(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

talking abt honeymoon. I'm wondering if tour package prices are out for Feb/Mar 2004?

We are also thinking of spa retreat in Thailand. Most likely be going to banyan tree phuket
But we would also like to consider Krabi and Ko Samui, if there are also banyan tree like resorts over at those islands. Any recommendation?

Ocean...
sigh... i think i'll spend the most... without counting extra photos.. i've already spent $4100(gown+flowers+makeup), $1000+(suit),$250(shoes),$1200(AD photography)+$1600(20 photos only)= ?
wat else? colouring hair count too? think we have to give out angbaos for the kids and helpers right? big big hole in the pocket. no no the whole pocket will be gone........
at the end of my wedding then i'll count how much money i've left then decide whether i can go on honeymoon. so sad..........

i've a fren who lost $12000 for his wedding dinner. sweat!

Piper..
i luv spa... although i've not done any. haha. i guess it's like facial for the whole body? wah... heaven.....

hi canny

i haven't called moomedia... i'll give them a ring to see when they are free for me to pop by... if i go before 21st, then i'll let u know how it went via this forum k?

i'll drop u an email about her charges etc. (as far as i can remember). wat's ur email?

Yes, the pricing for the tour packages for Feb and Mar 04 are out.

Speaking of the amount of money spent... hmmm... don't want to think too much about it now... just in case I scare myself to death -.-""

Told hubby that I'm really consoling myself by telling myself that its for the wedding ... to make myself feel better mah... after the wedding I'm making sure that I save like nobody's business :p

buffy, ohhh cool.. then u can rest the days after ur PS too.. think it's quite tiring after PS :P

have seen their portfolio, the inhouse photographer dun have a fixed style.. which is good.. so any preferences can be made and he'll try to create something for me.

are u looking at any AD photographers?

hi oraia and canny, i've been to moomedia already.. they dun have much portfolio to show for AD photographs but their video is really good.. really enjoyed watching their mtv.. very creative and entertaining

had my PS today. rain...
so outdoor postpone to next thur. but if rain again bo bian. Dec what. any suggestions for indoor locations?

Hi DaBee,

Yup. She worked there. She said price fixed. Wow.....invite so many relatives quite heart pain wan cos maybe not breakeven. Must budget some money aside for just in case. But I know most of the time no choice wan.

My bridal shop is Flamingo.
Which one is yours?

Hehe... I got my prob solved :P

Secret_Garden,
U got conrad for your wedding venue? My cousin got married there last mth. Nice plc and food was gd too
So tink u made a gd choice.

How abt BS? Where r u lookg at? I am wif Irene's Creation.

I have stopped lookg for ID at the moment coz no flr plan. If i want it, muz try to get fr developer, or if not, might hv to ask my law firm to write in to them for me. So troublesome. And now, even my wedding date might hv to be brought forward. Aiya, if become in Sep, then I can't stay in this thread.. i will be really sad

orsalind,
Where's this white collection again? What is the style of furnitures like? My fiance n I like very dark woody stuff, like those fr Barang Barang or Rainforest. Oh ya, i saw this shop at Marina Sq that does this raised platform thingy for the homes. It wld give a pretty japanese feel, depending on how u want them to do it. It is made up of wooden 'cubes' with storage space inside. I like that idea very much!! Maybe some of u might be interested

okie, off to wk again!
catch up wif u all... have a gd day (will be v v busy at work... sian :P )

Hi Piper,
Thanks for the mail

Hi Blue Lake,
Don need to worry too much for those $$ had spent, I believe you will find it worth it when you look at those memories (you have all your gown and suit back rite), at least this is only once in the life time, so if it is still within your budget it should be okie....

All the best for the PS tomorrow!!!!

Talk about losses in the wedding dinner, also scare if lose to much..... sign~ had to wait and see.....OH still have additional PS photo $$ to pay!!!!

Yup don know where to go for HM, my hubby also not SPA type of person. Thinking of going to Korea, anyone plan to go there?

I've been looking at tours from http://www.airfares.com.sg

Quite comprehensive. But I think it'll be better to go down to the travel agencies to make the booking.

Hi poshies,

Actually, I'm also looking at Korea as well! But my hubby & i hate package tour....so now, we are still considering where to go for our HM. It's either Korea or Spa retreat.

canny, personally find their photos so-so only.. maybe becos they dun have much to show so impression not deep.. but their video especially the mtv montage is refreshing and personal.

