(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
hi everybody, i'm in perth now and in the labs so can't really go on the net much.

but i'll be back end of the month. see you ladies then!!!

doll, no, haven't decided on venue yet
no time lah. all my time spent on preparation for this trip

hi doll and doremon

.... feeling great today bcos tomorrow on leave. yipee!

Ok, will ask my make-up artist to try out half bun for me... thanks!

Cyn and Chiart,

Today your big day? Congrats.... :>

Leafy,

You mean NUS lecturer can loan us the projector? But my wedding will be upon my graduation leh...so will they still loan?

Chiart,

for loan of projector use...how much would your hubby charge? not sure about the resolution though.

yup, HK was really fun, really eat and shop ah...so now must work harder to lose off thos fats..ahahah..
i went to Korea too that's why i had a white xmas, was quite lucky cos Seoul city dun snow but it actually snowed for the first time this year during xmas..

Doremon,
yeah, felt sick when i was in HK must be all the late nite shopping and the start of an early day...but it's all worth it..hehehe..

Leeann,
wow, going HK for your frens' wedding ah, that's cool, the pple there celebrate very differently from us one...should go and see...think theirs more fun, that's what i heard from my frens..

hey i also think it's a good idea to have your wedding photos taken in HK ah, sure will be very nice one...
As for your hair do, i also feel that bunning it up will make u look more mature, would go for Doremon's suggestions..
and i think your dress will look lovely on u..

Shimmeringdream,
wow, so good, u go Perth for work ah??? me miss Perth ...so envious wish im there too....u enjoy yourself while u r there ah..

Hey Leeann,
Correct me if im wrong ah, me see already blur blur ah, Cyn rom is in Jan next year rite then Chiart rom is in May this year rite...so what big day u toking about ah???

pebbles
think leeann & annmelody joking only.. 2day's 7 jan. both chiart & i big day on tis day but next yr... am i rite?

sigh, i still uncertain if i can proceed with mine. fh's dad jus passed away. yet to discuss wat shd we do... keep my fingers cross, hopefully i manage to marry off in 2004 :P

Hello girls

I will be a 2004 Feb bride.. date tentative 28th Feb, but not confirmed yet.

Wonder what else to do next.. and where to start.. err.. is it too early to start looking ard? some of the banquet places not avail for booking yet rt?

Help help!

i have lost track already haha...
hi leanne and pebbles,
thanks but like what cyn say it will be 7 jan next year..
hi leanne
congrats...excited? relax okie and u will be a beautiful bride.
hi cyn,
i am sorry to hear that....hope everything is going well for your side......send my condolesences. hopefully both of us can count down together
hi besse
think u better start looking now cos most pple book one year in advance...start sourcing for banquet now..me also looking for it now

hi gals, same as chiart too many postings lose track liao.
Analemelody,
u managed to book ar..good good, I got a bunch of crown prince brides we emailed each other rather than chatting here, so u wanna join us we also have gatherings n stuff.I was still thinking wheather to do the montage cause got to pay extra lei.

who asked me abt the shoes ar, anyway, the shoes if its the same design with the ones displayed n no changes like adding cystals or whatever, the price remains.cause they already have stocks of shoes just they need to make just one pair of the existing design.

blusher,
very fun hor, but very tiring trying so many gowns, your friend must be slim to be able to try so many, me only tried one eg n 6 pieces of wg.
mermaid also very nice, but cannot too mermaid otherwise our buttoks will look very big.

strawberry,
I am fine with meeting on today but I already got appt on next wed, other days will be fine to me also. I also very excited to see how it looks like, now just only can imagine.next gathering I draw n let u gals see.

Pebbles,
cheap lei, so did u managed to look your cousin friend work???

Hi b....

Would like to join you gals.....can be part of the mailing group...

Oops....saw from Leeann's mail that Chiart and cyn...yesterday ROM due to Leeann's congrat...paiseh :P

Hello Gals,

I know all of you are waiting for the next outing, ok ok, since I'm supposed to be the organiser, let me start the ball rolling.

Since the group is now so big with so many new comers, Blusher has so kindly offered to be the co-organiser. Thanks dear!

