(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
wah, $160 is expensive.. i heard those stalls at si ma lu charge like only $10 (i dun believe la, where got so cheap)... but dun know whether they steady or not... some accept hong bao of any amount...

Jan, got your mail... wah, so ex...

yvonne, juz go to normal "taoist" shifu, only give ang pow of $10 or $20, i think.... guess fengshui shifu not necessary....

Hi Ever,
Ya lor. My sister got a neighbour oso help ppl choose dates and name one. Then she only accept angbao tht's all!

Now im confused which one to choose! To go for taoist or fengshui master? Some very detailed report incld guo da li & an chuan...etc

Then this hotel give us PRESSURE!!!

Hi Nov,

Welcome here!

Me too not having wedding dinner so we kinda of spent more on our ROM.

Actually most impt is how comfortable your parents and your PILs are on without wedding dinner. For mine, they are fine with that. FH and i prefer to spend our $$$ on honeymoon etc etc. So actually the mainpoint is depend on your parent and PIL. Even if you are not willing but they insist, you still have to obliged as not nice to offend both sides.

yvonne, i personally prefer taoist shifu, cos as long as they uses tongshu, i'm quite comfortable that they're able to pick an auspicious date for us... as long as the auspicious date doesnt "clash" with any immediate family members, can liao... no point spending so much juz to choose a date, rite?? it's juz to get an assurance, cos at the end of the day, whether a marriage can last is dependent on the efforts of both parties, and not the date of the wedding... for guo da li & an chuan dates, think can go to these shifu too....

me very blur!!!!
forgot to bring the receipt to collect the wedding bands!! sigh.... luckily, my bf's temper not like mine... hahahaha.... if he's the one who fogot to bring, think i'll be angry!! he so excited about the rings, yet i forgot to bring the receipts!!

Aiyo Ever, BLUR BLUR BLUR!!!
Yeah agreed with you... just need a assurance!

Hi Yan,
Just make tentative booking hvnt put deposit yet...hee hee!

Hi Lin, Soupie and Doreamon,

Thank you for your comments.

Actually my mum dun wan to hv wedding dinner and she encourages us to spend the money on something else. My fh's mama leave all the planning to us. But my dad wans the dinner leh.... haiz...

Our main concern is that we will have to fork out alot of money to pay for the dinner if the ANG PAOs rcd do not cover our expenses. U know lah normally relative give very little ang paos one.

Personally, I rather spend the money on home improvement or honeymoon lor....

I also tot of having a buffet reception after my ROM or customery ceremony.... and that's it...

Ultimately its our wedding we shd not care wat other pple think as long as we r happy rite? :p

I got my eyebrow trimmed by a lady called Agnes. Been with her for close to 2yrs already.. i find her gd and detailed. She will not rush her job even if there's people waiting for her service. She will still make sure she does a gd job and she doesn't cut or shave yr brows. Purely pluck n trim. She's now working at The Sch of Makeup at Delfi Orchard. But she have her own personal working schedule. So she will sms me every mth of her schedule.

Pebbles : wow.... so now u muz b v. excited n counting down to yr PS ar? ;) hmm...my fiance is in Perth. n he says the weather there is still cold! Tis yr, winter in Perth is really loonnnggg... cuz it starts early n end so late. Now still cold, esp. at nite.
Can let u know around end of Aug wat's the weather there now.

Keann : When's yr PS ar? So yr FH is there in Melby with you now also? He's studyin there? Sorry ar... maybe u tell us b4, but i lazy to scroll all the way to read...hehe....

ever, ahhh... oh no u so careless.. then collect tom loh.. lucky ur bf not hot tempered!! hehe..

Yvonne, ya dun need to spend so much on shifu lah, anyway, see which type u trust more loh..

Yan, saw ur mail, keep me updated of anything ya! hehe..

hi hi!!

juz called the shop, they let me collect using my IC!! yippee!!!

jan, you two sounds that there're some secrets between the two of you!! heehehehehee....

ever,
hahaha.. u lucky! can collect using IC!! hehehe..

no lah, no secrets, just that both of us are getting tired and sian coz of BS... the rest of u gals lucky, settled BS already... Guess after confirming BS, the next fan nao will be choosing designs!! Long tiring process man! haha..

