(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
All: Went for my food tasting last night. The food is delicious.
Love the mango pudding with strawberries dessert too.
Has anyone of u gone for food tasting yet? Want to ask u all, those food served in hotel issit no piping hot kind? How about the sharks fin all these? Well, when the food was served, it's warm but no steam coming out that kind. Issit typical?

Lambie888: how much is your shop charging you? Wish u good luck in selecting pics! Sure nice one and remember to show us ok!

All: Anyone has recommendations for shops that can develop photos from the proofs? My shop did not give me back the negatives but I need to develop for relatives. It's costly to develop thru them so would want to go to outside shops to develop. But can it be done this way? Can they convert the proofs into digital format? Don't want to scan it myself in case the resolution not good.

Dear eternity/lala,

My ROM pics so so onli la. Actually I forked out additionally $30 for MUA to tong my hair but alas ... my hair straighten upon reaching Fort canning.
Hence, wat a waste of money ....
Also, I did told the MUA to shade my jawline but she said you look okie la ... n end up looking like a 'mooncake' on photos. Haha ha ....

8th May, I'm okie. Preferred afternnon as my fren is getting married on Sun and hence had to help out as receptionist.

Oinkoink,

Welcome ... your AD is a day earlier than mine.
If you wan to MTM your gowns, better book your package ASAP.

I have posted a picture of myself in the group under Personal for easy recognition when we meet up on the 8th. Think those who can meet up this 1st gathering will do so. Then we organise another one during the weekdays

Hi Jen Sia,

I miss the show. Will it be repeated again?

Chriz: Yea, it's made at the shop which you described. They kept asking to take photo after it was done lor...and also asked me for PS photo, but i din go back and give them. Are you with any BS? Are you shopping for a wedding gown?

Michelle, actually, I don hve preference of OTR or MTM. If any WG or EG catch my eye even if it is OTR , I am okie with it.

Of course prefer brand new one.
I bought this style magazine, flip flip only one gown caught my eye. if from DIVINE COUTURE!!!
but very expensive lei....+ need to find own photography, makeup artist etc worry no time for other things like renov, etc

so think of asking around see any gd BS to recommend like gowns, photography skills, a package deal kind, see if it satisfy my needs. I will be happy. I budget a bit tight.

As my FH is out of town till mid May, think at the meantime,get more info, short list some BS, then go with him see the photography skills, services, try some gowns....then try to settle for one BS asap.

I think is a wise choice to start hunting since Oct 03. I took one thing at the time......now like NO TIME

My hse is still discussing with my designer hven't even start renovating...
Peg(76) u so gd, already talk abt buying furniture for your new hse.

But of course, if Allure Charix has WG & EG tht catch my eye, may consider also. Worst come to worst, if really by mid May can't find any BS for OTR, then hve to MTM.

3 May
peg76 - yes
Janetgoh - yes
MooMoo - yes

Updated List

name - date - venue - BS - 1st fit - PS - our home

* lala - 16 Sept - Oriental - Divine Couture - 13 May - 29 June (The Edge), AD (Yew Kwang) - Sembawang

* mandy - 18 Sept - Noble House - Yvonne Creative - 20th May - Tiong Bahru - Alan Dai

* eternity - 19 Sept - Laguna - Camellia Hatue Couture - Mar - May(Beetles) - Seng Kang

* lydia81 - 19 Sept - Le Meridien - Thomson Wedding Design - 1st fit on 10 Apr - PS in May - Albert Chua@Everafter - Seng Kang

* oinkoink - 19 Sept - ?? - French Bridal

* berser - 19 Sept - Merchant Court Hotel - Milan Wedding Collection - 28 Mar(PS) - Buankok Cresent - Kalyedoscope (AD)

* dae - 19 Sept - Hyatt - ??

