(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

Before i go....let me share something meaningful with all of u here. But a bit long, okie??

There are many things that we can do to perk up and strengthen our interpersonal relationships. Yet the most effective involves the saying of just three words. When spoken or conveyed, these statements have the power to forge new friendships, deepen old ones and restore relationships that have cooled.

The following three-word phrases can enrich every relationship.

I'll be there
If you have ever had to call a friend in the middle of the night, to take a sick child to hospital, or when your car has broken down some miles from home, you will know how good it feels to hear the phrase "I'll be there". Being there for another person is the greatest gift we can give. When we are truly present for other people, important things happen to them and us. We are renewed in love and friendship. We are restored emotionally and spiritually. Being there is at the very core of civility.

I miss you
Perhaps more marriages could be saved and strengthened if couples simply and sincerely said to each other "I miss you". This powerful affirmation tells partners they are wanted, needed, desired and loved. Consider how ecstatic you would feel, if you received an unexpected phone call from your spouse in the middle of your workday, just to say "I miss you."

I respect you
Respect is another way of showing love. Respect conveys the feeling that another person is a true equal. If you talk to your children as if they were adults you will strengthen the bonds and become close friends. This applies to all interpersonal relationships.

Maybe you're right
This phrase is highly effective in diffusing an argument and restoring frayed emotions. The flip side to "maybe your right" is the humility of admitting, "maybe I'm wrong". Let's face it. When you have a heated argument with someone, all you do is cement the other person's point of view. They, or you, will not change their stance and you run the risk of seriously damaging the relationship between you. Saying "maybe you're right" can open the door to further explore the subject, in which you may then have the opportunity to get your view across in a more rational manner.

Please forgive me
Many broken relationships could be restored and healed if people would admit their mistakes and ask for forgiveness. All of us are vulnerable to faults, foibles and failures. A man should never be ashamed to own up that he has been in the wrong, which is saying, in other words, that he is wiser today than he was yesterday.

I thank you
Gratitude is an exquisite form of courtesy. People who enjoy the companionship of good, close friends are those who don't take daily courtesies for granted. They are quick to thank their friends for their many expressions of kindness. On the other hand, people whose circle of friends is severely constricted often do not have the attitude of gratitude.

Count on me
A friend is one who walks in when others walk out. Loyalty is an essential ingredient for true friendship; it is the emotional glue that
bonds people. Those that are rich in their relationships tend to be steady and true friends. When troubles come, a good friend is there indicating "you can count on me."

Let me help
The best of friends see a need and try to fill it. When they spot a hurt they do what they can to heal it. Without being asked, they pitch in and help.

I understand you
People become closer and enjoy each other more if they feel the other person accepts and understands them. Letting your spouse know in so many little ways that you understand them, is one of the most powerful tools for healing your relationship. This applies to any relationship.

Go for it
We are all unique individuals. Don't try to get your friends to conform to your ideals. Support them in pursuing their interests, no matter how weird they seem to you. Everyone has dreams, dreams that are unique to that person only. Support and encourage your friends to follow their dreams. Tell them to "go for it."

I love you
Perhaps the most important three words that you can say. Telling someone that you truly love them satisfies a person's deepest emotional needs. The need to belong, to feel appreciated and to be wanted. Your family, your friends and you, all need to hear those three little words.

wow....very inspirational....
will send to all my friends.
thanks doremon.

hi doremon, thks for the welcome
when are u plng to ROM? in 2003?

hey binbin, me too!! have juz received the ltr to go and collect the keys!!
so excited....but then my FH and me thinking of postponing it till later date cos we don't want it to restrict our ROM date....BTW, understand that once u collect your keys, you need to start paying 'household misc' fees!
what a waste as we wldn't be shifting in so soon....BTW, anyone know what it meant by not taking possession of the flat after execution of the agreement for lease??

yah, blurydeoy, don't think they will shift the bus interchange to so inside lah....i really adore 190 too...heehee....i also can't imagine if no buses, all LRT...............gosh!!

