(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Halo Ivory!!!!
Read about your proposal!!!!! Congrats!!!!!!!!!

haha, angle, after i saw ur posting regards ivory proposal, i went to search for the thread. FOUND.. very cute leh...

congrats, ivory, must be over the moon, enjoying "er ren shi jie"... hey, ur hubby quite cute & unique leh... i bet you'll still turn up at the ROM even w/c proposal =)

hi hi Morning!

Yes silver... have decided on Mandarin... and will be signing the contract most prob this weekend..

Ya, that's right, get all the quotes and then work out ur budget... U still have some times so no worries..

Morning gals!

Jan, yeah there's a waterfall thing. I was there last night to sign my contract. So I sat in the dining rm w/ the waterfall behind glass walls. Looks quite nice, then got pianist some more. *hehe* Congrats! U finally getting ur contract signed too!

Hi silver, so you're nearing the end of ur venue search. goody! Then u can move on to gowns, reno etc etc. Wah, RM is really ex. I also made the mistake of thinking that outdoor wedding is cheaper. But seems like comparable to a lot of 5-star hotels hor?

hello!!

Congrats to u too Jul04, got ur contract signed!!

Hmm.. so far only 3 of us in this thread, hopefully more will join us here soon!!

MIMOSA: Hi, curious... so a resort style home isit very difficult to 'take care' ie doing the cleaning up... chuan anot? Mine turn still long way... HAHA

INO: Eeee... I dun remember now as its Wed already... isit the couples wearing glasses? Sorry but I duno how to recall... cos I seen a couple wearing glasses seat the area there. But I remembered seeing a guy went to the 'T' stage to take photos. If I know can take pics, me also take my d.camera!

ANGELBB: Hi! Me find that designer's bridal usually dun come with photography if yes their quantity also very little... what do you think? By then you added up the cost of the photography... its over $5K liao... dun forget about after re-developing or add photos per page? Well, thats my thoughts lah... but still they are very popular... designer and 'normal' bridals somehow still abit difference lah. Im only surprised that some designer bridal package dun includes grooms' suit, how can... its a couple who getting married ma. LOL

CIN_P: Does MTM gowns have to be in simple designs? If have to add this and that have to pay ah? Me still sourcing those very chim details for my gowns leh... if want simple designs, then MTM for what? Me always tot MTM is to have the fitting and design you wanted ma... true?

IVORY: Yes lor... still got ppl joking wana make turtle soup after they go to the pond and look for the tortoise when they read the thread... HAHA

Gd morning ladies,

Jan,
Gd ya so less one thing to worry about

Jul 04,
The waterfall thing issit at the cafe at lobby level? Remember going there sometimes back, very nice and relaxing place.

Ya I didn't know outdoor is so expensive too. Even most hotel's poolside would come up to $70+ per pax. My gf was warning me to think twice lor cos usually max guest will give for Ang Bao is $80 unless v gd friends may give more. When they get to know it's outdoor, they may give lesser

hi hi..

Yah, agree that $80 is now the norm for ang pows, but dun be surprised if ppl give less than that too! esp for relatives... think some will just bring their whole family and give very little only..
So would say to be prepared for losses nowadays, hard to make profits!

U could perhaps ask ur parents or ur pil to give some hint to their friends/relatives that the costs are quite high etc... so that they're aware of that...

But what are the other venues that u may consider if u dun do the outdoor wedding? Have u thought abt it?

wendylee, MTM does have to be simple... stil can have embriodery & beads. but if you wan french lace, then probably have to top up. some even fully beaded also have to top up. better double check with bridal b4 signing. if they say dun have to top up even u wan full french lace. then state in the contract. "NO HIDDEN COST".

branded bridal usually is abt 3K+ jus for MTM gowns & men suit (EG & suit to keep). with photography will add up to ard 4K+ - 5k+. and usually package doesnt include car. though "normal" bridal "bao ka liao", you have to choose a good & reliable one.. personally feel tat most have quantity, but not quality.

