(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

Hi gals ;>

Blur blur: feel so exciting for you ! ;>Ur FH so thoughtful !
lky_ysk (lky_ysk): Thanks .. now kinda checking if it dropped everytime going out.. almost permanently have to hold hand on the right side haha ;d

hmm heard from Goldheart that the wedding bands ppl dont discount cos not auspicious . their range okay.maybe can try the one next to Shaw center Orchard. Never been to Fairy INc though so unable to help

;>

iky, i m not getting keys until end of this year i think, by then, will have to renovate for abt 4 months, n guess it will b jus in time to move in after my customary..

rainne, my FH loves diamonds a lot.. but the fact tt he is a guy mah.. so cannot wear too big diamonds.. so he bought a diamond ring when we first started together.. he can tell me abt how to choose diamonds etc etc.. i bought him a tie clip wif a small small diamond for him..

queenie, dun worry, plenty of resale flat around.. take your good time to find a good one...

Jolene, congrats!!! u must b very excited.. can start planning your layout.. me n FH keep looking at home n deco books recently... no more female mag for me.. kekeke..

zodiacstar, wat abt u? got ur love nest already???

L_twinstar :- It's ok to use instalment for the rings! I use instalment for mine :P Actually it's good bec
1) Can better spread out your finances so that you have more money for other things like dresses etc. Furthermore it's int free - no additional cost to it. To part the large sum of $ at one go is rather painful
2) You can earn points for the c.card. That way, you can use the points to redeem something else in the future. Win-win situation!

Same for when renovating. I will use c.card whenever I can, to accumulate points. cash can't acc. points, and will earn less bank interest too (though a few cents only) :P

mbership cards from LH is applicable to wed bands, in case you are interested.

queenie :- my FH dont like to see diamonds on his rings. ALot of the shops we went to, eg Sookee have diamonds for guys, so also of design cannot take. Actually, you can just ask for a larger ring size of the lady's ring to use as guy's ring. As long as they have the ring size, no diff whether is guy design or gers. That way you have more choices.

jolene :- you got the bt gombak houses? i have friends who got hse there too. My FH live near there, so will pass by very often. Heard there's quite alot of shops opp the gombak mrt station. quite comprehensive neighourhood. Me and my FH have been looking at home n deco books too. Let's keep each other informed if we see any nice designs in the books we read.

zodiacstart : hehe...can still hold hands on the left. my FH and I still do when i wear the engagement ring. Better still, your FH can keep checking if the diamond is still around if he holds your left hand

blur_blur - oh.. then you got ample them to plan. Actually it's quite good timing. YOu can start keeping lookout for items you like. The usual time of sale for furniture is beginning and end of the year. So just a right time for you to renovate.

i got my wedding bands liao!
hahaha..really 1 load off us. hmmn..price abit steeper that wat we actually budgeted for.well.guess both FH & I got to forego some "luxury" to compensate.
me went to fairy inc to get it. the 2 gals were REALLY gd. thumbs up for them!
we din noe there were such thing called champagne gold n rose gold till we went to fairy inc. thot of getting plantium,as alot of gals here recommend mah but it is just way too high a price for us. so we got a champagne gold pair,the design is wat we wanted. n if after a yr or so, u wanted to change to either rose gold or white gold, can go bk to them. it free for the 1st time.frankly speaking, the wedding band is really a "love at 1st sight" for both of us.nw headache is our lovenest.
duno to get resale or new flats? as FH and I wanted an area in the west, but it seems beside JW, there are no more new flats leh..then to get resale,wat ting to consider huh? any comments?

Hey Rainne,
So wat are ur rings like?Initially,I feel wedding bands shd be plain(no stones,etc)so marriage wld be smooth but as I grew up,I realize plain rings doent equal to smooth marriage.So any ring as long u like it as u gonna wear it for a life time.Gd luck on getting plc u want!

blur blur,thx!Been looking ard for resale but unfortunately,many units cannot make it leh.Also,he already sold his present plc so gotta look really hard lor.Only saw 1 we like but ex.Sianz!

iky,the ring I like so girl lah,design very sweet type so too girl for any man.

Ladies,besides rings & new love nests.Hv u all gotten the dress,etc...