The idea of the chalet sounds interesting but since there are so many newcomers, I think it will be better if we have a dinner first to get to know everybody. Any suggestions for the venue? Need to have HUGE table ( I think need 2 tables this time) 'cos there's so many of us!

As for the date, may I suggest either 24th JAn or 7th Feb (Fridays). Please let me know who can make it and who can't.

Hi cyn

Dun worry. Heard from mum usu 2 ways. Either marry within 100 days from the date or after 1 year. So next year will still be alright.

Hi Besse

Yep yep. Most gals here started ballroom and bridal package already. Me cannot do much cos the tongshu for next year not out so cannot select date. But mum long ago ask already must be next year just wat date.

Bought our home already so now just saving money for wedding and reno. You leh? Bought your lovenest yet?

Hi Chiart.. really? where r you sourcing for banquet now? i shortlisting a few, but still trying to tentative confirm no. of tables.. cos both our families big and we also have quite a few groups of frens.. still trying to pin down on no. of peeps..

Bubbles.. so fun, meeting up! ok ok, i wan to join! if you gals don mind!!

Hi AnnMelody.. me oso new to the thread.. cos juz decide 2 have wedding on 2004 Feb!

Doll doll.. i asking him to confirm with his granny on date.. but he shy, procrastinated on telling his v kan jeong mom.. haha.. cos he said she will breathe down his neck.. she dying to have grandkids asap.. we not bought our plc.. may look for a resale in the east.. not v sure yet and even if not, we do hv a plc to stay . so no prob.. where's your love nest??

Hi Bubbles

Opps! Forgot to reply to you. 7th Feb can. 24th got company dinner so can't. Hmm.. 2 table, anyone got food preference? Buffet? Tunglok group has a Buffet A La Carte. But quite a few of us on diet hor. Hmm.. Millenia Walk, any rest. there?

Hi Besse

Hahaha ... my mum also very kan cheong, his parents also .. but bo bian, must wait next year cos need to save money too.

Stay in the east? Where? Both FH and me now also staying in East so we bought Whitewaters, nearer to both our parents.

bubbles/blusher,

There's a ramen place (some other eatery too) in far east square which i think is quite suitable for big group.

girls,
just went for first fitting. hmm... Is it true that for PS, the details on WG is not impt? Can't find a satisfied pc....quite disappointed.

leafy

Where's your bridal boutique?? I'm just starting on my hunt for the boutiique.. made appt for ted wu and kevin seah..

Makan plc.. how big will the group be?

oh no! so many mesgs....hehhehehe.......
my reply will be super long liaoz....

First of all, welcome back BUBBLES and PEBBLES! hhehee...had fun? next outing must share share photos hor? really envy u ppl who can go for hols leh! no money leh.....but trying to aim for an australia trip this March/April after our ROM.

bubbles, 24 jan or 7 feb is fine with me!

Next, Welcome Besse! to the 2004 family...

15087.gif

although some of us here have brought forward their customary to 2003 hehhee....

well, self intro, my customary is in march 2004. like you, the tongshu for my date also not out yet. but i suggest (suggest only lah!
) that perhaps you can consider going to geomancers to calculate dates for u and FH. this geomancers dun need tongshu coz they have special lunar calendars and books, and can identify good dates with your Ba Zi.
but it's up to you lah, coz when i booked my hotel for March 04, my coordinator told me a couple has been waiting for the same date and lucky we asked first.

Annmelody, you said ur good day is a bad date on the calendar ah? actually i tink that happens sometimes leh. ur FIL go where to calculate the dates? coz sometimes your Ba Zi and your FH's ba zi combined give some auspicious dates Specially for both of you. the dates in the main calendar is very generic, and supposedly is only good as a general guide. dun worry if your good date coincides with a bad calendar date, as long as your PIL's dun mind.

leafy, hehehhe you beri funnie leh! fasteners for water pipes yah? hehhehehee.......got me laughing there.
i used to think it sorta looks funny, but din draw reference to that.
but sometimes things look diff when u put it on.

Hey, u mentioned the ramen place in Far East Square! are you talking abt "Bie Fu", the spicy ramen stall? it's me and my FH's fav leh! coz it's the only place that sells noodles so spicy even me and my FH can weep.
Saddup!
But i think the tables quite small one leh, and if we combine all will be quite long....

