(2004) Brides of year 2004

shinchan

Binbin: Aiya, we only try to play on every fri whenever we have no appt lor...

Btw, u went to Toni & Guys ah? Howz their charges like? Quite sian of my hairstyle liao, will like a change after customery, so thinking of gettin some professional help...

jul

Hi Jan,

After waiting for so long, finally I'm getting my hse right? And it's a sel-imposed wait some more :p Anyway, at first fiance wanted to get contractor, while I wanted ID. Now I feel that we shd just get ID instead. After all, it's a premium flat, nothing much can be done abt the flooring, so the designs also will be limited right?

Hi ever,

So u're getting keys next Aug, I tot was this Aug instead *blur* My fren was telling me that EC's are very well-furnished right? Got flooring etc, even got some cabinets? I guess u dun need to spend a lot of money on reno, which is good. so where will u live in the meantime?

When u book the flat, u dun start counting the timing. Just start counting 3 mths from the day that u get ur keys. But then, by then u'd have ROM-ed already, so no prob right?

onee

Shirley Chan : You must be happy on finalising your love nest
Still good cos the handover is still timely for your wedding huh ?

Girlfriend : Thank you. Wah you signed AD photographer liao ah? It's good to get it done and 1 thing down your To-Do-List hor
e-mailed you a moment ago liao... BTW., what is ID har?

binbin

hi hi shin chan..., T&G's charges are quite ex. i nearly fainted when i heard it. i went there coz i was very sick of not finding a stylist who understand my hair....so most of the time my style looks lax and no life. always look very thick and messy, so i have to tie it half up. :p so i went to seek help. the senior stylist who did for me is quite experienced and knowledgeable. looks nice after that. but now, after some washes, feel that it's the same again. went back to having to tie up half of my hair...
dunno is it coz my hair is hopeles....sigh....

well, they charge $70 for stylist, $80 for senior stylist, $90 for director, $100 and above for senior director..... :p very steep hor? but i think they are quite renown.

jan

Yup Jul, think it's mainly ur kitchen cabinets, wardrobes, window grilles, and maybe u may wanna do partition in the hall, or built in TV console.. Perhaps u can think of wat colour u want them to be or wat theme u want? Can be fun and tiring at the same time!! hehe...

cc2

Binbin,

Yes I like straight hair! Pple like me with natural curls love long straight and silky hair.

Cannot wait for another 8-9 mths after customary. By then I think I will look like a lion.

ino

Hi binbin,
aiya...dun tok about price first lah...i see whether i cld help yr fren. I do the ring pillow first. If yr fren likes it, then i wld let her know the px. If she doesn't, then never mind...
If she wants it as it is (w/o the deco), then let me know which one she wants.
;-)

Oh ya, i forgot. When's yr fren's wedding?

Hi pebbles,
my bridal shop said i cld afford to the photoshoot in oct. btw, can u let me know the contact no. for the rose petals too?

yvonne

My sis's friend just got married yday and she used ROBIN for her actual day photographing. Heard he charged $1,200 for 10 rolls of films, journalist type.

So coincidence! My sis's frd also got her gown from WHITELINK... and another of my ex-colleagues getting married in tis Sept also a WL bride. Hee hee...so i got few references/feedback liao.

No la... My bf was surprised how come u gals got the flat before yr ROM, tht's why he asked me that question! Hee hee... our case is opposite from urs (ROM first, flat later)

Btw, what's e diff between ID & contractor huh??? ID is jus interior, do they hv contractor to renovate the house or solely designing? Some contractor has got their own inhouse designer rite? And some designer charged a fee for designing rite? Wow... very **BLUR** got to do lots of HOMEWORK for hse worst than preparing for wedding man........

ever

hi jul!!

yap.... main bulk of the $$ has been paid to the developer!!! so not much reno required... only need to get furniture, like sofa, bed, TV rack, dining set.... and electrical appliances.... hhhmmm..... may stay at a fren's place or at my bf's place or my place for the time being.... havent really confirm yet....

jul, so you want me to give you the contact no. of my bf's fren?? he's a contractor.... pricing will be reasonable... just let him know your requirements.... no harm getting a quotation from him and you can compare around with others...

ya, yvonne... can delay producing the cert once you can show proof that you're getting married soon... anyway, jul's rite!! you getting ROM very soon, so no worries!!!

yan

poor jul, u din have a good rest over the weekend izzit??? ...
Btw, how much are Fairy's Inc rose gold wedding bands?

yvonne, nope, i was busy bridal shopping over the weekend so no time to go see the showflats.

