(2004) Brides of year 2004

silver

Hihi...

So paiseh I thought of dropping by to say hello but went to wrong thread. I saw bin bin & CC2 name so thought it's 2004 thread

Forest,
FP this mth promo is 12+12 (sign up 12mths n get 12mths free) so mthly comes up to $54. They having 0% installment wif major credit cards. If you interested I get my bf to arrange free 1wk trial for you. You try yourself and see if you comfortable wif the place?

For me I am wif the Far East Sq branch and usually goes to the ladies corner hehe

Bin bin,
I accompanied my gf to The Oaks the other day and carol showed us ur photo. hehe I was thinking very hard who cos only saw ur photo from your link.

Pebbles,
I met up wif Kelvin from Beetle@Work as my gf is looking for photographer for her ROM. Both of us like his montage album but very X ($900)! So tempted to engage him for studio&outdoor photography. Now checking how much can be less off from my bridal if I am not going to take their photography.

Soupie,
You had ur ROM flower from poppy flora studio? I dropped by her shop 2 weeks back, their flower arrangement quite nice but rather X ya?

Hey you gals ve any recommendation for more reasonable florist? Btw, anyone tried Yasashii Florist & Gifts @ The Adelphi b4?

soupie

binbin/pebbles, yeah.. poppy's petals are nice.. they gave me pastel coloured ones... and also had some small tiger lilies in it which is very nice..
but still pretty ex for a small box lor.. :p

ino, yeah.. mind telling us how much ur jewellery set cost? if not the range?
so that we can gauge whether it's cheaper to MTM or get those fixed design ones
have a fren who is in this line.. and my other frens had MTM their jewellery esp. their diamond jewellery but it's really based on trust since u have to trust them to choose the 'right' diamonds for u.

soupie

silver, poppy is not the cheapest around but their flowers are fresh plus variety and arrangements are good

i had been to Yasashii but i think they are even more expensive than poppy.. they quoted me 100 bucks for a normal white rose bouquet... besides they had hardly any photos to show us when we were there.

jas

Hi gals, just 1 afternoon and so many comments!!! Keep the thread alive and cheerful!

I've had long straight hair for years. Love the feeling of straight long hair. Very fair-tale like.... heee
Now still getting used to my highlighted hair.

Hi Silver, I also haven't really done anything since I have booked my bridal and dinner. Dunno wat to do next. Any suggestions? Have already gone to the first fitting of gowns.

dolphin

Hi CC2: I agree with u, I oso hv natural curl, so I LOVE long, straight, silky hair... hee hee, I rebonded my hair for the 3rd time. Really can't stand my own hair when the curls start to show again.

My FH & I dun know anything abt auspicious dates & hee hee, we dun bother. But we do know both of our parents mind.
Binbin: Since we're getting married on the same date & I believe u did some 'consultation', so I think tt date muz be good rite? ;)

Btw, CC2 & binbin, u both know each other? 'cos u mentioned tt u saw each other?

Suzanne: Welcome! Uhh, r u Yan's friend?

Jas: I oso hv not done anything since I booked my bridal & dinner.. me very blur, dun know what to do next.....???

bluedolphin

Dear gals,

I realised tt there's another dolphin(esp) in other threads... so fm now onwards, I shall log in as bluedolphin. But u all can juz address me as dolphin.

Dolphin aka BlueDolphin

cyn

hi ladies, the rose petals sound great. do u think it's a good idea to scatter the petals along the red carpet? i scare it'll all trap under my gown.. kekeke..

onee, i like the idea of ala carte. can choose whoever u like. happy for u. too bad i've everything booked & wedding is abt 5 mths away. hey, ur ted collection package sound good - $2k for 3 gowns. wil he charge more if u wan more more beading? so u ve any photographer & makeup artist in mind? probably u can attend some bridal shows, some photographers might ve promo on tat day.

binbin, when wil ur hse be ready?

doreamon

Hi Silver,

U can try Orchard Florist. They just quoted me $35 for 3 stalks of calla lilies bouquet.

