(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hello ladies!

My name is Bong, I have just went to this forum recently and noticed that there are so much interesting topics and advices from all of you it was so amazing! My customary will be on 3 Jan 2004 and have confirmed the venue as well as the photography . I am now deciding on the wedding gown and make up. Can anyone advise me or any comment for the make-up artist : Kelly Charvel & Jeannie Yong..

Tks in advance!

Hello, I have seen from the magazine that there is this shop selling bridal shoe call RUE, anyone heard that before, do you know where this place is?

Hi Bong,
welcome

Hi Maggie,
I've no idea .
Hopefully other brides here can help you.

Hi Bong,

Welcome to the group!!

Doremon,

Thanks for your advice..... think now i got to rethink about my decor already.....renovation actaully quite a headache.... Your place is simple and nice! :P

bong, welcome to the thread. i'm also a jan bride, jus a few days after yours. pai seh, cant comment on the makeup artists. i've not heard abt them. which bridal studio are they from? or are you getting the makeup artist separately? btw, whihc venue have you confirmed?

hi Bong.
18578.gif
. which venue have u confirmed?
heard of kelly chavel, called her up b4 intending to book her for ROM. well, found that over the website her pics look a bit too glam for my liking. i prefer fresh and sweet one. but i did asked her b4 over phone,and she said she has other styles....better to meet up and show me...have u met her yet? best to meet face to face and decide....

but how come u are not getting a wedding package? you are getting your own gown, own EG, own suit and flowers ah? just curious......

hi wendyA&W, hehhe not sure if u can have tea ceremony in the reception area leh, a bit exposed right? i think prob ur coordinator will advice to have it in the privacy of a room or function room....

hhehhee yah loh me will also be walking up and down the stairs hehhehee....esp up, coz then the train will be trailing behind and below me....hehhehee.......

<FONT COLOR="violet">hi Pebbles,</FONT>
true lah. As long we are happy can liao..:P
but I think stil need to at least please parents and parents-in-laws ..otherwise will be quite difficult.

<FONT COLOR="violet">hi leafy,</FONT>

But got see if parents agree to the idea of having a separate vegetarian table cos' for e.g
my auntie, only she is on vegetarian diet but her kid and husband are not..so like a bit not very nice to put them in different table..:P
from some of the earlier msgs, I knew that you have bring your wedding fwd to 2003. So I guess you must very excited now..cos' u going to step into a different phase of life sooner than most of us here...

so must share with us your new life after your wedding..heee..

<FONT COLOR="violet">hi WendyA&amp;W,</FONT>
Oic..btw, Are you an Indonesian? cos I am wondering how come your relatives in Indonesia..

<FONT COLOR="violet">hi Bong,</FONT>
welcome to our group..

<FONT COLOR="violet">hi binbin,</FONT>
your message always very cute leh..
always got those cute cute "welcome" picture...heehee..

your ROM settled already?

Hi Binbin,

I know I MIA for very long but really too busy and too many postings and newcomers, so decided to 'retire'.

Just wanted to tell you that I finally signed and confirmed my bridal and dinner, and guess wat? Both exactly the same as yours! So we can exchange ideas!Hee Hee...

Bubbles

hi Antares..
Yes I am Indonesian....but sort of legally only lah. I was born and raised in S'pore. Don't really have any attachment to Indonesia except for my passport and relatives. I can't even speak the bahasa...can you believe that! We speak Hokkien in our family.
Oh yes, if your aunty is the only vegetarian, I think you can just get the chef to provide a vegetarian meal for 1. Probably have to pay a little more for that. She'll most probably be served personally. During my bro's wedding, they had 1 muslim friend and they ordered a Halal set for her specially. So you probably don't have to split your aunt and her family.

Bin Bin,
Honestly, probably any Conrad brides will do the same thing. The hotel staff will probably think we are all a little cuckoo...hahaha...this fascination over these "stairs". I'll make sure I drag Amos along with me when I walk up and down. Hmmm...good exercise actually

Hi Bong..!
Welcome...! Do you know the website of this make-up artist you've mentioned? Cos I'll be looking for one too. So can you let me know if you do?

