(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi anna!

me too.. hav been to view most estate at west but jus couldnt find a place tat both of us can settle on... my hubby is e more fussy one.. alot of expectation... SIGH... im also wondering if i can ever get a flat by tis yr

for me, i've shortlisted my venues but haven been to walk e ground yet... but think we wil book by june tis year cos dec is too HOT a mth!! my ad wil b in dec 2005 but dunno which day yet?

hi blur blur!!

welcome here!

my advice for u is tat if u haven gotten ur lov nest yet n not in hurry to get a flat, can hold ur solemnization n AD together... tis way, u can slowly save up to hav a grand wedding.. so u also planning to hav ur AD in 2005? but which mth exactly?

pizza? wat happened to the healthy diet?? tot we were going to less is more and healthy eating...jap food more healthy??? haha..

dinah
can you pm me the contacts of the geomancer?
thks.

fates
guess you can ask fh to tell them you choose yrself. tts what i did. tt way you can get the deigns you wan too. i even gave them as estimate cost of the si dian jing. fh adn i went to source... and told them the estimate is ard 7-8k.

jelly
you oso in finance? another finance person? you in accts or banking?

anna ~ hehehe .. lapse one night should be ok lah ... thought that the atmosphere and ambience in that restaurant is quite good ... very casual and good for meeting up etc ....

i'll ask my mum tomorrow for the number of the geomancer ... and will PM you ... he speaks mandarin apparently but you will need your FH's and you birthdates according to the chinese calendar as well as your time of birth, which can be found in your birth certs

blur blur
i think jp in hotel sounds more grand and memorable?? for me, i'm doing a church solemnization so no rom anyway and no jp.

maiden
yup. hubby says everywhere overpriced so we still stuck with nothing. bad ones cheapo. gd ones overprice.. how?? ...

i popped by and took a peek at pan pac, marina mandarin and oriental. pan pac the best amg the 3 but very ex. dec is a hot mth??? but tong shu not out all geomancer oso cannot do anything so no dates... how to bk?
any idea how hot is a monday night in dec? i mean how early must i bk if i have my banquet on mon night?

what are yr shortlisted venues?

hihi maiden!
the plot i refering to is right at the end of JW near extension already. if u take 179 from the interchange, u will pass by this road which is along the stretch where city harvest church is. the plot is on the left hand side. so if u taking the bus to go recee u can look out.
quite hard to explain here leh. if u dun get me let me noe. i try to explain again.

<font color="aa00aa">Icy ~ yah, old ppl like that lor...prefer to listen to other ppl. And somehow they feel like if we don't listen to wat they say, like no respect. ma fan hor.....

Fates ~ i think it's fine to hint or rather just go together with them to get the SDJ lar...my colleague managed to get a very nice diamond tennis bracelet!!
And i know another kaki of mine, her MIL gave her super thick obiang looking gold...one of the gold pendants even had a pig *oink oink* design...jin zhu...gross man...i think she nearly fainted when she saw it. hahaha...and someone (old folk) told her she should wear it to bed on their first night, something abt giving them offsprings or something...my god....:P LOL~~

Jelly ~ yo..how can we forget u..hehee....can see u have been busy yah? Better go see a dentist soon hor..don't delay else the hole might get worse. Aiyoh..u also burnt your finger?? Erm..i hope it was worth it and the food/dinner tasted good. hehee

Anna ~ oh no....i love JAP FOOD!! :P see lar, now u started my craving for Jap food..hahaa.. maybe we shouldn't drink kopi..too much caffine no good hor..haha..should go to those juice/health bars..erm..then again, we should get Icy to blend the health drinks for us..she's an expert mah..hor icy? *nudge nudge*

Dinah ~ eh, u seem quite experienced abt this geomancer thingy. Do you know anyone who can read the Tong Shu? I don't need to calculate any dates but i just want to make sure my AD is not some "suay" date. Erm..makes sense or not? *blur*

Just came back from the gym....backside pain now..gotta get to bed to have a good rest for us to continue tommorrow yah?

