(2005) Brides of year 2005

daphne,
ya i agree on quality.. but i tots me too sting...ahahhaah.. bcos 18 to me is very x... + corkage then it wil be over $30 per btl

oh is it? blur me....still waiting for the sales! when will it be till? i will go and check it out tomorrow liao....

Btw, i can't meet you gals on 22/04

next time then....

Hi ladies, I can see you gals r so hardworking leh! Hunting for WG, EG, shoes, wines and etc....
So embarrassed, me hv been shaking leg at home for this while...*blushed*

SK2,
I think for getting wines is really depending on ur budget.My best friend did not provide red wine during her banq recently... Fyi, some of guests may not know hw to appreciate expensive wines if u do serve... =)

Caitlyn,
Me too can't make it on 15th Apr, 22nd is fine with me.

Hi Artemis

I am interested in your wine and vacation packages lobang.. can you email me more info? Email is [email protected]

I am interested in both white/red australian wine, and looking to go Europe for honeymoon.

Tks honeygem. Am using 'ok' digicam lah. Guess the colourful parts came from the flower blossoms and the amusement park.

I so talkative meh?

For me, work still the same. Marriage life err..same oso...but guess we plan to eat more healthy (learned from the Korean). Sugar intake for Singaporean is simply too much and these lead to diabetes & etc.

daphne - the sale will be until 17/04... =) it's the suntect carrefour there.. outside carrefour the empty area.. =)

chanol - i've also been shaking legs so far... hee.. now getting a bit worried tt i haven't settled many things.. hee

chanol,
i agree.. tis one too subjective.. but i will still provide sumthg tat can be drink..hahahahah.. but wun wan to spend so much...

Hi Esther,

What I meant by carpentry works are those custom-made cabinet such as kitchen, wardrobe, tv console, featured wall. The carpenter will come to ur hse to take exact measurement and make accordingly. These are pretty ex, my kitchen cabinet alone cost me abt $3k. Heart pain.
So which ID did u engage?

HI SK2, did the hotel waive any corkage for you? Pan Pac is waiving 48 bottles for me.

If your budget is $15, I have another recommendation at THe star Cellar at Stamford court, $15 for Woodstock 6 in 1. But if you take non - consignment, it is nett, but if you take with consighnment it will come with GST. and need to pay consignment upfront.

for Winbos, no need to pay for consignment. just pay for confirmed ones only.

think quite a chicken and egg problem. if you buy nice ones, people will drink a lot, if not nice, people wont drink but they will not realy like wat is offered.

And someone in another thread taught me to inform the hotel to pour half glass (or slightly more) for wine cos she says that some guests just want to taste the wine and pouring full glass might be wasted....

hi kero,
i'm hokkien and my husband is teochew. so i guess they were planning on giving me si dian jin but i don't really want gold cos i will never wear it. so i asked for si dian zhuan. but i'm not asking for any pin jin or GDL stuff. cos my parents quite easy about these things. lucky me!

Hi hi alexis...
Nice to hear that u signed up with Ostudio¡Kmy FH¡¦s and sis had them as BS when they got married 2 yrs back, the overall effect of the PS was very nice & unique too...her wedding gown is very special too...she had her wedding in four seasons then...

Hi hi esther...
Do update us ur experiences when u have ur 1st fitting next week...cheers!

Hi hi Artemis..
Thks for ur email...appreciate that...I will reply to u again...hope to hear more from...

gin & janice,
your shoes all very nice!!! good buys! i'm resisting getting 4" shoes cos i have lower back problems. also, luckily my husband not very tall so height wise we're ok.

girls,
would love to join in the gathering, but can't. if anyone is keen to see my corsage, i can arrange to pass it to one of you. cos my corsage is quite easy to make, once you see it physically, its easy to figure out. lemme know.

Hi jtan,

I am a teochew. My parents-in-law oso gave me si dian zhuan...think they will understand now pple seldom want gold..so should not be a prob.

hi gals..
wow now u all into wine
heard from my fh's friends, who are wine-drinkers, tt can get pretty good wine at carrefour at low prices. so u gals shd seriously consider it.

agree with daphne, in fact, that's wat my coord said has always been done for past wedding banquets. can save A LOT.. so rem to tell u coords to do that. half glass is more than enough. erm, in case some of u worried it'll 'look bad', wine-drinkers actually do that, to swirl the wine so it can oxidise.. tastes A LOT better!

hi winnie,
hey u wine-drinker?? cos both merlot n shiraz are good wines to have for wedding dinner

pierced,
u super infected by the goldfish ah.. here also blur alr.. hahahha...

yo kero... hmm... care to share wat did u ask fm the guy side... cos i only know the basic one leh... like cakes/pin jin/pig trotts can/lamp leh... wat else hur...

i also duno leh... but maybe no 4 items lah... think i only getting my ILs to buy like ear ring or necklace lor... bo liao... or maybe a ring lor... so is tat call SDJ...

yo cu.... oic... thought ur bday over liao mah... nbr mind happy birthday in advance... btw income tax filing has been extended to end Apr'05 liao lor...

