(2005) Brides of year 2005

mei: I never buy latest style wedding mag.
My evening gown not low back also.

Have a look :
260498.jpg

how are you ladies getting on with the preps?? enjoying it? getting stressed?

I have been feeling very tired lately. I guess wedding preps and home reno are taking a toll on me. I feel like i have aged 5 yrs during these past few weeks...

Hi Kit
It cost about $39 each time for both mani and pedi, but we must purchase a package of 6 times.( plus 2 nail art free)
Then french mani is additional of $8.00.
I intend to go there too.. but wait till next PS.

Hi Gan
Welcome.. I am also 18/19 Sept BTB... wanna share with us ur profile- venue, BS , photographer etc etc? Thanks

Hi josl n ray
Oh, so letting both parents meet up at food tasting session. I think i abit opposite.. did not invite both sides to food tasting, we be calling our jie mei and xiong di along...Cos these are the ppl who following us throughout the nite, dun think they have time to eat too, so gonna let them try 1st....One thing that we both scare of.... We got a friend who ask both sides to food tasting, both side parents typically change all dishes in the menu away with better food.. in the end, one table from $700 plus become $900 plus...simply over budget by $200 plus... The poor couple.. as both sides parents around and they all agreed. Our friends cannot oppose at all... I not gonna let this happen.. cos there were already similar senarios that happened when we both side went out for dinner....Scarie.... =P

Is it true that during Hungry Ghost fest.. we cannot send invitations out to relatives and friends? Meaning Sept brides must send invitations out during July liao n avoid august to send...

wah.. meaning aug gonna stay at home n prepare to look mei mei for Sept...

Ming,
Kuang's studio is very nice... you should make an appt to go and look see look see...
Aiya, just engage NH serivces then your problem slove liao lor... kekekeke... :p (just joking)

Highness
Oh yah that's true...ok let me correct myself then...
You get better value for money for the rocks you buy at Larrys and Carat Club than at LH. At the Carat Club, you have to make appt to go see them. From what I know they dont really do walk ins... The Mgr there is very nice you dont have to worry
They dont like look at what you are wearing and then treat you accordingly if you know what I mean...
Usually NH and I like go in T-shirt and Berms and slippers and they still treat us like any other client

was just wondering about VG. I heard a lot of VGs like to "direct" the couple on what to do, where to walk etc. they even go for "mock ups" so that they can video it and that's how they get a nice video in the end. Total contrast with the photojournalistic style of photography. Anyone have any comments or experience on this?

Er.. but TinTin,
if made appt liao, go see see look look then never buy anything, very paiseh leh.. wat's the price range for their wedding bands? actually i just work nearby.. but i always passby n see the doors close.. :P

Hi SK2, nope, no express edit, cos express edit cost more, so i did not want to take, esp i am having it at pan pac Ocean balloroom, the screen is at one end, though there is no pillar, dont think everyone can see.

my hubby using adobe premiere to do our photo montage, hon chuen says if we have any problem can ask him.

Highness,
Its ok lar.. that day we went to look for "Si tian jin" and when we totalled everything his eyeballs nearly popped out and we ended up not buying any "tian" at all... but they were still very nice about it...

Their wedding bands are not very expensive really depends on the design and what stones you use.

atreyu
Dont you think is very "fake" like that. Personally I wouldnt go for that style coz I think a good videographer or photographer should be able to capture the moments at it is... shouldnt have to "act" it out. If the real moments are captured well it will look good and it would be meaningful to you isnt it?

Imagine if you have a whole album of really nice photos but when you show your friends who didnt attend the wedding and while explaining the photos instead of saying "oh this was when my auntie came over to give me a hug coz she was so happy for me" you have to say... "oh this was when the photographer ask my auntie to pretend to hug me so that he can capture a nice 'moment' photo" it sounds abit sad right dont you think?
Honestly if you get a cousin or friend who is not so good in photography to capture the moments it will still be more meaningful coz it was something that really happened during the wedding rather than having things acted out... Oh well... that's my two cents worth of thots... Hope you dont mind...

Hi Jovia, yup really so qiao hor. Hope u can make it for the nex gathering, or maybe we can arrange to go down MM 2gether after the renovation, then we can bargain more perks from our coordinators,hahaha. yesterday my colleague juz warn me to follow up wif MM renovations, to play safe that they wont delay till sept.