Oh yah, I'll be attending the OP on 20 Oct too! maybe then can c u there

am planning for my wedding in 2003/2004...ROM will be 2003 but haven confirm on the customary...either end 2003 or mid 2004..still haven decide leh...tou tong issue....cos got some housing issues which can only settle by mid 2004...so if customary end 2003 then i will be living with my inlaws first until my housing issues are resolved....but i dun feel quite like staying with in-laws after marriage..not that they are nasty to me...but just afraid there would be any of those "po-si" problems once starting to stay under same roof lor...what you gals think ??
...my bf actually leave the decision to me lor but i know he would want very much to start living together as soon as possible....

hi sweetcorn, u too?

yah loh not wise to get restricted by the flat date right? sollie me dun know what the sentence mean. how was it used?
u mean we have to pay the household misc fees after getting ouy keys? even if we dun use elec or water? wah......how can?

as for the plot of land at segar, it will def build something, but most prob wun be interchange...:o
btw, what is OP???
anyone went for the bridal veil show last night???
wow!!! whew, the gowns were beaaaautiful.
i simply LOVE the flowy trains flowers in their hair. there's one model that is veriie cute one keep smiling very sweetly....

sigh....but the package is sooooo expensive...

mew, eeerrr.....are u new or am i blur?
i agree with u about the poh si problem. sometimes talking to them is very nice but it's another set of issue living together. as the saying goes "xiang ai rong yi xiang chu nan" (loving is easy living together is not). somemore no privacy loh.
perhaps wuld be good if u customary only after ur flat is ready. but just my humble opinion lah....

hi bin bin, for PUB, if u don't activate it, u don't have to pay lor. However, I understand that for the svc fees, once you take possession of the flat, you have to start paying....my FH will chk out with HDB on more details...

OP is orchard parade hotel. they have a bridal show on coming sunday, my sis wants to go, so asked me join her as well...

hi mew, i've a fren who has almost the same problem as you. she arrange it in such a way that her wedding is only after her flat is ready...haha..

HI Binbin,
Hey, I didn't log in till now..was extremely busy last week. I went for the MM show just now. The gowns were quite nice..but the packages are quite ex. Me really feel like changing my bridal package to Le galleria..but but...I have already paid deposit for my current one. Really hate myself for signing up without doing any homework. Do u like the gowns today?

Hi Mew,
Welcome....Me probably will have my customery in early 2004, no confirm date yet. Actually still deciding should I have it in end 2003 or early 2004. Me getting ROM next month....

Hi Doremon,
Do take care....

HI Wendy26,
Hows your ROM preparations? Must be very excited now...another 12 days to go..and u will be Mrs... after u..will be my turn...me already feeling quite excited now...

wow! so many msg...

Good morning Ladies...

<FONT COLOR="orange">Doremon</FONT>, thanks for sharing the article with us... A good one!

By the way, I'm unable to check my yahoo email account in office. What did u send? Is it urgent? In future, maybe u can cc to my company's email address? thanks!

Seems to me that u are always getting flu virus...do take care!

<FONT COLOR="orange">sweetcorn</FONT>, I might be going for the Orchard parade hotel bridal show too...but haven book the ticket.
erh, sorry, can't help u on hdb stuffs...

<FONT COLOR="orange">mew</FONT>, Welcome!!! Try to communicate with your inlaws more often to better understand them. Ah, then u can decide whether u able/want to live with them under one roof. Good luck!

<FONT COLOR="orange">blusher</FONT>, I fully understand your excitment now. Before my ROM, i was heavily occupied with work, but still counting down to my ROM day every day...
Next month is my ROM first anniversary...wonder if I should have a little celebration since all these years, our anniversary day is the day we first dated, first hold hands as a couple.
How huh??

Hello....

I suppose everyone should have read about the Bali explosion... Those who are planning to have their honeymoon there, guess it would be better to make other plans now...

hi sweetcorn, we have just wrote to postpone the payment and collection til late oct. coz we both pretty caught up with work now no time to go...:o
can u let me know the details of the service fees after ur fh finds out? like approx how much we have to pay permonth? thanks!
there's a OP show this sat? sigh.....my fh will be out of town....
really wanna go leh, but how do i get the tickets huh??? is it beri funnie to go alone or with a friend huh?

blusher.....sigh....super big sigh.
did not get to go to the MM show. i just signed up for the brides card last thur, and i requested to be able to go to the show. chin leng very kindly arranged for me to collect my tics on the day itself, and the MM rep is supposed to call me to tell me details. but the MM rep did not call me for the whole of sat and sun, and i wasn't aware that the show is in the afternoon..........so end up i called chin leng up, but it was too late for me to go liao...

but chin leng reallie beri nice loh....:o
you mean the gowns are nice? sigh....missed it.
what are they like? the flowy soft trains type? i really love those, like those of bridal veil at pan pac. how much is the le galleria package? where is it at? what shop did you signed up with?