yo sierra... ya lor tats wat i think if my mum insist on getting one... get those nxt time got kids can use one... aiyo... spend $$ again... wow *faint*

oh bboss close down liao hur... i duno leh... so long nbr been there liao... hmm... cafe cartel... quite pack one leh... maybe can try the resturant along the other side lor... if not i got another good recommendation... at Tanjong Pagar... is opp the stretch where all the BS are... a French Resturant... my god bro working there... usually no ppl one... then we can hv a world of our own if u all are interested in sharing on corsages lor... price wise... reasonable lor... wat u all think

yo wendy... ya lor.. so sianzz think now only the start leh... when nearer to the AD... sure more arguement one leh... *faint*

Hi wendy,

Ya 4 items of diamond, but if u get one pair of earrings it will be considered as 2 items liao..tis is wat my relative told me. So i got one pair earrings, one bracelet n one necklace.

hi ashie, sorry me dont even take a single drop of wine.

btw ladies, one more tip to share, ask the hotel not to open all bottles at one go on the night. esp if you on consignment.

then if you buy 36 bottles, budget for dinner from 8 to 11, one hour should only open 12 hours. ask the manager to inform your best man at 8pm that he is going to open first 12, then at 9pm, next 12 bottles. when it comes to 10pm, should only open based on 3 bottles.

and never leave the bottle on table even if the guest requested for it.

ohh then i should take alook at carrefour then.

I will ask my mum to accompany me for sentimental reasons, and also maybe 1 or 2 of my closer bridesmaids for the second fitting - cos I think that in case I have difficulty getting in and out of my gowns or zipping up, at least they know how to help me, so at the 2nd fitting they can figure it out.

But of cos my fiance and I will have the final decision on how the gown and makeup will look.
Cannot please everyone lah.

winnie,
my hotel waiver 1 btl per table.. for me, think i'm luckier.. my dad has contact on this, so i will attend to this later

but a drawbak to getting wine from carrefour is tt they dun do consignment.. and since my fh and i dun drink.. afraid tt too many bottles left over..

winnie - u must start to drink a bit from now.. coz i think no way u can escape ur wedding without drinking a single drop.. hee.. i also starting to practise.. but find tt wine tastes like cough mixture

hi caityln, ohh no consignment?? i just check with my colleague, he paid $22 per bottle and everyone sings the praises for his wine after the dinner.

hmm, caityln, i think you are right in some sense. maybe tough to escape.

wow! Most of you are so lucky to hv the SDZ...looks like most of your other half are Teochew leh....

Jellytots,
I also not sure but I think I will juz ask for a roasted Piggy, some oranges, cakes and SDJ. I'm not keen in trotters so I will do away with tha. I'm not sure abt the lamps cos I think the ah pek at Chinatown will settle the details for me. I think you will need to hv the phoenix candles and return the groom with the dragon candles. Juz hv to ask the guy to bring over and the bride to return...i think

I cannot make it for the gathering liao. I just change my indoor PS to 22nd.. My BS call me yesterday saying if i mind do sharing the studio with another couple on my date. I said yes, i do mind sharing =P ,so i change to another date on the 22nd..

***Latest update as at 11th April 05 (1:42pm)

Date : 22nd Apr '05
Venue : BBoss @ Plaza Singapore ( Close down!!)
Time : 7pm

Confirm Attendants :
1. widowwitch
2. Janice
3. Cu2nite
4. Jelly
5. Seval
6. Wendy

Join all of you another time.. Miss all of you..N the good things to share

Hmmm.. SDZ, hubby n I not teochews, but i can confirm my in laws not getting for me n GDL things etc.. So maybe getting hubby to buy me a reasonable set of SDZ and we gonna buy ourselves for the GDL..I heard my mum saying , must buy a baby bath tub , lamp... my MIL said must buy a sewing kit to "bring" into her family...So hubby suggested getting the Hotel's sewing kit, small and nice..=P

Hi Kero, can you share which shop u went to at Chinatown? around where? Thanks

Anyone know the rules of "An Chuang"?? My MIL keep on insisting no baby gals "jumping" on the bed.. but me and hubby wan both babies girl and babies boy...N also wanna arrange our bestfriends baby gal n boy to our house on that An Chuang day...I read abit of the forum thread on An Chuang.. but seem got different rules..

My SIL said they must pee into the pail on my bed.. "WA LAU"!!! i gave her a stare man.... WHY PEE?????

Hi Tan
I guess u should know whats trial MU and I no need to lor soh la.. kekeke..I tried on that day choosing different colours.. and hairstyle.. I feel that the MUA is not very experience and also took very long to draw my eye brow.. in the end, still one high n one low.. Makeup seem thick but it do look very natural when I took pictures..Guess, it doesn't matter...Most impt is suitable colour , i think ....???

My hubby and friends who saw my MU on that day, said its too light for pictures, the colours she put on me dun stand out.. It was obviously I am with MU, but with little colours. Tan saw me too on that day also commented it was not very great
The hairstyle is very simple only...
Overall feeling not that great...

