(2005) Brides of year 2005

I have not booked my venue yet juz went to check out their ballroom. Pan pac coordinator was telling me that we should book early as most of their weekend till 3/4 of yr 2005 have been booked. I was shocked to hear that cuz my hubby and l thought we will already very kiasu but.....

Me went to view shang, fullerton and pan pac ballrooms already. Shang ballroom is really very nice and grand but the price abit 2 steep. As for BS, have not seen any 1 yet. Any advise on which BS is good.

Hello Karen,

Wow which BS is it? So ex......

My package costs $3188 which includes MTM gown and EG, teadress, Jackets for fathers, 24 (or more...I forgot) 8R pics, 20 + 4R pics, outdoor shoots etc etc...

Yo ssmilezz! OIC! Then no prob lah, cos' time is on your side
I also knew my hubby for very long before we ROMed. Seems like it's quite typical for us Singaporeans to go through this lifecycle...pak tor, ROM, customary, house..Kids...

Hi All ,

hmm ...hearing someone said marriage is mafan ..hahah ...but is enjoyable moment . House and marriage is a norm for couple who wanna to start a family
s smilezzz ...plan slowly and dun rush into it !!!

Where evryone LOVE NEST ? hmmm ...if anyone wanna to take alook with my ROM photos ..as my make up and grown are from golden horse award !
Just visit below webside

http://community.webshots.com/user/dannynjo

hi karen!

nearly missed u out! so u haven rom yet? r u intending to hold ur solemnization n AD tog?

so which area of flats r u looking into now?

for me, im looking at anywhere in betw jurong n woodlands.. def no sengkang n ponggol too!

btw, im not e one doing 28k reno!! i forgot who it is btw, SORRY! anyway, i can say tat 28k for reno is a v reasonable price if its being done by ID.. a usual 5rm flat now wil need a reno wif tat sum if u r thinking of ID for ur hm

im not from AJC lah.. never studied in JC... was from poly
ur frien's name is maiden ah? v special name!

hi germs!

oh, so now u r sourcing for venue huh? me also currently sourcing for BS n venue.. but haven started e search yet.. oni reading from mag to get ideas.. anyway, gotta know from some other brides to b tat GHA n TWP r rather popular choices..whitelink is one of my shortlisted BS but seems e price of e package is rather steep.

Hi Ssmileez,
Oo...more things in common: Not ROM yet, together 6 yrs loh. And my FH not working yet too!! This is getting quite spooky!

Actually can just ROM and go honeymoon one but I like the fact the joy is shared among friends on the AD. We have lots of common friends as we met in uni.
We poor too but I think if want to have a celebration must have lots of photos and of course must look nice. I would save on gowns in terms of material used but not design (since I not very slim, design can help a bit). And photography is important... Got any reasonably priced good ones to reccommend?

Hi Yvonne and catura,

Sorry for the unclear posting!!!

actually i want to know on the AD,, do u guys wear the 2 rings together??

cos i'm having my ROM and customery together,, and my bf bought a solitare ring for the proposal!! then on the AD how?? can i wear the soiltare on my left hand finger,, then during ROM he will put on the wedding band on the same finger??? ha ha ha

Hi Everyone!

I'm back! Luckily, no serious damage done to my notebook. It was a victim of the lightning storms on Sat!
But they've replaced the damaged part and now it's working fine again. Luckily, the notebook is still under warranty so no charge incurred for the repair. In fact, the warranty would be expiring tomorrow!!!

Hmm... starz hasn't posted since Friday... wonder how her first fitting went.

Hi icy,
Thanks for updating the table!

Hi duffybuff,
Can I have the URL? My email is [email protected]

Am not sure abt the other comments of Z wedding D'sign coz I didn't talked to hubby's cousin since her wedding. Not that close so a bit pai seh to ask her...But from their ads in all the 3 bridal mags this month (Her World, Style & Female) can say that their designs are quite nice and also that the designer kinda likes designing more revealing gowns!

Hi Sweet,
Welcome! *waves*

Hi Karen,
Welcome to the "lose weight" club here! Don't worry, we will all motivate each other to lose weight yah? ssmilezz has very powerful "psycho" skills! And yup, exercising in a group is good coz you will push yourself harder.