Hey Jul really missing, maybe she went on leave to check her house...

ya lor, very tired and sian about the BS thingy... now Jan tell me abt CHC, my decision a bit shaken... and jan is right, after confirming the BS, have to worry abt the designs now..in fact, i have been thinking of the gown designs since last week... flipped thru whatever magazines i can get hold of..

haha, i think jul must be on her fours now, knocking on each and every tile in her new place.. heehee

hi Nov,
Yes i agree..as long as you happy. Maybe you explain to your dad for compromisation, about your intention for a buffet. I agree about the Ang pao.
Go ahead if you really want to spend on honeymoon..or home improvement. Love nest is after all important
It's a place where you go home everyday.

Hihi...

Guest most of u must be preparing to leave ofc ya. Enjoy ur weekends!

Jan,
You check wif PP again lor. Depending which brand you looking at but if you are getting OTR it range from $80-$200+. As for tailor made, I think there is one shop at International Plaza charging $250 for short dress n $280 for long dress. But again if you are planning to MTM might as well get ur BS to do it. Save the trouble.

Yan,
Oh no, wat happened to you? Take care ya!

Yvonne,
I just back fm facial hehehe.

Huh tong shui out liao meh? Oh no so rush how?

Ever,
Lucky they allow you to use ur IC otherwise ur bf sure very disappointed.

Sagi,
Once policy is inforced for 1yr, insurance co do pay out even if it's commit suicide.

Jul,
Busy wif meetings?

Hi marie,
We only just got house keys but we bought all our furniture during the GSS and just told them to deliver it on a date after we were due to get the house keys. We arranged everything to come on same day and all the shops had no problem with delivering the stuff (even washing machine and fridge) 1.5 months later. Actually i thought some of the offers were even better two weeks after GSS - saw really good cowhide leather sofa on sale in newspapers, but we bought already. So you must look out for the good offers =)

hi cin_p,
actually, i haven't played the piano for a looonnnnggg time...very rusty now...
yeah...i got Intercon to move up the piano for me to the stage. i ordered piano pieces for overseas...now i'm selecting the songs i wanted to play...

went for my final fitting...saw the beadwork...aiyoooo...really like it very very much!

i'm still collecting jazz songs from my colleague...he's got a HUGE collection...hehehe...
once i've compiled...i email u?

now...i'm waiting for my WG and EG fitting...as well as my photoshoot. dun whether whether i will look fat on photos anot...tried to lose weight but i dun hv the discipline...
the only things which i've not settled is my honeymoon and house. heard NATAs fair is coming up in Oct...planning to check it out!

hi poohbear,
yeah...it's a surprise for my hubby...planning to play a birthday song for my fren as well...coz her bd happens to be on the same day as my wedding...
;-)

hi poohbear
wow u bought ur furniture b4 u get ur keys... wont u afraid tat they might not fit ur hse? btw, where's ur love nest? when will ur pl be ready?

ino, i'm sure ur hubby will be very touched.

wow ur CS is done.. very fast arh.. must be very well done.. any photo to show?

ok.. thx for sharing the song list.. once u're done, pls email to me.. thx so much. really appreciated.

so when's ur WG & EG fitting? ai yo, u're very slim.. wont look fat lah... i'm the one who will look fat.. hee.. me no discipline too. heard tat photographer will tell u how to pose , avoiding looking fleshy. NATAS in oct? i thot in sept... anyway, where u gog for HM? i might ve to settle for a cheaper destination =( i guess i'll spend more on hse so no budget for tat. so how's ur hse hunting? i'm collecting keys end of the mth. later meeting my ID fren... hope she has designed something nice for me.. so excited.

