(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hey,

Will go down to GCW and Pan Pac to discuss abt the package (see which offer is more attractive)! Anyway both ballrooms are not as grand as the bigger ballroom cos we only taking 25-28tables!

GCW im taking the waterfront whereas Pan Pac is the ocean ballroom. So im struggling between these 2 places... wat u gals think?

GCW has got 2 big pillars at the center of the ballroom left and right side.

Oh Yvonne, so urs is also 4 Jul?? hehe.. so qiao.. officially Jul bride eh!! hehehe... Hey then quick call GCW and Pan pac!!!

Yan, guess as long as ur date is good then it's ok... cant please everyone and so many things loh...

pac and hence give bigger ang pows??!!!
GCW will be kinda fresh venue but pillars wise not so good loh..

Are all the ballrooms same level for both hotels? Better to get one which is more private so guest wont get confused which ballroom to go if there are many on the same level...

fencnef,
ohh...like tat huh? sori sori..my eyes really blur...hehehe...ohh...ya hor i tink u show me before..siao saw too many till blur liao...can send me again or not huh? :P:P cos tat time really didnt realise ur make up is so tat thick..

if my makeup not good enuf i think my uncle will layer some more for me...hahaha...

oki mi sent to u liao..

yan, BS gave invoice with the items stated, he wrote on the spot.. and then u can pay next day by chq, deposit into his acct or if not can do fund transfer..

yan, dont worry... i'm sure there are suitable dates for yr wedding loh... cannot be whole year also not auspicious, rite? my bro's galfren also dragon... they also planning next yr end... sometimes, cant take everything into consideration.....

Hi Smurfy,

I only have one cheongsum which is also my evening gown for fitting.

So the beadings take about a month? Did Rick or Don tell you how he is going to do the beadings?

no la, me not worried abt that... both of us not patang ones... gettin the dates is more for his parents... my parents just ask us to select a month that we like and see which day the dinner venue is available.. its his mum who wanted to ask for dates...
my parents very "green vegetables" one... my mum actually ask me to wear black for EG.. but face STRONG objections from MIL... *sign* i wannna my black gown...

yan... ur mum is so good, actually my parents also dont really bother too much..wear black can be quite nice but too bad, in case lots of relatives complain, to be safe side better not wear black loh...

Hi Yan,
Wow... black gown for EG!!! Actually nowaday alot of gals oso go wedding dinner in black dress, so no big deal anymore.

Hi Jan,
Pan Pac is really value for money and very attractive package! GCW Waterfront Ballroom share the same level as riverfront ballroom (smaller ballroom for seminar/function). Whereas Pan Pac Ocean Ballroom is exclusive on the 2nd level whereas 1st level is the Pacific Ballroom.

GCW waterfront ballroom has got nice reception and lobby area but got 2 pillars at the center of the ballroom. Pan Pac Ocean Ballroom is pillarless but with pretty low ceiling and narrow ballroom.

So al the pros & cons to decide between these 2 hotels...

Btw, my wedding date is on 3rd July 2004 (sat) which is the same day as Jul! Hee hee...

i passed by one BS @ marina with my parents and we saw a black EG, veri nice and sexy.. my mum like that black EG very much... she said she saw one bride in black before, and its stunning...and ask me to wear black if permitted..

but the next time, when i went into that BS to find out abt their package, my MIL and some aunties are with us... the staff there just took out that piece to show me, my MIL and her sisters, were all shaking their heads and say cannot cannot, not nice....

*sign* why cant they be like my mum?? what's wrong with black?? if it is fated that me and Bf are not meant for each other, no matter how red i wear, it will not last also wat... its how we managed our lives later and not what color we wear and when we get married ma...

hi doreamon,

when i last went to bras basah, the card printing shop on the fourth floor sells bubbles in white(church feel) containers.

i had wanted to buy for ROM...but objected by hubby...

you wanna check??

Hi Yan,
Do you really wanna wear BLACK for yr EG? If yes, try talk to yr MIL or wear to show them how stunning black EG can be! Saw 1 bride in black EG also on the web, very outstanding cos she is pretty fair!