I also have abt another 9 kg to lose before my AD next year. But I've made it even more challenging, I have decided to do my PS in August/Sept this year so must lose all that weight soon!!!

Hi maiden,

I waited very long hor? coz we applied for punggol area very early, dat time under Fiance/Fiancee scheme. Heard must wait for many years but who knows, 2.5yr later, i got my flat!!!(my HB elder than me by 6yrs lah, so he scared he is getting old!!)watsmore we ROM oni last Dec, so not in the hurry to stay together.(...last yr, i'm still doing my grad. dip..tiring la.)

And lots of ppl kept asking when moving in, esp aunty says it's a waste to leave it vacant, so i give HB a deadline to finalise the reno thingy. hahaha....almost done wif ID selection.

ya,Panpac is too amazing, oso heard most weekends r booked til 2005. But i guess, no worry as there r always other place to hold dinner ya.

winnie,
I heard that u can booked the dates tentatively, can opt for a few dates if u like.If there are more than one couple go for that date, then they will call up the 1st couple to confirm and ask for $deposit, if they can't confirm & pay, then u can have it if u pay.(i think most couple do bookings oni and yet to pay deposit..so see who sway sway pick the auspicious date which lots of ppl on the wait list, then got to make decision faster than others)

Hi germ,
Hot-cakes are Panpac liao. Btw, u have seen Shangri-la's ballroom? Island or tower? is tower now renovating? A bit pricy for the dinner, i'll opt for silver package if I wan the tower. Think can't meet the Island's requirement of 45tables. Coz we wanted weekend.My solemnization was held at Shang last Dec, very gd co-ordination & gd svc banquet staff!Food superb...a lot of my guests singing praises..so happy. who have u met up there?Is it Wendy?

Hi Jellytots

Initially I also insist on not living with MIL, but we have bad planning...I came back from studies about a one & half year ago..cannot agreed on the location of our love nest until HDB launched BTO Aspella which will only be ready in 09, so no choice lor, failed to persuade him to stay with my parents then have to stay with IL..

Hi ssmilezz

I get along well with my MIL too, she seldom have much to say..but just afraid that things will be different once live together..they have old saying..'xiang jian huo tong zu nan'

Hi Karen

I thk the package you mentioned is very x..did you went to Silouette, Ted Wu etc...they are usualy of this price range..if you want something reasonable then you have to visit those one stop BS. My package is also $3188 with the following

1. MTM WG and EG,
2. OTR bridemaid's dress,
3. ROM package
4. 2 father's suits,
5. 2 groom suits,
6. studio, actual day & evening makeup and hairdo
7. 8 corsages
8. 2 bouquets
9. bridal car
10. bridal car deco and following car ribbons
11. 22pcs 15R, 1 8R table top, 3R & 5R album (phots same as 15R)
12. 36pcs 4R

I thk cost BS will offer all these standard item just the price different.

Hi Smilezzz ,

Same here ..my hubby is younger than me
too
It is very common nowadays ...i realise that younger guy are more caring towards older ladies ....tat what i feel .Cos before marriage i always get younger guys than older guys. Older guys are definately more mature but prossive over you ...dun you agreed

hi biba!

i also jus romed last dec.. but mine was held in gallery hotel... not as grand scale as urs!! hehe..

oh... 2.5yrs was fast yah?! but im sure u r v happy tat u hav gotten ur lov nest rite? n e process of finding ID n furnitures mus v fun but big headache at e same time rite?

so u haven pay any deposit wif pan pac huh? wat a gd idea!! meaning to say, u oni gav them a date but no $ commitments yet so u can stil jump hop to other venue if u want... clever leh u!
im looking into holding my wedding at raffles marina.. but haven been to view e place yet.. did u hear any comments on raffles marina?

Hi Karen.... received ur quotes.... T.Q.... I think u better source ard for more bridal shops b4 u confirm urs.... dun like me blur blur sign the package without asking for more things... so sad.... me will definitely go and ask for more things.... hee hee

*High Five* to those with FH younger than u.... me too.....

Hi josie.... saw ur photos.... hmm bery nice....

Hi cookiesgal.... welcome back... better catch up fast....

