(2005) Brides of year 2005

coyote, me too just wake up going for dinner then work tonire!

i like the song say yes, but it's old and ppl ,ay like huai jiu. ha ha ha.

Hi highness

me MIA for quite some time
me still searching for photographer (Tin got good recommendations)

how's life?

coyote, must based it on full glass for cost estimation. Then remind the staff to pour only half glass. In this way, it will not create any embarassment for e.g wine run out by the first hour.

honeygem tks, if pour 1/2 filled...1 botl served 10 glasses rite? I will probably purchase 12 botls enuff liao (120 glasses to serve 65 guests). Anyway my guests mostly are gers which they stopped at 1 glass and go for other drinks. That is wat I observed when we attended other weddings together....hehehe... And out of 1 table, only abt 3 gers drink... Or alternatively, I can get gin/volka to serve cocktail coz hotel dun charge me corkage for hard liquor.

To me I dun think is an embarassment to run out of wine. Coz they r my close frds, run out I will scold them "Who ask u to drink so much and now others not enuff to drink???"...hahaha...n tats me :P

I wont say 1 bottle serves 12. 1 bottle serves 6/7 people for half a glass pour or less.

If you pour just a dash of red wine into a wine glass then can make 12. hehe.

If a lot of people dont really drink wine from your side. Yes, 12 bottles will do
Enough already.

honeygem, last question abt wine thiny..hehehe...how much is Vodka - Absolut or Stolichnaya & Gin - Bombay Sapphire? Roughly.

AG - ok, will send.

I think with duty, they retail between $40-$60. Best to check at Cold Storage etc and check out promotions. I've only bought duty free ones so im not too sure how much they retail.

Ok hehehe...i think do mixers more worth :P Coz can mix many many glasses n no corkage charge for hard liquor mah...hahaha... Add to variety, hiakhiak. And on my AD, I wan say to my frds "Drink more cocktail" rather than normally ppl say "Drink More" hahahahahha..

I tried asking Amara to add strawberry/cherries to my cocktail wine glasses n they wan to charge me $100+++ for that. Not too much i guess but they say wan to charge me another $100+++ to serve chips n nuts during cocktail session. This one I wan to faint, I told her I will bring my own nuts den.

suddenly feel very lazy to go to town to buy the paper box... i work in woodlands and live in sembawang... if gotta got spotlight very far out.. i'm a lazy northen tortoise
yawn.gif

so suddenly tot coyote's 'crazy' idea abt the clear vase for ang bao very good... no need to wrap

ask hubby first, think he surely shell-shocked... my hubby has very "uncle" thinking one wor... but i sure can convince him one :p anyway MIL has the clear tall vase, maybe 2 ft high?

thanks coyote, u have anymore 'crazy' ideas? ur 'crazy' ideas always good one
think u can be event planner, really

coyote, my bf dun like the willow thingy... also a bit sian when think of tying the strings to the cards, also can't find nice (and cheap) cards to hang...

going out soon, going to collect log cake for tomorrow's office party...

Den hor when I do up my beverage list will be very impressive mah...

The Beverages List
------------------
Coke
Orange
7-up
Vodka Lime
Gin Tonic
Bourbon Coke
Red Wine

Not bad hor...wahahahaaha...

I calculated if 1 purchase 12 botls wine + corkage charge, 3 hard liquor = $644.40/65 guests=$9.90+buffet$55= $64.90 per pax for whole dinner. Ok lah, will do!!! Hahahahaha....

coyote, they allow u to bring ur own nuts???
maybe i very meow, but if they allow u to bring ur own nuts then u can bring ur own cheeries and strawberries and wat-not berries.. put in pretty bowls and have your guest help themselves

hmmm... i didn't catch any of the willow thingy, must be was when i'm at bkk...

just an idea, i was thinking of cutting simple cards and tying them to the ends of the ballon strings, and let them hang down with the balloons floating at the ceiling (can picture tat?) then ask guests to grab a balloon at the reception and write their blessings and release the ballons back to the ceiling in the ballroom (have to provide suitable length ribbons lah)... at the end of the event, collect them all

but scrapped tat idea cos not going for ballon-mania already... just balloons and bubbles at the recption area

Lynn, tat idea suddenly came to my mind lah...not everytime i have gd ideas, some r lousy too...hahaha..

