(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

Lin, Sagi & Mango Cheese Cake,
I visited Spore Yacht Club earlier on. Love the place so much. Managed to meet up with the sales mgr - quite a nice guy and gave us quite abit of ideas including the risk of doing outdoor wedding.

The Bacon is one of the restaurant and has a overview of the marina. The sales mgr actually recommended us to ve our ROM there followed by dinner at the Foreshore (if we considering to ve our solemnization earlier). Everything seems nice except the cost of setting up the tentage. The est cost is around $6k for the setup
Will be visiting Raffles Marina to see any diff...

Lin,
What are the 3 you ve shortlisted? If you are considering RM, perhaps you might want to look at Spore Yacht Club too as it's not as far as RM. You can actually ve your solemnization at The Bacon or at Poolside followed by dinner at Ballroom if you do not want it outdoor.

Sagi,
Ya as compared to hotels, RM & SYC are abit out of way....

Hi Ivory!
Congrat!!! Congrats!!! Congrats in advance!!!
So how should we be addressing you?? Mrs …..??

Hi Mimosa!
I’ve got 3 bridesmaids, so likely to budget only about $100 each lor… I know Daniel Yam’s is around that price, so plus minus a bit still okay for me lah. But if they wanna MTM (like my good friend mentioned), then think I have to tactfully tell them cannot liao… Actually got lot of places sell very nice gowns one. CK Tang, Isetan also have. Have you checked them out? Are your bridesmaids fussy about the color? Cos I suggested to one of them to have something like light blue, or purple, then she say “Bridemaids where got wear other colours one?!? Sure must wear white mah!”
Thought I was being nice – cos I know very difficult to find nice G-strings that wont show up – somemore if it’s white, then they will feel awkward to wear it for other occasions rite?!? Aiyah, cannot be bothered to think too much about that now – settle my own gown first! Heehee!

Hi antares,
Actually I also thinking – yah lor, since it’s more or less the same dress for the bridemaids, they shouldn’t be feeling not happy rite? Somemore it means that the earlier we buy, then the less people trying it mah… Hahahaha! But aiyah, I think all gals, including me also like that one lah, all gals wanna dress up nice nice, wear new clothes lor, cos if the dress keep for many months, then the “feeling” not there liao… Also I scared scully by my wedding day, wait their size not the same liao… wait some loss weight some put on weight… so I dare not suggest to them to shop during the GSS…. Also I think wont really save that much, at most maybe total of $100? I try to close one eye lor…. Hopefully by the time I ready to buy, will have some good finds!

Hi Cin_p,
*sob sob* Missed going to Ted Wu last week! Very curious about his gowns leh, cos never went to his shop before… glad that you had a chance to go though. Never mind if you dun have a suitable gown there lah, cos we sure have time to look around more places. Have you tried Empire?? Also at Tras St? They are the sister company of Wedding Present, so I think they will have quite a good collection of gowns… I’ll have to venture into Tras St soon liao… Me itching to go “Gown Window Shopping”
But as binbin says, I must start practicing my “show them a face” Hahaha – in case I get stuck and have to get AWAAAY!!

Hi doreamon,
Yah, I agree with you – Dang bridal rather mood swing one. I stepped into the bridal shop, made appointment somemore, she didn’t even look up to smile at me. But I’ve not been to White Link… Will be going there soon to have a look.
JB got Divine?? I also wanna go take a look! Do you have any of the package details? Can advise?

Hi forest, binbin,
Me also thinking of starting abit of “reno” soon, but not major one lah, cos I moving in to stay with my MIL. So just the master bedroom, and maybe a bit here and there of the other rooms too. Whats the price to expect ah? To just get contractor? Or just get nice nice ready made furniture?

Binbin, can I have a look at Mariott price list? Can email me? [email protected]

Gal’s, I’m considering to book my studio & actual day photographer soon. He says will be giving me a good price for booking both services with him. What is the price range to expect ah? Also, what’s the expected price for bridal boutiques w/o the photography leh? $2k?? Also also, when are we meeting up? So excited after reading so much about everyone!