Hi Bong,

we share the same customary date! Me also on 3 Jan 04. Where would u be having yr dinner? Mine is @ Conrad.

Hi bubbles!!! have been wondering where u go lah.....MIA so long... so now you "chong chu jiang hu" liao? hehehhee....
yeah yeah, same same huh? Conrad and Divine? heard some of the girls said u weren't able to get ur date for conrad? so happy for you that u manage to do it ....

btw, did u also go to geomancers to calculate dates? i went to one, but tot of going to another to CONfirm my date leh. after the lesson on ROM date, now scared liaoz. Can you give me the contacts of yours pls?

who did u signed up with in Divine? mine is helen.... which photography u signed up with? yes i like sharing ideas, but u cannot MIA again lah, or else i start talking to myself... :P

our aerobics how??? hehehe....been going for 3-4 times then stopped...hehhehe....

antares, thanks for asking.
yes my ROM sort of settled liaoz. now left the re-doing of wedding bands, meeting up with JP, going to registry to collect the cert etc. Feel better after signing up with Oaks last Thur...a sigh of relief sia...hehhehee....

hi WendyA&amp;W,
u speak hokkien at home? Wah!.. I am a hokkien but my hokkien is like... hahaha...whenever I speak, there will be so many flaws and people will start to laugh...:P

Welcome Bong!!!
we share most of our wedding preps joys and swollows here..
so welcome to the 2004 brides to be family..

Binbin,
u must be feeling so excited now rite another week rom liao...must share share your rom pics with us ah..eheh...

hi Antares,
yup the main thing about wedding dates is nothing only u and your FH must be happy with the dates, of course the parents must also be happy mah..
so u booked your hotel already ah..?? confirm it's novotel already...

for all the brides to be,please drop me a mail with all your personal details such as name,nice,hp no, email, bridal package, future lovenest, wedding date etc so that i can complie it to our old list..

Hello Lin,annmelody,antares,pebbles,cyn,bin bin -tks for your warmest welcome!

cyn/bin bin -yes, i am getting makeup artist separately . I got this Kelly Chavel from my colleague as she told me that her make up is very soft and natural.I am meeting her this week so will update all of you since I have some advice from Bin Bin tks! (&amp; also your cute cute ones). I got this Jeannie Yong from the singapore bride website under the makeup service where I will arrange to meet her after meeting Kelly.

I have confirmed my venue at Sheraton Tower and also confirmed my photography -Beetles @ work by Kelvin who is under chris ling's associates. We have decided to go for a la carte because we can get what we want although it is tedious to source around but it give me a very satisfactory result.

I am considering the Allure Charrix for my wedding gown although kevin seah is my first choice but too xxx already.

Marie- cool we have the same wedding dates. Nice to receive from you.

Pebbles- i will drop you a mail later on..

Antares, don't worry about the Hokkien thingy. I'm Cantonese and can't speak a word of it. My father didn't teach me the dialect when i was young.

What to do.

hi antares and A&amp;W, hehhehee i am a teochew, but when i speak teochew my dad says i have hokkien accent. When i speak Hokkien, ppl say i have Teochew accent.....cannot make it ah! hehehhe

pebbles, of course will show u girls the rom pics....can't wait to meet up again....

Bong, dun mention it. nice to hear that kelly is soft and natural. i like this kinda makeup leh.....but i oredi confirmed daniel liaoz so must have faith in him....
told him not to put too thick for me or else i sure scream...hehehhehehee.......

whao so many msgs..
WELCOME BONG!!!
Bubbles,
same here sometimes dunno where to read from..

gals just to keep u all updated..I just went for fitting yest, n the wg front is not done correctly so got to redo the front part, n my eg too big..all out of shape, so got to redo the whole eg again.
ino,
I didnt even use their manicure..kekeke..
u gals know abt flamingo bridal sale?has any of u gals gone to take a look??Me very gian on going there to take a look...