JustRom, yes i was so shocked at the news. all this while my dad neber let me go indonesia. but i have heard so much abt how safe bali is compared to the rest of indo, and i finally persuaded him few wks ago to let me go there one of these days as a holiday. he actually agreed, and this shocking thing happened.
it's so sad, so many ppl. and they were there to enjoy themselves too. i heard there's some singaporeans unaccounted for, that true? i really hope not...

Just to share with you all: You have to stary paying the conservancy fees after you take possession of the flat..if i rem correctly, have to pay 3mths in advance once you sign on the dotted line. Then subsequently, I pay abt errr..think $50+ for 5room at SengKang.

Hi blusher
Yup getting very excited for my ROM!!!

Have confirmed the preparations more or less now by...

Dear newcomers
A big Welcome to all of you!!! Btw, I have been very busy lately so didn't log in as frequent...

Got to go. Keep in touch!!!

Hi binbin,

Yup... I guess we would have to give these places a miss at least for these one or two years.

From previous postings, understand that you are going to collect your keys.. Congrats!
Are you going to start reno soon?

HI GALS,
WENDY SORRY THAT DAY MY GF WEDDING RUSHING TO SALON TO DO MY HAIR...U N YOUR FH GOING AT CITYHALL TO SHOP AR?CONGRATS AR...
SWEETCORN,
U CAN EMAIL ME YOUR HP NO?WE CAN ARRANGE TO MEET,I ALREADY BROUGHT THE TICKETS LIAO.GOING WITH MY GF ALSO..MY EMAIL:[email protected]

DOREMON DIDNT RECD YOUR MAIL LEI...

HEY GALS I WAS THINKING OF GETTING THE PACKAGE AT BRIDAL ZONE AT MS..DO U GALS THINK A WISE CHOICE?

hi blurydoey, u can check out the BZ thread for some info on it...

btw, do u know how to get the tics to the OP show?

JustROM, yes me going to collect keys but postponing it to end Oct.
once we get the keys we will source for the contractors. we intend to get some interior designers to assess and quote us some ideas.
so will take our time, perhaps about 1, 2 months in order to settle for an interior designer to do it. but we were thinking whether it would be better to sign on the ID before 2003 coz of the 5% gst. but also dun wanna rush. what do you think?
what abt u?

Wendy, congrats!!!
we have chosen a date for our rom too. it will be in march.
hopes urs will be beautiful and smooth sailing...

hi blurydoey,

thought the other time u mentioned you're considering white link or graceful. anyway, i just had my photoshoot and would like to tell u that so far i'm very happy with BZ service. i'm someone who can be quite fussy and detailed esp when it comes to wedding. but so far everything has been great with BZ.

seriously can consider them, i always find that their photos are quite nicely taken also.

Hi binbin,

Yup... It is no good to rush into things... It would be better to do some research and homework before deciding who you want to do the designing for you... It's better to have something which you are satisfied rather than cheap, right?

For me, I haven't got my flat yet. But I've already got lobang for people who can advise me on fengshui and renovations... Now I only lack of a flat....

wow JustROM, u not bad huh...so many lobangs ah...hehhee....
those advisors are ur friends? good for u...

which area are u thinking of getting?
u waiting for resale or balloting?

binbin,

no lah.... just that friends around me are either getting married or moving house... so lots of information from them..

me looking at BP or CCK.... actually I am waiting for a more ideal location in BP/CCK... My hubby believes that there is going to be another round of WIS...

hi JustROM..

yes there will be another round of wis, after the balloting in end of 2002. heard this from a source.
this second round will probably do thru all the towns (CCK, Sengkang, Pungool, Semb, BP) again (not nec in order), but as far as i know, all BP available units are already let out.
i say so coz my fh and i did a lot of driving around and asking around before the bp wis. all the observed empty units were made available in the sept wis. i stay in bp and bp is not a big town, we were able to cover all new clusters.
as for the rest of the towns, i am not sure....but hope there is for ur sake...

wish u luck....

Hi blurydoey
Actually I was going to Esplanade to watch the grand opening last Sat.
No wonder you look so rush
Wow, u sure can recognise me since we met once only!!! And especially I have just have my hair cut &amp; change my hair colour!!! No more trademark blonde hair liao when we have our next gathering :P

Hi JustROM
Thanks for your well wishing!!!

Hi Binbin
Which date will your ROM be in next Mar?

Pebbles
Miss u leh!!!