Yvonne,
seems like tough choice bet the 2 hotels.. Maybe u see what's ur priority first. Is it budget wise, is it the decor, is it the location??
If budget wise - easier, see who gives a better deal.
If decor - up to u and bf to decide.
If location - think pan pac is better.

Ya loh, yan, doesnt mean wear red can last forever, u know lah, some ppl just can accept it.
btw, replied ur mail liao..

yvonne, if i can wear black.. i will definitely go for it.. and since i get back my gowns, black will be an easier color for me to wear for future events... but if really cannot wear, then maybe settle for dark colors or dark/bright red... me fair, so cannot take pastel colors...

dun worry too much abt the hotels first.. take a look at both ballrooms first then decide... if the price difference is not too great, then follow your heart, see which one you prefer...

jan, replied your email too...

where's jul by the way???
ladies, any idea whether sheration having any bridal show lately?? a friend considering sheration towers...

u know of any other bridal shows coming up for those 5 stars and above hotels?? my friend hb is business man, so need at least 50 tables and the hotel cannot be too lousy type...

Hi Yan,
I know Pan Pac on 31 August will have a bridal show at their Pacific Ballroom. $38 nett per couple... I thk by Michelle Huimin e designer!

Hi pageup,

No. That day when I went, a sales lady served me. Rick and Don busy with other customers. She quite nice and 'bah bah' looking. I guess its up to their discretion to do the beadings. In fact, my gown looks abit different (in design) from what they had drawn previously but I am quite pleased because it looks better.

When I asked how long the beading will take, she only told me tat its up to the seamstress's workload. One month is my guess only.

usu its only like $18 or $15 per couple wat... quite ex lei... but nevermind la, they rich.. dun think they will be heartpain for that $$.. will let her know.. thanks

Hihi...

I am back! My bf and I like B's work but cos my bf was rushing to work so no time to discuss with him. Will try to talk to him tonite. Hopefully can come to conclusion soon.

Gals, like to hear ur opinion. For actual day, if the photographer provides with collage album do you think it's still necessary to have 4R print out?

Next yr not a gd yr for wedding meh? Recently someone just told me this n next yr very gd yr for marriage.

Yvonne,
I think 9 sep very popular too cos I ve a friend ROM that day too.

So you cfm ur dinner on 3 Jul liao?

Yan,
Hey your mum very open ya? Have you try talkin to your MIL? But some old people very patang will not like it lor.

Hey if budget allow, ur friend can consider fullerton.

Yan & Jan,
I have emailed you gals.

Hi Pebbles,
Cold at night. Windy. However, during day is pretty alright. There is sun. Nice weather. But sometimes UV can be dangerous.

I'm new here. My in laws has also chosen the dates in May 2004 and it is a weekday.

Quite hesitant cos dunno whether all my ah yees willing to take leave or not and how will be the response of the dinner?

Can anyone please advise me as to which are the hotels i can go for?

My budget is not more than 650 and approx. 35 tables.

Will i be able to get good hotels since it is a weekday?

hello girls,
heard you talking about monkey year.. and black EG. hmm... i didn't know next year is monkey year. so interesting. I'm born in the year of monkey and i'm getting married in that year as well... so coincidental.

Black EG is stunning. I like black EG as well.
But i think those old amah hor might be fussy. But if you want to be politically accepted by everyone, hmm, then probably have to choose other colours. However, if you just want to be happy & be yourself without caring what others said, just wear it!
In my opinion, black can be worn anytime especially if you attend functions. Because i tend to use black if i attend wedding functions etc... so, this time my wedding, i shall wear colours

<font color="aa00aa">Morning gals!</font>

silver, looks like you're almost set to switch! heehehehee....
the collage album consists of most of the shots taken (eg. 360 shots) or is it juz a highlights album? if it consist of most shots taken, then no point getting the 4R prints again... most likely you'll be getting the negatives/CD-ROM back, so juz re-develop those that are not in the album loh... but, if its only a highlights album, i'll prefer to hav all the shots in 4R prints....

yvonne, any good news?

jul, you back? went on urgent leave again??

