(2005) Brides of year 2005

i staying in sembawang...

i like those olden days one
now i also buy these cakes sometimes just to eat

hee, my hb say i damn hiao, still wan nice box :p

lynn, pine garden you talk to who? the lady boss is li keow. they have delivery but not free lah, $10 lor... they delivered the log cake leh... think their 10 piece cake is $5+ right? but too far for me lor so din order...

got my cakes from saint anna from jurong west. $6 for box of 10 piece butter cream but got 5% discount for purchase above $50... then also get cake cards from bengawan...

Hi TT, thanks for the update.
Hi Winnie....we getting married on the same day...hee...very afraid that the weekday might turn lots of people off....

Jelly, hehe, see you did a good job maintaining that table. i'm having a lunch & a dinner, both at 4 seasons. havent chosen BS yet. seriously contemplating Wedding Present but still wanna shop around more.

Zoe, you win...
only met him couple of weeks ago at my best fren's wedding. thot he was easy going. ... yeah now very actively looking for AD photographer!

Gin, i actually think customary and banquet separate quite good. wont be so tired. am considering doing tea ceremony 1 day b4 the banquets.

Jelly, hehe, see you did a good job maintaining that table. i'm having a lunch & a dinner, both at 4 seasons. havent chosen BS yet. seriously contemplating Wedding Present but still wanna shop around more.

Zoe, you win...
only met him couple of weeks ago at my best fren's wedding. thot he was easy going. ... yeah now very actively looking for AD photographer!

Gin, i actually think customary and banquet separate quite good. wont be so tired. am considering doing tea ceremony 1 day b4 the banquets.

hi hi gals,
i ordered my li bing from 'ta li' located at lor ah soo.. they are well-known among teochews for their 'dao sa bing - bean paste biscuits' and li bing. The li bing comes in a presentable rectangle box which includes the biscuits, peanut candy (both types - hard & soft), sesame seeds candy..etc. it's $16/box...not cheap though.

lynn.. den the nearest to u is either at admiralty or canberra rd.. the one at admiralty is located at blk 678A #01-24 Ave 6 Tel: 68937511 and the one at Canberra Rd Blk 511 #01-07 , tis one no number.. or u wan to call their hotline, its 6755 4118. hope d info helps.. heh..

where got hiao.. wan nice coz wan it to b presentable mah.. kekeke.. aiyah.. guys dun understand one lah..

Ladies, any suggestions of what other items can be served at outdoor cocktail session besides nut/chip/fruits? Tks ;)

Lynn, ytd I went Amara n so happen tat they r having a wedding in the evening at the function room n I saw Amara placing the nuts in a bowl (size of a soup bowl) to the rim....wow.... SO MANY NUTS! hahahaha...

So bad during the yest & today. MC very sick with flu. Sigh...

Viewed Excelxor Hotel on Sun. Not bad. Going to view Paramount within this week. Most likely choosing Paramount. Mum wants with alcohol, so hope to find a place with free flow beer.

Anyone knows of good place to place order of wines & hard liqour. How many cartons should I get each if I am holding for about 200 paxs?

Hi Zoeanne,
Not kapo la..hehehe..

Yes..my customary means onli tea ceremony..then luncheon is wedding dinner..rite!
Ya..my ROM 2 more days...
PPL tell me will spend more...but i feel we wont be so tired..but is it ok to wear the gown for 2 times? Any idea?
The extra charges is what im afraid of actually.

Do share with me more info ok..when's ur AD? or finished liaoz?

Hi J Tan,
My is 1 week's difference leh..dun even noe how to take leave sia...i dun have alot of leave sia...Sigh... now really wonder shld i keep Marriott or look for other places where i can do all at one go..sigh! HELP!!!

Hi Zoeanne,
Not kapo la..hehehe..

Yes..my customary means onli tea ceremony..then luncheon is wedding dinner..rite!
Ya..my ROM 2 more days...
PPL tell me will spend more...but i feel we wont be so tired..but is it ok to wear the gown for 2 times? Any idea?
The extra charges is what im afraid of actually.

Do share with me more info ok..when's ur AD? or finished liaoz?

Hi J Tan,
My is 1 week's difference leh..dun even noe how to take leave sia...i dun have alot of leave sia...Sigh... now really wonder shld i keep Marriott or look for other places where i can do all at one go..sigh! HELP!!!

thanks celtrica. l just got my hb to call them (his off day mah :p, must get him to do some work). He quite happy, he say they charging 28 per kg for 3-tier cake... tonite wil go check them out cos near my place too...

dazed, i got my hb to call pine gardens one lor. he said the 10pcs cake is like 8 or 10 bucks, i can't remember... i compare the plain marble cake, more ex than bengawan even...

