(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

hi moonlight
thanks for your compliments...but you're the first one to say i'm pretty... haha

hi Ginny, blur blur, Diana and Pierced22...
oh.. i've a thread for our wedding website.. if you wanna take a look, just leave behind your email..i'll mail it to you..

and to Ginnu and Shimaro.. your ROM date is 20th May,2005... that's one day after my Birthday!!!

hi moonlight
thanks for your compliments...but you're the first one to say i'm pretty... haha

hi Ginny, blur blur, Diana and Pierced22...
oh.. i've a thread for our wedding website.. if you wanna take a look, just leave behind your email..i'll mail it to you..

and to Ginnu and Shimaro.. your ROM date is 20th May,2005... that's one day after my Birthday!!!

hey gals!
yeah...finalli picked mi rom dress 2day *hees* its juz a plain simple blue dress...hopefully it dont turn out too dull in fotos...esp mi rom is in the evening from 5-8pm. hehe...lemmi noe if u gals interested 2 take a look at mi pics & feel free 2 comment ^.^

btw, may i ask u gals wat colour r ur rom dresses?
blur...i noe ur answer liaoz though...kekeke...

Hi gals, me ROM in may 05 too. same date as ginny and shimaro.
actually, i had been in tis thread but was busy wi work, so seldom come it.Glad that the thread is so active and with so many useful info.

averyl: can share with me your weddign website 2 thks.

moonlight: me interested to see ur ROM dress, dun mind sharing your pics? [email protected]

btw, is there any gals here takign up BS Rom package? Have you gone down to choose ur gown?When would be a gd time to choose? thks in advance.gdnite

hi moonlight,

me like to see ur pics u, my email is [email protected] mine dress is a tube dress 3/4 length in foral pastel colour.

hi little twinstar, my whitelink package got the ROM teadress too. But me find it too long and glamourous so me ask them to put to my AD for my sister to wear lor. I tink u can go to chose ur gown any time now just be sure to make appt wif the BS first.

Hi gals..me just came hm after my class.

Averyl, my email addr - [email protected]

Little twinstar...we r getting rom on the same date leh. The date was chose by my FH cos he wanted a meaningful date. But hor it b very shiong...cos Jan is CNY, Feb is Vday, April (both of our bdae + his mum + my dad).....looks like we b broke after we get bonus!! haha!!
I ve signed up my bridal package which includes my ROM dress. B going down this wkend to choose. hv u signed up any BS??

Moonlight00...i think i will chose ivory or champage color cos White too common leh. wad u think?? By the way, my ring pillow is of ivory color too..i bought the cloth from SPOTLIGHT last wk n end up my future mother in-law will b sewing it for me.

Blur...did u ask me abt that PINC shop @ nthpt??

Hey ladies,
got my 1st HDB appt tmw.The wait wasnt tt long aft all.Aft 1 more appt w 1 of my IDs can confirm which ID wanna choose.It's a tough fight.Hope we make the right decision.

U ladies r super active here,tough to catch up.Many new members,cool.

Shimaro,i'm having an outdoor solemnization ceremony. managed to engage a grassroot leader. think the ROM is v packed alrdy for that date. My FH went down to ROM to enquire if we could still go there but the person in-charge suggested by engaging their own pple to do it for us...but hor must pay $128.

Anyway, mine will b held @ a function room inside a relative's condo. more convenience for those elders as buffet will b served after the ceremony. we dun hv to rush here n there...in case my make up melts. haha!!

hi Diana, Ginny and Littletwinstar,
you've got mail!!
hey diana, i'm a whitelink bride too!!! just now went to see the draft lay out of my album... with artwork... will be getting our album in 3 weeks!!!
how's everyone? i'm so stressed!!! invitation cards not settled, MC not found, guest list not compiled and exams!!!!!!! and wedding is only 60+ more days away... help!!!!

Gd morning gal

Averyl: thks for sharing your wedding website.it very nicely done.n u n ur FH look very nice together, not forgetting that both of you are so young.