Sweet dreams everyone...zzzzzzzzzzzzz</font>

Yo jelly ~ opps sorry ok will update our gathering list! Heh heh sorry overlook you. Regardin Holiday Inn, you never read my earlier mails huh? The coordinator let us wait half an hour, we fed-up so we left loh.. Told the recep a few times that we're there.....ask her to tell the coordinator and yet we were left waiting.....
She is Priscilla. I think after that she felt apologetic and asked us back again.....she wanna give us FREE dinner but...err we'll see how....

jelly ~ I had the same experience on Saturday! The geomancer told me the TONG SHU not out and ask us to go another day!!! Yeekkksss!! I so pissed that day too....bad Saturday....

Anyway can anyone share their geomancer/feng shui shi fu with me? I need to see one quite urgently.....

Regarding the SDJ.....anything will do except GOLD....it looks so obiang....heheheh

Hey jelly! I went to Merchant Court earlier, and I'm quite impressed with their package! The recept foyer is big and beautiful, the pillarless ballroom looks/smells (white lilies!!) great, their pricing is very reasonable, the coordinator friendly and flexible

BUT the downside is...

They need at least 38 tables for a weekend...
no free flow beer....
didn't see the bridal suite but heard it's small.....

Hmmmm.....what a dilemma I'm in now.....

THE 2005 BRIDES FIRST GATHERING!

Venue: TBA
Date: 16th April '04
Time: 7pm

Confirmed:
1. Icy,
2. jitpong,
3. duffybuff,
4. Dinah,
5. fates
6. touraco (not sure)
7. ssmilezz
8. anna
9. jellytots77

Clare~are you joinin us?

Sorry to have MIA for a few days...was on mc due to my sinus problem.

Oh ya...intro...l'm coming 28 tis yr. Hmmm...seems like lm the oldest one here.

I will be going down to see Fullerton ballroom again. Think that l have miss out on the part of using its projector. Can anyone tell me how does a montage actually works? I need someone to do it for me rite? This someone is provide by the hotel or myself? Really appreciate if any1 can give me some info and how much to spend on montage.

Catura and leeds

I agree that facials are expensive!! but no choice leh, cos i very lazy. I always dont cleanse well and not even a time to do mask at home!
as for Adonis, i agree that some beauticians really push their products real hard, but i just pretend that i'm sleeping or i insist that i wont be using it lor!!

to have another celebration is ok lah!! but have to spend money again lor

hi Gals

Consider yourself lucky that you can still buy white gold...my fmil say..it a wedding how can we use white gold(in hokkien, its token for the funeral) so in the end she say she will give her her GOLD...haven seen it so dunno if it is obiang...and my mum told me that i suppose to wear the Si dian jin she give/bought me...luckily i am wearing kua can still match and got a chance to put on them...i will never put them on with my WG...can you imagine that so ugly

fates &amp; smilez ~ not that i know a lot about the geomancer or the tong shu, just that my mother is quite particular about these sort of things, so she was quite insistent on getting all our birthdates ready and all when she went to see him.

smilez
yup. i oso like jap food. less oil... pizza somehow a bit oily... mm. i like unagi... yum..

oink oink gold! omg!
fates, i think you better specify then. otherwise get gold you dun use oso no point right? might as well ask for a selaed gold bar to keep in which case? more value oso.

fates
the geomancer oso asked us to come back after chinese 6th mth which is july??? cos thats when the tong shu will be out... and he said count in 8th mth is the best! my gdness. luckily fh called up before going down so didn't waste time.

Hi Catura,

Sounds like a good idea. We brides are so VAIN hor, we just love attention...
So what type of celebration are you thinking about? Actually, isn't it better to have the party 1 week before the wedding?? Something like a HEN NIGHT!!! hehe.... Btw, are you gals going to have hen nights???

Hi cutiebear,

SO what's your package like? Are you satisfied with the results so far?

Has any of you gals been to a spa??

