS trimming &amp; 2pcs of frosted glass door
- supply and install high pressure laminated post form wooden kitchen worktop (10ft) <-- can opt to change to solid surface worktop at $69/ft but muz put down $200 deposit
- 1 set of drawer c/w metal runners, 1pc of cutlery tray, imported designer handles and hinges
- feature wall for living or household shelter
- low shoe cabinet
- low bed head panel
- 2 bedside tables
- full height 6ft wardrobe c/w swing door (must top up $$ for sliding door) in laminate/veneer finish
- low 3ft tv console for MBR
- supply haulage and delivery of goods to site
- clearing of whole house debris
- general cleaning and acid wash
- floor protection

orange cube package
price: $10,159.20 disc 10% if sign at exhibition (u.p. $11,288);
- kitchen cabinet base
- washing machine base
- fridge base
- supply/install false ceiling/L-box for living hall
- supply/install false ceiling/L-box for dining hall
- supply/install false ceiling/L-box for bedroom passage way
- painting of whole house using ICI/Nippon emulsion paint
- painting of all doors/frame, gate, piping, etc with ICI/Nippon gloss paint.
- supply/install inlet/outlet piping for washing machine
- supply/install inlet/outlet piping for kitchen sink
- supply labour to install 2 sets of toilet accessories
- labour to install kitchen sink n tap
- labour to install 2 heater
- design, fabricate &amp; install 20ft kitchen cabinets in laminate finish c/w ABS trimming
- supply and install 10ft solid surface worktop
- supply labour to install cook hood &amp; hob
- 6ft full height wardrobe in laminate/veneer finish
- whole unit floor protection
- general cleaning &amp; acid wash
- disposal of renovation debris
- haulage service
*** free fuji electri system 3 non-inverter for 3 bedrooms (can top-up and change to your choice of air-con)
*** $100 voucher for tapz gallery pte ltd (no use coz muz buy above $700)
*** $150 discount voucher for mattress at solax bed shop (nv heard b4, also no use coz we gotten our bed liao)
*** $100 voucher for curtain/blinds/solar film at Shop8 (muz spend min. $1000, should be ok for tis coz curtain for whole house ard tis price)

we were seriously considering unim*x until we tok to henry who was the sales manager, also will be our ID from orange cube (i had made an appt with him earlier). he was more experienced as compared with Alan from unim*x and was confident dat he can do up our place within our budget (told him die die muz not be more den $22k <-- muz include my cooker hood &amp; hob). haha *keep my fingers crossed*

kaye once in a life time!! must be happy!! GO FOR IT!! i like the heck care him attitude.. haha..

as for the cakes, my mummy told me that she is not going to distribute cakes, she say get the closer relatives to come and gather in our house and then give out the cakes.. so it will be less headache for us..

today, me not feeling very well due to the flu bug.. so i slpt late.. me so surprise when i wake up and went to the living room and saw my hubby started tying the invitation cards.. me so touched!! this is the first time i feel he take initative to do such things without me nagging.. then he tell me that he will start writing and will pass to his friends next week.. hee

jhoo, wan to check with you if u have contacted Aaron to meet up to discuss the wedding stuffs?? me think me will send him e-mail and ask him to arrange meet up soon..

Hi chelsea, welcome to this thread. My AD is a few days after yours which is on 11 Aug 06. Actually I am quite worried that people might leave to travel since its a long weekend holiday.

Anyway, as for the BS recommendations, I really would like to recommend my BS My Bridal Room. You may want to check out this other thread under bridal boutique and services. I really like their service attitude and services. So far, I have recommended this BS to my cousin, colleague and another BTB from this website and they have signed on with this BS. If you like, I can call to make the appointment for you. Usually I would tell BTB to talk to Uncle Quek as every couple has different needs. Its good to talk abt the package personally instead of referencing from other BTB. Anyway, this is just my suggestion. Hope to hear more about your preparation.

jhoo, its like that one. U must tell Honeymilk tea, if he want to be yandao... Then he got to wear sharp sharp type shoes. We gal always know this universal truth, "Want to look pretty, dun want life" It applies to guys. Pedro dun hv all sharp sharp one lah... My bro bought his shoe from there and he can't wear the sharp sharp type too.

Piglet, drink more water &amp; rest well!

Mei, u so funny... Buy that trimmer for ur daddy! Did he like it?

For my evening gown hor... I think i super dilemma also... On one hand want to buy a new one, while the other hand like dun want to buy...

