(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
whoa so many messages, I havent read through yet...
hi gals, nice to see all the old timers back in action..
wendy,
actually its the tailor work n a bit of measurement prob.cause my eg needs a good tailor to do the job. For the front part, it was not done according to the designer job sheet, so I requested to chg.
pebbles,
no prob, so we shld go one day, but got to fix appt.
so can I have a show of hands who is going? When the sale ending ar??seems like rather long liao..
how abt next week????
tuesday or maybe sun???so we can have more time.but got to fix appt.
blusher,
tell us abt the gowns u choose...
sweetgal,
welcome, the other I pass by allson, they are renovating the front part of their hotel looks very nice, I attended a wedding dinner two years back, not bad..they have a very spacious ballroom..but remember their fd presentation song is pretty badly choosen(techno song) for my gf presentation, so choose your own better.
ivory,
u got lobangs for costumes??I ask my co-ordintor abt it, cause they go limited clothes n costumes for me to wear..too fat liao..
leafy,
mine ps also in april lei..cause i want to lose more weight..kekeke..heng got time allowance for my eg, otherwise got to ps without the eg...
Gals, I got a few contacts of videographer, but so far find only 3 satisfactory, the rest its a bit exp.I find fabian works not bad.the saints offer very cheap prices, but the works ok only.another freelance nelson also very cheap.
U gals looking for actual day n rom packages?
Maybe when we meet up, i pass around the contacts n prices to u gals easier..

blurydoey

heehee... how fat can u be? usually costumes at bridal shops very limited cos they oni make 1 set per type, so if u can wear, lucky for u lor
oh boy... i better go n quickly try to scan the pix in man...

how u intend to lose weight? can share?? me oso trying to lose a lot of weight

Hi cyn yup. i'm born in 1982... *heehee*

Hi blurydoey Well, i have seen their ballroom already and their hotel entrance is renovating right now. So when's your wedding date?

Hi Lin (icechoco) I sign up with Santiago Wedding Studio and my consultant is Sia and Christine. They are quite good.

Hi PG My new house is at Jurong West.

HI Chloewinkle,
I have not decided on the designs for my WG & EG. Will be trying more gowns end this mth..then I will MTM. Will update u again.

Hi Binbin,
I have not done much rearch on the photography and videography. The only ones I knew are Yew Kwang and Alan Dai. I like Mabel Lee's works..but her prices are abit off my budget. She is a very nice lady too...I will update u if I have any new findings...

Hi Cyn,
May I know how are the charges for Andrew Tay from edge?

HI Sweetgal82,
Welcome...I'm one of the oldies here...just re-surface lately..hahhaa! My weding have be brought forward to NOV 2003.

HI pebbles,
Surprised to see me here...hahaah..just pop over to look look see see..

<FONT COLOR="blue">Hi Lin</FONT>,
The temperature at Australia fluctuates so much ah? So terrible. Must take care and drink
more water..

So you will be having 2 photo shooting sessions with 2 different bridal studio.
Btw,
if you just want to take those traditional costumes, how much will it cost? any idea?

<FONT COLOR="blue">Hi WendyA&amp;W</FONT>,
Medan Hokkien? I think it could be the one that is on the radio news.
I think for the one on the radio, they pronounced "human" as "lin" while for the language
that I speak, I read/speak it as "lang". Is yours something like that?

haha..wendy, your Amos is hinting you leh...:PP must go to his rescue..:PP
btw, your course ending soon right?..

<FONT COLOR="blue">Hi AmosA&amp;W</FONT>,
O level is for written chinese mah.. My FH also did badly for O-level chinese but his spoken chinese is still pretty ok, pronounciation also pretty accurate. When I first knew him, I really
tot his chinese is very good...-_-;
He laugh until beng when I told him this..:P

<FONT COLOR="blue">Hi Ivory</FONT>,
I think for the traditional costumes, I need to ask my bridal studio first. Dun know they will
let me use them or not..:P
Your instructor from Yunnan? Tailor made? I tot you rent already?..

1 design 1 size .. if I happen to like a design but I can't fit it in then I will be very disappointed..

<FONT COLOR="blue">Hi Sweetgal82</FONT>,
You were borned in 1982?! You are really very young leh....hehee..

