(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

nt sure abt nail extension but noe we can use arylic (nt sure if spelling is correct) nails lor if our nail too short. it look like real one, so for nails dun worry liao, but shld wori on the $$ u gng to pay for beautifying own self including the mani & pedi cost lor...hee hee...so after taking in all these expenses...me declared "ME BROKE FOR THE MONTH OF MAY LIAO"...

moonlight, i'm using monthly disposable type. its v easy to take out n v comfort in wearing. Gals, try the softlens comfort by Buasch & Lomb. d water content is high dats y no prob if u gg to wear it whole day. me buying @ a pair of $12 nr my hse. U can try it out before getting for 6mths supply.

wah, all of you so busy in the afternoon ah? I went out wee morning to meet 3 photographers, but ended up stopping at the 2nd one, coz the lady har, very the good, counter offer(twice hor) us lots of offers to us which FH felt it was too hard to resist and hence, signed immediately. So now down another headache. Now I have to decide on my bridal shop and get the package without photography. I hope I made the right choice you know girls, coz har, the lady there is still a 3rd studio to visit one, but if we were to see the 3rd studio, then the 2nd counter offer wont be valid lah.

So we think think, okay lor, signed. Then after signed, I now tot abt chris ling open hse on 7th, which I have an aptmt too, I wonder how much their pkg is gonna be like n how much to top up per pc....

for contact lenses har, I managed to put in with my long nails, but cannot take out with long nails leh, very painful, then scare hurt my corneas lah. Then the stupid brand I bought, focus daily, so slippery one, damn hard to take out so I gave up, sacrifice my thumb and index finger lor... Anyway, left hand wear ring mah, so left hand nice nice can liao...

Mi oso a Contact lens wearer like most of u here.

Gin, i oso using the softlens comfort. i juz bought one whole carton of it when i was in Bkk last dec. still thk bausch and lomb best! I def cant live without mi lens.
with long nails, still ok even with ur mani too...juz be very careful when removing.use the flesh part and dun go use the nails to poke in as it will scratch ur cornea and then u end up with red eyes. i often keep mi nails so quite used to removing it. but juz hafta make sure u keep the nails clean too bef removing.
also another tip, i always wet mi fingers with the solutions first so itz easier to remove too. wont get stuck when u try to take it out.

i was busy visiting simmons warehouse sales today to try and get a gd deal on mi new mattress and bedframe. hurray! finally got mi bed!

hey pierced, share, how much is it?

We intend to get new bed only in Jan and to sleep on it only after our customary, so didn't shop much.

wow, so many msg eh???

i m also a contact len wearer.. i have long nails but think i m too used to it.. take in n out.. not much problem though...

Pierced, u getting simmon bed? wow, how much does it cost u? i want to get simmon bed too!!! I think Simmons bed is really comforable...

I'm looking for the sealy posturepedia bed leh, Fh wants that. What's good abt simmon? Seems like it's quite popular too har.

gin, where are u planning ur solemnisation initially?

Ryes, hahaha.. occasionally me n my FH will have hotel stay during our special days... Then when we stayed in this particular hotel early this year, we both find tt that bed is very comforable compared to the ones we slept elsewhere. both me n my FH had a really good sleep..
so funnie, then we both pulled out the bedsheet and cover to serch for the brand of the bed.. n it happens to b Simmons. tt's y we both decided tt we would wan to have tt in future.. tt's how we came across Simmons bed.. but har, think quite ex leh..

hi ryes,

yes, sealy is a reputable bed manufacturer. my wife and i bought a sealy bed from robinson last year and is scheduled for delivery end this year. you should go to robinson and try them out. but may wish to wait for GSS to come by... think it starts on 24 may....

blur blur.... wah... u guys really dig out the stuff in the hotel... keke... well, we were told by the robinson's staff that four seasons used sealy's bed.