Hi antares and bin bin,
Actually my hokkien is quite different from what you guys are used to. Thats why sometimes when I speak to my friends in my type of hokkien, they can't understand some words. Just the pronounciation I guess. HEhehhe

Blurydoey,
How was your wg front done not correctly? As for you EG, didn't they get measurements of you?

Blurydoey,
hey i thought of going there to look at the gowns too, heard the lady Shirley is very nice lady...maybe we can go together lah

Binbin,
yeah dun know when is the next outing lah, whos supposed to organise ah...

Pebbles,

You going to look for gowns soon? Can I join in as well.... got to start sourcing for ideas for gown as bridal company asking me to go down in April.

hi pebbles, annmelody, me oso wanna go gown shopping. my 1st appt also april like annmelody....shall we go together?
but is it beri bad huh? 3-4 of us trying gowns, but all 4 have booked their bridal liaoz..hehhehe....

Hi Binbin,
No lah, very busy with work so totally no time at all.
To ans your questions :
Nope, chose my own dates.
Jessica is my coordinator. When is your 1st appt? Who is your photographer?

BTW, how is your ROM preparation coming along? Finally settled and tied up the details?

Anyway, I won't be dropping in here that often cos really have no time. If you want to contact me... write to my email la.

Hi Oldcomers, ( Blurydoey, AnnMelody, Leafy, Pebbles and the rest)
Miss you gals!

Hi Newcomers,
Sorry, I think most of you don't know me cos I have MIAed for a very very long time... anyway welcome to all. Too many of you that I lost track already...

saw u all toking abt shopping...

Count me in!

antares,
yah lor... very excited leh... mind always flooded with wedding stuffs...

Hi Bubbles,
nice to see yr postings...
Not to worry, we will keep u informed with the most updated news..

binbin and the rest of the brides to be
i also feel very bad hor, so many of us going to try the gowns but all already sign up the package already....but i think those of u which are getting married end of this year and early next year should go check out the gowns lah cos i still have lots of time but i dun mind tagging along lor...

long time no c you all!!! how are you??
sorry hoh.. mia so long...
wow... all of you start bridal shopping liao...

pebbles/blurydoey/leafy/binbin/bubbles/melody/dormon,
how are you gers?? how's your wedding preparations??
i have been very busy with work so not time to come in...

hi newcomers,
i think you all dunno me cos i haven been in here for a long time!!! hello hello!!!
how's your wedding preparations too??

chloewinkle,

me think may need some help from you gals.... suggestions for custom made shoes, places to rent nice kua( for my tea dress) huh and others?

me still busy with my studies and would only be able to actively preparing wedding say mid April before my internship.

Will then be too late as my wedding is on November....sign.....at a loss now

okie... c how i can help here...

custom made shoes - try leaping lizard? n there's a shop at lucky plazathat does that too... quite nice... else threre is one more new shop that recently opens... i go chk out the name then let you know!

Kua-house of etiqquete? or the cheongsam shop?? actually your own bridal shop shd be able offer you at foc leh!!! you got chk out with them?

wat other info you need?

i think your timeframe now a bit tight but still ok if u start preparations mow... what have you done so far???

hi chloe!

How's ur preparation coming along? u also bring fwd ur wedding right?
I'm waiting for PS in April...then need to shop for dress for bridemaids and CS for mama...for those tradtional thingys...i've no idea so leave it to my FH's family to give instruction.

annmelody,

yes...u many check out your bridal shop for the kua. Usually FOC rental of kua (or teadress) comes in most common bridal pkg. I think Esac pkg is no exception. check it out!

hi bubbles!
long time no hear from u liao.... how's ur preparation?

HI pebbles, CC2, bubbles, leafy, annmelody,blurydoey,doremon,wendy26,binbin &amp; chloewinkie,

It's be ages since I last posted. Me still the same. Will be going for my 2nd appt end this mth. Now looking for actual day photgraphers and videographers.