Anybody else younger than sweetgal82 here?..heee..:P

Hi Lin,
i heard from my frens the tempeture is very bad over in Perth now thats why she came back to spore for holidays but 'ren' for another month or so and it will be nice a cool weather already....

Blusher,
yup yup, very surprise to see u here but good to have u back...

Blurdorey,
u toking about meeting up to chit chat for kpo or to go for gown shopping ah...me read till abit blur ah...

Cyn,
no need to bring sample of what yr FH wants just let him chose from magz the type of designs he wants and u can help him chose the materials lor..

Sweetgal82,
welcome to the 04 brides to be thread..
i have not been to Allson hotel but im sure u have made the rite choice else u wouldn't have booked with them..

halow, hows lunch gals?
Ivory,
I am very tall so some gowns never reach the floor..N also maybe my bridal shop too small scale, so hor,the 1st fitting I went only managed to squeeze in 2 gowns.the rest cant even fit in, not to mention those for ps.Past few mths went for aerobics classes, now stopped cause I signed up a slimming program last year I wanted to slim down my flabby arms..so far no results..

sweetgal,
my wedding is on 17sept2003.So did they also renovate their ballroom?I find now looks so much nicer.
blusher,
I tell u the more u see those videographers n photographers the more confused abt the prices, n esp videographers, I find all their works the same. This sun I am going to another one..hopefully its good..then let u know..
pebbles,
I was thinking gown n chit chat session together..hehehe..but also can just go gown session...

Hi antares,

ya, chk with them lor.. wat if u really can't find anything from their shop, then how? no nid to take photos liao ah...

i dunno if ur shop oni has 1 set per design.. mayb they can alter for u so dat u can wear?

yeah.. one of my dance instructors from Yunnan, she's going back to her homeland during school vacations so i asked her if can help me tailor made 1 set
actually she wanted to lend me hers but she dun have a set for my bf.. n i may not be able to squeeze in hers

hey girls, something to share. the new wedding magazine "Style Weddings" is launched today. On Page 73, there is a cut out to get to free satin ring cushion ( 2 designs - organza ribbon and french bow to choose from). the redemption place is Allure Charix Attelier at 92 Amoy Street. 2000 to give away!!! i got mine liao.
though it's not as nice as those you see in shops, or the one shown in the magazine itself, i think it still can do.
will think of ways to enhance it......go and grab ur mag now! got a lot of nice info inside.

hi antares.
yes my ROM is next Friday....counting down, beri soon leh....hehhee...

heard that paradox shoes are comfy, though they may seem a bit pointed. yep they are ex. if i am not wrong, starts from $150/$180.....

about ur question on trying of gowns, what we are trying to do here is the grab ideas from other bridal shops.
so that if we see something we like, we will rem that details and tell our bridal shops to do it that way. coz our packages are mostly made to measure mah, so we can dictate what we want loh.....

Welcome to the young seeetgal! wow, u really beri young, 1982 means u are only 20 now!! getting married liao ah!
actuali also good lah, next time give birth body will recover faster.
that's what i heard....

blusher, i got my photographer liao, Nick Goh. I am looking for videographer now.
got lobang pls let me know hehheee....

Hi every1...

i am also a 2004 bride.. actually, i thot of reading all the threads in this topic b4 posting... but activity here is quite high leh.. so high tt i m still not able to finish reading!

some stuff abt me:
i jus started my search for bridal, hotel.. etc.. have not fixed anything at all.. i have already ROM last december.. n my hse is actually ready.. but i hve not moved in yet cos' my parents want me to move in only after customary.. they r very traditional ppl... although, i cannot wait to live in my OWN house!

If possible, can some1 give me good tips abt hotels, bridal, etc???

Thanks a lot!

Blurydory,
hey we set one day go kopi lah then u can give us the contacts for videogapher and photographer, u got any good lobang for my rom photographer or not ah...???

binbin,
hey u very fast one ah...so fast got the new magz and also collected yr free ring pillow ah...never get for us....hehehe..
so excited or not!!! few more days...

Welcome Forest!
So have you set a date for 2004 yet? Unfortunately, I'm just as blur as you so can't give you any tips of hotels and stuff.