ROM MAY 05

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick/Name</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM Food / Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">JP</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Actual Day</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Shop</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wedding Bands</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">BLuBeRi</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3rd May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM Bldg</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dim-sum Buffet/Rivercity Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">2008</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Cupid Jewels</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Dear dear</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">5th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tembeling road</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nov 05 </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">andrei23_n_averyl21</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">5th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles the Plaza</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles the Plaza</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">5th June 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles the Plaza</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Moonlight</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">8th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fantasy Yacht</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Buffet / Fantasy Yacht</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">David Loh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Z Wedding Design</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Goldheart</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Pierced</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">8th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Function rm at condo </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">buffet/seletar springs</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chan Kai Yau</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 2005</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchid country club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr &amp; Ms wedding club</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tiffany &amp; Co</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">September/Diana</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">9th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Compass Height</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Buffet / Compass Height</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">David Loh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Whitelink</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Citigems BS</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ublur</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gazebo Lawn in Raffles hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">David Loh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tiffany &amp; Co</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ginny</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Warren</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Buffet / The Warren</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Low Peng Kiat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fame Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lee Hwa Jorn Rainer Series</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Shimaro</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM Bldg</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Goldheart</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Little Twinstar</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Carlton Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">High Tea Buffet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">David Loh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fairy's Inc</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">L.S.S (mico) </font></TD><TD><font size="-2">20th May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Furama Riverfront</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Felin Jewellery</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rainne</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">21st May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Singapore</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">High Tea Buffet / Hilton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">David Loh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19th Feb 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton Singapore</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fairy's Inc</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
Gintonic, har,you mean you not yet confirm the solemnisatio venue yet?
Hey blur, mind sharing which particular hotel you guys stayed at? FH and myself also used to hop and try out different hotel stays. I read in the papers that one hotel is actually selling their bed online.

I haven't got any time to check out beds yet, but seems very ex leh, coz we intend to get those double bed set, rather than those mattress, then put ontop of the bed frame type.

hey sgwestie

can you recall how much you bought it? did you buy those divan set or just the mattress alone?

You guys buying king or queen? For me, i'm getting king, coz fh &amp; myself sleep will cure up like a prawn with bum out, so no space to spread out. Already now, we are fighting over space on my queen size bed..ahahaha

sgwestie, hahaha.. ya lah.. think the one cleaning my room sure complain..

ryes, the hotel is royal plaza which is near the DFS in orchard..

Gal, next wk beetles at work, montage, studio dfia n a few studio having open hse promotion... I had made an appt to see if there's any promotions cos me n my FH love dfia work.. u all might wan to check it out..

hey blur

oh, we stayed there before too. They offer free mini bar which was too hard to resist and plus it's nett price too. ; ) oh, so theirs is simmon har..

Montage having open hse? serious? Where you saw?

Ryes, yaya.. free mini bar.. either i m damm tired on tt day, or the bed really nice lor.. hahhaa.. then i must go to four season n stay liao.. i stayed raffles the plaza, stamford the raffles before, but not tt shiok.. hhaha..
check out the singapore home page for the open hse..

I will start to give out my invitation card tomolo to my colleagues n friends who i had invited for my ROM day.. hopefully they all can attend...

blur &amp; ryes, i'm having my solemnisation @ a func rm of my FH's uncle condo. D condo regulation state dat can onli bk 1mth in advance. Nw need to chg cos d func rm is v v small. i got abt 30 guests n still need to include a long table for d ceremony..

ryes, we managed to get a full leather simmons bedframe + queen matress for $1900. very cheap as it would def cost ard 4K in the shops unless with promo. at first i tot they would only sell showrm units, but the guy assured us that it is def new. they need to state itz showrm pcs due to some reasons. he even show us the orig packing. so dun mind buying from the warehouse. i thk they juz want to clear the older range of stock and itz only been ard for 6 mths to a yr for some.
if u can wait, wait for the nx warehouse sale as they said they might have it twice a yr.

simmons better as it is pocketed coils so it really is Do not disturb sleep. unless u want a very very plush bed which is sealy.but not do not disturb liao.juz watch tiz overseas show recently and pocketed coils are rated the best, followed by the coils like sealy.

haha..mi n fh already did all the research on the 2 brands as we only look as tiz two. practically, every wkend, we will go look at beds!!!

sealy always say the 4 seasons use their bed, but...Simmons has 80% of the hotels in Sin using theirs. look at their website for the list. but overall, i thk both brands are gd juz that it juz depends on ur pref. we had a big headache settling on which brand.

oh ya, never go to the Simmons at paragon. the sales staff really sucks big time there. we even wrote an official complaint against her there. and we never ever did it to any sales staff bef!

