(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi kayla, thanks for your reply.
would u mind sharing how u're doing ur poolside evening reception? coz i asked josiah but he says no outside caterers are allowed, and i can only have limited number of guests...

nope, i save it either from webby or forum...can't remember liao

syt, how's ur liaising wif Lavish? Have u done the food tasting?

any idea whether there are 'fixed' position for bride & groom to step out of the hse and also when marching in@banquet? Is it na zhuo nu you(groom left, bride right)?

hi ls,

sorry, if there is any confusion. those that i listed down are shops that are recommended by friends along tanjong pagar. as for the last one, CNC. a lot of brides here are with her.

so far, all have praises for her. u may wish to consider.

maybe a way to lesser your stress
don't negotiate for the packages first. wait till u shortlist the BS than start negotiating. that would means don't negotiate on 1st visit.

hi gers,

sashamama, yeah hor heee white symbolises purity heee...good...i'll just tell them that if they complain heee

novgal, i haven't chosen the buffet place for brunch but yeah i may go for hotel phoenix...will discuss with my sis-in-law also hee...thanks...then i will opt out hotel rendevous...though i find the ambience nice hee

wah...nice flowers..but abit pricey though :P

hi d.o.g,

everytin's finalised xcept for sol. and recep. tables wich i wan to be delivered earlier.. nope hvnt gone for food tasting... am thinkin if i shd..

yes yes. Im addicted like that too. I went to Conrad hotel earlier and saw a wedding. I heard the wedding tune, Canon in D - Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, I think.

And it made me cry *small sob*.. aiyah.. I feel like Im more emotional as the day is coming nearer.

Looks like this is the last Christmas with me in my maiden name...

*sigh*

syt, share wif me ur menu and I could help u if u need my help of course :p Coz I tasted my package b4.

honeygem, that couple din cry but u cried instead? Ppl who dunno will tot u r close ones to tat couple...hahaha... Dun think abt it tat way, u r still u after marriage. Nothing will change except tat after AD u have a friend by your side, real close to u. A shoulder when u need that is within reach...see, so convenient....hahaha...

Hi applets,
Thanks so much. I am actually considering booking of YWCA. Went down for discussion yest, seems quite firm..
BS is Golden Horse Awards. Booked the PS some time ago but have to upgrade it since having AD. Gotta meet up with my coordinator again.

Can anyone tell me whether it is ok if I have no alcohol on Dinner? It is a buffet sit down type.

i know...im losing the plot...

I have a feeling Im gonna cry the day before the wedding when my family are having their last "with our little daughter" dinner. Then Im going to cry again when my father gives me away on the wedding. and cry again when my mother hugs me after the solemnisation.

I must wear super strength waterproof mascara.

A funny reading:

YES, I'LL MARRY YOU
by
Pam Ayres

Yes, I'll marry you, my dear,
And here's the reason why;
So I can push you out of bed
When the baby starts to cry,
And if we hear a knocking
And it's creepy and it's late,
I hand you the torch you see,
And you investigate.

Yes I'll marry you, my dear,
You may not apprehend it,
But when the tumble-drier goes
It's you that has to mend it,
You have to face the neighbour
Should our labrador attack him,
And if a drunkard fondles me
It's you that has to whack him.

Yes, I'll marry you,
You're virile and you're lean,
My house is like a pigsty
You can help to keep it clean.
That sexy little dinner
Which you served by candlelight,
As I do chipolatas,
You can cook it every night!

It's you who has to work the drill
and put up curtain track,
And when I've got PMT it's you who gets the flak,
I do see great advantages,
But none of them for you,
And so before you see the light,
I do, I do, I do!

Im having disposable cameras for the cocktail party. It's about $17 per camera. Im thinking of using this poem on a placecard next to the camera. What do you think?

Take this camera and have some fun
Get some pictures of everyone!
Maybe you'll see something we didn't see,
That we can keep as a memory!

Thank you for sharing
This special day with us.

or this one?

Here's a camera, have some fun,
Take some pictures everyone!
Snap it here, snap it there,
Snap it, snap it everywhere!
"How to use" is on the box,
Be as clever as a fox.
Shoot it left, shoot it right,
Use the flash to make it bright.
When you're done with the roll,
You have met your mighty goal.
Hand it to the groom's best man,
And enjoy as much as you can!

first one is better I wld think - concise! 2nd is too lengthy...i probably will fall asleep b4 finish reading the whole para ;)

How abt this?

Take this camera and have some fun
Get some pictures of everyone!
Maybe you'll see something we didn't see,
That we can keep as a memory!
When you're done with the roll,
Hand it to the groom's best man.

Thank you for sharing
This special day with us.

Reciting that piece? The whole world knows how ah lian I am....mayb I shld translate into a hokkien version...wahahahaha....

Ladies, need ur suggestions here...i am thinking of placing incense cones to infuse the pool area, any suggestions of nice frangance that I can choose from? Incense cones will be good as when wind blows, its still burning...hehehe...

My notes to all those helping me on that day next to their angpows.
We sincerely thank you for your company, gift, good wishes and for helping to make this day an occasion we will always remember.