Blurydoey,
I'm really starting to think that I'll never be able to fit into any gowns in S'pore man. I am tall and very, very big-sized. SO HOW?! Eventhough I'm tailoring my own gowns but still have to try out the designs first mah. Chia Lat...I'm 1.67cm not exactly very tall but considered quite tall back in Asia. How tall are you if I may ask? Need some backup plan

Antares,
Think the radio one is the true blue China type of Hokkien. I say 'human' as lang too. I say the word pig as 'du' but I know you guys say it as 'duh'(don't really know how to spell it heheh)

Aiyah Amos just needs a little more practice lah when it comes to chinese. We don't speak the language to each other or with our friends. Thats why I have to just leave him there alone so that he will learn mah. HAhahah....However, there are times when Amos can just spit out so many cheem chinese idioms that even I have forgotten!

Sweetgal
Yeah...there are so many advantages of marrying early. You'll still be nice and young even if you decide to start a family only a few years after your wedding.
When is your wedding again you said?

Hi blusher So i persume you have started your planning liao. Which bridal boutique you choose. Which hotel you book with? Care to share?

Hi Pebbles I haven't book with Allson Hotel yet, just considering their package but i saw their ballroom. Quite nice but abit dim.

Hi blurydoey So i presume you have start planning already. Which hotel &amp; bridal boutique you chose? Yup... i hear from 1 of their staff that they have already renovated the ballroom last year.

Hi binbin You bought the newly released STYLE Magazine too? I bought it just now during my lunch time but haven't have the chance to read it. I will take note at Page 73 that you mention. *heehee* I will be 21 years old this october.

<FONT COLOR="blue">hi blurydoey</FONT>,
but if are very tall then u dun really need worry too much abt slimming down mah..
if u are tall, then cannot be too thin. Otherwise will look like pole liao loh..

<FONT COLOR="blue">hi Ivory</FONT>,
Maybe I should check with the shop this weekends. If can't find anything I want then at least got time to MTM right? But do u think I will a bit Kiasu ah? cos' My customary will be early next year...

<FONT COLOR="blue">hi binbin</FONT>,
u so fast grab the magazine liao ah?..
Thanks for this info. I din know there is a new wedding mag coming out. Too bad I am at home today , otherwise I will go and buy..:P Maybe can give FH a call to see if he got pass by any mag. stall later..:P
so have you get your wedding/ROM shoes?

<FONT COLOR="blue">hi forest</FONT>,
welcome..

I also dun really have much tips but I think for hotel, u got to set your budget first then start sourcing..

<FONT COLOR="blue">Hi WendyA&amp;W</FONT>,
is it? haha..now I also blur about what type of Hokkien..:PP hehe..who cares... anyway, I seldom speak Hokkien too..:PP
I heard from a friend of mine that the gowns are usually very very long so dun really need to worry if u are tall...

<FONT COLOR="blue">hi sweetgal82</FONT>,
Oh...so u will be a so called "grown-up" girl this year...^_^

hi forest, welcome welcome....

for bridal, depends on what's ur budget? bridal shops are many in marina square and tangjong pagar. there's also 3 in mandarin hotel shopping arcade.
there's different materials lah like satin, organza, tulle etc etc....some shops specialise in embriodery and lace (Ted Wu e.g.) and some in crystals (Bridal Veil). There's also many high class bridal shops in Delfi Orchard.

HOtels ah....good idea to shortlist some that u like, and get their package. and also read the threads on the hotels to find out some comments. but best if u arrange with coordinator to go down to their ballrooms on a day with a wedding, and see for yourself.

pebbles, hehhehhee......coz i went to raffles place to do settle some work stuffs, and saw the mags.hehhehee.....actulia helen from divine told me the mags are coming out this month, so was looking out for it.....then i kiasu mah, so went down to amoy st to get the pillows....

yah, after signing with Oaks, starting to look forwrad to it liaoz....now it's just the guests list that's bothering us...hehehe.....

hi antares.
yes have my Rom shoes liao. but are simple and nice ones...bought from URS.
should be buying another pair for photos and wedding... but not so soon lah....

