(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

Hi Diana, itz ok, yup, i made mi own Ang pao box for Ad as well. nothing fancy la, juz copied from some other ppl who were selling it. if u want, can help u with it too.

here's a pic of mi Angpao box.

your_image.gif

Gintonic, my colleagues told me about it. The promotion is only valid when we making bookings online from 12th-14th Feb. I only learnt abt it the last day which is the v day.. told hubby about it cos we already have the intention to go back again sometime in june or july as our house will be ready by then.
we both quickly rushed home after our valetines's day dinner. Manage to booked the 2 tickets at 11.45pm!! that was close indeed.
I agree that it is cheap. No extra charge at all even i am flying over weekend and return on national day!! hehe..

pierced, that was great.. then we can use those left over material to practise.

Diana, hee hee, that's a good question on the ang bao box.. I am sure pierced will help us on it right?

gin, make one lah...then u can deco it however u like it....if buy like ex leh...coz i wan to make 2, one for my ang bao and the other for his...so easier to count later mah...hee hee

Hi gin, diana's rite, very easy to make one, juz need to buy nice wrapping paper can liao.

I used those A4 sized boxes and bought some wrapping paper. have lots of ribbons left over so used it as well too to decorate. whole thing cost less than what they sell outside.
i was tempted to get one fr the wedding favors shop but it costs like $60 plus for it. pengs. most importantly, aft the wedding, u wont be bothered to use it anymore. haha, i juz tear away the paper and count the $$!

tks gals, i wil go check out those A4 size boxes.

was gg thru my guest list again...realised the sitting arrangment is oso a big headache!! guess the guest list is the most scary part.

hi gals... after much consideration, mi n hubby decided to bring forward our AD to dec'07 liao.. i told him if i wait until dec'08.. i'll not be interested in havin customary dinner coz wait until already sian...

pierce, that is so pretty.. think we are all eager to learn from you soon...

Gin, yup, like wat pierced had said, DIY saves money and more fun too. at least you dun have to worry what to do with the boxes after the wedding. more meaningful also..

Bluberi, good good.. it's best to bring forward. if you are going to wait till dec 2008, almost 3 yrs later.. keep us update ok??

Ryes Ryes, tomolo is your big big day!!! congrats and enjoy the whole event. looking forward to hear from you again! be a pretty bride my dear.. wish you all the best and stay loving with you hubby forever!!!

blur, ya lor think DIY will save $$ n its much more meaningful.

pierced, so meaning u got 2 ang bao box, 1 for ur side n another for hubby's side??

Oh bluberi, bring forward to dec'07 is better lor cos if 2008 still hv to wait 2 more yrs. Really abit long. But wads ur hubby's reaction when u told him dun indent to hv customary dinner if hold in 2008?? Most impt is both of u must really plan things together n look fwd to the big day!!

heee...got frens asked me y ROM 1st then AD, y i never thot of having my solemnisation during the banquet?? My answers to them was its more meaningful to plan for the wedding day as lawful man & wife. heee, anyway its my own view. wonder wad u gals think??

Hi ryes, congrats on ur big day today!!! good weather, nice and bright, hope everything goes well for u. be a beautiful bride!

Hi bluberi, good that u can bring forward otherwise 08 seems a very long time. now u can start early preps hee...

Gin, nope, i only got one AP box coz no need to separate between groom and bride. We kept all the Ap ourselves. U can use those office printing paper boxes. that's what i took back fr mi office to use.
yup, sitting arrangement is a headache, forever changing it coz of ppl telling u not coming for the dinner etc. Guest list muz make sure u write down the names of the relatives besides the normal addressing of ur relatives like 1st uncle etc. otherwise sometimes the guests come and they juz report their name and not the particular title.
haha, act not many ppl asked mi coz tot that's quite normal for most couples but anyway, doesnt really matter to mi coz it was juz a legal procedure. dun want to hold it both on the same day too. can be quite a rush.
keke...nx time can say itz illegal to have AD bef rom lor...

blur, i wun wan to haf it dec'08, else my neck will be beri long... though my mum tot feb'08 is fine.. i told her NO NO NO... wait until dec'08 i no mood already.

gin, basially he oni ask mi y lor...so i told him the above reason.. den he said alrite but we gonna be on a tighter budget.. i dun mind lah, e most we use our fixed deposit lor.. *heez*

pierced, yah gonna start my preparation early especially going on a diet.. dun wanna be a fat bride leh... hope i will succeed... *pray hard hard* tink i'll also go n seek geomancer for date 1st so i can book the dinner venue. am i too kiasu?

