(2005) Brides of year 2005

morning gers!!

first, i wld welcome all the newbies in this thread - ivy, dez, ritz etc!

sashamama: i've the contacts for the jaguar but hor paiseh, i haven't contact them for the rates yet so can't share it here for you. will email you the contact asap (need to search for them, i left it at home). Not forgetting the contacts for the electrical applicance shop too...

btw, can you adv again the rate for the pink LC? u enquiry 1/2 day rate or whole day rate har? seems to me that u enquiry 1/2 rate leh..do clarify.

cinderella/rosalind: guess tomolow meeting with the facial consultant is cancelled as sashamama suggested us to go individually..rite? pls cfm asap. thks.

hi blue_genie,
you have contacts for jag? okie, can pm me? how about stretch limos? me having problem finding a source for this...

hi ritz,
i am also a jun 11 bride. have booked my venue, liao. you are still looking for a venue?

I might be a dec 05 bride too.. now trying to fix a date and looking for venue for vegetarian dinner in hotel,any recommendation?? Also, anyone gg to engage a wedding planner?

Morning! Haven't been here in a while too... think everyone is getting really busy with work after they have settled most of the wedding stuff.

Hi cutiebear,
The weather was not bad last friday rite, so photos should turn out quite good with nice blue skies. Where did you go?

I saw the pink london cab before in my workplace, quite cool. Yar, the driver wore a pink tie all day long.
Was wondering your BS do not provide cars? My BS did but if I want to change to a specific model, will need to top up around $200-400.

Sharlene: If you want, i can still give you my Sat appointment. I have not cancel my appointment with Beauty Express and thought that I will go if no one is interested. Its quite difficult to book their time. I have waited for about 3 weeks for the date. Usually, they are very occupied during weekends. No, Beauty Express definately does not hard sell. My mother in-law tries it too and she likes it cos they do not promote their products. My mother in-law signs up for 10 sessions straightaway cos the facial is really worth it. Imagine $42 for around 2 hours. Ther cleanse, steam, extract, apply mask, massage, etc. To play safe, try it first and if you like it, then sign up. One for the negative thing about Beauty Express is that it is hard to book a time with them. The one i went to is at Far East.

By the way, where can i go to see Y Production reviews? Can you pm me? Thanks.

Blue, you manage to get another photographer other than Yew Kuang?

Hey ladies, yar, let's meet up soon. Let me know the date/time then...

Hi Highness

Mi looked at some forums about wedding songs already
some of them are quite nice leh.. but forgot the names of the songs
actually wanted to use the traditional wedding march but hubby thinks it's too old fashion leh.

Hi little ger can update some of my particulars?
my age is 26 and hubby is 27. our rom date is on 20.11.02. Our banquet venue will be at m hotel. going down tonite to sign the contract. and our love nest is at bukit panjang. thanx for the hard work

pisduck: ok, will pm u and sashamama once i find the contacts for jaguar asap..not with me now, think its somewhere at home..will go search it tonight. me not going for stretch limo so can't help u on this...maybe sashamama can help, see whether she post anything later.

ying: my BS did not include car in the pkage (car deco and ribbons inclusive in the pkage only) so have to source myself. i have cfm my photographer, i.e. Sam Wong. Yew Kuang was taken up when I checked with him.

hi fates!
hi chatterbox...why u here... hahaha....

hihi, anyone knows where to get roller blinds or those fold up kind (cannot rem what it is call... french something.....) at reasonable price? Thanks!

morning ladies!

hi blue_genie, yup i guess our facial meeting is cancelled...coz both beauty express and devotion are fully booked...

hi ladies, yup why don't we leave our hp no. in the excel spreadsheet as well if it's convenient for all of you? otherwise we'll be asking each other one by one quite taxing :P

good morning gals...

nana, dun worry, i am at the same pace as u...

highness, shelyn, not yet.. but i have 3 disks wif me all abt wedding songs which i borrowed from gals from other thread...u interested? i can lend u to copy..

hi cotton, ask u har.. i have not fax my form over for the show.. is it too late? it stated 2 wks, but now is less than 2 wks already. can i jus go marriot on the actual day and purchase tic instead??

hi carol.. congrats.. i din engage wedding planner.. sometimes it is quite fun though tedious to plan for one's wedding.. unless both parties are real busy..

Hi decimal,**hugs**
22 Oct is fine for me...what abt you gals?? Keen to meet up??? Then we can share in more details on our wedding preparations.......

