(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi elaine,
ya ya, my mum told me there's a shop at jurong west..shld be the same one tat u r talking abt.

hi touraco,
honeymoon..of cos' plan to go but must save up 1st lor.. not sure still hv $ to spend at the end of all these preparations for AD.. planning to go NZ, Switzerland or Aust. these 3 for the time being.. but like i said now no spare $ to even thk abt it.

hi dinah,
500 guests!?! wow, that's really a lot. majority relatives? word of caution, better think twice who u really need to invite & who u can do without.. will help u to save abit if both of u r forking out the $$. as for me, only immediate relatives r invited. as for friends, those not really very close i dun intend to invite..

dinah,
the place i am looking at can only hold 26 tables max so i am trying to have only 240 guests. told my FH how many tables her parents can have..heehee
think they not very happy. actually they dun even want a wedding dinner
they want a church wedding and then reception where they can invite the whole church kind of thing....

jelly,
i am feeling much better today. thank you.
is crowning expensive? i have some sort of "dracula" teeth and i was thinking if crowning them will make them look better

i am thinking of going europe for 3 weeks...as usual, i am the one thinking and looking at brochures as my FH is too lazy to bother with such things. i am planning to spend arounf $15K for the whole trip.

smilez, duffy & touraco ~ yes ... that many people ... cos we're both the first in our families to go down this path so we can't escape the big do unfortunately ... we felt that giving into our parents on the number would be easier than arguing with them on this matter - end day they also want face and it is easier to give in at this stage lah ... do it once, do it properly, that way both sides won't nag later on ...

i know that end day at the dinner ... almost 1/3 of the guests i won't even know - but what to do ... i don't want to upset my folks or his ... i know it is our wedding ... but it is also our parents' time to shine / show-off a little ... which is why when it came to costs and everything, we told our parents that we will pay for the dinner, and that they don't have to, but we will take back all the ang pows from that that to cover cost and minimize loss

icy
got it... i emptied my box. so you can forward the intercon one too! thks.
got flooded with a big pic fm someone who sent me a cheongsam pic i can't launch so i gave up and delete it...

jelly
better better. less wind tdy..

Duffy ~ hey...one of my forum kaki told me that she signed on for 8 days switzerland from the Natas fair leh....forgot to ask her how much. hehee...yah, all the places u mentioned are nice. Good for honeymooners..hehe

Touraco ~ so u not having a church wedding? I am having only a church service lor...it's out of respect for my FH's family cos most of their family are catholics. I'm going for my Engaged Encounter weekend in May.

Jelly ~ erm..pin in your tooth? sounds painful!! can u eat properly?

Morning all! *waves*

Icy ~ yalor waste of time on Bad saturday....can email me your geomancer contact? Thanks babe..

anna ~ Ya funny hor....some got tong shu, some no tong shu???

yo jelly! ~ No I did not get to see Priscilla that day. Can't wait too long....she sounds nice la. Maybe it's a miscommunication between her and the reception...don't know but it gives us a bad impression...

Ok elaine ~ really ar? HIPV service really good ar? food leh? But the hotel appearance cannot make it you know.....

SDJ SDJ! Ya my hubby side is teochew. Don't know whether my in-law will give but if they really give me gold...then no choice mannnnn! Not that we are money-face if we prefer the $$$, but it's more practical isn't it..

hi smilezz,
i am going to hold the solemnisation at the hotel itself....so this will replace the church setting but other than that, the rest remains

not sure if it's a custom or what but my mum says she have to buy a ring for my FH. she also says she will have to buy jewellery for me to marry off....i requested for white gold and she like saying white gold no value...must buy yellow gold.

touraco!!
wow!15k for a honeymoon. so cool. we budgeted i think only a fraction of that...no $... ;(

where all you gals considering to go for honeymoon? lets trade ideas. we are considering mauritus or maybe spain? or eastern europe?

touraco ~ really? a ring for your FH? my mum said she has to buy cloth for my FH for him to make a pair of pants ... also dunno where she learnt this from ... hehehehee

anna ~ FH and i narrowed down a few choices for honeymoon - we didn't want to be trekking everywhere ... just want to spend quiet time together, so likely options now: mauritius or maldives, hawaii and stopover in japan on the way back, or italy (rome, venice, florence, milan)

hi anna,
we budgeted that in for our honeymoon...my sister went to 3 countries in europe and spend $10K so i thought $15K is quite alright. thinking of joining land tour after we reach there...think it's cheaper...hopefully don't have to spend so much
think after wedding and honeymoon...have to start saving all over again....sigh

did u read the natas fair thing on the Today's newspaper last week? they have features on quite a number of countries. i read it online though

hi dinah,
i have no idea where she got the idea that must buy ring.

wow 15k for a honeymoon.... *clap*

anna...same as you... $ all spent in AD liao...got to re-save or pray to strike 4D. Heh Heh

Honeymoon honeymoon...I would like to go LasVegas or Disneyland. Me haven't been to disneyland b4..