and they charging $350 and up for the wedding cake she said minimum $350, regardless of the size, cos 3-tier mah... i think not very hua lor cos i not going to feed hundreds of guest lor, so thinking of getting a 3-tier (for the height) but dun wan big cake... cos i was reading from the wedding cake forum their 3-tier normally for serving 250 plus people..

i order so big also no use cos not feeding my 480 guests... so see swee heng how first lor... anyway the guy in charge not around today...

eh coyote, so u getting ur own nuts or ask them to provide? same question for your wat-not-berries...

i kpo a bit...

excited, hope can get my wedding cake... hope swee heng not orbot type... at most ask them to bake plain white one then get my zar bot frens to decorate :p

hi fates,
i also can access 3 branches but STC is my fave. I joined since March but only attended 1 class of yoga cos no kaki and FH dun like those classes. So i only use the facilities loh.
Let me know when you going next, we can go together. I will love to try out all other class!

lynn.. no prob.. but getting 3-tier cake frm swee heng i not sure leh.. coz i din c it b4.. heh.. u can try lor.. since they haf so many branches so i tink theirs is 'lao zhi hao' u noe.. go check it out first lor.. i initially getting 3-tier cake frm select catering at $350 too, for 3-tier cake is ard 10-12kg, but in d end i got a 2-tier cake ard 5kg for $250, coz afraid guests won't b able to finish.. though a bit ex, but nvm lah.. convenience mah.. kekeke...

i finish my GDL juz last sunday.. heh..

yup celtrica, i'll check it out first...

i didn't see nay cakes from select leh... u have the webby? wat kind u getting? wat kind they have?

i wan 3-tier, but not so big like 10-12kg lor, tat's why i think if get from pine gardens bo hua leh since they charge a minimum for the 3-tier regardless of size... if i'm getting a 10-12kg cake then i won't mind getting from them. i'm thinking of around 8kg cake, so if going by pine garden's price it's like 44 and up per kg... a little steep liao. can get many other bakeries at tat price.

now i quite fixed on the cake design, see if they do it for me... very simple cream cake (dun like fanciful decor on cake) with lots of roses in between the layers separated by not-so-high pillars... dreaming of my cake now...

i asked jack's place, think quite reasonable, they charging like 30 odd per kg for the 3-tier... but they were not able to show me pivs for those, and somemore the lady say very few people order... so won't risk it lor...

Hi Helen,
must rest well, i was down with flu the week before too!

If you are thinking of Paramount, why not consider Roxy- The new one opposite Parkway, i ate there(buffet) before..quite nice and its a new place.;)..

Eh can check with Carrefour. Wine i am budgetting 1.5-2 bottles per 10 people.

celtrica, u know shuen charges 450 and up for 2 tier... so yours not too ex if it's nicely done...

i won't be getting 2-tier, cos it will look very teeny weeny on stage... even shuen say 2-teir on stage in banquet hall is not nice, she say even the cake cutting photos won't look nice... so it's either 3-tier or nothing for me lor...

Hi cinderella

It's totally up to you! Kwa looks traditional and if you're Cantonese it would be meaningful to wear that. Might be cheaper too, if you can borrow Kwa from your bridal shop. Cheong Sum also looks nice; or you can ask your bridal shop to make a cheong sum style tea dress.

hi jas!

can try calling innerval design and print @ 9743 7676..

hi wedmar
my mua is a freelance that my BS got me.. so u din wear kua in the photoshoot?
hmm nothing abt the accessories yet leh..maybe nearer to the date? u will be choosing soon?

ladies ,

wow our thread become active again !!! Hooray

J tan ,

welcome welcome .

ladies ,

Janice and mine wedding banquet hotel The Concorde going to change name to Holiday Inn Atria

ladies ,

wow our thread become active again !!! Hooray

J tan ,

welcome welcome .

ladies ,

Janice and mine wedding banquet hotel The Concorde going to change name to Holiday Inn Atria

Hi J Tan

Yup. Jon is a very nice person. I met him twice to discuss what i required and my package.. he is very alright, flexible and patient guy and even give me a good deal. Our Josie here also sign up with him on different day.

Hi Gin
Wah!! U are joining Sept 05 thread leh.. HOw can my AD be over? hee hee
I am preparing for wedding, so, somehow know there is abit of extra costs for 2 seperate days but it is not high..
1 week difference is ok la..

We can share share info.. no problem....
It is ok to wear gowns twice provided u are not pantang la.. Afterall, we also need to take off our WG and change Tea dress, then for dinner also need to wear the WG again.. No difference la..

Hi J Tan

Yup. Jon is a very nice person. I met him twice to discuss what i required and my package.. he is very alright, flexible and patient guy and even give me a good deal. Our Josie here also sign up with him on different day.

Hi Gin
Wah!! U are joining Sept 05 thread leh.. HOw can my AD be over? hee hee
I am preparing for wedding, so, somehow know there is abit of extra costs for 2 seperate days but it is not high..
1 week difference is ok la..

