(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi Forest,

Pardon me.. this thread is moving faster than MRT. Sometimes I just miss out what you guys say.. Have mercy on me... and patient too.
Me meeting her tom. for half an hour. She can only afford that time. Me too. Got to rush off after meeting her. Tom will be a busy day for me. :P

Hi Nickel,
Thanks for the explanation. Clears my doubt now.
Me now viewing for a church premises. Have a few in mind. But not many.
It would be nice to have a miltary one. Your hubby in army??

forest..
that is wat i want to say but juz cant find that suitable word to express it..aiyo guess really have to improve on my english liao..

pikota75..
tell u wat, u can call them up and explain to them that u r getting marry in oct, see wat they say..i heard from my friends that they allow her to extend up to 6months b4 she need to produce the cert, so call them fast!

hi secretgarden,

u oso attending MPC ah? i'll be attending in may. the one i'm attending is kinda "compulsory" cos my fiance and i are getting married in a catholic church...

my wedding preps ah? eh... not doing much. still doing research on where to go for honeymoon.
hehe. now thinking of taking a mini holiday. but everywhere birdflu!!!

ya ya... i tink u shd start ur reno before ching ming, definitely... shd give some time for delays if any.

wah!!! so fast 1st appt!!! must tell us how it went ok?

hi piglets,

really ah? i look sick ah? aiyah cham... my face must be green green hahaha... am better liao, thanks!

today is very very active, same like last fri, the response was so fast, b4 i can post it, i saw new messages again!
more like an aeroplane!

kk..
so wat are the few church in mind? how much do u need to rent it? do ask a few b4 u decide on it.. yap my bubby in the army, he always praise himself saying that he looks smart in the military suit..so we plan to have it lor..seem quite fun too and my church dun have military wedding before..

Oraia

Cos you like dragging.... If im not wrong you have an umbrella wif me... And holding a watson plastic bag.

Nice to hear you getting well....

okiee..have a break! have our lunch!

let contiune again after that..guess everyone here is on fri mood liao..me celebrating my vday tonite, still thinking where to go, maybe east coast?? or any ideas where is cool and windy?

Hi Nickel,

I have some in mind. SAM (but booked by other people), True way and Trinity. But must ask my pastors. Maybe they got "discount".
Not cheap to rent one. Around 1K to 1.5K, depending on size and location.
I have about 150 to 200 guests to invite, so dun need a big church. Won't look nice, if not occuppied. So a small and cosy one will do.
So you having the sword one. Is there uniform white like the one Zoe have? Must be very nice.. So envy you.

hi binbin,
haha! that's me! haven't changed. must be irritaed by me huh :P

how many tables you confirm with conrad?good that you confirmed your RSVP! must be less stressed liao

what little things add helen add for you? crystals? your gown is really nice and suits you to a T!

how much did you rent the cheongsum from doreen given it's new?

your makeup very nicely done! joanne is good!
where is the power station located?

i cant wait to see your actual day photos!

hi hi bread and secretgarden u've got mail. :P

secretgarden no lah not irritated hehehhehee....just amused hehhee. coz i also always have a lot of questions to ask mah, can understand one...

what helen add ar? hehhee...crystals sure have lah, but its little little things that suit my character loh.

the cheongsam from doreen costs $900 to buy coz it's new. to rent it for one time its $450. to rent it for 2nd time it's $225 (half of $450) and so on. if it not a new piece, the rental prices wll be cheaper. i rented it twice, so i paid about $600.

i also looking forward to the album leh, who isn't hehehehee.. :P no lah my RSVP not done yet leh, still in the process of sending out informal invites first. my cards will only be read next next week. :P quite stressed.......

oh secretgarden, btw did u sign up with divine huh? dun worry, they will always customise the gowns to suit the bride's preferences and personality. so whatever is on my gown may not suit you and vice versa, u must start the design process to know! hehehe.....very exciting...

Hi brambles, yeah he is the owner, took over from his relative I think.

Secret garden, i have gotten Qinzhong from Greymatter photography for my solemnisation. May get him again for AD but see how lah. He does quite a good job for my frens.

