(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

ok diana..got wad u mean.

My solemnisation wil be @ The Warrens(near CCK MART) The condo belongs to my FH's Uncle. i wanted to hold it @ hotel poolside but all the package v expensive leh. end up i chose to hold it @ d func rm as its FOC!! heehee
got restrictions lah...the timing n no of guests cannot exceeds 30.

Thanks moonlight for ur mail! u look very pretty, i like ur blue dress esp. realy nice!

Averyl, txs for ur mail too. i really like ur website. done up really nicely. u look great too in the pics. very young oso hor.
i tot of signing it on 05 may as well. haha...but in the end, had to settle for a weekend as mi mum wants some close relatives to be there too.

ginny, i thk u can oso rent from shops in chinatown. heard fr another bride that she rented it there and itz much cheaper than what HOE is charging.

hi gals, seem dat i missed out on alot of things over the weekend... How's everybody's preparation now??

went to pick up my rings last thur but they forget to ask us the engraving for the rings, so gotta send the rings back to their factory to engrave. arrg... they still dare to call me juz now to ask mi the words to be engraved when i told them clearly last thur.

collected my ringpillow finally on friday...its so cute, the ppl charged mi oni $66.. hehe..discount of $4. also met the photographer, really like her works especially the coffee table style album but its not so suitable for rom and cost $500++, i guess i'll haf it for my customary.

most of my rom things are settled already... shoes & accessories haf been bought over the weekend... also went food-tasting at the restaurant.. tink i shall make booking in about 2 weeks time.

yoz blueberi,

so good, u can get your rings already. I am still waiting to try out the size, duno when will be ready. I think my rings will only be collected 1 week before ROM...

Hi Averyl...mind sending ur website?
My email add is [email protected]

Hi Joyce,
Welcome ger!
I'm getting my ROM package throw in (inclusive of a dress rental, make-up & flower on actual day) by my BS....
Juz went to select my ROM dress last week....going to fit again 2 weeks before actual ROM ;)

GK

haloz gals!

read abt blueberi's encounter wif the engraving of her rings. U mean engraving is not done at the shop itself but at the factory? Mi fiance mentioned dat when he engraved wordings on the engagement ring, the staff (from Goldheart) did it on the spot leh. So i tot it will b the same for wedding bands. Does dat mean the quality of engraving at the shop itself will be poorer? ;p
Hvnt collected mi rings yet though...heh..can't wait!

pierced...thnx 4 the reassurance 4 the dress i've chosen!

Hows ur prep coming along? >.<

hi deardear
U got mail!

moonlight, i guess it depends on the jewellery shop itself, some do on the spot &amp; some at their factory. For cupid jewels, its done at their factory. I hope everything turns out well.. I'm going down to collect the rings later tis evening...

so now juz pending the fitting for my dress, actually i wanted to drop by jess last thur but changed my mind coz i nv call beforehand &amp; also scare the dress is not ready...

tink i'll be going for haircut, manicure &amp; pedicure only end of the month, now still abit early leh..

hey shimaro,

i'm checking out hand bouquets already. so far spellbound offers rom bouquet at $80. Tot if I am not getting any rom package from bridal shops by May, then I will get my bouquet from them.

Hey blueberi, same here, need a haircut soon and colour too. For those holding solemnisation outside rom, when are u gg dwn to collect ur cert?

shimaro, i'm getting a hand bouquet too. Any fav flowers?? I hv a cousin who is a florist n i'm getting lilies for myself as my hand bouquet on my ROM.

moonlight..yes the staff did the engraving @ the shop when u r abt to collect the rings. Mine was engraved wif crooked words. was soo upset that they gotto send back to factory to remove the wordings. shld be getting them this wk. Guess most of us b getting our rings v soon.

