(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi dinah

do let me know abt the florist too cos we are planning our own diy...

duffy can you oso pm me the contacts of the florists you posed?

thks gals...

oso want to share an experience i had over the wkends. i went to check out qipao. visited ted collection at bugis to check out the qipao..my god. the lady was downright rude..when she heard my ad end 05 gave a scoff and said too early...then told went on to tell me why i shld not compare her stuff to other lousy boutique and then how gd her qipao and wedding gown is which imho is very very ugly and then proceed to show me some of the gowns made and even stress that this gown is made for a sq stewardess!!! so??? wats so great abt a stewardess???
real bad attitude. dun suggest anyone try this boutique out unless you are the sort who can stand unpleasant encounters...

since i was there, i oso checked out bridal concept at bugis. the ppl there really nice but i was not impressed by the gown selection and the size of the bs. anyone has any encounters with them?

maiden
its called wedding prep for 2005. very happening during office hrs...we all skiving. do join us.

only if we can't find a place in time. we been looking ard but can't find the right apartment at the right price in the right location. we spent the entire sunday afternoon - went to balestier, bukit timah, hillview and choa chu kang...still didn't see anything gd... at this rate we will soon run out of options...

when's yr ad? where will you be staying after ad?
any confirmed bs? venue yet? we have barely started searching.. seems a little too early..

Hi Anna ~ eh, wat's the diff between a qipao and a cheongsum? *blur* Gosh, that lady was rude!!! Sheesh, so what's so great abt the gown made for a SQ gal? It's just another regular gown mah..cheh...

Hey jelly ~ welcome back..yah, monday will be super busy again. At the rate we are going, we actually have 3-4 archieves per day. Aiyoh....:P

Hi Dinah ~ thanks for your field report!! Has been very interesting to know that Dang wasn't too "friendly" or should i say rather "tactless" yah? Oh well, SIL seems good hor.....so after this week, u should come out with your final 3 selction yah?

Hey duffy ~ Allure sells mostly OTR gowns issit? The price seems quite reasonable leh...did u see anything that u really like so far?

Darn...it's monday tommorrow. I'm feeling MOnday BLueeesssss......

Wow,

This thread has certainly been active the last few days... don't worry, although I don't post as often, I will try my best to read all the messages and keep up! Slightly busier at work these days so can't post as often.

Oh yah, are any of you ladies helping your mum/MIL source for seamstress for their dress on your AD?

Hi fates,

Thanks for helping to organise the outing. I can't confirm right now but I'll try to make it if I can!

Hi Anna,

Bridal Concept has 2 branches now. They do have other gown choices available at their Marina Sq branch. (However, depending on which outlet you sign up at, you'll have to go back to that outlet for your gown selection. Also, I'm not sure who is the designer that will be stationed at Marina Sq) The size of their BS is indeed small but that's because make-up and photography is at another shop unit located across bugis junction (Even the Marina Sq customers will have to come here).

I must point out that one of the things that attracted me to BC was their simple, more classic-looking gowns, so if you prefer something bolder in design, BC might not be what you are looking for.

Pity about your experience at Ted Collection though, I was thinking of popping by there to see what they have to offer (I'm a kaypoh queen lah ...

anna ~ looks like quite a number of us are planning to DIY a few items ... we should all pool resources together and go 'shopping' together .. mass buy = better pricing?

as for the qipao / cheongsum ... i am planning to make one .. hehehe ... after trying it on, i am hooked ... so was thinking of doing a silk and organza piece in white ...

ssmilezz ~ sigh .. tell me about it ... was quite disappointed with dang 'cos i was all along quite interested in that particular BS ... a shame that the visit turned out like that ... i am just concerned that if i really do sign up with her .. not sure if i can tahan it for long ... hehehe ....

and yes, by this sunday, after the bridal show at the regent, i should have my final 3 shortlisted .. and yes, silhouette is there right now!

cookiesgal ~ i am more or less looking out for either a seamstress or a place where my mum can get a nice EG ... she has her own tailor for cheongsams, but she isn't too sure right now, if she wants to wear a cheongsam or something else .... in fact, her concern is that she wants to look great, but she is not sure about getting something really grand cos she says she wouldn't be able to wear it again ... so she is also looking at renting ....

my fmil is definitely wearing a kebaya ... so she is settled ...

what does your mum/mil want?

Good Morning Ladies, !!!

I am planning to MTM a dress for my mum on actual day. My BS is santiago. Not certain they make good dresses.

Yeah,,... any good recommendation?????

Hi Good Morning Everyone...

Claire-same as you, i lost in my mj session..20bucks...

