(2004) Brides of year 2004

jan

silver: haha.. same as me, chinese very bad!! my hubby's one is worse!! but lucky simple words still can... hahaaa....

for chijmes, u can try www.chijmes.com.sg ... i believe, for this, u gotta pay the rental maybe ard $4k and on top of that the buffet prices, they have a caterer called Kriston catering, think prices could be quite reasonable, unless u want the hotel catering, then shld be more ex!

sagi

silver,
sorry ahh havent forwarded you the email yet, wld forward to you later....pai seh pai seh..
68++ for GCW pkg wld add up to abt $80 like that....similar to the oriental one....what the pkg entails leh? can you email me too?? thanks thanks

i have another hotel also got email me their pkg, but theirs not outdoor leh....but i can also email you to have a look at their menu and pxs so that you have an inkling and can compare compare lor...
hmmm...my bf's uncle wedding ahh, not bad lor...but i shld stress that theirs is really a simple and quite casual affair...there is no march in even...

forest,
oh...i see....thanks! actually i got flip thru bridal mags even got write down a list of boutiques but yesterday forgot to bring along....blur blur...

cin,
must make appt one is it? i see how... heehee
enjoy ur gowns beoing! kekeke

cyn

silver, i've emailed to you. most hotel buffet pricing is the same as their banquet. relatives wil think it's cheaper & give cheaper angbao. unless u dun mind la. u can try hyatt garden too. rental abt $3k–5k. for outdoor banquet, make sure the hotel provides a backup room in case it rain. tat's where the rental goes.

forest, i met up with lynn. friendly & pro too. their grand ballroom has pillars & low ceiling rite? hyatt garden rental for solemnisation is $1000. for banquet is $3k (jan-aug or sept) & $5k (sept or oct – dec).
raffles hotel solmnisation is abt $1800. not sure wat's included..
sheena also ur coordinator.. she's friendly rite. when's ur wedding huh? where else did you go? during my hotel shopping, i only went to gcw, hyatt, hilton, merchant court.

pink

wendylee
I live in the west, so both Yishun and tampines GHA are 3 million miles away... Actually I think i sort of narrowed down to Divine/Flamingo/ or even Bridal Veil-but scared of that Michelle Huimin person.
Forest
My budget ah...hmmm, around $700-900. Ang bao market rate is about $80, so keeping to that range can roughly even out.

wendylee

NGPAULINE: Now sourcing for ROM 1st... still head BIG! HAHA

CIN: Yesh lor... didnt read through properly cos Im taking class at PSB ma then happen to passby there and always neva take notice the bridal shop name until I came this forum then ystd go see whats the name and today read up the thread lor. So what is it actually happen ah?

PINK: Hi, who's Michelle Huimin? Y scare ah?

silver

Thanks forest.

Sagi,
I ve received your emails. Thanks! Ve forwarded you the buffet also.

Cin,
Received yours too. Err.. the pic is for GCW rite? Too many until confused hehe. Hey thanks! I ve check out with Hyatt but their max for garden if I did not remember wrongly is 140pax only. I should ve around 180-200 guests so out lor.

Btw, I ve quotation for Marriot, Grand Plaza and Carlton Hotel. Anyone interested?

forest

sagi,
no problem lah.. jus make appt for ur next bridal shopping lor... some bridals allows trying of gowns... so, u can try n c if u like the designs or not... rem to update us okies...

cin_p,
oic.. actually, each individual ballrm no pillars.. but if u wanna combine the three.. then, there wld b side pillars lor... the ceiling height i think is alrite.. but def not as high as GCW...

wah.. garden rental is sooo exp hor!! hmmm...

sheena is very prompt in her replies... at least better impression of her than those who jus stand arnd during the wedding show...

me now only went to hyatt n gcw.. will do more shopping later in the yr...
heard tt hilton is very old... is tt true?

pink,
ur budget is good wat... can consider shangri-la, conrad, raffles the plaza??? sorry, i've not done a comprehensive research on hotels yet.. only got info on GCW, hyatt, MC, raffles, shangri-la, raffles the plaza, marriott. think some oldies here can give even more suggestions...

wendylee,
michelle huimin is bridal veil's designer lor.. she looks kinda intimidating.. she's featured in this season's bridal mags... go check it out!!

forest

hi silver,

no problem!