I have no ideas where to PS yet. Acutaly i dont want Sentosa, tinking tat its pretty common. but come to tink about it, tats the only convenient place. I want greenery scene & beach scene, Sentosa have it all. ( wow like i advertise SIngapore TOurism Board). Me & husband wil racee botanic garden one of the weekends to c whether their reno done liao or not.

hi tintin,

actually I agree with you totally! that's why I've chosen blackbox as my PG. they're totally journalistic. just having a bit of problem finding VG cos I heard that a lot of VGs are like that. =(

highness,
oh i see.. me also planning to get my wedding bands soon. my fiance seems very keen on a cartier pair we saw so we're prob gonna get that. act have you checked out tiffany's? if ure looking for plain bands, they've very nice ones and not too expensive too. unless ure talking abt DIAMONDS.. then it's a different matter ;p

tintin,
agree with you that LH is overpriced. wat happened to me was, before my fh proposed, he kind of hinted if i wanted the tiffany's ring.. that was when i screamed blue murder n told him dont ever think of spending such ridiculous amts on a rock (tt time still havent learnt to apprec rocks.. kekeke). so i told him local brand like LH can alr.. he was like, "sure or not.. sound so bad leh.." cos a lot of his frens' rings are like tiffany's, bvalgari, larry's... n i was like "sure..". only to find out that LH is act soooo ex!! *faint* thankfully he had a good fren working inside so paid a lot less for my ring.

then.. woman being woman.. i was like "wah, so much discount then still buy so small?!" hahahaha.... anyway, that's my story.. so even tho i saw a jorn rainer wedding band tt i like, i think it's seriosuly overpriced. so decided against it. ok ok.. plus cos fiance doesnt like it at all..
that said, i still lurrrrve my diamond ring... it's exactly wat i imagined my proposal ring to be all my life.... so no complains
kao_love.gif

Tin
ok ok must go n c Kuang's studio ..heehee ...NH available on my AD? heeeee

u heard of Eu Lee?

anyone heard of Emotion for videography?

need feedback (thanks)

hey all..
hey all newbies...welcome welcome...

no lunch for me today..sobsob..sobsob
going to starve myself until my PS..ahaha..

good news for me...finally got my shoes liao..haha..MTM one from Leapin Lizard..haiz...after so much hassle..in the end..mtm my shoes..haha..these few days still running in n out looking for design..yesterday finally finalize liao..haiz..big hole in my pocket..bo bian lah..hiao mah..
Next going for my facial tml..hehe..anyone heard abt Bioskin biodemegration(forgot the spelling..something like tat..)thingy...tat time bought their one time voucher..dunno good or not..think no harm try loh since i nv go facial b4..hehe..

wah..HM??haven decide where to go...may go europe..hubby wans to go there leh..but i scare not enough time to got there...my thinking is that if go europe..its only fun if u backpack n stay there at least a mth..if only 1wk..too short liao..time wasted on travelling..haiz..
but we muz book so early meh??our wedding sep leh..so early need to book destination liao huh??

as for GDL..im leaving all those things to my MIL to do...coz i got no idea wat is it abt..too confusing liao...haha..lazy me..

atreyu
You can try my VG. He is very good and he doesnt really direct couples. You can email me personally and I can send you private link to his past works
Everytime I see his express highlights I always want to cry coz so touching!

Ashie
Tiffany is VERY VERY nice but the bulk of the money you pay for is for the brand... but if the bands has no diamonds in them its not so bad lar... still affordable...

I know what you mean about LH... I thot the destinee was nice and I told NH that would do coz I thot I help him save money and told him no need to go to Larry or Tiffiany etc... He did abit of homework and found out that the rock he got me at The Carat Club at the same "size and standard" cost twice as much at LH! I went by Cupid Jewels too and they were trying to selling me this really "koyak" diamond that was so yellow at a higher price than what he paid for for my proposal ring. I've stopped going to these walk in shops anymore coz all these mass produced thingys are quite crappy... my gf bought a diamond ring from LH last week and the diamond fell out after three days! unbelieveable right???

while looking thru several thread, i found this thread and there is a worksheet done by a gal on all the GDL stuff which may look helpful to all

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/2652.html?1110944162

Hi Cu2nite
How much u MTM ur shoes ah?? ex anot? what design u choose??
BTW, i might be going to joey's trial MU on 09 Apr cos its my hubby D&D and i m joining him...so go for the trial and no need to waste the MU liao.. hee hee

Hi Vivi,

Yup, going down together to MM to negotiate sounds like a good idea. Who's your co-ordinator?

Was thinking of Sentosa too, and yar.. sounds like the whole world's choosing that place too! So still looking ard.. Botanic garden looked really in a mess, with the revo and stuff.. dun think they are done yet with the reno...

So your gowns all done up already? Any pictures to share??

Hi icy, hmmm... you do have a point. I agree that a tiara might look abit out of sorts with kwa. Maybe you can ask your MUA to put flowers in the morning and tiara for the dinner? That's probably what I will be doing

CU - How much did you pay for yr MTM shoes? Send us your photo of the shoes leh. Me thinking of MTM also as I need a 4" one. The ones in the market are quite uncomfy.