hi ino,
wah.. tks tks.. veri nice of u!!
i will check my mail jus in case u r emailing it to me..

hi angelbb,
wah.... ur theme really veri loud!!
... sounds like wat u need is merely paintwork to create the effect.. go check out those nippon or ici dulux brochures.. they hve themes like this, and tips on how to create this kind of effect.. (if u wun to save cost, can even get tips frm these books, and DIY the paint job!)
also, there r also painting tips books frm the library which u can borrow as reference too!

as for furniture.. i'm not so sure abt harvey norman's furniture.. but do take time to shop arnd.. there r lotsa nice furniture arnd.. try marina sq, great world city (lami, barang barang, n some others).. ikea, imm, etc etc...

oic.. benny ang.. do let us know ur final decision!! well.. i hvent done research on them.. so, really no idea..

Silver & jan,

It's definitely true that pple normally give $80. And if it's families, they always chop off a portion. I'm already prepared to make a loss *sigh* As long as the loss isn't above 7-8K, I think I'm happy already. Coz I forsee my relatives will be quite stingy w/ angpaos *double sigh*

Silver,

Yeah, the waterfall is at the first floor lobby. Me quite suagu, that's the first time I actually sit there & drink orange juice

Jan,

How much did you pay for ur Mandarin Hotel package? Convenient to release? Just kpo a little.

hi cin_p,
felt tt wat u said is very true lor.... branded bridals focus more on quality lor....
there's 1 less branded bridal tt i enquired abt tt bao ka liao.. even allows 6 OTR gowns for PS! is this the norm.. frm wat i read, it doesnt seem to b so.. cos' read tt most bridal offer only 1 or 2 OTR for PS...

but really cannot neglect those branded bridals ability to create fabulous n gorgeous looking gowns!!

CIN_P & FOREST: Ya, thanks... all noted! Noticed that most of the normal bridal shops usually have ALL... but designers' bridal have to add there and here until over $5K. Gesh..

SILVER: Where got so fast and free after ROM? HAHA, wait wait lah... me waiting for her ROM photos! HAHA

Hi Jan & Jul 04,

Ya and my gf actually told her relatives dun give 'gold' and get scolded by her dad hehe. But my sis did the same thing to those closer relatives. I also prepared to loss abit but hopefully not too much.

Jan, you are rite. My gf's wedding she rcv $50 ang bao from a quite close friend. Too much rite. Aiyo....

Hmm... if it's indoor may consider Chijmes or Fort Canning but have yet to go down and see.

Today seems abit quiet here huh?

wendylee,
How's ur sourcing so far?

Sagi,
There will be a poolside wedding at The Orential on 19 May. If interested can drop by to see the decor....

silver,
thanks for the quotes!! got it in the mail!

wendylee,
ya lor... must prepare more than 5k... actually, if get branded bridal, branded photographer.. think it will exceed 6k to 7k!!

forest & wendylee
those less branded ones will provide more gowns for PS. branded one 1 or 2 i think. personally i feel tat branded one are the trendy people with updated designs. neighbour one is more taiwanese. tat's the impression my bridal shop gives lor. so depend wat you wan, quality or quantity. branded one give more personalise service.

silver and binbin (and forest)
Thanks for the quotes. The price for conrad now +++ not nett anymore but works out to be about the same, I think. They never give free beer ah? hmm...wonder if can haggle for more freebie.

Silver: your wedding in july. Mine most prob too. Haven't decided yet.

wendylee:
How ah? think ROM leng leng qing qing like not very nice.

helloo...

jul04, my package is about $800 nett, my hubby think it's very reasonable as other hotels are more ex.. somemore no wine cockage and free flow beer, so we can save on that! that's why we find it hard to resist...hehe...
How about ur package?

For me, i'm even tried calculating the returns i'll get, by taking for eg $50 per head to be prudent...

pink,
You waiting for Tong Shui to be out? Me and my bf wanted 18 Jul cos it's our anniversary but his mum wants to make sure it's not an 'unlukcy' day but for me, I am not that pan tan lor. In fact, his sis was telling me that some people avoid Chinese 6th mth cos mid of the yr and dunno what 'pan' (separation). But I told my bf I dun care lor hehe

This thread moves very fast!!! got difficulty catching up. heehe...

