I'm really not sure leh. Hb has an elder sister (she has 2 daughters). My PILs dote on both the grand-daughters alot. As for my hb and his sister, on surface we see that FIL closer to daughter while MIL dotes on the son.
But now that we preparing for wedding, house etc, I came to realise that both his parents have planned so much for him, I'm starting to feel that actually they still more 在乎 this youngest only son. Like for our upcoming wedding, they going to paint their flat. Hb was saying dont bother since we have our own place which is newly-renovated, guests wont mind how his parents' flat look etc. His mum replied - I'm doing this all because of you leh!
I know that when my hb's grandfather was around, hb was the EMPEROR in the house. They follow their clan's 祖谱 even, only the sons in the family get to adopt a certain character in the name for that generation, daughters no need. To me, that is SUPER UNFAIR lor.
I believe my PILs will dote on grand-daughters as well but may still wish to have grandsons...So maybe if my firstborn is daughter, it is still ok. But trouble may set in when they know that I wont want to try for 2nd one. By then I will be the 罪人 right? =/
Petrina - Hi Five! I also wish for JUST ONE kid. I'm the same as Jane's husband, I think having kids these days is really an expensive affair. I still want to be able to go shopping as per my heart wishes...multiple kids may drastically change our lifestyle I feel.
Law & Len - You are lucky! I was borned in such a family. My grandpa had 3 wives. For my grandma, they had 7 children together (FMFFMMM). Then grandpa and his 2nd wife had 4 sons. So for a long time, the family never had a girl. The first grandchild in family was a boy. Then came me! Haha...so my mum was joking that her status and mine started to rank up high overnight. The grandparents doted on me especially and even the uncles/aunties were especially fond of a little girl in the house.
Having said all these...haha...maybe I am counting the chicks before the eggs hatched. Skali by the time comes, I even 1 egg also cannot pop out. Hee....cos I'm not that young liao and I only wish to try for a kid in another 3 years' time.
graceyong - I havent selected my photos yet but am also telling ourselves NOT TO top up anymore for the package. 2K, I can furnish up the guest room in my new house...or go for additional mini-honeymoon =P This is very OFF-TOPIC, on a sidenote, 2K for 50 pics is cheap right? My BS quoted us $75 per extra pic *FAINTZ*
Law & Len - Does your BS charge you extra for the layout?