As for the evening favours, Im thinking:
Use a mega huge wine glass, and place Hershey Hugs and Kisses candies inside. On the edge of the bowl, put a little sign that says "Hugs and Kisses, From the New Mr. and Mrs!"

Cheesy or not?

Or, as a thank you note, I will do a "Who's Who" book of all my wedding guests, complete with a photo (either taken from disposable camera or photographer) and a little blurb about them. I think it will be a fantastic keepsake.

Having said that, it's quite an expense isnt it? I guess I'll just do it for our close friends and families.

Its ur wedding, its ur call! Hahaha... Instead of huge wine glass, u can opt for other thingys. Btw, sometimes "Valu For $" does carry pair of drinking glasses for $1.05. Check it out and see what you can find from there.

Guess I will make a trip to Ikea & Valu for money to get some small galss bowls, filled with buringing oil + wick cum flowers to place along my so-call aisle.

Honeygem, dun wan Indian scent hor :P

Lynn, r u back? Still looking for aisle flower stand? I discover this website, package is:

Package 1
3 Flower Stands
1 Reception Table Arrangement
1 Altar Arrangement
10 Pews
S$500

Link:
http://www.jurliss.com/cgi-bin/jurliss/product%20wedding%20package.asp

Dunno is it within your budget...and maybe things that you dun need can exchange with others. Coz I did ask a florist and she said venue deco starts frm $1k & above. So tot this $500 cld be cheap in a way, i dunno.

Is jasmine very Indian-related fragance? Coz they always use jasmine for their leis. I am worry that the whole event will smell like an Indian house *faintz*

i dunno coyote. Im not big on incense in the first place. I think as long as it is not too overpowering, it will be okay. Maybe mix with sandalwood?

I think it is best you ask Indochine at Wisma there. They have incense all over and it doesnt choke me or make me twinge my nose. I guess their incense is a good one.

"Hello, excuse me, eerr... Im getting married in a bali way and I just love your incense that you use. Not too overpowering. May I know what sort are you using?"

Best to ask a girl wait staff. She will understand

i forgotten abt my cinnimon tied with orchid table deco too...wahahaha...think I m at Lynn's position now... too much idea n dunno which to choose :P

hi iggy,
i wasn't used to the look as usually i only wear very light makeup. So for AD, Jac will make it lighter.. but for PS, Jac explained that it has to be heavier else the photo will look very plain..

Some ideas to share:

For the Bride on a Restricted budget, here are some other ways to save money:

1) use pot plants for centerpieces (this can be fun; you can place a sticker under one of the chairs at the table and at some point during the late evening, announce that the person with the sticker under the chair can take the flowers home);

2) have a friend take the flowers used for the ceremony to the reception site and arrange them appropriately;

3) find a florist that works in silk or dried arrangements;

4) use seasonal flowers;

5) instead of ordering special flowers for the cake table or head table....or even guests' tables....use the bouquets for the attendants. Remember, YOUR bouquet should go on the cake table, and while we are talking about your bouquet, it's a must that one of the types of flowers used in your bouquet should also be used in the groom's buttonniere;

6) use a simple flat glass bowl and float a gardenia or other type of lilly in the bowl;

7) use tulle and fabric puffs as centerpieces (this can be alot of fun and very economical;

8) simply scatter flower petals onto the top of the table; use framed photos of you and your groom at different ages or even pictures of the immediate family members, pictures while you were dating, place them in the center of the table with a bud vase with a single flower in it in the middle of the photos.

Article extracted from http://www.love-affair.com.sg/articles.html

i cant afford fresh flowers all around for decor, so I will have to use silk. To compensate, I will have to splurge on the entertainment, wines and canapes instead. Things that guests are actually enjoying.

233369.jpg

Love the big candle pot...any idea what is this call and where to rent? Heard tat is not cheap...hmmm...Coyote getting greedier :P

Honeygem, think orchids still ok lah....unless u want a whole garden amount... Guess u r right to slurp on dining items then visual items ;)

hahaha... that is expensive. I think you can rent from a wedding planner.

I have this lady who's printing my cocktail invitation. (separate from the lunch reception) Her company is called Wedding Partners. Maybe you can email her with this piccie and ask. In her line, I think she should know what and where to get.

you can mention my name too in case of discounts.

jas, congrats! u so lucky. 1st time hit the jackpot liao.

keiki, what i mean is.. working during europe hours (4pm-1am Singapore time is UK time 8am-5pm)

around $1.80 per card. The printer designs/layout for me too. I went direct to my ole trusted printer who I work closely with on professional basis.

CLC Studio at Beach Rd. 6337 6615
Owner's name is Celia (lovely, helpful and efficient lady).

Ladies, I found a cheaper version of stone candles..look at this and best thing is the shop is located in singapore...to get the stone tray 3" plus candle is $7. Not bad right?

233374.gif

:P honeygem...$1.80/card exceed my budget. I print a simple one myself ...damn cheapo coyote..hahaha... I need ard 40 cards...gng to stress my printing machine soon.

what are you girls doing for Christmas?

im thinking of buying turkey etc from cold storage. Those already cooked one from their dinner deals...

but sounds like hard work to me...