(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Adeline,
ya, 2 dinners, 25 tables is for my relatives & our frds only, then the other dinner is for his vegetarians relatives lor.... like a lot of them.. both in diff venue.

ya lor, Dabee very good lor, very simple & easy

Skylar,

So did BS charge you extra for renting gowns for 2 days? Need to engage photographer for 2 days huh?
Let me noe how to deco the venue hor ... thanks.

Hi Lala,

Me worst. Hotel no free beer, just gv complementary 2 bottles of red wine! They charge $25 per bottle as corkage fee. Think be getting fm hotel loh. Should be serving red wine ... no choice. Hard liqour how many bottles u bringing in huh? Me abt 6-7 bottles ...

lala n adeline:
ade which hotel u are with? u never bargain for barrels of beer when u signing the contract?
mine is a 30l beer n waived 12 red wine bottles corkage. 13th bottle red wine will be charged at 25+++ very ex orh.

me initially is going to have 2 dinners... one for relatives and another for friends, which i dun mind coz i know i will enjoy myself on the friends' reception...

then now my FIL wants us to have another one in M'sia... coz he's M'sian and now he says not possible to get all his friends and some relatives to come to singapore... so now we are going to have 3 !!!
113449.gif

anyway, i'm not going to bother myself with the reception in M'sia.. told my hubby to tell my FIL to take care of everything. i'm jus going to carry my evening gown there and show face... not going to even be bothered about makeup and hairdo... jus DIY something.... anyway it's a lunch reception, so more casual kind...

hmmm, after hearing u all about the beer/wine charges, i think i've got a very good deal...

my package comes with 1 barrel of beer (30l) and initially my coordinator only gives us corkage waiver for 1 carton of wine (12 bottles)... then we told her not enuff... finally she agreed to waive off 2 cartons (24 bottles)....
113452.gif

initially not intending to bring liquor, but then realised that GDL will have liquor. so depending on whether my in-laws giving duty paid or duty free ones... coz duty-free ones cannot bring for banquet... heehee...

hey.. my package came wif 30 pixs.. den i din do MTM gown n husband suit.. so additional 6pixs.. but stil end up topping so many.. hahah.. *siao*

dabee... tell u, u will faint.. my BS do the flowers themselves !! n hor.. usually relatives oni give ang bao once.. so tat must cover buffet n banquet leh... but cannot expect lor... juz hope i dun nid to top up too much for the banquet.. teadress.. going down BS next week den decide lor... but got contacts for seamstress liao.. so must chop chop decide.. else no time. hehehe

n Tdragon not opened on Sundays.....

adeline.. 30 - 32 still oni ah? hehehe....

skylar.. wah! 50+ tables in all... wah..

eternity.. i tink we can juz try to settle down on a date again.. n meet for coffee .. sumting simple.. hehehe..... how's tat, ladies? *wink*

lala.. if u dun nid so much beer.. ask them if can convert into red wine.. i did tat.. cos frens are not beer fans...

dabee.. i tink lala's hotel is oriental.. or sumting like tat. but last minute got renovation... so changed venue...

lala
jus some thots... i personally find the wine corkage charge of $25 per bottle is rather ex... in this case you are better off buying wine from the hotel...

perhaps u can estimate the number of wine that you need.... say u considering bringing 15 bottles... then u bluff your coordinator that you plan to bring 20 bottles and ask them for waiver for 12 bottles, then any excess of the 12 bottles u buy their wine... heehee

hi Adeline, no-time,

yap, but i intend to dress more casual for the 2nd dinner lor, maybe buy from Daniel Yam or something lor... dun feel like wearing the gown again lor...

yes, I will need another day of photographer lor, anyone using any videography here?

we have already bargained. For Regent hotel, they are quite okie with other things but really hold on to the px of red wine. Given the wavier corkage, we have only one option that is to buy wine from the hotel. As for hard liquour, have not thought of it yet. I think the 2 30litres barrel of beer is inevitable for us as many friends drink beer ... urm, as well as red wine loh ...

hi lynn,
depends on ur own schedule lor, some ppl wants to wait till near so that can loose weight. some ppl done 1 year ahead.
my AD is jan but i'm doing early sept to allow me to my PS during my holidays.
n some BS is a very busy so they need 2-3 mths to produce the album. dec is a very popular mth for marriage so will take longer.