pebbles,
so far hor, I find one that ties with videography cost abt $350 for 2 rolls of film n video..I find very cheap..did u ask alan bor??if havent next thur i am meeting him with my other gfs can ask for u. This sun I am meeting up another one, they also offer photography as well, so can ask also..R u looking for videographer as well??
wendy,
dun worry u got nice height..mine is too tall liao.1.74m so very difficult to find low heels shoes esp my feet is huge(size11). If your gowns is mtm, then u can fang xin, but so far in sg bridal the gowns is still ok, cause sg girls height is between 160-165cm.
antares,
my arms are really too fat for my body..I signed up for 10 sessions cost abt$380 for full body slimming.But so far no results, once I see results I will let u gals know.
so when u gals wanna meet???

blusher
andrew has 2 packages. 1) $950 for 7 rolls, mixture of color &amp; bw. 2)$1800 for 18 rolls (if i'm not wrong), 2 photographers - 1 taking color, the other bw...

style wedding is out... tot they're having the launch end of next mth at gcw.. her world brides is out too. wat abt female brides?

sweetgal.. many advantages to marry early... early retirement... wont have to work so hard even at the age of 50s to support the kids.

hi pebbles,
Yah..i drink lots of water. And trying to 'ren' here!! Sometimes, just go out to get air-con. This week will be around 30s.. And next week around 20s.. can't wait for that!

hi antares,
Yes. I will be taking photoshoots at 2 different bridal studio. The GHA one will be indoor &amp; outdoor. The photoshoot will be more modern. But the other one (haven't find yet) will only be indoor. I've no idea how much it will cost if only rent traditional costumes to take photoshoot. That's why i have to look at the package. And the problem, i'm not in singapore. argh! And FH said if we go honeymoon and happens to drop by a nice bridal studio there and if we like it, can also take again! Hahahha..

hi sweetgal82,
Congratulations! You can still enjoy honeymoon with your hubby before start having baby. No need to rush..

Oh so you're in santiago?? Their photos are nice
That time, i was thinking of dropping by at santiago too. But FH was more keen on GHA. Anyway, wonder if you can help me. Does santiago have traditional malay costumes? If you happen to go down to see your designer or your coordinator, can help me ask?

Wah..Ivory, you so tall??? Wah...then, your FH also very tall lah?

Can't wait to get back and see you girls

I heard the Her world brides are out already. The new one. I saw on the internet, that the front cover got mention 28 fabulous wedding venues. If you girls don't mind... can tell me what are those 28 venues? I can't get it here...sob sob..and they never put it online

Has anybody heard or join FIL ? They have this harmony wedding programme for both husband and wife? Any comment?

Also I have met Kelly Chavel yesterday and her make-up is soft and natural but I will check out with Jeannie Yong and then decide. Any comment on that as well?

Really? Style Brides magazine is out already? I was waiting for it to be out actually. My love nest is at Sengkang. Still waiting for it to be built. I already booked Alan Dai as my actual day photographer, and Bridal Concept for bridal package. Now left with my wedding banquet yet to book, and trying to find a Justice of Peace for my solemnisation.

hi Bong,
how much does kelly chavel charge for her services? i didn't know kelly chavel can do soft and natural coz from her website looks very heavy.

hi Lin, if i am not wrong, kelly charges $120 for makeup and hair. yeah i oso tot quite glam and heavy that's why din meet her. but bong should know better coz she met her liaoz.....

HI Binbin,
U hae signed up Nick Goh..how are his charges? Ex? Ok..I will update u if I have any good and resaonable ones...

HI Sweetgal82,
Wow..u are so young..I'm the oldest here..
Hey, I ahve booked my bridal with Paris bridal and my banquet will be at Merchant court. Now, just concentrating on getting more ideas for my gowns. Me going for my appt end this mth.

HI Cyn,
Thanks for sharing the package...

Hi PG,
My lovenest is at sengkang too. Which area..mine is at fernvale rd.

HI pebbles, bubbles and CC2,
Have u gals got teh new mag...I have not seen it at newstands..must go my hse mama shop to check it out.

Hi Lin,
Suffering from the heat huh.
Do you have air-con at your place? Over here most rented apartments do not provide A/C...so summer time we'll always try to find cool places to hide. My personal favourite is the frozen food section at the supermarket. Eventhough it never goes beyond 35degrees here...its hot enough. I won't be able to stand 42 degrees! Madness.

