(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
hi yvonne,

Can i view the pix too..? can email me at [email protected] Thanks!

Sorry gals...can't join in the fun yesterday...cos got company's motivation course at night..sigh..so tired after the course...so went hm and zz...

hi kippy

u r welcome. all of us are brides here and can understand the stress all brides go thru.

the recommended angpow is $28 but we gave $88 or $100. i cannot exactly recall.

thx gals, appreciate your comments!

chubbyrain - i'm probably gonna go for mtm for wg and eg (will probably be more steep) cos i already have something in mind and i'm too thin to fit into the std gowns...so i'm not so concern abt the otr gowns at u bridal..

kkwai...
ya lor... my current sup dun understand n oso asked me is my brain got problem? need to go n see specialist? but for me i oni get headaches n migraines if i work... so that means me the tai tai ming(4) cannot work one.. so my hubby better buck up n earn more bucks so he wun keep hearing me complain of migraines every 2-3 days

its good to get a 2nd opinion, at least u noe thats nothing wrong with u mah... migraine no cure one.. oni cure is less stress n more rest.. but how to when we are working??

feroy...
anything not happy u just scream here loud.. sure many gals will run to ur rescue

blurq...
i think Spore really too small lioa lah... everywhere we go we see our past acquaintances...

lynn...
hahaha... u still in touch with the other NP gals? u tell them they oso not believe lah... imagine.. putting my story with my hubby's face? they sure laugh to death :p

1 thing bad abt my hubby is he got mega memory when it comes to gals... hai... just that he dun remember the names oni....

oi... u think u the oni one got big arms due to pumping ah? we quite lenient to u gals liao lor... keep protecting u gals... u still remember ur PTI Xiang Sir? he's the torturing one leh... not us madams hor...

gals,
im feeling soooo sian now... my flu is back!!! so angry leh.. i was on the way to recovering.. n now, its back with a vengeance!!!! arrrggghh.. i hate my nose!!!

hi yvonne,
pls email me at [email protected] tks tks!!

hi feroy,
yes! tt's the way to go.. dun dwell on these unhappiness too long... not good for the mind n soul! n yes, do think of ur hubby (which will def bring a smile to the face
), and the upcoming wedding!!! how sweet n nice rite!!!

hi babysheep,
read tt ur job is also very demanding... do take care ya!!!!

hi ivory,
hee heee... yup.. very easy for us to meet up!!
will date u ah...

i agreet with lynn, this has got to be the most happening thread
only away for 2 and a half hrs and i can't catch up with the postings
but it's a good thing, shows that we're closely knit
i'll try and reply everyone, hope i don't leave out anybody

hi babysheep
yes, u're definitely working in a slave house but as lynn said previously, bear with it for a while more and u can ask them to kiss ur a** when u move on

hi mindblowerz
no worries, glad to be of hlep
actually, how skinny are u? I'm also considered on the skinny side altho have managed to put on weight in recent years, getting old lah
i used to think like u, only wanted MTM gowns but when i saw the OTR gowns from my BS and the other BS i went to, they were really lovely. U may want to check out U Bridal's OTR gowns before deciding? If u want $3k, my BS also has $3k. u don't, u don't necessarily have to stick with U bridal

hi paulyn
don't worry,u have ample time to lose weight and tone up ur arms, just stick to a healthy diet and don't stop exercising

ivory
good to see u BIA (back in action) here
thanks for the make up advice, will bear that in mind

chubbyrain
welcome, u'll enjoy urself in this thread

blurq
is it? just get them from the photo developing shops? ok, will check them out, thanks
my friend told me to try peninsular plaza cos there're a lot of camera shops there

hi lynn
good to hear that ur situation isn't as bad as feroy or babysheep

hi blurry
have emailed the pix to u

hi feroy
no worries, u can talk to me anytime u need help, will try my best

hi forest, take care of urself ok? I'll email the sources to u later today, have to finish up my newsletter today, need to send it out before 4.30, so, rushing now hee hee

Hi Forest,

Drink more honey and lime water.. helps. and use Paseo tissue, that's the softest of all..

Lynn,

Me also think so.. Everytime I work, tend to get the headaches.. maybe senstive to work.. got "head allegies" I am counting on hubby too to retire early...