btw, jus a note.. grand plaza food quality not up to standard leh... went to j&c bridal show.. n the food served is really ..........

cyn

wendylee
apparently their photography standard is not as good as the sample they displayed. their photos are very plain. no setting. it’s like finding a nice place then sit & shoot. according the others, the touch up is terrible. tat’s why some of us getting worried. the so called “boss” doesnt deliver wat she suggested. jus feel tat i’m not getting the service tat i wan.

silver, max 140 for hyatt garden?! cant be leh.. i think is abt 280 pax.. buffet is good when you wan to roam around, catching up with ur guests. when i went to peek at the garden’s setting, the couple actually gave fan as wedding favours. quite considerate due to the weather.

silver

forest,
Thanks for your feedback. Will take note. Been to one of the wedding but there was at least 2-3yrs back when they are newly opened. During then, food and service pretty gd.

Cin,
I just called Hyatt again - the max is 240 and they charging $82.80 nett and there is a back up charge of $2k. Waiting for them to email me.

ngpauline

hi pink
can understand your fear for Michelle Hui Minmin
She looks rather fierce hahaa but looks can be deceiving

cyn

silver, you very efficient leh.. you not working? max only 240... remember tat time is abt 280. $82.80 weekend rate? go make an appointment for a view lah..

silver

cin,
My working hrs quite flexible but irregular. Anyway, my working appt postponed to evening so kinda free now
Actually compare poolside and garden, my bf prefers poolside so did not make appt yet.

Anyway, I found out that Pan Pacific and Amara ve poolside package too and can take up to 200pax. There is a upcoming poolside wedding in Amara this fri so will be dropping by to take a look. As for Pan Pacific, they are going to renov their poolside so according to the banquet if I am having it in Jul 04, will be ready by then.

wendylee

SILVER: Me also want all the quotes from Carlton and Grand Plaza! Thanks! Friday got wedding show at Arama Hotel? How come its on Friday?

CIN_P: Really ah.... yesh lor... read up their thread too, and Im worried too. Especially their makeup and hairstyling.. scared cant hit my standards... how ar? But friend taking photos oso not that pro ma... mmmMmmm

ivory

wah lao.. u gals very eh sai leh.. so siow on these few days...

hi sagi

me last nite oso tell my bf, dun think our ROM date is less than 1 week away he can get away without a proposal. no touching proposal till I cry, dun expect me to turn up on ROM day itself
so the whole of last nite he kept chanting “Uh oh.. trouble big big liao…”

hi silver

oh I see.. so ur future MIL not pantang lah
lucky lucky else really will have problem choosing date liao

hi yan

welcome welcome

well… so much talk abt hotel shopping… I haven’t done any yet :p

tonite im going to see my ROM goen, hope it turns out fine
*fingers crossed*

lin

cin_p,
rental fee of $1000 including of setting up of chairs or not? Or just the place alone.. is that price grand hyatt or raffles hotel? hmm.. if it's just alone, that's too steep for me.

cyn

silver, pan pac shd be a good choice too. they give a pair of bears as wedding favors.

wendylee, you interested in UBS? actually according to the others, their makeup is quite good. anyway, i'm not using their makeup artist. precisely, i feel their photography is not up to standard. & they're making excuse like we din order more photos so they're restricted to the number of exposures. i think it's all bullshit lor.

antares

I think am totally lost ^_^;;

so many postings.
plus I din come to this thread for a few days...
really lost liao..:p

hi Ivory,
u die die want to have proposal ah?..
even threaten him... think he very stress liao..:pP
hope u find a lovely rom gown tonite..

hi Pink,
why are u fear of Michelle Huimin leh?
Is she that scary?

wondering if there is anywhere that I can get a bridesmaid dress for around $100? Ehh.. Am I asking for the impossible...:p
I think last time got quite a few girls suggest Daniel Yam to me. How much does a gown from Daniel Yam usually cost?

Happy Labour Day!!..

silver

wendylee,
I will email you Carlton, Grand Plaza, Orential, Mariott and Amara quotation. Hope will not jam up for mailbox
Can I ve your email again?

Amara not having wedding show lah. There will be a poolside wedding going on this Fri so I am going to take a look at their decor.

Ivory,
Like that also can huh hahaha Well, my future MIL yet to get back to me re the date so dunno yet lor. I was chatting with my bf's sis and she was commenting that Chinese prefers not to ve it in the middle of the yr as they believe dunno wat 'bang' (half yr) means will separate.... Hmm...

