(2005) Brides of year 2005

yo dinah.... have to @@ how leh cos my work place not in town leh.......... will revert to u again loh.... maybe over the weekend.... cos Sat i will be at orchard loh.... will u be there shopping or wat....

yo duffy.... where u working.... can @@ whether u can arrange with Dinah on the bag part.....

yo oraia.... yap its white....... cos its the prettest amoung all the other colour.... oh also have ur concern of getting dirty... but dinah say use sponge and dish washer to clean will become white again loh.... cos she clean it the day b4 she show us on our 1st gathering....

yo chatter.... are u coming on Thur

I think a lot of us have chosen to be kiasu so that we get what we want and to secure the packages at this year's prices. There're a lot of rumors that prices are likely to go up next year. An early start leave ourselves with more time to concentrate on the details as well...

How many of you here are also setting up your lovenest while preparing for your AD?

jelly ~ highly doubtful that i will go shopping over the weekend lah .. i tend to avoid town on the weekends ... hehehe .. parking is a nightmare and so are the crowds esp now that it is almost school holidays ...

chattx, go add up all the necessary items like caterer etc..wow, big sum..so trying to gather info. to gauge what is 'too high'...

fates, juz mentioned break-even lah..profit? now..hang qin pai leh..

chattx, yr FIL got many bts of liquor? duty free or paid? some hotel cannot use duty free liquor lei...

oraia, Thks! jelly..so I second on the list to buy the bag?

hi ladies!

Lunching in at work so just pop in to say hi... lunchtime ending soon so can't stay to chat.

chatterbox,
think it's better to factor in other things, esp if the both of you are paying for everything.
This is the list of other big ticket items that you may want to think about:
1) Ang Paos for all helpers (including the AD photographer & MUA etc) & the "open door ang pao" on your AD
2) Wedding favors
3) Printing costs for invitation cards, if you are having a church wedding, budget for the church invites & program sheets as well!
4) Church rental & deco
5) Guo Da Li expenses (of which the pin jin is the killer)
6) Musicians for AD (if any)
7) Catering (eg, lunch @ bride's side, church reception etc)
8) Clothes for AD (eg, groom's shirts, ties, shoes, brides shoes, clothes for flower gals/page boys etc)
9) Car rental
10) Jewellry for AD (on top of si dian jing if si dian jing is paid for by PILs & if the BS is not providing accessories FOC)
11) Alcohol for AD

Also, on top of budgetting for these, you still need to put aside some money for miscellaneous expenses. Hope this helps!

hi furball

welcome..i went to attend a wedding at M hotel last year...the ballroom is nice...no pillars

jelly
i am looking at 23 tables...
my AD is on a Thurs so guess it should be under weekday..

Josie
u went to watch already..alot of my frds had been bugging me to watch that..say they wan go c brad pitt....hee..my sis even gave me two tickets last week but told her i not interested...is it nice?

jelly
think u can try to copy whatever info that can be posted on the web into another excel file and save it into another file name.then attached the excel file like how u attached the icons...

Hi cai_cai,

I have 3 relatives who are vegetarians for religious reasons. My hotel included in the contract, the price of having vegetarian meals on a per pax basis.

For tables with vegetarians, you can see if the table is big enough to squeeze in 11 pple coz they will still be giving a serving of 10 even if there's a vegetarian in that table. Alternatively, if your vegetarian guests know each other, can seat them together.

You must ask your guests to inform you early if they want vegetarian meals. Also should find out if they are okay with turning up if vegetarian meals are provided. This qn may help you decide if you should change your date.

aiyo.... vela.... think oraia not really interested lah.........

if u 1 can buy from Dinah for my one loh.... but duno how to get from her leh..... she working @ Suntec i working at Jurong.... sob sob sob

chattx, I worked out some items ytd...hope this is useful 4 u....

Bridal Packages
AD Makeup charges(Fakelashes&Amp)-Included?
Mani&Pedicure for bride and Jie Meis
Photo shots Top up cost
Groom shoes
Car
Rental of Multipurpose Hall
Banquet
Wine
Liquor
Beer-Perks?
Corkage Charges-Perks?
Printing of Inserts for Wedding Cards
Actual Day Photographer
Actual Day Videoman
Caterering at Bride's Mum place
Caterering at MIL place
Pin Jin
Ang Pow to Jie Mei bf fetch bride
Cakes for relatives/neighbours

Helper's Angpows: -
Makeup Artistic
Driver
Open Bridal Car Door Angpow
Brothers
Jie Meis
Tea Ceremony
Camera Man
Video Man
Subtotal
Others
Sponsor 2 Mum's gowns/dresses

Vela ~ u very detail leh!! ha ha ha,, can share roughly how much u gog to give the Make-up artist, driver and photographer?

duffybluff,

It's a restaurant at Fort Canning. Not opened yet till June, but friend recommend there.. Quite afforable prices I would say.

Dim Sun at teahouse average only la.. U have to take the dishes urself....