Pebbles, u said abt ROM location huh? Well, for me, i will be having it at 2 locations loh. we will go to the registry for solemnization(coz my parents more comfortable with the legal proceedings) and then proceed to my FH's church for a Catholic service.
both booked liaoz, so not worrying.
now looking for flowers....

hehhehe u say i slim ah? u should have seen me 2 yrs ago......i couldn't grow fat at all no matter how much i eat. and can u believe it when i say i had jumped for joy whenever someone says I am fat??? now ah....sigh......after so much sitting at desk after heavy lunches, my waist, tummy, arms and thighs thicken so much liaoz. hehhehe......now more and more ppl say i growing fatter but i dun derive the joy from hearing it anymore....hhehee.....

so where are u gals going next wk? shopping where?
and do you mind sharing with us your cousin's portfolio??? coz his/her price sounds good leh! we saving money lah! share kae?

Chiart, how much is ur hubby renting his projector? if i rent from conrad, it's $500 plus i think......

leaann, all the best to your ROM tomlw yah? sleep more and be mei mei....

like what the rest said, i think full bun will be too formal and matured for ROM. half bun would be good, but perhaps your makeup artists can recommend something as he knows what ur gown is like mah......

aiyah u not sua ku lah, me oso neber been to HK leh! i oni went to thailand (pri 6) and china (sec 2) only. twice on star virgo balcony class.....that's my experience for travelling so far....hhehehee.....

Doll,
thanks so much for your compliements on my description of the dress...hehhee...

yesterday went down to Poppy Flora Studio to find a bouquet to match my dress. really like the service, felt very comfortable and confident in leaving my bouquet in her hands......you girls can try that place (tanjong Pagar) if you looking for bouquets or corsages...look for Linda, she's the owner......but mind, i think her prices a bit on the high side loh.....

Cyn, i am sorry to hear that too.....send our condolences......hope you are okie and feeling alright.....

hi leafy, i know which is ur bridal. know of another girl from the same bridal who cannot find her perfect gown during her 1st fitting. but her coordinator assured her that new styles should be coming in soon. that conversation was in Nov last yr....so new styles should be coming in very very soon now. even if not, u can ask them to MTM from the gowns u see in the magazines......
i am sure they will be glad to. what kind styles u looking for?

wow, me seriously lost track ah, so many postings but first of all, welcome to the 04 happy brides family Besse..
im sure all the brides here will be able to give u good tips..
It's not too early to start sourcing for your wedding venue and bridal package, my wedding is also in 04 and i have sign up for my bridal package already..
my bridal is the same as Leafy..

oh yes, do email me your particulars as im complinig all the girls details..
my email add is [email protected]

BinBin,
wow, your rom prep sounds good and think u got most of the things done already rite..
i will be getting my flower bouquet from Chijmes..
but thanks for your suggestions..
and i will burn a copy of my cousin's wedding to show it to u, i also find her videographery cheap ah...me also cut cost so must find cheap videographery and the best thing is she can help me do the video montage too..

Leafy,
hey dun be disappointed just yet lah, im sure there will be new gowns coming in rite that is what they told me lah and when is your PS..still have time rite...

Bubbles/Blusher,
thanks for organising the next outing, if u girls need any help just let me know..
more than gald to help out..

Cyn,
not to worry girl, im sure your plans for your wedding will go smoothly, i send my greatest condolences...cheer up..

HI all

how is everyone? Me very bz nowadays..no time to post but still got come in and have a quick peep =P

binbin,
yah lor, it's tt shop lor...they grade their spiciness into level 1,2,3,4 hor... level 2 already leave my lips numb.

pebbles,
Got new gowns coming meh? Maybe I too picky lah. Actually the designs are "da tong xiao yi".
How abt u? Have u visit them since then?

besse,
I'm with bridal zone. Ted Wu gowns appeals to me too! but too ex. for me.

binbin,
Are u going to have ur customary on the same day as church wedding?