It's stated that only can invite 20 guests including bride &amp; bridegroom and 2 witnesses. Anyone noe what if I have more than 20 guests? Will they strictly only can allow 20 person into the room? I heard there's a security officer checking...... is it true?

Finally bought all my stuff..... rings, shoes, dress, makeup and hairdo appt......
looking forward to that day..... btw, my ROM is on 20 May 2005.

hi pierced,

share leh, share leh, wat happened at simmons?
FH is saying get fr robinson, but we will wait till then to see if have discount not.

mmm...okay, so perhaps i shall look at simmon as well...you got those bedframe type is it, not those like hotel below got another bed-look alike?

yday night just finished my invites, but yet to test print ah....i'm really late.

hi pisces27, heard from my colleagues tat ROM centre did nt check hers (her is abt end Aug 2004) wen her guest is more than 20 pax. but nt if everyone is so "heng" thus me last min. change to hold my solemnisation outside lor...u out by how many pax?

wow, so many msg on bed...so interesting. o...btw, me got the loan letter from HDB liao and undertstand is tat the collection of keys will be soon after loan letter received....so excited...

morning...

pisces27, i think so, they only allow 20 pple into the room.. muine ROM is on 18th...

Ryes,u arenn't late lah.. i jus abt to distribute. some of my friends i will only meet them in may, so by the time my invitation card reach them, will b quite late too... u design ur own invites too??

Diana, yup... think u can expect ur keys within 3 wks after ur loan letter... i already went down for key collection but ask for deferment instead...

pierced, is it? 80% of hotels use Simmons eh? cool.. i din notice that.. hahahha

gals,
I also wering contact lens....keeping my nails long now....hope can cope with it....hee hee

Simmons is gd...but too exp liao.......

pisces27, me same date as u...not most things not yet prepared.

hi pisces, i think your date 20 may is a very hot day and may have problem for ROm to close one eye leh to let more than 20 pp enter the room...

hey diana, excited har!!! I'm now stuck with renovation, havent submit my defect form and my colleague told me HDB till now not yet repair the defect when she had submitted 1 week after they got the keys!!!

I dun dare take risk, am keeping my thumb and index fingers short...the rest long long lor.

3 wks...after we submit the form to HDB huh..wow tat is fast....the deadline given to us is 5th May so tat mean i can get the keys by end may lor....

Ryes, oh coz the staff there very bo chup lei...when we went in, she gave us the 'cant be bothered' face, den ask us when we intend to have our bed delivered. so at that time, we juz fixed it by dec since our AD is den. she said 'oh, in that case, i dun need to tell u abt the promo we r havin now.'??!!
we tot her job is to sell us the bed and to persuade us to buy it earlier. den she juz left us to browse alone and went off to tok to her other colleague. never even tell us abt the sales stuff or educate us abt the beds. felt so unwelcomed in the shop.
anyway, since u not getting it so early, itz always worth while to go ard and check out the prices since diff dept stores sell diff range and they usually have lots of promos. juz look in the papers. =)
yup i got the bedframe, not the divan. divan would cost much more, even more ex than the mattress. i thk the bedframes look nice too. if u get teh divan, u need to buy the skirting to cover it up. hee...i lazy to change lor.

wow diana, so fast hor...so excited for u...

blurblur, yep, at first we were oso sold on the 4 seasons using the sealys bed, den we surfed the simmons website and realised most hotels using their brand.

hee...u gals so cute, keeping the thumb and index shorter. but anyway, i now looking at mi nails and wondering how fast can they grow coz i cut it the other time for playing golf now so short!

oh any of u know if guys can juz wear long linen casual shirt tucked out and drawstring pants??
i intend to wear a pair of slippers too with a big flower. dunno if it is approp for ROM? there is supposed to be dress code rite?