You are engaging contractors and not ID? Actually, we are also looking for contractors to do up our house when it arrives in Aug. Any recommendations?

me back from lunch liao, how about the rest?

kk..
do u have your own church?how about using it?in this way u can save the money for others..

yap..something like zoe..but now we have problems where the guys should stand coz afraid not enuff place..hope that his sword will not poke on me..heheheh..

pikota75...
yap..i like simple wedding with all my love ones ard me..
and perhaps during dinner time where i dun have banquet, i might plan to chill out with all my helpers and his "brothers"..

hi onee,
wow ur MU artist so nice leh!! with those huge gust of wind at tanah merah.. i hope my hair wont look terrible!!

hi yvonne,
yup.. wet tissue impt also!! and u can brign some props also to make ur PS more interesting... brign slippers to facilitate esy walking too

hi miaos,
hmm dun worry.. trust ur designer, ithink organza on duchess satin is fine.. if its the right design!!

hi cats,
yup.. tanah merah there is nice.. but better bun up ur hair esp the fringe part..cos the wind is really too huge.. my hair was in a mess... alwasy to adjust.. also need to bring slippers so can walk faster and btter on the grass... its quite nice.. also took w planes hehe
i went fullerton.. cos my photographer said the lightings there better than esplanade

hi juz check with u ladies..
for those that dun have the banquet, what is your plan for the nite? i mean after all the tea cemeroney and photo taking,guess will end ard evening time..so wat u gals plan to do? my mother said that by then i will be soooo tired liao but i am thinking of some simple activities that i can do!
any ideas?thanx!!

wah, so active, i was only away for a couple of hours and there are so many new messages, must keep up with u gals

hi kkwai
name of the scrub? eer.... it's loreal's body range. it's a green colour container, u can find it at all pharmacies, watsons, robinsons, isetan, etc. i think it's $19.95. sometimes, they package it with other items, so, i can be very cheap. i usually buy from robinsons cos they have good discounts.

hi pikota
oh, u've not ROM-ed yet? yup, take nickel's advice, call up HDB now and check with them. I think u can delay taking ur keys with a good explaination, that way, u don't have to produce ur ROM cert so soon?

i'm like u, i also want a small cosy wedding, that's why doing it at my place. have always wanted a poolside wedding since i attended one 3 years ago, this might just happen, as long as the weather on 30 Oct is good

hi nickel
yah, cool, a military wedding is definitely very nice, lucky gal. it's definitely going to be very grand.

hi nickel
actually, i plan to crash out at nite, hee hee. old liao lah, not as much energy as young ladies like urself.

u can either go clubbing with ur friends or book a small little pub so that u can continue the celebration with ur friends? one of my friends did that for her ROM, she booked a pub at marine parade, just for both their friends, after the ROM since only family went for her ROM

binbin, thanks! u're really photogenic

did u say that ur make-up artist is joanne? had wanted to get her to do my ROM make-up but she had already been booked
she's highly recommended by my friend...

hi kkwai,
no worries... i understand the confusion... im also very amazed at how fast this thread moves!!! kekekekk

btw, i think the scrub tt yvonne mentioned is loreal exfotonic... i'm also using this scrub...

hi nickel,
no prob... hope tt i said it correctly!!!

abt wat to do aft ur ceremony... hmm.. how abt gog to some small cosy restaurants n ve a good dinner with wine??? or try those restaurants near to east coast or pasir ris beach???

hi yvonne..
that a good idea!me thinking of going to some pub but no idea which is good..perhaps a small one will do..me will start to hunt for one and check out the price..u busy huh?never see u online in the morning..today is a active day again, guess its friday mood liao..

hi forest
thanks for remembering the name. hee hee, i can get quite bad with product names sometimes, but luckily that's their only scrub, so, kkwai, it's definitely easy to find.

hi nickel
forgot to check with you about ur t-shirt? how did it go? done it already? u must be very excited right?
my hubby has been giving me flowers for every V day since our 1st V day. don't think i'll be getting any from him this year cos we're too busy with our new place. even tonight, we'll just be going to town to get eat at the food court then do more home shopping. lao fu lao qi is like that one lah hee hee. but i'm sure there are a lot of gals who'll beg to differ, maybe i'm just plain lazy hee hee

dear all
me now thinking of a few..

1) find a cosy resturant and have dinner with families and all my sisters and brothers..
2) like wat yvonne said, find a chill out place (only friends) and drink till i peng..hahahaha..
3) book a hotel and have the quality time with my hubby
will try to think more and share with u all!

hi nickel
the place that my friend had hers was called vie winebar, tel 6245 0010, it's at east coast, u might want to call them up and check
it's a very cosy place, not crowded, so, good place to have a pte party

Hi Nickel,

My church held services in the hotel. We dun have a premises to ourselves. Still raising funds to build one. My hubby was wanting to wait for the place to ready then have the wedding.
Wait till then I will be on the shelf... :P

Ask your hubby put the sword case loh. Then won't poke you...

Hi Yvonne and Forest,

Thanks. I will get it this weekend and try

If you want to go for some activities at night, can try places like holland V.

hi nickel
sorry, forgot to ans 1 of ur qns. yah, today a little busy cos have a meeting at 4 and I need to do a presentation. finalising it now

Popped by to say happy valentine's day in advance!!!! Enjoy yourselves with your hubbies!

I will not be celebrating cos it's far too expensive to dine out tomorrow.

