(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi welcome babyloh,
seems so well-prepared..

I have sent the link to some of you in case you want to view and I am not around to send it.

Hi Icy, Heheee...my target is 50kg. Ya, lost some weight as I was on a management weight plan for a month. It could also be due to work stress as i was very busy few months back, no appetite to eat too.

When is our next gathering? Shall we bring our husband alond next time? Heeehee..

Hi Angela,

Bad news.. I won;t be able to join in the outing this Fri... wanted to change my driving lesson but my instructor can't make it on the other days which I'm available... so got to continue with my lesson this fri... will try to join u all next time?

Will send you my contact no. when i reach home.. office can't access yahoo mail.. :-(

honeygem...

dat's cool! seems like u gals got urself fantastic n exquisite venues for ur wedding ah.. heh.. gd.. I also wan to go Koh Samui, but was tinking go phuket first den consider Samui later.. heh..

Hello little_ger!

Hmmm, well-prepared? I thought I was lagging behind already. Had actually the AD to be in Sept 05. Reckoned it'll be a nice timing to start sourcing ard for banquet venue 3mths ago in Sept. Lo & behold! can u believe it, ALL (and I mean all) the hotels i shortlisted are taken up for the dates I wanted!

Anyway, who's this Yewkuang u gals are talking abt? He/she seems to be highly recommended as AD photographer......

i'm also a May'05 bride.
Wedding lunch-Marriott
DIY arrangement for gown, make up and the other things.
Friends doing my outdoor photography.
Lovenest-Blk 536 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10

I found all the earlier posting very insightful. thanks!

do u still buy bridal mags? i'm apprehensive abt buying now that i've got the major items settled. like waste money leh....where do u get inspirations for hair and makeup then?

hey coyote, the cool thing is that they have an automatic shelter thingie. Press something and the venue will have a roof. haha. So no prob with rain.

I told them as well that perhaps another bride will be interested... maybe only...

Phuket then Samui? Tickets to Samui alone is very expensive. You are better off to Phuket then ferry over to one of the lovely islands of Phuket and Krabi. Equally beautiful

But of course, if you have a big budget then i guess that's different story lah

package? i just told them i have this amt of $$ and based on this, what can they do for me...

what package are you looking at? dont understand ley..

Pong,
For my GDL items.....
I just bought my 4 pc gold... The price of gold is very high now, hopefully my MIL will not be heartpain...hee...
Other things, not yet. U?

lynn's list of stuff-to-decide:

real wedding cake?
balloon decor company?
AD photographer?
guest list?
wedding favours?
songs for march-in and banquet?
emcee?
buy more liquor and wine...
diy some stuff...

and bet there's more i can't remember...
and it's me rattling off to myself again...

hi ying11, thanks for your concern
im on mc today as well, doc wanted to give me longer period but i told her today is fine... i went to remove stitches today...now i can at least bite but still using the other side...my right jaw is still swollen and bruised...i have another wisdom tooth but i don't want to extract yet..hee..hopefully the swell goes down by my rom next week

hi jolene,
welcome ! my dinner is 1 day after yours

so u r sourcing for yr own gowns? You are very brave, DIY is really challenging. Given my kind organisational skills, i wld die from the sheer pressure of getting things done.

As of Dec 13
<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jan AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Solemnisation</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dinner/Reception</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Theme</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Designer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS Photographer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photographer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">celtricia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat 01</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Mary’s</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fame Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jon Keng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Phuket</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">maraquan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat 08</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River City</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tan Yoong &amp; Flamingo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">John Lim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">dazed</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun 09</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rasa Sentosa</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rasa Sentosa</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fame Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tasmania</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">sgn</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun 09</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Le Meridien</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">white&amp;ivory</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Seletar Broadway</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">AG</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun 09</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Crown Prince</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson Wedding</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Phuket</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">xee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun 09</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Imperium</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">coyote</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun 16</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">RA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J&amp;M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J&amp;M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kelvin Koh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">duffybuff</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wed 19</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">MTM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Spain TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">scrubbed</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fri 21</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritius Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritius Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Allure Charix</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kelvin-Chris Ling</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jon Keng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jazzyjas</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fri 21</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchard Parade</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fame Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">honeygem</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sat 22</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tepak Sireh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AlDente Trattoria</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Victorian</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Anggun Andaman</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Koh Samui</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">lynn</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sun 30</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chevrons</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J&amp;M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J&amp;M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">- </font></td></tr></table>

juz wondering, how much budget did u gers put aside for your banquet ah?