Blurydoey,
Too bad you are not here. All the gowns here are specially made longer so that the taller brides won't have any problem finding the perfect gown. When I tried them on, they were usually at least about 5 inches too long. Thats why they always have a little step for us to step on. But yours is made to measure right? So you just have to see the design, doesn't matter that the ones you tried look too short. Will make your actual gown feel even more special.

Sweetgal,
My wedding is on Dec 30th....think I'll probably be the last one to wed in this forum huh.

ABC,
Well having your wedding dinner when you are still doing your part-time course is fine. As long as you have the time to plan for it...there's no reason why you can't. But you know lah, whenever brides start planning for weddings, get distracted very easily. So if you are going to have your dinner soon, just make-sure you don't get too excited until you get distracted lor. I'm still in school too...but since wedding is still far away, I can still manage it otherwise I'll channel all my energy into the preparation
Are you working too? If you are, it'll be a lot to handle.

Harlow,
I'm new here. Juz nid some advice on PS lor...
My wedding is on Mar 2004. If I get my measurement on July, PS on Nov. Will it be abit too rush???

Lin,
yeah just 'ren' and it will be nice, cool weather all the way till u r back..ehehe...my favourite place is the shopping mall during summer, will wake up and drive to the mall straight away...ahahha...
hang in there...i bought the new magz but have not seen what is inside yet..will let u know if there's any good stuff

Blurydory,
yup, me also looking for videographer...do share with me if u have any good deals ah and also if u happen to meet up with any photographer for yr actual day do help me check out their rom charges ok..
thanks in advance!!!

Welcome to all the new brides to be...

Lin (icechoco) yes. you are right. I can still enjoy life with my hubby before start having baby. :>
Yes. i'm in santiago and i also think that both their photos and gowns are very nice. I will help you to ask my consultant whether they have traditional malay costumes? So when's your wedding?

HiWendyA&amp;W, you mean 30th Dec 03 or 04? So have you start planning?

wendy,
I dun have the special feeling when I tried my gowns lei, just now browse through my colleuge style mag, really love divine gowns...too bad no money to book. Ya lor, my gfs always say go ang mo countries u sure look normal size n alot of clothes n shoes sure can fit in one...

gals I compile a few that I went to actually so far I only seen two photographers, this sat another one..so altogether 3.Videographers I met quite a handful liao..I compile next week after meeting the videographer n photographer this weekend..then send email to u gals...

I find it sooooo tough to catch up with the threads! The messages are updated so fast!
BTW, anyone interested in going for the contest for the "Most Beautiful Couple" contest in Style Mag? I bought mine yesterday. The gowns featured there are soooo much nicer than HerWorld Brides!

Hi Blusher,
I have chosen KC from GreyMatter Photography. His package ranges fr $800 onwards. His photos are generally quite well-taken. I've chosen him becoz he has a unique product called "photo essay" bk whereby he compiles some of the actual day photos into a wedding love story. ;-)

Hi Bin Bin,
I am looking at The Oaks as well. heard that they raised their prices? Is yours a solemnisation ceremony or a formal wedding reception?

Hi Blusher

My lovenest is at Park Green (Sengkang). Think you can see me more often in Park Green thread.

Hi blurydory

I have booked my actual day photographer- Alan Dai. Is he good? I actually recommended him to my aunt, and her photos turned out to be good. She gave him thumbs up for sharp and affordable photography. Any feedback, anyone?

This thread is really getting active.... cannot catch up already. Just a suggestion, anyone of you thinking of a gathering for all of us???? heee....

A big welcome to all newcomers!

Hi Leafy,

Have u met up with Alan dai yet? How is he?

Hi Pebbles,
XP called me on Monday regarding the package she offered. I still considering. Have u called up both the persons i recommended?

Hi Blusher,

Welcome back! Great to see u here again. Have been wondering where are u?

Hi gals!,

Someone mentioned a gathering soon right? So when is it? I am eager to meet up with the newcomers soon.

Antares

I think its alright for u to prepare to MTM early if u can’t find anything u like
afterall, its once in a lifetime

Blurydoey

U mean $380 for 10 sessions or 1 session? Where? If effective I dun mind investing a bit

Lin

No lah, blurydoey is the one who is tall.. I’m oni 165cm, weighing at 60kg so i look like a pig now

doremon,
Nope, dun intend to meet him.
My FH laising with few of his old time photography class kakis...
Not looking into fotographer at this moment.