We can share share info.. no problem....
It is ok to wear gowns twice provided u are not pantang la.. Afterall, we also need to take off our WG and change Tea dress, then for dinner also need to wear the WG again.. No difference la..

I will be providing, hotel asking $100+++ to serve NUTS...hahaha... I say I will my own lah! So got to be easy to bring along stuffs ;)

Lynn, not gng to trouble BIL so much.

sgn, wats pretzels???

Hi J Tan,
Erm...as my current intention is to held luncheon banquet at Marriott cos i simply love the ballroom...1 week is ok? Cos most ppl like did it 1 day the most leh...

Hi Zoeanne,
Ya hor..hahahhaa..sorry blur me.. *kokz* :P You already decided to held on seperate days ah? When? I guess the extra costs is on MUA, suits/gowns rental, tat's all right?

Hi J Tan,
Erm...as my current intention is to held luncheon banquet at Marriott cos i simply love the ballroom...1 week is ok? Cos most ppl like did it 1 day the most leh...

Hi Zoeanne,
Ya hor..hahahhaa..sorry blur me.. *kokz* :P You already decided to held on seperate days ah? When? I guess the extra costs is on MUA, suits/gowns rental, tat's all right?

Hi Sharlene,
Thanks for the link to your ROM photos. You look gorgeous. The photos are very well-taken and your dress is very nice. Your hairstyle is very nice too.

Hi Cookie Gal
Saw your ROM photos too and you look radiant, pretty too and blue dress looks very good on you. The photos are well taken too and I simply love the pic where both of you took infront of your church. Nice! Looking forward to your PS photos. They must be even better.

By the way, ladies, my PS wil be next Tuesday. Any idea what do I need to bring? I have no clues at all. I went down to BS few weeks ago for my 1st appointment and during that time, my designer has asked me to choose 2 extras outdoor WG for outdoor shoots. Is it true that it is only during PS will they bring out other costunes (like cheongsums/victorian) for us to choose?

Icy, do you need to top us extra $ since you are having kua and teadress? My package can only choose Kua or teadress. I wish to have both too but unsure if i need to top up or not.

When do we choose our Kua or teadress? Few weeks before AD or during PS?

lynn...

i duno if their website has the design coz i seen it in their brochure.. its actually full white wif icing sugar n red ribbon going round it.. quite simple n very nice.. dat's y i gonna get frm them n some petals of roses will b put on the cake too.. heh..

hmmm.. seems like the pine gardens charging quite high leh.. u made the right choice by not getting frm them.. heh.. i'm putting mine in a church hall.. so dun nid so big.. but for urs since its in a banquet hall tink 3-tier will b more appropriate..

hi d.o.g,

u knw aunt anne's stores sellin pretzels? its sumtin similar xcept they r smaller and fried and broken into pieces.. u can get at giants or cold storage for arnd $1 plus for a pkt.. cant rem the brand tough... will let u knw tmr..

Gin, hehe
actually i'm probably not the best person to ask. not a traditionalist. i think it's your wedding day. you do what you & hubby feel most comfortable with. of course the parents must also be happy with arrangement lah.

Gin, hehe
actually i'm probably not the best person to ask. not a traditionalist. i think it's your wedding day. you do what you & hubby feel most comfortable with. of course the parents must also be happy with arrangement lah.

Hi Sharlene, nice pics heee which photographer did you hire? heee your pics v professionally taken and v prim and proper, haaa unlike mine v messy heee....

hi icy and joelle, thanks
my bridal shop doesn't have kuas...
i need to rent from other bridal shop...yah i was thinking perhaps a cheongsam tea dress would do..hmmm

Ladies ,

sorri is Holiday Inn Atrium ...:P

jelly

Maybe can change the name of the hotel..thank alot

Ladies ,

when is our gathering again huh ??

ermmm ..recently dun see Tan our pretty lady ...hmmm ???

J tan ,
ya agreed with Zoe ... jon is friendly and easy to talk to . We feel comfy with him ??
you intend to sign him for your AD ??
18 sep been taken up by Zoe rite ...who else you shortlisted huh ?

Ladies ,

sorri is Holiday Inn Atrium ...:P

jelly

Maybe can change the name of the hotel..thank alot

Ladies ,

when is our gathering again huh ??

ermmm ..recently dun see Tan our pretty lady ...hmmm ???

J tan ,
ya agreed with Zoe ... jon is friendly and easy to talk to . We feel comfy with him ??
you intend to sign him for your AD ??
18 sep been taken up by Zoe rite ...who else you shortlisted huh ?

hi D.O.G,
how about serving jelly cheese cake? it's jelly with a slice of strawberry as a topping and cheese as the bottom...served in small cubes size, yummy. tried it in my friend's reception. i hv the contact at home.. will go back to dig it out.. planning to order that for my buffet at home on my AD. :P