Hi Pebbles,

I got yr SMS liao. Thanks!

shinchan

Binbin: Wow, so expensive ah... actually thgt of doing ceramic or jap perm after customary. Monsoon charges $400 for my length, a bit heartache leh.. But it has been my dream to have soft curls & not the ugly natural curls I have now. If things dun turn out nice then I'll cut short & rebond lor..

CC2: I have natural curls too, so now trying to tahan with my lion mane till customary lor.. Look like a 'xiao cha bo' everyday.

Jas & BlueDolphine: Me too, have done almost nothing ever since we booked the venue & bridal. Guess we can only wait for our first fitting appt lor. Wat I'm doin now is to flip thru some magazines for WG ideas as mine is MTM and oso to chat wif u gals lor..

Actually all of us shld appreciate the free time we have now, otherwise we'll be ultra busy a few mths later...

cc2

Look like we have a lot of "lions" here ah? From now till march, it's still 8 mths to go, so I guess it's still alright to rebond our hair. Come March, no more long straight and silky hair!

Dolphin,

Binbin and I met in the 04 thread.

a&w

Hey ladies..

Wow..seems like the BIG DAY is drawing close for a few of you. Time does fly huh, not too long ago most of us were only starting to plan for our weddings..now things are really starting to move along.
So who is the first to wed in here? Someone is getting married end of this year right? I just can't remember who. Well at least for those of you who had gone for your gown fittings, you have an idea of what you want already. Me leh...after so long, become more blur. HAHah...Forest had to keep asking me to look around for designs otherwise I'll be even more lost when its time to make my gowns.

ever

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Morning gals...</FONT>
yawn.gif

so tired this morning... slept at 12 last nite!! sigh.... no mood to work liao...

think The Edge ties up with silverlining as well.... Dang maybe, cant remember....

saw some nice gowns at the knot website... now, very attempted to tailor make my ROM dress.... hhhmmmm.....

onee

Good morning c_pin,

Guess it all depends on individual couple. Beading for 2 gowns are included in the pkg. If I want beading for the 3rd gown, it'll be chargeable, around S$200 or so... Now looking around for photographer and make-up artist. Not sure if there are any shows coming up leh??? Will browse at other threads lah...

silver

Hi CC2,
Yalor. So malu

Hi Doreamon,
Hey that's reasonally. Where is Orchard Florist located? You ve the contact no? Thanks!

silver

Gd morning!

Ever,
When are you going to J&amp;M to choose ur ROM dress? Tailor made only if you can't find what you like lor...

ever

Morning silver!! guess you need to go office today...
hhhmmmm.... intend to go in Aug, so that there'll be sufficient time for me to MTM if i decide to.... ya, quite waste of $$ to MTM and only wear once hor... donno leh, cant decide... my bf suggested doing a simple coloured gown so that i can wear it other dinner functions... but then again, if its simple, then might as well get it OTR from J&amp;M!! sigh.... contradicting hor...

jul

Morning gals!

Ever,
Why dun u think abt MTM the ROM dress &amp; wear it for your tea dress as well? Save money, also more meaningful to wear the same dress that u're 'legally' married in, back to your mum's place for tea ceremony?

pebbles

morning ladies,
how's all the brides to be feeling today???
binbin,
when will yr house be ready??? thought u started yr renov quite some time back liao...im sure u cant wait to see the end product rite..

ino,
did u recd my sms, i send to u last nite..
hey will u will be seeing yr CS ah, do keep us updated ah and how's your flat hunting coming along??? seen anyone which u like so far???

sliver,
yeah i totally agree with u, i have seen beetles@work montage too and i love it too but i guess budget dun permit..but i would think if u have the budget for it u should go for it, i will be getting them for my actual day photographery but not for their indoor and outdoor..

soupie,
see, poppy even give u small tiger lilies mah..so its value for money liao..

so have u been doing yr research for your actual day photographery...???

garfield

Hi Marigold!

hehe... wat a coincidence! ;0) u havin wedd. dinner on the same day too?

