(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi Lynn,

Any machine above 7kg will be fine...
We bought ours (8Kg) one. can do a lot of washing. But you must check out whether they are water and energy saving. Most of the big one might not be.

Hi Rabbitwsk,

PM you. (this is my first time PM people. Hope get it right)

BinBin : looks like your photo selling like hot cakes leh.... I also wan to K-Poh and hv a look....

Hello and welcome the rest to the tread.. its been long since I last posted... buzzzzzy.. as usual...

C_pin : where r u? missing after married... so how is married life? As for me, still the same.. no different to me except I guess its nicer to live together as one under the same roof and able to share everything together..kekekke

Hi Gals, how's everybody???

Sorry, really busy and tiring... Felt like not getting married liao!!

Oh, anyone got recommedation for Caterer?? Need help urgently cos i totally forgotten. My MIL side, she already settled, but not for my side. Last Sat, Valentine day was a bad day for me!!

Tok to u gals later and will then try to read the posting.

Stay Happy for All and Have A Blissful Marriage!!

dowry ahh .. i also not sure. my mum said chin cai also. anyway, the bride side is to return half the amt to the groom's. tin this tieup with how many tables are the groom's giving to the bride's. if alot, then the dowry can be negotiated to be lower. oh ya ... nicer to give an auspicious amt with the figure '8'

Hi kk, u r doing the right thing
got ur mail and replied!

babysheep, i went to lee hwa and see too... really ex. I saw one set without ring already 4K plus, promotion price somemore....
Then my friend recommend me to this jewellery shop at Forum Gallerie at Orchard tt sells very nice diamond design there. Immediately saw the design i like then buy liao
cos there design is only of 2-3 sets. No mass production. Now they hv 20% disc for citibank card holder till end Feb. U might like to drop there and see.

We have set our target at 3K(without ring) and manage to stick w it.

Lynn and ladies, washing machine must be at least 6.5kg in order to wash massive stuff like bedsheet. Mine is 6.5kg, samsung and its working well

juz read the postings..me havent get my flat so dun know anything about the household stuffs but glad to learn abit here and there..

u gals are soooo good, can ask your MIL to buy white gold, for me i am a hokkien, so only need to have a pair of gold bangle, my mum keep wanting me to buy gold lor, so sad leh.. even she is buying gold for me, aiya, quite upset..but maybe i will tell her to buy white gold and then plated with gold for AD...hope that she can get my hint!!

dun know y, feeling abit unwell now, quite tiring lor..will be going home to rest..tomolo have to go BS for 2nd fitting..or maybe its that my hubby going oversea this thur, that y unwell..

hi keann & madwoman,

where u gals ? Come out leh, need to find out how your PS went, if u have gone.
How r your wedding plans coming along ? Me damn 'luan' now...settle a bit here and there only... btw, have u gals booked your marriage license as well ? I almost forgot about that u know.. hahahahah... anyway, they say u can only do it 3 months b4 the actual wedding, & not less than 3 weeks b4.

hi juliana,

its ok, no lah..u're doing fine. Just like me lah, still only at the 'bridal package + venue settlement' stage. wedding card designs are quite plentiful wan.. can search at the 'Invitation Card' thread in this forum. There's lots of contacts there. AD photographer too...many types with different styles...

U can try getting EG accessories from ebay.
Try : www.ebay.com & search for your item there.
All items on bid purchase.

Have u gone for your gown fittings ? If u haven't u need to at least have 1 or 2 soon.

Onee : Thks. As the date is closer to my PS, getting more excited...hehe

Apr: Hopefully I hv the time to have an early nite bcoz most of the time I need to do hsework. Sob sob...Ok I will take note of the things to bring. Thks. I will check with my BS this coming trial makeup on 28th Feb whether is there any helper. Hopefully there is bcoz dun wish to bother my friend to take leave as its on weekdays.

Hi oraia, stubbilla and crayon, thanks so much for your advice!!

will be tokking to them soon to firm up details . .

Hi secret garden . .actually i dunno wat otha stuff i have to source for otha than for my reno . . have already booked my Bpackage with Sophia but haven't done anything else yet . .

If i'm targetting a wedding on 3Dec, any idea when i shld start to do the WG, EG and PS?