Me and hubby went to LasVegas to renew our wedding vows 3-years back (1-mth after our ROM) in the same church as Bon Jovi, and we fell in love with the city of light

dinah
agree abt teh running ard thing. honeymoon is for spending quality time tog. we were thinking of doing a shorter one 5-6d to maldives. and maybe do europe (western or eastern) on 1st anniv. always believe its gd to take a short trip each yr to stregthen the relationship.

touraco/ fates
i've been to disney. its fun. even for adults. i went a couple of yrs back. joined their local tour. it was so gd. lasvegas is a little plastic though. i think 1 day there is more than enuf.

Hi Tauraco..

The ring thing is new to me..my mum only say that my FH has to buy a pair of shoes for my brother and the bed we will be sleeping on in future...i will have to buy all the pillow and bloster (i thk spell wrongly)...and tea set to being over to FH side for tea ceremony on actual day...i also dunno the reason behind these custom just do as told

My honeymoon will depend on my banquet if there is $$ left we will go Europe if not Japan....

I mean I am not a Christian, but everything there is so romantic...

Now I know why so many ang-mos like to go LasVegas to get married...

And the city itself is amazing! Different hotels have different themes....the performances, the musicals.. WOW

Hi dinah,
i saw ur gown, quite nice.. :D But the link to the back is not working..

Hi touraco,
i also consider Europe.. like paris etc.. heehee
15K is a lot!! But i also need to consider the factors like I prefer a more relaxing trip for honeymoon and not rushing around especially if we follow tour group. mauritius or maldives also good.. mine!! so many choices

Hi anna,
I re-email you the IH quotes already, check ur email.

Hi Fates,
I pm you the geomancer contact already.
Fates, envy leh.. so romantic to renew ur vows there...

dinah
yup yup. but short trips not very ex...can always do m'sia or thailand. just 2 -3 days is gd enuf..we were thinking of saving a gd one for 1st anniv so after all the wedding hype we can minimise the honeymoon and still look forward to a gd 1st anniv treat?

fates
i tot lasvegas cheapened marriage (no offence k? but the drive thru churches and easy marriage laws really chepen the sacredness of the union?
tho i had gd pics from there...

anyone been to spain here? or eastern europe?

ladies .. speaking of honeymoon, a thought that FH and i had was a driving trip .. either through australia/new zealand or in the US ... you are stuck together in a car for like days to no end ... good quality bonding time together

we went to bali couple of mths back and fh wanted to drive. i didn't let him. wanted to enjoy the hol and not have stress abt losing our way, crashing the car, vehicle breakdowns.

Hi Fates/Tauroco

Remember to take a bus trip from Lasvega to Los Angeles...you will come across a place where a lot of international brands had their factory outlet there..if you take a plane..you will miss it...agreed with Anna that One day in LasVega in in enough...

Be sure to visit the Universal Studio theme park very similar to Gold Coast Movie World...but i was there 10years back dunno if it still as fun.

icy ~ yeah ... dunno why ... but i will just do a very simple plain backing lah .. nothing out-of the ordinary .. hehehe... like it plain and simple and sweet

anna ~ i went to eastern europe couple of years back with some friends ... very very beautiful .. very different from paris, london etc .. not sure if it applies now still but back then before the euro currency, eastern europe was quite cheap to travel about

anna ~ actually if you plan the route that you want to take ... and book motels/hotels/rest-stops along the way in advance, it isn't that bad really ... we really enjoyed our driving trip the last time ... but a lot of planning in advance lah

i would prefer a more relaxed honeymoon too so must plan carefully the trip....my sister went to hawaii and eastern(or western?) US for honeymoon and she went europe for anniversay too.

but must also take into consideration when you want to give birth as that will hamper the length of trips to be taken.

jitpong
yup. but i think the factory outlet prices are still ex if you earn yr living in sgd. prob cheap if you earn in usd though.

i liked universal as well. teh tram ride was cool. gold coast movie world - i tot that was a far cry from universal...