Better not starve yrself, not enough nutrients wun look radiant. Must eat lah, just eat less lor.

hi tintin,
err.. i supp NH refers to your fiance?? then he must really have done his homework lor.. good tt it paid off! my fiance ah.. ask him to do homework he'll tell u he rather spend the money.. sighz. hehe.. you like me ah.. dont want our fiances to spend too much on diamonds..

yah i think tiffany is nice too.. unfortunately my fiance thinks otherwise. but thankfully we both found a pair at cartier tt we liked, so will be getting that one. ure right.. somehow buying tiffany's is a lot of buying the brand's name.. not to mention the blue box!!

so you bought ur wedding bands alr? also from carat club? custom-made is it?

tougei and blur genie,
I wondering if can get the mua to teach my jiemeis how to take out the tiara and then replace by some other accessories.

hi TinTin & ashie,
wow.. after hearing so much abt rings.. i blur liao..
frankly speaking, i really got nothing in mind. just prefer white gold ring rather than platinum. so, wat's the reasonable price? er.. diamonds or not, no preference.. anything lah.. haha..

aiyo, u gals dun sound so bad abt LH.. there's so many others buy bands from them.. after all it's a local brand goin international.. muz support local goods mah! haha.. something we shd be proud of.. wahaha.. :P

so ashie, how much is ur cartier rings? got a frd got paiget rings.. $1.3k for one, not a pair.. no diamonds..

heehee.. ashie, running threads too..
for the time being, i only got 1 pair for WG, cos no idea if can match EG anot.. haven't find The One gowns leh..

hi icy, I thot of doing that for my dinner march-in but I'm worried that if something goes wrong when they take out the accessories then I'm screwed
Will have to go around with messy hair esp since the MUA usually uses so much hair spray that I wont be able to get the hair in place by myself. You will have to be careful that the pins will not catch on to your hair when they take it out.

hey all, I really really enjoyed my wedding
It was so much fun though we were always rushing and very busy for the 2 whole days! It is not a perfect wedding that makes me so happy, it's all those friends around us that unconditionally help us throughout the wedding that makes the day so special... sorry I get a bit sentimental here and just wanna share a bit of the over-flowing happiness.... hahaha.....

icy, cookie, ger, thanks for the info of the mag, if not I will sure missed that!! kekeke...

Hi Hi Everyone,

Many many thanks again!
So excited, I am gog down to see the gowns later at Divine Couture. Wow I realise from the different threads tat the BS I am gog to are around $5k package with PS. I see tat no one here take up Divine. Not as worth as the rest of the BS? I got myself 1 more appt with Wedding Present on Sat. heehee got 3 appts on Sat. :P

Helen, Bubbles & Yen, very gd tips! What are the other things I must look out for when I go down to see them?

Ye, Furry! I stay in Bendemeer n work in Novena.Where u think will be a gd place to go for pilates? Got to start real fast as our AD is in Oct, got to work out those flabby arms now. So big my arms
(

PS, I am thinking of Scarlet Hotel. Look so elegant. Wonder if they allow shots in the whole hotel lobby n restaurants. Heehee :D

<font color="0000ff">I'm back ... still not fully-recovered ...
but i m feeling much better now...
Thanks for ur concerns ...</font>

<font color="119911">The gathering has changed to this coming Friday (18th March) ...
Can i have a show of hand ... who will be going??</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Date: 18th March 2005 (Friday)
Time: 6.45pm
Meeting/Makan Place: Plaza Singapura Swensen’s Restaurant #03-23 </font>

i_bless_u,
that's a nice colour! too bad cannot see the front

my EG is yellowish orange in colour.. no photos to show u yet

Hi Ray, oh ya aug is the ghost month, like ur parents quite traditional, me trying to go against sum traditions.hee...

hi zoe...
Hmm...din think of that, but my parents saw the menu already, they say gotta have either suckling pig or roast pork in the menu, most prob juz try to change the combination dish loh. Hope they wun change to other menu coz i said if they wanna change they go top up the money...

HI ashie, i still haven't decide on the shoes :P

SK2, no problem. hope you like his works. truly speaking he is not as good as the more ex ones, like moomedia or wedding papa, but as compared to those about the same price range, i am very happy to engage him.

decimal,
gald to hear that u enjoy ur AD.. makes me look forward to mine.. anyway, congrats and hope to hear good news from you soon :P

Hi josl
No la.. we got scared by my friend..
They typically met such situation where both side parents agreed liao and there were no choice for my friend n his wife to reject and Guai Guai listen n top up... I know in the end, they loss on their dinner.. Poor thing...
actually it depend on individual parents too...

Hi Cu2nite
How long does it take to MTM??
gal, u dun always on diet and starve la

Ai4 Mei3 Bu4 Yao4 Ming4 ....ya lor, eat less lor...

Hi Ning,

I guess which BS u will be choosing will really depend on your budget. Must be careful with hiddent costs. Try to squeeze some perks out of them, if possible, esp the photos as they can be real ex. Remember to find out how much an extra photo will cost. If u are going to TWP, the price there is fixed .. but what attracted me to sign up with them is their service and gowns..

and hey, i'm working in novena area also... near to novena square... u?

Hi Angela,

I can't make it this Friday. Got company event...

i_bless_u,

aiya! told u not fat liao wor! anymore pix to see? theses are not in your online album right? is that a MTM or OTR? fit u very nicely leh