: p

Wow... suddenly so many postings... lastly week it seem only me n piper... good good

Odie/Piper,
Must be really a relieve that the actual day is over.....

me getting more n more 'gan cheong', worried as well... haven't got my wedding song out... n my hubby just leave it to me... sign~~ headache... tonight must completed it... by the way how many songs need to pick for the background music?? guess if really no time will just pick the song for marchs in, champange n cake cutting...

Ocean,
Relax lah... my mother din prepare catering as most of my jiemei will be eating at my in law place... so only left with my relative which no a lot of pple... so she decide to cook something simple..

Amethyst,
Yup collected my album on sat... like it too... no time to upload onto the web.... let me finish my wedding song 1st.... u might done up b4 me...

Odie,
Thanks for the tips.... guess must really find one that can make decision one!!!

Lastly.... I'll be join Xue for Korea Honeymoon leaving on Sun

hi blurry
no worries, it's usually like this, sometimes, we get so excited about the whole wedding planning, we can't get our priorities right
don't worry, over here, the gals will be able to help u set ur priorities right

as for the dowry, i think figures ending with "9" will be good cos for marriage, u want it to be 'chang chang jiu jiu", what say u?

hi lynn
i agree with kkwai, the bigger washing machines, altho may not have much difference in price, may have a lot of difference in terms of water consumption. so, bigger doesn't necessarily mean better. 7 kg should be sufficient to wash bed sheet sets. also, it really depends on how much laundry u have. if u don't have much, don't need to get 8.5kg since u'll be wasting a lot of water and electricity for ur normal washing as u only wash ur bedsheets once or twice a month.

hi babysheep
yup yup, that's my new place, did u go in and check it out? they're having open house now, they had free food and drinks during the hari raya weekend, not sure if they still have it hee hee

hi nickel
oh dear, u'd better take care of urself. ur hubby won't want u to be upset cos he's away, i'm sure he'll want u to be happy as well. if u're bored, just organise outings or something lah, we'll keep u company

Hi Poshies...

Well... it is a relief. But now its the start of the adaptation of a new life ;)

A CD can usually accomodate songs lasting up to 1 hour 15 mins. So 15 songs will be a good guage.

No prob for the tips. Guess that it gives me another reason to relive the moments.

Enjoy your wedding and honeymoon!!!

Seems like most of us are getting very buzy.
For those who had their big day done, congrates. Big hooray! Enjoy your honeymoon

trying to remain cool though there are still many things which I have yet to do

Ocean, yah.. try to relax. Think people get agitated easily when stressed. Just let whatever happen on Sat drop, we come so far already, just concentrate on counting down to actual day and be a happy bride.

I book continental delight for buffet. But i didn't manage to reach them to confirm my reservation.

Stay cool everybody, esp all fellow 21 Feb brides.
Have a great wedding

hi poshies,

depending on ur preference, you may need to select up to 30 songs as background music if you do not want any of the songs to be repeated.

we've picked close to 50 songs for background music and on top of tat, we have also picked the following songs:-
1) 1st march in
2) first dish presentation
3) 2nd march in
4) last dish song coz we really liked tat song very much & think it's very apt to end the evening with tat song. It's Twilight Time by The Platters. We just let it run on repeat mode till all the guests get the hint...kekekekeke

Our presentation song was selected by my SIL.

binbin : i know lah...
valentine's day me and hubby pass by our PS place.. and guess wat.. the actually fence up th eplc liao.. cant access anymore...

hi gals.. me now going home to rest liao, guess i didnt get eunff sleep yest, that y feeling abit giddy lor..nw now much better liao, thanx!

kk..
me will rest well k, all of us want to look mei mei on that day!

ynvoone..
i am glad that i have u gals ard to be with me..dun wori i will surely bug u all..

have a great evening k.. miss u all!

hi yvonne

i bought my place liao, in bishan. if not maybe we could have been neighbours?? =)

hey nickel!!

hope u get well soon! must keep healthy so will look radiant and beautiful in oct. dun worry, we will give u all the support and keep u company.

my hubby also often not around one. most of the time, we see each other only on weekends cos we are both busy with our work, and have our own friends / life.

hi kkwai

my appointment is this fri, 20/2. at 6.30pm. urs? u wanna meet for dinner or sthg?

hi nickel
good to hear, must always stay happy, then u'll look pretty and radiant on oct 30

hi babysheep
aiyah, what a pity, nevermind, can always meet up and yak

i am a july bride too! 4th july 2004. anyone same date as me?

i am doing my wedding at raffles town club (last min lor) but it is a beautiful ballroom with high ceiling and good food. only location a bit troublesome cos it is a bit away from newton mrt.

my bridal shop is jawn. went thru gown design already. but have not seen the gown yet.

glad to see other july brides!