Hi jitpong... no worry its ok to stay with PIL... got some1 to cook for u and u do minimum housework mah... me every week like maid like that have to clean up the house, wash toilets.... so sad... always burnt my weekends doing chores... sound so sad man....

hmm me have booked the tentative dates liao, but i know if dont commit fast sure will be taken up soon. but we want to wait till renovaiton is completd then we see how much we want to commit.

really love shang or fullerton, but price is steep. dont want to spend too much. the only good one is PP which is having OB promo even for weekend thus it is all taken up liao!!

hv tansferred the album for public viewing, so u just hv to click on this link..
http://community.webshots.com/user/duffybuff

hi jellytots,
me oso staying in jurong west..heehee

oh ya, me will be staying w PIL as well but thk shld be ok cos' his parents are pretty quiet & easy to get along..

hi josie,
just saw yr pics..hmm realised u hv flawless back..

Hi Karen ~ hahaa...really so similiar!! But i think u should be younger than me lar...:P I am born in 77. :P hehee...Yah,i agree a good cutting is important lor...I told my FH that i want to take a better BS and willing to set aside a bit more lor....he seems quite alright ~! Must be my physco-ing skills lar..6 years too yah? love marathon..:P

jitpong ~ Don't worry lar, unless u have some super wierd habits that makes u a diff person to live with, i think u should be able to adapt well lor..
walk one step see one step yah?

duffybuff ~ u also moving in with your PIL? hee....

jellytots / josie ~ *high 5* hehee...all of us have younger FHs yah? How much younger? hehe..mine is 2 years. Er, i have never dated an older man so i can't comment. haha...we are each other's first bf/gf. but we click from day one lor...it was tough in the earlier part of our r/s lar...cos maybe i have too much expectations but we have both learned to give and take. Definately much happier and our r/s has matured alot along the way.

josie ~ thanks for your URL.
Nice pics...hehee...and i noticed u have a husky??
How old??

Cookies Gal ~ yo!! u are BACKKK!! hehee...gotta catch up with the rest of us yah?? :P You're really very heng boy....just missed by a few days and you'll not be under any warranty. Sat's storm was bad, my FH's house gana lighting..and his car porch's shelther collapsed Luckily his dad's car was not trapped under it. And the scary thing was, just mins before the lighting struck, i actually went out to the porch to bring in their laundry!! Yikes..scary man..else i will become "fried".

Hi maiden,
Me also heard that TWP is pretty gd...they are having a 20% discount for Her World Bride rite? Have yet to make any appt with any BS. I'm someone who loves embroidery and crystals....anyone has any recommendation.

Hi biba,

Agree that pan pac is HOT. I have seen both shang's ballroom. Me like the the island ballroom best. The tower ballroon is alrite except that the pre-cocktail area have pillars. No, think the renovation starts during the lunar 7th mth. Yup, wendy is the co-ordinator that l meet up with..very nice lady. Me got ROM last Dec 2.

Hi Cutiebear,

For AD, i will be wearing only the wedding ring.

So, it depends on you. As for me, will choose to wear the wedding ring only.

hi jellytots,
j.w. is my own hse w my parents..near jurong pt my PIL staying in serangoon

hi ssmilezz,
talking abt lightning, haha my PIL's hse oso kena that & the electricity tripped..& worst of all, no one was at home, so the poor fishes suffocated to death..luckily managed to save some..

ya lor, actually pretty worried abt satying with PIL, even though they might seem alright & easy going but u know lah..still worried lor..well what to do..

so what if the hubby is older..hahah my hubby is older than me but he looks younger than me..can die..

connie -
wats chevron? where??
bp =
i live ard the area...yippee.. new fren..

germ -
we targeting same date... i ask a few places... some even dun hv package price yet so dun need so jing zhang...i think still hv time...

um....forget to post - what is so gd abt pan pac??? why hot cakes? i make enquiry for 2005 - price abt the same as the other hotels le... wat is so special?? i know they hv some ocean ballrm promo for this yr but for 05 i dun see anything...??? anyone care to explain?

noticed 1 last thing... none of us hv intro ourself huh? - how old, fh how old, wat line we in etc... maybe too pte for posting...

this forum the posting style not very friendly.. haha

Hey duffybuff ~ yah, after the roof collapsed hor, also the entire house went into darkness. scary boy..and my FH just bought a new 3 ft tank and shifted his lou han outside only friday night!!