I love church wedding! very beautiful lor... But hor...beautiful=$$$ also.

pebbles,
paiseh, miss out one of ur question.
hmm...I only have a rough idea of what design i want.
btw, any bridal gown website (other than "the knot") to recommend?

dear leafy, saw ur posting on u dreaming of having a church wedding.
actually i have the same dreams some yrs ago, find it very beautiful and romantic loh...
but dunno why, nowadays when my colleague heard that they going for church wedding, they very sian leh. say will be wasting time.....
lucky mine not really a church MASS, but just a short 45 mins service.

it will be on the same day as ROM, not customary, coz we dun want our customary day to be too super packed. and i wun be wearing a wedding gown in church too.....unconventional yah? :o

pebbles, sighhh.....sigh.....was so happy to found a dress i like from Yen. Can i seek help from you ladies out there!!! Can anyone tell me where are ALL the Arthur Yen boutiques and departmental stalls????? this is coz the only piece of dress i like at the PS branch is torn at the side. they said they will send back for mending, but i dun like the idea of wearing a once torn dress....think someone must have tried to squeeze into it!
can someone suggest other outlets i can go to pls????? i want the same piece.........:P

Hi Girls

can we consolidate a list of everyone's date (ROM n Customary), banquet Venue, Bridal shop, Photographer and Love nest so we can all keep track?

Binbin.. you the one that booked Fullerton? i tot they told me that it wasn't open for 2004 booking yet wor.. Anyway, the Saturday rates quite high and the min. no. of tables quite high oso ...

Errm.. how many percent of no show will you gals buffer for? haiz.. so much headache

Hi Besse,

Welcome to the 04 brides family.

Our dear Pebbles is the one who help us to consolidate all the information u have mentioned above. Just send your details to her. Thanks a lot, Pebbles!

Pebbles,

I have not really moved in yet. Will only do so maybe after ROM. Still waiting for the MRT mah.

Bubbles,
I think 7th Feb should be fine for me. Thanks for organising.

Today busy with a lot of things so no time to come in. Now then got time to relax a bit... just finish painting my nails.... hee hee..

First of all, very paisei leh.... I make a mistake, I tot cyn and chiart wedding was on the 7 Jan 2003...
.. so it is 2004 and not 2003 ah.... me so blur... beri the sorie hor... annemelody, sori to you too...

cyn, my condolences to you too. Don't be sad, hope you cheer up soon!

Besse, welcome you to join us.

Binbin, thanks! Can't believe that I am getting ROM tomorrow... really very diff to explain that kind of feeling....very excited and happy but yet worry that the day will pass soon... hai... rite now, I still have my eye mask on... going to remove and go to ZZzzzzzz.... already, if not tomorrow can't be a pretty bride.

Pebbles/bubbles, thanks for organising, really appreciate it! I can't confirm on the date yet bcos I need to check my class schedule, hopefully no class on Fri... I get back to you after my ROM ,ok? Hopefully, I can show you all some photo of my ROM during our outing... hope to see you all soon..

Good nite ladies! First time, I go to bed so early...
hee hee....

I see the postings until blur.
Oh btw B is actually me I keyed too fast.
I can make it on 24jan but maybe not 7feb cause might be doing my accounts closing. How abt at Nooch in borders??Or maybe those chinese rest which has a private function rm?
cyn,
sorry to hear abt it.My condolences to u.
pebbles/strawberry,
Next wed we can meet up my appt has changed date.
today so pissed with my boss, he is unfair to his own staff(me).I think he likes sales dept more than accounts dept?
Leean,
congrats!!! N be a mei mei MRs tomolo!!!
tomolo will be another busy day for me at work.sian...have to face that stupid boss.

i really lost track of the postings
hi leanne,
congrats on your ROM. how does it goes? where did u have your photography?
hi binbin,
think my hubby rented out to people around $300. hehe i am not too sure cos it will depends on the projector resolution too...why dun u let me know on your email address so i can pass to him...i know hotel rental is very expensive.
hi pebbles.
may need you to update list again
hi cyn
hope everything is fine for you. keep in touch

HI Gals,
Sorry for MIAing..very busy with work and my family...something happened lah..so no time to log in at all. Wow, so many postings...

HI Binbin,
I've signed up with Paris.

HI Annmelody,
Congras! Have confirmed ur banquet at Crown Prince. We are just 8 days apart...mine is on the 18th NOV 2003(Tues).

HI Leeann,
Congras! ROM today...welcome to the Mrs XX club...