Leeds,

not gog to have Hen Nights lah,, old liao,, later cannnot recover even after a week!! ha ha ha

I bought the package with eye treatment lor,, no choice everyday have to face the computer!! so far so good ah!!

Yes,, i love the SPA at Bintan,,, cheap and good!!

harlow gals! *waves*

Jitpong ~ eh...i agree that white gold sounds like the money we give during Funerals lor...but since the SDJ is given by FMIL and she's the one giving then bo bian lor. My mom is quite chin cai and she leaves a lot of things up to us. FMIL is cantonese. Er...but also super sotong and blur. :P

Dinah ~ morning morning!!

Anna ~ so the tong shu only be out in Jul this year? Okie...so besides buying an actual tong shu...is there any online tong shu for our reference? *curious*

Oh yah, i like Unagi too..and salmon..hehee....

Today, i'm feeling quite excited! managed to win a copy of The Knot wedding mag form Ebay. if u have visited their online website, u prob know how much useful info this mag/website has....was dying to get my hands on their mag. :P hehee....think it'd be very useful. I managed to buy the latest Spring/Summer 04 The Knot mag and also a past issue Spring/Summer03. Will update you gals when i *finally* receive it!!

Hi dinah,
To make the matter more complicated, the banquet is paid my my ffil! I wanted to reject that initally but he insist that it is the wedding gift for his only son.. well.. now we just try to return the angbaos we collect.

hi jellytots,
Ya, i also think Si Dian Jin is for Teochew families but i think now a days, some fmil also want to buy some jewellery for the bride.. perhaps look better or what. My fh knows I prefer white gold, and told me fmil knows abt it have no problem with it.. hehee

Hi ssmilezz,
Ya lah, all the face issue and comparing etc.. fortunately, I have a godmother who also is my big aunt, which will advise my mum as well. My mum easily influence by other people.. now ask her what she wants, she also dunno.

Hi fates,
This is werid, my geomancer have the tongshu leh, although not those red red one, looks like those dictionary.. but is for next year date.. perhaps he got it from hongkong.

if u interested, I can PM u now.

I went merchant court before for a wedding dinner, at that time, it became my dream venue.. but becos of the min tables and limited perks they give I have to give up on them. Their ballroom and foyer very nice hor. The price after adding those perks we need to pay, more or less similar to other hotels. Oh ya, u know u need to pay for the seat cover.. think $2 per chair.

Hi jitpong,
Ya, I also think better to wear kua.. other than fmil, also have those relatives leh.. some might give jewellery instead of angbao during tea ceremony..

icy
can pm me or post the merchant court package?
oso pm me the contacts of the geomancer k?

smilez
i think there are quite a few online geomancy sites but dunno if they are reliable of not.. i mean i oso can anyhow give date and say its gd date right??

smilez ~ hey there ... how are you feeling this morning after gym?!?! hehehe ... i went to join some old folks doing tai chi after my run today ... quite fun although me being super blur couldn't follow properly ... hehehe

btw ... i highly recommend The Knot http://www.theknot.com to everyone too ... in fact i found a picture of the ideal WG that i would like in there! hehehehe ....

smilez ~ can you bring the magazine along when we meet up on the 16th? would love to browse through it.

icy ~ your problem of ffil paying for the dinner is a problem i wouldn't mind having ... hehehehe

Hi anna,
I pm u the geomancer contact already. anyway he will just nag a bit when u want weekend only but he will still find for u lah. He searched 3 mths of weekend for me but cant find a good date, before I also give up.

he will give time and date for an chuan, guo da li and wedding date.

I need ur email to mail u the merchant court package, cant upload here becos the attachment is too big.

Hi Dinah,
Ffil have his requirements, so there is sort of certain stress level involved.. food must taste good.

Morning duffy!!

icy ~ hehehe ... your ffil sounds like my fh ... also quite insistent that food must taste good which is why, of all the things that we are haggling with hyatt about, it is the menu that we can't seem to sort out .... *eyes rolling* ...

<font color="aa00aa">Hi icy ~ Luckily u have your godma..someone to help your mom in case she gets too blur. heheee.

