(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
cyn - not really. been looking around but kinda half heartedly! did you know that esplanade doesn't allow weddings to be held there? you? don't intend to do it at ROM. think i'll take it out to some other nicer spot
you?

really? u mean u ur rom? well, u can choose other places. i'm sure there'll be one tat fits. wat kind of wedding u prefer?

cyn

thanks for the info on GCW... will ask for 2004 price list and package soon..

Chiart
I bought all My ROM stuff already... consider everything done..now, waiting for the big day only.. ;P....though quite excited abt it, but feel quite sian also bcos initially I wanted to take leave all the way till the following Mon, but have to go back to office the next day after ROM to present a project to mgmt, thus can't take leave liao... cannot be excused bcos project in-charge by me. Somemore, on my ROM day, i realised that, my new semester (lecture) started on that day... hai...
. so that means I have to go back to school that night if I do not want to miss my lesson... dun know how?? Quite 'pei qi' lor....

leeann, u'r most welcome. is gcw one of ur choice? when's ur ROM? dun worry, maybe can try to get away over e weekend for a honeymoon to makeup.

hi shimmeringdream, welcome

13952.gif

so what kinda venue are you looking at for solemnization? how about doing it together with ur customary dinner, b4 the dinner?
e.g. rasa sentosa provides solemnization package by the sea....quite nice and romantic....

cyn, yah u are right abt the 20 to 30 increase per yr. i was told the same in October by conrad, and the other hotels. but now i realise the increase may not be that much, coz conrad only increase theirs by about $10, and that's only because their's was a net price and they need to increase the price to take into acct the gst. :o
and i also found out that, for hotels with +++ in their prices, they will UsuaLLy give you the current price IF you book in the current yr. The difference is only the gst (5% instead of 3%).
but i suppose it varies from hotels to hotels....

nowadays hotels tend to wait for other hotels to see how much the rest are increasing their prices....hehhehee......so we consumers should get a better deal..............

Hi binbin

Thanks for your advice. But I was actually intending to do the solemnisation a year before the customary. At least I can get the house first
Like hold a small party for my closest and dearest, the people who would really be happy for me. The customary dinner is to invite everyone and anyone

Hi binbin, happy to find u here. I m 2004 bride too thou i have not confirm the date yet. Thanks 4 helping me with the pics functions (in case u din go to that thread)

U booked Grand C Water hotel? I quite like the place lor, thinking of doing my sol. @ the garden b4 the banquet but the price is a little off my budget leh...sigh! I dun really want to make a big loss on banquet...heartarch.

Hi binbin, happy to c u here. Thanks 4 helping me with the pics functions. (in case u din go to that thread)

Btw, u booked with GCW liao? I love the place too, thinking of having me solemnisation in the garden b4 the banquet but the price is a bit off budget 4 me. Dun think i want to make a big loss on the banquet...heartarch.

Hi cyn,
haha i have finally booked my bridal package already and quite satisfied with it...what about u?
seems like everyone in this thread quite pleased with GCW. one of my friend going there for a dinner will see if it is good...$598 sounds good...but what about the food? is it nice? just went one dinner...food and ambience are terrible...
Hi leanne,
glad to hear you have got your things. so excited aboout it? oh dun worry maybe u can go and take a break after your presentation for a short honeymoon like what binbin say...
that time when i ROM, at night also have to attend wedding dinner
haha

Hi Matsu, welcome!!!
14067.gif

my pleasure, about the pics....

I didn't book gcw, I have booked Conrad.

Going to sign the wedding agreement with Conrad in the 1st wk of Jan. It's our favourite hotel, love the chandaliers, the ballroom, the feel of the whole place, and it's exclusivity.

didn't mind paying more coz love the feeling when i step into the hotel and ballroom.

shimmeringdream...i see, so ur rom and customary is exactly one yr apart?

my rom and customary will be in march 2003 and 2004 repsectively, but 2 days difference. initially wanted to do it in july 03 and 04, coz it's our anniversary.......but decided against it coz our anni in 03 happen to fall on the 7th lunar mnth.

so we change to March, coz it's quite a good day in march for us....

chiart, which bridal did you just booked with?