Wow Dinah.... 50 tables thats alot... better control.... u hv too many relatives isit...

well as for me also alot of relatives.... and relatives angbow are always not much cos one whole family.... sit abt half or 3/4 table then cannot expect them to give to cover the table mah.... *sigh* * sigh*

a lot of planning is required indeed for a driving trip.

me and FH went sydney and melbourne for 2 weeks end of last year till mid this year...i had to plan where to stop...which places to visit.
the trip was fun but tiring. we cldn't get motel on the way to melbourne and ended up sleeping in the car in one of the caravan parks.

i would prefer to either rent a caravan if we wanted to drive for honeymoon or dun drive at all.

and do not use Hertz...had a very bad experience with them, they are not flexible. we cldn't return the car in time as we need to top up the petrol so i called and ask them to wait 15mins for us. they didn't want and said they closed strictly on the dot so in the end we have to pay almost S$200 for the petrol.

Hi Icy

I Like the back details of the second gown too...it from Divine and i have tear out the page to let my designer see when i go for my first appt...hee..i thk we have almost the same taste.

For me i will place moer emphasis on my back, i thk i will only prefer some detail on my top front

Icy ~ wow..now i more or less know what kind of gowns u going for yah? You must have a very nice smooth back to show off?
hee..

Too many comments abt all of your honeymoon. I only have to say.....try not to plan something too packed cos it's supposed to be spending quality time together and enjoying the company and location.

Me eating lunch now..keep the thread moving...so i can have something to occupy myself while i chomp chomp. hehee...:P

Hi anna ~ opps sorry to confuse you! We ROMed before we go LasVegas to renew our vows. It's a free trip that time, and we really enjoyed ourselves

You're right they take wedding there rather lightly, but I guess Asians and Caucasians have different values.

Ya jitpong, we went there to shop too and there's so many good bargains! One day not enough eh.....maybe 3/4 days

Well Bali, Japan, Korea & Europe seems to be the choice venues for honeymoons eh!

Wow eveyone so our now topic is honeymoons... after reading everyone post.... seem everyone is looking at europe.... well as for me.... quite a poor couple.... dun hv that much to go to europe... also nbr been to disneyland b4... sob sob....

well really stress over the wedding banquet have to spend a bomb as i'm also the 1st one to get marry in my family so is my FH.... also alots of relatives and like dinah say hv to let parents feel proud... means giving in to the no of tables they 1.... omg....

honeymoon honeymoon.... will probably go to aust or bali... really short one cos too broke to go to europe... since $$ hv all spent on my hse and wedding....

no choice.... boy

btw fates, what is the merchant court banquet price... can share with me

Hi jitpong,
Yap, yap.. we have similar taste.. I like less detail at the front and have some frills or tail at the back. You already see your BS?

Hi ssmilezz,
Me only can show back, cos front not very "impressive" mah.. hahaha

fates
free trip? who sponsor? lucky lucky
ah... you are a shopping person!!! confess.. haha.

jelly
no la...not rich. i went us with family. free trip for me. i hv not been to europe either...
you gals all been to europe and us?

you can consider bali. i went to bali just a couple of mths ago with fh. 5d4n cost us 640 per pax... and we really loved the place. so much to see and do. plus we oso spent quality time tog.
aussieland - i been there but not particularly impressed.

um merchant court think there was a posting abt charges for seat covers at 2 bucks!!!! <shock>

Hi fates,
Ya.. i like the 2nd one better.. from Divine one.. heehee I dunno will drop or not lah.. hahahah I suppose the securing part is at the waist.

Hi anna,
I think Bali also quite good.. very romantic place too.

I never been to other countries except Hongkong and M'sia.. so making the honeymoon an opportunity to go elsewhere.

hi Claire/Duffybuff

Have you gals went for your first appt since your AD is in Jan...what style did you choose...and how many hours you spend

Ohhh jellytots,

Don't feel down....you paying for the dinner yourselves too? Actually Bali is a romantic venue for the budget conscious. A few of my friends went for it and they had good comments about it

For the quote, what's your addy? When are you going to take a look?

Hi icy
My ist appt with BS is in May...will see if they have something similar for me to try on...

I plan to wear low/bare back..so thinking starting from June have to go beautician to apply some mud and massaging to my back...to make look nicer