(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi piglets,
ya, Ps early then no need to rush. can take your time to choose the photos.

Yvonne
I have tentatively booked my venue at Chijmes on the 23 Oct (SAT). Where about are u holding yr dinner?

Blurq
I am thinking of getting either my gown made with Ted or have it done in Sydney. Did you get your gown OTR or MTM?

hi chloe
oh, that's good, at least u won't have to worry about location. CHIJMES is a nice place to hold ur wedidng, have been to a couple of weddings there.

I won't have a banquet, will be having a lunch reception at my place after the tea ceremony, i want to keep it simple, casual & cosy for my guests

as for the facial place, i'd reccomended blurq & nickel to try out sothys at oub centre. i've been with them since jan 2001 and i think they're pretty good. u can call them at 6535 5669 to make an appt with them. my beautician is diana

Yvonne
Thank you very much for the info. Will give diana a call.
BTW, u gals meeting up 2moro? I cant make it this round. Do let me know when u gals are meeting up again. BTW, when's yr wedding?

hi everyone....

wow, so many posts since i last pop in this morning...

a big welcome to all the new brides here... you're gonna have loads of fun just catching up on the postings...

just saw that haach is having a promo now... $180 for 6 sessions - either facial or slimming... anyone tried them b4? dunno if i can go to them to tone up my flabby arms... or just to try their facial since it's so cheap... actually, i've nv done facials b4, so far skin stil ok... but thinking of doing to get that 'xtra' glow.. what do you ladies think?

hi winnie,
u need to check with your BS how long they need to develop the photos. normally, 3 to 4 months b4 wedding day will be a comfortable period. 2 months b4 seemed too rush. bear in mind also that u yourself will be busy by then, u'll feel very stress

hi chloe
my AD is on 30 oct, the popular date. actually, didn't realise it's that popular till i came in here.

u're welcome, the person picking up the phone will most likely be serena, she's the main co-ordinator for the salon. they're very friendly people, have fun

hi feroy
one of my friends went to haach for facial (the toa payoh branch) and i wasn't impressed. cos her face was filled with red spots from the squeezing when she came back. i don't get that when i do my facial at soothys, even after the squeezing.

hmm... i'd like to tone up my flabby arms as well, u r right, $180 for 6 sessions is pretty good price if they can help with this bit.

but i won't encourage their facial, cos my friend has very good complexion and was shocked when i saw what they did to her, just my 2 cents worth.

hi Yvonne,
haha..thanks thanks.
So coincidence!
I know the shop Ocean cos' i usually get my daily necessities there. It's really cheap.
I din know they sell Sothys products as well.
Hmm..will be going down this wkend to check it out.

I bought the purifying serum..
hee hee..will try out first, and let u gals know if my face improves..

hi nickel,
Have u book already?
Let us know leh.

hi Chloe,
Yap, i m from TW.
Hmm..I have my gowns MTM.
If i could find my WG that i like on fri, then most probably will be taking OTR.
But for TW, normally the EG will be MTM.
hey, u better book ur venue fast, cos' not much time left, esp ur AD is on sat.
It's okie. Join us next time then.

Blurq
Thanks for your reply.
I have tentatively placed my booking with CHIJMES on 23 Oct for my dinner cum church wedding. What about u? When's yr wedding? Dinner?

Can you give me an email address? Wanna discuss on Ted's package. Thanks

hi hp

thanks for your advise but i'm quite worried that my photos will not turn out nice cos' i still need to trim down a bit. if i were to took my PS in june, i will not be able to trim down to my ideal weight....so frustrated...

think i will check with my BS whether i can taken my PS either in early august or mid setember (need to avoid the "ghost" month)

hi rabbitwsk ... share ur formula wif mi ....

helo nickel .. i goes to the gym at california orchard member since last yr and i had a personal trainer but my training finish so i didnt sign on... now on my own when i go there if u want i can sign u in for the two weeks trial .. no pro hope to hear from u guys soon ya .......

hi blurq
oh, is it? i guess that place is pretty popular, good lah, since u frequent that place, u can go there and buy soothys products at the same time as well
i think i'll have to check out that place as well. my friend had told me about it but cos i seldom go down to chinatown, i forgot about it hee hee

hi gals..
i am juz away for few hours and its flood again with all the new messages!