Hi chatterbox,
If I remember correctly, Shangari- La is situated in Pudong Area ard Lu Jia Zui, quite near to the Shanghai Landmark, Dong Fang Ming Zhu..... as far as I know most of the shopping places is situated in Puxi Area. A must go place is Xiang Yang Shi Chang situated in Huai Hai Lu.... its alittle like our pasar malam but its hugh...... you can jolly spend half a day there...but mostly are imitation clothings,shoes, bags and the prices they quote are usually sky high and you'll always have to take at least 50% off their offer price to bargin with them.... they will usually pretend that the price cannot be met.... just walk off and they will ask u to come back..... 8).... but since you r going in Dec.... dun think u'll be able to buy much clothing since mostly will be winter clothes/ Jackets and boots...... and around Huai Hai Lu...there are quite a number of shopping malls around that area which u can shop around...... other must go place includes Xu Jia Hui..... lotsa shopping malls...food streets and also pubs/disco..... and also Nan jing Lu where the more up market boutiques like LV, Gucci, Chanel are situated but they are generally more ex than Singapore due to the taxes....so no point buying from there..... hard rock cafe is also situated somewhere near Nanjing Lu.... there is also a Ren Ming Guang Chang.... which is something like our orchard road.

The food in shanghai are generally cheap..... a very sumptuous meal for 2 will usually not cost more than RMB 200 equivalent to S$42...... or a simple meal of just noodles or dumpling for 2 is only ard RMB 40 equivalent to S$8...

As for buying/tailor Cheongsum in China, they usually have a CS section in most shopping malls but I personally feel that the cheaper range wan looks like those worn by the waitress in our chinese restaurant or hotel lounge and the nicer wan are usually veri veri expensive...ard S$200 and above..... I did try to tailor 2 CS when I am in Beijing and bought 2 off the rack but coz I not veri sure of the design I want and also no experience in choosing the fabric, the CS turns out to be quite a disastrous and I gave both to my aunty when I came back...8(....

Sorri for the lengthy msg........ let me know if u requires more info and I will be glad to assist....

Hi ying11,

What products does Beauty Express use for facial? Also, do they vary the type of treatment according to your face condition for the day? or issit the same treatment used for the whole 10 sessions in the package?

Hi Sashamama,
My place is at Wellington Circle, Sembawang.

Hi ritz, dey & ivy, Welcome!

Hi ivy,
You must be doing good business these few months - the papers reported a rise in no. of recruitments! Does your firm focus on recruitment for any particular type of industry? What's career development management consultancy all about?

Hi blue_genie,
Can pm the details of the jaguar contact when you have found it? Thanks!

Talking about June 11 brides,
Did you all know that June 11 is Duan1 Wu3 Jie2 (Dragon Boat festival) next year?

Hi Sharlene,
Can PM me the contact of the electrical shop that you mentioned? Thanks! How's your flat? Is the handover completed already?

Hi decimal,

Try Jimmy Textiles @ Tanjong Katong Complex (next to Paya Lebar MRT). I don't have other details with me at this moment. Need to ask FH for it.

We used them for our house and our curtains, roller and roman blinds were just installed on Mon. Good workmanship, efficient and trouble-free experience. I'm one satisfied customer.

Decimal,

Before I forgot, look for James if you do go down - he was the person who served us.

Hi cutiebear!
We miss you! Must share share the pics yah? So where did you go for PS?

Hi Blur blur..

Ya..it seem quite fun planning but we just wan to be free from worries on the AD cos it will be veri stress and blur on that day. The wedding planner will see that everything went on smoothly wat, so now considering since i have friend working as a wedding planner.

cookie... thanks!!! Can pm me how much is the market price for roller and roman blinds oso? I really have no idea how much to budget for that... btw, got another silly question, you do your blinds after the renovation is done right? Or did you do them concurrently?

hi hermione,
I am not under fiance/fiancee scheme.. thanks for the warning...Already give her a call.. Seems like our TOP is such a mess...

starstar,
we have discussed.. seems like no budget currently
Wait till next year hopefully we have more savings to spare... haiizzzz

decimal,
You can try spotlight. They have nice roller blinds with all sort of length currently under promotion. Those fold ones, if I get you right is roman blinds, that's is more expensive, which you can find at any curtain shop to make. Or you can try IKEA for those simple ones.

gals..

i had my photoshoot in JB. Bridal studio is Printemps.. cheap and i love their service...

i have booked in feb, so since we have to take in sooner or later, might as well do it now and then we have more time for other thing.. plus going to JB is not as convienent, thats y if we choose to take early, we can take our own sweet time to go down for selecting photos, collect album etc..

haiz... my hubby and i both pockets empty ones cos we just started working for 2yrs then got flat liao.. thats y have to save up for one 'event' at a time... Now photoshoot finish, can save for GDL and AD

Jelly will box me.. I suppose to arrange the steamboat...

