(2005) Brides of year 2005

oh i see... not asking them... doesnt apply to us lar... The Pond still needs to work... if not how we going to fiance our own wedding... ha ha...

An Chuang is a definite no-no - it's pure superstition!

GDL will be kept simple. Mainly for both families to exchange some food items and thereafter we can send out the invitation cards. According to Hokkien custom, FH side must give cakes and pig trotters (pig trotters to thank my Mother for bringing me up). The cakes will be given together with invitation cards to my close relatives. Beyond these 2 main items, will ask around for the rest lor.

Luckily, my FH's older brother got married a few years ago, so my in-laws can give advise. Only problem is that my ILs are Cantonese while I'm Hokkien.

Hi Rosalind

Didn't know that they are call "Kaoani"s. Went to search and found a few sites on them. Thanks thanks. Now our postings can be as cute as yours
159306.gif

I have already An Chuan already... but not very elaborated process... juz to pick an auspicious day for the bed to be moved in...

I guess it depends on yr elderly at home if they want or not... this is more to give them peace of mind lor... why make them unhappy if it's something so simple...
159312.gif

hi judy,

my budget for VG n PG is 1k each.. but now need to budget more after doing some budget planning..

i cfm my PG liao... at 680... VG not yet.. but shd be cfm soon... he charge at 600...

initially i oso dun wan video but my parents n PIL say it is good to have more memorable..

hi winnie,
relax.. previously i oso veri worry abt my WG.. keep on asking my HB on whether this is nice or not... den he say i veri kaisu.. hehehe.. but end up we just go n let the designer design for me...hehehehe

so what do you do during an "An chuang" ?

Sorry... I grew up eating potatoes one... so I dont know the names of all these...

Hi nemo,

I never go to BKK before...but i heard tat there's a wkend market where u can get alot of interesting small items as wedding favours...

oh ya, under garments is very cheap...i always tell my mum to get some 4 me whenever she go there...i thk there r a famous pot brand call Zebra...oso very cheap if get frm there...my mum bought 1 whole set to give it to me & my bro...kekeke...

if got chance...i really wan to go BKK to see see...

josl nope I didn't book during the fair. And no perks... they are *VERY* rigid. At most give u a little bit more invites/ free carpark if u want. And we manage to get free corkage for 5 bottles of hard liquor, but absolutely no way for free corkage of wine. :p

As for mi, like wat Tin Tin said, it's really more for showing off... but we have no one to show to since we dun have tea ceremony @ home...

So, for GDL, I'm hoping to do away wif it if possible unless the elderly insist again lor...
159331.gif

Hi Tin Tin

Some pple engage a very elaborate process of buying lots of things like longan, red dates, lotus seed, etc... and follow some procedures of sleeping or not sleeping on the bed...
159337.gif
couldn't quite remember liao...

But for my MIL she said that as long as u pick an auspicious date for the bed to be installed then, it's okie... coz according to her... some days that are 'not good' can result in couples not being able to conceive though there's nothing wrong wif the couple... so rather believe than not lor...
159338.gif

Ming, yup, i guess i will b going for the bash lah.. wat abt u??

Virgo_Jenn, alright, will wait for ur photos then!!! tonight got bridal show eh? in which hotel??

Higness, will u b spending a lot on shoes? many brides here bought very expensive one leh.. not that i m niao.. but har.. i guess i will b wearing it once in my lifetime. spend so much on a pair of shoes a bit heart pain leh...

yo jnj.... arab st sell onie ribbons lor but all in 1 roll u cant buy by metre one... usually is 20 yards per roll lor... price reasonable go there cos the variety alot alot... hmm is one of the shop house along arab st lor...

yo josl... wow so long nbr see u liao... so hows ur wedding prepartion...

yo butter... hmm aiyo cos mine is at ROM centre so i duno abt the JP side leh... got to check with those gals who has theirs outside... like zoe...

cookie, just keep urself healthy and drink lots of water to prevent pimples. maybe can only select pics 2 weeks later, end of sept.

hi ladies ,

today so busy ..no time to come in to chit chat hahaha !

Jelly ,

today on leave huh ...that why so free again

hi pinky

Welcome here
another newbie again !

ger, ya, usually ppl get frens that are not married as brides maid. think jie-mei = ah yee lah..just tt the second is pronounce in teochew rite? how many bridemaids u got? olive suite nice nice, can go there c c.

dio,

Same as mine ...my wine corkage is not wavied too ..charge $10 per bottle . As for liquid they wavied all ..at least not so bad !

vela,
i always hear ppl say that married are called ah yees.. those not yet marry are called jie meis.. "ah yees" not in chinese??

Am back from JB....wow...so many postings...nearly flood my internet page leh... read till blur blur..