* adeline - 20 Sept - Mariott Hotel - Divine Couture - Tampines - (Kelvin@Beetles)- PS/AD

* skylar - 21 Sept - Plaza Hotel - White Link - SengKang

* gerlynn - 23 Sept - Hyatt - Camellia Haute Couture

* annie - 23 Sept - Furama - Flamingo Bridal - 15 Mar - Jun (Kelvin@Beetles) - Tiong Bahru - Yew Kwang

* dabee - 23 Sept - Century Roxy - Seven Heaven Bridal - April - MAY photoshoot - Marine terrace - Alan Dai

* gintonic - 23 Sept - Hyatt - Yvonne Creative - 3rd of April - 3rd of May - Toa Payoh

* marilyn - 25 Sept - Peninsula Hotel -Santiago

* yshu - 25 Sept - Rasa Sentosa - Dang

* pinkcoco - 25 Sept - Grand Copthorne Waterfront - Divine Couture - 1st fit : 20/04/2004 - PS : 25/06/2004 (Robin) - Punggol

* jensia - 25 Sept - Conrad - Yvonne Creative

* alexus - 25 Sept - Chijmes - Silver Lining - Jul (Hilarion)

* ralphine - 26 Sept - Sheraton Towers - Yvonne Creative - SengKang

* kc sunshine - 26 Sept - Pan Pacific Hotel - White Link - PS in Apr - Bukit Batok

* kokopooh - 28 Sept - Sheraton Towers - Bridal Veil - feb - jul (bernard-beetles@work)

* niv - 28 Sept - ROM only

* yougurt - 29 sept - Orchard Parade - PhotoCambell in JB

Hi BellBell,

can you kindly PM me the details of your package?

Ty

My Shortlist BS (not in order of preference)
1) Z wedding (thks littlepig for sharing)
2) Wedding News (thks Peg76 for sharing)

Bridal Gallery by Ming (anyone has any comments regd this BS ?)

hi,HP,Peg76,bellbell and janet,thank u for welcome me to your tread..speical thank to peg76, now i know wat BS stand for..i stil not yet decided which BS to go..because i last min make up my mind to hold wedding dinner by tis year,veri rush for us too,i cal Pan Pacific Hotel but was fully booked,my idea hotel was GCW grand ballroom,too bad we only have 28 to 30 tables..so hav to forget it..
..i also cal up a few hotel,but the date which i want for are fully booked.luckily Concorde Hotle stil availavle for us..

kokopooh, annie,
sorrie you cannot make it... wif such a big group, very difficult to find one that can fit all... anyway, will take note and perhaps the next one we can try and arrange it on weekday...

so far, the following people are okie to meet on 8th may... i'll send out an email later...
eternity, lala, gintonic, lydia, adeline

skylar, are you okie to meet as well?

oinkoink,
your AD same as mine leh... heehee...

yah, quickly go check out the location... hope it's available for your wedding....

jen sia,
i missed the show oso... *sigh*... any repeat telecast?

all lovely sept brides,

me finally bought my shoes for WG... in the end, didn't buy open toes... hahaha....

bought at metro... the front is the "spikey" kind and with lace designs... so i thot it goes well with my WG with lace details....

now need to keep a lookuot for shoes to match my EG, which is green tone... saw one at metro that i liked, but dun haf my size... will need to continue searching....

so happy, my house reno is finally going to start tomolo !!!! the coming 2-3 months will be hectic....

jeslyn,
i think u can explain to ur neighbours that u are rushing thru ur reno or else u wil not be on time for ur wedding.Just make sure ur contractor dun start too early or end too late during the reno.I am sure ur neighbours will understand that,they had their reno before too...

piglets,
i can't make it this wed,u ask the rest of the gals.

<font color="0000ff">hi Janet,</font>

if u can't find any OTR gown by mid may, MTM gown might be too late for you by then.

most BS required at least 3-6 months to MTM gown loh

<font color="119911">hi jes,</font>
huh? neighbour complains? then how to work like that? can tell them u need to rush coz not enough time? ask them to bear a while. when u move in, buy them some gifts loh

<font color="119911">hi Bao Bao</font>
u teaching how to make corsages?? I'm interested too. u using those silk/cloth flowers or real flowers?

btw, where u normally buy the flowers used for cosages??

Hi fairymoss

Yes from the photo they can do a disc for you.. My photoshop at Int'l Plaza do it leh... But i don't know how much if you wanna noe i check for you tmr

HP

me not teaching is learning... Cos one of the Pan Pac brides noe how to do it... We are miting this coming Wed... See how it go i will let you noe the outcome on thursday.