Hi Jan & silver,

I was off yesterday, now suffering Tue blues

Jan, there were a Western set-up & a Chinese set-up. Personally, I like the western, looks nicer & classier. The ballrm is fan-shaped, but a bit 'shallow'. Don't really know how to describe, cause it's fan-shaped, so there are guests looking at you from the side of the stage. But the advantage is no pillars, & everyone will be able to see the couple. But I like ballrms that are 'deeper' so I'd rather take Mandarin.

Silver, I got my bridal package for abt $2.7k, but both WG & Eg are OTR. Hope this helps

hi Lin, can u tell me how u get to view my ROM photos huh? i dun rem sending the link to anyone but two of the ppl here leh..... *scratch head*. pls let me know can? is it from nick?

oh, as for the hair, thanks for the compliment.
i got the garlland (the ring of flowers on the hair) from Poppy Flora Studio. The owner designed it for me, after i tell her what i am wearing and the look i wish to create.
i think it will still look nice with short hair, she will advise something that suits. Go and look for her when u are free? Her name is Linda, Poppy is along tanjong pagar road, opposite wedding news. tell her i recommended you.
you know my name right? ;)

hi doremon and angelBB, yes JB got divine, but it's divine brides, not divine couture. they are like a subsidiary of divine couture here. and their gowns are passed on to them by the boutique here. that's what i heard from the designer lah...

angelbb, okie will send u the marriot quotes soon.

so u dun intend to do flooring right? guess that will save u quite a lot. if it's only revamping the master bedroom and a bit of the other rooms, prob looking at less than 10K for reno?

hi mango cheese cake, i have not started my actual reno yet, in them midst of confirming the details b4 starting next wk i hope. like the ID coz feel very comfortable with him. well, we bought a new EA, and we are doing quite extensive reno coz both of us always have an idea of how we want out new house to look like...going to hack away the existing floor tiles and re-lay...not to mention a whole lot of other things.... we are going to exceed budget...
with full reno, tiles and aircon, looking at about $40plus K. hehehheee....... gonna be pockets empty liaoz.....

saw his carpentry work b4, quite like it. only thing now is not sure whether to outsource the tiling....... :o

Morning!!

hi there Jul04, haha.. everyday felling blue even tho not monday!! haha..
yup, i think i know wat u mean by shallow... thanks

Ya, the ballroom at mandarin has got pillars, but since my tables aint that many so they are able to arrange it without blocking the guests' view...
Hopefully it wont be that bad..

hello all the fellow brides to be..

Ivory...
Congrats!!!! It's your big day..
Wishing u and your hubby happy marriage and have more romantic stories to share with us...
21432.gif

CC2,
ahhaha...me also *pant**pant* ah, too many postings to catch up, getting too old liao...so hope the youngers here won't blame me if i repeat myself..ahahha..

Lin,
dun be so stress girl...
Im sure u will do a great job in whatever u have to do..
Cheer up..

Binbin,
hey when it's my turn to do renov u must help me ah cos i think i will be equally as blur ah, all the quotes sounds so foreign hor, all the technical terms...
oh, can i take a look at yr rom pics ah, i wonder what kind of look i will have when i put on the galland ah, can't wait to see the galland, think Linda will do a very good job hor...cos i was rushing when i went down that day and didn't get to really tell her what kind of look i want but manage to tell her how my dress looks like ...

Cyn,
so u going to sign up for some more PTs ah...the PTs seems to be getting more and more ex hor..how often do u go to the gym now ah...me trying to go as often as i can ah, being feeling really fat but so sad lor, felt sick for the last few weeks so have stop going to the gym for a few weeks...
me ah, going to sign up with gcw lah but still trying to see if i can get more peaks from them..ahaha...must make sure i get as many things as possible mah..
As for rom prep ah, now preparing for it lor, i will be holding it at my parents place, then decor etc is all DIY so hope i won't make a big mess out of it ah..ahaha...

i cannot remember who was asking ah but i got a list of the hotels quotes done up in spreadsheet, think i have forwarded a copy to the oldies before rite, i can't remember where i put it but if i manage to find the list will forward it to the new comers..

mee mee...welcome to the 04 thread..