Have been to Pan pac, Marina Mandarin and Oriental. Like the decor for Pan pac very much. but their price is really quite a big difference from those offered by MM and Oriental. Used to think that these hotels are par.. MM's main ballroom is not bad. Only thing is that the ceiling is low. Has anyone been to see MM's suite? I haven got a chance to look at it yet.

For those who have been to alkaff mansion bridal show, how was it?

PINK: Yes lor... then also duno how.. my bf oso dun have much budget too... mine will be in Nov, so mayb by then will be better? Then wont be so bad...? Mayb dun even need the garden package? LOL

YELLOW TULIP: Hi, the show was okie lor... just that the prices they offer is what you get to see in their websites. Only thing is that if you sign-up on that day you get duno $699-999 discount. Didnt managed to hear alot... was asked to call them up for more quotes... so far havent follow-up yet.

Hi Ocean,

finally here is a thread that I can take part in :P...

I will be having my customary in Feb nxt year
. Venue selected to be at Raffles The Plaza. Bridal studio to be Lezen Creation plus CS and EG with Ted collection. Now I wondering if this is too much :P

U better start preparing soon. Now is already May.

My advice is to start with a date first, then banquet venue, then actual day photographer(if you have preference)

Jan,

Wah, really gd deal! $800 nett & free flow of beer some more. Mine's $800 but +++, not nett! And only got 30L of beer. But what to do? We like the place, & the food is gd enough to satisfy the food-crazy relatives *hehe*

I also tried calculating returns! Keeping my fingers crossed that losses will not hit $10K.

Hi silver,

I also wanna tell my relatives, esp those in the tea ceremony. Thinking of gd way to hint I want either platinum / white gold, better still, cash! But dunno how to say? Sure kena scolding from parents I think!

Silver:
no, not really waiting for tong shu. We're romming this july 14th, so wondering if dinner should be on the 14th next year, but it's not weekend. So still deciding. Tong shu don't look too much better...ignorance is bliss.

wendylee:
yours nov should be better by then. think no need to worry. wedding should be joyous affair, don't know why they must be so restrictive. If everyone's temp is taken, should be ok. If they are asking pple to go out shopping in full force, why should they restrict family and friends to come together to celebrate? quite ridiculous, i feel. hope they lift te silly sanctions soon.

Yellow tulip:
I've compared the 3 hotels prices. haven't vistied any of them. PanPac seems rather steep. have you considered Raffles the plaza and conrad?

Hi Jan & Jul 04,

How many tables are you gals having? I am looking at around 20 and inviting only closer relatives. Hopefully lesser tables lesser lost

Jul 04,
I will ask my dad to tell the relatives dun wan gold lor hehe

SILVER: I think I agreed with PINK, but again no harm looking into the tong-shu... but mayb you can get those masters then calculate your dates? Also can lor... then you dun have to wait for the tong-shu which might take up your time in waiting. My ROM date also seen by those masters saying good lor... no more comments. But you havent got dates in mind for wedding dinner... mayb you stil have time to wait lah...

Yellow Tulip,
Alkaff wedding fair was gd. It's a nice place but rather inconvenient and limited parking. And the venue is separted into west terrace which can hold up to 120 pax, 1st floor of the hall 80 pax, 2nd level of floor 120 pax and east terrace (cannot remember how many pax) so if you ve quite a no of guests, you would ve to separate all over...

pink,
I agreed with you - ignorance is bliss. Well 18 Jul is Sun so some of the feedbacks are people ve to work the next day so turn up may not be full. But again, I think it depends on the guests you invited. For close friends, I believe they will turn up lor

SILVER: OIC, then go ahead lor... ours in 18Nov (anniversary) *BLUSHED* Sama-sama!!!
ROM date not so pan-tan lah... mayb older might look into those traditional weddings instead... Im not sure.. what you think? I havent reach to that stage yet. LOL