Care to share yr details? e.g. venue of church/dinner...weddin package...etc...

keann - I went to Imperium once for lunch and the place is big! ...and spacious... layout quite similar to the old Sparks. Actually, there will also be a nice place for WD. But i didn't choose there cuz i don't quite like the menu. ;-)

pebbles

hello....
Marigold,
welcome to the may brides' club..
have u settled your bridal and hotel booking yet???

poox
hey good idea ah, im sure in time to come, this thread will be more active lah (i hope) with more may brides joining us..ahaha....and it would be to meet up and exchange ideas and experiences...since i will be so blur when it comes to the gou da lia and customary wedding stuff..

keann,
hey so now u r the only one with experience ah...what do u mean by a mess with the seating arrangements, thought we are suppose to do that up and the guest just need to ask which table they are suppose to sit rite...shouldn't have a mess mah...

ever

Hi Jul!! thanks!! thought of wearing my ROM dress for any part of the wedding too, but not for tea ceremony.... me already hav a kua which i'll wear to my mum's place... if i wear for the reception, then a bit stupid, rite?? wear for 1/2hr then rush to change to WG again!! hahahahhaa....
donno... see how loh....

binbin

hi hi soupie, agree with pebbles its value for money loh. u even have calla lillies to go with it.....special...

hi silver, no need to be paiseh lah....it's a mistake most ppl make hehhehehe..... about the flowers, soupie and me got our bouquet from poppy. love it...
soupie got her flower petals from there too......

how come carol have our photos huh? i dun remember she was taking photos leh....hehehhee....mind telling me what is the scene?
me curious lah....

Cin and pebbles, my house shld be ready sometimes in august and sept.
we started around end May. we told the ID to take his time, esp for the flooring, slowly do coz we want quality. somemore his wife just give birth. since he is considered a good friend, we told him to concentrate on his wife during that period of time hehhehe....coz we dun want his guys to work without him around. so we ask him to ask his guys to stop work for that few days too. added to the fact that we took beri beri long to confirm colours and materials with him....coz we beri fickle hehehhehee....poor him gotta wait wait for our decision loh.... but so far so good. starting carpentry liao. pebbles u are right, we are super eager to see it complete. looking at the progress now excites us...

Ino, me emailed my friend and cc you liaoz...

cin, scattering rose petals on the carpet beri nice....ppl do that to create sweat and romantic effect. pebbles, soupie and me did it for ROM hehehehe..... for your case, for wedding, even more romantic right....somemore walking in your wedding gown. if you are worried about it sticking to your gown, perhaps u can scatter the petals along both sides of the aisle, and not in the centre?

binbin

hi suzanne....eeerr...i echo dolphin's question. are you yan's friend huh? hehehhee...or perhaps u had changed ur nick along the way. we blur liao, coz scrolled up but dun see "suzanne" in the posting.

jas...silver is feeling paiseh coz she came to the wrong thread...
she saw our names and tot it was the 04 thread.

shinchan...yah man super ex. i also think so. so u will be cutting hair short if not nice lah? but if short harder to style?

dolphin, yes cc2 and me met in the 04 thread...hehehhee....

well, for the date, we asked fengshui master loh. actuali that date is not a particularly GOOD date in the general sense. just that it happens to be the good/best date for US in MARCH, and accordinging to our eight characters too. we insisted we want march u see.....hehhehee....coz my FH din wanna wait until May. did u consult fengshui master too?

smurfy

Hi Bluelake,
Thanks for the info on Greymatter. Will consider due to budget constraint and my HTB already asked his friend to take photos for us. Do you think it will be pai seh if we told him we ask someone else?

Hi Ocean and Pageup,

The reason why they need birthcert is to certify that one is female and one is male at birth cos IC can change gender if anyone went thru the sex-change op but birth cert cannot be change. Hope this help to clarify the need for BC.