Hi to all brides-to-be

I am new here.. Very confused about the boutiques and hotels that I have read here. Really dun know wat is real and what is not.

hi wind, i'm pretty new myself. i think we all start at this blur and lost stage! i'm still in it by the way. well we all learn from each other as we go along
just ask, i'm sure the more knowledgable ladies will be more than happy to help!

binbin, yup my dates are exactly a year apart. anniversary mah. so that he only has one date to remember. he quite blur one haha
oh shucks, july could be 7th month! ... better check

hi wind.

Welcome! perhaps you could first go with ur heart and shortlist some hotels which you like. then work with that list and ask around? I am sure the girls here are glad to help.

so which bridal and hotels u interested in?
when is ur big day?

shimmeringdream, u need not worry about the year 2004 july, coz it's in lunar 5th month. but better check the 2003 one. you may be lucky if urs is later part of july.....coz mine is early part...

Hi binbin,
thanks 4 ur warm welcome
14123.gif

Hmm...i have not really start to source ard yet but quite like GCW. I still dun have a date yet so everything not done. What abt urself? When is ur wedding & have u book ani bridal package?

Hi Matsu, Shimmerdream and Wind,

Welcome!! Welcome!! Welcome to the 04 brides family!

Don't worry, all of us here start out to be blur blur and lost initially but with all the help you can get here, the three of you soon won't find yourselves lost.

So i c, we got two more 04 brides to be. How abt wind? How abt a short introduction to yourself?

Just a recap, i haven't rom yet and my customary is fixed in early 04. Still cracking my head on the ROM date.

HI Bin Bin,
Don't problem, later i send a mail to you.

Hi Leafy,
Did u get the red tube dress?

Anyone went to the MANGO sale??

Hi Shimmerdream,

Read abt your bf's proposal in the other thread, CONGRATS!!

So are you going to select the date for the ROM soon? Do you need a list of good dates? That time, i read the chinese newspaper and copied down the list of good dates in year 2003. U want? If yes, i send to you via email. Let me know

Hi Doremon

Actually we were intending to keep it simple, like stick to the same date. ROM 26/07/03, customary 26/07/04 so that my blur gong gong FH won't forget. It's our anniversary
But if you could email me the list of good dates, that'd be great! [email protected] (so kiasu....)

I went to the Mango sale!!!! But I went after work so not much left. I know of people who took mc to go hee hee.

Idea for any of you who are interested in a really low budget wedding! FH and I went for dinner one day at this place called Shore restaurant. It's off the airport runway, kinda opposite SAFRA country club. Under some sea sports centre or something. If you have traditional parents then this might not work. But if you're given free rein, good for you. Check it out. Quite a nice place for a small wedding. Per table? Less than $400! You can choose to have your tables set on the sand itself. Quite nice

Ladies .... I'm wondering if any of you are as relaxed as me ... since we're all having our wedding around the same time. Apart from checking out a few places, I haven't really done anything else!!! Am I in trouble or are you ladies also not quite worried and kanchiong as well?!

Hi bin bin,
i went JB to book my bridal package cos it is so much cheaper though it is slightly troublesome cos have to travel..what about u? have u chosen your package?

Hi shimmeringdream,
Welcome to the 04 families. I am also quite new here. u are talking about SHORE the restaurant. i went once for dinner there. pardon me for saying. the food doesn't taste that fantastic...
i also have not chosen my wedding dinner...no worries...one step at a time

Hi doremon,

Thanks for ur warm welcome.
I thinking of going down to this bridal boutique 'silver lining' & c c look look, heard some good comments. For photographer, thinking of utopia - travis. Ani comments on these 2 choice?
What abt urself, have u book ani package or banquet yet?