Hmm... Nickel, you having a millitary wedding too? So am I. I will be having it in church, which is all on the same day as my dinner and tea ceremony. My husband is in the army.

yvoone..
yap..me bought a t-shirt for him, at far east..hope that he will like it
me getting a small cake and perhaps we are going to east coast to eat lor..your hubby so good, still got buy flowers for you, my hubby seldom lor, maybe once every two/three years, then he will buy!

yap..guess u will be busy shopping for all your new house stuffs..enjoy the shopping k..its can be very romantics when both of you are eyeing at the same thing and can use in your new place..

once again gals..njoy ur day tonite and have a wonderful day tomolo..and dun forget its friendship day too!!

hi babysheep22..
really so long never see u online liao..glad to see u again..

that good..another one having military wedding.. remember to ask him to be careful with his sword!

if u want, u can always cook somthing simple and eat at home, i did it last year.."chase" my parents out by buying two movie tickets for them and ask them to take a stroll before coming back..its rather simple but i do njoy myself..oh yes, me bought two wine glass (red in colour, i mean the glass) and had a drink thereafter, taking all our pics out and laugh at it..by then, its time liao, my parents were back home!!

Hi jush and blurblurblur28,
Welcome to this thread.

Wow this thread is getting more and more lively liao...with all the Brides of Sept joining in. Ya, share with us on your preparation on your wedding...

Hi skylar and eternity,
I signed up 15 sessions of facial and free 15 sessions of eye treatment. But lately I changed all my eye treatments to all facials cos I realised that I do not have enough facials to last me till my AD. Anyway I don't find that their eye treatment helps in my eye rings lor. In total is 30 sessions. As I mentioned earlier that one of my fren jus signed up for 15 sessions of facials and free 15 sessions for less than 1k. In other words, you are paying 1k for 30 sessions lah. They do have installment plan for the facial package. I went to Haach at Midpoint.

For the mani/pedi, I have tried most of the staffs skills. All very good lor becos they will follow Serene's method of doing the mani/pedi. I have no choice but to signed up with them. Becos my nails are in bad shape. But if you constantly maintanined your nail shape, then no point signing up. You can just go for 1 session of mani/pedi before your Photoshoot and AD lor...
Hope this will helps..

hi yvonne, thanks for your help, okie, u email me at [email protected] ....thanks ya!

hi forest..thanks for your "tips" i think it'll be better to hold it an hour before the wedding dinner ya...

i guess weekday is also good la...cos not so crowded also

ya...i think the loreal scrub i'm currently using is the one that was mentioned by yvonne...i guess these DIY stuffs are not too bad either! at least can worked on areas which we need more attention !

hey ladies,

guess u gals already had a bridal package signed up right? any recommendations? i read a lot abt white link bridal and something "french" i dun think i'll be going for OTR...cos seems like not much time left...

Me having my trial m/up at TG's studio then followed with first fitting for my WG at Frederick's place... very excited.
Mmmm.... havent really tot of places to go for outdoor shoots... hubby have been busy with work so have no time to discuss yet.
Think I'm getting abit stress... been having dreams lately. Couldnt sleep well, or bak kar (dark eye circles) getting worse.

hi meagan,
my hse will be done up late feb or early mar........if u wan u can come up to see since my new flate is near urs. i can recommend my id to u.

**Wave**

hi oraia,
me also searching for HM location. can share share ur research? i haven done anything yet thro........

hi binbin,
got mail? *excited* i go check tonight!

the chegsum is nice n cheap! somemore wear 1st time lei!

your invite cards from conrad too? you using the red or the white ones? so nice to find someone with same BS and same venue. binbin, after your wedding will you still visit the website huh? wait i wanna ask questions no one to ask laio

dun stress ok? must be mei mei nradiant that day!

me signed up with divine befoe cny with kim

in fact i going for 1st appt next week. what do we expect from 1st appt ah? *excited*

hi nickel and babysheep,

I'll be having a military wedding too!
so that makes 3 of us!!! like to check with you guys - would you be having the sword party in the sanctuary itself? my hubby told me it's alrite as he's done it b4 but not too sure if swords are allowed in the nave itself.... anyway, my church's aisle is pretty narrow... as it is, already wondering if got space for me and daddy to fit together (esp since my WG is those 'pong pong' type), now got to fit in the sword bearers.... any advice? btw, which units are your hubbies in? They may know my hubby!!!

wow, this thread is super active... din come in yesterday, had to catch up by reading the archives liao... keep this going gals!!

hi blurry,

welcome... you mentioned you won't be taking OTR cos you've no time? ?? actually if time is a constraint, then you shld opt for OTR... cos you dun have to wait for your gowns to be ready.. usually, MTM gowns take abt 2 mths... so if you're able to get your gowns OTR, it might be better... if not, speak to your BS and let them know the situation... they may be able to rush a bit for you...

