(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

Hi Rainne,

Happy New Year!

Thx for starting tis thread.
I plan to ROM 21st May.What abt u? Big year for people like us ay?

Yo Rainne...

Two Thumbs Up to you for starting this thread.

& A Happy New Year too!!

Have not confirm on which day but it will definitely be in May 05.

Gals, how do you confirm on the date? dunno which date is auspicious to ROM?

Hi Queenie!

Happy Happy new year. And I thought nobody would join in here.

What a coincidence, mine is on 21st May too! Hot date is it har? Why that date for your case?

Hi Jolene,
*gam xia gam xia* for turning up at this thread.
Personally for me, my ROM date is the MOST important compared to customary, coz ROM date = anniversary wedding date mah, so hor, for my case, I choose the date based on the date we started out together lor.

I didn't bother if it was auspicious or not, it was until my parents brought us to see this geomancy to ask for customary dates, then the uncle asked when is our ROM date, then he check here check there then say it's a good date.

He said, 17th May would be a better date compared to 21st, but I don't want lah. So that is how I decided on that date.

Queenie > You have already booked your ROM venue liao har? How much did you budget for your ROM venue?

I'm having such a headache confirming on my AD venue that I now then have time to start on my ROM leh. Now looking for packages, rings not even researched yet. cham lah.

hi rainne, i m here already!!! thanks for starting this thread!! kekeke.. me too, i feel tt ROM is more impt to customary.. tt's y me n FH will be spending a lot of effort on our ROM.. AD is mainly for show to our families n relatives.. will b definately very tired on the AD..

Jolene, mine will b sometime in May too... not too sure.. may 16th May, 18th May depending on the hotel... I personally prefer to b on the 16th, but it was tentatively booked by another couple. The hotel person will check out wif them to c if they still wan to hold theirs on 16th... if tt's the case, i will have mine on 18th May...

Queenie, hihi... so i guess i will ROM a few days before u n rainne.. hee hee.. think we all will be damm excited as dates draws near...

rainne, nothing much done on my part too.. except tt we confirm on the hotel, bought our wedding band liao.. as for my ROM gown.. i think i will b having a headache too... also, must jia you on diet, want to cut down a few kgs before i ROM leh...

actually we thot of 20 May but it's on a Fri which we thot it might be better and convenient for family n close friends to attend the occasion if it's on a weekend. so we decided to look @ other dates. Thot of getting a geomancy to look @ a few dates in May before deciding but we don't know any reliable ones.

As the dates r not fixed, we have not cfm on the hotel as yet..;(

hi queenie & blur_blur, care to share your packages for your ROM venues?

harlow blur,

finally you are here leh. Are you the one who is having solemnisation at raffles hotel one har?

Hi Jolene, wah, urs is 1 day before mine and queenie's.
Yes lor, I also thought weekend would be better for our family and friends lor.

I will be having my ROM in may 05 too.20th may.hehehe.mine will be at Carlton hotel.thot of having it on 21st may(convenient for frenz n family)but my future in-laws calculated the date to be auspicious for us, so we took 20 may.
abit blur of wat to do n prepare..just take a step by a step.nw on our list is wedding bands. so do u gals got any recommendation on the various jeweller? hmmn..my budget ard 500+ for a pair of white gold wi diamonds. izzit difficult to find? hope to get u gals'reply.

rainne, yeah.. high five!! finallly here.. busy celebrating christmas n new year. so dun have time to log in n chat.. yupyup, i getting my solemisation at raffles Gazebo lawn... how's ur prep so far?

jolene, mine har.. at raffles hotel gazebo lawn... i can't rem the detail package items..
but includes flowers deco, setups, champaigne pouring, drinks, some snacks etc..hahah..

hi little twinster, welcome.. think 20th, 21st is a good date for many couples too.. mayb u shop around for the few jeweller for the kind of rings you want.. if u can increase ur budget a little, think fairy inc is a good choice.. it is very popular among many couples as they custom made wedding bands according to ur likings n design.. s for the price wise, i personally think it's quite reasonable.. but i did not get my bands from them cos my FH doesn't like it...

Hi blur_blur, me also gotten some packages from raffles hotel gazebo lawn. However, my FH thinks it's too pricey. ;(
Also gotten the packages from Sheraton and most prob will cfm wif them once we finalised on the date.

Hi twinstar!

Wah sey wah sey, you got the 20th May at carlton ah. I was still contemplating between carlton, amara and if should just ROM at the registry then go buffet simple simple leh. Now, haiz, dun even know if my date 21st is taken already or not.

Hi Blur,
I am far worst lah, no venue for solemnisation yet, coz cannot decide whether to have it at rom or not. Rings haven't decide as well, but am giving fairy inc a look. Why ur FH dun like? Share.