I am trying Jeannie tonight. same as Cu2nite...
So feedback if i can....

Hi hi jellytots...
i can understand how u feel, that's why i kinda very demoralised abt the whole thing...esp when i change date somemore worse..sobsob..

Hi Renee,

I think i have quite a lot of built-in cabinets- for the kitchen,bedrooms and i think the TV console too.. It's my personal preference. But we will have to wait for ID to see the flat, then he will decide if we can use laminating for our flooring. That would save us money on hacking the floor and tiling, and also preserve the existing built-in cabinets by the previous owner..

My ID is from Urban Interior.. so u are not having built-in cabinets rooms? who's your ID, and how much do u pay altog?

Hi Wendy,

okie.. will update u on my first fitting..

Yorkie,
My sister did not take casual shots but she went to buy a pair of quite pyjamas and took during PS, quite cute.

Lynda,
Ur wedding also 2nd June?? Finally found someone same date as me
where's ur banquet? Just finished my PS 3 weeks ago only, selecting the photos halfway last mon and will cont to choose tomr, album only ready by mid May but shld be able to get back the rejected proofs back first.
My PS did not enphasize much on EG though alot of EG photos. Its either only back view of side view or half way up that kind.

Collected my cards frm Jasvy already after I rushed 3 calls to them on sat morning. hehe There printed 1 card cover spoil with double image and did not count $ for that piece, but now I short of 1 cover!

hahaha.. coyote.. no lah.. not very talkative lah.. juz dat u contribute more to the thread mah.. hehehe..

will go check out ur pics once i'm home.. can't do it at wrk, since there's so much to slowly enjoy looking at it.. kekeke..

honeygem.. married life = more responsibilities lor.. nw wif little one coming into the family, more financial burdens.. so nid to save more.. hehe.. on the whole.. its fantastic.. kekeke..

Dear Icy,

no need la.. jus 1-3 days before the predicted day of menses. not so troublesome one lo..

Dear sharlene,

if not regular, still take 1-3 days.. or maybe doc will tell u to take like 3-5 days in advance to play-safe.. thats y u got to let doc know if urs is not regular lo.. so he can advice u mah..

hi caitlyn,
haha.. ure so cute.. ;p i used to think wine's yucky too, but have been 'converted' by my fh n his friends.. now can appreciate it a bit. but i def not the drinker type cos i get dizzy just by drinking 1/4 glass.. so just take a sip here n there

and just to re-emphasize, swirling the wine glass really really improves the taste by leaps n bounds! some wine i thot yucky at first became very nice just by swirling the glass.. supposed to oxidise the wine. u can start with merlot. shiraz tends to be bit strong.. goes with food. ops sorry yakk so much

hi sk2,
wow, then ure blessed.. this' often one of the bigger worries for a wedding banquet!

haha..caitlyn, good lah...we both shake legs together lor... =p
I'll be going to Suntec later so I can go n take a look at the wines...

SK2,
The wine u mentioned at $13, hv u tried it b4?

chanol
i din tried but my fh did... it was at my fren's wedding, her hsuband is a hoteler. so the F&B mgr told him to take tat one.. goes very well with chinese food..

Do Carefour allow sampling of wines at the sales?
Are you gals having just red wine or both red and white?
I'm thinking of serving just wine and no hard liquor. What about champagne? anyone serving that?

SK2,
Pls let us know e name of e wine later aft u check? Thank you =)

Daphne,
Yes, Carrefour allows u to try out e wine... But selected wines only. Usually australian wines...I'm having red n white..not champagne prefer wine..

ashie - hee.. okies will try swirling the wine next time.. =)

daphne - yup, they allow sampling.. at this fair , they allow sampling of the french wines coz french fair ah.. =)i will be sering red wine only.. as for hard liquor will prob just buy one or two bottles for relatives..

Hi,I am serving red wine, not sure if will bring hard liqour.

I have arranged to go down to empire on 29th too, go empire then go GHA for second fitting.

Hihi chocolate & blursotong, yah, i did take that into consideration also loh, but really cannot resist the place & the sales team. But given the unpredictable weather think it may be a bit risky to hold there loh......

Hey chocolate, which hotel are you holding your banquet?

Dear sharlene,

not really la.. i took 9 days worth of pills (if i am not wrong 1 day 4 pills, 2 morning 2 night) n pay ard $35 ba..

hoenygem, not major concerns lah. Juz that we learn about korean's eating style and realised how unhealthy the way we eat in Singapore...hahaha.. Indeed, we spoil our own health by eating too much fried/ oily/ sweet/ saltish stuffs :P Korean meals very simple one, everyday eat kimchi, pork, rice, seaweed soup & plain water. Every restaurants that we went thru-out the 8days all equipped with hot/cold water dispenser for customers to help themselve with the water and only 1 restaurant out of so many sell soft drink. In Korea, there is less than 10 McDonalds in the whole country coz is unhealthy and no demand. Here in Sin, we are eating Mac/KFC/all type of oily stuffs like laska, fish&chips, fried kway teow, etc etc.

Made me realised wat a great difference.