(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Gd afternoon ladies...

So quiet today ya?

Hi Lin,
When's ur wedding next yr? Would it be too late to bk end of the yr? Btw, was reading from another thread that you going to spilt your dinner into 2 days?

Err... actually you might want to consider Amara. They ve just renovated, very nice place and wedding dinner @ $688nett. If you want, I can email you the package. Hope I dun confuse you ya.

Hi Jan,
Montage is a photo make up by a few photos.

the second one.
coz clarity is not as obvious to the eye compared to colour.

hi girls..
22201.gif

thanks for all the well wishes....
i see all of u girls are toking about diamonds ah, so many experts here...anyway, update on my rom
i was very busy with my rom prep during the long weekend cos everything was DIY
22202.gif
but lucky got my frens to come and help out so the decor was done up in no time...still all the efforts but i must say it's all worth it..
just what i wanted..ehehe..
and my fens also like it..
it was such a tiring day ah...Sandy came to do my make up in the morning and i was very upset with her lah...complian to some of the oldies, she didn't know how to put on the Galland for me...
22203.gif
and worst of all, she told me it's not nice and that the galland i got is too much for me...so it was not as perfect as i wanted it to be, but that is besides the point lah, i got over it cos was too busy to think about it..then later the more i think about it, the more upset i get ah...ahahah...anyway, i went out for some photo taking session before my rom..very tiring but fun lah...went to a few places and preying all the pics will turn out very well...then i finish my PS, rush back for the ceremony lor...and when i went back, most of my frens were already here so was fun fun fun all the way lor...eehhe..
will share the pics with u girls when it's out ok..
now have to wait for the pics to be out

Hi Poox,
Yah, but shld manage too lah, cos my renovation should end this year. Then i will take my bridal photo next year..... Now, me also dun know wat to prepare for it.... Blurblur

hi wendylee,
thanks for the welcome!
happy shopping & hope that you will find yr dream diamond ring soon
btw, the great singapore sale is this coming weekend, so maybe can expect more sales & discounts?

hi pebbles,
warmest congrats on your ROM

hi binbin,
wonder if you saw my earlier posting to you? no reply fm you yet so probably u hv missed it. i read fm the previous postings on your ROM & would like to see how the garlland looked like when used as a hair accessory. can share wif me your ROM pics which got many nice comments fm the rest of the gals? my email addy is [email protected]

hi ivory,
saw yr nice ROM pics and you looked great! the hair accessory is very eye-catching and unique
congrats to u & yr hubby!

hi expresso,
just my own opinion lah, would go for the one with the better colour rather than clarity in this case cos i think the difference btwn VVS1 & VVS2 is so small that you can't really see with a naked eye. with a size of 1 carat diamond, i feel that the colour difference will be more prominent. maybe the rest of the gals can advise ya?

Hi Doreamon,

Can't remember if I'm one posting the Divine Brides packages.

Anyway, they have 2 photography packages. One is RM 1500 and the other is RM1800. I can't remember the details but I think it has 32 pcs of 8" x 10" photos, one 20" x 24 portrait, 24 pcs of 3R, one table top..... I think proof return... this one not very sure.But if u want to go outdoor, needs to top up RM300 and it is only restrict to 5km radius,

Ok, thanks silver! Yah, seldom see montage included in bridal package, that's why blur, dunno wat's that!!

Yeah... so quiet... so just posted that question earlier to get u gals posting!!! hahahaaaa...

Never hear from Jul04, think she's on course today...

hi silver,
supposedly april. no choice, coz, both FH & me currently overseas. hehehe... wah.. 688 is good price. but one of my FH cousin had his wedding there last year, so don't think will go for it.

yes, me splitting to 2 days. 1st day buffet dinner after solemnization. 2nd day is dinner at hotel. no choice becoz of my parents requests.
FH complain that to marry me he has to feed 1 batallion army like that. He said may as well married at padang... then, i was thinking seriously, hmm...can we do that?

btwn have you decided on your bridal studio?

Jan, you're so smart! Yeah, I'm on course today. Some intro to presentation skills stuff. Have to do 2 presentations today. Another 2 2moro. So stressful!

Hi Lin, I'm splitting my wedding into 2 days too. It takes longer, that's true, but at least I won't be so tired by dinner time

Just to update you gals on my wedding plans (in case anyone's interested *hehe*), I'm going to squat in Kinokuniya & flip thru interior design magazines. Can anyone tell me whether there's a minimum budget before interior designers will take your job? Something like, below $20,000 won't take the job?