Hi SeaBreeze,

I think I'll be wearing sandals for my PS. My fren told me it's impossible to wear heels. She wear sandals too.

apr

lala,

like that no choice lor.... hmmm, anyway if u bring wine from outside also need to pay for the cost of the wine... then instead of paying for the corkage, choose a reasonably good wine from the hotel's list and settle for that...

hi no time:
i also think my BS did my PS bouquet on their own leh. but just that they did not admit. ur BS admit that they did it on their own?
my hotel wavied all the corkages for hard liquor but only 12 red wine. i bring 8 bottles of martel. n 12 bottles of red wine.. if not enough 13th bottle then order from hotel. i got only one 30l beer, dun think is enough. 20l beer cost 400plus+++ very ex!!!!!
hi no time, see i very forgetful one din even remember our wedding cards already hv gold trimmings. thanks for reminding.

just now went to chose my photos liao. not too bad. we chose all those with our dogs n some others. my bridal package has 23 pics so we top up another 12 ($30@) total 35 photos, all full pages designs, no inserts. then i also upgraded my 3R mini ablum to 5R ($5@) $175. o ya we dun need their bridal car, so minus off $200 from our extras photos. they refused to minus any $ when i dun wan their all flower decor for actual day.
my package also include big portrait to hang on the wall, 8R table top n 24pcs of 3R to give to friends. so happy one thing done. will be able to collect my ablum in one mth time.
my food tasting on the 11aug. my hotel co ordinator highlight to me, if pa tang ppl dun hv food tastin durin the seventh mth. mine is few days. also take this opportunity for my parents n grandma to meet my in laws.
which brand of red wine u gals getting? from where?

hi dabee.. juz went down to BS juz now.. heheh.. hoping if i can still try the gown n take a few shots.. but they said gown not there... is it true tat WG will oni b used once? n den become a second hand? anyway.. yes.. they said they do the bouquets.. how many tables do u hv? u booked their function room? i tink i exchged the beer for 24 btls...

hey.. glad fotos turned out fine... brought any sample back to show us? hehehe... how come yrs so fast can collect album ah? me still dun even get to c first draft ! =( but hey.. yr top-ups per piece is so cheap! wah... good leh.. usuali they wun deduct much or give anyting in return of tings tat u're not taking... i oso asked juz now.. if dun wan teadress wat else can i get... noting.. hahaha....

oh.. n juz now den i realised they do not provide wrist corsages... i so blur.. hahaha...

oh.. i hvnt decide when to go for food tasting.. wanted to go on our rom annivesary which is 6 Aug.. but husband going to japan ... *sob*

hey.. anywhere possible to get cheaper non duty free hard liquor huh? =P

dabee,

wow, your package includes a lot of pictures leh... *envy*

me top up like $2k and probably still going to DIY some collages....

hmmm, if u really dun want the flowers and they no willing to minus any money, maybe can think of something in exchange...

here's some suggestions...
- bouquet of flowers for mums as a thank you gift
- flowers for decorating your home on your AD, just order the types of flowers u want, then put them in a vase
- rose petals for the flower girl or guests (sitting near aisle) to throw during the march in
- wrist corsages for jiemeis

oh, and on the wine... sorrie me cannot help much coz that item outsourced to my hubby... he's the one doing the research... if i get any list from him, i'll post it here...

no-time,
did u make appt before going? or jus went there hoping to take pictures?? yah, sometimes gowns not in studio coz they will send them out for detailing like beadings....