HI All new comers,
Hope to see all of u in the coming gathering...take care!!!

wah,
like all the old timers all gathering here liao...
leafy,
my wedding still late 2004...
now book hotekl liao shake legs first nothing t do yet...

blusher!!! how are you????how does your WG n EG look??? can describe?

annmelody?
u with essac???
leafy you too??

wow wow, so nice to see so many postings from oldies...

bubbles, i am choosing robin as photographer. first appt with divine 30 april. you?
okie will email you lah....

chlowwinkie, what happened to our aerobics....hehehheheh....jia lat lah me, neber been going for some time....
wah u girls beri discipline leh, din log on coz beri bsy. me hor, cannot make it one. the draw of the forum is so irresistible i will log on even if i have work to do.....then start doing OT after that...hehhehee...canot make it right?
my wedding prep okie lah, thinking of buying ring pillows for my solemnisation....

annmelody, yes leaping lizards is popular, but heard my good fren say their material not lasting leh,will fall to pieces after wearing few times...not sure how true lah.... there's also another shop called Paradox...their shoes quite princessy looking, at international plaza too.....can try perhaps....

as for kua, what abt house of etiquette at tanjong pagar? not sure how much but seems like got good range....

dun worry, i think u still have time....concentrate and good luck for your studies!

hu blusher, me oso looking for actual day videographer. mind sharing some contacts?

leafy, me too leh, keep thiking of wedding and rom stuff...before i sleep, during bus trips, during lunch, sometimes during work too! sigh....think us girls is like that lah...hehhehee....

hey girls, me going for a mini honeymoon (after ROM)to phuket end of this month...anyone went to JW Marriott Resort and Spa before? quite ex leh but looks so tempting can't resist...hehhehe.....

heh heh, looks like the oldcomers slowly resurfacing... Hope the newcomers still welcome us!

Hey Chloewinkle,
you're back too! Neber see you at aerobics anymore, you going tonite?
By the way, you mentioned that you have booked hotel already... where? Is it still Conrad, like you wanted?

Hi Leafy,
Am taking easy with my preparations now since bridal &amp; hotel finally signed liao...

hi blusher
i'm using andrew tay from the edge for actual day.

hi annmelody
really stressful to cope between studies &amp; wedding preparations. i'm sure you can make it on time. try to get ur friends &amp; family to help.

hi chloe
feel so relax to book early rite? which hotel have you booked? time flies, soon you'll be busy preparing for the wedding.

hi binbin
you are not alone... lately have been sourcing ard for cheongsam.. so this few days, b4 i sleep, keep thinking abt it til i cant sleep leh... cant carry on like tat leh, next day feel so tired for work. wil you be dropping by bangkok? i'm gog bk end of this mth.. hopefully i can get some nice material for my CS. heard tat JW marriot is very nice. kinda worth it if you treat it as a honeymoon.. go for it lah. the other time i stayed at thravon beach village. very nice too but it's abt 10mins drive from patong.

Hi all..!
Hi Chloewinkie...
I'm pretty new here. Haven't started on any planning except for the hotel. My wedding will be at the end of 2004 too so still have lots of time.

hello....wow so happy to see so many postings from the oldies today ah....
18677.gif

annmelody,
u better take care ah, dun worry too much about yr wedding prep, we will share share whatever information we have, concentrate on your studies first ..
i think for Kwa, u can get it from your bridal rite...or some of the girls here did mention some very good place to make CS and Kwa in the earlier postings, maybe u can check those out...

chole,
hey so which hotel u booking??? conrad ah..???still going for your aerobics or not??? lastest update on my side, have not booked my hotel yet, still looking around but now busy with my rom prep, just went to get my rom dress MTM at my bridal and got my shoes, everything should be more or less settled..
as for wedding perp ah, now looking around for actual day photographer adn videographer lor

Leafy,
me thought u rom already??? so u have not rom yet lah, when u planning to rom ah???