Hayashi
When you convinent??? Maybe after yr PS loh..

Hows ur weekend? I went to take measurements for my gowns today..

1st fitting will be 30th May 04, dear ivory, pls help me update onto ur table.. Thxs ah.. n hor, I blur ah, my PS should b 15th July, dunno y i keep tinkin its 18th July..
So Carol, my PS not same as urs.. I blur..

Hi bebe
If i say i wan to cancel my order for the unbra, would u kill me?
If u cannot cancel, nvm lor, I will still buy it n use it some other time.. Dun wan to cause u inconvenience..
Sorrie ah dearie.. Never ask my BS then i order liao, really rash lor..

My designer said no need to hv the unbra cos my front neckline is rather low, so will c the clip. There will b a sheer material in front bec i said i not daring enuff to hv plunging neckline..

She said she will use padding to help me create the "long gao"

Hi coco
Where is substance?
I need to go buy shoes liao.. She said can buy something wif more details bec there will be a slit in the middle for my EG, so can c my shoes.. Need 3 to 3.5 inches lor..

Oh, i tried both Ding Tai Feng n my Mum's cusine, dun really like my mum's cuisine.. Paragon also hv soup ah.. See wat the gals like lor..

Hi Ivory
We hv to find someone else to do mkting then.. Yvonne dear can u be our mkting person for our biz next time?

So u hv decided on leaping lizards, good, 1 load off ur mind..

Hi Nickel
I emailed u the picture of the wrist corsage liao.. Look out for it..

I m goin crazy wif the hse huntin,really diff to find something tt is within budget n nice lor.. Still cannot settle it yet.. Sigh.. stressed..

Oh! Gals,
I hv uploaded some pictures of my Shanghai trip, abt 10 pictures only lah, lazy to upload more.. If anyone of u wan to c it, let me noe, i will send u the url..

Ooops, long msg again, "see" u gals tmr!

hi hi gals...

Chubbyrain... substance is at Wheelock place(borders bookshop area) Go take a look...the most recent HER WORLD mag has many many bridal shoes... think places like ALDO, HUE(scotts shopping centre), J WEST, NINE WEST has interesting things... if u need shoes with more details... :p anyway can i see the pics... hehe

bebe... ya... time to go shop shop for ring liao... another thing is, u can also go think about what to engrave on the ring... so funny..
there are cheesy engraving like " WHY IS THE RING OFF?" (coz only when u take the ring off, can u see the engraving :p) or "I only wanna make luv with u" and many many cheesy engravings. But you engravings should be something personal to you two love birds. hehe... interesting leh?

hi Mei mei... any description of your WG? hehe...

I hv not logged in for some days. Quite busy with hse.

hi c0co
hehe, i bought the sealy bed. Well, din really want to shop around more. Firstly, intend to hv a sealy bed one but always know it's expensive so kinda shelved it off. Secondly, since find one that fits our budget and we both like it, then commit lor. Thirdly, we are not mattress experts anyway, all beds are either very comfortable or not. Can't really tell much diff, no matter how many more beds we try, going for branding :p

hi yvonne
ai yo, chiam, because of the sealy bed, we got an offer to purchase the bedframe at cheap price so end up we scrapped the idea of customised low bed etc. just told my ID abt this. They need to look at the quote again and see how. Otherwise, we will engage Kenneth. Assured that his quality also not bad.

at least i think my hse's furnishing is half-way there already. Now really waiting for my keys, likelihood will get keys in Aug. Hai.. guess i can only move in after AD liao.

hi bebe
yes, they need some time to get your ring size. Remember to try on the spot. my hubby's finger 'put on weight' within 3 wks. Luckily we still hv more than 1 mth to our ROM. :p so u decide on the design? must show us your rings.

hi mei mei,
yes pls let us know your WG designs. Must be very excited right?

hi chubbyrain
Hse is very important, must take your own time. U can always stay in current in-laws place first and slowly look for one after AD. anyway, there's a no of launches coming up. Just wait and see any gd one come up.

hi ivory
u are going to MTM your shoes? I hv not seen one EG shoes that i like very much so far. Hmm..