n tat amt of $$ is???? I cheapo lah...but dinner i hope dun exceed $70 inclusive wine loh

lynn's list of stuff-to-decide:

real wedding cake? - if u can afford, should be more than $300

AD photographer? - have u check with those I provide links?

emcee? - get frds?

Oh dear...sounds very serious. You should rest more lah..

Anyway, don't worry and you will definately have a memorable ROM. Take care ans hsow us pics after the big day, okay?

coyote, me put aside a grand total of $0 *hiaz hiaz hiaz*...

just sign card and hope to cover lor.. or else then i'll borrow from loansharks liao lor... crossing my fingers too, but should be better cos mine not hotel mah... me cheapo cheapo...

i also hoping to keep everything under $70 per pax including all the extra stuff like liquor, cakes, decor etc... very difficult like tat
aiyah, me lah, wan cheap and wan green very difficult...

Coyote, for the lunch reception without wines, it is $30 per pax. But remember I told you my guest count?? *can die*

then cocktail reception is $30 per head for drinks and canapes. But im lucky that the wines are sponsored by my client

AIYO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am going crazy lah...they dun operate on Sundays!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My AD is Sunday loh....see what the boss says, they may open up for pvt events...

Gers................KILL ME PLS!!!!!!!!!!!!

coyote,

still can't decide wan to spend 300 odd (or even more) on real wedding cake or not since my total guests just rocketed to like 450 pax cos PIL "have" to invite so many people lor.. the oldies dunno will appreciate or not anyway, only i ger yan only lor... should i spend like 400 bucks to ger yan?

AD photographer... check with a few - albert chua very nice but too ex liao.. shotlisted a few others who are STILL available, going to meet 1 tomorrow...

emcee? ask who huh? my gfs like too shy to do it... ermmm... hubby's frens all ang mo very "good" :p actually not tat bad lah, just not as pi-li-pa-la as my gfs :p

honeygem, sorry i lost track liao...what is ur guest no. again? U mean tat rest. allows outside wines, they dun charge corkage? Which one u taking? Lunch/cocktail? Din check dinner?

Can help me to check whether they can take in 60-70 guests and have the place exclusively?

been resting alot for the past few days hee thanks alot
i will...im still confused if i should get an OTR long gown for rom coz what i have now is a knee-length fuschia pink dress from daniel yam, looks abit ordinary hmmm

pls someone blind me so tat i won't be fussy over decor and photographers...

make me deaf so tat i won't care abt the music and lousy emcees...

ah then a lot stuff to worry abt.... ah i feel better already...

hi ying, just saw the pic of your EG..the colour suits you alot with your fair skin....the material looks elegant too...a little shiny surface..and the tail has nice gathers...eh..do i call that gathers? heee envy you got slim arms..

Hi little ger,

you got mail..heehee
231146.gif

Hi babyloh,

yewkuang was my photographer on my ROm day on 3rd Dec..I can let you see the photos once ready so you can look at his skills...if you interested you can get his hp no from me..
231147.gif

honeygem.. i've been to krabi n phi phi b4 liao.. dat's y won't b planning to go to nearby island during my trip at phuket.. but would love to visit samui.. may go at the end of nxt yr lor.. so broke liao after hse reno n wedding... haiz..

hey lynn..
my 3-tier cake whh i got for select cost me at 350 leh.. its almost d same price as the current market.. dun tink there will b much difference.. mayb u try to ask ard at neighbourhood bakery coz they may b cheaper n nicer too coz not too commercialised.. heh.. as for photographer did u view jon keng's portfolio b4? y not consider his?