Phew, i'm glad u saved some fishes..so yuan wang hor to die like that. LOL!! wat sort of fishes are they?

don't worry lar...take it easy...hee...
worse to worse, u can come here and "complain" to us lor...

Yah, your hubby looks very boyish..eh, not that u are old lar..joking only!!!

hi maiden,

rite, reno can be quite fun esp. when the hse is slowly done up, wif the things u always wanted. Haha..

i think its a gd ides that booking requires no deposit, so dat i can still scout for others...me no clever lar..er, as for raffles marina, heard it has very nice ambiance, else the rest u let me know ya...(I think I'm the one whose reno will cost 28k lar!!!) Btw, i think most gals here are Dec bride of 2003??? Like u, germ and myself. maiden, when d u rom?

Germ, when did u ROM? Must say Wendy is a very gd co-ordinator. She gave lots of suggestions & is very flexible and can neg. for alot for more stuff. She try to meet ur every needs, I must say. It's gd to have her ard. I've no worries when I had my luncheon cum solemnization there. So smooth...... So u wanna have Shang?

My wedding is on 2 Jan 2005. Dont mind if I 'butt' in as well? My AD is at Sheraton towers, while I just booked my BS, its Santiago @ bugis. Just booked it... on impulse. But they did offer alot of perks.

Hi catura/ yvonne,

You already ROM? Thought only supposed to wear wedding band after the wedding. I wear my engagement ring almost everyday. Love the sparkle... hehe...

Hi Cutiebear,

I would think you wear e-ring on the left finger, then during ROM, put wedding band on right finger. Thats what I intend to do lor...

You gals bought the wedding bands already?? IS it matching with your fiance's?

Hi Ssmilezz,
I'm only a year younger than u...and we are also each other's first. Very freaky leh..if not for the fact that my FH 2 yrs older than me and does not leave in landed prop, we like mirror lives leh.

Hi Jitpong,
I have not gone to any bridal shops yet, the prices were what I saw posted in this forum. Your package is from Wedding Present right...it's price sound more reasonable. Thanks for sharing your info with me. Thot die die must save at least $5K for package, now can breathe better...

Hi Cookie_gal,
How are you going pia to lose 9 kg? lucky I still got time but already I feel like very difficult leh. Now cutting down on sugary drinks and amount of food but I will never starve (against my policy to deprive myself of food). But need to start regular excercise and I very lazy leh.

Hi jelltots

I think i will not enjoy the benefits of living with in-laws. My FH already say that I need to handwash his clothes for him...and he give me the reason that he feel so warmth wearing something that was washed and iron by his wife...anyway happy to do so cos melted in all these sweet talk...haha...my weekend will also be burnt cos he say he like to eat my cooking....

Hi ssmilezz

I do have some weird habit that why so worry, cleanliness in the house is my 1st priority but my MIL is not as particular...esp my FBro-in law smoking and he left all his ashes everywhere...i oredi can imagine nagging my FH everyday about the ashes....hehe i very yim chim hor...sound like a difficult person to live with...guess have to one eye open one eye closed liao...should be contended that at least my room will be clean.

Hi Josie

Thanks for sharing your ROM photos..So when is your AD and where your banquet..

smilezzz ,

hmm ...you ladies will never expect that ...haha my hubby is 4 years younger . hmmm ... got together 4 years ago and nothing is easy for us ...but he a good hubby hhaah cos he always the one to do cooking and i do the household chores . But one thing both side our parents are supportive abt it . ~ I hope i dun look older than him ....but he got boylish look !
He used to date older ladies ...before me cos he felt that we are more mature and supportive .
Anyway ..i m born in a the year of horsey

Ya ..i have a cocker spaniel name husky ..very notti but he can be darling to us and he is coming 1 year in April
Do you have a dog too ???

Duffybuff,

the beary cookies look cute ..i dun think i will bear to eat them ...did you frame it up hahaah !
hmmm ...ya onli back flawless ...hahaha .
It will be nice staying with in laws ..but it can be diff after staying together ...any intention to get a LOVE NEST of your own ???
Your hubby ....look familar ...anyway how old are both of you ?Dun mind i kapo abit !

Any suggestion ....abt pan pac hotel ?...cos the wedding package look attractive with reasonable price

Hi claire,

Glad to have more people joining this thread

So how much preps have you done so far? I heard Santiago has very nice WG. Have you decided on the design for your gowns?