How come the thread so quiet huh??? ]
Think everybody goin full force wif their preparation liao huh?

6 Mar brides, howz preparation gettin along? We have only abt 3 wks left and only 2 weekends to use liao... heehee...

Binbin,
Wow, u gotta leave so early ah!!!
It'll be a super long day for u liao... I have no timing to hit, so my HB will come at 8 and then we leave at 9... At least can sleep longer...

Hi shinchan, me practically not doing anything nowadays
My timing around same as you. We're suppose to reach his house around 9.

Anyone GDL already? Mine's coming Sat, and I'm totally clueless about it...

hi secret_garden,
so you also decide to engage Ernest Video, same as twinkeleglint huh. u got meet up with the videographer and see the portfolio? now a bit tempted to get videographer too...

hi bynne,
<font color="0000ff">u're welcome</font>

I'm still sourcing for my BS, so not sure also when is a good time to go for your 1st appt with your BS. I guess it all depends on how long your BS needs to MTM the gowns loh and when is your PS loh.

any idea normally how many months in advance to take PS?

my friend decide to continue with her BS despite the negative comments loh, she decided to give a try. but when she called to ask when to go for 1st appt, the lady just anyhow say 6 mths b4 the AD can liao. she didn't even bother to advise her when is the best time to take PS, when to have 1st appt, etc.

so now my friend a bit worry that the BS may not have enough time to MTM if she really listen to the lady and come for 1st appt in 6 mth b4 her AD.

is typical BS like tat one? heard some say BS people need to keep calling them to pester else they just ignore.

I am finally back from my honeymoon from Maldive. Its really a beautiful place to relax.. attached a pic of my stay at the water bungalow :P

your_image.gif

For those whose wedding are not over yet, don't be stressed out, k. Imagine I am still working on our song list the day before my actual day and everyone is saying "hey, tot both of you not suppose to meet the day before the AD" heehee.. :P things will always fall in place on the actual day, so don't get stressed up. Just smile and be a happy bride. Its really a wonderful once-in-a-lifetime experience and I am still thinking of it till this day (even after my honeymoon)

hi smurfette welcome!

Hi yvonne, kkwai n rabbitwsk

tks for advise, think most likely will go for the 7kg LG washer. will still look around for the fridge tot. Still prefer national or sharp.

hi bynne, HP is right. u'll hv to check with your BS how long they need to MTM ur gowns. diff BS hv diff timelines. my AD is 21Dec and i've gone for my 1st appt n finalised my WG design liao

neece... i'm looking for u!!! yoo hoo!!! hehe... long time no see u. i need to ask u something

hi gals... just chio-ing everyone out on this thurs, 19/02/04 for dinner and 38 session!! Baby sheep and orasalind on right? Anyone free on thurs join us !! Targeted time 7pm place either plaza sing or paragon? Email me [email protected] and i compile the list for handphone numbers like what orosalind did :p

hihicc2, hehehe we are going to wake up at about the same time.
though diff day lah hehehee....

shinchan, yep going full force with preps. now that FH is back and the timing is confirmed, more things we can do. u stressed or not? yah loh, i also measure how much time we have left by the number of weekends, coz weekdays seldom can do muhc except paper work like schedule, guests list and stuff.

cat, i didn't know GDL gotta buy so many things one. my mum bought tea pot set for MIL, as well as jewellery case, toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, basin for me. she stll gotta buy pillows and bolster... we discussed abt the items to GDL during our food tasting. both parents there so MIL sorta told my parents what to expect loh. FH will be ordering cakes today....

Apr : The photographer's assistant called yesterday and advise album and CD of all photos will be available for collection in end March. Meanwhile, I'll scan the rejected photos once my scanner is working okie.

Yvonne : Can understand. Be immerse in the excitement and I'm sure your photos will turn out mei-mei

coco

If i join around 8pm ok? how long u gals going to chill out? Have something on before that. Let me know. Orosalind has my contact no.

Hi HP,

My PS is 3 month before AD. As for me, I start my gown selection now at a real slow pace because I do have more then enuff time. Maybe you can ask your friend to visit or call other BS and pose the question like when to take PS, when for 1st appointment, see how other BS works, then at least she gets an idea.