Hey garfield,
Does agnes do both hair and make-up for wedding?? How much does she charge??
Thanks thanks.
My PS is in Melbourne...and my FH will be here early Oct for the PS...just for a week...i have been here for a couple of years olediz...so just wanna do my ps here with the nice weather and different environments....will upload the pics and then show it to you later in Oct lah...hope it's good, i have been sourcing for a photgrapher for a while and found this guy. He's not too bad...done a few singapore couples olediz..and very friendly guy...

Oki....hope tat all of you have fun this weekend.

Hi Trixie,

Been to GWC to view their new ballrooms. Quite like it. Have made a tentative booking with them as their package is quite comprehensive.

Hi Muimui,

If you love crystals, I think BV should be the one. Other than their gowns, you can look into their services to decide which one to take up. Take up the one that you are more comfortable with as you have to go for your gown fitting to and fro. You must be comfortable with the designer itself as you need to communicate with her about your WG. This is just my views. Hope it does help you.

I think I am going a little beserk these days... bot a 2nd hand WG at the designer gown sale over the weekend. I think this is definitely impulsive buying, coz i already have a gown in the making by my bridal boutique. Now am troubled as I have to find out where i can do some alteration to the gown, where to dry clean etc. Cham...

Am i a normal bride? Do u gals have the urge to get more than 1 gown?

mee mee

I'm a dec 04 bride too.Mind if i ask if there's a min requirement of no of tables fro teh new ballroom? Thanx yah

Hi Poohbear

wow! You are really fast manz..getting the necessary things before you get the keys.

we cant really start buying as we also have not confirm our design and colour scheme of the house. Its great tat they can hold till your key release date.

The oni sale thing we bought is the simmons mattress durin the robinson sale at a 40% discount..felt really happy with the purchase =)

Just bought TV and fridge yesterday at Courts

Actually quite enjoy such shopping trips..but of coz..it comes with a price lor..hahaha

<font color="0000ff">Morning gals!</font>

yan, hows PP??

yvonne, we engraved our names on the rings...

still havent had time to visit that BS to try out that ROM gown design.... sigh....

i went to a bridal show organised by OCC yday... think they didnt really publicize... the turnout was like 30 couples?!?! but, at least the tea reception was not crowded with people!! hahahaha... managed to see the deco of the ballroom and tables... liked it very much!! liked their ivory theme, but was wondering if its inappropriate for VIP tables to use ixory tablecloth instead of red? personally, i prefer all tables to be in ixory, so the only difference between the VIP tables and normal tables are ribbons tied to the seats... what do you gals think? will the VIP tables be not obvious enough?? and not sure if the elders will mind that the VIP tablecloths are not red? maybe peach for VIP tables? and i liked the idea that they uses fresh flowers for their stands along the aisle... hopefully, i get to choose the colours... dont really fancy red roses!! heehehhehee.....

Morning gals!!

hehe.. me have confirmed BS over the weekend liao, to end my misery over who to choose!! Well, didnt choose pp, i chose the other one.. (think u gals know who rite?) was reallllly a tough choice i must say, until my hubby also cant stand my constant nagging!! hahaha!! and since he gave me a reasonable package, and decided to go with him also coz he does make up and hairdo, like it that he coordinates most of the things himself loh.
So now i can start think of gown designs liao! hehe..

ever, how abt do they have goldish coloured table cloth for VIP tables?? wait wait, ivory is silverish rite?? And good for u, got ur rings engraved!

Looks like a fruitful weekend for all of us!? hehe..

Hi Mee mee,

You look wonderful in the makeover package. It looks just like an actual PS. I always thought makeover photo taking are done in studios only. I love your dark blue dress. I had one makeover taken 2mths back cos I won it in a contest, and photos are only taken in the studio. Yours is really special and nice.

Ya, I guess you r normal in getting another gown because I have exactly the same tots as you. With so many post of brides buying at the bridal sales, I am so tempted to go and take a look. I am actually thinking of getting an EG although I have one in making already. Well, I tried not to go to any sales first cos I am afraid I couldn't stop myself from buying, see how my MTM EG turns out first...

Hi pageup,

I had went to Ted Collection for my first fitting on saturday. The CS turns out great even without the beadings.