Oh I finally managed to get person fm OCC. I find that she is not as helpful as GCW and Raffles Marina. Anyway there will be a Tee Garden wedding going on this Sat at OCC, may drop by if I ve the time. Anyone interested in the place can drop by to take a look at their decor.

ivory

hi antares

finalli seeing u in here again
me oso very lost for the past few days.. our frens here tok too fast liao
hahaha...

ya.. die die oso must have 1. who asked him to promise will propose when last time i asked if im going to get any proposal or not

hi silver

yeap, datz wat my bf say too.. they either try to choose date between Ching Ming Jie and Lunar 5th month or after Lunar 8th month.. dunno why..

antares

hi Ivory,
ya lor. They talk very fast..hee..:p
I think also got quite a lot of newcomers recently, so I got to slowly slowly get to know everyone..

I think your bf must be real panic, scared u won't turn up on the actual day..:p Less than 1 week from your ROM date, are you excited or not? heee..:p Now must relax and stay happy and cheerful so that day will be mei3 mei3..

cyn

lin, it's hyatt price. yup inclusive of table & chairs..

ivory, how's ur ROM preparation? less than a week leh.. excited bo? how? if he really dun propose, u sure u wont turn up arh? ;P

cyn

antares, UBS = universal bridal studio. tat's my bridal shop. definitely not USB lah.. haha.. $100 for bride maid dress quite ok arh... can try daniel yam, arthur yen.. look ard tangs or monsoons at metro... shd be able to find something.

ladies, happy holiday.. have fun & rest well.

sagi

silver,
i want all the quotations too.....pls pls email me! thanks xie xie! kekeke....siao liao

u can email to [email protected] instead
cos i scared the hotmail one wld flood.....heeheee
if u got anything abt pan pacific, can email me also??
wah....u really very efficient leh....think call them up response much faster hor....but no choice, in office not convenient to call...so can only email.....kekeke (eating snake) call too obvious liao, pp near my cubicle can hear..

ivory,
wah....ur bf must be very kan jiong now....kekekee.. he must be sweating liao...

forest,
no prob...wld update u all on my boutiques hunting...

antares,
hi hi i m one of the newbies here....these few days siao on this forum cos no mood work....hahaha.... must buck up soon...

silver

sagi,
Your yahoo email also full leh. Err let me know which one you did not receive. I ve quotation for Mariott, Orential, Amara, Pan Pac, Marina Mandarin, Grand Plaza n Calton.

Ya I think call faster. Nan de today free so might as well call them up lor hehe

pink

Silver,
May I have quote from Marriot,Oriental and pan pac? [email protected]

Forest,
dun think can leh, Shangrila is very ex right? my budget is nett, must include all the taxes. Raffles the plaza cannot. Long story. So happened we bought a flat directly opp their block, so happened we got the same interior designer, so happened we are ROMing on the same date. They held their dinner there, so don't want to end up same again...

Wendylee,ngpauline, antares
Heard from some that michelle got those arty temperament. Got mood, quite arrogant. Sometimes look down on pple whom she thinks are not so rich. I have no first hand experience. But I suppose, she will be very frank and tell you straight in the face if you are too fat/round/skinny to wear certain things. Also heard many good things about her la. Maybe I'm scared that the truth may hurt. anyway, don't mind me...

ngpauline

hmm... not sure about michelle temper though. Her face quite stern, yah?
Wat is bridal veil package? Anyone from the thread from Bridal Veil?

antares

hi cin_p,
really ah?.. I am able to get a bridesmaid dress @ around $100? I really tot I need to spend $100+++... So that means i dun really have to burn a very big hole in my pocket..:p

hi sagi ,
welcome. Cos' recently the thread moves very very fast and sometimes can't remember who are the newcomers..hee..think age catching liao..
Anyway, I am also quite new to this thread lah. Can't really remember when is the 1st time that I first posted my msg. Maybe 2mth ago?..