Hi Audrey, ok , we can go together

Smile, funny, i did not receive ur PM.. U can email me straight at [email protected].. This is same as you pm me cos to the same email ac..I also thought you took breakfast only.. Ha Ha.. ya lor.. cannot take breakfast only la..We take note for you for the HDB, i also bought a 4 room flat during walk in selection during Jan.

Ya lor, where is Cu2nite and unicorn? Miss you both.. cu2nite, where are u? we can chat about our JB BS...

Burn songs for us? Can Can, i greedy also one , can?? Thanks ah!!

Hi tan, how long did u stay at Perth? I studied Curtin Uni there.. ha ha.. Nice place, quiet dead town.. did u go fremantle for the fish n chip? Beautiful place and nice food too.. I love it there.. I forget the address, there is one italian shop where they serve gd food and chilli mussles.. Delicious. They only open at night...Mmmnnn.. and apple struddles too...Singapore one cannot match...If u wan home deco items, i think one place call Gosnel Railway shopping.. there are alot of nice home deco there..

So envy that u got all nice dress. I love to wear dress but hor, no much $$ to buy .. Pretty one in SIN are too way ex.. If i go HK, i can buy 1 yr of clothing supply back during the summer sale ah..came back with 3 large luggage. My mum scolded me bad...Miss those shopping spree..

jelly, i like disney songs but still dun know which one to put.. Incase my hubby thought it will be too childish... I tot of buying the disney CD..If i buy, i can lent u to burn it.. ( priracy) oopsss

I used to work in Clinique, those products sold at SASA are normally products that are reaching expiry date, or either parallell imported..thats why they are cheaper...Please take note of the expiry..There is a way to see the manufacturing date one..
Samples are always not available for selling at the counters of the shopping centre.. I wonder how come they manage to get and sell it there.. If look carefully behind, some written are " NOT FOR SALE"...
Nevertheless, i feel that perfume can be bought there.. but not skin care products la.

Gathering for Sep2005 Brides-to-be in Oct?4

Date : 22/10/04
Venue : Tien Tien Steamboat (Opps Bugis Junciton) @ 63364101
Time : 7pm

Confirm Attendants :

1. Jellytots
2. Audrey
3. Jnj
4. Josie
5. Smilemelody
6. Piggersorous
7. Zoeanne
8. dioscuri

Not Confirm Attendants

1. Sky

Wow! This thread "suddenly" became so active! I've been away for a business trip for more than a week and the next thing... so much communications!! ;)

Starstar, where is Straits View hotel? Any landmarks? Ok to share with me the cost of holding banquet there? Also have you tried the food there yet?

jitpong - 19 Feb 05 - Everbliss Bridal Studio/Ted Collection - (Hse)Sengkang - (AD Photographer) Iwerkz - (Banquet) Meritus Mandarin

Joyce - 19Th Feb - Pan Pac - White Link - Pine Close
Photographer - Still sourcing..any gd recommendations??

snoop - 27 Feb 05 - Divine Couture - Hougang - Shangri-La

Caratsoup - 27th Feb - Fullerton - Chris Ling - Blush Blush - Sengkang

hey gals - when your BS arrange for you to go for your 1st fitting before your photoshoot..when taking your photoshoot...i taking mine on 19 Nov 04.

Hehe - the date we choose in feb almost the same for everyone...we got one more pair getting married on the same day apart from me and joyce.

ehh... zoe, me not cfm list ah

I'll either be late, or I'll juz be popping by, coz i need walk the dog (no one at home tt nite). I'll bring the corsage I made so u gals can help give suggestions to make it nicer =)

Morning ladies!

HI cutie!! We missed you yay! Remember to show us your PS pics ok? hee...

dec ~ your house came already?

Hi Pisduck,
I am still looking for Venue, any recommendation? I prefer Restaurant than Hotel. And mine will be lunch.

Thanks Sashamama for such detail info. Pls send me your 82-page file to [email protected].

Morning ladies! *wave*

YYBB ~ Hmmm not much of a 'situation' lar...hehe...
I don't believe in hire-purchase so paid cash for most of the furnitures and appliances. For our lovenest, we didn't do much carpentry. Only do up the fake ceiling for the downlights, walk-in wardrobes, painting etc. We don't recommend the ID we engaged cos' the responsible coordinator we had, had left the company..

But if you want, I can rec someone I know recently in another forum? A few girls I know signed up with her.

dec ~ you want branded roller blinds? Can try Luxaflex (opps did I spell it correctly?!) If you want I can check the contact person for you tonight..

chatter ~ make the thread alive lah!!!

I can't make it for the 22nd OCT gathering

It's my mum's birthday...

Hey Jitpong,
My PS is in 22nd Dec. Late hor??
168259.gif

but no choice cos i only started planning for the wedding in July which was quite late.

Any idea Beauty Express got any branch in the West?