As for the Living Trend exhibition @ Expo, personally think that it is not too much of a waste for not visiting... I am thinking of doing some minor renovation work to my present place, so went there two sundays back. Sat down with one of the ID, and that fellow took close to 2 and a half hour doing my quotation..
my daddy nearly lost his temper
... when we tried to leave, they keep saying that the quotation is about to be ready.. in the end, their pricing is only so-so, also not very cheap.. dun know why they take so long to come up with a quotation for renovation of merely a KITCHEN...

*Sign* me heartpain, did not win the lucky draw prize... but someone was real happy on sat.. $10K richer... till now, i still dun understand the rationale behind the lucky draw.. its for confirmed couples, so i dun see the need for the event.. it is not as if we are going to have another wedding banquet with them *touchwood*

and i went to the vanity bridal show yesterday.. it was such a disappointment.. the models were super unprofessional, the lighting and sound systems are baaaad.. and worst of all, the gowns sucks.. they are very common and simple... just like any other BS outside. I tot bridal shows are suppose to showcase their finest works.. if that are their finest works, i really wish them luck man..
i really pity those couples who paid to attend the show.. another thing is that their top three lucky draw prizes are for those couples who confirmed with the hotel on the spot. Guess what, they did not even draw for those prizes.. my bf was guessing that no one signed up at all.. heehee...

jan

hello!

hi Yan! Gosh, the vanity show was bad... hmm.. tot they're like quite new and highly recommended... Well, most likely the models are those part time from no where one.. hehe..
Hmm.. how come Mandarin doesnt have such lucky draws for confirmed couples!!! hehe.. That lucky couple must be reallllllyyy happy! Can imagine half the banquet already paid for!! Good for them, sure earn lots of money from banquet on their wedding day!!

Yvonne, ID does designing and think they will liase with the contractor and for contractor only, some may have free lance designer to draw out the designs out for u before they start the reno..

yan

hi jan,

were u there at the show as well???
haha, our taste are almost similar.. we shortlisted the same BS, the same photographers.. heehee... so qiao..

update u on david lim lee later.. need to rush some reports... think i more or less confirm with him liao, just that may need to bargain for some more things or to get him to lower the price by a bit...

cyn

onee, u mean u getting ted collection to do ur gowns.. then PS elsewhere rite? so how much is their package?

ino, so will it be more costly to custom make jewellery? from where? did u chk with ur bridal show how long they need to do the ablum? usually it's abt 2-3 mths.. so if urs in early oct... probably u shd be able to get ur ablum mid/end dec... but no time for reshoot if it doesnt turn out good.. *touch wood lah

jan

Yan, nope didnt go for the show... and anyways, never been to any bridal show!! hahahaa..

Oh u shortlisted the same photographers too!! so qiao!!! hehe..

okok sure no problem, will be here awaiting to hear ur reviews on David! Very keen to hear abt him! hehe.. thanks!

yan

can i check with you gals on some things?? a gal friend of mine is comtemplating of getting married in March next year. so it should be around Lunar Feb right??? any idea on whether is it a good mth to get married, esp as it is the Luan mth?? sorry if this qn sound stupid, appreciate your advise

soupie

hello gals!

seeing u gals talk abt rose petals make me abit 'heart pain' keke.. cos i got my rose petals from poppy flora studio at the last minute and it was quite expensive.. didn't have time to go source for it.. :p

onee

Harlo c_pin,

Yup it's an ala carte wedding package. Ted Collection do gowns only. As I am almost a year from my customary wedding, I am paying S$2000 for 3 MTM gowns to keep. Of which 2 gowns will be full beading. Love their intricate beading and lovely cheong sums. Though TC do not tie a whole wedding package, they do make recommendations for photographer, make-up artist and flora contacts. Have you decided on your wedding package? You might wanna make a trip and take a look at their OTR gowns.

binbin

hi soupie, dun feel heart pain lah... i know poppy's petals are slightly more exp, but theirs are fresh roses and very big petals...saw the box b4..
as long as ur ROM is beautiful right?