Diana:thks for ur advice..maybe will called them tis few day to choose.Cos i tink my BS very few choices of ROm gowns and it seems most of them are the long kind which I find too "glam" oso.hehe..

Ginny : my BS is santiago@ bugis.wat abe urs?

wah, u girls are sure so active now. I'm busy looking for BS now, last minute work lah, coz if I were to take up MTM, I have to settle my BS by May latest, so am shopping for BS for the weekends for this whole month.

And IF I do decide the BS this mth, then I will try to ask if they can provide a rom dress as well. Great har. Hey sure envy u girls who are getting tube dress as your rom dress leh.

moonlight,
mine is white colour from BS....is quite "gua zhang"...but my FH n mum think is better cos is an important date in our lifetime. can share with me your ROM dress?

littletwinstar,
I think u shld go n choose now....if cant find anything u like ...still can source outside.

Averyl,
dun be so stress...relax abit..... everything will go smoothly.....be a happy bride.

moonlight, can share wif me? [email protected]

averyl, saw ur website too... so sweet and nice.. cool cool.. dun b stress, still got 1.5 months to go.... i agree wif the rest tt u look so young.. envious...

twinstar, my best friend getting married this sunday and she got her package from santiago tooo...

rainne, u can request a tube dress for ur rom too..

hi little twinstar, diana & shimaro
u got mail ^.^

ginny..oohh...i tink ivory is a nice colour!

little twinstar, mi sentiments exactly on the limited range of rom dresses...hees...coz mi with Z-Wedding. related to santiago ;p quite disappointed initialli but nvm la...its their WGs which i fell in luv wif...so rom dress is juz smth extra they throw in...may as well...

shimaro...yah...tink ROM is much more impt than customary...coz rom is more of a personal impt event while customary is juz making a formal announcement 2 everyone...hees...dats y we spent quite abit on our rom...wanting it 2 b more special....how i wish i can do away wif the customary dinner though... >.<

diana &amp; shimaro
mi mail 2 u gals bounce back leh..
diana..i resent mi pics 2 another email addy u posted in the previous msgs...lemmi now if u rec'd it yah?

shimaro..ur email is yahoo.com.sg? or yahoo.com only?

blur...u got mail! ^.^

eh ask u girls ah,
have both side of your family met up formally for a makan before your ROM?

FH is planning for this mth and needs to find a good restaurant for makan. any suggestions?

hi rainne
yep...mi &amp; fiance's families juz met up for lunch on Good Friday. &amp; we went Spring Court at Chinatown ...the food is not bad. We had chinese alacart food but i oso heard the tim sum there is not bad

hi moonlight me got received ur pics in my hotmail...u look young and look abit like the Channel U actress....Chen Yu Yun leh...beri pretty....o, blue is my favourite colour so anyting in blue is nice lor...envy u and blur so slim can fit in all gown...me chiam...got tummy and somemore short short so got to be extra careful in choosing my gown.

Averyl, strange nv receive ur mail leh...mayb u can u resend to my office mail [email protected] thks. so u r a whitelink bride too and u hv taken ur photo liao...so fast...and agreed with shimaro tat u hv to relax lah....muz remember, when a boat reach the head of a bridge it will naturally go straight ok...

moonlight,
issit? I received it. Thanks. u look young n sweet. my dress front similar with your 1st white dress.

Rainne,
mine is not tube dress. No makan ,jus tat my FMIL came to pay a visit at my home and let my mum know offically abt our ROM.

Diana,
me too....my build quite big.

