(2005) Brides of year 2005

My banquet is giving me complimentery 1kg of cake on the top most tier...since it is free..definietely will not forgo rite...

Hi Anna

Ballroom gown is actually gown as you describe with big gown bottom...'pong pong'..but i tot must wear a can can in order to get the 'pong pong' effect

anna,
good idea...anyone knows which kopitiam sells the cheapest jam or which factory sells jam in bulk...really can consider....hmm...

i had chicken rice....ask my colleague to dabao for me...sinful sinful

hi jitpong,
I just booked for facial at the beginning of this mth, i will convert some sessions into back scrub too if neccessary.

Hi ssmilezz,
I might go down to my BS in July if I want to MTM my rom gown.

Hi anna,
did the coordinator at pan pac show u the photo frame and the namecards holder.. quite nice too.

Hi jellytots,
I saved them up when I saw them post on the threads hahaha.. the 1st one is from GHA website.

Hi Dinah,
I am not sure leh, but that one really look like a bustier gown from Divine.

hi jitpong,
my banquet give me a dummy cake but they will give me a real 500g cake in the bridal suite...and it's my favourite fruit cake...heehee

why am i keep talking about food....now my mind full of food...roti prata, carrot cake...arghhhh

Touraco ~ yah..u should learn to make your own jam hor..hehe...my ebay kakis like making their own soaps and they give out tiny bars of soaps for their wedding favours.
Handmade so very nice..hehee..

Maybe i should ask my grandmother to make a-achar...so everyone gets a teeny weeny bottle. hahaha...:P

Anna ~ ballgowns are quite "pong pong" style..i think it's similar to using the can can?? Think will probably go for A-line lor...and if i can get myself in shape, maybe mermaid..hahahaa....:P but that's highly unlikely. :P

Which church will u be holding your wedding at?

I always love chocolate cakes....:P but since i don't have a dinner, so no chance for any cakes lor...but i think Female or HWB mentioned abt this Awfully Chocolate cake shop along Joo Chiat, they make really good chocolate cake...very nice.

Duffy's friend made her a very pretty cake for her ROM. Did u see her pics?

Hi Dinah/Icy

Dinah is rite...for such low back gown, bustier definitely cannot hold it...so have to be a spaghetti strap gown

smilez ~ you can try asking the designer for a chapel train ... still very nice and quite grand and pretty ...

touraco ~ hehehe ... i think we are all in the same boat with the eating habits and yet wanting to look good for PS and AD .... sigh ...i'm just going to have to be super disciplined about my regular runs in the morning ...

jitpong
i like those satin a line type heavy enuf not to hv can can but pong enuf tho not so pong until it is so stiff.... dunno wats tt called??

smilez
soap...so nice.. nice idea.. cost??
achar..haha..might as well make sambal belancan.. stink all the ang moh guests away hahahahah.

ah i guess i am looking at a line too then.. in the heavier satin material. wat material you going for? wats gd? i am still confused but tts cos my ad only in dec so still hv time ... need all yr advices by then...

wesley methodist. you?

no dinner? oh you holding church recep?

anna ~ you can consider doing duchess satin under with a layer or two of organza over ... something that i am doing so that the shape maintains ... then ask the BS/designer to sew the can-can material onto the WG so that way it will be a bit pong without you having to wear a can-can ...

smilez ~ the cake shop you are referring to is called awfully chocolate and it has absolutely to die-for chocolate fudge cake, chocolate and banana cake ...

yum yum ... i LOVE their cakes ..

<font color="aa00aa">Jitpong ~ u are right lor..not enuff support for bustier. :P It will probably keep slipping down. My friend was very top heavy and even when she wore this spaghetti WG, the top gaped open, we had to resort to using tape to help her.

Icy ~ those two gowns are nice...
You will look very sweet in them! hehee...mei mei hor...