Hi Blue lake,

Waiting for your photos ;)

I saw a heavenly place at Bali in one the magazines and tot it will be good to check out the rates.. to my surprise.. it cost about the same as going Maldives.. check it out gals

www.thebale.com

Korea is very very cold at this time of the year. Not for someone like me who cannot stand cold weather. Maldives is my 1st choice

Canny : Im using Hilarion as my AD photographer, as for PS, not confirm yet cos i have not booked my BS so dunno whether im using their photography services or not. he is quite good i should say, he did audrey de cruz & pierre png's AD photography too.
http://www.hilariongoh.com/

doremon: ya i rem you, im gng to meet hilarion another time to discuss the extra charges like collages etc, and oso the PS charges so not sure at the moment, you can ask him thru his threat or send him an email.

gals: his threat is at the "Wedding/Honeymoon Photography And Videography" topic and you can go to "Hilarion Goh Photography" thread. he answers questions to tis thread personallly

Have fun!

I am currently looking foa actual day photography. Had heard about Moomedia too . How is their pricing. So far I was quite impressed with Ruey Loon, Vividshots, Linn Kong and Leonard.

Any comments on the above mentioned photographers. Any recommendations for actual day videoprapher too as so far realised that I cannot find anyone that I like.

hi secret,
Receive ur email..and have send a long long email to u as well..

Do provide me with the info if u want to join the yahoo grp, okie?

hi hanyan,
Glad that u know how to configure the mailbox. I have this problem intially too...haha.
I have heard about this shop in MS too abt the raised platform, but it doesn't come cheap..

Hey, since u are looking for dark woody stuffs, you can try The LifeShop in Paragon..think their stuffs not bad too..

hi happybride and Ivory,
Shd be able to access now. I juz post a msg without any problem leh..

hey hey..think everyone contribute to the mass postings lah...:p

Anyway, for those who din know abt the yahoo grp, we set it up to get to know each other better, share information..and of cos' to gossip..:p
anyone interested, juz PM me..okie?

Hanyan

Ur new hse pte? Can maybe use the one given when u purchase the hse? It'll be just an estimation for the ID. Exact details can wait till u get the hse. Shld not be a prob. Anyway if u bring forward ur wedding date can still chit chat kpo kpo here.

Oh ya, i know that wooden cubes' shop. Very useful, esp if ur hse is small. Create storage space for u.

Btw, hanyan, if u want to avoid seeing so many emails from yahoo group. Update ur status on receiving notice to maybe daily digest. It will consolidate abt 25msg in one mail or 1 email update per day, whichever is higher. Or else, choose not to receive any notice at all. Let me know if u still dun noe how.

Secret garden
I like conrad too! Too bad it's out of my budget. :P

Secret, Sori, have not read ur email yet cos me went for gown designing yest and just trying to finish my things this morng, will log into my email lata. But I have gave u my ID contact yest liao.

Happybride,

Ya lor, the 2 of us combine, tian xia wu di. With Blurq and Ivory somemore, wow, the mailbox def cannot tahan anymore, must go on strike.

Hanyan,

I dun think The White Collection has got the type of style u looking for. Their furniture more towards the mordern style, not so much woody colours. If u still want to go there and take a look, they can be found in Marina Sq, The Furniture Mall, Jurong leisure complex, and many other outlets but not sure where cos I oni been to that 3.

Hi secret garden and brambles,

I cannot post his website here i think becos not allowed unless they engaged SB forum to do advertisement for them. For those who want the website, pls email me.

There is one of his work which i find very interesting: an advertisement style video with the bride and groom. The whole thing look like a toyota advertisment.

That is the one that attracted me

The deposit is only $100.
No, i forgot to tell ernest to bring his partner's work along.

No also. hopefully tonight able to speak to the photographer together.

Hi Annie:
you mean that Gerlynn works at Camellia Houte?? AIYA then should have know her sooner. hee heee
that is why my hubby and i decide to keep it a small wedding. everyone just invite those whom they really wan to. as for relatives' angbao, we think that our parents will keep them, then we have to pay for their tables. to them, this is a "traditional" thing. sigh. i really pray hard that they would give us the angbao $$. what about yours? diner where? how many tables? both sides parents would give you all the angbao collected? you all have discuss with them?? my bridal shop is Seven Heaven Bridal at roxy sq

hi hanyan,

your lovenest sounds like a pte unit. Actually, you can use the flor plan in the booklet/brochure and they can do an estimate for you. the exact measurement and cost can be finalised later

yes. I am using conrad. I love it very muchie
Reason being I wont be having a bid crowd and if ballroom too big will look very empty not nice. Conrad's ballroom just right. Now I am thinking for my soleminisation on that day, shd I also do it in Conrad or another venue?? hiaz

I am still searching for BS. As at now, I have seen Amanda(but will need to go down again), Sil, Wedding Present, Divine, Kevin Seah, Kai, Bridal Veil, Blush. So far, think I prefer Divine, kevin and kai. How is Irene Creation? Are they pushy? which photographers do they tie up with?

Hi blurq,
eh, what yahoo group?
what info you need?
i pm you?

hi Lynn,
me2!I love conrad so much that i have to scrimp and save more liao
where is yyours? your BS ? your lovenest?
I don;t seem to find Amos list liao

hi rosa,
no worries! take your time!