Hi ladies!
I'm back at work...like oceans, have not gone for honeymoon yet.
Pageup, thanks for your maldives photos.. really really nice. Anyone knows anywhere like that but nearer like in Malaysia or Thailand?
Poshies, sorry to hear about it, if you've already settled the bill, then hotel may not do much. Only thing is to warn others lor.
Collected all my photos already, will put onto website and share.. hubby still doing it.
wedding not perfect lah.. got minor hiccups like forgot to take pics with some close frens who left early, walked too fast during march-in.. hehehe.
But really really loved every bit of the wedding.
Thumbs up for hotel Intercontinental, they are very flexible and very fast.
Secret Garden did a fine job with my car and handbouquet.
Hilarion Goh did my actual day photography.. fantastic!!

now can... must use jpg not bitmap lah...
i LOVE my handbouquet!!! it's very light pink tulips with pink ranunculus (both seasonal), some orchids, freesia and other fillers. also has a crown of ivy below.
Kudos to Secret Garden!

Hi ivory
Yes, remember liting n shuyun? still meet them quite regularly.
guys like tt one, radar very gd one and very selective memory, only remember wat they want only. Close two eyes lah.

Ya, remember Xiang sir, wa.. he's quiet quiet type but stamina super and he expected all of us to be like him.. Will think back at times and miss those camping time.

hi yvonne, ya quite lucky, now keep fingers cross that new FC will be coming in soon.

Hi kk, migraine not small matters, if necessary, it's better to take medication and control it. I know of fren who has very serious type and need medication till he's ok, doc say could be for rest of his life. Must learn to de-stress and take things easy. take care.

I couldn't count on hubby to retire, the hse need both income, not forgetting if next time got bb. today news mentioned abt 6 mth maternity leave. Not workable lah, if i dare to take, i will be 'asked' to be full-time mother by co. sometimes it's not just abt govt bearing the cost,it's not gd for us to be out of 'sight' from bosses for too long. wait they forget me is still on payroll. :P

hi yvonne,
wat photos r they tokkin abt?
can i c them too?
thxs..

hi mindblowerz,
they offered me mtm wg n eg at same price as otr.
must bargain! tink they will give in.. good luck

wooh, i dun tink i can reply everyone, my "gung fu" not so good yet..

tis thread really super active, juz abt 2 hrs so many postings..

envy those on the skinny side.. i m the chubby type as my nick implies.. i always tell my mum i breathe also will put on weight wan:P

i m those type tt gain weight super fast but lost super slow.. sigh.. so now watchin my diet.. n goin for aerobics..

anyway, will stop my nonsense now..
take care everyone!

Me currently taking a hard-boiled egg, cherry tomatoes and a fruit for three meals daily and nothing else. Advised by my friend tat will be able to lose abt 1kg per day taking this light meals. Me had been taking tis light meal for 3 days liao and found myself losing another kg recently. Though it may be really hungry at times but is enduring it, getting used to it liao... try to take fruits whenever i'm hungry. You gals can try it if you want but must be determine as it's quite difficult in the beginning.

Hi eternity,
qian that we are living so nearby and AD the same oso, AD got to look out if there's another bridal car around sengkang oso(heehee). Me staying at Rivervale Drive (near to the Rivervale Plaza). Think another 3 weeks and my house will be done liao. Then i can concentrate on my Bridal after that as first appointment is in Apr.

wow so hot here...i missed much

mindblowerz, i decided on otr cuz i had a few friends not happy with the final result of either WG or EG... oso i am a bit lazy... see a design i like then jus stick with it...

hey yvonne & lynn ... u think now is march i will be able to tone up in time by then ????? actuly i got confident....onli in losing parts of my body but not my arms lor .....

Hi Amethyst,

Wow.. that is a lovely bouquet.
If I remember correctly, you also have very pretty and unique flowers for your PS?

Yup, I saw some of Hilarion's work posted by other girls in the forum. He is good. We did considered him but his charge is beyond our budget.

I think there are many nice resorts in thailand. Like Phi Phi island? Perhaps Hua Hin or Krabi??

hi yvonne,
no hurry.. jus email me at ur convenience... tks!!!!

hi kkwai,
ya, i will.. but for this 1 mth or so.. dunno wats wrong leh.. this is my 3rd flu liao leh!!! really very fedup now!
but dun ve paseo tissue for now... kekeke...

damn jialat... was told tt supplements can b heaty.. so i stopped taking vit c supplements.. cos my sore throat jus refuses to go away for weeks... then end up 3rd flu within a mth... aiyo... really sian ah!!!

u also take care.. try to rest more.. n dun think too much.. also avoid chocolates.. ve been told by a doc tt chocs r no good for migraines...