Dazed, still got other interesting ways of doing guest book one. We will brainstorm k ;) If willow is troublesome, juz get those colourful notescard and a clear vase. After guests write their congrats messages, drop them into the clear vase. Can deco the vase to make it more pretty. Yours is beach theme, can place seashells ard the reception table. U know not many ppl can have that theme coz not many beach weddings ard. So make full use of tat ;) During dinner, can get emcee to read out few touching messages if any. End of the day, paste those note cards on your album. Simple and nice!

Hi Tin

still in the midst (actually suppose to meet up with 1 photographer but he too tied with schedules)

btw, have u heard of gabriel? any suggestions?

hi Sharlene, Novgal, Sashamama and the rest!!!
My PS was GREAT!! except for one little small incident. But it's not concerning my photographer...it's another photographer of the BS.. luckily we din choose him..

And Sashamama, hope everything went well with your 2 appointments!!

Christmas Eve.. up till now, i dunno what i'll be doing exactly cos my FH said he will plan everything. But once i think of the crowd out there, really sianz...

And my results will be out on Christmas Eve!! What a torture!! hope that i will receive a good christmas present (ie good results)

Oh Yah!! we just received a letter from HDB..actually we're suppose to collect our keys end of Jan 05.. but cos my FH will be away.. it was deferred..and guess what!! we'll be collecting our keys on Valentine's Day!!

Merry Christmas everyone!!

Hi Ming,

Is it one of the five? coz three of them not in Singapore and one is leaving on Christmas...

Gabriel? coz any last name? Never heard of a Gabriel before ley...

Hi all and new Oct brides,

I have just done the ERS shares thru ATM. Just to share the news. Will be credited to your acct within the next 4 days.

Hi Karen,

We have the same AD. I will be holding my dinner in Marina Mandarin. You got to be fast though cos Marriot is a popular hotel. Most bridal studios allow rental of gowns and prewedding shots like outdoor and studio shots. you get to select abt 24-28pcs in the main album. There is this Feline Bridal in Tanjong Pagar that include free 4 rolls of AD photography at $3288nett. Most of the studio do provide AD photograhy using their in house photograhers ranging from 600-700plus.

Furry,
I just went rollerblading last week and was fun. Goin again to east coast this week. the Fila blades that you recommended is unsuitable for me cos my feet quite broad. So sad...I bought MICRO aluminium blades instead which is more exp...

Hi Gin

Paiseh. That lady is call Gina.. hahah.. all nick about the same and i mistaken la...

HI Girls..
A merry Xmas to all of you too!!!!

Does anyone knows whether we should get nu-bra for our wedding gown in order not to reveal our straps & backing? Some people have told me that go braless better?

Hi Swangal,

Thanks for your tips re bridal packages... maybe I'll get my friend to check it out first... 'coz I will only be in SG for 2 weeks in March!!!! Not a lot of time to do Bridal package shopping. But $3000 sounds like a good deal!!! In Sydney, renting a wedding gown will cost me at least AUD$800!!!
Going to get my fiance to check out Marriott and maybe book the place when he goes back to SG end of the month... hopefully it will go smooth...

hello gers.....welcome gin!!!

wow! zoe....seems like u bought quite a no of things from ur KL trip. can have the shop name n add where u bought the tiara n flowers etc??.....i also interested.

josie....ya me haben been so active in here nowaday.....old liao...hahhahahha....no lah....just tat my house PC very slow so no log in when i reach home fr work. now at my hubby house so easier n more convenient to surf net.

i have been diligently taking the replacment meal since i came back fr malacca....for abt more than a week liao. replace breakfast everyday. total lose abt 3 KG since i 1st take the meal. but i also control my diet lah...i still eat everything but in moderate amt. hehehe....my tam jia habit cannot change......
but hor i wanna tone up my arms ....still flabby...think toner arms will look nice in my EG cos my EG toga cutting.....but hor...after taking the replacement meal, my tummy flatter n more tone loh...not so bulging...

hey gers....me just think think hor...we r left with only abt 9 mths to our AD. so fast..........

the webby got nice things loh, i see liao oso very excited...hehehe... Juz came back frm the ctrl, bot my Jazz CD liao n material to do invites. Hubby see i so stress gng to take over the invites job. Hopefully he can make it loh.

Gng to give a brain a rest, music wise will play Jazz for the cocktail session, den march-in will choose frm my mp3 list, afterwhich will leave it to hotel to play their usual chill-out music for the pool.

Hi Helen,

U born in 1980? ;) I am too.