Ino! u are so nice! i will let her know. she is worried abt the price too. she said she prefer the rose one.
let u know soon....what would u recommend to be added? more cotton? more flowers/laces?

elenne

poox: ok i am going. thanks for your help re: my email. wish me luck as i bug thomas even more!!

pebbles: u are so lucky to get a flat in punggol. my fren wanted but didn't get it. btw, GCW is v nice, near my place. may i know how much beetles@work charge for actual day foto?

forest

hi galz....

ino,
hee hee.. wah.. very impressed by ur mix-n-match designs frm other shops n ur own ideas.. where did u get it made? i'm also curious abt the prices.. does it differ alot as compared to those tt we get frm the usual shops?

pebbles,
aiya... i'm in a dilemma lor.. cos' i've heard abt PF being less crowded.. so, i'm checking out the prices n comparing the 2 lor.. besides, my CF plan will end in end-aug.. so, i've to decide soon.... any ideas / advice?

calling silver!!
yoo hoo.... can ask ur bf to email me the pkgs for PF???? kekekekek tks tks...

pebbles

doreamon,
sorry ah, forget that i didn't bring my hp today, will sms u the no tonite ok..

ino,
will sms u the no too..
but wil only do it tonite

soupie,
dun go think abt it liao, as long as yr rom looks lovely and u were happy with everything can liao..

binbin,
how's your wedding prep coming along ah??? renov?? everything settled...

forest,
why dun u join amore, i think that one though more ex but u will feel more comfortable cos all ladies mah...for me no choice cos hubby can only go CF and my membership will only expire in 2006

binbin

hicc2, right right! how true...hehhee...i also feel sometimes i look like a lion.... hehhehee....but the times i saw u ur hair so flat and straight....not like lion at all..

Yan, well....whether or not the month is a good month will depends on ur friend and hubby's eight characters.
besides special times like qing ming (lunar 3rd month) and lunar 7th month, in which ppl usually dun hold weddings, the rest of the dates will usually be calculated out by fengshui masters based on ur eight characters. if the tongshu is out, then ppl refer to the tongshu...

just a reminder...next yr lunar 3rd month is a "Run Yue",meaning there's 2 lunar 2nd month. therefore, the period where the qingming usually starts is actuali the 2nd lunar second month....hehee not sure if this will confuse u...

anyway, hope it helps. if u fren having march wedding, invite her to join this thread.

binbin

hi pebbles, still undergoing reno....
looking forward to seeing it complete leh...hehehhee.....

wedding prep having 1st fitting for WG end this month.

jul

Hi Jan,

Well, that's why I was thinking just get contractor will do. How much design can u get for cabinets??? :p

Hi ever,

Gd that u got most of the reno done. At least u can save some cash. Yes, pls pass me the contact? I think can post here lah. My email acct is dead

Robin's pretty expensive! Anyway, I've nvr seen his works, so not sure. I was thinking just tell my bridal photographer what style I like, then he can copy-cat!

Actually nowadays everyone claims to be ID. Just go for those with gd workmanship & design & px that u like can already :p

Hi Yan,

Yup, hectic weekend. Think this weekend will be too. Plus gotta work this Sat *xian*
Nvm abt the draw, just for fun right? I think maybe they're trying to woo new customers with the draw?

I didn't know Vanity is so bad? Maybe it's coz they're too new & inexperienced at bridal shows.

pebbles

elenne,
thanks!!! my hubby and i also had a hard time chosing our unit cos we didn't have much choice during our selecting, i thnk punggol will be having their walk in selection soon so can ask yr fren to look out for it
u mean GCW is near your future home ah or current place..??
for beetles@work, they are charging me 1.2k for 360 shots..

jan

hello!

Jul, for kitchen, yes the design is some sort similar lah, but maybe u wanna think whether u want those long drawer so u can out all the dry tins/cans like milo, can food, instant noodles etc.. Or u want a foldable table somewhere, and some drawers for detergents, pots and pans etc... haha.. i very fussy abt cabinets size, i make sure can fit in my bottles of sauces in certain drawers and where i wanna place them.. haha.. maybe if u dun really cook then u dun need to bother all these details!

Yvonne, actual day can be less than 1k too, but not many to choose from leh, like Nick Goh/ Yew Kwang/ maybe berry happy...

ever

Hi gals!!

Jul, will pass you the contact tmw.... bf too busy to talk to me!!

ya, you can browse those home & deco magazines and decide what you need.... can do those "quarter-circle" kind of racks where you can pull out from the cabinets.... actually, kitchen requires the most reno, rite?? bedroom is only wardrobe....

yvonne, maybe can check with WL about actual day photographers too.... think those that they tie up with may not be as famous, but their skills may be not bad.... can view their portfolio loh... guess will be cheaper... maybe i'll ask J&M to introduce me too.... if the others are exp!!! didnt really budget much for actual day photographers....

cc2

Hi binbin,

The place too dark so u cannot see the all the littles curls on my head

Next year got 2 lunar 2nd mth or 2 lunar 3rd mth ah? I only know that normally pple dun get married in the "Run Yue". If there's 2 lunar 2nd mth, it's okie to get married in the 1st 2nd month but not the 2nd 2nd one. Hope I dun confuse yan too!

jul

Hi Jan,

I'm also fussy like you! I also wanna decide where I wanna place what pots & pans, where to put cutlery, etc. I hate it when the place is not functional, even tho I intend to cook simply. In fact, I wanna decide what drawers to put what for my wardrobe too!