Its been awhile since i popped by.. hope everyone is fine! I have yet to choose my gown.. been busy with the reno.. but thank goodness, it will be over soon.. moving in next week!

name - date - venue - BS - 1st fitting - PS date - our home
lala - 16 sept - Oriental - Divine Couture - July - Sembawang
mandy - 18 sept - Noble House- Yvonne Creative
eternity - 19 sept - Laguna Country Club - Camellia Hatue Couture - March - May - Seng Kang
lydia81 - 19 sept - Le Meridien - Thomson Wedding Design - Seng Kang
dae - 19 sept - Hyatt - ??
skylar - 21 sept - Plaza Hotel - White Link - SengKang
gerlynn - 23 sept - Hyatt - Camellia Haute Couture
annie - 23 sept - Furama - Flamingo Bridal - Mar - Jun - Tiong Bahru
dabee - 23 sept - Century Roxy - Seven Heaven Bridal
gintonic - 23 sept - Hyatt - Yvonne Creative
marilyn - 25 sept - Peninsula Hotel -Santiago
yshu - 25 sept - Rasa Sentosa - Dang
ralphine - 26 sept - Sheraton Towers - Yvonne Creative - SengKang
kc sunshine - 26 sept - Peninsula Hotel - White Link
kokopooh - 28 sept - Sheraton Towers - Bridal Veil - first appt - feb / ps - jul
niv - 28 sept - ROM only

hmmm i notice so many people watching their weight..since I got engaged, i kinda keep wanting to eat...haha dunno how, when is a good time to start diet... i cannot resist chocs and chips.

Talking about Guo Da Li.. anyone can advise me as well? My hubby is a Hainanese and I'm a Cantonese. As my PIL don't really know about all these customs.. what should be done? Thanks!!!

Harrows everyones!!!

Now got some spare minutes to come in tok tok, since the mgr is reviewing my work. Thanks ladies for your concern, I really appreciate it and am very touched.

I agree with lynn. When it comes to bosses, one ear in one ear out. Nowadays it bounces back. doesn't even have the chance to go in one ear. Haha =) And no, I am not about to cancel my leave. Why should I? We must learn to respect and protect ourselves, if not the company walk all over us.

C0co,

Thanks once again for being our ever cheerful outings coordinator!

Lynn,

of course Oct brides are on. We r already planning for next meeting in 2 weeks' time!!

Ivory, blurq,

Was wonderful meeting you for the first time last night, tho I had to go off pretty soon.

Ivory, heard you got migraine, I oso. Take after my mom, who gets migraine once every 2 week! U must take care hor... try to get enough sleep. If required, then just heck the slavehouse. Health more important.

Blurq, small world. Think a bit harder then maybe u can remember who my hubby is??? Hehe.

blurq, lynn invory and me all from NPCC in secondary sch. so cool. We can form SB NPCC alumni?

kkwai,

Thanks for the prayers. I really appreciate it.

And to allthe beautiful brides out there.... I am glad to know u as friends!!!

Hi Forest,

Maybe it due to stress or weather.
I had a bad flu last Nov. Lasted one month.. no medicine helps.. Just have to wait for it to go away.. Got to be patient.

Can see your friend 's pic. Please PM me..

lydia,

you haf a lot of determination leh... think veri difficult for me to go into such diet... moreover my mum sure not going to be happy abt such "harsh" diet plans... u knoe mum are always so concern about our health....

anyway, me dun intend to lose a lot lah... just thinking of trimming down a bit...

oh u stay ard Riverdale, so is it new flat? thought the flats there have been around for a while already....

hmmmm, i most likely won't be passing by Riverdale area coz i will be coming by Yio Chu Kang road.... let's see, maybe we have affinity to meet... heeehee...

thanks pageup... ya, my PS was pink peonies. i'm nuts about flowers and Secret Garden is beyond my expectations!

thanks for the suggestion, will ask hubby to do research. we're both not divers nor into water sports. just want to laze around, bask in the sun and soak in the water.

People always ask me 'you sure? with the bird flu.." when i mention i want to go thailand leh.

Hilarion takes very very good photos and he's super nice to work with. All our friends love him!

hi gals....
i'm back again, can c alot alot of new members.welcome.... how've u gals being?

hi oraia....
sori 4 late reply, my planner quoted rsvp mgt & wedding day co-ordinating 4 ard $900.

hi brambles....
u so fast start lkg out 4 contractor liao? btw, hve u finalise d gown design? sori if i back-dated. hee... no x 2 go thru d previous con.

hi piglets....
nervous 4 ur PS dis coming fri? hve manage 2 slim down anot?

Chubbyrain- how much did they offer you for mtm wg & eg??

Yvonne - i'm quite skinny, ard 45kg, 152cm + flat chested...hee...like that how to find??? How skinny are u sweets?

all gals - how much does a comprehensive package with mtm wg & eg usually cost (inc 26 15R fotos)??