Oraia

hihi... no lah busy with work and down wif flu so MC loh..... Now feel anxious collecting my PS ablum soon.... And me oso settle with my MTM Wg and EG will be goin first fitting in late october... Hopefully my Wg and Eg will turn out well..

Me oso MTM a CS for my 2nd EG... think oso will be really near AD... How abt you?

Morning Girls!!!

its kopi time!!!
113483.gif
Me still have to work half day today lor.. sigh....

as for the photo collages, me still dunno whether want a not also... but thinking that maybe those with slides will be quite nice lor rite? let the guests see but scared wait the young young me might shocked the guests ah! hahaha....

Eternity,
flowers for mom as thank-you gifts not a bad idea, but also hor, anyone here got buy from outside wedding favours for the guests too? coz me got about 3 frds who really help me alot in this wedding from the start, any idea what to give them ah???

as for the wine, I only know that my hotel only give about 30L of beer too but waive off all hard liquour & wines too, we bargain for that lor, so the liqour should be taken from my hub side coz his house, i think got lor, & some of my frds also already told me that they are giving me 3 bottles of Gordon Bleu, soo happy!!!

as for the wine, my hub will get from the dealer straight, coz he works in a hotel & he has the contacts lor, I would resume that the price is more competitive than the outside mkt lor....

if u all looking for wine or watever, maybe i can get my hub to help out??

hi gals:
good morning!!! anyone workin on sats? i am in my office eating black carrot cake now. hee hee hee... so fat liao still eat.. hee heee. u know some of my photos i do really look so huge like a gorilla leh. hence reject all those. initally me n hubby agree to stick to the no of pics in the package but three rounds of rejecting still have at least 40plus left. so no choice just abandon minimise to 35. and only indoor!!! cannt imagine how much if we went outdoor that day. *heng*
i insisted my BS to write down on my receipt: my top up of $30@ to full page duno 10R,12R or 15R when i paid a deposit with them at my hotel bridal show. got 15R or not? hee hee
luckily, at least still got someting i am happy with my BS. u know actually during the bridal show they showed my the Utopia photography ablum. so i *trusted* them that they will let me chose whichever photographer i want. THEN, in the end they blar blar blar when i insisted Utopia or vividshots( cos the photographer girl has experience in taking dogs pics). BS also said i have great smile, dun worry my photos will turn out well, not so much on the photgrapher.
then wat can i say....so i gave up, i just go with whichever photographer they gave me. the one i got is from Qing's bridal (933 DJ zhou chong qing's). luckily those photographs turned out nice. of cos not everyone lar at least got nice ones.
actually orh all these BS is out to earn $$. i remembered my BS telling me if i dun not wan car for actual day can deduct like $350, now only $200. i never ask them to write down. then orh that time when i ask them about upgrading my 3R to 5R i rememeber them saying FOC small amt but never write down. sigh. now they charge me $5@. maybe they trying to cover back the $$ for my 12R, 15R... anyone knows how much it is to develop photos from CD rom to 5R? my BS said is also $5 outside. duno true or not. BS will give me back my photos in a CD rom but i forget to ask them: do they give me back all photos or those 35 which i selected. i remembered taking some photos standing near the window but i never saw them last night leh.
my BS paid qing bridal for my photography session n to do up my ablum. they said one mth will complete i hope so.

o ya, my BS is clearing off their WG n EGs at 50% off now. if anyone of u wan to buy, do let me know, i can pass u their contacts.

now i seriously thinking of getting heaven touch to do my flowers on my actual day. will go n see their works soon.

Dabee,

aiyoh... u should have ask them to write down everything in black & white on the invoice when u all do the negotiations lor... for me, i asked them to write down everything .... so that in future, dun have argue or anything lor...

but glad that everything is ok lahh....

Hi, purple,

wear sandals, wont we look too short? I mean im not that tall..and my hubby tall.