HI Karen

My BS is not from Wedding Present...My BS is Everbliss...

I really put in to much goos word for TWP that everyone thought i am from TWP...kekeke

Yo josie! Yup From GHA! Tampines branch
Coordinator is Amy.

Wow ssmilezz and Karen...you two can be sister liao !!
Seems like it's a trend to have a younger FH? You girls are brave mannn....personally I dare not date a younger man if I am not married....Because I scared I'll aged faster than them....

Hi Josie

Pan Pac id oredi fully booked for all the weekend till Jun 05. YOu can read our previuos thread, we discuss about Pan Pac too

Hi Karen

TWP package with photography(without bridal car) is $4788..but lastest edition Her World bridal has a discount booklet entitled to 20% didcount.

jitpong ,

thank for viewing
we are still .... viewing the ballroom and restura...but we are trying to shortlist . Many thing got to consider ...parent prefer ...location ...fed up with all those points to be taken . But i think in the end we will choose one ideal place that we like hahaha ... so no worries for me !
Our AD should be next year 01 Oct ....but not confirmed yet ....??

Hmm.. funny, when I posted my msg this morning I didn't see all the other posts abt lovenest etc, must have forgotten to press my refresh button

Looks like most of you are moving into your PIL's place to stay first after your wedding. But so far, from your descriptions, your PIL all sounds okay, so don't worry too much yah?

For myself, I have already bought my house so will be busy with the renovations later this year.

Duffybuff & ssmilezz, wow, looks like Sat's storm created a lot of havoc all around S'pore! BTW, do your husbands/FH like to rear fishes as pets?

Duffybuff, thanks for posting the link. Have visited the website liao. Really nice cake and your ROM gown was lovely too!

Josie, I have to agree with ssmilezz, wow, really flawless back! Can't tell you are older than your husband though. You look really young in your ROM photos!

Jitpong,
Any idea how long the shop that you recommended for kua takes to make a kua? Hmm... your package is a really good deal. You must have really good bargaining skills!

Hi Karen ~ haha....yah, quite freaky hor.. so coincidental. :D

Hey Jitpong ~ Guess wat? I am a neat freak too. Can't stand to see messy things at home and my mom is even worse. She nags abt every little thing and insist that the house is super clean. But FH's parents are not so particular lor, so i am trying my best to lower my standard of cleanliness. hahaa...

Your FBIL is staying with you all too? Aiyoh, i can't stand smoke due to my sinus. Luckily, no one smokes at home.
No lar, not yim cheem....everyone is different mah...i hand wash all my clothes too but at FH's home, they dump everything into the machine. haha....and his mom will do washing for their lingerie (meaning for herself and his sis). Erm, i'm not too used to that. :P

I like cleaning and washing....good form of exercise. hahaa....:P

josie ~ If you are a horsey, should be younger than me by one year yah..1978? same as Karen arh? Wow, can't tell u are older by 4 years definately...
u look very girlish mah..true lar, it's a good thing the older folks are all supportive. if not, hard to work things out hor...in fact, cos he's still studying now, his mom will nag at him to work hard/study hard, so can provide for me in future. :D

OIC ! So it's a cocknel spaniel...:P hee..i don't have a dog but my FSIL has.

So where's your home now? Must be quite tough to save up yah? Is your hubby working or studying?

Smilezzz ,

My hubby is working and studying part time now
My Love Nest is Woodlands ..we just in four months ago .

Jitpong ,

Sigh ...after reading your posting ..i immediately gave them a call ..My date is taken up ...so sad ... !Saving up ...ya very diff cos we have our own home ..everything need money !But life stil got to go on ....but we have to forego like less shopping and movies for us .

Hi Karen,

I'm losing like 2kg/mth now which is actually a little slow. I hope this month I can lose abt 3kg... got abt 2 more weeks to go, and so I think I can hit my target for this month.

Actually, I don't believe in torturing myself too... I love eating and cooking (bad combination). Worse, I love eating those kuay chap, pig organ's soup, indian mutton soup etc!!!

My diet strategy now is to be more careful of what I eat. Luckily, I seldom eat chocolates and drink sugared drinks so no need to work on these areas for me. I try to eat-in (bring own sandwiches to work) at least twice a week and eat smaller portions for other meals lor. I still eat those stuff I mentioned above but just that I cut down on frequency. This is so that the diet doesn't feel like one at all. So far, it seems to be working! (btw, bringing own lunches to work helps to save money too
!!!)