Touraco ~ ya..cakes, food......:P ~~~ My FH loves to eat too...and he goes crazy over fried carrot cake (not the ang moh kind). Besides jam, u can keep your options open for something more local like kaya!! (yummmyyyyyy). We were always joking that for our reception, we will get those coffeeshop (zi cha) shifu to stand and cook whatever our guests want to makan. hahaha...:P</font>

hi dinah,
heehee...women,right?

i like embroidery designs on my gown as my solemnisation would be held outdoors so i wld like flowers etc on my gown...something like this
50921.jpg

Hi touraco... going bangkok for wedding favour what can u get... can only remember chopsticks which i hv dozen pairs at hm given during wedding dinners.... anyway i love bangkok alot cos things is sooooo cheap down there.... food and clothes... go there 3 times already still love there so much... hee hee

well me too will stick to what the hotel give me... dun think of wasting the $$ cos nobody will appreicate it.... anyway....

oh i remember my FH went to attend a wedding function of his colleague.... their wedding favours is something differents from the normal chopsticks, choc, candles.... they give a little old man &amp; woman figuring in different design... like sitting in car, motorcycle, swing... etc

Hi touraco and anna, seemed like u 2 of similar taste, my BS new batch of gowns are all embroidery designs but more on the plain embroidery, not the colourful ones..

I think I prefer plain embroidery ones if not just organza and ciffons..

hi jelly,
if i want food as wedding favours, dun think i will be able to get it from bangkok

might shop for some furniture thing instead for my house then.

Leeds,

wrinkles not so obvious liao lor,, if i dont sign up the package each time i'm paying $120. and i go monthly!!

i'm the oldest among u gals lah!!! i coming 32 this Nov!!

No plans for hen nights leh,,, waiting for my gfs to plan for me

omigosh ... everyone is posting pictures everywhere ... hehehehe ...

touraco ~ we have the same idea ... of little embroidery on the gown ... hehehe .. i am intending to do that too .. in a few soft pastel colours to suit my garden solemnisation

jelly &amp; other ladies looking for wedding favour ideas ~ do check out the knot as well as www.weddingchannel.com ... the things that the americans do for wedding favours are quite unique

hi poppie!!

yah, i know where it is now... cos happen to c it when i went to my friens place at st 61... but dunno when e release wil b rite? i don wanna wait tat long.. hav u been to view any jw flats recently? btw, theres not many units left now too.. most r snatched up oreadi except e low level ones..

hi anna!

i think dec mon shouldnt b as hot as weekend... but best is to book at least a yr in adv..

btw, my rom was done out of rom premise... had mine at gallery hotel... was truly more special n memorable n our jp was Mr David Loh... he made our rom truly special... so my advice is tat to hold ur rom out of e rom premise if u can..

u mean u hav been to check out those hotel personally or thru their website? pan pac is not tat ex... about $638+++ n above.. thing for their embience n place, e price is quite reasonable .. but think their slots r book thru til dec 2005

Whoa...so many pics..hehee...

Anna ~ u managed to upload the pics here yah?
I notice there's a lot of detailing in the gown. I think if u like it, can model your own gown something like that lor..it's also a bit pong pong.

They make their own soap and sell it on ebay. Actually, if u all are really keen, i can ask my ebay kaki abt it. Maybe she can quote a cheaper price lor.....
Can always ship the soap over...:P hehehee....

Yah hor..somemore make blachan....hehee..and hei bi hiam (baby prawns) hahaha.... next thing we know, we will be bringing back ba zhang as our wedding favours. hahaha. LOL!

Mine is at St Francis Xavier (serangoon gardens).

No dinner, just church + reception + tea ceremony.

Touraco ~ i also like embroidery!
*high 5* That pic is nice! is it from The Knot?

Dinah ~ wow..u sound very knowledgable abt the diff materials. I do not know anything abt that..think i need to touch the materials to have a good feel. Plus discuss with the designer lor..

What is a chapel train? *blur* got pic to show me?

Yah yah..that chocolate cake shop...yummmmmmmyyyyy.....

Icy ~ that evening gown is quite nice. And yes, the guazy train really makes the gown stand out!

hi dinah,
yup...i wld love little embroidery on my gown...to suit my garden theme as well....

anyone knows where to get cheap tailor to do bridesmaid gown?