Hi CaiCai

Yep, for my venue, they can will offer vegetarian if requested on a per table basis but I think more expensive than normal table.

Ok quite surprised that so many of you gals have booked your BS and Dinner..haha tot I was the Kiasu one..but early is better! So far I'm glad I booked early..more time and more control. And plus, I think will cheaper than future.

gals..I need some advise leh.. I got short hair.. how should I do up my hair on my ROM day huh?? I am thinking of engaging my friend to be my MUA that day so need to give some suggestions to her leh

cookiegal, Thks, know can alway count on u for useful info....yeah! I almost covered everything except groom's exps, ok will take note of tt as well..

Hi cookie

my table is for 12 pax , dunno if they allow me to add 12+ 1 ( which i need to pay )
my problem is that , most ppl wun knoe they are to go vegetarian , until the date draws nearer ...
My worry is that , they mite say they will turn up but on actual day itself , they will excuse themself ... So i worry i mite have a few empty seats here n there ....
as for those , whom i knoe are strictly vegetarians , i hv already factor them in. It is those ppl who turn vegans on that particular day , that i am worried . :....(

bao bao ~ $28 ah!! i really dont know leh, i budget abt $40,,, hee hee,, can share the open door and jie mei, brother's share too??

von ~ u should ask Stupy for advise

jelly, me worst! work in ulu place...walk here and there, all my company staff!

cutie, I oso dun know..tt's actually my next qns tt I gg ask the gals here..hee...hee....oh..ai gar ai gar huh...
MU artist -80
external driver - 28 t0 50 depending on svcs. Videoman & photographer - dun know lei..they already x us on the charges right? maybe just give a token 28? enough?

me back
munching the guava i bght just now. aiyo.. eat so much again.. so much sin..

baobao
thks for the cd. me look sweet? aiyo you sure or not? must see the rest first. hahha.
you also look nice nice le..

oriaia
dunno which rm yet le.. but prob the big one since i hv a target guest list of 40-50.

bao, me tot oso ard 28 cos' they already charged..but MUA might need to give more if her svcs gd u tt day. I wanted pay my ROM MUA $50 the other time but ended up pai say so give her $80...

Hi caicai,

How many days before your AD do you have to confirm the no. of tables and the menu? Do you think you can call up your confirmed guests by that day to confirm if they will be having vegetarian or normal meals? The purpose of the RSVP is for you to have a good estimate of the no. of guests. Also, you can consider not giving the no. of tables to set up based on the confirmed no. of guests if you are worried about last minute absentees. Maybe can consider saying eg, 30 tables with 1 table standby kind of thing? If you are still uncomfortable, then you want to give changing the date a thought.

fates, ya same sentiments.. i played some pieces for my ROM too..oh ya.. & some french loves songs as well & friends liked it.. so i thk will stick to that for AD..

anna, ah.. i hv quite a few albums..
- "feels so good" the smoothest hits.. includes songs & some music pieces
- cafe del Mar classics
and more.. can't recall now

hey gals
how cum MUA also need to give ang pow... we pay for her services le?
then in which case tt mean we also need to give ang pow to all the hotel ppl and the chef etc etc??
i think ang pow only for those that dun accept payment..

cutie, oh..paisay..so give a bit more..

von..FH say got to give everyone tt help, give angbow heng heng...my MUA came to hotel to provide the svcs, I give her 28 transport plus fakelashes/AM45 and 80 angpow...

vela
ok. you open yr mouth at yr fax machine, i sen the guava via fax...yr no. pls?
hmm but my guava no suan mei fen one hor..
baobao so shock when i buy without.

aiyo no need say until like tt la.. how you know i mei mei.. i give you guava la.. no need to po.. hahhaa.ha

Hello YYBB,

Ha, finally someone has started a March 2005 brides. There are a few, under the preparations for 2005. I have tried participating in that thread but finds it moving too fast for people like me that logs in once a day for a few minutes to catch up.
I am a March 12 bride. How about you? Have you confirm your BS or Venue?

vela..I agree with Anna lor..I always tot ang bao is to be given to those who dun accept payment eg JP, jie mei, flower gals etc...

Vela~ yup they charge s$ 48 for fakelashes etc.
and im paying another S$ 128 hair set for EG.. So think give them S$28 is enough

cookie gal and vela

love u both for contributing your lists. It's indeed useful! have printed it out as a guide. thanks gals!

Cutiebear~ i will be give S$ 288 for open door share among 4 sister. and S$ 288 fro 4 brother.. Cos i giving them a treat too. And they say give as a token can liao...

And all those children my mum just ask me give them S$ 8 can liao..

bao bao ~ last yr i be one of my friends jie mei,, i think the open door is abt $188,, then on top of that she still give us $68 each leh!!!

anna, how come u took so long to fax me guave?..my mouth caught many fax in till tired liao..

kysha, welcome, welcome, compile the list from website/newspapers..Vela still learning...hope useful 4 u..