(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

Hi Rainne and blur_blur

Rainne : Not really start my preparation yet. But my FH and I more or least decided where we want to have our buffet after the ROM. It's a restaurant his father just went to on xmas. International Buffet. But have not made any reservation yet, until we confirm the time slot.

Other than that,
dress :- wait till Apr (hope can slim down then)
MUA :- thinking of using Sandy Ho after reading so much about her in SB and FBO. Too lazy to research somemore.
Btw, Sandy Ho is charging $88 now for ROM
Guest List:- Compiling
Hand bouquet :- No idea yet. Maybe get some neighbourhood forist

Is there anything else i miss out? Basically want to keep things simple. The more details that needs to be settle, higher chances of quarrel.. :P

Btw, do any of you plan to use the engagement ring as wedding band? Thinking of saving money, but scared the diamond will drop off after long hours of wearing.

hi lky,

care to share where is the restaurant?
Wah, for sandy charging $88 consider cheap?

To me ring is very important lor, wedding band is to wear for life one, so I think no matter what, this cannot be saved. I duno what you think lah...

I'm desperately in need of help lah, haiz...dress not yet, mua duno who to get, hand bouquet etc..

blur, now only worry abt my flat. thereafter, then I can concentrate on my ROM

Hi Rainne,

It's actually not really a restaurant - is more of a cafe style in a hotel. It's in Phoenix Hotel, called Phoenix Garden Cafe. International buffet at 14+++ according to another website. His dad just been there and mentioned the food is not bad.

hmm...according to the other threads, sandy is highly recommended for natural makeup and cheaper than the rest. Ponnie Hsu charging 130, Jeannie Yong - 158 (include bouquet).

I got their names from the threads of MUA. Sandy will do trial for $60 if you are worried. So far, if i'm not wrong, sandy is the cheapest among the recommended MUA.

where's your flat? TOP soon? Mine will be in 2006, so now just concentrating on saving $ and do some furniture window shopping

Oh,
I heard of the cafe there before.Great, will shortlist that place for makan too.

I think will settle my flat liao then able to concentrate on my ROM. keke.

I'm under the balloting exercise for whampoa lor, appointmt on 19th...anxious.

Where is your flat?

iky, ohh.. i got my wedding bands already.. dun think will wear my proposal ring daily.. most prob will wear it on special occasion only...

rainne, aiyo..i super stress too.. hope tt still got units left for me on monday...

blur blur,,,,

dun stress...I feel that hor for AMK, no matter what the flat sure get sold out one, so maybe u can compromise, get a unit which is comfortable, if all ur dream units are taken up?

I also feeling stressed liao

rainne, yaya.. i dun have a choice now.. jus something decent one... not pinning high hopes.. keke.. good luck to u too..

rainne,

my house is in Yew Tee, it's EC called The Quintet. My FH loves swimming, so we opt for EC. Plus the location is between both of our house and near MRT station.

blur_blur, i havent get my wedding bands yet. Dont want to spend too much on it bec my FH said he's not going to wear it bec not used to it/troublesome for work.

Is your hubby going to wear the band everyday?

Rainne,blur_blur - best of lick for the balloting. Hope you get what you want. Rem to choose houses that are facing south/north to avoid the rooms being heat up during the day.

wa! tat was alot of posts going on within a day huh? gd

hmmn, we thot of having platinum rings too, but most of the jewellery shops say if take platinum, the -ve is tat if u wanna change the size of the ring(eg ur fingers becm bigger or smaller?? ), it's very diffcult to change. wonder wat they mean too. FH & I decide white gold cos cheaper n more shiny.if turn 'blur' after a few yrs, go n polish it again.but i heard oso tat if poish too much, will become thinner??my frenz n colleagues oso ask us to take paltinum, say more heavy n solid.cos wear a life time.tink after goin to fiary inc, then see hw..btw, really got to make a appt wi them b4 goin? cannot walk in?

to those who are going to select the flats: Good luck and hope u gals keep ur drema units.

me n FH nw looking for flats too.n it the most headache ting..

I must also visit this Fairy Inc that I heard so much of.

But my budget for bands hopefully 600+ per pair. Without diamond also can. Not sure where to get.

Little_twinstar, I saw some platinium rings at Tianpo, but think their white gold design are better. but most of the guys' rings have diamond. Hence FH dont like.

Hi lky,

Yah, thanks for the luck. Need it alot. I duno about south/north direction one, but I know the units that I am opting for will have morning sun if I can and manage to take mid floor, otherwise, low floor, dun even have sun.

Hi twinstar,
think carefully about your wedding bands, really. I have a white gold ring, but after just 6 yrs, it has turned yellowish already. Yes, you can polish it, but it will make it thinner.