I don't understand leh...why must wear kua to receive jewellery from relatives? *scratches head* You mean if wear normal clothes cannot?

Thanks for the URL. Will try try hor....

Anna ~ We are not very pan tang lar..so quite ok. :P hee..anyway, i won't be going to a geomancer for sure. Cos we need to select a Sat for our church service anyway.

Buffy ~ harlow!! morning to you!!

Dinah ~ I'm feeling quite good today. Very perky and managed to come into office much earlier. :P hehe....what time did u get up to jog? Wow..u know how to do taichi arh? hehee....

Yes, the knot is a very very useful resource centre for us.

I don't think the mag will arrive in time by then cos i am not using airmail (due to the weight of the items - 2 mags at 6 lbs) i have opted for surface mail. :P it will take 4 - 6 weeks based on my past experience. When i get it, will let you know okie? No worries.

U going down to Flamingo today yah?

Hi dinah,
which gown at theknow.com u interested at?

Food very troublesome one right?? 1 chef cook sure nice one mah, imagine cooking 30 tables, should be done by those assistant chefs. Moreover, depending on ur luck whether the seafood will be fresh or not. I will just call my coordinator to watch out for the food at the VIP table, the rest I dun care.

Hi ssmilezz,
I just feel wear kua and gold jewellery is nicer than those gowns.. normal gowns like very "o-bit" especially if those gold necklance very thick.. hahaha

How much did u pay for the magazine?

ssmilezz ~ i usually get up at 6 .. do a 30min run ... then usually walk a bit before i head home to shower ... but today went to kay-poh with the old ladies lah ... hehehe ... no lah, don't know how to tai chi, merely pretending to know ... hahahaha

yes yes - please do let me know when it gets here ... i get all my inspiration for all things, gowns, cake, veil, jewellery etc, from the knot .. hahahaha

yes am heading down to flamingo tonight .. appt at 7

icy ~ it was a gown by david's bridal ... simple bustier gown with a chapel train ... satin and layers of tulle over ... the use ribbon and lace at the edging ... so inspired by that gown to do something similar ... to use organza instead of tulle and beading and embroidery instead of lace ...

sigh ... i wish i can not care about the food ... but end day, having been to several dinners where i actually went home hungry ... i don't want the same thing to happen to my guests lah, not when i am paying so much per table! at the very least must serve decent food ...

wah, suddenly i realised that i'm very lucky..at least no one "disturb" us when we went for our banquet hunting..haha

we went to only 2 hotels and signed up with conrad without much hesitation.

duffy ~ good choice with the conrad ... i like them very much actually but their ballroom not big enough to accomodate my current table numbers ... sigh ....

morning everyone....

was reading through the archive just now.

smilezz, my niece is almost 1 year old. she's very cute....heheheheh

Hi..... *waves* *waves* *waves*... me finally back.... so happy to hear from u all again...

hi fates... actually nbr blame u 4 missing out me cos i understand that there are so many post to read.... i hv read ur post regarding the waiting at Holiday Inn... so u mean Pris did not come and see u all when u all are there huh... cos me also speaks with Pris... find that she a nice lady leh... yap me also quite piss off on sunday when i make the trip down all the way 7 early 8 early then tell me cannot @@ the dates for next year...
yap can share with me the banquet package for merchant court...

talk abt the SDJ... its not the teochew customs anymore... well i dun prefer gold too cos will not wear it anymore after wedding... waste $$ might as well give me ang bao.... hee hee me bery $$ face... sometimes ur aunt also give jewellery during the tea cermony one leh... so better get ur parents to tell them ang bao will be better...

<font color="119911">Dinah ~ u can click on the help link at the top of the website. It shows u how to key in diff formatting to change colour, change size , etc . :P
Wow..your gown looks like....got the URL for us to admire it too? hehee....

Yah, i've also been to many dinner and ended up feeling to hungry when i reach home. I remember the last wedding dinner at The Regent. aiyoh..i waited soooo long....can faint from hunger. And the waitresses were mostly from china and they seemed to have a major communication problem with us. Couldn't understand us when we wanted say.."orange or even tea". Not very impressed at all...