Morning!!

silver, yup, no need to get them to print 4R, print urself is cheaper! hehe..

Yan, can look out for the next issues of bridal mags, guess they'll have more bridal shows coming up this year end...
Btw, have u confirmed BS? sent u email yesterday..

Jul, u here today??

Gd morning...

Ever,
Hehe I will be bring my bf down to PP this fri. Well, it's almost set lah...

Depending whether I am getting the 20pages or 30pages collage but I don't think it can squeese everything in.

Jan,
Any idea how much it cost to print on our own? Anyway I think I will only print those I like.

Lin,
Hihi! Seldom see you joining our thread ya! Hope you are doing fine.

Yvonne,
Hey so wat did shifu say?

Yan,
STYLE mag will be out 3 or 4 Sep. You might want to keep a look out.

Gals, pls check ur mails.

morning....

i have settled one more thing on my list already... so happy yesterday... now can sleep in peace liao... but hor, still got nightmare yesterday on the gowns... think i think too much... getting short liao..

Hello...

silver, developing shld be 30cents for 4R rite? i think, can then u can buy a nice album to put ur pics.. DIY!! hehe..
haha.. saw ever's reply to ur email... good suggestion!! hehe..

Yan, congrats too! hehe.. so did u give u good offer? hehe.. Dun think too much lah, gowns still got time to slowly think abt it..

Good Day...

Hi Ever,
Haa haa... should learn from you! You aws got lots of good excuses for us!!!

Hi Silver,
Thk if you do collage than don need 4R just take back all negatives and develop on yr own save money rite! But come to thk of it, collage is all the small photos overlapping each other not easy to see clearly rite? Hmm... Guess u only need to do 1 page of collage the rest prob jus norm photographs! Im not sure im talking correctly anot... hee hee!

Hi Jan,
So Yan &amp; u got the same BS!!! Congrats on both of you... can compare and discuss for more in future ya!

Doreamon,

i finally remember...luckily got write all the research done..

its call techman...
should be on 4th floor.
they have one small shop on the ground floor..but got a bigger one upstairs...

they sell bubbles, feather pen, 'omelette' ring pillow...lots of stuf...but major in printing cards.

Hi Lin,
oh the weather sounds good leh....goodie...so i dun have to bring thick thick clothes lor, just light clothings will do the trick liao..
Thanks !!! but warm clothings for nite lah..

Hi Pebbles,
Yes. warm clothing for night. Today very windy hence quite cold. I think i can become part-time weather reporter for perth already.

Dear AMOS!!! WAY TO GO! I love your article. I am always a singaporean deep inside, and i can never comprehend people who wish to migrate to "get a better life". To me, HOME is HERE, where I grew up, the place which have given me so many happy things, help me learn how to be a better person. Though it is also the place where unhappiness occurs, this is where I want to be. I am rooted.
I am touched by your article. really wish to see you and wendy back now!

hey hey... so quiet today? hehe..

So Yvonne, u planning to go Pan pac for the show? Btw, have u made tentative bookings for gcw too to change ur date?? hehe... just feeling kan chiong for u!

Bin Bin...

Thanks..!! We have about 10 more days to go before we leave. Can't wait!! We are finally DONE!!!!
I'll tell Amos what you posted..he's busy occupying himself with the PC games...hehheh

Hi Jan,
Yes Ive made tentative with both places... "KS" rite... haa haa! Dun thk im going for the bridal show but not sure whether can take alook at their set up anot on that day...? Hee hee...

Hey Yvonne, tot where's everyone?!?! hehe..
i believe, there'll be a no of weddings next mth... Maybe u can ask the coordinator when's the next wedding at the particular ballroom u want, then u go down take a look... Not KS lah, last time i also did that... haha..

Hi Doreamon, I checked out Toys Rus- you have one big bottle of bubble solution only, or a pack of 6 small bottles (with the blower cap). I can't recall how much though (I took note but forgot promptly, oops, lol)!

Hi Jan,
I did asked and I will do so... the most HOT DATE is 6 Sept next month!!! Thk whole of spore hotels will be having wedding dinner. Abit KUA ZHANG but is TRUE!!!