As for exercise, I go for aerobics twice a week under the courses run by Singapore Sports Council. I also walk 15min from MRT to office in the mornings instead of taking bus. During the weekends, I generally walk a lot so no special exercise during the weekend. However, I must control myself when I go to my PIL's place for meals - their cooking is fantastic and they always have a lot of nice things to eat!!!

Think I should be able to pia lah... still got abt 4-5 more months.

Maybe you want to start slow, try walking a bit more, then perhaps sign up for an exercise class (coz after you've spent the money, you will make yourself attend the lessons!) Then after a while, you'll get used to it. But also must be patient, your body may not show the weight loss immediately too. But you'll definitely feel fitter!

Oopppsss.... I think I got it wrong.

E-ring on right finger and wedding band on left finger. Right?

So, before the wedding, I wear e-ring on right hand only. During exchange of rings, wedding ring would be put on left hand finger.

____Hi claire,

Glad to have more people joining this thread

So how much preps have you done so far? I heard Santiago has very nice WG. Have you decided on the design for your gowns?

Hi Leeds,

Not much prep done yet. A little frantic now. I have just confirmed my AD and BS only. I do not know what to do with my MTM WG and EW. No idea yet. Currently search for wedding bands too as my ROM is in May. {Panting}

hi ssmilezz & cookiegals,
the fishes are his dad's, they r all "li yu" and really huge ones..& know wat his dad is gng to kill us cos' he still don't know abt it yet as he's not in town..oh no!

haha..told u my hb looks younger than me right..so i hv to try to look younger..& worst of all, if i continue to put on weight then i look bigger than him..so cham.

hi josie,
indeed, i couldn't bear to eat the cake but well, i took alot of pics of it and finally feel that we shld taste it..so we broke the arms & legs & start to hv a feast after a day of admiring it.

oh, thk i'm the oldest among u gals...me born in 75 & hb 73..old leh. so it's really really time to get married..dun wish to be an old mother..

Hi hi!

Josie ~ quite tough to work and study at the same time! jia you jia you!! when will he finish his studies?

Cookies Gal ~ yah lor..really big big headache. :D
yah, my FH likes fishes and enjoys dragging me into aquarium shops. Erm, i find fishes quite boring...*yawn*

jitpong ~ my friend went to visit TWP last week and she really likes their gowns lor...apparently, she found the service very good too. The OTR gowns which she tried are quite nice and she considering to go for OTR package now. Will update everyone if she signs up and let u all know the package details later one. :P u really sound like their spokesperson. heee

fates ~ no lar, i also had my reservations at first cos things seems so hard to work out lor...:P but it's fate lar...i'm glad we found each other. i feel that i look older leh...that's why i decided to start with my anti-anging products now. *kia su*

Hi anna ( felicity ),

Me not jing zhang..its juz that l'm surprise at how fast those dates are being booked. For me , l dun have a date yet cuz the tong shu not out yet.

Hi biba,

Me got ROM on 7 Dec 2003. I had my solemination at Amara hotel. Everything went smoothly, the service apartment in Amara Hotel is very nice but the only sad part is that l forgot my hand bouquet. Sob sob. We will only consider taking shang if we can meet the min table of 55 for wkend ( Island ballroom ).Wat about u?

Hey Duffy and josie,

Nice pics u have over there. Thanks for sharing. Both of you are beautiful brides,

Jellytots,
Ny Love Nest will be in Tampines and getting my keys next week. Haha, stress man as renovations will come next with ROM on 31st May.

Everyone,
Me getting inspired with all the weight loss stories and I have to lose mine real soon too man. Usually PS will be how long before you AD ah? How much do you all have to spend for reno in ur hse?

hmm..ya. i'll also consider shang. most prob will get its tower ballroom, see how's the reno first. As Island has been renovated, lets wait for tower's turn. I'll be delighted if I have shang for my AD....my dream else others like panpac will do juz nice.So my 'spare' is panpac, dat's y i booked tentatively for it.hahaha....

Hi biba,

You mean panpac allow you to booked tentatively with them for so long? You didnt pay a deposit rite?