Cyn,
If u r going Bkk, can go take a look at their clothes there, they have very nice clothes esp thai silk and i think their prices are quite reasonable ...check out the weekend mkt...or they do have some taliors at siam square, maybe u can get them to do a CS for u...prices quite reasonable..

hello blusher....
18678.gif

nice to see your postings..

oh to all the brides to be here, if u have any updates for me please drop me a mail , eg, if u have confirmed yr bridal or hotel etc...change of dates...

pebbles, thinking of tailoring a men suit for FH. think it's cheaper there. but have to bring my own design cos theirs quite limited. so now i've to look for design 1st.

cyn,
yup i think its cheaper to get yr FH suit made there, i got my suit made there and the quality and workmanship was really good..but they got quite a few designs now, if yr FH have a rough idea of what he wants, it will be easier for them to cater to his likings lor..

hi bubbles, u going for amore tonite? me going, not sure if will c u there.

hehhhee, answer for chloewinkie lah.... she booked Conrad.

hi cyn, yes me heard of tharvon beach resort...very nice too...saw the website just now... but do they come with spa packages too? thought i didn see that.... Mind sharing how much did you spend last time and how long did you stay?

Yup,

Easar do supply Kua but what happen here is that i will be wearing the same as my sister in law during her wedding in Nov.

So looking for others so we dun know the same in our wedding photos!!

I'm new here and will be a 2004 bride and i'm introduced in by "antares" and we have already ROM last year April. Now waiting for our newhouse to be ready in Oct 03. Well, so we're thinking of holding our wedding during the September period either on 18th or 25th September . Still considering. Thinking of holding the banquet at Allson Hotel Singapore. Any comments on this hotel?

I have been there for my company annual dinner before. Felt tat the ballroom is quite dim. perhaps it might be different for wedding dinner. For food wise, i tink im not tat fussy on food. It's quite ok.

so where would u be staying if your new house is ready after your wedding?

Wah! So many postings!...
read until a bit loss..:P

<FONT COLOR="violet">Hi Pebbles,</FONT>
ya lor. When choosing dates, parents must be satisfied too cos' they may feel we got
no respect for them if we just choose whatever we like. Ya, mine will be at Novotel but
still got to finalise date. Will send you the detail soon...

So far, how's the compiling of the list? I hope I am not the last to give you that...^_^;

hey, you all actually got outings ah?..So on wan..

<FONT COLOR="violet">Hi AmosA&amp;W,</FONT>
My FH also like that. He can't speak his own dialet at all but he can speak Teochew very well.
heheee :P But I think most of his family member speak Teochew, think I got to learn Teochew..
cham...

<FONT COLOR="violet">Hi binbin,</FONT>
hahha...your dialect so cute.
I think nowadays, most people can't speak dialect very well is it?
you going for mini honeymoon ah?..so good...

I never got any mini honeymoon ...

Enjoy yourself.

Your ROM next week izzit?...can start counting down liao..hee..:P
I saw some Paradox shoes/sandals from bridal magazines, quite nice but very ex like that leh.
I am wondering will my feet hurts when wearing them.

<FONT COLOR="violet">Hi WendyA&amp;W,</FONT>
oh? your hokkien is different ah? Is it those type that we heard from radio? FM95.8 always
got those news in dialect wan? That type of dialect, I can't understand at all..:PP

<FONT COLOR="violet">Hi chloewinkie, Bubbles, blusher,</FONT>
*wave wave* hihi... I am quite new to this thread too...

<FONT COLOR="violet">Hi Sweetgal82,</FONT>
Welcome to this thread..

<FONT COLOR="violet">Hi Girls,</FONT>
wah..so many of you girls going to shop for gowns? ..:P
You all mean going to bridal shops to try the gown?
But they will let you all try meh cos' din sigh up with them?...*puzzled*
but hor, actually I a bit dun understand leh. Why u all want to try the gowns? The bridal
studio that we signed up might not have the gowns that we tried right?...*blur*

Actually I also dun know how to choose gowns. Have any of you here already chosen their gowns
and had their photo taken?
Oh ya, I remember someone mentioned that she got lobang on chinese ethnic costume. Is it
binbin or Ivory?...paiseh..getting old liao..keep forgetting things..:P
Actually I am pretty interested in those chinese traditional costumes but I think for the studio
that I signed up with, their chinese traditional costumes not very nice.
but I dun know even if I rent from other places, will the studio allow me to use?