Hi Jul 04, sounds like reno plans, not wedding plans leh.... hahahahha
dont think there's a minimum budget, but somehow the interior design fees will be factor into the prices..... so, more expensive than a normal contractor....

hi tweety, welcome...
when will ur rom be? sorry the addy of my link is not with my now, it's in the office.

when will be ur big day? sourced for bridal and venues yet?
these girls here are beri nice ladies, hope u will have a great time here....

Hi ever,

Aiyah paiseh

But I have linked the bridal, honeymoon, hotel, reno, church wedding etc all in one BIG WEDDING project. Sounds more impressive with many phases in the project right? *haha*

hello gals!!

Jul04, i dun think there'll be any min to engage a designer.. But they'll usually physcho u to do a lot of things and tell u that it'll make ur house very nice etc etc and then in the end u get a shock when u see the bills!! so u must be firm as to know wat u need and wat u dont! And make sure u see the final quotation b4 starting the reno...

Wah.... Jul04, ur project is really a BIG one!! hahaha...

oh u're having church wedding as well? I'm a christian myself, but my hubby hasnt baptised and dun really think my PIL like church wedding, so we'll do without that...

where're u planning for honeymoon? wow.. i havent tot abt that! hehe..

Hi Jan,

Don't get a shock but I'm having TWO church weddings! The reason being I'm a Christian & my fiance is a Catholic. So to respect both of us... Now you see why I need 2 days for wedding?

I haven't really thought abt honeymoon either. My fiance & I like Europe very much. We went there for post-grad tour. So feeling quite nostalgic, & besides, Europe is sooo big, lots of places to go. But honeymoon plans can come later. Quite busy with juggling several wedding projects already

Yeah, I guess it's really impt to be firm & also to confirm the final px before I start anything. Thanks for the reminder. I don't wanna end up in debt after the hse is done!

binbin, we went down to trinity arts today and got our wedding date.. but sept/oct wouldn't be good months for us due to various reasons.. so he chose 2 dates in may/june and 1 in dec 2004 for us.. and he said the best one is in dec 2004.. my hubby is very happy with the date say good good just nice
.. but i thot it would be abit dragging it too long.. but think most prob would go along with it since he said it's really a specially good date and it is also on a day we wanted, a thurs
22210.gif

Hahaha...looks like Espresso is still blur with diamonds. So sad that DI 50% sale is coming to an end this month. I thought of asking hubby to bring me there to see jewellery, hmm...going to ask him to buy me some gifts. Wanted to get a nice diamond necklace. Not so much of diamond ring, since someone (who ah? too many postings already) mentioned that can only get 1 solitaire ring in 25 yrs. Sob Sob. other types of diamond ring can?

Mango cheese cake,

when u were there last weekend, got see any nice necklace? haven't been to DI for some time, dunno what they have now.

Should have gone down last Sat if I had known earlier that there's a sale. Also want to bring a friend there to choose diamond ring for his proposal to gf. Strange leh...how come u girls went with bf to see diamond ring, isn't it meant to be a surprise for proposal meh??? Nowadays trend change already? During my time...wasn't like that. I didn't even know that hubby bought a ring for me until he proposed. of course the ring didn't fit that well, so we went back for alteration of the ring.

Wendylee,

Yeah yeah, my weekend was good. Stayed home the whole day on Sat. Went to catch the Braun Buffel private sale at Mandarin Singapore on Sunday. Really good buy, bought some things but a bit disappointed as I didn't manage to get a document bag which was selling at $190 after the discount. I was too late and it was sold off. So how's your weekend? Shopping for wedding band and diamond ring ah? Seeing u all buy rings etc, bring back fond memories...heehee

Hihi ladies,

Lin,
Wow sound like you ve alot of guests? So you decided on the 1st day venue?

I called up Yvonne Creative but they as quite bz this wk as they are having 2 weddings so I will be going down next week. Hopefully she will throw in what I need then I no need to source ard liao.

As for dinner venue, I will be meeting the sales mgr tml to discuss on the package.

Jul 04,
Wow you really alot of courses going on ya? Btw your wedding project really BIG! Actually quite siong to ve wedding n hse concurrently ya.