Averyl.
your website is very well done! very envy how your fiance propose to u
so romantic.

diana...thnx 4 ur compliment

mi no slim...veri ba4 ba4...esp mi arms...still trying mi best 2 slim down but to no avail *wail*

mi oso veri short..shorter than mi fiance by 30cm leh...;p...wear super high heels oso no help

shimaro...thnx.
actualli mi fiance prefer the white dress much more but u can see dat mi quite short so the dress is pretty long &amp; mi BS say can't alter the length much so i decided 2 give it a miss.
Dun wana trip &amp; fall on mi rom &amp; b centre of attraction in this manner...keke...esp i still gona climb up &amp; down some stairs ;p

hi little twinstar,blur blur and shimaro
thanks for your compliments

hi shimaro,
i sure hope things will run smoothly..

hi Diana, you've got mail
hey you like blue too?? haha.. me too!!! and our theme colour for the wedding is blue..even my wedding gown has traces of blue.. keke.. yah..so fast taken photo cos customary in June mah..

moonlight, saw ur phtoos.. very sweet n nice.. u look great.. i oso hope to do without the customary.. so ma fan..

Need advise. Me tinking of changing my solemnisation to outside instead of in ROM centre. Will i still be able to get a JP? Where can i get info on the JP? Any recommendation? Thks in advance.

diana, still able to i guess.. try to get David loh, he's very popular, but u should b able to book him now if ur ROM is a wkday.. think u can get the list from the ROM website..

hi diana
I also book david as mi JP

u shld try calling david loh asap.
He's with Tampines GRC...hp is 97425005. hees...i also read abt him in other threads on JP &amp; got his no from those treads too..hes' quite a farnie guy...bum into him at one of mi fren's wedding after i book him keke....wat a coincidence

wish u luck! hope u get him ^.^ else there r also other JPs recommended in the ROM &amp; Solemisation Forum like Chris Chen etc

averyl, mi email [email protected]
moonlight send mi ur pic too okie?

yupyup , i thk Bs mostly provide long dresses instead of short ones. mine still TBC so hafta wait and hope for the best if not gotta fork out $$ againto buy another dress

diana, i thk there should be other JPs avail. mine oso bk on short notice. got mi contact fr a fren who used him. luckily he was available.

Averyl...just saw your website. Its sooo romantic. so envious!!

Shimano..my BS is @ Yishun cos i dun wanna travel too far to get all things done as i'm quite tied up wif work n studies. N furthermore i'm staying in Yishun so its rather convenient for me. So when u choosing your ROM dress?

moonlight...u oso like ivory color?? heard from others that EMPIRE got v nice ROM dress. I was thinkin to get it if i really cant find anythin i like @ my BS. hey, i oso wanna take a look @ ur photos..can send to me??

By the way, is it necessary for both families to meet up before the ROM?? My FH n me didnt thot of meeting up leh...any advice?

Pierced &amp; ginny...u got mail

blur..thnx 4 ur compliment ^.^ yalor...tinking of instead of throwing a dinner banquet, save up the $$ for longer honeymoon...but mi fiance's parents quite traditional, so i guess its outta qn ;p

ginny...yep...i like ivory colour! &amp; i tink its a nice colour 4 a rom dress. didnt realli manage 2 find smth i like @ my BS but dont wana spend more $$ so settle 4 a plain simple blue dress ;p

actualli mi parents didnt tink its nec 2 meet up b4 our rom. they tink its alrite 2 see mi fiance's family 4 the 1st time during our rom. But its mi fiance's mum who wanted 2 meet up so mi finace juz organise lo. She felt dat she shld meet mi parents since mi &amp; fiance hv been 2gether 4 quite sometime liaoz...plus she's quite a sociable &amp; bubbly woman...hehe....so she suggested the meet-up.
Dont tink dats any strict guideline as to the necessity 2 meet up. Depends on u guys
How abt asking ur parents 4 their opinion? If they feel its gd 2 meet up then u guys organise 4 them lor *hees*

hi piereced22,
you've got mail!!

hi Ginny
thanks for your compliments...

now really headache... we're intending to rom on 8th May,2005... but don't want a grand affair, cos our customary and church wedding on 5th june,05... but we don't want to sign papers at home,that kinda thing.. so any suggestions? thanks a lot!!

Thx Diana!