Mi need wedding car too... but see how lah... coz we member of city speed... so if can't get any good rates, wld juz rent a car from them lor.. Hmmm.... dun think my hubby like Pink too much leh... but it sure looks cute...
168265.gif

Looks like we are having quite a few newbies...
168266.gif

Btw, I bought LG Fridge also but not those side by side 2 doors one... u sure it will fit into yr kitchen? I tot new hse kitchen mostly very small... My friend bought it also and in the end it blocked half of his kitchen window... better do yr measurements first before buying...

Hi Ivy

Mi not looking for job, but I am looking for pple to work, can look for u or not? wat industry you focus on?

good morning (though it's going to be afternoon soon)

You gals looking for cars? Can I ask if anybody going to use dark color car? My hubby want to borrow his aunt's black BMW, but my mum dun really like. She prefer the silver Jaguar which the aunt also have. Me like lilac color ribbons, so which color do you gals think is suitable?

Ros,
Side by side door fridge can fit, depends on the layout of the kitchen. Cos my brother's flat can fit but not mine.

Very happy to see this thread revive again. I always read the main 2005 brides thread but it has been quite slow now also. Im also a feb bride,

Jitpong, can add mine to the list.
elaine77-27th feb- Carlton Hotel- White link- Sengkang.

caratsoup, my AD is same as yrs.. wah. you prepare quite late leh. When i was preparing mine during march, i find it abit late already. I try to book a few hotels qith this date but some hotels are not available like Panpac and Apollo. Im having my PS on 22 oct, quite excited about it.

Seems like most of you are looking for curtains now. One word of advise is that if your house has got direct sunlight..... it is better to buy curtains that has got block out..... which means to say that sunlight will not be able to penetrate through.... didnt think much of it initially until I doing the renovation for my parents hse.... my room has got direct morning sun and my roller blinds is creme in color and with the creme color walls...my room is veri veri bright even at 7 am in the morning..... 8(...... lesson learnt and for my own hse.... I requested for curtains with block out or with double layer sewing......

Personally, I think curtain does play an important role in the overall design to create the desire effect....... we spent ard S$3K for all the curtians in my new hse and received lotsa compliments on it which makes us feel that the moni spent is well worth.......it will be good to find a reliable curtain maker who can provide good advises on the different kind of fabric, quality and what is most suitable for your house

Oic sgn, yup I planning to go Blue Ginger for dinner and Mum's Kitchen I had catered few times b4 so aga know their std.

My hubby's proposal kinda cute...there it goes:
He ride his motorbike with a bouquet of flowers and a big balloon tied to the back seat and arrived my company's carpark maybe half an hour b4 my knock off time. I dunno y I got those six sense that I actually look out from the window that day to realised his plot. So I was smiling from the window and my company colleagues all started telling me abt my hb.... Hahaha... so by the time I knocked off and went to him, the surprise is over but all the colleagues were smiling & seeing us off. He din propose on tat day, kinda shy i think....

To those who are buying electrical appliances...

If possible, make a list of the brands & model that u have with the price of what mega stores are selling then go to neighbourhood store to check the price... I bought mine @ an electrical store near 'AH BOY MOTORSHOP' Not too sure what's the name of the shop liao but most of the things are at 10 to 20% mark-down as compared to the city area... but of course, they dun accept credit card lah...

I noe there's another call GOH AH BEE @ Toa Payoh also selling electrical appliances at a lower price..

Hi Sasha

If u r really buying the LG 2 door side-by-side one shld check around... my friend bought it @ $ 1000 plus instead 1200... not too sure if this is the same model...

Hi Serene

Think shld be okie lah... but of course, if yr mum dun like then better not lor... since she has a silver jaguar and yr mum like it... juz take that one lor... unless u all dun like, then also bo bian... not point make her unhappy mah.. but his aunt must be very rich hor... so many cars... *envy*

I like Lilac also... in fact, my EG is in lilac.. think wat colour ribbons to use also depends on wat colour is yr car mah... hmmm... r u going to decorate the car yrself too? mi going to do it myself, still trying to figure out how to get that 2 wedding bears standing on the car without them smashing into my wind screen when the car moves...
168278.gif

Thanks Matilda for the advice

Yes I agree with Matilda.......that's why for our masterbedroom and living room we chose the block-out blinds. Want to sleep in peace during the weekends you see. For us we spent about $2K for the vertical and roller blinds.

hi ros,

that's why me "fan" cos dunnow which to take. So I told my hubby and mum, I will take whichever that matches Lilac ribbons. kekeke. His aunt rich lor, stay landed, got 3 cars, (last car is Mercs but we don't like cos boring..kekeke)....Good life *envy*

decorate yourself? never thought about that....also dunno how to do...kekeke