Thanks pierce, i heard abt HOE too from other threads n just checked out d website. It cost fr $268 for rentals..quite expensive hor?

hey ginny,

your cousin owns a shop? Would we get good discounts if we get our hand bouquet from her? keke.

now all of you are talking abt rings, make me very anxious to see my rings...

rainne...i can ask her for some pics to show all of u 1st n i try to get discounts from her. I'm not sure if she has a shop...I be going down to ROM on either 16 or 17 May to collect my certs..heard from my male colleague who just ROM on 30/3 that need to swore upon getting the certs.

hi ginny,

the dates given to me is 17 or 18th May. Yap yap, you need to say oath before getting ur certs, that's why both of you must be present on the same day lor.

Gee, Fh offered to pay for the hand bouquet. *wink*

rainne..heard fr d lady boss of BS leh..she mentioned FH must pay 4 d hand bouquet. hv any gals heard anything like this b 4??

thnx bluberi &amp; ginny 4 the info. after hearing abt stories abt the engraving, its giving mi jitters coz tink goldheart order their rings from Japan &amp; shipment usu takes abt 2 mths. So not sure if *touch wood* engraving is done unsatisfactorily, how long more do i gona wait..

wah! still need 2 say oath when collecting cert? keke...so fun! hah! ;p i'll b collecting mi cert 3 days be4 mi rom ie. 5 May

shimaro..u signed up wif a BS oredi? they didnt throw in a free hand bouquet f.o.c? mine did but i'm exchanging it 4 a wrist corsage instead.

harlow moonlight and queenie,

yeah, u need to take oath or swore(they are the same meaning aren't they???) before you collect ur cert one. As to say what oath I duno leh. Myabe say oath like u confirm the details are correct such as u are single blah blah...wait till whoever goes to collect cert then tell us k??

queenie..guess its a must thing nowadays whether u r having ur solemnization inside d ROM or outside. In d past, they v cock-up on those actual ROM day n end up many couples were delayed cos printings got errors.
Therefore my solemnizer asked me to check thoroughly the details on the certs. He enountered once where the couple din chk carefully n end up amend on the original cert v ugly lor.

hi Christine..u got mail! ^.^

ginny...oh dear...like dat muz realli open eyes big big when collecting the cert! keke....sighz...work had been such a dread! &amp; did u gals realise?! Apr got no holiday at all! sobz...counting down to May...hees

I see...I see...
So basically,u swear details r correct &amp; tt ur names r there &amp; not someone else's lah.Thx!
Salah printing then jia lat if only realize on ROM day.

Also hor,make sure ur JP can pronouce "comfort" properly caz my friend's JP pronouced comfort like come f**k.Ang moh JP some more.Terrible.

haha..ya hopefully mine wont b so bad as to pronouce wrongly. queenie, when's ur rom date??

moonlight, yah better make sure all of us chk carefully when collecting d certs. whos d 1st to get ROM huh??

hi pierced
thanks for your compliments!! but 05-05-05 is only 2 days after my last paper... gosh. i'll look very very haggard!!

hi GK gal, dear dear, Christine
you've got mail

hey dear dear...
we rom-ing on 05-05-05 too!!!

for me, i have rom package thrown into the bridal package... gown,bouquet plus makeup..but that time i thought we not rom-ing, so went for trial make up liao..sigh... so probably gotta do makeup by myself

wow..this thread is really hot and happening. Just few hrs nv check so many msg. ok gals, me got my shoes and wedding band (from Citi Gem) liao. Balance me still hv to get my hand bouquet, mani/pedi, booking of my venue (which only open for booking on 08/04) and other beautifying (myself) stuff.

ya, heard before that FH shld buy the bouquet but nt sure why lah, perhap same meaning like on the AD, the bouquet is also given to the bride by the groom when he go fetch her lor. And somemore, we bride to be might look "ke lian" if we hv to buy ourself. So anyway just follow lor.