Hi Mimosa!! so happy to see ur posting, coz we are going to do a resort style home too!!! my house is a design and build but we are also hacking away the floor tiles, overlaying the master bathroom.....
we will be using a lot of wood for our house too, and sandstone as well. we will have at least two water feature, and the entire theme is like a spa resort...love the sound of running water.....

where did u get ur balinese furniture? i am intending to get ours from barang barang, love the dining table and sofa there. also from rainforest shop. like the sofa too, haven't decide which shop to get from....hehhehee.... read abt a place that specialised in resort style furniture in a mag, forgot the name. bt we intend to go check it out......

u know something, most of the girls in the segar thread is gonna have resort style theme for their deco, and we were saying how all of us have the same taste.....yeah, now found someone else- you! hehehhehhee......

initially thinking of doing pebblewash and slate tiles for entrance. then changed our minds to sandstone. but now coz we figured sandstone with too much shoes dragging over it will be seasoned and tarnished over time, so will most prob use the same tiles as the living room - homogenoeous..... what about you??? share share leh, yah can share ideas..... i have taken 1/2 day off to finalise the details with my ID today, starting work next Mon.

hi angelBB, no i have not been to divine in JB. only heard abt it from helen, my designer....
good idea if u want divine-like gowns but at reasonable prices......keep us updated yar?

wendylee,
seems like '18' is a gd ya. i passed my driving licence on the 18 too hehehe well, i will be having my solemnization + dinner together... but still i rather to ve the date which is meaningful to us

WOW, so envy you gals talking about reno!

BINBIN: Then make sure you dun mistake the water sound as one of your tap is leaking water in the toliet... LOL But its sure very cosy lor...
So how much you gona spend for the whole 'spa' feel?

Hi to all,
i just came back from chalet at east coast, and the thread is so long........

I got lobang to do WG and EG, price depends on the material used, and mayb can be below $1k for both. But i'll need to source for my own mk-up, hairstyling and photography package. Do u think it's worth to do so? Or do the boutiques allow me to bring my own gowns, but I tk up the rest of the package?

hello...

Back from lunch!!

Jul04, urs is still ok leh, coz ur tables are for 12 ppl right? So it's still alright if u calculate per head... And yup, heard the food at sheraton is good too, by Li Bai rite...

silver, for me, i'm having about 220 ppl... ya hopefully lesser losses!! hehe...

I havent thought of the tea ceremony part! Hopefully not too many relatives, otherwise very sian, u mean they'll give jewellery?!!! Yeeks.. i dun want gold too!! haha....

I am looking at around 200pax too. Still wondering some not so cls x-col want to invite or not
. If invite one dan ve to invite the rest....

Jan, I heard some relatives give gold during tea ceremony and no ang bao for dinner

Hmm... Looks like I have the most no of guests : 300 pax. Really praying hard that they won't give me gold lor. I mean, yeah, we can always pawn them, but still having hard cash is sooo much more helpful for poor pple like me.

Silver, if i were u, i think i wont wanna invite the not so close x-col.. think invite ur closer friends will good enough.. otherwise, some not so close friends/col that u know may not give you a "good" ang pow!!

Ya loh.. if they just give gold and no ang pow... sighs really can be a big loss!!

And also, dont know whether u gals have to give ur parents the tables or will ur parents be paying for their own guests that they invite... Coz logically speaking, the guy side suppose to pay for the girl's side tables and they can't take the angpows for the girl side one too... So this is already considered a loss!

silver
thanks, wld go check later....

wah, u even do up a spreadsheet...i didnt really look into detail yet....
amara one not bad, but seems like they have min no of pp 200 leh.... so i cant meet the quota..