For rings to resize, hardly people that I know of would go and resize their wedding bands one. Moreover, if your fingers too fat liao, then you can always wear it as a necklace over your neck.
Then once you are a mother, you hardly wear liao, coz wait carry your child, scratch them.

Give some serious tots.

Hi Lky,
are you looking for white gold or platinum? Have you seen Lee Hwa's Jorn Rainers?I like the design and the smoothness of the ring inside. Wonder will fairys inc be able to do that

helo...
just v curious about one thing.. does every couple realli have their intended ROM date checked whether is it auspicious?

how to get it check? have to ask parents???
me intend to ROM on 9th Sept this year

HI yaya,

For my case, my ROM date I choose it no matter whether auspicious or not. Even if he say not auspicious, I dun care.

But it's just so happen that when my parents ask to see auspicious dates for my customary, the uncle just ask when we getting ROM and heng that day is consider auspicious lor.

Hi yaya,

For me, i do check if it's the day is a day where our aninmal year clashes. I keep by looking at the calendar, that kind where you have to tear out day by day. It will tell you if marriage or ROM is recommended or not. And also can tell you which hour is considered auspicious.

Though my mom and future MIL said dont really need to check, i ended up checking. Just in case in the future, this wont be a topic for quarrels

rainne,

looking for white gold. How much is that lee hwa collection? impression is lee hwa's rings are quite ex.

lky, ohhh quintet, i almost got there too.. but due to fact my PIL wants us to stay near them... er... or rather pretty near them.. so in the end i gave up the choice.. my FH stays in seragoon garden, so we have to stay somewhere in amk or bishan.. went to nuovo in yio chu kang, grande 8 in amk too, but was all sold out.. was really glad tt hdb has this balloting.. but suai suai our q number damm high, so got no choice.. i went down n love the surrondings, so most prob will get if there is a decent unit left for me...

ya.. my FH will b wearing the wedding band everyday..fairy inc should b able to get a decent one within ur price range..

twinster, of cos u can walk in, but if they have customer who already made appt, u wun be able to talk to them much... only if u make an appt, u can then discuss abt your preference of ur rings etc etc.. ohhh.. platinum rings are really hard.. tt's y, if want to resize it, it's going to b very difficult to melt it.. white gold are softer, tt's y resizing it is much easier..

Hui, great... so wat are your top prority of ur prepartion? looking for outdoor venue or dress?? decide on ur date already?

yaya, well, depends on urself, if you are fine wif any date, then jus go ahead.. s for me, i ask my MIL to give us the date lah.. dun wan make much hassle.. cos there was one time we decided on a date n was rejected by her (cos tt day is inauspicious)..

rainne, good luck to your selection of flats!!

Gals, i finally confirm my date to b 18th May this year.. so happy..today went down to raffles hotel n meet up the coordinator.. discuss wif him our preference on theme, deco, food etc... waiting for his proposal now.. finally off my load.. n tomolo getting flats too.. hopefully not anything below 6th floor...
so now my next priority is to look for my rom gown. any suggestions? tinking of tailor made if i can find suitable one..

Hi lky,

Try considering platinum??? WG will turn yellowish after few yrs leh.

Lee Hwa white gold collection, costs about $500-800 odd. Platinum is about $900-$1000+.

You can just go in to take a look, no harm.

Hi blur,

good luck to you getting your selection tomorrow. I'm still eagerly counting down to my selection date!! ARgh, seems so long...

Great that you have confirmed your date. It's so close to mine, just 3days after yours. *wink*

For ROM, you going for package?

hi rainne and also lky,

i agree with rainne. getting platinum is better than white gold as properties of platinium is stronger than white gold. once the top coating of the gold is off, have to sent for re coating which can be costly ( i read that from magazine)

hi beautiful ones,
so many may brides?! my bf sis is getting ROM on 20th May too :D..but no sept bride? :D:D and thanks for all ur advices... i think the only dates that both side of parents will get involved will be the date for customary weddign right? :D heee

I'm not sure how true.. but Sarah from fairy inc said both platinium n white gold will tarnish..

blur blur : We're just thinking of inviting our immediate family for our ROM only. So, I guess we wont b getting outdoor venue.. As of now, getting wedding bands is my priority now.. next in line would be the dress n stuff..