hi pebbles, of course, though me not beri expert but will share with u all i can when it's time to do ur reno....
okie will send u the link to the pics..... send to both ur email addy kae?

mee mee! sorry me old liao forgot to welcome u just now! welcome welcome!!!
21434.gif

hi hi pebbles, if u are worried abt ur garlland u can always call up linda and describe to her what u want? she will also tell u what she is doing for you, maybe a call to her may set ur mind at ease? dun worry kae? relax and enjoy the preparation.....

hi binbin,
ok, will look out for your email..
can't wait to see it ah...so have u being comparing lots of quotes from the different ID firms, come to think of it, i dun even know what i want for my house..ahah..

yeah thanks for suggesting hor, i think i should give Linda a call ah,i also cant' remember what i told her that day but i know i describe to her my rom dress and colour of the dress, also mention to her it's going to be a small garden party like thingy and she more or less knew what she's going to do up for me liao...
oh, yeah, wanted to ask u girls here, any suggestions for decor ah, being thinking of how i can decorate the place but so far can only think of using rose petals for the floor, i might be getting a small white tentage and thinking of using tigerlilies as decor stuff for the four poles as in the tentage poles, i have to think of the staircase in my house too, was thinking of using ribbons...any suggestions from u girls ah

Cyn,
forget to ask u ah, how much deposit did u place for gcw ah, my co-ordinater was telling me i need to place a 5k deposit ah, thought it's 2k for most hotels

Good morning gals...

I visited Spore Yacht Club yest. Love the place so much. Managed to meet up with the sales mgr - quite a nice guy and gave us quite abit of ideas including the risk of doing outdoor wedding.

The Bacon is one of the restaurant and has a overview of the marina. The sales mgr actually recommended us to ve our ROM there followed by dinner at the Foreshore (if we considering to ve our solemnization earlier). Everything seems nice except the cost of setting up the tentage. The est cost is around $6k for the setup Will be visiting Raffles Marina to see what's the diff..

Jul 04,
Wow you are fast huh? You ve already settled the 2 major thing hehe So which bridal you booked yours?

hi binbin,
no worries lah.. jus wanted to pass the msg on wat i've been thru... luckily i onli paid 300bucks to the ID.. otherwise, very Xin Tong...

its gd tt u got a recommended ID though.. better than jus approaching on ur own to an unknown ID..

oh yes.. i'm looking for marriott and conrad quotes.. can u pls send to me??? [email protected] tks!!

welcome mee mee!

so, hve u decided on ur bridal n hotel???

hi mango cheese cake,
oh i c i c... toa payoh is 'hot' location.. so the price will definitely b quite ex lor... will send u a separate email shortly..

hi angelbb,
hmmm... regd ur reno.. it really depends on wat u intend to do lor.. actually, if jus the master bedrm, n the condition is not too jia lat.. jus a paint job n new nice nice furniture will look veri gd already.. u hve to decide wat kind of theme u r thinking of having for ur rm, b4 i can say which furniture shop.. for eg. if u want balinese look.. then, barang barang will hve... etc..

so, which photographer u r intending to book with??

this thread is really moving very very fast!!! *see stars*

binbin
can i see ur rom pics too??
my email [email protected]
thank you!

wah...u got all the hotel quotes? maybe next time got chance to meet up, then u pass me the hardcopy ones.....the soft copy ones i got liao, from silver.... hee...

mee mee
welcome welcome !

mimosa
i clueless abt everything too, so cant give u any advice or comments....as i have not really start looking at all the bridal boutiques and gowns yet.. only flip thru magazines..

silver
u fell in love with the place, spore yatch club?? but very ex ahh, need $6k to set up the thing...i wld be broke....think ang pow sure cannot recoup liao....
actually hor, yesterday i bring back all the quotes from the hotels for my bf to see....including raffles marina n occ one....
he likes the barbecue menu from raffles marina...but hor, we worried wld lugi alot, cos pp see outdoor somemore barbecue, they thought super cheap....but no leh...
so same old thing....dun know how..

but we decide to shortlist a few places n go and have a look lor...
occ menu looks very cheapskate....our pov..

gals ah, the more i read the postings the more blur n stressed i become....so far i only start looking at hotels, bridal boutiques not really yet.. after that failed mission....havent gone on another yet...keke
then i read angelbb's post on bridesmaid dresses too...i think i gonna faint liao!
and.....some of u doing renovations for home... think i wont be worrying abt this yet, cos no $ to buy home yet...and also might not intend to do so...