Yesterday I was on leave. Then I went International Plaza to see if Leaping Lizard and Paradox got any nice wedding shoes. Disappointed, din see any that i like and dont feel like tailor-making one at leapin lizard though. Very Kan cheong liao, cannot find any shoes.

doreamon

Hi Silver,

Here is the contact: Address : 221 Henderson Road
#05-14 Henderson Industrial Building
Singapore 159557
Tel: 6276 4486 Fax: 6276 4355

yvonne

Good Day Gals,

Btw, who else is wearing KUA as tea dress??? Hee hee... Im stl deciding whether to wear KUA or a simple tea dress when going back to mum's place?

Silver,
KB quite tough man, now my backbone all aching...haa haa! But is FUN...

Ever,
Yeah! Quite a waste of money to MTM ROM dress. Like me actually WHITELINK got not much ROM dresses for me to choose. My initial intension is to wear white dress for ROM instead of purplish but it looks nice on me, so ok la!!! Hee hee...

jul

Hi ever &amp; Yvonne,

So u gals are considering kua for tea ceremony? Personally, I dun have a great fondness for kua. Not that I dislike, just dun like in general. But fiance hates kua, so 1 less headache for me *hehe*

soupie

A&amp;W, yah boy..hehehe my mind keep changing abt wat kind of WG i wanna have.. and i'm trying to curb myself from buying anymore wedding magazines now hehehe.. last time i like a full duchess satin gown.. cleanly cut with bold embroidery.. now i like duchess satin with a layer or 2 of organza with some frills and beadings.. i dunno wat or how many times my mind will change in the next one yr before my 1st appt..kekekekke :p

ever

Hi yvonne, not sure if the kuas at WL will fit you.... cos kuas are usually quite loose fitting and the skirts are drawstrings type, so they may not be able to do much alterations... me took in at the waistline and already reached the beadings at both sides of the top....heeheheheheee.... dont understand me hor.... means the top cannot be altered any smaller.... so, think you must take size XS, or you need to buy or rent from other shops..... that is, if you decide to wear!!

yvonne

Hi Jul,
KUA can be quite warm (so still considering)...

Will any of you wear KUA/traditional costume during PS? I saw WL portfolio a couple wore KUA during PS and is not bad! Is not like traditional photos so serious and sit up straight tht kinda, more on fun side...!

Btw, nowaday the trend is to bring a set of casual wear for outdoor/indoor PS rite? Will you gals do that also??? Do you like B/W photographs???

jul

If u decide to get kua, can go try House of Etiquette. Heard that they have all sorts &amp; sizes there. But the rental is apparently not cheap. But I've never been there, so u might go take a look for yourself?

jul

Yeah I like B&amp;W! But dunno if the album will look very dull if there're no colours. We'll decide when the time to take PS comes next yr *hehe*

Actually, we haven't decided whether to wear kua / casual wear for PS. Still long way ahead leh... How abt u? Decided what to wear for PS already?

jan

Hellooo!

A bit busy today!
Talking abt PS now eh..
Hmm.. Most prob for me just wear WG, EG, tea dress and perhaps yup casual wear... not sure yet lah... Me dun really like kua too, yup, got this feel that it's gonna be very hot wearing it.. hehe.. Jul, i think mix a bit of colour with B&amp;W will be nice too if u scared too dull..

yvonne

Yeah i agreed with Jan, mixed abit of b/w with color (some formal/casual outfit) will look just veri nice... hee hee!

So i assume most of us will go for journalist magazine style album? Same goes to on the actual day???

Wow... budget constraint man! Got to plan wisely...

yvonne

Thanks Jul, I heard of House of Etiquette they are specialist in KUA!!! What abt cheong sam? Any1 interested in the idea cos i saw this girl wearing CHEONG SAM for PS n during tea dress????

jul

Hi Jan,

Same! I was also thinking of WG, EG, TD &amp; CW. Then of course I'll have another WG for outdoor PS. So that's like 5 outfits already! I feel it's a waste of time &amp; energy to change too many outfits. Just penalising on my time for PS.