Hi Hui,

Same here, wedding bands are my priority. Must start to draw datelines, otherwise, scare not in time...

rainne, ya.. thanks for your luck..i need it terribly i guess... s for my rom.. haven decide if i m taking package or jus ala carte myself.. think now only left wif my gown n my FH suit.. others should b more or less settle.. urs is a pacakge one right??

hui, so must be busy shopping for ur dream pair of wedding bands right? do keep us update on urs..

yaya, most of the time tt is the case... but not for mine.. envious tt you all can chose your own date..

helo blurblur,

we intend to set it on 9th sept cos 0909 nice mah..just that i dun like the year.i even thought of ROM on year 2009!! lols...090909..nice right?! but then by that time, i think we are both v old liao....hahaha..i will be nearer to 30s..so think 090905 is not so bad....also we want to get house this year...intention of getting resale flat

helo hui,
i also not sure how true is about both the rings..well.. i think even if its stone, also can also turn into 'needle' if not maintain it well.. i wants to get wedding band from gold heart. is it true that gold heart will took photos of the couple collecting the rings when readY? i read that somewhere in this forums...lols...

blur blur,

everyone waiting for your reply eagerly....

Jolene, the amk 5 rooms chinese quota all taken already...

Hi Rainne, hi everyone,

I got my ring already! end of my agony :P Rainne, took your advice, went to Lee Hwa for a look. Saw the Jorn Rainer collection you mentioned. Like the simple design, but find it abit too musculine. And cost a bit too far from my budget

Mine should be from the Affiniti collection. dont know if correct spelling. white gold - half matt half shiny, with 2 small diamond. They are having promotion for the ladies' ring. Cost $800 odd for both rings after 20% aspiral discount.

Oh yeah people, just happen upon this forist next to nokia shop at Suntec- Astoria Foral Design & Landscape. They have quite a no of outlets from jurong point, taka to thomson plaza. Their small handheld bouquet is really worth it - 6 champagne roses with berries etc - cost $25. additional $12 for delivery. Think quite worth it if you guys looking for something simple and small and cheap.
try this site :- www.astoria.com.sg

Hi Lky

Wah, u very fast leh! The Jorn rainers one for guys nice, ladies one very feel designs that I like.

Now you are stressing me liao..argh...

HI everyone!
Nice to meet all of you. Congratulations to everyone! ;> My date will be on the 17th of May. Bought a pair of platinum Saint Pure rings (latest design ) with slight engraving. The only pair that my FH and me laid our eyes on and liked it instantly. Got an engagement ring from him so kinda worried about the setting getting loose from LH as well. Any tips from u gals? ;> THanks!

Hi all, Does anyone know wat we shld do? Still very confused abt stuff.. Besides the dress, makeup, wedding bands.. application to ROM.. It's such a chore...

Rainne : Yeap. U're right.. if not, will be like me.. Stress leh.. Sometimes even feel like giving up.. Just appear in jeans, sign the paper then voila! We're married.. lolz..

Blur blur : More or less, we have decided on the design liao. Just haven't haven't gone down to fairy inc.. I'll definately show it to you all once it's done..

Yaya : Hi!! Well, I guess maintenance counts.. I'm not too sure abt the photo-taking of couples at Goldheart. But I did read it somewhere too.. Show ur wedding band to us when u got it!

hi gals, i saw my dream wedding rings liao! at goldheart, platinium, then lady's ring cum wi a daimond, guy none.exact design of wat FH and I wanted but hor ,the price is 1.7 k for a pair leh!

i havent went to fairy inc yet.maybe tis few days.. do any 1 here have their number? can post it here? thks a lot.

hi gals, i got my flat!!! wah. it's very popular.. so many pple waiting there to get a flat although it's the last day!!! but i still manage to get one.. very happy.. my FH n I already spend a whole day discussing abt our layout etc etc...

zodiastar, congrats n welcome.. hee hee.. mayb u can wear ur engagement ring on special occasion.. but for me, my FH bought me a ring when we started together, i had been wearing tt since then (from LW though), nothing happens... mayb not too big , tt's y wun drop off!! hahah... i waiting for the big one though, i haven got my proposal yet!!! but my FH says he's doing a big project on my proposal, so i have to wait for a little while.. hmm.. i so lugi..

twinster, number is 6235 5570. the exact add is as follows if anyone need here. 402 orchard road #03-03, delfi orchard.. hope this helps

hui, rainne, thanks.. ya.. very excited abt it.. though the unit aren't tt high level cos i high q number, but the facing n amenities are good.. even went there hawker centre for dinner yesterday and go c our new hse.. had crab there,... yummy.. my FH so cute.. he was so excited tt we bought red wine and stand by the nearby carpark (our unit near car park) highest floor and we both lit candle and drink wine!!! he brought a candle n 2 small wine glasses.. he so cute..

rainne, when is ur appt?? wah.. it's very exciting leh. i waiting for more than an hr.. cos in front of me all choosing very long.. though at the last day, not much good units left, they are all grab up.. seems like all of them are "desperate" jus like me!! cos it's really difficult for me to get a new flat in amk ..
we both keep looking at the tv screen outside the selection room and c if the pple in front of us choosen our choice unit.. so gan jiong.. seeing those better ones being taken, me n FH hold on to each other, hope tt at least give us a decent unit.. keke.. very funny.. when it's our turn har, we took a long time to choose too..
all the best to u gal!!! jia you..