hi pink,
michelle sounds scary leh..:p
I dun think i will like to engage bridal veil if she is really like that. But anyway, dun think I can afford lah..:pP

mimosa

I'm new to this thread. I hope I'm at the right thread for the right purpose. I'm getting married next year too. Felt so lost now. The preparations really very tedious. Got quotations from a number of hotels, and up till now, have not booked yet. I'm considering Hyatt and Sheraton. Anyone has any dining experiences at these 2? The bridal gowns even worse. Dunno where to start with. I find quite a number of bridal shops like to hard sell their products. Whenever we walked past a shop or just browsing the album outside the shop, they would asked us to go inside to discuss and expect us to give a reply straight after. Had experienced that with WL. Very scary...

lin

hi mimosa,
welcome
we can share ideas.
My cousin had her wedding dinner at Hyatt. Hmm, looks very grand and big. But the place a bit darklah. Overall, still ok.

silver

Hi Mimosa,
Welcome! I am pretty new here too. Hmm.. 1 week+ old
Attended wedding at Hyatt last nite. If I did not remember wrongly, they just renovated not long rite? So ballroom still pretty new. Overall not bad.

Lin,
How ve you been? Decided on the venue?

silver

I ve just called up a no of hotels to ask for quotation. Received quite a few so waiting for the rest so that can do the shortlisting. I see the quotations also blur. Hey wat do you gals take note of btw the different quotes huh? Of course beside pricing, venue n ??

Couldn't get the person fm Chijmes but wrote them a email. Waiting for their reply. Btw I am also checking wif Art Musium & Fort Canning
Anyone attended weddings there? Any comments?

Jan,
I visited the website but I think it says more abt the day itself dan whether issit suitable to get married rite? Or perhaps I dun fully understand hehe

Btw, my bf's sis was telling me that Chinese prefers not to ve their wedding in the mid of the yr cos they 'believed' that dunno what 'bang' means separation. Well I told her I not that pan tan lah. Just wondering you gals come across this b4?

silver

angelbb

Halo!! Wah seh, can only just manage to skim thru the messages... neva open this thread for 1-2 days only, so many msgs liao..
Must work hard to catch up a bit, wait lost
Hahaha!

Hi Mimosa! Welcome to the thread! I also very sick of having those hard sell people... so tiring one, somemore they are so engrossed to sell you the packages and tell you their selling points above other competitors, that they cannot seem to listen to what you have in mind. Sigh... me have decided to go gown shopping either alone or with girlfriends liao. Cannot let my laogong go, cos like that right from the time I step into their shops, they know I wont sign ANYTHING on that day, so they will be less pushy. Anyway my FH also not very fussy lah, he rather not go, cos he say all the pacakges sound moreor less the same, just whether I like the workmanship of the gown, so he leave that to me.
I'll just shortlist down to him maybe like 3 shops, so he can go take a look then.

Hi Ivory,
ROM soon!!
So, excited or not? Bet your FH must be very kan jiong now... wah seh, you also very daring leh, threaten him you wont turn up w/o a proposal... Hahaha! Think he must be very nervous now....

Hi antares,
Great Singapore Sale coming sooooon! On 24May. So maybe you wanna check out the gowns at CK tang, or Daniel Yam during this time? I also thinking of checking them out leh, but dun know whether good idea to buy the gowns now... is it very cheesy if I buy them now? Cos my wedding in April, wait keep until "seh kor"... I dun think my bridemaids will be very happy leh, like cheapskate like that...

Thot maybe Christmas sale or post Chinese New Year sale will also be good times to buy their gowns. Sure have sales one right? What you all think?

Too many msgs to read properly, heehee! So anyone going to Ted Wu today? Thot I saw someone say that he having sale these few days ah?!?

jan

Hi gals!!

silver,yes i've heard about not having wedding in mid year, they're referring to the lunar 6th month... but if both ur / ur bf's parents are ok, think it isnt so important..

The website did state whether the day is good for marriage, and what it chong on that day leh...
Let me check for u.. urs is 18th jul rite?.........
Ok, it chong dragon and the day is good for marriage! But actually since u're not pan tang, so dun worry too much abt all these...

And regarding the comparing the packages, for me, i'll look at how much beer they offer, any wine cockage, any food tasting...

mimosa

Lin, Silver and AngelBB,

Thanks for welcoming me on board. Mimosa also feels that Hyatt a bit dark, and we got 40 tables so got to open up the other adjourning rooms to open up the grand ballroom, therefore would have a few big pillars inevitably. We liaised with Anthony initially but he left Hyatt already. Also the food at Hyatt we do not know good or not.