Hi Jan,

Well, if your no of tables isn't too near the max, then I'm sure that they can arrange the tables so that the guests are not blocked. Don't need to worry abt that lah. Think abt how pretty u wanna look on ur wedding instead

Hi silver,

Your 'outdoor' wedding concept sounds really nice & romantic. Wish I could have something like that, more special than the traditional wedding dinner. But too bad I can't get over the pespire prob

No lah, I'm not fast. Just that I got more things on my mind. My flat coming in Jul, so wanna get other things out of the way. Also, I'm super fussy, so that eliminates many things, thus simplifying the procedure lor.

Oops! Silver, u asked me what's my bridal right? I signed up w/ Thomson Wedding Design, it's quite low-end, but w/in my budget lor.

Gd morning ladies,

wow it's really moving fast!!

Sagi,
I ve just email you the quotation from Spore Yacht Club. For their outdoor, they do allow Chinese set dinner or buffet. They are having promo at Chinese dinner now @ $428 + GST for weekends and buffet @ $60 per pax. So if divided out per pax including tentage will be around $75 for Chinese Dinner and $90 for buffet. The Sales Mgr actually encouraged to go for Chinese Dinner as buffet rather X. As for location wise, it's not as far was RM.

Personally I don't like OCC outdoor.... Sagi, when's your wedding? I am like you... in fact only started looking around for venue. My bf lucky more cute, told me still early, why dun we book in Jul

Hi Jul 04,
Thanks. I like the place and idea too but I am taking the risk lor - what if it rains. Things will be not as great then
and if my all guests think that outdoor is very cheap than I going to lugi alot

Hey my gf also signed up with Thomson. I saw her photo with her WG, very nice! So you went for selection of WG & EG liao? Or issit too early

Hi silver,

Aiyah, of course it's too early to choose the gowns now. Think I'm supposed to go choose in Jan or Feb next yr. My PS only in Mar.

Whose your gf? Do you know which photographer took her pics?

I'm also a bit worried abt my dinner. I think my relatives dunno where's Sheraton Towers. Scully they think it's some cheap 3-star hotel then I'll die lor.

hi pebbles, using flowers for poles is nice, make it look very garden like.
are u using those ivy look alike leave to twirl around the poles? if u using ribbons, maybe can use silver organza ribbons? will look nice i think. can get cheap ones at arab street. there's a shop that sells all kinds of ribbons.....

perhaps can tie a bunch of flowers (small bunch) onto the back of each chair? and secure with twines? quite rustic look...

btw, i paid $4K for my hotel deposit, so $5K should be okie lah, if u are realli set on the hotel oredi...

forest, okie, send u the conrad and marriott quotes soon....

sagi, sure, i will bring those hardcopy quotes to the next outing. actuali i brought it last outing, and the girls were so surprised hehehhee..... lent the file to a friend but will get it back from her....

MEEMEE: HIhi, I think I saw you somewhere rite? Cant remember... which thread was that? WL or which bridal shop? Heee, WELCOME!!!

MANGO CHEESE CAKE: Hello, yesh yesh... eee, me also sharing and taking notes from this thread lor...

GALS: Saw the news on the ROM thingy last nite? Woah, inclusive the couple... only 6guest are allow in the room. Sure alot of couple take up the $199 package from Say Yes wor...

hi ladies!!

Silver: wow, the yacht club venue seems to be very nice... for me, i dun think i can ever think of outdoor wedding coz i dun think my parents or pil will like that...
Think u go check out the other 2 venues which u like first.. i believe the rest will be very lovely too!!

Jul04: Thanks for ur kind words... really hope that mandarin is right choice! Actually i havent paid the deposit yet, just sort of confirm verbally... hmm... but mandarin's package is really good, that's why it's hard to resist!!