Hey little twinstar,if u r eligible for new flats then go for it.If I cld I wld but then I wont be marrying my FH already.Hahaha!JW has alot of new flats not even on offer as e older blks not completely occupied.Many many empty units.If buy resale,if u can find a unit u like & no need to do much reno then grab!Or else,if u like the flooring but rest of flat need reno,can still buy lor.But if u wanna do reno regardless then find a plc which is cheap.Makes sense to u?Btw,JW(JP-boon Lay mrt)is near air base so be prepared for noise pollution but u'll get use to it aft awhile.I got used to it,since I moved in w my FH 3yrs ago.

hi queenie30,

thks for ur advise. act out parents dun like the idea of us taking resale.they tink for us newly weds, take new flats better..duuno the rationale oso..but bcos west side really not mcuh new..so we are seriously considering resale, but more of the newer resale lor.(ard 5 yrs kind)

Hi Queenie,

I would want an eternity band leh as my wedding band, but scare long term wise, duno if the diamonds will drop out not leh. But it's really grand and nice lor...

Would have to check out the $ at fairy's inc to customise one. Outside sell very ex leh.

Hey little twinstar,I'm looking for resale tt juz turned 5yrs too.They still look alright comparing to those 8 yrs & above.In JW,new flats location not great unless u guys dun mind lah.If u can do WIS,tt wld be ideal for u I think lor.

Rainne,gd workmanship shdnt caz diamonds to drop unless u really do rough work while wearing it.Think we muz look aft it if it's gonna look aft itself,knw wat I mean?I wanna check out Fairy's Inc too.So much talk abt it.

Hi queenie,

yah, I'm gonna check out fairy's inc too right after my balloting exercise is finalised. Now super stressed liao lah....

Hello everybody,I am new here so hope everybody will guide me along so that I will not stress myself too much over the preparations.My FH and I hv juz selected our unit yesterday at Bedok.Any neighbours out there?We are now deciding on ROM date should be May or June.Any suggestions for venue?want outdoor ROM.

little twinstar/queenie30...
if u gals r looking @ newer resale flats, u can see those flats @ toh guan side, near Jurong East. thot of this area @ first but lucky..the balloting for Bukit Gombak came along.

HI Christina,

Congrats to u on getting your unit. So heng. I'm still waiting for my turn next Wed, duno will be as heng as all who have got their unti or not...

twinster, congrats.. finally get ur wedding band eh? must b very very nice n feeling excited right?

Christina, welcome...

rainne, dun worry , u sure able to get ur dream flat.. i will pray hard for u..

queenie, my sis seling his HDB maisonette. if u r interested, i can send u the photos.. dun worry, i aren't hse agent, jus tt my sis really selling hers off.. near mrt.. in admiralty though. floor area 141 sq metre. jus turn 5 yrs..

Thanx Rainne, I am sure you will be as lucky as me.I will be awaiting yr gd news here.But be prepared that you will be so excited that you canx sleep the nite b4.hehe

thanks blur and christina leh.

Last night, Fh buddies offer to drive us to see the flat and gave us their comments. It was so so windy and cold...Not bad leh. Now only problem is we have to wait and see what units are left for us..haiz....

Hey,blur blur thx for the offer,really sweet of ya but we r looking JW area.Every1 here talking abt flats & wedding rings.I also asked abt The Dress but no one responded.I thot of wearing pants!Wat u think?

Jolene,we considered tt area but somehow FH prefers JW & i'm originally from east side(pasir ris)hahaha!

Hey Rainne,so u north/south/west/east?Windy & cold?I've no clue.

Hey Rainne,
so u r fine with any area?Tt's gd so u'll hv more options tt way.Checked out the website,pretty much under construction leh.Thx anywayz!

blur blur:ya, feel excited after getting the rings. cos it means I am nearing the ROM soon. b4 tat, the feeling not so strong on ROM.after getting the rings, it seems it's nt a dream anymore.it 's going to happen soon.hehhe..

jolene: ya, FH and I oso tot of toh guna tat area, seems newer for a resale 1. n oso opp bukit batok MRT..nt too bad either..but my frenz who took toh guan reale say taht the flats at BB more $$ than the 1 at toh guan lor..

Queenie30: hmmn, i haven't got much idea on wat to wear on ROM, as i tied uo wi a bridal studio, so i m getting their ROM dress.maybe u try looking similar thread in the forum??tink i saw quite a few threads on ROm dress.

twinstar, me too, was very excited when we first got our rings too... actually now only 4 months away from our big day.. busying looking out for dresses.. most prob will b getting rom packages..

queenie, hmm.. if u feel comfortable wif the idea, then jus go ahead wearing the pants instead.. s for me, my FH wans me to wear off white gown (more like wedding gown)... i initially want to buy a simple long dress wil do, but he say want us to "stand out", morever we are doing it outdoor.. this means we have to spend more money.. stres.. btw, my sis's hse is sold already..

rainne, ya.. under construction i guess.. i can't find any info in the web.. thanks

The site got show some dresses on display leh, looks nice.