Hi Jolene, you mean to say you are having your solemnisation at sheraton har. Ex not? I'm trying to keep budget to less than $1K if possible..

Harlow shimaro,
Confirm date soon lah, now is already Jan, so fast, then next month, all of us have to start going online to book the dates with ROM liao.

hi Rainne,
it's ard S$35+++ per person for a hi-tea solemnisation and we r keeping it ard S$1K - S$1.2K for ard 30 paxs.
I have yet to cfm with them as we wan to settle on our house first, going to choose our unit next week for Bukit Gombak balloting exercise. Anyway, dunno if we can cfm with them on a tentative date cos we haven't decide on the dates. how do u manage to get your date? got any geomancy to recommend?

Hi Jolene,

I'm now monitoring the balloting exercise too. Wah, very excited to see which units are taken up leh. Mine will be the last among you girls, I'm going for whampoa area.

so $35+++ will come up to about $40 nett. Can you share with me the sheraton package?

my ROM date is I chose with my FH one, and the geomancy just told us is a good day. *heng ah*
But for customary, he chose for us.

hi blur blur,

ya, i hear of fairy inc 2..but where exactly is it? it at delfi orchard huh??

hi rainne,
i remember tokign to u of my package rite?hehehe.so how? considering which hotel or got to ROm to register then have a treat for ur frenz n family?

hi jolene,
u r so luucky to be succesful for your bukit gomabk balloting. my HTB and i try tat too.but was unsuccesful..
hai..n we wanted west area (exclude jurong west;we dun like). nw it seems for the moment tat there are no new 1 ard the west..reslae for us is too pricey.

hi twinstar,

gee..i cannot recall leh. sorry lah, getting old...

if fh say we exceed budget, then will just register and go makan.

hi twinstar,

thks. we managed to get the queue for the balloting is because my FH's parents live in Bukit Batok as well so we took up the scheme (I think is married child scheme) if not I dun think we can get too.

I also dun like jurong west and also agree that resale flats are far too pricey for young family like us.

Dun be too sad, I think there will be some more WIS or balloting soon, maybe after CNY...do look out more often in the HDB webby n newspapers.

Jolene, alright, do keep us update on ur venue.. cheers

rainne, ohhh.. cos my FH say the diamond used aren't of very good grade.. n we ever read from post tt one gal got her wedding band from them, n the diamond dropped off... er... guess, she is the suai one lah. i personally feel not bad as they can custom made rings to our preference.. my friend did hers n i find them very beautiful..

twinster.. ya.. delfi orchard, think at 3rd level..
u saying abt resale.. actually resale is more affordable in some way... the first downpayment will not b much after u take the grant.. s for new flats, we have to pay 20% n out of which i need to fork out a lot of hard cash s me n FH dun have much CPF..
else there is BTO in sendkang lately.. but bad leh..

My FH have just confirmed our ROM date to be in May.. :D Exact date not set yet..

We have only go ard sourcing for wedding bands. Other than that, nothing has been done yet.

Hi hui,

welcome welcome. Care to share where have you source for your wedding bands?

Hi blur,
Heard custom made would need about 4 mths? I think I have to go source for wedding bands soon this month as well...

I read the thread about the diamond dropped too. From LH. My engagement ring is from LH leh, then I keep touching it to feel if the diamond is still there not.whahaha

hui,welcome...

rainne, yaya.. so if u wan custom made, then better act fast...
my ring oso from LH too... scared scared also..

ya, i heard of this thread on the diamond dropped 2.tat gal must be damn heartpain. wa! must wait ard 4 mths to custom made the rings at fairy inc? hmmn, tink we juz look ard the jewellery shops.btw, did any gals tie up any bridal studio here? i did. mine is santiago at bugis

Hi twinstar,

I also duno if it is true to wait 4 mths leh, that was what I read inthe thread too.

But I think I'l only know when I meet up with fairy inc people, then I will let u all know k?

As for BS, not yet leh, still looking around...

Good day!!

Rainne : I went most of the jewellery shops except SK. They are either not to my liking or too ex.. I went to fairy inc too.. Quite like their designs.. Most likely, I'll get custom made rings..

Btw, fairy inc only take 2 mths to custom make their rings.

twinstar, i not tied up wif any BS also... still searching around.. but interested in divine couture n a few others...

Hui, do show us ur rings when they are ready... i personally find nice too..

Hi hui,

oh yippy! Fairy inc told u they need 2 months to make the rings har?? Great. Then I dont need to source so soon lah.

Hi hi...

haven't buy my wedding bands yet. Wondering if anyone can give me recommendations? how early should we buy in advance?

btw, how much does Fairy Inc's wedding bands?

reasonable hor.