Hi gals.. i've taken the pic of my WG &amp; EG with my hp so cant really can see properly.. hehe
my gown is off-shoulder coz me too plump liao :p
cant wear tube hehe.. still need to alter coz too bit will be havin my fittin in june then PS lor..try so many pieces at last found this ..
pm me if u all wanna take a look at the pic.. :P

Eternity, Annie, skylar,
Sigh****I think I have to change my facial appt liao cos me went for my second fitting last sat. And I got to bring forward my photoshoot to 29th of April. So I have change my appt to 27th.

Skylar, pai sei leh. Keep changing the date. But if you can make it on the 27th, we can meet up lor. Just sms me and let me know so that I can book the appt for you

Wah think I start to get bizi liao. Got my personal photoshoot and BS photoshoot. Then got to go for face threading, facial, mani, pedi and highlighting my hair...damn headache...And got prepare the guest list oso beri hectic....

how's everyone's weekend? sorry, had a busy friday and weekend, so, didn't get much chance to log in. Luckily u gals "shou sia liu qing", didn't post too many messages, can still catch up

c0co
yah wanted to sms u earlier but kept forgetting cos had quite a bit of work to do. nevermind, u're flexible right? can always join us another time
hee hee, yah, blame it on GG5's good window display designer right?
that's what happened to bebe &amp; me on thur too, the dress on the window display caught our eye and the rest..... is history

as for wed's dinner, i'm easy, as long as i can order non-beef dishes, i'm happy

so, how many pairs of shoes did u get from substance? since u can get 50% discount for the 2nd cheaper pair, did u make use of it?
i like their shoes too

ur custom-made riing from fairy inc is very reasonable, if i knew it's this price, i would have gone there too. they always advertise the more expensive rings in the bridal mags, that's why i didn't consider them.

bebe
bought ur ring yet? we bought ours at Lee Hwa, I think quite a number of the brides bought from Lee Hwa/Aspial. Ours are platinum, matt and i've got a teeny weeny diamond. total cost was about $1.2k (same as lynn) cos they had this 25% off for wedding bands, which was good.

i agree with chubbyrain, platinum's better cos it's more solid, also, read in the papers that platinum's getting scarce cos a lot of people are turning to platinum now, prices may go up and it may be a rarity soon. but, as platinum's harder than white gold/gold, the designs tend to be more boring, so, if u want more detailed designs for ur ring, u may need to stick to white gold (why am i saying all these? u most probably have bought ur ring already

hee hee, wear that pretty dress on wed, u're the queen of the office on wed right? wear a cardigan over it, will look formal enough

btw, yup, tried the unbra at home, haven't worn it out yet hee hee. it's very sticky, and i think it's alright, not sure if i've worn it correctly

chubbyrain
i agree with u about admin people in big offices, sometimes, they ask the silliest questions but then, i guess accountability's their duty, so, no choice... either that or have a standard Q&amp;A for them next time

aha, so ur EG is like Ivory's u'll have a slit, sexy
then, u might want to get a nicer pair of shoes for ur EG since they'll most likely be able to see it. but get something practical as well, so that u can still use it again next time, save $

be the marketing person for u and ivory's biz in future? sure, no problem, ie if u find me good enough for u

don't get too stressed over the house hunting ok? i guess the good part is that u don't need to find a new place to move in immediately after ur AD, so, u can still take ur time. but i know what u mean. weeks of continuous house hunting can be a headache/pain as well. why don't u take a break from it for a while? i think u've seen most of the developments in singapore now right? why not think over it and who knows, something new may pop up? or something good may turn up from the existing developments which u've visited and u can re-consider again?

that's what happened to us. we'd actually visited this place when it first launched in 2001 but didn't think seriously about it till it's 2nd launch cos all our other options were exhausted and this was the only pl which all of us liked. sometimes, by not thinking too much about it, the answer will suddenly 'pop' up in front of u

of cos i want to see ur shanghair pix, please email to me at [email protected], thanks

blurq
we'll see u on wed right? looking forward to it already

lynn
i agree with u, something healthy for our next meeting will be good. ok, c0co add healthy food to my criteria hee hee. but i think the places that c0co &amp; chubbyrain have suggested sound pretty healthy, so, i think we're on the right track

oh, so, u'll not need to have a customised bed now, well.... i'll say one problem solved
since the deisgner's ur friend, maybe u can talk to him about it and see if they're willing to work for a lower cost? cos i think it'll not be worth it for u to add on just to meet their min target.