Rainne, where is Spellbound and does it hv a website? Me hv went down to Secret Garden over the wkend, flower are fresh and staff are friendly and helpful. But as the flower me want is seasonal, so they ask me to go down 2 wks before my ROM then they can confirm if they hv wat i wan. The flower me looking at is hydrangea or peony, the price me was quoted for hydrangea is $120.

hey diana! Cool, we are looking at the sameflowers too. I want blue hydrangea tot we have to bring something blue on our wedding day. ; p

As hydrangea is seasonal flower, very expensive, but spellbound still quoted me at $80. I am asking for calla lillies with hydrangea. they have a website. I want to go spellbound to see too. They also said 2 weeks for order.http://www.spellbounds.com/ but nothing much.

this is what she told me :
Blue hydrangea should be available in May..though the colour may be of
variationsof blue...ie darker blue than the lighter tone, and vice versa.
However, I cannot guarantee the availablility of it, hence usually I would
request that you be prepared if we use some other alternatives.

There is no additional cost to the hand bouquet. I will still charge $80 per
bouquet. But please note that hydrangeas are very fragile, so if you are
collecting the bouquet the night before or need to use it for a whole day,

You went to secret garden then do what? See what? the price of $120 is just purely hydrangea??

moonlight,
dun be cheated by goldheart "black sheep"....it take only 6 wks to import from Japan. not 2 mth.
As I went to one of the branch, the person told me that faster choose, then 3 mth if no sizes....then I went to another branch, they said if no sizes need only 6 wks. which branch did u go? my BS din show in hand bonquet FOC leh....anyways I think is better to get one bonquet cos my FH din give me flowers all these while dating. y do u wan to change wrist corsage?

Rainne,
I sourcing too....the amount ard $70. tulips or roses....quite exp. wanna to find those $50 ones.
Btw my FH will pay for it too...hee...hee
I will be going to ROM on 16 may afternoon to verify documents....mine is indoor.

Ginny,
no confirm rules...where is cousin florist shop?
ask for disc for us.

Moonlight: thks! i've received ur lovely pics.. which one do u choose blue or white? ;)

Andrei: oh! we rom on e same day ;)will u be gg down to ROM centre on 28 or 29Apr to submit ur docs? i'll b gg on 29Apr. ;)

can anyone show mi pics of blue hydrangea?

i need to do my mani on 4/5/05 as my rom is on 050505.

hi gals, finally collected my rings yesterday evening... luckily the rings were engraved nicely... i had them engraved wif both FH &amp; my name + our rom date... i was afraid in the first place dat there wun be enough space...

hey dear dear
dunno when we going down... must go down 2gether? cos that period still having exams... sigh... we haven't file for rom yet... will do so within theese 2 days...and btw i'm averyl

hi blueri
glad that your rings turn out nicely. for us... we engraved the words "sweethearts beyond eternity" on both... cos limited to 25 letters only... keke

hi rainne,

me tot hv to order early mah so go down to see lor. me did nt ask if the quote of $120 is purely hydrangea or mixing wif other flowers lor. but then hor, me saw the light blue one beri nice. Ya, secret garden told me that hydrangea is nt lasting too.

dear dear, u can logged into www.secretgarden.com.sg website to take a look at their hand bouquet for wedding there is a boutquet for hydrangea too.

hi shimaro...soo desuka...aniway i went shopping for the rings rather early so its okies la...n mi fiance juz rec'd a call 2 say our rings r ready! yeah...will b gng down 2 collect over this wkend
in the end, where did u get ur wedding bands fr?

hmm...m now tinking wat 2 engrave on the bands ler..mi fiance oredi hv our nicks engraved on the engagement ring...so tinking of hving smth different 4 the bands... Ani suggestions?

deardear...i chose the blue one. hees...prefer simplicity ^.^

ginny...looks like deardear &amp; averyl will be among the 1st 2 go down rom 2 get their certs.
hey gers, do enlighten us on wat 2 look out 4 when collecting our certs...kekek....thnx in advance! >.<

rainne, i had 22 letters engraved inclusive of the space.. in fact still haf xtra space left.. tink bcoz mi n FH haf big fingers

shimaro...4got u also asked y i wana wrist corsages instead hees. I juz wana do away wif the hassle of hving to carry a hand bouquet thru'out the rom. Keep mi hands free 4 other things juz in case ^.^

moonlight,
got mine from goldheart too. wanted something pure...something blue...hee hee

gals,
wow u also engrave so wordings....we wanted to make it simple...only 6 characters together