You going to ve 2 dinners too?

wendylee, mango cheese cake..
DI sale only til mth end... ai ya, thot of going down, not sure can make it.. i also think tat color is more important than clarity. naked eyes wont be able to tell a diff. unless is a super big diamond. but depend on the brand of diamond. i feel meyson's diamond is of lower grade, so the diff is more obvious. mango cheese cake, did you notice any nice tennis bracelet at DI? maybe not huh... diamond too small for GIA cert huh so might not be a good pl to get it.

welcome debby.. you're not kiasu lah, jus well prepared.

pebbles, glad tat you had a good time... forget abt sandy lah... think of the happy moments... cant wait to see your photos.

hi soupie... since dec 04 is the best day of all.. go for it.. jus a few mths diff, which means more time to prepare & save money..

mimosa.. i'm quite surprise to know tat can only get 1 solitaire in 25 yrs. serious anot huh? i'm still waiting for my solitaire leh.. FH promised to get me one in a few yrs time.. siao liao.. duno wait til when arh.. few yrs + 25 yrs...think i've to wait for 30+yrs b4 i get the 2nd one. =( nowaday, i feel tat gals are too smart for surprises. we can always sense it when they're up to something.. wat during ur time,hey, you make urself sound so old leh...

Wow wow wow,
The thread is moving super duper fast.
Oh, Silver, to answer your question... my bridal is with Bridal Veil and venue is at Four Seasons.
How about you, are you still shopping around?

forgot to give a short intro about myself: me and my FH are considering to have our ROM next december, customary shd be in 2005 cos we are still saving up for our big day. feeling quite lost and overwhelmed by the tons of info

we haven't started on our bridal and banquet venue search yet as it's still quite some time away. now flipping through bridal mags & gather whatever info available on wedding preparation onli. sigh! still a long way to go compared to you gals......

hi binbin,
no problem, i will keep a lookout for your email then. hope it's not too troublesome for you, pai seh! you have my email addy rite?
thanks for the welcome too!

have a great day ahead ;)

mimosa, i rather go with him to buy my ring than him ending up buying something i may not like.. since i will wear it frequently for a very very long time like the next 25 yrs haha.. so went shopping for ring together lor.. anyways he didn't propose until the nite before our ROM.

debby, u are not the only KS one.. i am hehehe.. have also confirmed my bridal and banquet already! and my wedding would be in dec04 if we decided to go along with wat the shifu had chosen for us

cin_p, yeah most prob will go along with this date

dun worry.. i'm sure it's worth the wait
.. at least he's working hard to buy you one.. just the thot already very meaningful

hi tweety, welcome

hi soupie, so u've visited him yar?
since the date is best for you and both of u are okie with it, dec 04 it shall be then! hehehhee..... then u can start sourcing for hotels soon so u can get your first choice.

tweety, wah! dec rom ah? 2003 or 2004? u smart girl, so fast doing rom/garlland research huh? heehhehe..... ;)

hi hi girls...all the fellow brides to be..
22223.gif

Tweety,
Thanks!!! and welcome to the 04 brides..
not to worry if u will only be having your rom in end 04, im sure most of the brides here understand what u mean cos we are all saving hard for our big day so it's good in a way to have it at 2005 lor cos after all, got more time to save up rite and we will be able to help u out if u need any..

cin p,
yeah can't wait to see my rom pics too but my photographer told me it will be ready in like 3 weeks time so still have to wait lor....seems so the long ah...

soupie,
congrats!!! now u can start counting down liao..

Gd morning ladies,

Hi debby,
We ve more or less decided the venue - Republic of Spore Yact Club. Will be meeting the mgr today to discuss the package. As for bridal, I ve signed wif Yvonne Creative few yrs back but need to make some amendments to the package. Not sure if the bridal do allow so now confused of whether to go ahead with YC or change to another one

Hi tweety,
Wow you are really adv planner ya
Well gd also as you can take your time to look around. So far ve any venue or bridal in mind?

Hi soupie,
Check with you, when did you go and see your date huh? Not thro tong shui rite?

Btw, any gals know when tong shui will be out?

Morning GALS!!!!!!
22234.gif

PEBBLES: WOW... looking forward to seeing your photos! You engaged Sandy... isit the Sandy often mentioned in this forum? How's the charges like? Her make-up and hair leh?

SOUPIE/TWEETY/DEBBY/CIN_P/MIMOSA: Yeah, he also mentioning that he might wana go and see himself... and me say NO-NO
22235.gif
to him cos scare he dun get my ideal pattern/settings then thats it! So he asking me then no surprise liao lor... me say nevamind... I can see what Im choosing, Im happy enough liao... and he and myself knows Im very yim chim... so have to choose the perfect one... HAHA!