yup, if not, there's always kenneth
but, just a little more time from ur end to follow up with them, which may be a good thing as well cos u'll be able to correct the changes earlier, in case there are any.

don't worry gal, i think it may be a blessing in disguise if ur place only TOPs in Aug, at least u won't be running around like a headless chicken in Q3

nickel
hi busy gal, and lucky gal, u've got a long weekend, i'm envious
but i guess it's to make up for all the saturdays and sundays when u went back to work right? good for u

yup, i guess the few of us are fortunate enough to work so close each other, so, we can meet for lunch. but the bad thing about working in the CBD/town area is that u're usually tempted to shop during lunch, bad for my wallet

so, ur hubby will be decked out in a black suit with black shirt and a blue tie for ur AD? will he feel hot in it? hee hee, everytime i plan colours for the day, i always think about our equatorial climate, damn hot

ivory
chewing gum? ok, i try and find, but may not have cos i finished all of them from my last KL trip hee hee

oh yah, u've got quite a slit for ur EG. yup, good idea, a pair of 3-4 inch heels with ribbons tied up to ur calf will definitely be sexy, confirm u'll have a red theme for ur wedding

i agree with u, if do biz, must do women's biz, either that or kids' biz (also women related) cos families are getting smaller now and young families have less kids now, so, they'll do anything and everything for their precious little jewels

agnes
looking forward to seeing ur korea pix, do share with me too

bali's a nice place. been there once back in 96 for a week, for work. managed to squeeze in a little sightseeing and liked the place and told myself i'll try and go back there again someday

tomodachi
great, u'll also be going for this wed's outing, it's going to be a huge group

AK
welcome
r u an Oct bride as well? do share ur details with us, we always welcome new members

chloe
see u again on wed gal

exciting
good for u, could heave a sigh of relief right?
yup, u're right, i'm doing marketing/PR and now, have taken over sales as well, although i don't do it directly, i am accountable for it cos i manage the sales executive

aiyah, u can't make it on wed ah, ok, then see u some other time

mei mei
congrats on settling ur gowns, one load off ur mind right?

jennl
u won't be in singapore this wed right? or has ur schedule changed?

feroy
will u be able to make it this wed? would love to catch up with u again

babysheep
will u be able to make it on wed as well? didn't get much chance to chat with u at the last outing

forest
did u take mc on fri? hope u're much better now

oh oh, i think this is a SUPER long email, sorry gals, hope u enjoyed reading my 'novel', will try and make a 'movie' next time

hi gals..

reali miss toking to u all leh, me will be quite busy with work lately so guess i cant go online as often as before liao..will be thinking of all of u k..juz beep me if there is anything k..or leave me an email..

chubbyrain..
paiseh..think my email is full, i didnt receive ur pics leh, can send to me again..thanx alot..i told my galfriend that i want to make for them and they sound so excited lor..

i am okie with wat to eat on wed, as long its cheap and good, hee hee..i try the mum crusine b4, okie lor, quite home cooked kinda lor..me going to try ding tai feng tomolo, heard that its very nice lor..
i want to see the pics too..send me leh..

c0co..
me bought the ring liao but havent engrave lor..still thinking of wat to put..ur idea is very creative leh, will go tok to my hubby liao..think he will say i siao lor..

i will doing my shopping tomolo, need to get the shoes and etc lor..must take a break from work liao..

bebe..
gals are like that, got cheap stuffs must buy lor, travel all the way oso worthwhile lor..my friend tried liao, she say okie..me oso very excited to try leh, like very shiok lor, dun need to worry that the bra will drop lah, can see the strap lah..think that a good buy..

mei mei..
i want to see too..dun wori, sure mei mei lor..can send to my email?me dun know how to PM one..

lynn..
yap..so long never see u too..guess u r still very busy with work..must take care leh..guess i will not log in so often, try to peep whenever i can..

okie gals, hope to catch up with u all on wed..guess i will not online for the next two days..see u all soon! nitzzzz..

yvonne..
guess u r online now..think we send the email ard the same time..

yap..we happily buy the things and think he will look cool in it..guess wat, when we reach home, i ask him to try everything for me to see and after 10min, he was like sweating like mad lor, say very hot..hee hee..juz hope that the weather will be abit better in oct..
its like wat ppl said, want pretty dun want life..
yap..its time for a break liao, quite tired burning all my weekend lately..keep u gals update of the things i buy k..