Hi seabreeze,

i think alike like u too, scared sea water will spoil the shoes, thinking of buying a cheaper one for PS, then a more expensive one for AD. Where u gona buy yr shoes, my PS is end of the month.

initially my designer ask me to buy a close up toe with crystals shoes, but in the market, mostly are open toes, unless u MTM, which is around $200. Quite expensive.

hi eternity:

i did ask them if i dun wan the flower bouquet the most they give me is one pc of extra photo.
see how. maybe i will squeeze two bouquets for my mom n MIL.

baobao, must take care ah... weather not good.. getting too unpredictable.

wise/taurus, link sent already... but these photos are only my rejected photos..

taurus, look forward to it.. once it's over it's really over.. we do this only once a lifetime.. hehehe :P

me bought a pair of close up shoe from seiyu last evening .... v cheap ler ... $39.90 only ... its lace ... no crystal ... intend to use for PS first .... if after PS still nice nice then use for AD lor ... if not buy one more pair ... won't heartach

irene>> my AD is 21 nov oso ... dinner on 24 nov ... where is your hotel and which bridal?

Hi Irene,

Maybe wear sandals and when nid to take pix, put on the shoes. So, dun have to walk in it. If not, end of the day, tired out the poor legs.

Hi Twinkletwinkle, Amy, Adidas, Fleur and Mist,
By the end of the indoor shoot, before we can even leave to go outdoors, my fh was already exhausted! Which was pretty obvious on the photo cos he looked funny

We went to Fullerton, upper pierce reservoir (pple who like monkeys can go there, cos lots and lots of cute monkeys), and Changi beach.
Personally i enjoyed the outdoor photos more cos it's more natural, scenery is nice (compared to the boring backdrops inside the studio)
but my fh more traditional, he like the boring blue and grey backdrop!

Seabreeze and Irene,
It is DEFINITELY wise to bring sandals and a towel. Even if u dun wanna wear it when posing (if afraid of looking short standing next to hubby), u can still wear it when WALKING to the photoshoot site. Becos most of the reservoir or parks are very far in, may need to walk quite a distance to where the photographer think is nice. Towel to wipe sand or water off, if not very uncomfortable when put heels back on!

Hope you all have a good time doing ur photoshoot!

mist
comfort is defintely more impt to me .. haha so will just ignore those pple .. anyway my intention is to put on heels when taking shoot & back to slippers for walking

hi purple
have to drink more water due to very hot recently ,me too have pimple .. have to take more water also and vitmine C
ya ..have to bring sandals along or else leg very painful meh...

hi jusme
ya ...agree ,one day do so many shoot very tired one leh...you already went to see your photo? me still looking for time ? too busy from work...

able to pop in again... finally....

babysheep,
u look great.... really like your gowns, esp your WG.... very very elegant...
you went to seletar c'try club? me wanted to go there too! love the pool there, as well as the reservoir area (before you reach the club itself) we should be going there for our outdoor shoot next mth, cos hubby wanted to take pics in seletar camp too... promised to show u my PS pics at the island, but haven't managed to scan them yet... gimme some time ya?

how's everybody...? really lost touch here... understand you ladies are mtg up on wed? me can't make it this time round..
enjoy yourselves ya?

btw chubbyrain, when's ur PS? *kpo*

dabee,

u put too much trust in them liao... for one, the cost they incurred will definitely be different if u choose utopia or vividshots vs qing bridal... if your package did indicate that you can choose any photographer, then should have insisted.... anyway, u did manage find nice pictures that u liked for the album... that's the most important....

my hubby had a friend who took a package that included like 45 pictures and they had a hard time choosing, coz they dun find it noce... good thing for them they took another set of overseas shot (from another photographer)... so the original one they jus anyhow choose, didn't bother to top up also...

dabee,
maybe the shots of those u took at the window didn't turn out well, so the photographer didn't even want to show....

oh, on the 5R... i dun think it will cost so much... as far as i know, developing a 4R will cost only like 40cents each... but yours is done in an album style right? so maybe they add in other charges as well...