Hi Jan,

You mean you haven't confirmed? It's better to do it fast, coz for pple like us who must have the date that we want, we can't afford to wait. If you have no objections abt pillars, I can recommend Hilton. It's one of the 4 hotels that I shortlisted, the package is very gd : I got 2 nites stay, nett px (no worries for GST), & the ballrm ceiling is quite high.

I think Mandarin's food is quite gd, except for the Lotus Leaf rice, but that's just coz I disliked that dish in the 1st place. So I'm not even getting that for my own dinner!

hi silver,
I saw the website that you gave me on spore yacht club. It didn't look impressive enough(my own opinion) unlike the RM. The 3 locations i narrow is rm, alkaff and occ.

hi binbin,
oh, i still have your link you send me from your honeymoon photos. showed FH the place you went and wanted to know whether he like to go that kind of place lor for honeymoon. Then, happen to see you updated that area too for rom photos
just my luck lor.. and good thing also..because now you recommend me your florist.
How much you paid for that? Is she those designer florist? hope it's not too expensive...

Forest : you wanted the Marriot quotes right. I have from silver. Think get from her easier. she got alot! heeheehee then you compare already, let us know what you think!

Silver: I would also like conrad's please! Thanks. [email protected]

binbin: ya ya, a little interested in conrad now that you say until so good.

mango cheesecake: wow! good to have you here. You're so in the know, just the person we need.
I've only just glanced through all the msgs, hope I didn't get anyone mixed up. You're looking for someone to do your house? my house is currently being renovated. ID or contractor, really no diff, it all boils down to who you are comfortable with and communication. 5rm flat, needs about 15-30K of renovating depending on how fwah fwah you want. then plus aircon and hob hood oven, furniture fridge washing machine, another 10-20K. anyway, if you need to compare price or anything let me know.

wendylee: only 6 ah? so both sets of parents and couple only lor? My ROM is mid july. haven't prepare anything yet, panic later...

meemee: Welcome!

I'm nursing a bad flu,face all blocked up, cannot keep up with you all...=P

silver
thanks,i go check later.... can u email me the conrad one again?? think i lose it....

my wedding ahh.....not confirmed yet... we think earliest wld be end of next yr....kekee.. that's y i still very relaxed....ahhaaa.. later wld start panicking...
how abt urs? if it is early 2004, gotta start booking venues liao lor....not that early... i know some pp can start 1 and 1/2 yrs before one...

i intend to have my solemnisation thingy together with the spore side dinner.... so save one hassle...ahaha... or if not enough money, wld just have simple solemnisation ceremony followed by buffet....(wld invite less pp then) but i still thinking of having the dinner lor....then can invite more pp..

Hi Jul04,

Ya haven't paid the deposit yet, but the manager has confirmed the date for us just that haven't gone to sign and pay yet... so not so worried about that... But think my hubby lazy to go down and go thru all the negotiation with other hotels already.. hehe.. I will stick to Mandarin.. coz package really attractive, as in no wine cockage, we will get 2 night's stay too etc... and pleased with the manager's service..

But glad to hear from u all the good comments abt Mandarin... appreciate that!!

Btw, i heard that u can also do your photo shoots in sheraton, they have some nice spots for photo taking, but believe u gotta seek the hotel's permission first...

hi girls..
so many postings!!!..
I din finish reading all lor..
so if I miss out any.. remind me hor..:P

hi ino,
$100 per metre??!!... How come so ex wan ah?...
think I very sua ku leh..
so u are making an additional gown other than those fr bridal shop? Or is it that u buy the material for them to sew onto your gown?..
but if you buy the material for them to sew, will it be very lugi cos' the gown got to return to the shop right?

hi doreamon,
Oh, so u were doing chem. engineering ah? That's a very tough course right?... How come you are working now? Tot u say u looking for job? *puzzled*
Oic.. so it is common for bridal shop coordinator to "forget" to tell us that the MTM gown cannot be too detail lah?..haha.. I din know leh....

hi AngelBB,
hee.. so u decide not to get your bridesmaids' dress during GSS liao ah?...
hee.. I asked my bridesmaid, she said she dun really mind to get in during GSS but she scared by next year, the dress might not fit her as what u say..hee.. so I also dun know if I should get it now..:PP

hi sagi and pink, saw that both of u asking for conrad quotes, send to you liao. but not sure whether it's the updated one coz mine is valid until march 2004 only. depends on when's ur wedding?