Dinah...after your first scouting on Sat..which BS are you visiting next?

jitpong ~ tomorrow evening after work, at about 7, i'll be visiting flamingo ...

has anyone been to flamingo? any advice? thoughts?

after that on thursday evening, it will be jawn.happy.ever.after

smilez (pardon my spell)
qipao = cheongsam...to me no diff.. sorry for confusing you..

dinah
better drop dang. i hv not been there and will prob check it out but if i get a bad feel i won't go back because if it is mtm then it shows me they are not going to do something according to wat i want. i mean i am paying, what kind of attitude is tt? and bs is all abt service right? i mean if they can make gd dresses, a lot of others can too... its abt making yr bs experience a gd one...

duffy
allure - uh is it the shop tt sells day to day wear as well at city hall? 1st flr?

cookie
re:ted collection, can go check it out...they seem to concentrate more on beading but i find the designs quite auntie and anyway in my case since the lady was rude.. no, i'm not going back.. there are many better choices out there...

ah...seems like many ppl here play mahjong...

i went house shopping sun. see nothing

has everyone bought their new homes? or living with fils so no need to buy? all settled? where did you gals buy? wat kind of house?
i am still stuck with no house...

Jitpong,

Oh yeah ... I forgot abt your Qns. I played only with my close friends. Its like weekly gathering for us. We also dun play alot... winner have to treat dinner...

Wah you gals are very hardworking. I only source for 3 Bs and I choose amg them already...

hehehehhe

Can recommend El Shaddai. Simple Gowns but very very good services. I didnt choose it cos my FH prefers the perks given by Santiago. Now he also abit regret didnt choose El Shaddai (at midpoint orchard)

anna ~ well ... dang isn't exactly on my final shortlist .... and you're right ... end day it is the whole experiene that needs to be good and i want to feel 'loved' by the designer that i will be working with for the next few months!

but on the other hand, her cheongsams are really really good, or rather they make feel feel so good about myself ... hehehe ... am thinking whether or not i shall go back to get her to just do a mtm cheongsam for me ...

Hi duffy
wave wave ... hehehe .. same here
nice to see you here too! Here also a great thead ...

Wah .. so Leeds decided to go for beach ROM already ??? SO ROmantic ... !!!

heheh ... claire .. with my long list of 9 BS ,... i am already squeezing in as much as i can to shortlist ...any more recommendations and i will get more tempted ..... hehehe

Good morning ladies.

Thanks for all the info. Hmmmm.... Think I cannot take packages from the hotels, too comprehensive. Now I'm thinking abt other alternatives like hotel poolside lor.... *sigh* headache! Duffybuff, yah I been to Conrad poolside, its really nice too! Is your ROM together with AD at China Club?

Claire, I still haven't decided on beach ROM. Seems like such a good idea though... So, how's your ROM prep coming along?? And how abt your RING???? Bought them yet?

Hey Anna,

Some ladies are staying with their FILs and some have bought their own pads.

I have bought mine in Tampines and will be getting my keys this week :>. Renos to come and etc etc... So many stuff to be done man.

Seems everyone is into selection of bridal studios and quite impressive list also. For me, I just choose the first few that we saw and selected one within our budget and for convenience too. :>

All the mahjong queens over here and I am also a mahjong addict. Just played on Friday night and won ard 15 dollars.

Keep the forum flowing.

Matthew

<font color="aa00aa">Hello ladies ~ *waves*

Erm..i only won $1.50 at MJ. hahaa..cos we played in cents.....:P so pathetic right?

Cookies Gal ~ been busy yah? hardly see ya around! hehee.. How's your exercise coming along?

Anna ~ what sort of house are u looking for? Around which area? I will be staying with FILs next time first and their house is around central/east area.

silly me..so Qipao = Cheong sum yah? heheee *malu*

Dinah ~ eh, if you really really love the way u look in Dang's CS (which i think u probably have a GREAT figure to carry off the lowback CS), maybe u can do ala-carte style like duffy and get your MTM CS there. Er, but if u sign up on with her and she seems quite tactless all the time, can be quite a pain to deal wiht her in the long run hor...

hmm...Flamingo is another one i intend to visit yah....hehe..update us later hor...

You didn't manage to visit Divine did ya? I think they are close this until end of this month.

Hey everyone, since u all mentioned abt MTM gowns for your moms/FMIL, who pays for this arh? :P</font>

heeelo!!!
Updates!!
I went Hotel Intercontinential and went to see panpac setup on Saturday as well.. and finally come to a decision!!

Hotel intercontinential is very nice.. ballroom nicer than pan pac.. but also more ex.. have to pay $30+++ per table for next year date.. then everything else also need to pay.. eg.. projector, food tasting - more people, moore dishes etc...

so i am going for pan pac pacific ballroom. heeehee

Hi angela and Claire,
we are talking abt website to feature wedding photos.. Are u interested? Think I will mostly get a friend to help me to for free.