19 may i got a wedding dinner to attend also, at dragon gate restaurant....so dun think can go oriental there to see... if u r going, do give me ur comments

angelbb, cos i look at ur posting liao, then i realize got more things to worry abt...so faint lor! kekeke...

questy
wah, good lobang leh... wonder if can tell where u get from??

angelbb, cin_p
which thread har?? for ivory's proposal..... me cannot find leh.....

ivory
congrats! remember to show us ur rom photos wor..

Ya lor!!
21512.gif
<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Smurfy</FONT>, i noe i better start soon.... so fast it's now May and we got only less than a year time to prepare.
21513.gif

My date had already been fixed on 21 Feb'04. And I already had a Bridal, which is Paris &amp; now i hear lots of bad comments abt them...sigh

By the way, what is your date huh??

too many posting for me to catch up as usual so didn't really read in details...

think of u toking about hotels rite, hope u girls find your dream hotel soon...)

binbin,
yeah i thought of that lor, i went to that ribbon shop in arab still too, was thinking of using tigerliles cos they give out such nice frangance ..but wonder if the lilies will last till mid of sunday cos the decor would have to be done up by sat mah...

forest,
thanks for our suggestions , will go home to see see the magz...my rom is an afternoon event so won't be as romantic lor, wanted it to be a evening affair but *sigh* my grandma and her timing thingy...anyway...will take your suggestion..
and see what else i can add to it, i know what u r toking abt in regards to the hand flowers...think im getting something like that..

Cyn,
oh, so good ah, u only paid 3k ah, i thought most hotels paid 3k too now got to pay 5k for the deposit, will be so the broke at the end of it ah...anyway, me confirm taking gcw liao waiting to sign the contract now..

yeah me also feeling so lazy lor then like so much fats to lose ah...really envy those slim girls hor...*sigh*

Ino/binbin,
thanks for the infor ah, just wondering if im overpaying for the hotel deposit...so i guess what binbin say is true lah, if more or less set on that hotel should be fine paying that sum of deposit

pebbles arh, confirmed already.. good lor.. at least settled the major thingy. anyway, sooner or later also have to pay... true lah. tat's a huge sum... after paying, bank empty too.. heart pain hor. so did you manage to bargain for more extras? how many tables? i also envy those slim girls.. the other day at ted wu, the sales say look slimmer than it is... haha... lazy but stil have to slim leh.. WG cant be in black leh.. if not can look slimmer... aiyo, cant "siam" the white WG leh...

cin p,
yup yup, waiting to sign the contract now and that will be done..
i confirm 45 tables with them, didn't get much extras , think my peaks are slightly lessor than yrs..
but happy with it liao think it's ok..
so can sign up with them lor..

oh, that day u were asking me if im having any mini honeymoon rite, thought of it ah but u think it's safe to travel now, thought of just going to some where near but then, now all the countries so scared of singaporean ah...

yup, get what u mean ah, if only EG can be in black then would be slimmer for sure hor..eheheh..

cin_p,
hmm.. does 1 or 2 gown change seem too little???

pebbles,
hee hee.. glad u like the idea...
cos' if i really hve a chance to do a garden thingy.. i will def do something like dat.. but too bad.. no chance!

BUT.. me actually told my hubby last nite tt i hope to do a garden/beach celebration on our 1st yr wedding anniversary.. HAHA... cos' tat's the only event tt i can think of so tt my wish of having a garden/beach celebration can materialise!!!

think my hubby is going bonkers... nothing abt our customary wedding is finalised.. n i m talking to him abt 1st yr wedding anniversary!! *hahaha*

btw, will u gals take ur ROM date as anniversary or ur customary date, i.e. for those with diff dates ???

wow....thread moving real fast...i had hard time catching up liao. Btw, can someone suggest some lunch venues for ROM soleminsation except the Oaks and Blue ginger? I now need to gather the quotation for all these places before i can book the ROM date..... If yes, pls send them to [email protected]

Hi anatres,
yup....me working now also was doing chemical eng. course in NUS. Yup...the course is very tough but enjoyable. So now i looking for new job that can pay $$$$.....heeee...heee...after rom, will be going for master course then do the customary next year. Guess eventually i am still a 2004 bride