Anywayz,went for my 1st HDB appt.Wow!So many papers to sign &amp; info to digest esp fr the attorney as I'm taking a bank loan.Getting me keys nx mth already.Yipee!

averyl, u may held the ceremony @ a restaurant. I went to check ard n many restaurants can let u use their VIP rooms to hv your solemnization.

Queenie &amp; Diana...me so envy u already got ur ideal flat. me now still searching high n low. My FH wants to stay near his parents n HDB nvr launch anymore walk in for that area. We did try to look for resale but its v expensive lor. some owners still quote above valuation n i hv to fork out cash.

hey Ginny
thanks!! we got our flat too.. got our keys on V-day this year..keke... but since we're going to US for 2 years..we'll rent it out to earn some reno fees..keke...

ginny,
no need to envy.Bfe u knw it,it'll be ur turn already.
Which area r ur PIL staying?I bought resale &amp; took a bank loan,less cash outlay compared to taking HDB loan.

quennie, we intend to get our flat in Bt Panjang. But those that i went to c r just mature flats therefore the owners asking v high price. My FH suggest we look ard again after our ROM so as we can concentrate in getting all the things done for the day.

was quite upset when i tried to collect my wedding bands last wk. me bought the bands @ lee hwa but the guy did a bad engraving on mine. So it was sent back to factory for removing. so sad n disappointed!!

Averyl, just let my FH look @ ur website. He liked it too. By the way, u r indeed young to settle down as thesedays everyone is getting married v late. so u going to US after ur AD?

Anyone knows wad is Ampoule?

Hi Every one..

Me also ROM in May 05. Going to get my keys next wednesday. But haven sign up any bridal package yet. Went to bridal elegance to check out their ROM package only $388 (includes gown, makeup and hairdo, flowers and photoshoot with 72 photo)

any one have any comment on Bridal Elegance>?

Hi Ginny,

Ampoule is a solution before makeup. It serve as purpose to protect your face and make your makeup last and look nicer.

wow averyl, u are indeed beri young and beautiful....and I must really say tat u and ur FH are really fated to be together. And watmore is tat he is really "you xin" and romantic. Believe u will be like those prince and princess...live happily ever after...

moonlight, thks, me call Mr David Loh too and heng manz...he is available so half of the impt things are settled. But alas, nw so headache wif the venue. U see, the whole reason to hold my solemnisation outdoor are () our guest list have exceeded wat ROM centre allowed and think it is silly to restrict ourself like tat and then start nt inviting some people who we really wanted to. (2) my intention and wish is to involve my little baby Cola (my darling shih tsu) in my wedding coz since she cant be gng to the AD lor. So my plan is to let her be my "ring holder/bearer" on tat day. Little info. on her, she is gng to 8 yrs this yr and she is sickly due to her small size thus on lifetime medication. And remember that my vet told me before that normal healthly shih tsu lifespan is upto 16 yrs but for her it will only be half. Thus tat why me wanted to involve her so tat she will be in my memory for the rest of my life (sound stupid and silly rite). But nw, the stupid management of Compass Height (venue of my solemnisation, a good frenz hse) say no dogs (nt even if she is the ring holder/bearer) allow in the function room and we are nt even allowed to hold it at poolside reason being is tat they do not want the rest of the resident to "you yang xue yang". So nw me still cracking my head to resolve the problem. Either me search for another venue or me smuggle her in....

oh btw, do we hv to "pay" the JP? And is it that we go online to make amendments to our solemnisation details after the JP sign the consent form?

Ginny, dun envy, believe tat u will find ur perfect dream hm soon....and also cheer up, dun get upset over the engravement on the ring, the new one will be just perfect for u...Ampoule? is it wat the makeup artist will ask u to use before putting makeup for u? If so, wat i noe (after spending so much $ wif beauty salon) this is a lotion which is say to protect ur skin so tat even u got sensitive skin, the make up wont triggler a outbreak or rashes.

o..queenie, u taking loan from the Bank...me and my FH will take from the HDB coz although the interest rate might be higher but at least it is the same (predictable) thru out the 30 yrs so both of us will noe wat to expect...and it will be my turn on tues to sign all those many papers liao...