Lin,
OOrrrr....i see. coz i uploaded about 3 to 4 rom photos to the phuket site for my friends to see. hehheeh so ciao ah?

what do u mean by designer type of florist? well, she is a designer lah, and she know a lot about flowers.....can advice u whatever mood you wish to create. i recommended her in another thread, and pebbles and soupie both visited her and signed up with her....hehhehee....u try ur luck kae? well, as for price, she is not exactly the cheapest. but reasonable enough. my sunflower bouquet + garlland is about $160? if u have a budget, u can let her know she will try to work around it....

PINK: Yeah lor... now my interested party told me might take up another bridal shop package so I guessed will have to stick to my package for ROM 1st but again if taking up SAY YES kinda xtra leh... cos might have more than 6pax. Then my bf says then only immdeiate members lor... ask friends to wait over at restuarant... but like that no fun liao lo... HOW?

binbin
thank you, received ur conrad quotes..... i also not sure the one silver sent to me valid till when....me very blur...

but u nvr send me the link to ur photos....

hee

Gd afternoon ladies,

Pink & Sagi,
Err I also forgotten Conrad's quotation valid till when. Not at home now, will email you gals when I am back. Anyay, Conrad called me today. Was told that poolside (sheltered area) can take up to around 120pax but as I ve ard 200pax, I ve to separate my guest to the aircon glass hall next to the pool. Don't really like the idea of separation them so will be out for me. If you gals are within the no, can consider the place.

Sagi,
Mine tentatively is 18 Jul 04. Actually I also just started looking area for venue only. Ve not even started for bridal...

Lin,
Ya compared to RM, SYC is smaller but slightly more convenient. Anyway, I went to RM earlier but the sales mgr was busy so just look around myself. Most likely will not take RM cos my bf was complaining too far. On top of that, RM is much more expensive. How many guest you looking at cos if less than 150 you can take the terrace which is sheltered but mine is 200 so ve to take Lawn which is $62++ per pax and on top of that I ve to pay $6-8K for the tentage so kinda of out of my range. When you are back to Spore, consider visiting SYC yourself. Beside smaller, I don't find v great diff from RM. In fact after today visit, my bf prefer SYC than RM. Just my opinion....

oh no.. siao liao, cant catch up... will jus answer one question 1st, the rest later k =p

pebbles, suppose to be 5k but i paid only 3k, the remaining 2k will pay a mth b4 the big day. i also find that the PTs are getting more expensive. dun think i'm signing for more. probably wait til closer to my day. i also have to trim my tummy, arm, aiya everywhere lor.. but very lazy.. haven being gog for 2 weeks.

hi pink,
thks thks... got it frm binbin liao....

hi pebbles,
think wat binbin suggested is quite nice...

for garden theme, for ur hand bouquet, can ask ur florist to prepare with stalks n leaves visibie.. so tt its very natural looking... errmmm... i.e. dun wrap the bottom... (dunno whether u got wat i mean or not.. ) anywaz, saw a garden theme in 1 of the mags... very nice.. its either her world brides or style.. check it out!!

also, see if u can buy/find big glass bowls, put a little water, add some rose petals, n float those tealight candles.. will also b nice!!

pebbles, wat binbin & forest suggested is nice. day or nite event? if in the nite, candles shd do the trick..

silver
really ahh? conrad one got poolside? can take up to abt 120 pp? just nice for me..... but i dun know their buffet menu and px....
urs in july 04? ok lah, still not too bad....u can settle the venue first, then scout for gowns lor....
for me, the bridal boutique shopping, most probably i go with my fren....shortlist a few then bring bf along.....kekeke....anyway, guys more chin cai...

Hi Jan,

Ur welcome. It's true that Mandarin hotel is gd, but too bad bf has a thing against it lor.