I'm looking at platinum wedding bands and I thought of getting an eternity ring...
Duno how much ah...

Jolene,

If the jewellery shops like Goldheart or Lee Wah do not have the size you wanted, they need abt 1 mth.. So rough gauge abt 1-2 mths.

Fairy inc's wedding bands are considered reasonable priced.. I have seen some nice designs in the range of $500-600+ too..

blur blur : I haven't bought it yet.. Once I got done, I sure show it to you gals..

rainne, better go down n check out the prices.. take some time to look around.. c if u like it, if not need time to source around for other shops..

hui, yup... of cos eagerly waiting to c urs...

gals, 2nd day of balloting finally end.. keeping finger cross.. hope many pple wil dropped out s the good units are almost taken up already... my expectation not high..(hahah or rather, beggers can't be choosers) no need very good view.. at least higher floor is enough for me ..

blur,

I would make fairy's inc my first stop, then see how it goes. Scare to enter those lee hwa lah, goldheart lah, wait see see, then they expect us to purchase then how to reject leh..

gd morn gals,
will go see fairy inc tis wkend, see if they had the design we wanted.actually i saw the design at goldheart, but a bit x for us.ard 1K(our budget is ard 500-600 for a pair.hehe)anyway, will keep u gals updated.

Hi twinstar

You have made aptmt with them?
I reckon you are getting white gold as wedding bands? It is recommended to get platinum leh, since u are using for a lifetime...

Good morning gals!

Ehhh.. Rainne, U can just walk in and look at the wedding bands.. Cos most couples do not walk in and buy it straight away.. They know it.. U can ask for catalogs of the wedding bands for reference if they do have it..

rainne, well, i guess those LW or gold heart etc, they are not so hard sell type... jus reject if u dun like it... u must b those kind pple lah.. for me, dun like means dun like... i will not care so much..

ily_ysk, hihi.. welcome....

twinster... yaya... u have to get an appt wif them esp if u r going down on wkend... tell them the design u want.. or u can take photos of ur ideal wedding bands and show them.. c if they can do out the kind of design u want...
i agree wif rainne, mine is also platinum.. however, it's really up to individual.... some of my couple friends actually change their wedding band after certain years.. cos they want change a new design...

Btw, may I ask did ur FH go your house and officially ask for ur hand from your parents?

Mum insist my FH to do tat. I stay with my father n grandparents. So she said it is right to do tat to show respect to my elderly.

Lucky I'm not the one doing the talking.. :D

Hi hui,

Catalogs? Got got, i walk pass their display and see see lor, then after that, you will hear someone coming close to you and ask may I help you? *keke*

Hi Hui,
Not yet leh, my FH say he will come after CNY, but we already started planning for our wedding.

Rainne,
Busy sourcing for quotation. my flat coming soon. No time to fix the date yet.
Most likely will get platintium too....

Hui,
ya, my mum insisted too when we told her we had applied flat. she wan my FH to officially come my home and tell her. Not yet inform our parents we going to ROM on May.

hui, my mum din request for this.. but my FH say he will dress up very nicely one day (after proposal.... er.. i m still waiting.. keke) and ask for my hand in front of my parents....

shimaro, oh.. then u must b busy wif ur flat..all the best..

is it a must for FHs to come ask for our hands in front of parents? so serious one ah? me & FH has been together very long liao, a bit wierd leh?

can I jus ask if you gals arrange for parents from both side to meet up and tok tok before ROM? or it can be done after ROM but before customary?

thks thks.

Hi shimaro (shimaro) ,

where is your flat? Can share?

I think it's the formality to ask FH to come over to our home to ask for hand one. My parent's didn't know we gonna ROM in MAY, until the geomany asked us when we gg to ROM, I then said May and my parents have no objection leh. *phew*

Blur, me too leh, still waiting for the proposal...haiz..He ask me to propose to him ah!

jolene... i dun think it's a must. i m fine wif anything... it's my FH who insist.. so funnie... as for meeting up for both parents.. most prob i will arrange it to b after rom which is before AD..

rainne.. hahahha.. my FH too!! he keep asking me if i want to propose to him when i hint him at times.. i tell him "wait long long".. er... well, he hinted me tt the proposal is coming soon.. n will b a surprise.. wat to do?? wait lor.. keke

I dunno.. I think it more of a formality.. A form of respect to them.. U know elders always wan 'face'.. Hahaha.. N with tat, we ask for blessing from them and so next time he's responsible for you.. He's supposed to take care of you for the rest of your life. So next time 'anything' happen to us, they can find him accountable.. I wonder wat's tat anything...