HI Fuzzyberries

been to Olive suite last sat, there is only 1 person servicing the store (person's name is Yendoo).. very sweet n friendly lady...
dun worry she's not pushy, dresses very nice but find that e designs r all e same (just playing with the ribbons n flowers)
prices r from $300 plus for a OTR n $400 plus for a MTM (only makes short dresses)

if u looking at only ROM dress, u can try Camellia Haute Couture (CHC)...
MTM ROM dress for only $100 (length of dress can be either long or short)..
Nicole e owner also very nice n helpful

Hi Bubbles,
I have checked with Country Florist over the phone ...
they charge me est. $40-$60 ... really a big difference.
I will get my FH to bring me there to find out more.
Thank you for your recommendation.

Hi Tintin,
I will find out from June Florist too ...
Thank you for your recommendation.

Hi Yen2,
Oh ... okie then ... join us for the next outing!!
But remember to send me your contact ... cos i seldom see u in the thread.
Will sms u if we organise another outing next time.

I have seen brides with knee length dress and its is very nice. You do not need to be too elaborate for ROM. Just the colour Fuchia pick will definately be outstanding. Take pics and show us, both your fuchia pink rom dress and the long gown and we can comment on it better..

I simply hate my EG. I also don't know why. Very very cheena...but my Husband and the designer say its nice, which its why I took it.

Lift hand dumbells and your arms will be slim. The effect is very fast.

Anyway, I am substituting my Kua for a tea-dress. I plan to get something more revealing for my tea-dress. Hopefully, can find something. Ha. At least, I can wear my tea-dress when sending off guests.

Hi Sierra

Thats why i got a 2nd thought in getting the magazine too.. but i afraid might miss out some gowns that i like , for design of MTM etc..

Makeup / hairstyle normally also from magazine..
Heard that overseas bridal mag are nicer that they show us different PS, different image for PS etc.. Singapore mag is all about advertising..
Oneday, i gonna go borders to see if there are really such mags which i can learn from..

exclusivity is a must! I wont be having some unknowns eating and drinking my food and drinks!! muahahamuahah

Lunch is the one with a 1000 guests. As mentioned, I can die. I think FH and I know only around 50 of them. But food and decor all glam glam and inclusive in the package.

For the cocktail reception, Im having 100 pax. Fh wants 150. I said, "you got so much money meh?"

There's no corkage for me for the cocktail reception cos Al Dente is my client. Aiyah, I can help with no corkage if you buy direct from Giorgio Ferrari. I can check for you.

Even worse, Im such a cheapskate. Said to them, "I have this amt of $$. So sorry but cannot increase my budget. What can you do with this? Please help?? Can lah..." heheheh

In return, I have to make sure my guests drink a lot after the scheduled cocktail hr.

Im going nuts

buy direct frm Giorgio Ferrairi? Is it ex? Told u i cheapo.

Flutes called me say need to see whether $3-4K can bring whole kitchen back to work on Sunday lunch for me or not? I think not much hope...sobsob... She suggested I change to 15 Jan 05 instead. Actually that was my initial prefered date loh...but tat previous stupid villafrang made me changed to 16 Jan...now like dat... Who to blame? STUPID ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hi zoeanne,

i got a copy of a foreign bridal mag, 'Modern brides'. the pictures of the gowns shows more details (if u notice, the local mags dun show much details of the gown, something to do with the photography), but many of the designs could be too elaborate for asians...i was thinking, becos we tend to be shorter and more petite, it's hard to carry that kind of gowns off...

but i guess it's great for ideas....going borders to browse is good...kekeke can preview before buying..

aiyah i got no digi cam leh...otherwise i have put up here for your comments liao..sigh...

i don't have any long gown at the moment hee..the reason why i didn't choose that because i'm short heee..and my hubby also short...wear long gown will make me look strange heee :P

hmm..ying11..don't fret...you look good in it what...but if you really hate it, it's better for you not to force yourself to wear it...otherwise you won't feel comfortable throughout...wear something that you like v much and this will make you smile for the whole day heee

oh yah i do lift hand dumbells quite often..my FH is seeing progress on my arms..more toned now..but then still big sigh heee...

oh tea-dress is for sending off guests ah? heee i have it in my package but i don't know what it's for leh heee...im thinking issit like a cheongsum?