Have you went for your fitting at Ted Collection yet?

hi nov, try to convince ur dad lor.. i'm sure he'll understand.. even reluctantly :P maybe the older generation have the idea that u have to be married off 'well' so that u'll be blessed with a blissful marriage. no matter wat's the difference of opinions, i'm sure ur elders meant well for u. yes, it's ur own wedding but u would want everyone to be happy that day mah

amos (A&amp;W), hey were u the one who wrote the Forum page of the straits times ah? i think it's u leh.. cos university of calgary is mentioned hehe
cooooool

Hi gals! I'm back from exile
Went on leave last minute on Fri to check the hse. Now trying to decide what defects to report. *headache*

Silver,

Huh? U mean ur fren purposely planned to leave his debts for his family to pay? *sigh* Let's forget it, no point going on abt the departed. Just feel sad for the family.

Maybe u shd make up ur mind abt the photos soon. Later ur BS gets fed-up with you always bugging her that she gives u poor service! *hee* Just kidding lah, I'm sure she'll try her best. Then u can post gd comments abt the shop in the forum

I haven't even decided on which room to use for what prupose yet? How to get design &amp; contractor? I'm trying not to rush into things so that I dun end up regretting.

Hi ever,

Wow! So u got ur rings engraved too. How nice. *sigh* Wonder when I'll get mine? Maybe at least 6 mths later *hehe*

When do you have to go to BS to settle the ROM dress design? Got latest dateline so that they can finish it b4 ur ROM right?

Yvonne,

Someone's asking for your date already? So have you seen the shifu / consulted tongshu / etc already? U going to confirm with GCW today?

Hi Jan,

So you've signed up for bridal at last! *haha* Envy you, all ur stuff are settled. Hse, bridal, hotel... Now u just have to sit tight &amp; wait for wedding day to come

Hi Yan,

Do take care! I got the sniffles too. Coz it was raining all weekend! *sigh*

Sagi,

Hi hi! So have classes started?

hi hi!!

jan, ivory is like off-white, so not sure if the elders will mind...
think they dont hav gold tablecloth leh... but, that's a good idea! maybe can get them to buy a few! hahahaha..... thanks!

jul, you're back! we guess as much... must be busy over the house.... shld report everything, rite? then they can rectify everything for you... ya, no hurry, think about the theme/concept that you like before deciding on the reno stuff...

i'm supposed to go to my BS in early sept to MTM my ROM dress, but i wanted to go to another BS to try a gown that i like very much... saw it in the mag... so, can tell if the design suits me... guess still got some time lah...

Morning Ladies,
I'm on MC today, nw resting at home! Was coughing and having running nose over wkend!

Hey, i've oreadi asked this Fengshui shifu to check e auspicious date. The report will be out probably in 3 days time.

Hi Ever,
U engraved yr wedding bands so fast? Tot u can wait abit more time to try out the size of e ring before u do e engraving. Btw, i took my ring last friday... now just waiting for my ROM day to come!

Hi Jan,
Good to hear that you've decided on yr BS. A heavy load off yr mind... BUT design wise is another BIG headache... hee hee!

Hi Jul,
Thk u shd report all defects, see wat HDB says!

This week is critical for Silver, Yan &amp; myself cos HDB will announced sales of flat!!! Hope is good news for us...

Hi ever,

Hmm.. The ivory will look nice to us 'youngsters', but u're right to worry abt the elders. Not sure whether ur older relatives are the modern type? Becoz when u take photos, the tablecloths will look white right?

Apparently, some minor defects are not easy to rectify. In fact, someone was telling me that they might try to 'ying ying' rectify to please us. In the end, might end up worse than before. So a bit worried abt what to report lor.

Well, if Sep is the dateline, u still have a few weeks to try the design that u like. But how are u gog to remember the design? Does the mag show the design very clearly?

Oh yeah, it's time for WIS again. If u see Fernvale flats in the list, maybe can come my place to take a look *hehe*

Hi gals!!

Yvonne, take good care ya.. Wow, ur result will be in 3 days time, excited for u!!! heheh..