Now is middle of the week..counting down to weekend...:PP

hi everyone!!

First of all, welcome to those who join us

It's been so hot here! 42 degrees for the past 3 dayslah! Like oven in the house. I got sick and having flu now

Hopefully you girls are in good health. Luckily, today's weather not so bad. 23 degrees. How can i not get sick?

hi antares,
hmm... i'll be signing up with another bridal studio just for traditional costumes. Because i think my bridal studio, GHA won't have those nice traditional costumes. So, after wedding, i will go for another indoor photoshoot. This time, it will be either be a malay bridal studio or santiago bridal services.

About renting from other places, hmm, probably you can consider that as your own costume. i heard like my bridal studio, casual wear (own costume) is considered as 1 outfit for photoshoot.

pebbles, i can jus bring the magazine to show them the design rite? some say better to bring real sample.. *scratch head

binbin, it has been a few yrs back. when i was there, their beach &amp; the rms up on the cliff are stil under construction. cost me abt $600+ for 4nites. had the rm jus in front swimming pool. from the balcony i can jus walk down the step into the pool. so shiok man. not sure if they had the spa package. but i did tried their massage in the rm. if i'm not wrong, silkair is having promo rite?

sweetgal82, welcome.. welcome... jus curious, u born in the yr 1982? so young leh...

new her world brides in out... anyone bought it? like the 1st cheongsam featured in "the rising east" any comments?

Hi gals..!

Antares,
I've never heard the hokkien on the radio before. Probably different from mine. My hokkien is what ppl called Medan Hokkien...it's got a mix of bahasa words. Before I met my S'pore friends, I didn't even know 1 single dialect has so many variation.

Hi Sweetgal
Welcome!!! Sorry but i've never attended any weddings at Allson hotel before..can't help you there. Have you tried checking to see if there's a thread on Allson hotel in this forum? If not, you can probably start one and there's bound to be somebody who knows something

Antares,

You know what's worse. Wendy's parents can't speak a whole lot of English, they speak Medanese Hokkien, Mandarin or some English. The really cham thing is that my Mandarin is serious crap! GOT D7 FOR O LEVELS!HEEEHEE! I can pretty much make SOME conversation with them, but most of the time i have to throw in a couple of English words, so it becomes damn rojak! HAHAHA! At least they're understanding and all. Even after so long, i feel very nervous when i talk to her parents because i'm afraid i might get tongue tied.
Then this Wendy also sometimes very naughty, disappear when her parents talk to me. WAH LAU! *Horns blaring* NEED BACKUP!

morning!

annmelody,
Are u sure ur bridal shop onli has one kua? Choose one tt's different from ur SIL's. Try to get from ur pkg lor...Save as u can.

I'd prefer drangon n pheonix design...flowers design dun look tt nice lor...But anyway, me not catonese, so am getting Cheongsam.

pebbles,
I ROM oredi mah... *???* Did i had some typo error? or u see wrongly?

hi antares

yeah.... its me who got lobangs for rental of costumes... been wanting to post some pics here but i dunno how to use the scanner at my bf place.. so u guys have to wait a while lor...

as for bringing ur costumes for photoshoot.. its btwn u n ur bridal shop, see whether are they flexible or not, some times when they say 6 outfits mean they oni touch up on your makeup and change hairdo for 6 times oni...

i chk with mine if i no need them to touch up or redo hairstyle (i can do myself no problem), can i bring in extra costumes for the photoshoot on top of the 6 dat they are giving.. its fine with them, just dat they told me in advance may not b able to finish both indoor n outdoor in 1 day so have to pay extra if i extend to 2nd day of photoshoot lor

im so happy
my instructor from Yunnan had agreed to tailored made an ethnic wedding costume for me n my bf.. so i b going her plc end of this mth to see some designs...