Hi mindblowerz,

I cant rem how much, the original package was OTR, then i insisted on MTM, then they say they will let me hv MTM at same price.
They even throw in suits for my dad, groom's dad, bridal car.. but too pushy lor.. the lady who served me was called helen, auntie auntie wan..

After she tokked, her mgr tokked to us too.. Kept asking us wat else we need and they kept tokkin n tokkin, we wan to go out n consider also cannot.. after dunno how long then we escaped :P

So i din take it up.. i hate such high pressure sales tactics..

scary experience.. tts y i advise pple not to go to such taiwanese style BS.

But then again, depends on luck, some pple had good experience wif those BS..

Hi babysheep22,

I was also from NPCC!!

I m still very close to some of my NPCC frens, in fact, they will b my jiemeis ..

To all the oct04 brides,
hope I can join u gals for ur next meeting if u all dun mind..

Hi eternity,
my mum wasn't happy abt my diet meal oso but manage to persuade her that the fruits contain a lot of vitamins and i'm still taking three meals daily then she allow me to take the diet meal... Me nowadays took a lot of fruits to fill my stomach. Intend to lose abt 3kg onli. Mine is a new flat and it's Walk-In-Selection, ya the flat at rivervale is abt three years old liao. But becoz it's jus opp my mum's house so i decide to buy it.

hi chubbyrain, i spoke with jasmine....lor sor but she's very nice and seemed pretty honest...

i can't stand too cheesy taiwanese styles too cos my hubby is a downrite ACS "banana"! but although they speak mandarin, their gowns are quite modern and that's all that matters to me...

i will probably meet up with the designer first b4 deciding..the whole world may be taiwanese style but the designer must be in sync with me when it comes to taste...

Hello ladies!

Wow! The thread active active lei... too much to follow liao...

KK and forest, u take care lei! Dun over work...

Babysheep, I still owe u the wedding website thingy right? sorry has been busy! Do u know Dreamweaver? I use that for website creation. Can talk more over the email la.

Yvonne, moving hse how liao?

Welcome Chubbyrain (great to see u here too) and mindblowerz... Next time join in the gathering la. I also miss this time but will try best to make it

Forest…
Drink more water lor… bo bian one lah.. now is the flu season.. I oso kena during last 2 weeks… damn sianz oso…

Yvonne..
That’s becos tdy I off mah… now preparing to go for dance practice liao

Lynn…
Ya… still remember them… u all same batch n same size.. all so petite

Xiang sir crazy one… we never expect him to be the PTI oso… almost fainted every time he conducts PT

Chubbyrain…
Same same.. I oso the bah bah kind
everytime I think I drink water oso can get fat… give up liao lah…

Babysheep..
I think I run off earlier than u lah

Bo bian… if I really had migraine, whether my sup like it or not, I sure take MC n sleep it off.. else take medication oso no use… must sleep n take cold shower

Im still waiting for my hubby.. see when then I can hack the slave house lah

Wah… form NPCC alumni? To remind how chor lor we were ah?? Wait lynn can’t get me out of her mind.. sure say aiyo.. graduate liao still have to face Ivory ma’am

Mindblowerz…
every shop will have different pricing.. if u wan very comprehensive package with everything all thrown in n not so much hidden costs.. u can try asking those neighbourhood BS… some of them have very good standards.. comparable to those ‘branded’ BS

hi mindblowerz,
as long as the designer clicks wif u, doesnt matter which BS. maybe I was juz unlucky to meet an auntie n when i was there, gowns all not nice.. hee hee..
oops! cannot b mean, we will b aunties too someday :P

my hubby also from acs last time leh.. wat a coincidence..

i read the postings abt facials.. i hv never gone for facials b4, so dun dare to try leh..
heard fr my frens tt if never try b4 n skin okie type, should not try.. i very scared try already, nothing become got thing..

any advice or comments?

thxs;)

hi kkwai,
huh.. really ah!!! haiz... i guess so lor.. it cld b the weather lor..

hi rabbitwsk,
haiz... i nv over-work leh.... really puzzled...

hi mindblowerz, i went for local designer, my criteria is not pushy shop - package usually range 3388, 3888 - 4688. Quite comprehensive..
must be flexible too, so I can swop and add on minor stuff to suit my liking

ps - i think its nicer to be thin then big size..
wish can be like u

chubby rain - think facials wil usually make u break out a bit immediately after, but it should clear and u be pretty pretty after 2 days max.. u can always tell beautician not to press too much during your 1st few times..