I went to Mango Sale, heehee...took leave to go since my FH also not working that day.

hi chiart, yes that's the place! forgot the name. actually i only went there once and can't really remember how the food was. thanks for pointing that out though

last night i had a nightmare ... dreamt that the next day was my wedding day and i hadn't even booked the venue / gotten my gowns yet haha

Dear Doremon,

Sorry for MIA.... been busy with my exams,.... yes again after just 7 weeks of studies.

My renovation think have to delay till about March when my 3rd term ends :<.....

BTW, I have decided to hold my wedding in november and thinking of holding it ineither Corwn Prince Hotel or Hoilday Inn Parkview....anyone have any comments on these 2 hotels?

hi annmelody,

My sis juz booked with HIP, said she like the ballroom &amp; its size suit her no. of guest. She oni have abt 20 tables so juz nice. If u r having more than that, the ballroom may b a bit cramp.
They provide free flow beer, a good point. Hope this help.

chiart
u've booked ur bridal package in JB rite... how much do you pay 4 it? how's e package like? jus curious... i've booked mine with universal bridal.. quite disappointed w their service.

ve not try gcw food yet. but their ambience shd be gd. wil be attending one in march.. hopefully it doesn't disappoint me.

hi matsu &amp; wind
welcome, welcome... i'm pretty new too. settle 1 thing at a time then u wont feel lost. e date 1st, then e venue etc....

i've seen utopia work.. quite good... but they r kind of ex..

enjoy e process of planning ur own wedding. =)

hi chiart no i have not prepared anything yet! we still dunno if we wanna have a little solemnisation 'party' or to just get it done at ROM and save money. sigh ... and i still haven't started dieting and exercising yet! haha

shimmeringdream, actually whether u pandang abt ur ROM date is up to you. most ppl dun.

dun worry abt the dieting. heard that brides tend to automatically slim down closer to their customary..hhehe...

matsu and chiart, yes i have confirmed the hotel just had not signed. my rom date is 22 march 03 and wedding date 20 march 04, to be held in Conrad.

bridal most likely divine couture.

matsu, utopia seems very good for those virbant colour shots....good if you like these.
how much is their package? looking at robin photography and it's really ex leh......quite shiong loh......:P

annmelody, so you are holding ur wedding in a hotel and not rest anymore? congrats on managing to convince ur pil's.

well, attended wedding at holiday inn park view b4, quite nice, food not bad. just that i think (if i rem correctly) the ballroom has quite a bit of columns, some ppl dun like this.
but i also heard that their service is good, esp coordinator called Eugenia.

Can someone help??? Anyone happened to have taped "Shuang Tian Zi Zun" (King of Gamblers??) finale last week?

We asked a friend to record but his tape had problems and it was recorded. My FH (and I) really really wanted to watch it. Anyone has?????

Hi BinBin,

Did not really to manage to convince my FIL...but my hubby decided to go ahead... Actaully we are thinking of Crown Prince as we heard the food not bad and it's more convenient than Hoilday Inn

Hi Annmelody,

Welcome back! U still having exams or over liao? U still interested to meet my current contractor or not? Let me know.

Hi Matsu,

I have booked my bridal package with Everbliss. Now keeping my fingers crossed due to the negative comments in the forum.

I am forgoing the wedding dinner portion but intend to hold a small dinner for the family. Most probably will be Tung Lok Noble House.

Hi Shimmerdream,
Me too...also cracking my head over the ROM. Been searching high and low for different venues and ideas. Still thinking hard. I will send you the list of good dates later.

Hi Bin Bin,

Sorry but i don't have the recording.

hi annmelody,

Glad tt u decided to go ahead with ur idea.

hi binbin,

I did not record the last episode too, sorry can't help u. Hope u find a copy soon.
But i can roughly tell u the ending, if u like to know.

hi doremon,

Yes, bought that dress. The sale is quite a good bargain hor? Are u the card holder? I'm not, intend to sign up soon.