Adeline...I have booked a gown from the rack...its new...in fact its finishing in the tailor's room...think its duchess satin...champagne in colour...like it very much!...what your WG like?...ya hor...our AD just one day different

Eternity...we are bride on the same day...next time can remind each other about our wedding anniversary :P...went botanic garden today...but the venue hall under painting...so not accessable...have to go down another day...anyway enjoyed the orchestra performance at the garden just now...wa! good that you have found shoes to match your WG...maybe you can check if metro has the right size for your EG at its causeway pt outlet?...ya...lot of work to keep up during the renovation...remember to check for defects (touch wood!)when you have the time...and that means going down on all fours to scrutinise the details...very niao hor...but the reno cost is in $xxK leh!

Gintonic...think you too stress liao...remember...a relax bride is a happy bride ;)

Peg76,
Mine PS is on 8/7.. Yes, mine is MTM.. Shef is my coordinator.. she happens to be my long time friend as well...

I have already gone for my 1st fittings last monday... really like the gowns very much! What is MUA?

Janet,
Dont worry, most of the OTR are brand new. But ofcoz there are some OTR which have been wored before during PS or are from other brides' MTM. If you are particular bout photography, u may want to consider Wedding News.. They have very nice gowns as well as Dean, the photographer is very detailed and his skills very good.

Agree wif HP, if u are looking at MTM, better do it fast... else too rush. It really depends on what kind of gowns u r looking at.. if u like embriodary, u may want to consider Flamingo.. even their OTR are beautiful. But not sure bout their photography skills.

Hayashi,
Yes, i have booked the grand ballroom. Havent chosen the theme yet.. what bout u??

gintonic,

wow, u go for face threading also ah... is it painful???

yah, dun stress.... get your hubby to help also lah....

oinkoink,
wow, metro @ causeway point a bit far for me... i'm staying in northeast region... anyway, still keeping that design on kiv coz the shoes quite ex... more ex than my WG shoes leh... heehee...

yah, reno going to be a big deal... but at least this contractor is someone we know, so can trust to help keep the renovation progress going... but we will still go there rather often to make sure that the end products is wat we want... if any discrepency, can at least intervene in time... the contractor also told us that if anything that we not satisfied, must quickly inform... so at least that make us feel a little more comfortable...

if you really want something with lots of green, i'm sure the burkhill @ botanic garden will be wat you are looking for, but a little more ex for the rental lor.... i'm been to a wedding reception there and it's great....

sorry...hehe...a lot of nurses here till I also cannot remember who is.

coz u say u free on weekends or holidays, so I thought u teacher

mei mei..
me saw the pics liao..u not that plump lah, so dun wori k..maybe u juz need to tone up some of the "unwanted" area lor..the BS will know wat is suitable for u..i like the back of the design lor, quite long train too..is it OTR or MTM?how about the front design?is it beads or embiobery?

from the pic, the gown seem abit short leh, (front view), r u wearing any shoes while taking this pic?this is juz my personal view, i like gown that fall nicely on the floor, dun want it to "fly" up feeling, get wat i mean?my gown is oso abit short while i wear my shoes, so i ask them to lengthen abit lor..will have to go try again next month..

Aiyo me stress becos want to mei mei mah for the photoshoot. My hubby have been beri supportive and helpful in all the arrangements. But it just that need to do the personal arrangments that is stressing me up.

I yet to go for face threading. Will be going next monday. Heard that its beri painful but my MUA advise is that try to do once for photoshoot and AD.

morning morning... Sianzz ... zzZZzzz... Feel so sianz goin to work.... Goin to bath now.. Chat wif you all when rch off..