I tink you do not need to get a bra cos most wedding and evening gowns come with the bra cups and paddings. Your BS will sew it for u ;)

Karen,

Ru a singaporean residing in Australia? U have two banquets in Sin and Australia?

yo zoe... welcome home... *hug* *hug*... wow so envy tat u hv a fruitful trip ya.... can post the flowers here and let us see or not.... also ur tira can... kekeke

hmm... i also interested, remember to tell us the place ya.... so wat else beside the flowers did u buy fm tat shop hur...

wow jnj... u mean 1 wk u hv slim down 3 kg... omg... sure or not.... so u still take lunch and dinner hur... but control one isit...

hmm... i will be getting my replacement soon...then will start asking u all...

but im interested in the yogurt drink one... may i know who post tat and which kind of yogurt drink i shall buy hur.... got any brand or not...

Next week need to do these:
1) Sign contract wif Amara on Mon
2) One of the weekdays go BS to select gowns
3) Send out invites
4) Buy/borrow tea set for tea ceremony
5) Buy wines & hard liquor (any idea how much is min. purchase for wine company to deliver wine to hotel?)

1st week of Jan05:
1) Select venue deco stuffs
2) Finish up favour deco
3) Go Little India to order leis
4) Order deco flowers from florist
5) RSVP and finalise guest list
6) Inform hotel the final figure
7) Buy flims for polariod, deco guestbk (if I still alive)
8) Meet up with helpers on the coordination work
9) Accompany mom to buy clothings

2nd week of Jan05:
1) Help hubby to buy wedding shirts/ties - he uses all his PS stuffs for daily work liao lah, need to buy again...so tired!
2) Buy my wedding shoes
3) Send decorated favour boxes back to baker
4) Check on wedding cake - to keep or scrap the idea
5) Visit dentist
6) Collect gowns frm BS
7) Call all impt ppl (AD photographer etc to cfm timing n programme)
8) Manicue/Pedicure
9) Packing - things to bring to hotel

Gers ignore me. I juz list out my tasks

hmmm... one task to do this weekend will be to buy instrumental CD for the dinner lor... i'm thinking of something more fun and light-hearted for the reception and then march-in songs kapo ideas from u gers (i really can't think liao) and dinner time play instrumental lor... thinking of instrumental for march-in too...

just a tot, scarli nobody turn up in time for cocktail how? i can picture everyone coming at 8 plus, then hurry to start dinner... nobody bothers abt the cocktail session at all

i'm freaking out again! wat if i spend so much time and tots on this dinner and nobody even noticed anything????

why the hell are we brides so stressed over all the minor details and the grooms so cool?

going to decorate my petal baskets liao... do some brainless things better...

Hi Ladies... especially to those that know who i'm

*MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR*

Stay pretty and cheerful... also countdown to our AD,,,, :p

Wow again, so many posting. I think I cannot catch up with you gals lah.

For my first match-in song, I selected 我願意 by 王菲.
1st dish: Overtune from The Phantom of the Opera.
Second match-in song: dunno yet.
The rest of the songs:
Truly Madly Deeply by Savage Garden
I Knew I Loved You by Savage Garden
Super Star by S.H.E.
我會永遠愛你 by 張洪量
You Belong To Me by Vonda Shepard
I Only Want To Be With You by Vonda Shepard
From This Moment On by Shania Twain
You're Still The One by Shania Twain
The Way You Look Tonight by Elton John
Your Song by Elton John
True Love by Elton John
Can You Feel The Love Tonight by Elton John
Love Changes Everything by Michael Ball
All I ask of you from The Phantom of the Opera
I Love The Way You Love Me by Boyzone
Every Day I Love You by Boyzone

I realise that I have selected a lot of English songs. I got a lot of Hokkien uncles and aunties that might not understand. I am thinking of mixing some chinese oldies that will bended well with the above songs, any suggestions?

Suddenly thinking of using Mariah Carey, All I want for Christmas is you for my second match-in. Muahahaha

Christmas is over by the time I hold my wedding lah.

Hi Cookie's gal,

I'm still looking for hotel for my dinner. Shortlist a few, definately will finalised before end of the year.

How about yourself, where and when ur actual day.

Hi Sharlene,

My actual day will be on the 19 june 05 tentively. will finalise by end of this mth. Still looking for bridal gowns n hotels. don know it is a bit too rush?

hi LS,

don't worry. i think wedding photos just need a lot of communication with the photographer. i find bridal concept ppl friendly...

today, just went to CHC, julia wedding news, yvonne creative and sophia wedding collection.

i like CHC, julia and sophia....hahaha. basically, all except yvonne creative. nothing against yvonne creative. maybe i can't click with the ppl.

nobody is with julia and sophia. ladies, any comments?