My Mum just told me that she can help me sew a simple evening gown coz i did buy a piece of fabric. My husband din faint... He just leave it to me to make the decision.. I guess i just let it be... I went trying evening gown today till i also tired.... I guess i really pattern queen!

not yet piglet, arrr, almost forget got to meet him in dec, whaha.... now busy with invites.. its time for our guyz to wake up liao, hehe

hubby got his shoe liao, bought from bata instead, hehe, he likes that cutting. and today went shopping. clothes for HM coz it will be cooling at taiwan when we are there in jan

girls, date is nearer, let's all relax..my auntie visit is haywire this mth...hope it will be better next month, hehe... hubby got bird nest for me liao..will drink it next month onwards

Hi gals, I'm a newbie...just booked a flat in recent WIS and now starting marriage preparation...planning to ROM soon but customary likely in Nov/Dec'07 - can someone give me some pointers on what to look out for when selecting the bridal/groom gown/photo package and also the wedding dinner...thank you!

Today we were so bored so we went JB walk walk.. bought a towel rack &amp; a rattan tissue box holder, very cheap!

jhoo.. pointy shoes for men are very very dressy &amp; chic, not all guys will feel comfortable wearing them one. I wanted my hubby to wear sharp one but he is also not comfortable so in the end, he bought a semi-sharp one.
At least Mr Honey settled his shoes today liao, so one thing off your list.

I also want to buy some nice clothes for my HM.. those resort style clothes.. so nice.. will go take a look one day.

piglet, I think when it's time for them to panic, they'll 'zi dong' start doing things without us having to nag... heheh. Somemore, you are sick, so maybe your hubby also take the effort for you.

kaye, my dad loves the trimmer ah.. coz my hubby uses it &amp; he always rave to my dad how good it is.. heheh.

As for your EG, you can go try &amp; see how.. at the most, can't find, you can still fall back on your original one. If your mum wants to sew for you, also good mah. Today went to try, nothing caught your eye?

hiya melodygirl,
me will be doing my photoshoot sometime in may 07 too...

hmm... places for outdoor shoot?? havent really thought of it... but i've seen many couples taking theirs @ alexandra park (not very sure where that is...) and somewhere in sembawang or changi.... :p i even know of a friend who went to pulau ubin for her outdoor...

i know julia also has a package for photoshoot in taiwan.... seen their photo albums.... very beautiful.... are you taking that additional package??

morning ladies....

agnes.. investment??
the package from orange cube looks better..
that time I think they only gave free aircon only..
cos I no need aircon so din take their package...

hi strawberries, yr 8 gowns also include those "foreign gowns"? dear all, would you all try nude shots for yr wedding album?

Morning gals...

Not in the best state to work today.. As the flu bug caught me and yesterday evening at 8+ went dinner with hubby.. me go order coffee to drink.. in the end, at night couldnt slp till 3 am.. faint.. tomolo still got deadline so drag myself to work.. will try to finish my work then go see doctor...

jhoo, my hubby also didnt like sharp sharp shoes.. he dun hv much fashion sense de.. most important must be comfortable.. during ROM, he also got bata shoes.. think he is thinking go bata to see for wedding also..

I will e-mail Aaron see when he wants to meet up..

Mei, the trimmer how much?? my hubby wans to get a trimmer but i cant seems to find one.. will tell him abt the battery operated one.. he will sure like.. heee... also hubby finally make up his mind go Bali for HM.. today will source for it.. then show him..

kaye, ya like wat mei say, go shop around.. if u find something u like then u buy.. if worse come to worse still got the original one..

gals, OG and JL on sales.. me thinking of going to get my bedsheet today during lunch.. for the Wedding day bedsheet, i cant seems to find something my mum and me like.. coz she is getting for me.. but cant seems to find on sat when we went shopping.. so she give up.. ask me to buy something i like...

me now also working on the AD schedule... has completed the day timing.. now left the night.. hoping to get it done soon.. then will go thru with hubby and family to see if need to change... u gals started??

me too, not in the good condition to work :p...yest work at home till 3am...argh...still cant complete..must piah today before email to boss...

bata shoe is affordable

Yest went to see printer..haiz, reli endless thing to purchase... the one we aim cost $299

piglet... you must take care ok? I was also quite sick two weeks back too. Drink lots of water &amp; rest well.

The trimmer costs $15.. quite good &amp; safer than using those scissors to trim. You can find it at the toiletries section at Mustafa.

Great that your hubby finally decided on HM destination, you can start sourcing liao.

My AD schedule I'll leave it to my hubby to do it, he is better at such things.

morning ladies, just told my mom about my FH's decision. After discussing with her, she was saying that depending on when he goes in, the wedding might still be on! So fingers crossed....and hope that I can still be a Dec BTB! Heh heh heh...Hope everyone else had a good weekend. I went Sentosa with my church yest and now am throughly wiped out...but had loads of fun lah =P