Blur, correct me if my understanding is wrong k. You see ah, if I would like to engage a MUA say Sandy for my ROM, then that means if I get a ROM package, I would have to forego the MUA provided right? Then not worth right? Is it like that?

rainne, hmmm.. sounds correct.. but har, i would only wan to have a rom package for the rental of my gown n FH suit... no need mua.. or do u tink i should engage the mua too? but i somehow dun really trust them leh..

hi little twinstar..
u r right...it's much more exp at BB as it's very near MRT while toh guan, u gotta walk a distance.

anyone know of a website which helps to calculate the auspicious dates for ROM/marriage? cos' I thot I've seen the webby address in here but forget to take it down.

blur >>then your makeup how?

Most of the rom package hor, includes rom dress, MUA + hairstyle and bouquet leh. Then if you only want gown and FH suit, then I think you can just rent the gown only dun take up the package.

rainne, hmm. makeup will take up those popular MUA lor.. but if got feedback on the BS makeup is good, then i dun mind taking s a package.. cos har, previously i went to a particular BS for family shoot, they make up until so "ugly".. tt's y i a bit scared.. once bitten twice shy..

I see, no wonder u like dun trust them.

Hey, this evening I have confirmed my AD photographer liao! Another matter to rest.

Hey blur blur,my FH mentioned to me long time back he thinks I oughta wear pants & be different.I didnt think so until I saw some pics in an Aussie mag.White pants can look cool so any idea if ROM packages has white pants?Mine gonna be outdoors too,early evening,very casual at a yacht club so wanna wear s'thing to suit the whole atmosphere.
If cant find s'thing I like thru ROM package then jz gotta find someone do hair & make up.As for photographer,I prefer a fren to do.I plan to keep my ROM close,as few strangers involved as possible.Know wat I mean?
Jolene,I dunno abt a website tt does tt but I knw a lady who can get an auspicious date for u,$10 only at Bukit Panjang.
Rainne,saw the dresses on tt website.Not bad.

quennie, ya.. get something really different if u wan to wear pants.. get BS to design one for u if possible.. yacht club? which one? RSYC??

Blur blur,didnt think abt designing pants leh,thot of getting OTR.Yes,RSYC.
Jolene,cant rem the blk but I hv her home number.U gotta call to make appt so can ask for add too!Nice old lady.Was recommended by a fren whose dad sees her re his biz for many yrs already so shd be reliable.

queenie, c if u can get OTR, jus like evelyn n darren (channel u) wedding, she wore pants when she was in yatch... RSYC very nice.. Me n FH always go there when we are free.. mayb we had walk past each other.. kkeke

hi hi queenie,

Congrats! So fast leh. I managed to get a high floor at the balloting exercise too....

quennie, congrats gal... u must b busying planning ur layout right?? I jus got my hse too, and sourcing for ID for quotation etc... been to library to look at interior design books to get more ideas.. guess the rest of this year is going to b busy...

anyone here already has her ROM gown?? I saw the web tat Jess Couture is haveing a ROM package, MTM ROM dress and is able to keep it.. wonder how is it? anyone tried it before?

Thx ladies!Congrats!Where r ur new places?Dont mind me asking how many rooms u got & wat r ur reno plans like eg budget,concept etc.Do share pls.
Also,anyone has any idea where I may get a design to tailor a linen pants & where best to tailor it plus wat top goes best with it?Any pics or useful links to look at?Been searching but no luck.

yoz blur

How have your sourcing for quotations going on? I thinking of having marble floors, but heard it's quite ex, you know roughly how much it cost?

For Jess Couture, the ROm package increase price liao, but there are good review from the forum.

queenie, i got a 5 room flat in amk from recent balloting.. s for the ID quotation, well, i have not started at all... but main thing is to keep my hse spacious n simple... tailor made pants har?? hmmm.. i only noe that the most popular tailor are the raffles tailor and kingsman ... sorry can't help much on this...

rainne, i not sure abt the marble floors.. but har, u have to take good care of them... my parents hse using marble too, after many years without polish, now actually look quite dull... n of cos, it's not cheap..
Jess increase liao eh? then i better act faster.. and go down visit them... thanks

Hey Jolene,thx!Hv u called the old lady yet?

Thx blur blur,I'll check out the tailors.

Rainne,dunno I lucky or not as the resale plc I got has marble flooring & we're keeping it though it needs polishing.We'll save abit I think.