Diana,
i guess these places diallow pets due to reasons like if they bark &amp; disturb the peace or do their biz...anwyayz,i'm sure if u explain tt ur doggie is well trained &amp; it's her last wish.If all else fails,smuggle.

Diana
guess wat? I'm hving exactly the same headache too!! Mi rom venue also dont allow dogs &amp; i wld realli luv mi schnauzer 2 b at mi rom &amp; intended for her 2 b mi ring bearer too! Actualli mi fiance didnt want me to ask so dat we can feign ignorance n smuggle the dog in since the contract didnt mention no pets allowed ...hehe...but i didnt wan ani unpleasant exchanges on mi rom day itself &amp; i also guarantee 2 the venue owner dat mi dog will b in a bag &amp; looked after thruóut the ceremony. Sigh...but to no avail ;( I still duno wat 2 do....so can fully emphatise wif ur situation...

btw...for JP..tink the min 2 give in an angpow is $28 to cover his transport cost. But its up to u to give more or some pple may also choose 2 give the JP a gift 2 show their appreciation.

As for amendment to solemnisation details, I'm not too sure as i only e-filed after i got my JP consent form back. But i tink there will be a fee payable for amendment to the details though

hi Ginny
yupz.. estimated date for departure on july 14th. lucky..cos my graduation ceremony is between 7th to 14th July..keke...
don't need to be upset over your wedding bands. we got ours from lee hwa too..collected a few times.. first time. the sales person think there was enough space to engrave all words. in the end not enough. so gotta send back to polish and re engrave. then 2nd time.. we collected//when reach home... realised the letter "R" became "P"... anyway...luckily managed to collect in time for our photoshoot...

hi Diana...
woah..finally the mail got thru... keke
thanks for your compliments...
and hey..changes again to the signing of marriage cert... we're going to sign on 05-05-05!!! then get married on 05-06-05...keke./.

diana &amp; averyl..thanks!! i hope the bands b alrite for collection this wk. I heard hv to pay for ampoule @ most BS. is it necessary n true??

Mi went to choose my ROM dress yesterday..n guess wad, i liked d designs on 2 dresses(prefer embroidery on the front n V-cut @ the back). end up gotto MTM. I onli need to fork our $120 n get all those embriodery, color(ivory) n designs.so think quite worth it.

Does anyone noe where i can rent KUA for mothers n mother on-law? My BS dun rent out leh..actually its my MIL who wants it as i b wearing one on my AD.

Averyl, so hv u decided where to sign the papers??

Moonlight..saw ur pic n i dun think u looked fat. U looked v nice.

Diana, u holding ur solemnization @ a condo too??

moonlight,

so u r a animal lover too. ya, me also tell them tat we will be carry her thru out and wont let her on the carpet. but then was rejected coz they are worry tat it might set a precedent to the other resident. But me will tried to tok to them again coz like u me also dun wan to coz unpleasant exchanges on the impt day of my life. btw, thks for ur advise on the angpow for the JP.

hee hee, averyl, so paiseh make u send so many times. so u r nw like us, a MAY 2005 bride (for ROM).

Joyce, me getting my keys a day before u....on tues 5th April. Btw where is ur lovenest located. Mine is at AMK, got it from the balloting in 2004. And which date in May r u hving ur solemnisation?

ginny,

yes, me change my mind "last min" and heng me frenz agreed to help me rent the mutli purpose rm at her condo for my solemnisation. so which condo will u be holding ur solemnsation. And to ur qns on the ampoule, yes think every BS will charge and they will tell u tat this payment is for the make up artist. So since u r "putting ur look" on the make up artist's hand and ampoule is nt beri ex so me tink me will buy lor. but it is upto individual lor