Hi cat, it rain during my PS and we postphone the date too. Try to schedule the outdoor early in the morning abt 7. If really "touch wood" rain in the morning, then u still have afternoon schedule.

sorry, i don't know any indoor locations that is nice.

Hi cawaii,

welcome! wanna introduce yourself?

Hi girlfriend,

Your PS this month??!! Must be very excited right? Have you plan where to go for outdoor shots and whom did you engage for photography?

I also shortlisted moomedia too, going to visit them next Thu. Haven't requested for their price list, maybe Canny u can send a copy to me?

I like beetles@work too, but after reading oraia's posting, find too ex already...

Anyone looking at Blackbox too?

Hope u day has been fine!
But me not so fine today... jus let me complain ok!!
I am a little bit shock today when I talk to my parents abt the wedding dinner. Their mentality is Loss $ is normal and ask me not to expect earning!!!They made tt comment is because they still hv the old fashion mentality tt my hubby family is paying for everything incl the asking table. Probably be 8-10 tables... tt abt 6K! And my dad sound tt he is not going give anything!! This time siao liao... hv to work extra hard for tt extra $ tt we mayhv to cook up. I told them tt nowsaday the couple pay, parents are of miniumal... then my dad mention like might as well honeymoon wedding since we are so afraid of lossing $!!!

sign!!I hope they are jus talking for fun and not serious abt it.

Thanks for listening, gals! Aft this I will forget abt this incident...

Hi Rabbit,

No worries, will listen to u.

Fm what u say, u mean u r not gg to give ur parents the full sum of ang baos fm tables meant for ur parents? For us, both my and my hubby will share the banquet cos and all ang baos fm tables meant for my parents will be given to my parents. In that case, I'm hoping for a breakeven for the whole banquet (incldg the tables given to my parents) and the oni losses will be the ang baos given to my parents.

Hi Secret,

Sori, I dun have.

hi odie...
haha.. i told myself tat i'll save as much as i can after wedding too. haha.

poshies...
thank u!!! tdy is a sunny day. and hope tomolo it will be. keke. just painted my nails myself. keke. too lazy to go for manicure. hee.

i dun get my WG back... it's rental only. i dun have a budget actually. i just spend on the things i like. i find it miserable if i control myself too much. haha. if i had, i won't go to Kai, won't choose TG Goh and Chris Ling. they are a bit to the ex side...

anyway.. let's not think abt money... haha.. be happy!

hi rabbit..

me oso blur with ur posting..

IT IS hubby side to pay for the 8-10 tables that ur parents are asking for.. n ang paos for that 8-10 tables are given to ur parents ah...

that is my understanding.. cos my hubby is giving 8 tables to my parents for my side of relatives, ang paos collected from my side of relatives will be given to my parents.. BUT if my parents decide they wan a few more tables cos 8 tables not enuf, then my parents will have to pay for that extra tables they are asking for
ang paos from the extra tables oso they keep.. that $6k+ is a sure loss..

this is normal practice.. whether old or new fashion
at least.. for me..

me not saying that we have enough budget for the wedding banquet, we oso hope that our rest of the tables can give enuf ang paos to cover the banquet costs ah

Hi fanny,

U can try ernest or kevin. Ernest charges $688 and Kevin charges $550. Promotion by 31st dec 03, meaning need to sign up soon.

For AD photographers, i have met up with a few ranging from $500 onwards to $1500.

Namely yew kwang, alan dai, andrew, kelvin from beetles@work, Sok eng from berryhappy, Derrick, kai.

So far, i am happy with yew kwang, sok eng and kelvin. Andrew is not bad also.

Hi Rosa

Thanks for consoling.
Not say dun give them the ang pao but more like if we make a loss, then they can help out. Cos my friends parents, majority give their relative and friends ang bao to help the couple mah! Well, guess cant compare. Lets hope for breakeven like u

Cheers...

Hi Canny,

Mine on 12 Dec 04, just confirmed the venue last mth, but now then start looking for BS and photographers... realized quite a number of them changing price next year..

Tot still can bum ard and take my own sweet time... heheh..

Hi Cat, I think that's the problem we run into when having PS in Dec... Actually I kinda hope it'll rain on my PS, cos I'm afraid doing both indoor & outdoor on the same day is too tiring for me... But must pray that on the second date, it'll be fine

Maybe u can consider ur hotel as indoor location. At least it has some sentimental value mah..

So how was ur indoor shoot?

hi rabbitwsk,

I think it's quite norm to expect some loss for the banquet..can understand how u feel, cos' we are the ones that are paying for the banquet too..

I have some frenz whose parents return all their ang paos to the bride and groom..hmm..they are juz lucky lor..

Well..dun brood over it too much..anyway, it's gonna be a happy ocassion, rite?

hi lazy and secret,
I have send you an email. Do check it out.