Hi bluberi, dun thk itz kiasu since u already decided. better to grab the venue first as popular places can be booked. but not too sure whether are the gd dates our for 07 already? maybe they know liao la, coz i didnt consult any.

pierced, i heard fm some '07 brides dat we should be able to get the dates dec'07 now.. so i tot maybe will consult a geomancer soon... i already had a restuarant in mind, Peony-Jade at clarke quay coz i tot we'll haf ard 22 tables for the dinner at most...the atmosphere and food there is fantastic.. but yesterday hubby tell mi we'll need at least 30 tables in all *pengz* like dat means i gotta look for other places liao coz Peony-Jade can oni accomodate 25tables at the most.... *sigh*

bluberi, u may consider Club Chinois cos its under Tung Lok Gp. Their food is nice and if u r having ard 30tables then entitled to use the ballroom(they rent fr Orchard Parade Hotel). Me went to view the ballroom set up before cos it was our 1st choice. Has a v cozy feeling & L-shaped March-in.

bluberi, another reason for u to book nw if u oredi noe ur date is becoz the price for banquet is increasing every yr...so if u book nw, ur package might be cheaper than those who book later..

gin, i went there to attend a wedding yrs ago... it's food is not bad but the dinner started real late, say 9pm.. in the end beri rushing to eat the dinner.. *heez* where did u choose in the end?

gals, any advice on how much deposit the restaurant or hotel will require us to put down.

bluberi, thk should be quite std ard 3k rite. mine was that amount and i heard fr a few others it was tiz too.
hee...30 tables still manageable, imagine mine was 43..aft all the photo taking, end of dinner liao. luckily we didnt push it up to 50 plus tables.

pierced, i heard from some others dat some places accept 1k deposit i/o 3k.. my fren booked the restaurant at safra mount faber for 35tables also paid 1k deposit oni... dun wan to pay some much for deposit leh..

i wan to cut down to 25tables leh, but hubby say 30tables is the minumum liao.. frens more den relatives

oic, i guess really depends on the place to set the deposit.
still ok la, coz it gets minus off fr ur final bill so doesnt really make a difference to us when we paid, but maybe if u are having more things to look into like housing, den a bit'siong'

no of guests is a big headache coz depending on the time and date, sometimes a lot of ppl last min tell u they cant come, so very hard to forecast the actual amount, more frenz than relatives good coz u dun really make a loss fr frenz, more fr relatives.

pierced, i dun wan to pay so much deposit coz i tot i might need to use the $$ to pay for other misc things...

last time my sis's wedding, she made a loss from her fren... one fren even gif $8 or $12 lor, very clever nt to write the name on the angbao *pengz* where was ur dinner held, got make a loss?

bluberi, me chose Hotel Intercontinental in the end. Our deposit is $5k. Some hotels like Marriott request for $5k then another $3k 3mths before the AD. Think its v inflexible leh. Btw, moonlight & blur are oso with intercon.

bluberi....me chose The Crown coz got good feedback on the food from frenz who attend wedding dinner there before...+ my MIL is rather particular on food lor...

Hi bluberi, mine was ok, of coz got lot of Aps never write name but some genuinely forgotten to. One put $38 inside.
Mi dinner was at OCC. i still break even for dinner, but quite hard to really forecast whether will make a big loss or not. most imptly, muz remember dun worry too much over that or itz additional stress.

Gin, cute! thk i heard one bride asking about it bef. but dunno how much it costs.
depends on whether the guests are spontaneous about it, but u wont get to see it at the dinner though.

pierced, where is OCC? if i can break even i'll be happy liao... now doing research on restaurants and hotels, but tink will focus more on restaurant coz they fit into our budget more.

Bluberi, OCC- orchid country club at yishun.
some restaurants have quite a nice atmosphere too like Chef Chan's.
Oso some hotels are priced quite ok rite? if bit considering the high end ones.

pierced, my hubby's gd fren had his wedding dinner at OCC also.. hubby said the food nt beri nice, i nt sure coz i nv been there b4... occ nt beri easy to access also rite?

i've considered Chef Chan's but tink they can't accomodate 30 tables leh... no reception area and the stage beri small... rather space constraint ba.. yeah, i'm looking at some hotels dat are within the budget....

gin, my budget ard $700/table (incl.the +++) coz we paying on our own... the BS already takes up 4.5k liao... our total budget is abt 27k exluding the angbao we r going to collect. i beri scare to make a loss coz we got ard 30tables leh... i may wan to cut down the no. of tables to reduce the loss that may incur

hey girls,

I'm finally back after the 2 nights stay. It was so fun, so so fun and enjoyable leh. Everything went very smoothly except for some hiccups like hubby forgot to bring the ang bao when we return to his home for tea ceremony for the little boy who open the car door. Last minute had to bao inside the wedding car on the way $20. Then who knows the mother say she had bao $28 earlier when he came to their hse already, so the boy earned $48 in the end, which was $20 more our budget.