Hello everyone...
Welcome newcomers..!

Blurydoey,
Don't worry, just make sure you know what type of design and detail you like. Then when you finally see your own gown...WOW...then it'll be perfect. Have you tried searching online..like theknot, brides.com, weddingchannel etc. Can copy design. Thats what i'm going to do. HEheheh...hope nobody sues me. Maybe you can find the detail there. Do you know what basic shape you want yet? LIke ballgown/strapless etc? If you do..then it's quite easy already. I'm pretty sure when I go back and try gowns, I probably won't even be able to zip it up. Heheheh...but I already know I want a strapless gown, so now I just have to look out for details. Being tall has its advantage, you'll look very elegant.

Ivory,
Are those ethnic costumes? They look rather modern.

ABC,
Sorry, forgot to mention the year. Its in 2004. If its this year...I won't be so calm right now.

ABC,
I haven't started planning yet. But we have sort of booked the venue already. I still have lots of time
But i'm already starting to look at gowns...always liked looking thru those bridal mags anyway...just that now I have a reason to be looking!

hi doremon,
i have not called up the two to of them yet will call them next week i think...got some other stuff to settle first..

oh the gathering ah, i thought someone offered to orgainised the last time but now no news ah..ahaha..
hands up for those who wants a gathering ....
18805.gif

wow..this thread is indeed moving very fast ah...to all the new brides to be ah, we have a contact list which i complie, if u want to join the listing, please drop me an email with some of your wedding prep details such as bridal package, hotel, wedding and rom date also hp and email address...my email is [email protected]

hi wendyA&amp;W,
You won't imagine how tanned i've become in summer. On top of that, always like to go beach. Yah..same. sometimes, i just like to stand at frozen food section to get cool air. Hahah.

hi pebbles,
Yah..can't wait for it to cool down. Yah, tell me about anything nice from the magazines. I want to know the 28 venues which was suggested in Her World magazine.

hi Ivory,
I think i'm about the same height as you

The costumes look very modern. Very sexy &amp; nice. Are you going to wear that?

hi sweetgal82,
Ok, thanks for helping me!
my wedding is in april 2004.

pg,
I think his works is good..I be seeing his recent work next week..Will let u know
. I also engaged him liao,but remember to confirm him cause he sometimes will chg another photographer to replace him.
ivory,
yup its 10 sessions for $380.u wanna try ar??Must got effect then try...I let u know my results, I am going to take measurements in next week.
wendy,
I did surf liao, but hor..never get any designs onto my wg.A lot of design doesnt suit me..

Hi every1,

1 day onli n i cannot catch up....

hi wendy,

actually, i have not set a date yet... read somewhere where some1 said tt ur wedding date is 30 Dec is it?? That's my ROM date last year!! hee...

i also think tt u shd be able to find gowns tt will fit u... u have a veri nice height... i m actually very short.. only 157cm.. 10cm shorter than u!! but then again, my hubby is short too!

Hi sweetgal,

yup.. veri nice to marry young... can hve 'er ren shi jie' for quite some time!

hi binbin,

thanks for sharing so much info with me.. care to tell me which bridal u sign up with?? sorry, i m sure u must hve mentioned somewhere... but i m really lost!

n thanx for the tips on choosing hotels.. i hve already received some hotels info... have not gone thru them yet.. will spend this wkend looking thru..

n congrats!! ur ROM is next wk rite?? have a wonderful time.. n take nice nice pix okies!

hi lin,

yes, her world brides is out... got it beginning of this wk... featured quite a no. of fairs in april.. any1 goin??? abt the 28 venues.. i cant rem if there really is this article (cos' i only flipped thru it).. but i will try to rem when i get hm, so tt i can post it here for u...

u r in oz now??? which part? i love oz.. got my degree from oz too.. in melbourne... its an unforgettable plc for me...

hi blusher,

how do u find merchant court? heard a lot of gd comments.. still waiting for their pkg details... do let me know ur feedback... thanks!

hi ino,

is there a website for ur photographer?? wld like to take a look too!

hi blurdory,

wld love to hear abt alan dai too!!

hi doreamon,

what is XP?? sorry... but i m kinda blur!

gathering!!?!? sounds like a great idea.. wld love to meet all of u!!!!