Moonlight, no prob! u really look good in the dress la. no bluff!

averyl, wah...den u better recuperate for the 2 days...rest more for ur wedding day!

ginny, yup yup! HOE quite exp. thk u can get teh kua for like at least 100 plus fr the chinatown shops. i thk u pay more for HOE's adverts and nice boutique. hee...

toking about rings, mine collected very fast from Tiffany's. guess coz they already got the sizes. now in mi cupboard waiting to be worn. haha! mine juz engraved names and ROm date onli. guess that's very common hor.
i bought mi ring pillow recently when i went up to genting. they had tiz shop selling lots of lace stuff. but now figuring out how to tie the rings coz very weird no ribbon to tie one. and it comes with 2 mock rings tied to a dead bow. how to take out? dun tell mi muz cut??

mine will be either 3 or 4 may to submit docs. so still not sure which date to go mani?
moonlight, how how??

you all ah, talk abt rings, make my heart itchy itchy only lah, pinning day and night thinking when is my rings gonna be ready. hmpf.

I don't think I am getting ring pillow, broke liao....So probably just place in the box that fairy's inc are providing lor..

hello gals,

wow! msgs keep coming in so fast huh?? ;D

my rom venue is juz outside his hse, anyone kw whr can i get abt 20 chairs wif cover and a table? i'll do e deco myself.. kekee! ;)

oops! my wedding bands fr LH, juz saw some negatives comments abt them.. -_-

i'll keep my fingers crossed.

juz back from HDB, chey it is only our 2nd appt. lor. silly FH (hee me also lah) so blur and kan cheong saw letter only tot is collecting key. ha ha. then hor wen the lady tell us tat HDB will only wipe out our CPF wen we collect key we still blur blur ask "tot we are collecting 2day" ha ha ha...tink the lady muz be laughing loudly in her heart liao...wat a april fool joke manz...

Pierced...lucky u mention ur date of cert collection. Duno y i keep tinking i'm collecting 3 days before mi rom, which is 5 May..keke...oops...blur mi...mi oso collecting on 3 or 4..wats ur timing? I was given the morn to collect. sianz...can't change hor. Dont like to take morn half day off leh...prefer aftn off...like dat i rather take whole day off liaoz...hmm....can't save more leaves for honeymoon nez yr oredi. Been utilising mi leaves for the hdb appts &amp; now this. ;p
i oso duno when 2 go for mani leh...actualli tinking of gng on sat, 6 May. coz mi veri chor1 lor4 one...scare nails do mei mei liaoz then i break mi nails or scratch the nail polish off. U wana? aniwei...we juz make the appt for the mani/pedi a few days b4 we go can lioaz rite?
woah...ur wedding bands from Tiffany? exp anot?

hi queenie...
i'm actualli doing up the invites myself...erm..or shld i say mi fiance. hees...we're supposed 2 do 2gether la...but he bao most of the thins. We plan to write the invitee's as well as our names &amp; rom date on an ince-cream stick &amp; place it on a test tube filled wif blue sand. Managed to find a supplier for cheap test tubes at onli 50cents each. *phew* Artfren selling for $1+. Collecting the test tubes tis fri...

wow moonlight,
that's so cool &amp; creative.So where u got the ice cream sticks?At least this way,ppl will surely remember &amp; prob not s'thing they will toss into the bin so quickly.

wah moonlight, good lobang leh, at 50 cents only. nearly bought test tubes at 70 cents leh.

I'm intending to print invitation cards on my own lor, use own printer, smthing simple will do. no money liao leh...