Loop me in for the learning session for corsages pls? Wld like to join....

bluey..my HB leave the decision to me, forever saying up to me as long I feel tat its nice & I like it can liao. I shall see wat magic my BS can do to my WG & EG

Hi Sweet, Jovia,Gina

If any of u wants to get yr Bernard, the contact i email u all, maybe u can juz mention that Lynne recommend you to him coz think he knows who Lynne is..Lynne is my friend who gave me the contact of Bernard..If anyone of u did use him, then let me know ya

hi galz~!

i am now having a "headache" on what design to have for my wedding gown~! and i dun have any bridal mag. to "help" me.. have to let my designer know soon so she can help me design.. *panic*

nemo , u intending to stay @ Asia , i recalled some one saying it is haunted leh , u sure or not ?
Novetel / Pathumwan is better , nicer too . classy

hi caicai,
huh... u dun scared me leh...
actually prefer Novotel/Pathumwan but Pathumwan confirmed fully booked. Even I checked with the agent, stars intro also said they fully booked.. was thinking either have to go for Asia hotel but now hearing what u said.. i having second thoughts...

hi tare,
u should go bbk ... it's a shopping heaven...cheap and good.. and the massage is also cheap and good
now it's v cheap with all the budget airline... can try to plan a trip there.. heheeee...

hi stars,
have reply ur email

and can i also have a copy of the wine contact too.. thanks

hi menthol,
have send you sam's details

hehe..josie...how come u have liquid for ur banquet...kakka...typo izzit.......

josie i take free flow beer....then take abt 50 bottles of wine fr alvin n liquor will be own supply.....

hmm....where is arab street ah.....hahahhaa....pai seh me no sense of direction one....or see when free we go together can??

dio.....try to ask for more ....if u really intend to take 4 seasons...ultimately u r the one paying for so much so try to ask for more things fr them......

butter...y not have ur rom on 05/05/05....easy to remember mah...hehhe...for my case i actually tot of 04/04/04...but 4 dun sound nice loh......so i make it on 05/06/04......hehehe....or u all look at the tong shu to select the date one??

yo josie... no lah me not on leave today leh... where got free post onie a few mah...

yo dio... josie onie $10 me $15+++ leh... even more ex leh...

yo jazzy... hmm welcome home so how ur search getting on.... joining us nxt fri for gathering...

Hello everyone!
I can never catch up with all the postings... took me a while to read through...
The no of 18 sept brides have grown to 10. wow!

I wun be able to join u gals on 17th. So you gals enjoy yourselves!

Hey Butter,
I had my ROM outside too. Dun worry, if you are having your ROM outside, you can choose any date you want as long as you can get a JP. Any particular JP in mind? JP David Loh is very popular, so prob have to book him early. But I din choose him.
You interested in Rasa Sentosa beachside wedding? That was one of my original idea, but it wld be better to do it at night as during the day, it can be really hot. The package starts from $50/pax for high tea buffet(2pm to 5pm)... Dinner starts from $60 i think but they are willing to customise at $50/pax with a different package.

Virgo_Jenn - thanks for sharing the pics with us

blur & Virgo_Jenn attending the bridal bash - with FH? what about highness?

blur my good friend also custom made a very expensive pair of wedding shoes from Leapin Lizard for her WG ^_^ n bought another 2 pairs to match her EG & tea dress (of coz not as ex as the WG pair) - i dunno what i want yet ...i think i very concern about comfort coz i always ended up having blisters when i wear court shoes - do u gals have such problems?

hello girl ren yu *waves* at last we have another kakee here for next Dec

can share share your wedding date, BS, photographer can provide your info to Virgo_Jenn (who has kindly help to do the updates for all of us) ^_^

Halo judy,

I read the thread everday too..keke..busy with work so angry my colleague got the 3 mths maternity leave and my job is like double up...
I just went to choose my gown on monday..so tiring...
Now sourcing for photographer...Is videography necessary? wat do u gals think?

Judy, like the rest, I also read this thread frequently but it's just that many of us have more or less confirmed our BS so nothing much to talk about here except maybe to exchange pointers on WG designs.

Heh, whinnie, I'm also having my first appt with BS next week. Any ideas what else to bring besides ourselves n a few magazines to show them the styles we like? Oh dear, I would be leaving for Hong kong this weekend,so it's eat and shop for me. Sure will put on a few kilos, hence trying on any gowns next week would put me at a great disadvantage right? : <

Hi judy and nicole, I've got a cheap contact for videographer. Can look for him at www.y******production.com (replace ** with "appies"). His package is good and works not too bad either but he's booked fast as he only takes on two jobs per month. So depends on your luck lor. I'm intending to budget ard 2k for both videographer and photographer too, same as bluey. Me still sourcing for AD photographer but most likely booking Yew kwang. Had been down to see his works so far like his package best.