But how can I decide what drawers I want now? And how to estimate cost if I can't decide for sure? U mean I have to think abt all these details when I get quotes from IDs?

Can I ask u a very forward question? Can go ur hse to look c???

Hi Ever,

Dun worry, just pass me contact 2moro then. No big hurry
Thanks for asking, but better not to disturb ur bf now.

It depends on what u want. It can range from $500 to $3k. So just decide on ur budget then start the search.

binbin

hi hi cc2, there's 2 lunar 2nd month .
my wedding is on the last day of the 1st lunar 2nd month......hehehhehee....

yan ah, dun be confused by what we saying. just ask ur friend to write down her eight characters and consult a good fengshui master.

silver

Hihi...

Ever,
Hey at least one more thing off ur list ya!

Yvonne,
No ve not drop by the show flat. So how you find the show flat? The one you visited is how many room flat?

Ya me also bodyache after pilate class. Too long nv exercise hehee

Btw, wat KB class?

Jan & Yan,
My sis engaged Andrew from The Edge and she is happy wif him. My gf just had her ps wif The Edge too and also gd comment! Personally like his outdoor dan indoor.

yan

hi silver,

how much is The Edge's package?
i beri tired.. see those small figures until my eyes hurt... think need to go change lens & specs real soon..

poox

hi marigold

Welcome!! That means your church wedding would be on the same day as garfield.....which is the date i initially wanted but wesley doesn't hold weddings on public hol

hihi elenne: good! i'll see u at mache on wed.

hiee gals: perhaps we should organise a gathering for may brides too.....maybe later when we have more pic and stuff to share.....and when our thread gets more active!

ino

Hi binbin,
i dun think i cld add more cotton for her leh...otherwise i need to take out all the stitching. Think i will add more roses and ribbons for her. But then, i cld only do it over the weekend...tat's the only free time i have.
;-)

If she wants laces, then i have to do a new one for her...may be too expensive for her leh...let me know her budget thru email, k?

evon

Hi Hi.....wow...at last found my ROM dress liao..

Trixie wrote an email to you but you're on leave. Can you imagine I so blur until forget to bring my camera to take my ROM dress..It's a CS lookalike in baby blue n white, my FH chose a white chinese collar suit..very nice...

evon

Trixie....hehehe happened to see ur addy here already..be on way to see the JW flat...cross my fingers to get somewhr near you cos I saw a unit should be around you as well...chat again on Wed cos tmr me on leave as well to choose my Wlds flat if not be on the way to choose JW instead....

keann

just had a fun and busy day for my good friend's wedding at Imperium. Quite yummy food i must say.....

I think must look into the seating arrangements seriously....cos there was some mess up in the arrangements...but them mostly from the MEN's side.....so those who have husbands who are bo chap...must bug them to put in effort...was chaotic...but worked out well after the manager's help...!

At least now..got some experience liaoz...and also the wine that they got was quite a good deal.

Alright...that should be it for now...hope everyone is having fun!

ocean

Hello!! Ocean reporting!!

How's everybody??? Me still in office! Tml meeting the coordinator of the restaurant to talk talk and then pay deposit!!

Pageup, no need BC lah!!! Oh, your fitting is you already select the gown liao?

Me planing to go to my bridal next mth to select gown! Have not go down there since my ROM. stressed!!

yvonne

Hi Silver,

The showflat is mainly 5rooms & Executive Premium flats. Some of the flat are quite nicely done up but some quite weird looking. So is really up to individual taste, might/might not be yr cup of tea.

KB is KICKBOXING la... hee hee!

silver

Hi Yan,
I am not sure abt their package but it will be cheaper if you get it wif those bridal that he tie up with. From what I know he does tie up wif Allure & Flamingo.

Oh so KB is kickboxing! Tough or not huh?

silver

Hihi...

Have not pop in for quite sometimes. How's everyone and preparation going? Me not been doing much since I cfm my venue & bridal liao hehehe

Take care ya!

hongwx

Hi gals, thanks for the warm welcome! I am so excited about the coming wedding...Heee...
I myself prefer straight hair but will blow some curls if need be... dont like to perm my hair cos alot of maintaining work. Like simple look too. =)
BTW, i have not book my package... any suggestions? I shd be holding the dinner in early or mid mar!!!