Welcome Besse,
Better book early since u have already confirm on the date. Me book aro 1 yr ahead too. Better to be early.

Hi b,
Yap, my friend is slim slim fair fair type, so lots to try on. If only I'm as slim as her...sure no problem. Me too, can't take mermaid type, will emphasize on my big hips & buttocks. Hahah..so it's u lah..my dear blurydoey!!

HI bubbles,
No problem...hope I will be of help to u, rather than making things worst...cos really bad with organising outing. Me always damn blur one!! Mati lah...looks like most of them prefers 7th feb. Me can't amke it on the 7th feb 2003. How ar....nvm...we just go ahead and organise...I see how...

HI my dear CC2 and pebbles,
Hey, lots of postings..me read till blur blur...abit confused too!!!!

blurydoey,
working life is like this one lah. I'm used to unfair treatment already lor...Eversince I receive an extremely unfair arrangement, I now having this "sell my time for $$" attitude.
*don't learn from me hor* heee....

cyn,
Sorry to hear about ur FH's father.
& congrats on ur ROM~!
How long already? Usually, if not married within 100days, must wait till 2 years later (what they call "3 years")...But some ppl are not so particular nowadays, so just wait 1 year can oredi.

hi besse, pebbles has all along been consolidating the info u mentioned, and we have a list. so everytime someone new comes in, she will ask for her info to update i.e. if pebbles is around in singapore and not holidaying somewhere...hehhehhee.....

no i did not book fullerton. like u said the saturday rates are expensive. if want fullerton, need to book fri or sun, but the only fri/sun good for me in march is my birthday, and i didn't want. hehheee.......and anywayz, i have booked Conrad. love the ballroom and luxurious feel.....
it's a sat, and it's 8 days b4 my birthday.....hhehehee.....

hi chiart, my email add is [email protected]

annmelody,
sorry, just saw ur question...erhh...too many postings, difficult to follow.

hmm... actually u can try to ask from a lecturer u are closer to. Actually most of the time, is "under table" arragement. It's time to get into good books with ur lecturer...hiak hiak !!

wow, i'm really having a hard time keep tracking all the postings. thx for all the concerns. i'm fine & i've a good news to share. i'm gog ahead wif my planning. so happy =D

chiart
so glad tat we'll be counting down together. i'll be gog for my 1st appointment early mar. u? e bridal shop say i very early. so angry.

besse, welcome to e thread. it's always good to plan early.

bubbles, both days are fine wif me. maybe like wat blurydoey suggested, private room is a gd idea. how abt teahouse at china sq?

binbin, think there's yen at tangs.

leeann, congrats.. keep us update on ur ROM.. hope u've fun.

leafy, u might ve mistaken. i haven ROM leh. it'll be on my wedding day at gcw.

once again, thx gals...

hi cyn,
hehe i have also confirm it will be 7th jan 2004...so u choosing gcw? then i cannot choose already lor...haha...
any one has any comments on holiday inn park view? now headache where to choose.....

thought i check out the postings before going to dreamland..

First of all, Congrats to Leeann...
15211.gif

Do keep us updated and hope we get to see your rom pics in our next gathering..

Leafy,
yeah i remember Xiaopei told me there will be new banch of gowns coming in plus there's a few weddings in Dec so u should have more varity to chose from for your PS

Doremon,
oh, so when we all move to SK then we will be very closed, so far im the only one staying in P21 but good thing most of u girls are staying in SK, next time Compass point will be our hang out..ehehe..

Blurydorey,
dun be so angry with your boss lah, its always like that, my boss is even worst ah, play favourtism till it's so damn obvious lor but what to do, working life is like that, dun let it affect u too much...

oh so our meeting next wed on ah..sms me the timing ah..

BinBin,
yup, will update the list and send a copy to u fellow 04 brides..
but dun say until me so good life ah, if only i can always go on holiday...guess i can only do that in my dreams..
As for your ROM dress, think there's a Arther Yen in Tangs and taka...u can try going there..wish u luck!!!

Annmelody,
oh, my lobang is for videographery and video montage, it's $800, she can do photographery too but cos she's a freelance videographer think my cousin told me she work alone but that videographer also got frens doing photographery..i will try and get a copy of my cousin's wedding and pass it to u girls in our next gathering...think most likely i will get her to do my videographery cos it's cheap lah and she can also do up the video montage for me..