I didn't think of taking photos in the hotel itself. Where can I take photos in sheraton? So far I can think of the big staircase & the lobby only. where else?

sagi, pink & forest,
Ve email you liao. Pls check.

sagi,
Looks like Conrad just nice for you ya. Hey go and take a look at Amara. Not bad too but no shelter lah. Btw, I email you a spreadsheet which I compiled some of the hotels. Hope its useful to you.

Ya still can take my time to look around but personally quite like SYC lor. Now waiting for him to get back to me on the price for 200pax tentage. Ve to work out the budget lor. My gf advise me not to ve buffet otherwise the likelyhood of lugi very much is high
Ya think for bridal it's best for we gals to shop and bring FH to those shortlisted

I know there is a thread on Yr 2004 Brides/Grooms, but, the thread is running very very very fast, and so blur!!
21468.gif

Anyone having their wedding in Feb'04?
21469.gif
How the preparation and have your venue been selected?

We plan to have our customary at Feb'04 and yet we still have not finalised on the venues due to no time and budget!! Now a little bit panic and so see if anyone can share their experience with me!!

21470.gif

hello jul04,

i think there's one waterfall thingy is it? Or maybe i'm wrong...
Btw, will be going down to sign the contract this weekend...

hi antares,
i will be adding additional lace material to my gown. It's MTM EG for me to keep...that's y i'm willing to spend. However, i'm in a dilemma now coz i do not know whether to make it elaborate or simple even for me to wear it again. Also, with the amt. that i'm spending, i feel like buying off-the-rack from designer boutiques e.g. Allan Chai, Allure Charix.
What do ya think?

Hi Wendylee,
Think i kinda of remember u...coz i was on your right, sitting at the 2nd row fr the front. My FH went to the back of the centre row to take fotos of the gowns. hehehe...KS hor?

Hi forest,
sollie for the delay for the fotos. will send u tomorrow! My colleague burnt it into a CD for me! If the file is too big for me to send, then i will burn a CD for u and hand it to u the next time i c u during the outing.

Hi Angel BB,
If u go to Kai, it's $3,700 w/o photography but u will have MTM gowns. If u go Margaret brides, i think it starts from $3,800 w/o photography. As for Tan Yoong, i think it starts from $2,700 w/o photography. However, their packages all differ as some include men suit while some don't. Some include bouquets as well. Mabbe the pricing looks a bit steep coz it's the more upmarket boutiques. Suggest u check it out. Have fun trying the gowns!

Hi Pebbles,
When i booked my wedding dinner at a hotel, i paid $5K as a deposit. Very very poor after that!

Hi Binbin,
Can u send me the link to yr honeymoon pix again? Accidentally deleted the email. Wanted to c your ROM pix as well as i intend to book at Oaks Grill. That's rite, me having been tokkin abt it for a long time but have not booked yet coz my wedding in Jan 04.

Me intend to book in Jul 03. Is it too late? Did u have additional decor i.e. more flowers, candles, etc?

hi ino,
But if you buy OTR from designer boutique, the gowns are not new one right? Got other brides wore before already right? But your shop so good leh. MTM EG can keep one.
Actually for your case, I think if it is still within your budget, then I think it is still ok for you to spend a little more to MTM lor. Btw, will the price differ a lot if u buy all those laces for your MTM dress compare to the case if you buy OTR designer gown? If it is not much diff, then I think better to go MTM lor since you are quite clear what design u want already..

Sometimes, I find that this is only once in a life time and I guess all of use would really love to look the best on that day..hee.. But most of the time, we are restricted by our budgets lor...
Actually I am also thinking of looking for another WG cos' I dun really like the WG from my bridal shops.

binbin,
hmm, a bit expensive for me. but then again, i don't know what's the quotatation yet for the florist because i haven't done any comparison for florist yet. but will put that on my list.

silver,
ic..ok. i will take a look when i come back. not a problem

Hello BinBin,

Hee, so happy tat I can contribute liao. My house is resort style. Initially wanted Mediterranean but my ID not too good at it. Did a Balinese sort of resort style. Used a lot of wood in the house. Although our house may not be the most beautiful one, but we put in a lot of effort really 'building' it from scratch and we sourced every single thing in the house ourselves, down to the nitty gritty items like taps, mirror borders, which blend (composition) of paint to use etc...We hacked all the previous reno, and revamped the place. I'm staying at Bishan btw.