Good morning ladies

Lynn, mine a sharp fridge!Power consumption is ok and cool enough. Forget the model already but big enough for many things

Coco, me will be in Orchard tt day evening! Wld really like to join. Like Lynn might be joining late... will communicate to you via e mail on my hp.

Harlow, I have a problem wrt tea ceremony also. My parents insist that we serve them tea when my FH first comes to fetch me in the mrng. Thereafter, we go my PIL place for tea ceremony, then we go back to my parents' place to serve tea to the remaining pple.

Their rationale is that it's basic respect for us to serve tea to them first as my FH is "taking" away their daughter. They say it's an established custom. Anyone has seen the same thing being done or will be doing the same?

My wedding's on 6 March and GDL also this Sat. Kinda stressed bec. a lot of things not settled - guest books, music to play during dinner, photo display during banquet, guest seating arrangement, confirmation of lunch buffet details with caterer, printing of Church bulletin and actual moving of stuff to my PIL place. And there's only two weekends left...

Anyone also a Hotel InterCon bride here?

hi all... good morning!!

how was your Monday? hope it was great, despite the monday blues... was on MC yesterday.. flu..

hi smurfette,
welcome!!!

coco,
i'll be meeting up with my banquet coordinator on thurs to sign the contract... hehe... have not signed or paid the deposit yet...
lucky they're willing to hold on to the venue for me... you gals enjoy yourselves ya?

nickel,
hope you had a good rest and are feeling much better... take care k?

girl80,
congrats!!! keep up your efforts but remember to eat healthily too ya? excessive weight loss can have an impact on your 'qi she' too... me trying to tone up my flabby arms too... all my gowns are sleeveless so must buck up on this area...

lynn,
i agree with yvonne and kkwai... getting too big a WM may result in higher water consumption... actually my WM is only 6.5kg, but i'm able to wash my king mattress cover, quilt cover and pillowcases in one wash...

yvonne,
ya, he can be quite romantic at times la... but this V-day nothing much... we din get each other any gifts so you know what we bought 4 each other eventually? haha.. we passed by the ah pek outside centrept selling big sweep tix, so we ended up buying 1 tix for each other... hmmm... hopefully by next month... i'll be a millionaire...

actually i also have the same qn as blurry... how much 'pin jing' to give my parents... my agreement with them was that we'll give them the pin jing but collect all ang paos for the dinner as they wont be inviting their frens - just close relatives ie. their siblings and families... so dunno how much to give for the PJ... did ask my mom b4, then she also too chin chye la.. say any amt also can... leave me wondering how much to give...

anyway, not too sure if my MIL will be giving me the si dian jing or any jewellery in fact... cos they're not chinese so dun think they know the 'customs'.. was talking to hubby the other day then he was telling me to tell him whatever has to be bought cos he dunno anything... but i know likely he'll be the one buying instead so dun really wanna waste the $, would rather forego the SDJ... not too sure on how my parents will feel though... think they shld be fine with it la... hopefully...

hihi LH, can understand how u are feeling now coz i went through the timing headache like u last week.

well, it is actually the tradition that the couple shld serve tea at the HUSband's place first before coming back to serve tea to the bride's family. But there are ppl doing it the other way, coz of time constraint and stuff. but the tradition is the guy's side first. from what i know, some guy's side family dun mind if you are to serve tea to bride's family first. but better to seek their comments first before actually doing it. if your parents are insistent on that, perhaps u shld talk to ur PIL and hopefully they agree to that then it will solve the prob. but do note that you HAVE to go back to ur parent's place after ur hubby's place. it's like the new bride going back home kinda ceremony. it's a must. in olden times it's 3 days, nowadays ppl go back on the same day.

abt ur preps, think u shld concentrate on the photodisplay (if u want), printing of church bulletin ( r u a christian or a catholic?) and researching on the music. as for the guest books, u can easily find a nice one in wedding gift shops, or get it from your hotel? as for guest seating, good to start now but can also wait til you get ur RSVP then u dun have to do it twice. as for lunch buffet, you have already booked right? left details only? slowly move ur more import stuff to ur PIL's place this weekend. the rest (not daily stuff) dun bother first then....

dun be stressed kae? can understand your worry.....

wah, all of you mtm your gowns huh???

me went to gown selection yesterday, and confirm my gowns liao... hehehe... trying all the gowns is very fun leh....

anyway, my ps will be end of june...