Chiart,
i think Holiday inn park view is not bad but got very small ballroom and i think the ballroom got very nice chandelier...can consider and price wish also ok...did i send u a copy of the spreadsheet i did up on the hotels which i did research on...i remember sending to most of the girls here..

ok ladies, will update the list and send a copy to u all, going to sleep now...good nite..
15212.gif

sorry chiart, i've already booked wif gcw long time ago leh :P
holiday inn park view seems like not bad too.. how abt merchant court?

hi pebbles,
nope u have not sent me the research hotels list. can u send it to me? u have my email address?
hi cyn,
i am really lost in choosing a good place for my banquet
merchant court? thought of it too but it is not as nice as holiday inn park view...sob sob now very headache

chiart
no worry... shortlist a few then go have a look. where else u have in mind? maybe the gals here can give you some opinions.

today so quiet ah, all must be so busy with their work...
Chiart,
i send u the list already..
hope it's uselful for u..

have a good weekend girls..

hi gals.

pebbles and cyn, thanks for the info on tangs and taka. also found out abt the tangs one when i called up the novena one. and i found another dress at tangs when i go down! it's white and two piece, bought it liao!!

cyn, why did ur bridal shop say u very early leh? ur wedding in Jan, so ur photography should be 3 mths b4 in Oct. so 1st appt shld be 6 mths b4 in April period mah. March is not too early what.....???

hey girls, i also wanna recommend a florist for your bouquets (ROM and wedding), corsages, church/dinner deco etc etc. It's Poppy Flora Studio. Very happy with their service so far, it's the 1st shop i went to, and i am happy with it. the lady boss, Linda is very nice, cheerful, and knows her stuff. she can understand the image i am describing and can recommend the right flowers to go with it. i usually dun sign up with the first place i go to (hotels, bridals, IDs etc) but found her service quite good so ordered liao.
well, the prices not the lowest in the market lah (from $80), but i feel that i am okie with it coz i feel comfortable and confident in her loh. :P btw, Poppy is frequently featured in mags like Wedding Travel,and also teamed up with bridals like Julia, Milan, J&M,

chiart, HIPV is quite nice, like someone said, nice chandeliers and grand, plus service of coordinator is very good. only thingie is there's columns lah, if u dun mind.

leafy, mind sharing what kinda of unfair treatment u tokking abt huh? me curious lah.....:o

hi pebbles,
thanks....received your email...
hi cyn,
am looking at pebbles list so will think about it again..anyway have to wait for my FIL to come and talk to my parents first
hi binbin,
i quite like the environment though for HIPV...so will think carefully..havent made up my mind yet...hehe

binbin

you're most welcome. so happy for you.

i'm actually quite disappointed wif my bridal shop. initially they asked me to call them in jun for my 1st appointment. "ASK ME TO CALL", you know. shdn't they be the one to call me. so i insisted to do it early. they sought of bo bian lor. there's a few negative comments abt them. someone posted saying the standard of photographs they delivered are different from the samples they displayed. cant bear to forfeit my deposit so keep my fingers cross lor.

btw, when's ur ROM? you must be excited?

hi cyn, my ROM is 22 march this yr.
yes getitng excited leh, and nervous too. initially felt that ROM is not as imprt as the customary, and my FH felt the opposite.
however, now that i know we are having a church service aftre ROM too, during which our marriage will be recognised by god, it made it all the
more significant. so i am getting nervous leh, a bit scared of the total commitment liao. initially thought i would have time to prepare and phych myself until Mrach next yr......:P

which bridal shop are u huh? sorrie must have missed it when u mentioned it b4?

binbin
with e church service, the whole event wil be more meaningful. congrats you 1st.

i booked wif universal. dun worry abt it, i oso mixup & 4get the gals details.

So far majority replied with 7th Feb as the day of the outing...those who can make it are

Besse
Doll
Leafy
Cyn
CC
BinBin
Pebbles
Bubbles
Leeann (not confirm)
Blurydoey ( try to make it pls!)
Blusher ( pls pls try)

The rest please reply if you can make it for the outing!

Bubbles