DEBBY: You called that moving fast?!?!?! You havent seen the fastest one ah... just over the lunch break and you did not check the postings here... it might just drowned you after lunch wor!!!
22236.gif
LOL

binbin, went into his office.. quite impressive ya.. alot of photos of his overseas assignments

silver, visited him last nite..nope, not thru tongshu.. he used another smaller booklet.. but will still look at both of your 'eight characters' and also ur parents chinese horoscope. tongshu will only be out after the 7th lunar month... so most prob in july/aug.

hi hi girls....sorry ah MIA for a while, was busy with my ROM prep the last few weeks, now it's over , taking a short break before i start looking for contactors to do up my house..

happy02,
oh so happy u r also a bridal zone bride ah, and serve by XP too, me also serve by her, she's very nice hor, really take care of her brides one, i got my rom dress from them and they are really very nice, make sure all fits nicely , i went down to try my gowns for like 3 times before they say it's ok for me to bring back ah..
have u booked your hotel yet...???

phoox,
Congrats!!! u booked your bridal liao...so only left with hotel lah..
i also like fullerton ah but then realise that it's really too ex and dun want to suffer lots of loses, but the good thing is also i manage to conviced myself that the nice steps in fullerton are like big pillars cos the guest wont see u till u are at the end of the stairs...so i sign up with GCW...like that hotel too, though it's not very accessable for guest lah but the ballroom has high ceiling and it's quite new..

eighteight,
dun worry girl, u can start now by checking out hotels ballroom and make a list of all the hotels which u have check out, list the pros and cons then narrow down your list to many 3 and u can block the dates first, some hotels dun mind holding the dates for u, so u can confirm it the moment u have your date..

Hi soupie,
Oh only after 7th lunar mth huh? So long ya? Hmm.. dunno can use that as an excuse not to see date or not hehee

hi galz!!

welcome debby n tweety!!

pebbles,
hee hee.. so glad tt u enjoyed the prep for ur ROM, and the photo-taking... forget abt the episode of Sandy... dun let it 'stain' the wonderful day of URS!!

wow... so long ah.. ur photographer said 3 wks ah!?! well.. we'll b waiting to see it hor... dun forget!

mimosa,
aiyo.. wat during ur time... not so old lah.. hee hee.. well, my hubby also bought the ring on his own.. n i dun think i'm tt old leh!! heheeheh..

btw, i also dunno abt the 1 solitaire in 25 yrs thingy leh.. but anyway.. since i dunno abt it.. i will remain this way lor.. cos' i love diamonds too much.. n will def wanna receive some more frm hubby!!!! hahahahahah

silver,
happy for u tt u decided on ur venue oredi... must hve been a hard decision ah???

soupie,
good for u tt u hve decided a date!!! jus to echo silver's qns... did ur shi fu consult the tong shu?? hmmm... do u mind telling me where trinity arts is.. n how much he charges??? actually, if i din rem wrongly.. is this recommended by binbin huh?!??

Tweety,
we have a contract list, if u would like to join the list, please send me your particulars at [email protected]

Debby,
yup yup, totally agree with wendylee ah, u have not seen the super fast ones ah...really cannot catch up

Wendylee,
yeah i had Sandy for my make up, she's the one that is always being mention in SB, she charges $80 for rom, not bad i would say but must emphasis again, if u r not like me, who likes to try new and funny things..
she did up a french bun for me, very nice, and her make up also ok..
hey get your FH to buy it for u alone more meaningful mah, that's what mine did, we went diamond shopping together and he will ask me what type and design i like and i will try on lots of design, and i didn't have a single clue when he got me the diamond ring, i only know i have told him what designs and cutting i like and it's up to him to buy it when he's ready to propose lor, like that more exciting so u go diamond shopping with him and tell him what u like lah...and make sure he knows exactly what u want...so he can go back another day and get it for u mah

Hi forest,
Ya ya. Better quick quick settle so that I ve less 1 thing to worry abt. Was very confused when I recieved so many quotes - see until I also blur. But after been to RSYC, my bf and I kinda know settle for that so nv really look ard
So now is more like discussing the package details and whether to wait for my FMIL to give green light for the date cos according to soupie reply, tong shui will be out in Jul or Aug only.

Tue blues???

Check with you gals - how many times did you gals meet up with the banquet mgr to discuss abt ur venue package b4 finally sign the package huh?

forest, hahaha same here... love diamonds so just act blur and receive or buy more myself whether it's rings, necklace or bracelets hehehe

yep yep, binbin recommended trinity arts
.. it's located at central square it's actually behind apollo centre. he charges $100 for selection of wedding date. he'll choose a few wedding dates for u to select and each comes with the timing to fetch the bride.. plus the guo da li date and time too. he didn't use the tongshu but use something similar to it.. i dunno wat it's called.. still need ur birthdate, time of birth plus ur parents chinese horoscope for him to calculate

Hi girls....announcment to make....
Remember we postpone the gathering the last time, please let me know who can make it on the 30th of May..
i will be taking attendence
22244.gif
hahah..