Rainne :- no need to be stress. We all still have 4 more months to prepare. Just take your time to choose the rings. You will just find something you like when you least expected. I agree, Jorn Rainer guys' design are better. My FH prefers JR, but I prefer the one we bought.

blur_blur : Congras! you must be very happy! I know it because I was estatic when I just got my own house. My FH and I have been discussin about our layout and sourcing for furniture since then. Never too early to source esp something you like dont come when you need them. So when can you move in?

shimaro/little_twinstar : Heard from my friend that there's a mailer that says goldheart is having promo for some of its dimand rings; $500 off the price. can go check it out.

L_twinstar : is the ring design with a diamond suspend in the air, supported by the ring at both side?

zodiacstar : No idea how to prevent it from dropping off, except to be careful, i guess.

BTW ladies, here's some tips for cleaning your diamond i read somewhere :-
1) wash in warm water with any mild liquid detergent.
2) With a soft toothbrush, tap it against the diamond gently while in the water to avoid loosening it from its mount.
3) Rinse under warm running water then pat dry with a soft lint-free cloth

Hi blur,

My appointment next Wed leh, afternoon...so long, time passes by so slow leh...argh!!!

I think I will be like u, keeping fingers crossed.

HI Lky,
I have bought a solution from Goldheart few years back and I use it to wash my diamond ring, after that, very bright and shiny.

hi lky_ysk,

ya, the design something like wat u mentioned.
u saw it too? goldheart got discount??but dunno whether got discount for wedding bands or nt leh..

Hi L_twinstar,

I think I also fell in love with that design, but find it abit steep. If i'm not wrong, Lee Hwa seem to have a similar design. Maybe can check it out.
Not sure, maybe you can pop by any goldheart store and ask. I just know it applies to diamond rings. Not sure wed bands are considered or not. Goldheart has mbership card? borrow from friends.

Rainne, is it? i see..but scared the ring mount will get erode after use.

Hi Rainne & all the ladies here!

Rainne,sorry for late reply.Hope u still remember me.

So much has been happening here...

Rainne,as to your Qns.Well,initially wanted to ROM on 20/05/2005 but date no gd so now 21st lor.Saw a lady for gd dates.As to my venue,I tenatively booked RSYC.As for rings,not purchased yet.Saw 1 fr LH platinum ring for myself but FH hv not found 1 he likes yet so still looking.We r also house hunting, for a resale in JW area.

gd morning to all bride- to -be here.

lky_ysk: my bro have the goldheart memebership, but doesn't apply too..hehehe..had ask all possible means to bring the price further. but the lady told us no discountd for wedding bands in goldheart 1, except take installment wi credit cards. but hor, like veyr 'paiseh' leh, to take installment for wedding bands.hahaha..so nv thot of tat as a solution. nvvm..we will just be more hardworking n look ard. hopefully, we can dun compromise on the design we wan n yet get them at an affordable price.

HI Queenie,

Wah, u really MIA for so long leh. Of coz still rem u lah, u same rom date as me mah.

? you and FH not gg to choose the same platinum ring design har?

JW still got WIS leh, u go to hdb site to see, it may be cheaper than buying resale flat leh.

Hi Rainne,glad u still rem me.
The male ring of the 1 I like,my FH doesnt like lor.It's plain,he wants some diamonds.The female ring has diamonds too!Saw 1 he likes fr GH but workmanship not s'thing one wld wanna rave abt.Cant buy new flat as he already bought one 5yrs ago.No choice lah.Sianz!

Oh like that ah. Keke, seldom guys want some diamond one leh, but I would prefer guys to have some diamonds, nicer leh.

Look ard somemore?

Oh, so definitely have to buy resale like that. gee.

Hi queenie30,

yup yup..there r still quite a lot of flats to select in JW area as me & FH just took the information for onr of our friends yesterday fm HDB too.

Hi Rainne,

Yeah...me gotten my flat too...mine is in Bukit Gombak though. like wat blur_blur has mentioned, it's reallt exciting and stressful to wait for your turn...but anyway, got it liaoz...

wah jolene, u also very heng heng leh...

i still waiting leh, all of u must wish me luck okay, LOTS of luck hor...then I can join u girls in the discussion of renovation too....