HI Leafy,
Wow..1st anniversary..I think should celebrate..1st leh!!! If the both of u can make it, then do go and arrange a romantic dinner and spend the night away chatting and cuddling lor!!Heehee!

HI Binbin,
Just bring a friend with you, when attending Bridal shows. Alone will be abit lonely. It's prefectly ok to bring a gal friend too! Actually is better than bring FH, cos u know lah....guys always say: nice nice all gowns are nice. The comments they give are all the same..always no preference, whereas gals will give a better comments on gowns. Le galleria gowns are simple yet elegant. I like those with low backs and embroidery. Don't really know how to decribe the gowns to u..sorry ar!! The packages are aro $4k, with very basic things like OTR WG, OTR EG, make-up, tea dress, studio and outdoor photograpy, bridal bouquets, cosages etc. No bridal car, no actual day photograpy, no MTM shoes etc. I've signed up with Paris. Do call Le galleria up if you want to find out more. Me just glance thru the packages only.

HI Blurydoey,
You keen on Bridal zone ar? Do check with pebbles, she signed up with BZ too! Maybe she can give you some tips...get more freebies etc. She wil be back this weekend...wait for her return if you can..I'm sure she can give you some good advice.

Anyone going for the Hyatt bridal show coming sunday? I'm going with FH. What about the rest? Only interested on OP bridal show?

Do you have to register for Hyatt Bridal Show? I would like to attend. If registration is needed, how should I go about doing it? Appreciate for the information.

BTW anyone held wedding dinner in Chijmes?

-Thanks.

HI Littledevil,
Hope u don't mind me addressing u that...I cut the coupon found in the female brides mag. Maybe u can try calling Hyatt, telling them u are keen on the coming bridal show.

Good morning Binbin,

Thanks for your information..... I would just have to keep my fingers cross....
If we still can't find any ideal units, we would just stay at my hubby's place for the time being......

hai gals,
wah so many msgs ar...
bin bin,
i got the tickets when I called up to the tung lok sales office, actually the bridal mag got show the phone no, I misplaced liao..U better hurry to get the tickets if u r going..uob card only need to pay $8 per couple...
U mean cck got another wis? wha so good ....
blusher,
yup, actually i went with my fbo friend as she intro me to her..the package rather comprehensive..but yest went to focus at imm also attracted by their artwork n they throw in quite a few stuff too but a bit more exp lor..
wendy,
Ya I was surprise to see u there, so hows the esplande must be beautiful n romantic seeing so many fireworks...me that day busy doing ah yi...
strawberry,
u also signed up with BZ?can let me know what your package like so I can bragain more freebies..this thurs going down with my fh to check out the gowns...

hi hi...surprise at the rate of this forum! today on leave then manage to clear man..haha :D

Blurydoey, ok, i will email my no. to you! see you then! BTW, I'm going with my FH, together with my sister &amp; her FH...the more the merrier as in more comments. heehee..

Bin Bin, I saw it at Female Brides. Better hurry if u want, it's this Sun! you can call them at 68360984 or email them at [email protected]. I'm actually not very keen but my sis said said got discount for Lady's card mem so I chin chye. heehee. hope to c u there too!

By the way, what this 2nd round wis supposed to be? The remaining flats after the 1st round wis? Will the px plunge further? Aiyo...previously I saw that there are still many EF left...

So, you have fixed a date for your ROM!! congrats! u went to ask 'ah pek'? My FH and me considering May. Supposed to go and collect keys today...we are planning to postpone to later date as well...but we haven't write in.. ;p

Leafy, so nice huh, ROM aniversay is on your start date...my FH suggest ROM on the same day too but I hope to get a 'gd day' via tong shu. Do many people pick date for ROM??

I 'm back. Just started working cannot post login too often lar! Wow.. so many new pple.. me confused liao!

hi sweetcorn,
got your email liao, i also asked pple to calculate good date for my rom, but hee give wrong date anyway we went ahead without knowing so ok lor...
cc2,
how are u?

HI CC2,

Finally see ur posting....good luck for your new job! Me very busy..plus now my boss has shifted, now sitting behind me, very difficult to make posting. Don't worry, will try to pop in when he go toilet, meeting etc.

Hey Gals,

After MIAing for so long in here, am back too! So happy, boss flew off last nite so I can have a peaceful and early week ahead! CC2, how's your new job &amp; office? Update us when you have time.

Welcome to all the newcomers, I think is sweetcorn, bin bin, serene... anymore that I have missed out?