the other gals are right... you really need to settle your venue and BS quickly... maybe get your hubby to sit down one day, tell him what you guys have to do, and what has to be settled fast... let him see the urgency lor...

of cos, if you need help or advice, we're always here to help...!

hi blurry
both nickel & myself have santiago as our BS. i'm using them cos a friend of mine used them before and she was happy with their service. they're pretty easy going people as well. It's located at Parco Bugis Junction. Altho my package includes MTM gowns, I chose all my gowns OTR as I liked their gowns and I did not want any surprises as well. actually, u still have time for MTM, just that u need to confirm which BS u want to use first, then can start working on the gown. best is if u have an idea of what u want, then it'll be easier.

hi feroy
yah, have noticed tis thread is especially active on fridays, guess it's the pre-weekend mood that makes everyone sian of working hee hee

sorry ladies just got back from a super long mtg that started before lunch!

secretgarden, i got the ivory cards from conrad. sure i will def come back after my wedding one lah hehhee....can still chit chat with u. or u can always email me mah.
hey and i think there was a miscomm, when i said "you've got mail i was referring to bread and brambles...hehehe sorrie sorrie...

yes i know trying not to be stressed. about the 1st appt, kim will let u try some gowns, then will draw up a design for you. wil lgive you some days to think over before u decide...

brambles...oh really? isit the same joanne huh? ur friend also from divine ah? hehee...last time when i considering divine there wasn't any rom package :P.

ino, twinkleglint, irenes, blurry, u've got mail....

hi piglets,

our thread is always very happening one!

u really look very cute cute leh .... y need to wait for the book to see AD WG?

hi oraia,
you sick ah?
must take care okie?

ya me now attending MPC this week is the 3rd session... it''s fun! i am sure you will enjoy it too
how long is yours?

hey you reseraching on HM? can share? i find that in dec alot of places like cannot go, like very cold or very hot... where you planning to go? you going staright after wedding?

ya... will tell you how my marriage prep goes

next week going for 1st appointmnet
wonder how it would turn out

hi meagan,
ya i engaging some sort like contractor cos the ID is secretgarden ID firm
hahaha
i find this one not bad and carpentry work quite good n charges quite resonable, still waiting for quotation. I can recommend to you if you like

hi twinklelight,
how's things going for you?

hi yvonne...
i think so too... weekend's here...!!! holiday mood

nickel,
I think you're reeeaall sweetttt.... your hubby's gonna be so touched...
me? din even have the time to think of wat to get for him... actually we agreed not to celebrate, but tot i better get him something too... cos me have this feeling he'll get me something too... so better be prepared... hahaha...

hi gintonic,

Midpoint at Orchard?
i'm quite interested in the package leh... so how do i proceed from here? u tell me your beautician and i go ahead to make an appt with her?

how often u go for facials? once a month? how long does each session last?

yah, actually no need to sign for mani/pedi packages... just go for it when i need them...

Hi Feroy,

My church aisle is not that narrow, so I think can fit all of us, me, my dad and the sword bearers included. Plus, I intend to have my WG very simple and not pong pong cos I am a tomboy, dun like to wear long dress one.

Yes, the sword party will be in the sanctuary. I think it'll be very grand. Some of the sword bearers are my close friends. But I foresee that we will kena sabo until very jialat.

The last time at our post ROM party, they made us french kiss, but both me and hubby are very shy, we couldn't do it!!!!! =( I wonder what tricks they will have up their sleeves at our wedding. But I'm sure everything will be done in the spirit of good clean fun that day.

For me, I feel it's a pity that I had to ROM first because of the flat though. I would rather sign the ROM papers in the church cos that is when my hubby and I consider ourselves married, not the ROM itself. But no choice, must follow HDB rules cos I got my flat way in advance.

So now, in order to "compensate" and keep the anticipation and excitement alive, we agreed that he will shift in to stay in our new house first after the reno is done, and I'll join him after October lor.

blurry
Feroy is right. It probably is more time saving to choose an OTR gown than to MTM one from scratch. With an OTR gown, all you need are minor alterations and embellishments, and the gowns will be ready to go! I heard that White Link has got very nice OTR gowns. U can check it out. Another place I recommend is Allure Charix at Amoy Street. They've got reasonably priced OTR gowns for sale. $499 / $599 only. and u get to keep the gown. Margaret Brides too has a range of OTR gowns for sale.

binbin... yes, the same joanne. my friend's friend was a divine bride. my friend saw how good joanne was wif makeup and recommended her to me when i had my ROM. it wasn't a package. purely juz asking her to do makeup for me loh

binbin, u went to a lot of places for ur outdoor PS hor? envy... did u do them all in a day?