AngelBB,
U got how many bridesmaids? I have only 1, and she wants me to get her those MTM ones in the bridal shop. That's gonna cost a lot, and I dun think it's within my budget. I thot of getting OTR evening dress from Daniel Yam, but my bridesmaid is on the bigger side, dunno got her size or not. Very vexed....

Silver and Lin,

Do u find the food at Hyatt nice? Cannot try their food coz no restaurant there.

wendylee

OKie... slowly ONE by ONE...

MIMOSA: Hello, welcome welcome!!! Yesh yesh, agreed with you... as long you caught flipping their album... you will be asked to sit in and view their presentation... and that will take at least 1hr+! My bf and I once weekly went for the exhibition... then always can not leave out until many of times its about closing time... and we excused that meeting friends... so gota leave. So mayb you can quickly fliped through their albums liao then when they approached you, you just skipped off... or just reply them you signed up package liao... Heee

SILVER: Hi, have recieved but havent read through... will go through them tmrw when I have dl them into my files for easy referencing... and let you know later. THANKS!

GALS: Have you enjoyed/relaxed yourself this LABOUR DAY? Gosh... Im so sleepy now... so tired!!!!

lin

mimosa,
The food is ok.
Quite nicelah. But raffles the plaza seems nicer maybe because of the huge prawns...

silver

Hi Jan,

Hey thanks! Well my dad won't be a problem but I not sure abt my bf's mum.

I just realised that very few hotels/clubs offer free flow of beer. In fact even complimentary of 20-30L also a few oni. Did you gals managed to neg for that? As I am looking at buffet, most of them don't even give complimentary at all

Btw, anyone been to Fort Canning or Chijmes for wedding? Any comments/feedback?

silver

mimosa,
Err.. can't really remember leh sorry

wendylee,
I just email you the quote for M Hotel.

Gals, like to check with you all what are the things we should look at when comparing the diff quotes? I see until also blur

lin

silver,
i'm fine.
just a bit stress lately. I've narrowed down to rm, occ and alkaff. will be waiting for your feed back on alkaff.

jul_04

Hi silver,

I only got 30L of beer for 30 tables, I think that's quite std. If you go for the wedding show by the hotels, they actually give you better perks, like free flow of beer, upgrade wedding favours, etc. But that means you take the risk of not having the date that you want. If the date is more impt to you, I suggest you book quickly coz Sporeans are quite kiasu (like me!) But if you're not having the traditional dinner, but a lunch buffet, you may prob not get the perks at all.

I've not been to any outdoor weddings, but my colleague told me that it's really hot. He attended his cousin's wedding at Alkaff Mansion. Another colleague also said that Chijmes is very nice.

Hi Jan,

I also heard that lunar 6th mth is not good for marriage. Something abt in the middle of yr = in the middle of nowhere, that kind of thing. Actually I wanted to consider Mandarin Hotel, but my bf didn't like it. It's actually nothing to do w/ the hotel, but someone he didn't like had their wedding there. *haha* Didn't know guys can be so petty!

jan

Hi Jul04,

Yup, guys can be quite picky and fussy too!! haha...
Well, the reason why we chose mandarin was that their package was simply good, very comprehensive, with free flow beer, no wine cockage, so it was quite hard to resist!! haha..
But minus point will be the pillars in the ballroom...

We were actually choosing between mandarin and hyatt. Hyatt decor is nice, but price is $100 more, so we tot that now economy so bad, better think of ways to cut costs!!

Well, havent actually seen the actual set up at mandarin, but heard it's not too bad lah, hopefully it's true!! u gals attended any weddings there before??

jul_04

Hi Jan,

I went for a wedding in Mandarin last yr in Jul. So coincidental right! Anyway, you're right abt the pillars, but other than that, everything looked very well-arranged. The flowers & ice carvings were nice. There's a reception area inside the ballroom, at the back. So we didn't have to share reception space w/ other pple. It's just that that wedding had 40+ tables, so very cramped.

We also ruled out Hyatt cause it was too ex! It was like $868+++ tight? Out of my budget already

jan

Jul04,

I'll be taking the smaller ballroom coz mine will be ard 22 tables, so i guess will be the one directly opposite the ballroom u went last year...

Hyatt is $868nett (35 tables & above) not with the plus... but for 25 - 35 it's $888nett..

I also check out equinox, but.... price is over a thousand!!! too bad!!!