50935.jpg

50936.jpg

smilez:
st francis is catholic i think? correct me if i am wrong? maybe we shld oso add church venue to our table list??? wat do you think?

the pic touraco posted is oso fm lazaro..

uh dinah - why dun you explain the materials to us blur sotongs here?
thks... haha.

touraco
i like pic one for bridesmaid. but maid must hv gd figure to carry it off...otherwise will not look nice.

i like the idea of bak chang for favours...keke.

touraco ~ i think you can get dresses like that at olive suite ... but couple of hundred each i think ...

but i know a tailor at chinatown who can help you replicate the dress you want ... but you need to go buy your own material first.

smilez ~ all thanks to heath at silhouette who was showing me on sat how different materials will make you look different ... and which suits you better etc ....

i personally love the organza over satin look, cos the gown still has shape and the layes of organza is not as pong as chiffon and still gives the gown a very romantic feel ....

hmmm .... let me see if i can find upload the WG that i like ... that is a chapel train ...
50940.jpg

anna ~ lol ... i don't think i am an expert lah on fabric ...speak to the people at the BS .. they are the experts ... what i know i am spouting off what other people tell me ... hehehehe

Touraco ~ OMG!!!
i love those two that u just posted!!
Nice...also from The Knot?
But i think bustiers are really very common hor...ppl are wearing them regardless of how they look. I'm worried that i can't carry off the bustier. Need to have nice shoulders and i think someone mention, nice collarbone. :P

huh? Nonya cake ah? how come ang gu kuay? oh..cannot hor, that's only after your baby is ONE month old. we cannot jump the gun and let the old folks suffer a heart attack.

Dinah ~ i think u, touraco and me quite similar taste in our gown! I hope my mag comes soon...can share with you all.

touraco ~ i think the costs really depends on how difficult the dresses are going to be ... i'll IM you her contact ....

hi smilezz,
those two are bridesmaid dresses but i did toy with the idea of using as wedding gown with a bit of modication or just make one cos' they look so nice

i am worried i can't carry off a bustier gown too but i love them so much...

hahahaha....maybe give red eggs..hahahaha

smilez ~ i agree about the bustier gown ... super common but it is also actually the easiest to carry off cos of its simplicity .... i tried so many different types of necklines on saturday ... high-neck, strappy, toga-style, halter ... and still just came back to the bustier ...

can't wait to see the mag ... hehehe ... hope it is as good as the site!

Hi Dinah/ssmilezz

Heard of this shop but just can't find it leh..which part of Joo Chiat is it located at...i work nearby there..maybe i can go and search..i am a chocolate lover.

err..can anyone advise how ciffon look like

Hi jitpong,

organza is the slightly hard material compared to ciffon and ciffon is softer like veil for the brides. Girls, Am i right?

jitpong ~ it is pretty close by to the joo chiat community centre ... located on the ground floor of one of the nicer buildings close by ... hehehe ... can't recall the name though ....

chiffon ~ a bit like organza but softer ... semi-translucent .. very romantic and soft fabric

Cutiebear,

Wahh you really look after yourself hor... Going for facial and spa so regularly I'm sure your skin is very nice! I really should start going too but so lazy. Do you know any cheap and good spa in SG?

My friends been asking me abt hen nights but still dont know if I want to have one leh...

icy ~ don't think there is a specific look to how an ROM dress needs to look lah ... hehehe ... essentially it is whatever you like

<font color="aa00aa">jitpong ~ I can't remember the address. But are u familiar with Katong Mall? It's very nearby lor...

Anna ~ no lar..i won't jump gun one hor....me &amp; FH very kuai...
haha..red eggs? getting too kua zhang already. hehee

Touraco ~ Yah, u can try modify-ing it. I think it'd make a nice ROM or tea dress.
Yeah, i also worried i don't look good in bustiers. FH don't like me in bustier dunno why..so i'm determined to work hard on my arm and shoulders. :P

Dinah ~ ya ya..so excited!!!!

Leeds,

is your hubby SAFRA member?? there's 1 spa at located inside Yishun SARFA,,, if member got discount,, and good ambiance!!

then if yr FH dont want go SPA,, still can to swim or gym to wait for u!!