For bridesmaid's gown, I think I really have to tell my bridesmaid nicely that I do not have the budget for her MTM gown. I hope she can get a nice Daniel Yam dress, but I dun see Daniel Yam has white dress before. How? She's on the bigger side, so may be tough to get one that's fitting. How???

Hihi...

Went Raffles Marina today. Indeed nice place but far and pretty expensive cos they charge $6-8k for tentage and their buffet is $62+++ per pax. So I will rather consider Spore Yacht Club than Raffles Marina. Now waiting for SYC to get back to me on the tentage price and ve to work out our budget.

So Jan has decided on Mandarin ya?

Hi binbin,
Thanks for the Marriott quotes – will look thru with my FH. As for the reno, dun think we’ll be doing flooring and too serious stuff, cos MIL & SILs will still be living there during the reno period, to disruptive liao, also not intending to spend too much $$
So have you been to the Divine in JB? Are the gowns there as nice as the Spore ones? Wah, you so lucky, Divine Couture is one of the best choices around – I’ve been eyeing their gowns, but haven’t gone down to see cos I dun have that high a budget to spend… So Divine JB might be the alternative option lor…

Hi forest,
I’ve discussed briefly with my FH liao – want something retro & colorful for our room – like Austin Powers type! Pink walls with white polka dots, orange & yellow stripes, blue ceiling painted with white stars – Hahaha!
Dun know exactly what we want yet, but I think the whole room will turn out very loud… Hope my MIL dun flip… Heehee! As for furniture, we have no idea too… We like those at Harvey Norman, but then, $$$$! Think we’ll take out time to look around more before we choose lor….

Photographer likely is Benny Ang. Havent gone to his studio to see his portfolio yet, so we’ll have to arrange a time soon liao. May also consider Jaki from O Studio, but if the price around the same, then will be going for Benny’s lor….

Hi Sagi,
Wah… why you faint when you hear abt my bridesmaids dress leh?
They so scary ah??

Hi antares,
Yah, I think I wont get during the GSS liao… cos think think, if I really get it now, then wait after so much trouble to keep it clean and white, THEN if next year I see something cheaper, I gonna KICK myself! Hahahahahah! But if I get next year, and the price a bit more expensive, at least I can give myself the excuse that they are the “latest design” lor…

Hi ino,
Thanks! Wah, suddenly Tan Yoong sound like a possible choice! But as you advise, I think I still have to go check out whether they include the man suit and bouquet… Tan Yoong’s gowns are soooo fairytale one… one of a kind leh….

angle, sayang u lah.. you can always make an appointment to go down. though no suitable one but i have fun lor. me, mountain turtle, never did any gown shopping. i guess it's something new. actually i've already booked mine (nah, the 1st & only one *sob*) jus curious abt wat they have to offer, so went down to kpo lor. hey, you enjoy ur shopping, better to make appointment 1st & go wif gf.

mango cheese cake
*envy envy* i'm planning to get a flat at toa payoh. too bad, FH cant sell his existing flat so miss the balloting. can only apply from sept 03. hopefully by then, there're flats available.

ino
i also intend to do a lace EG. but need to top up $300 for the top only or $900 for full lace. alamak, tat's alot for something tat i cant keep. another $200 to keep. *fainting* at least yours can keep leh. how much extra you have to fork out? try sourcing other tailor.it could be cheaper. sometimes the bridal shop wil markup the prices. then maybe do a simple EG for tea ceremony or sending off guests which you can wear again. which bridal huh? your wedding on 9 jan? very near to mine leh. so how's ur WG?

silver, you really did alot of research leh.. spreadsheet somemore. good lah, more organised.

mimosa, wow ur hse sound so cosy. must be feeling so satisfying designing your very own love nest rite.. happy for you.. must show us pix ok. how much did you spend on reno? resale flat? bishan very ex sia...

cin,
No lah cos rcv so many quotations until I blur so put into spreadsheet for easy reference hehe

Mango cheese cake,
Any feedback on Amara, Pan Pac and Orential food and poolside wedding?