Icy ~ OIC!! It's another how the gold looks on the red Kua yah? More traditional huh? hehee...

The mag is around S$30 odd each lor..it's the shipping that's a killer. :P but i was thinking some of the local mags are already like $8 per issue every quarterly right? So if i buy like 3 mags ($24) per quarter, the cost is around the cost of the US mag (which comes out 1/2 yearly!) seems like quite worth it lor..plus it's so much thicker. hahaha..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hey Touraco ~ how u feeling today? Hope your knees are better now yah? Did u sleep well last night?

Yah, your niece is so adorable hor...hehee..she's taken care by your parents issit?

jelly ~ I'm also very $$$ face. hahaha....:P Would definately prefer the cash, at least i can use it to offset my holiday or something else. hhahaha</font>

hi smilezz,
knees better cos' of the painkillers and finally can sleep...dun even feel like getting up today..heehee

yup...my niece is being taken care of by my parents...

anyone planning where for honeymoon?

This thread is really moving very fast, last sunday was my good friend wedding, i was a jie mei.. so tiring.. but this time the feeling of being jie mei is not so exciting.. i guess its time to get married.. haha.. being jie mei for too many times.. tired liao.. kekee..

fates, you mentioned Holiday Inn Park view, i think their service is quite good, maybe you can look for Jasmine the asst banquet manager, she is quite good. Too bad HIPV is above my budget, therefore i did not choose there as my banquet venue.

smilezz.. last sunday, my friend wedding, she told me that kua will have to go with the dowry her mum gave her and wear the kua with the jewellery. SDJ is different, its the jewellery your MIL gave it to you as a Pin JIng.

My friend intro me to a shop that sells all guo da li things at jurong west, the person there will tell you what to do and what to buy, quite interesting.. but next yr is still quite early to prepare.. hehe.. just listen and observe.

duffy ~ i am hitting more than 500 people at the moment already ... and that is like bare minimum ... *sigh*

smilezz ~ hmmm ... i have the picture with me on my hard drive ... will try to upload it as an attachment

uploading of attachment is not working - i can send you a link of the gown but you need to be members of the knot to view it though

Hi dinah,
that is a useful site, I am also looking for ideas for my WG and EG.. maybe even teadress or ROM dress. :D

Food wise, my ffil is more fussy, dun want people to complain that the food is not nice. And they have an impression that resturants food are nicer. so I must be really careful.

Hi anna,
I paid $80 for the geomancer, I had pm you the address and contact number as well, did u receive it?

Hi touraco,
i still dunno where to go for honeymoon, I heard maldives is good.. I wanted to go certain parts of europe.. Korea or Japan also not bad.. now at this stage.. still dunno yet.

Ya forget we got alot of sickly and injured ppl yesterday..... so hows everyone.... getting on... as for me im much better cos yesterday went to dentist put a pin into my teeth bcos the hole is far too big... if the fillings will do come off nxt time... hv to do crowning already... wow no $$ liao still hv to spend so much on my teeth... pao yin lah... always eat too much tibits....

Hi anna,
I sent u the merchant court quotes already, U also want Hotel Intercontinential right? But ur mailbox is full already. Let me know once u empty ur mailbox.

Dinah ~ wow...so many ppl hor...maybe i can sneak into your dinner without u knowing and have a good makan cos i'm sure the food will be very good. :P hahaa..

yes, i am a member of The Knot. Just send me URL yah?

Touraco ~ sad to say, FH and I don't have any honeymoon plans. Cos i think he may have problems taking leave and also trying to save some money. hehee..His mom thought we were trying to save money so badly that she volunteered to sponsor our honeymoon. She insisted must go must go..aiyoh..but if he cannot take leave, i go alone ah? :P hehee

Elaine ~ wow..very cheem leh...i'm afriad i don't quite understand all these customs.
What is the diff between dowry and SDJ??