No, pass-by MANGO, but so crowded until they have to close the door to control the ppl in-out.

shimmeringdreams,

Read about ur proposal too!
i think u r too stressed! i used to have those "cock-up" dreams the night before my exams too. Try to relax...everything will be as beautiful as what u planned.

TO newcomers - wind, cyn, chiart, shimmeringdreams, matsu etc...

WElcome!! Look forward to meet u girls in person during next outing... eh... dunno when yet. haven plan... organiser went on holiday.

I think next time can book a chalet so tt all 2004brides can spend our weekends there huh?

hi leafy, the chalet idea sounds good.

shall we do that then? hehehhee.....

about the finale, think my FH wish to watch it for himself...really wish to get the tape.
but if we really in the end cannot get, i ask you to tell me story can?
hehhee....

hi doremon, i'll share ideas with you as and when i have them!!

hello leafy, haha about the cock-up dreams. i think it's due to stress. and yes the chalet idea sounds great (eh shimmeringdream ... nobody invited you hor .... so shameless, invite yourself)

hi leafy..
thx for e welcome... yeah, looking forward meeting u gals.

wow.. mango's really crowded man.

ve anyone watch 2 weeks notice? is it nice?

doremon, i got your email liaoz! thanks alot!!! muaks!

hey girls, i saw this in some other thread elsewhere - compilation of all the wedding dates of everyone in the thread. shall we do that? then we can keep track of each other's big day and cheer each other on!

okie i start. mine is
ROM 26 july 03
customary 26 july 04
......if all goes well. can't wait!

sighz ... still in office. like free labour like that

shimmering
so poor thing.. stil in office huh

pebbles is doing e details of 04 brides. think she'll email to everyone of us when she's back from her holiday.

All newcomers - WELCOME on board!!

Hi Hi, so many msg and newcomers since I disappear since christmas eve ah... more and more difficult to catch-up liao,must come in more often if not sure lost track.... I am sure pebbles will have a hard time when she comes back from holiday... hee! Yup, it's time to re-update the list liao... Agree with the chalet, think it is a good idea, think it will be fun, anyone want to organise??

Binbin, I try placing the pic but cannot leh...Is it that you must store pics in your PC first.. eg clipart pic??

GOOD MORNING EVERYONE!!!
NEW YEAR EVE... Let me wish all 2004brides2be a happy New year! May all of u be a bit prettier each day.

hi shimmeringdreams,
ya, pebbles is doing the compilation of all our details. Which she'll send every 2004brides a copy.

binbin,
Hmm... I'll help to ask around...sms u if i happen to find one.

As for the chalet, anyone here who got lobang to book chalet at really low rates? cut cost yah.

hi cyn,
huh? why aren't u happy with your package. mine cost about S$1500. i am quite pleased with the package. I have got one WG, 1 DG and 1 tea dress. i think it is quite a good deal and me and my FH dun want to splurge on these..

what about u?
hi shimmeringdream,
no worries. u will be slimmer as the time comes. if you and your FH no budget then it is ok without the party after ROM cos you really save a lot....
hi doremon,
no worries about everbliss...i just attended my friend wedding and saw her album, it is very well taken.....
hi binbin,
sorry i dun have the recording as well..
hi leafy,
thanks for the welcome. i think the chalet sounds good. we can also go for hi tea as a new gathering? what do u all think?

hi chiart
mine cost $3688, 1 WG, 2 EG &amp; teadress, car... quite disappointed wif their service. they actually ask me to call them eventually 4 1st appointment. they shd be e one keep track &amp; call customer rite.

is ur big day on 7 jan?

hi cyn,
oh when is your BIG day? mine dun have car since it is in JB

tentatively yes my BIG day is 7th jan...but still have to confirm again