For now,
CC2
Bubbles
Pebbles
Annmelody
Leafy (joining us at 9)
Wendy26
BinBin

hi hi hi newbies

welcome welcome
eversince this thread starts to talk abt diamonds I become sleeping member liao, cos can’t contribute

hi tweety

wah… u actually read thru the archives ah? super good for u man
thanks thanks

hi silver / soupie

huh? July or Aug? last nite my hubby n his family went to look for date n the geomancer told them the tong shu will be out end of this mth

Hi soupie & Ivory,
Confused now
so is end of the mth or Jul/Aug??

Mayb someone here would advise us??

Ivory, me too. Like diamonds but know nuts abt it so keep quiet hor hehehe

PEBBLES: I cant make it cos the next whole week got class-test!
22246.gif
You gals go ahead and enjoy bah...

I think he knew what 'designs' Im looking into (5claws with v-crown settings)... and he kinda ask ask around my sizes but you know lah, different brands/stores got different sizes ma... but we are not buying like today see, today buy lah... still saving lor... kekeke, MIGHT even get a surprise? HAHA... looking forward!
22247.gif

hi hi!!

haha... ya, quiet again.. think everyday also blue!! haha...

silver, for me, i only met the manager twice and second time he knew we were very interested so it was a more detailed discussion on the package plus the bargaining part...
U going to meet the manager rite? Remember to bargain with the extra perks that u want ya!

Oh, isit must-haves to refer to tong-shu? And after getting the dates from the shifu, he must give you the time of this and that ie 'an chuan'... bride leaves the house... blablabla? Only ONE edition or many many 'authors'? *BLURRED*
22249.gif

Hi Pebbles, so... see that you were also not very happy with Sandy for the ROM make-up.... well, like what I mentioned in the May ROM thread....

Soupie, you have confirmed your bridal and venue.... hmm.... should tell that to my hubby. He keeps saying that I ma nuts to start planning so soon... So, which bridal and venue have you set your sights upon?

Silver, wow wow... you are also FAST! So, have you settled with your photographer as well or does it come with the package with Yvonne?

Have fun, everybody. Hope to catch up with this thread.... I am lost sometimes....

Hi Jan,

Yalor ve to start something to keep this thread moving hehe

Ya meeting him over lunch... I want to bargain for free flow of beer (if not addition), additional nite stay and more car park pass. Anything else I shd take note?

Hi debby,

Not fast lah. Compared to some gals here, I am consider slow liao hehehe. I need to discuss with Yvonne on the package again and hopefully she will be flexible enough to let me make changes to it. Ve to go down to see their gowns too.... They are using in house photographers. How abt u then?

ivory, wow that's early.. cos i know the normal practice is after the 7th lunar mth then it'll be out.. maybe they know alot of couples kan chiong to get dates and preparing for customary earlier and earlier...so they decided to publish it earlier

silver, i dun think can run away from choosing date one if ur FMIL wants to do it lor whether early or later.. wat u can do is make a tentative booking date when u confirm with the yacht club and confirm them the date after ur FMIL has gone to the geomancer. ask them to allow the flexibility of changing date so that u won't difficulty. i dunno abt next yr.. but is ur wedding date late july? cos i dunno if late july is already into the 7th mth.. mostly no one will hold their wedding in the 7th lunar mth which is the hungry ghost festival. maybe can just check whether it falls into that mth before u confirm.

Me oso didn't contribute anything for a while. Cos nothing for my wedding next year is confirm. 1st thing 1st, date oso not confirm so lie low for a while loh... Oso didn't hv opportunity to choose 'bestfriend' and no house to think about.

Hopefully once we get the date finalise this weekend, we'll get started loh.

Hi soupie,
My FMIL said as long as it's not an unlucky day it will be ok but I am really hope to be on 18 Jul cos it's our anniversary so more meanful mah... It's still lunar 6mth....

hi silver,

Ya, if they dun give free flow beer, ask for 20L or 30L more, do they give wedding favours?
Food tasting? Do they serve light refreshments b4 the actual dinner? (btw, is urs lunch or dinner?)
I believe soft drinks, mixers will be free flow rite? Any wine cockage?

Ermm... that's abt all i can think now..

Hi Jan,

Mine is solemnization followed by dinner.

- Ya free flow of soft drinks
- no Corkage charge for wines & spirits but going to check for wines must we buy fm them or can we bring in our own
- Yes wedding favours but dunno what
- Yes food tasting for 10pax upon confirmation
- Err light refreshment for me or guest? They ve pre-dinner snacks to served to wedding couple in changing room
- It comes with 30L beer but I hoping to bargain for more

Anything else?