Diana, yup,t hink u can prepare to get the keys soon lor..

pierced, my nails are in fact quite long now... wow, u going for beach or garden theme is it? quite cool leh.. mayb u can call up ROM to ask. think should have dress code..

hey pierced,

wah sey what an attitude leh, did the mgt come back to you?

I want to get divan set, czo bedframe har, the wood wait got creeking sound leh, i dun like...Yeah lor, put skirting cover the bottom...

pierced,
shld be no prob....cos ur solemenisation r outside ROM bldg.

or maybe u can have a beach theme wearing bikini for solemenisation......kekeke

Hi thanks to Diana, Blurblur and Ryes for your reply and information...... I think I will just try to keep to 20 pax as if hav to shift to another place, I need to go look for a place and maybe too rush....

20 may is a popular date lor...actually intially we also wan tat date too coz it is my FH b'day...but then my mum chose 9th May lor...so..change of plan....

btw, gals, r u all still buying small gift for ur FH? Me tot of buy the graduation bear (forever frend series) since he is graduation from his course soon too...

hi ryes,

the mattress cost us ard $3000+. we got it from robinson and the model is burlington. our deal was quite gd... esp it was under the old robinson mgt...

we're thinking of getting the boxspring for the mattress as it can support the latter better... esp if its king size. could get the bed frame free but may not do so depending on house decor.

we did hv a full experience with sealy's bed during an overnight stay at four seasons. its absolutely comfortable. however, i agree with pierced22 on bed selection... its impt u choose one that u really like and invest in it... cos its going to be your body and mind 'charger' for the next 5-10 years. u won't want to save on something like that.

hi pisces27,

yes, there is a security officer standing in front of the entrance on the ground floor. she (i remembered its an indian lady) will actually count the number of guests as you walk in. what i suggest is that u tell her its time for your ROM and let your guests walk up first... then u guys be the last... if it exceeds, u guys would have secured the guests in going up as the 'extra' people will be the couple now... then speak to her nicely and i believe she will let the extras thru...

hi pierced22,

didn't know u got so many 'ROM planners' deciding on your venue... somemore already tell u to wear bikini... haha.... i'll also call Straits Times, New Paper and CNA to come film it.... keke..

for those who are keen to get a mattress soon, do wait for the GSS... its ard the corner. i'm sure many retailers will then by vying for your $$$ at a disc... fyi, robinsons (under the new mgt) will now offer notable discounts only during big events... which i believe GSS is one of them...

Hi jimmy,

thanks for your reply. Yeah, Fh would like to get his mattress from robinson too. Great, shall wait for the GSS then see how is it.

What is the boxspring for the mattress? is it the divan set below the bed that one?

I dun want bedframe as well...

wah.. today seems quiet leh...

sgwestie, wah.. the mattress ex right? but like wat u say, it's impt for get a good bed cos we will b spending at least 8-10 hrs a day...

hi ryes

a box spring is a cloth-covered frame containing rows of coil springs. it is used to support the mattress and enhance its lifespan. it is usually recommended for king size bed as it is heavy. for sealy's king size bed, the box spring comes in 2 units to support a bed.

asthetic wise, it also looks better and one can have a higher bed. similiar to what hotels are having...

hi blur blur,

its ex, but we find it worth it as you'll want a refreshed body to work the next day... and to bring the ham home as well...

Diana, ya.. i think so too... cos next wk will be MAY already!! n our big day finally coming soon!!!

sgwestie, i totally agree wif wat u say!

thanks jimmy for sharing. so your mattress alone cost $3K + right?

Then you got bedframe or divan set or just lay on the floor?

ha ha...ya blur, how times passes us by hor....hopefully all of us will still come into this thread after our big day to keep each other update hor...coz...it was so nice miting all of u here and sharing everyting lor...

blur...my next blk neighbour...may keep in touch hor..

diana, sure keep in touch.. i saw another gal in the thread who will b my future neighbour too, i mean same floor n blk as me.. so u gettting gift for ur FH eh? me too.. but dun dare to write here cos he sometimes do peep into SB.. i wan give him a surprise. hee hee hee