Hi dinah,
Nice feedback for those BS..

Hi jellytots and cookies_gal,
It is not animation, just wedding website featuring photos, RSVP and online guestbook function. So are u still interested?

smilez
we are shopping for a condo.preferably ard woodlands but not much choices. we oso considered the cck area, hillview and bukit timah..but nothing fruitful plus for some areas too ex...

divine close???
how cum they can just close like dat>>>??? then those who booked with them how???

for me, both mums didn't ask for gowns le... they said they wld settle themselves??? so for now.. no need to bother with it..

agree with you abt dinah's dang cs. tho i think outcome depends on chemistry between you and the designer. if the designer scoffs at you then why bother with giving her yr business? right?

Leeds,

I BOUGHT MY RINGS yesterday @ Goldheart. Bought the PureSaint's collection.
heheheh .. didnt even give my FH a chance to scout around for the 3rd time... I am running outta time .. and he is still thinking and hesitating.. heheheheh ...

Goldheart didnt give any discount at all. But they gave us a 10% -of the px we paid- cash voucher. Besides that we also received a VIP card whereby all future purchases, we can enjoy 20%. So the next time if I need to buy Goldeheart's stuff, I can use the cash voucher and dicount card... cheap cheap ..

Dunno whether it sounds good or not. but like I say I love the rings. even if its $10 less from the nett px I will grab .. heheheh .. now I 'seemed' to get more than expected.

smilez ~ actually hor, figure really not that great ... am super hippy ... sigh ... but the cheongsams are quite amazing ... i used to think that it will accentuate my flaws and big hips ... but actually i was quite pleasantly surprised ... heehehe ...

i am probably doing a-la carte in that want to just to WG and EG somewhere together with hair and make up ... the rest i will figure it out DIY lah ...

hehehe ... just feeling very 'hiao' now and want to make the cheongsam that's all ...

i will update on flamingo later ... apparently, someone told me that she is a less flamboyant and cheaper 'ted-wu' style ... hehehe ... so we shall see

i didn't include divine in my shortlist cos i had visited divine earlier this year with another friend, who is using divine in malaysia ... but i didn't really like divine and their package .. they are not very flexible lah ... it's a take-it or leave it situation with them ....

i think for the MTM gown for my mum, i will pay lah ... or maybe split with her or something .... but really depends on your mum/fmil lor

icy,

Wedsite for photos/guest signature etc... hmmmmm... letme consider it first. I need to see how IT savvy are my friends, to determine the cost effectiveness.

talk abt figure..hahaha...anyone intend on dieting or something to acheive perfect figure on ad or ps? i know some ppl who did...

for me i hv not decided whether to do so.. fh says i am mad if i do.. haha. anyone has the same experience?

anna ~ i believe that most of us would try to do something about looking better ... hehehe .. i am starting on a new exercise regime ... hehehe ... not dieting lah ... love my food too much .... but am doing long runs in the mornings, alternate mornings .... and basic pilates on the other days that i do not run ... so can burn the fats and stretch my muscles ... hopefully that works .... ehehehe

afterall i do want to look my best

dinah!!
wow tts a lot...i hv done nothing.

too lazy... can't imagine running every alternate morning!!! i will
lian ching ching..

i am oso not sure if i wan to... am 44 kg and 1.58. tho i dun mind being 40...haha.
how abt you?

anna ~ you are already a very good weight and height ... better not lose anymore weight!!!!!

i am running cos i really like it and i just want to burn some fats and firm up some otherwise flabby areas ... hehehehe

and actually i must confess, i only started last week ... heheheh .... i'm the same height as you but about 47/48 kg lah ... wouldn't mind getting down to 44 kg
hehehehe

I do try to exercise once a week.. .the key word is TRY.

Oh, I eat porride for lunch every day. My canteen sells horrible food... so I am left with the teo chew porride store. ... after a few months.. many people commented I have slim down. BTW my waistline used to be 25-26. Yesterday at my BS , while trying my ROM gown, he said my waisline is 24.

So I guess the porridge diet works for me. Up to you if you wanna try

<font color="0000ff">Hey Icy ~ good to know you *finally* made up your mind! yay!! one thing out of the way yah? So when u going down to make the booking?