Phototaking at dinner time was like herding sheeps like that. wahahha...Just take and go take and go. I'm glad we finished 34 tables photoshoot at 1010like that and we had time to sit at tables and mingle with my frens...

But then, after dinner, hubby's mother's workplace receptionist got drunk very badly and had foam coming out from her nose and they suspect she took drugs and had to send for ambulance lah, police report lah, etc. If not for her making a scene, I think everything would have been called off at 11pm sharp. Haiz...

wow ryes, so serious....but she also beri jia lat...y do such ting during people wedding...muz be some siao za bo lah...anyway juz ignore her lah....glad to noe tat u hv an njoyable time...so nw u r an "official" mrs liao hor...the first during 2006 among us.....

yeah yeah, she abit hiao hiao type one and she jio pp drink one okay and got drunk on the 3rd glass.

haha, my pleasure to be the official mrs..Hubby was so happy that night and he cried again...ahahah. my gf all tease him and laugh say aiyo why he cry again. He said he very touched when he saw some sisters(nuns) etc and told me he very grateful to them, so he happy then cry lor.

Ryes, so happie for u n learnt that U & ur hubby had a wonderful wedding day. U really make me feel more eager now, hope my AD comes faster!! haha!! Bet i b like ur hubby cried on that nite cos it b d most touching moment in my whole life. To be married to someone who u loved so much and b spending your whole life wif him. Its just soooo wonderful!!

So your dinner started on time?? Did u manage to give your thank U speech??

Ryes, welcome back gal. Great to hear that you had an enjoyable day... That receptionist very kua zhang leh.. still got ambulance one eh? anyway wat's most impt is that u r officially married and setting up your family soon. I agree with Gin, most prob, my hubby and myself will cry on our big day too!!

Yo yo ryes
Great 2 hear u enjoyed ur AD sooo much!!!!
U muz b so touched to c ur hb's tears again!!! keke...can feel the immerse joy of ur wedding from ur words! hees....

so when u gng off 4 ur honeymoon?

Hi Ryes, glad u are back...haha..now can feel like nothing else to do, very lost not?

glad that u enjoyed urself so much if not for that recept. aiyo, so 'drama' to create such a scene at ppl's wedding.
so sweet of ur hubby to cry on that day, he muz have been very happy to get u finally!! hee... muz have been very heartwarming.

gg for ur HM not?? waiting to see ur pics soon. =)

oh yes, my dinner started on time and all thanks to my friends and relatives so punctual. only got a couple was late and another few couples late, that's all. It managed to end at 1030pm. phew.

I didnt cry, but sob when during tea ceremony my dad gave me his wishes, I was so touched okay, he talked until he want to cry leh, so I see liao also want to cry.....

ahahahah...I was laughing when I saw hubby's red tears okay!! I went like " Why you cry again?" then he say he very touched to see the sisters attending his wedding etc and everyone who attended my rom know he cried u see, so this time round aiyo.....

the funny thing is people was expecting us to give a long speech, but hubby just said " we would like to thank everyone for attending our wedding today. We hope you enjoy your dinner. Thank you/

whahahah, then when we went round, people said, why your speech so short one? wahhahaha...

My HM is on 13th march, but stupid agency say need 15 pax to fly when they said 10 only when we sign the contract you know, so mad. Now only got 7, but I think low chances liao, so have to wait till March 2nd then see if can go or not.

I'm eager to see my pictures too, will share with you all. I want to share my express highlights with you all too! It was hilarious to me...

hi bluberi, york hotel is an old hotel wif beri attractive and cheap wedding package....in fact, it was also one of the hotel tat i enquired previously...the only pull back is tat we dun like the ballroom...food wise, i did read from other thread tat it standard hv improved...but i did attend a wedding there yrs back lor...and tat is also how i noe tat it exist lah...another pull back is tat due to it location, alot of people dun noe ware it is or how to get there lor....the + point is tat it allow u to bring in duty free wine or liquor but muz be pour into another bottle or jug (dun noe wat it is call) to be serve...so far, this is the only hotel tat i noe allow duty free one...