Hi Lydia
u mean u eat the same things 3 times daily ah? wooohhh... strong willpower u hv, not sianz meh? Haiz.... for me, nowadays i only eat fruits for b'fast, then lunch only eat meat & vegs & dinner fruits again lor, hope to lose some kgs too!

Hi Eternity,
so u will take ur trial first before PS ah? i see, so will it be on ur 2nd fitting ah? looks like i will have to call them now.....

for those who had started on reno, any advise for us here?

And for the Guo Da Li, waa..lau... that really confused me out

Hey piglets,
have an early rest tmr nite,so u will appear fresh for ur PS on friday.
All dec brides,
anyone staying around Tiong Bahru area??

piglets....
dun wori, now seem 2 b d dry season. won't rain. we'l kip our finger cross 4 u oso. rem har... sleep early d previous 9. hee

jess....
halo, welcome 2 d grp. cfm ur date liao bei? btw, where's ur venue? hve decided?

Hi zenn,
Mine is in blk 185. I think your flat overlooks the sea right? Mine not leh.. HIkss.. The wind is quite strong if your house is facing the sea.

Girls,
Anyone has any recommendation on good and cheap make up artist? My budget is about $300 for morning and night. Is it too cheap? Cos really don't want to spend so much doing up. The gown already costs so much... Help!

Hi gals, really really cant follow... hehe... me not around computer for the whole day and can only check mail for a limited time at night ( using bro/sis computer)

Anyway, babysheep, u are welcome... hoping to organise another outing... one day we should have a bbq.. hehe... maybe near xmas this year... lets look forward... :p

anyway, ivory, u say u dun make up but how u know so much on make up... I know nuts about it.. hehe... will consult u the next time before my trial
Anyway, keeping my fingers crossed on your dreams of becoming tai tai. :p

by the way, anyone knows what happen to our exciting (excite)?

Yvonne, what pics ya... i kay poh... bridal pics? let me see them please?

Forest,hope ur flu leaves soon. They are real annoying... might be your environment. Offices are well known to carry viruses. My company secretary used to spray some disinfectant... dunno if it really works but it makes her feel better :p What about going for regular exercise and early nights? Sleep sleep sleep ur flu away...Anyway, which bridal are u with ya? Have not chosen one yet?

Feroy... r u in audit? I know it must be real xian to work and work and feel unappreciated... just feel free to talk ur heart out, at least u will feel better, especially when u cant talk to colleagues... next time meet us , then we will lend our listening ears...

Lynn, did u go for boxercise at all tonight? :p

Bebe, which local designer bridal are u with?

Blurry, hope u feel real motivated after ur seminar? hehe... remember to be more on, on your hotel, bridal etc... not much time left...

Mindblowerz, hope u can find the bridal that you can click with :p

chubbyrain, i think it should be ok to try facials, but must be really careful... try to get referrals and must highlight to the beauticians that u are a first timer, and to ask them to be more careful not to use strong products... :p

Paulyn, same thing here. Arms. Want to use a pair of scissors to cut it away. haha...

gals... see u tomorrow... its a really long posting... amazed by the my lor sor-ness... hehe...

Hihi...

Kippy,
Glad that David can make it on ur big day!

Kippy/Blue Angel,
Err.. I am also trying to find out wats the rite amount. Or shd we get him a gift?

Butterfly,
Nope mine does not overlooks the sea. Oh urs is blue color flats rite? I ve friends staying at 184...

Thank fifi and hayashi.. I remember to sleep early today....

Hi Jess wlcome to the thread.. Which hotel, bridal stop and where is yr love nest... Kindly fill in the list of december brides..

Hi skylar,
me took the same things 3 times daily, not sianz leh coz egg is my fav and you can choose different fruits for every meal then you won't get sick of the meal liao. Think will take tis meal for another one week, hopefully, can lose another 3kg than i'll be veri happy liao.
My house's reno is going on right now, do let me know wat info you need and i'll try to help you...

hi gals..
i am back oredi..thanx for all your concern..me now feeling better liao, but kinda of weak lor.me had food poisoning on monday evening and the pain was terrible man..i went to the loo at least 10 over times and i kept vomitting..went to see a doc and had a jab..hope that i will recover fast..the feeling was bad enough..

glad that u gals realli njoyed urself on tue..guess i realli dun have the "fate" to meet up with u all yet..think u all have another gathering on the 12th rite, i cant make it again coz i need to go BS to confirm on my AD gown..

oh yes, the thread was running too fast, onli two days and i am lost liao..glad to see new oct brides leh..welcome welcome!
me now cant read the thread at one go, will feel very giddy after that..

okie..i will try to recover fast and then i will contiune to bug u all again..realli misses u gals alot man!