Blusher, don't think that I will be going to the hyatt show, FH is not interested , anyway he has set his mind on the 2 hotels that I have mentioned to you guys.

Ok, talk to you later....

Bubbles

Good morning gals...

Count myself quite lucky that my boss sit very high up and and his office is very far away from mine.

sweetcorn,
no, my ROM date is not the day we start.
that time we know nuts abt auspicious date...I just want a saturday...So happen that 17 NOV (symbolise "yi4 sheng1 yi4 shi4" and "yi4 qi4" (righteous)... so we take this day lor...

But later many ppl say it's not a good date, but we just go ahead. However, for customary, we'll get a good date.

Where's ur ideal location for ur lovenest? If no hurry, maybe can wait for the balloting, meanwhile save more $$ in cash for renov and in CPF for firstpayment

Hi Bubbles,

My new colleagues all very on leh! All stayed till very late.
Chiam liao lar.. Only a couple of them left early.

Gone are the days when I can knock off on the dot.

Keep you gals updated again.

CC2

Just noticed this thread....I'm also having my ROM in Jan 03...hopefully customary will be in Jan04.
We've already booked our wedding package from In Wedding Collection. There're mixed comments in the forum...so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Hello to all,
Hmm...heee...taking time off to visit the Internet pc

Just went through some of the threads on photos shoots, all quite nice

Now dreaming of my wedding photos
So have you gals booked your package??
I book with Paris, cos hubby like the night shots..heee...actually drag by the Chen xiao jie when we went to see Furniture exhibition at Expo...think last yr Sep..

Oh yah...BTW...anyone got their new flat in BP?
I got mine during the WIS. In Segar...so excited...so many things happening now...ROM this Jan...get keys in Jan...customary in 2004

hi babylove! me me me in segar

which block is yours? You have already fixed your ROM in Jan? How did you postpone your collection of keys to Jan? Did you write in or something?

I'm also planning cust in 2004 but will be last qtr as my sis is planning hers in 1st qtr...aiyo...

Hi leafy, were u asking me abt my ideal location for ur lovenest? I've already bought mine in BP. FH and me afraid no gd place to stay if we don't grab cos we wanna stay in the West. Heehee...

Seems like not all people pick date for ROM. However, I hope to do so since I a bit supertious kind. hee hee

HI Babylove,
Welcome....
AS for the mixed comments in the bridal that u have booked..very normal...cos it's never possible to have 100% happy/pleased customer. I felt the most impt thing is to communicate with ur coordintor what u want...so that she/he can deliver what u want. I'm sure when u signed up with them, there must be lots of plus points that made u signed up with them rite...so don't worry..should be ok. Take care!

Hi bubbles,
U not going for Hyatt ar? Thot u said u want to go? Pls let me or CC2 know asap if u are going. If u are not, then have to get someone else to go instead.Sms me ar!!!

Hi Sweetcorn,
My block is 469. Got it during the WIS in Sept. How about u? U mean u have not got an ROM date? Have u got ur keys? Keep me updated. We're going to be neighbors.
Me and my FH also scared no nice place to stay, so we went to queue overnight in BP last Sept! Did u also do that?

Hi Blusher
Thanks for the encouragement.

Hey Blusher you blur la, I post that msg before you sms me about the extra tix! Yes I am still going, now my FH says he doesn't mind attending the show too... so idiotic! But told him too bad, no more extra tix for him!

hi all 2004 brides,
I am a 2004 bride too... can i join in this thread too?

chloewinkie

hi babylove,
My wedding bells should be ringing around June to Sep timeframe 2004 of course... now just thinking whether would three be any difference to hold the wedding on Friday, sat or sunday? I am actually looking at sunday...Any advice?

Hi babylove,
to add on what about yours? when's your big day? what have you plan so far?

Hi Chloewinkie,
I just got my wedding package. ROM will be Jan03. But have not decided on my customary date. Probably late 2003 or Jan 2004.

wow...ur big day is in 2004. So u still have lots of time to look around. Have u got ur house?

hi baby love,
where did you get your wedding package from?and your dinner?
For my house most prob taking over my parents' coz they would be shifting to another location. I will then do renovations for it. at the same time, would still get another resale and rent it out to collect $$

what about yours??

Hi Chloewinkie,
I got my package from In Wedding Collection in Tanjong Pagar (see the Christian Creation Thread).
As for my dinner, I've not started to really look around. But most prob will narrow down to hotels or Suntec.
Wow...u're taking over ur parents' house. This means that u get to save $$.