Anna ~ no lar, i think they did inform their clients. Something to do abt power failure or some building maintainence issue lor..they will be open in April. Close for one week only..hehee

Dinah ~ Is the Divine in JB same as the SG outlet? BTW, Divine is at mandarin issit? Yah, CS look great if you have a narrow waist. So even if your hips are bigger, but if u can balance it out with a heavy bust, tiny waist...surely would look super sexy hor..hehehee.e.....:P</font>

claire ~ you are amazing ... i can't imagine just eating porridge ... *spb sob* i am such a greedy thing ... i just love my food, and sweets and tid-bits ... although i try to cut down on tid-bits these days ... but still lapse very often

dinah
haha... i guess for gals.. slim is nvr enuf ya? we always aspire to be thinner.

claire
wow!! 24 waistline is very small. I think mine must be 25 at least or maybe 26? dunno. nvr measure... how heavy/tall are you? must be bone thin. ;)
<envy> ;)

Hi anna,
I had sign up with bridal concpet with them for my last year ROM service and next year ad. Their grown are more to simple and clean cut design. For my rom grown which I chosen OTR is very plain. But i requset to add some design on it, and they are willingly to do it without complaint. They are very nice to talk to. My friends also sign out with them.

smilez ~ the divine that my friend has signed up for is the divine in KL and it is a branch of the divine at mandarin here .... they are all partners apparently ....

hehehe ... about the CS ... forget about the tiny waist lah ... decent normal size ... and no heavy bust ... only got big hips, thighs and butt .. hehehehe

Anna , I think I am too thin... or at least good enuff. Dun want to grow thinner anymore. But I am still on my lunch diet.. no choice. Forced by circumstances. I am ard 169m and only 48 kg. heheheh now I dunno how heavy I am ..

I want to be a little fleshy lar .. my designer complained that I am too thin

icy
pan pac?? oh i forget to give my update on venues.. dunno how useful cos it seem like most gals hv settled their venues.. walked past to see pan pac, marina mandarin, oriental on sat. pan pac the best but we tot it was ex?? how cum the hype abt the promos?

are you going for the ocean or the other? i think ocean the ceiling is too low. the other one is really quite nice but ex???

anna,

the promo is for the ocean ballroom. very good deal. The exp is the other ballroom. It has just been renovated. looks very very nice

claire
I think there is another one by mywedding.com.sg. Anyway try asking around and get a friend to do it for you, definately cheaper or even FOC.

Hi ssmilezz,
thank you.. I have not contact teh coordinator yet, but I hope we can get more wine cockage free. heehee

Hi gals ~ yah, i also love to exercise. I do cardio for 4 x a week and do weight training too. I am quite big boned yah..and my waist is definately not so tiny as u ppl leh...aiyoh..i pai sei to say but i think mine at least 26 - 27 lar..*sniff sniff*

Claire ~ wow..u have very good height!! *envious* I presume your FH also quite tall yah?
Yah, don't lose anymore weight else u look very bony hor..dat won't look too good in pics. Don't eat too much carbo yah...try to up your protein alittle. eat white meat like fish, chicken. it should help you to put on a little.

Dinah ~ yo..i also jog quite abit. Around 10km or more per week. And i do skipping (1200x every session) at home. :P On top of that, i go to the gym twice a week, attend classes and also have one time a week personal trainer session.

Anna ~ i think everyone wish to look their best in pics...i don't want to be thin! I want to be fit and sporty looking in my pics. hehee...I have been exercising regularly for years..since my poly days...never really stopped leh..unless i go on holidays. :P Don't worry, u can always start exercising now yah? never too late!!

I am 1.66 and weigh erm..*drumroll pls* 53 kg!! hahaaa....seems like all of u ppl are below 50kg. :P

Hi anna,

Yap..I was there on sat too at 6pm to see the setup.. saw a lot of couples there as well.

I am going for pacific ballroom, the more ex one.. I went to see the setup at ocean.. really dun like ocean ballroom cos of the lightings.. like office lights. when i see pacific.. I just feel 'wow!!" that is what I want.. more ex.. but I dun want to regret.

ocean ballroom going at $668nett.. quite fully book for weekend till Jun 2005. But the menu depends u like or not.. If i taking ocean.. I also will need to upgrade the menus.

smilez ~ you are amazing! all that exercise and workout and personal trainer?!?!?! hehehehe

ladies ~ maybe we should encourage each other to work-out a bit more ... so that all of us will look good ... like maybe those who live close enough to each other congregate to do something like twice a week ... or all of us could meet to do power-walking or something

<font color="119911">Icy ~ you're welcome.
I'm just happy to know you made a decision yah? At least can sleep better now..hahaa....At my cousin's wedding at Regent last year, they didn't serve any wine/liqour at all! And the older folks were too happy and made a lot of comments like "wat's a dinner/happy occasion with no drinking, blah blah..." hehee.... Yah, like u say, if you have a good feeling abt the place, better go with your gut feel.

Wonder where's jitpong, fates and the rest of them today....hmmm</font>

Hi ssmilezz,

ya.. got that "wow" feeling there.. so die die have to take it. hahaha

perhaps jitpong, fates and the rest of them having monday blues.. ??