Jul, if it's really tiny defects then prob u can ignore them... seems like this is quite a trouble huh..

Jan,

Yeah, it's such a headache. Did u have so much trouble with ur flat? I'm wondering if it's becoz I'm very fussy... I'm gog to ignore the tiny defects. But just wondering abt the medium ones *hehe*

Hi Ino,
wahh... you're so fast, finished your final fitting already?? I've got 1 more fitting to go for EG and then to see details when it's done. Can email me your list of jazz songs when you've compiled too?

Hi cin_p and Marie,
Oh, we weren't worried they won't fit house, because we bought completed condo unit directly from the developer. We saw the unit twice before we confirmed purchase, then we asked developer to let us into the house to measure everything to think about our decor and furniture.

Colour scheme *nature* was easy to choose because condo comes with floor, kitchen, bathrooms, wardrobes, doors etc done up. We weren't too fussy because we're already very very broke after paying downpayment. Not much cash left, so no reno, just furnish. We took advantage of GSS to get good bargains. As long as quality is good and doesn't break the bank, fits nature theme, we just buy! Most of our stuff came from ScanTeak and Modern Living. Yesterday we just bought TV sideboard, coffee table and side table from Modern Living at Anchorpt where they are having opening sale. We got very good deal... you can go and check it out. We got our lights and curtains from Ikea, some lights from Balestier Rd. Hubby taking leave to DIY fix them all this week. I did almost all the painting yesterday so back aching like crazy... (hubby can't paint for nuts!)

Better to sort out as much of the house as possible before the wedding so that you won't be so stressed and busy juggling too many things at the same time later on. I think all furniture shops have no problems holding the stuff for you as long as you can give them a reasonable fixed delivery date. We managed to get everybody to deliver everything next Sat, 6 different shops!

We target to finish house stuff by end Sept, move our sutff in by early Oct and hubby will half live there first. Leaves us free to sort out banquet, cards, guest list, church wedding, caterers, etc etc in Nov and Dec. My friends tell me 2 months before wedding is the most busy and stressful, so we decided to spread out the stress a bit more. Don't want to break out in zits, must look pretty for big day...

Think you should try to think about it and decide what to do soon, esp if you're on a budget and need to shop around. We took the whole duration of GSS too look around and bought most of the stuff in the last week of the sale. Didn't manage to buy a single blouse during GSS... *sigh*

Jan,

No lah! I also dun have any list to check. I just made my own list from some advice from frens &amp; colleagues.

I guess non-premium flats have a lot less things to check. Also potentially much less defects. Wished mine were std flat *hee*

So u signed up with bridal already. Did u mange to get it w/in ur budget?

yvonne, take care, k?? impt week for you, man!! you collected yr rings on fri too? guess you went to a diff branch.... my bf dont wanna make another trip down, so we engraved on the spot... anyway, the ring sizes are ok... we tried a few sizes before getting them to customize it for us!

wah, must wait 3 days for the report? sounds like he'll give you lots of info!!
so, which fengshui master did you go to? did you tell him yr tentative date? ya, guess i'll go for gold colour or peach for the VIP tables... if not, it wouldnt be outstanding at all!!

jul, true hor... scared it'll be worse after they rectify!! sigh.... oh, the design on the mag is quite clear... so, shld be ok!

jan, guess we still hav time to think of designs... there'll be new issues of local bridal mags coming out in sept... so, can grab a few and start brainstorming!!! oh, you liked two-piece EG, rite? saw a design yday that i liked very much!! its bareback with chains of beadings connecting the neckline to the waistline and its red!! very very sexy, but really bareback.... guess i need to slim down before i attempt to wear a 2-piece!! heehehehhee.....

Yup Jul, he did deduct a bit from his initial quote and was thinking he's easier to work with since most things he does himself, so wat the heck, just take him lah! haha.. Was really in a fix on Fri and Sat, not knowing who to choose and my hubby couldnt stand me nagging and bugging him about this!! So that settle, he also happy!! hahaha!!