Yvonne,

My bridal shop requires me to top up $800 for mag style itself. Then have to count by photos for each additional photo for the mag album. Very ex right? I think have to top up ard $2k for mag style *broke*

Hmm... I think the CS is nicer than kua. More feminine. I really think the classic CS look is personified by Gong Li. She looks soooo good in CS right? Me, no figure to wear *sigh*

jas

Hi binbin

I also went to choose the wedding date according to our 8 characters. Then when I found out it's Friday, wanted to change at first. But my bf advised against it, cos since we already asked them to choose the best date for us, we should stick to it!

I'm feeling quite bored at home. Clearing my leave. Going on to my next job in few weeks' time. So now trying to clean my room, and go gym to work-out and de-stress at the sauna and steambath.

marigold

My church wedding is at OLPS (Our Lady of Perpertual Succour), somewhere in Siglap. There'll be lunch reception after the service.

We do not intend to have wedding banquet as we are not the traditional kind and my BF is a Peranakan (plus cost savings... hahaha)...

Just paid deposit for the bridal photo package. We chose Kowloon, the one at Aljunied. Besides the computerized album, there's nothing special, except that I bargain for many more add on, such as Thank You cards, ROM package, more photos, etc.

ROM is on Oct 1st. We just purchased a resale flat in Bedok South and hence need to produce ROM cert when we collect the keys... Remaining flats in Sengkang doesnt suit us and there's no government grant too...

binbin

hi hi jas, which gym u go to? got suana and steambath. u go spa huh?
hehehe enjoy yar?

well, for the choosing of dates, the fengshui master told us this date is a good date for us coz of this and that. hehehee....so we decide on it loh.

pageup

Hi Ocean,,

Yup yup, I chose my gown already
So my next appointment will be fitting.
Don't stress lah. Remember to take your time to choose gown.

Hi Smurfy,

Thanks for the info.

I got 2 pairs of shoes, one at Jwest, and another at Tangs. Maybe you try your luck at those bigger departmental store like Tangs, Metro, Taka and OG. You may be surprise, but they have nice shoes suitable for weddings

bluedolphin

Binbin: No, we didn't consult any fengshui master. Ha ha, my FH oso doesn't want to wait til May, so we juz chose a date in Mar...
I heard fm my friend tt it is quite ex to consult a master? She mentioned to me 2 names(but I can't rem) &amp; told me they charged at least a few hundred bucks?!?

Shinchan: Try not to cut your hair 2 short if u're really gonna cut it. Like what binbin said, short hair is harder for the hairstylist to style. &amp; they can create more varieties of hairstyle with long hair.....

choco

hi mimosa, my colleague said that Merchant Home is at Changi...not too sure where exactly though!

wow...sounds so fun...all of u preparing ur homes already! i haven't even gotten a place yet
still waiting for balloting results to be out in august...

annmelody

apologies for MIA for so long. Been super busy and tiring doing up my place and wedding preparation and so on.I just went for my PS yesteraday and by the time i went home... i simply went my bed only :p

Pebbles,
Can you let me know the rose petals supplier....think i need them for my actual day.

BTW any one got contacts for wedding card printera and so on?

ever

Jul, emailed you the contact no. liao..... sorry!! me emailed already, then realised that you asked me not to email cos mailbox full....
but, i think the email got thru leh... you check and let me know, k?? (",)

me also interested in magazine style album!! if our pics turn out nice, will go for that!! need to top up $1,700 but for unlimited pics.... only limited pages.... think 35pages.... cant remember...

binbin

hi dolphin, i went to 2 masters hehhehehe...coz i wanna confirm. kia su hor? well,one charge $100 the other $88. none more than $100 leh... :p

shinchan

BlueDolphine: I'm only goin to do changes after my customary. Therefore now have to hang on to my 'xiao cha bo' hair till then..

Sometimes think of it, it's really expensive to consult these shi fu to get a so-called auspicious date. It cost us $80 jus to get a date.. Heartache ah... U shld have seen the shock on my FH &amp; mine when we were informed...

yvonne

Hi Jul,
Yeah... Nowaday most couples will go for the mag style! BS either incld the fee in the add. photographs develop or like ours charged separately!

My sis's friend (WL bride also) spend 6-7K on extra photos!!! Wow... Heard she bought almost 80-90% of the photographs...!!!