chloe..
welcome welcome!..u will have a lot of fun here..so when is ur AD? mine is the same as yvonne, santiago..u have to go and see see b4 u decide which one u want..make sure u r comfortable with the ppl there..

oh yes..i am staying in bedok north..

yvonne/blurq..
me juz called them liao, so excited leh..i have made my appt on 13/03 coz i cant make it on the weekdays..my turn to glow liao..hee hee..

hi feory,
i did a research on haach before in SB..and finds that there is lots of bad comments over here.
It makes me think twice before gg to them.
I think it's better to check with someone whom u know that visited haach before.
Sometimes, the offer may sounds attractive, but in the end, u might end up paying more. Juz be careful on this.

hi Yvonne,
hee hee...if u haven't went down to take a look, think u shd go down there. Cos' the things are pretty cheap.

Another gd place to shop for necessities in toa payoh..can't rememeber the name of the shop thou.

hi Chloe,
i m meeting Ted at 6.30pm.
my email is [email protected].

hi paulyn,
Dun be too worried about the weight.
Juz try to control ur diet first.
i think it helps alot.
Most importantly, stay healthy.

hi nickel,
gd gd!! Ya..we will see another glow face soon..

hey blurq,
me same as u.. my PS is also in jul... also 1 of the last in here.....

hey chloe,
im staying in bedok sth rd.. blk 41...

hi winnie,

think august shld be fine. sept would be too late!

if the photographer you engaged is good, he or she will be able to know which angle you look best. else tell them to avoid taking certain shots which you know will not make you look good.

if you can't have the album in time for your wedding, chances are, the album will be stored away in a corner until someone requests to see it.

just my two cents worth!

hi nickel
good for u
i'm sure u'll have a good time there as well, it's a good opportunity for relaxing from our busy lifestyle

hi chloe
soothys has 3 basic facial routines, $79, $89 or $99 per session. it really depends on what u need. also, the beautician will assess ur skin condition and advice u on which treatment suits u.

the facial session is basically cleansing and extraction and masking, takes about an hr. they have other stuff such as AHA, hydrating treatment, vit c, etc, but u only do them when necessary.

i paid about $380 for 5 sessions of normal faical (the $89/session), so, it's pretty worth it. and when i want to pamper myself, i'll top up $15 for a hydration or vit c treatment.

best is for u to go down for a trial and assess for urself. blurq went down on hearing my reccomendation and so far, she's been happy with them, phew

hi blurq
ok, from now on, i'll make it a point to visit chinatown more regularly to get my toiletries
yah, have also heard about a shop in toa payoh that sells cheap toiletries but not sure where exactly hee hee

this thread is so fat that i can't reply or say hi to anyone before a new msg cut in. :P

well, gotta say hi to newbies. *wave* Welcome! and ciao.. will continue to read more, tonight then post a long msg.

hi hp,

have you checked out flamingo? if you've got enough budget, suggest you go check them out. the gowns there are simply lovely! made me feel like a princess! as for photoshoot, my preference is for utopia cos i like outdoor shoots!

which BS have you visited so far?

yvonne and blurq,
thanks for your advice... just saw the promo, then backside itchy... feel like going since it's soo cheap... but now, guess i'll forget abt the facial thingy...

ladies,
i can't catch up....! you guys rock man!!!

hi lynn
no worries, u get busy with ur work and post a nice long message for us tonight

feroy
hee hee, yah, sometimes, we get carried away with a deal that's too-good-to-be-true, but there's always a catch. like bioskin also used to keep advertising their facial for $38.

actually, it's not true, one of my friends went there and they told her $38 is for very good complexion and said she had to take up the $58 facial, which is reduced from the original price of $90, i think.

also, i'm also quite scared of buying heavily discounted packages, it may also mean the treatment is discounted as well

i totally agree, Oct 2004 brides are the coolest brides in town

yvonne,
ya, true... cannot get carried away with all these 'promos'.. they're always jus trying to get u to go down, and from there they try to work their 'charm' on you...

hi chloe
i think there's one of us who's having her wedding on Oct 23 but i can't remember who. one of the oct brides, ivory, had been really sweet and she did this spreadsheet thingy and posted it on this thread so that we knew each other's schedule. she has been busy and hasn't been able to update, so, u may have to read back a few threads to search for the spreadsheet.

hi feroy
yah lor, last time always get conned by these 'promos', really penny wise pound foolish. so, have grown smarter and will be weary of 'promos' that give deals which are too good to be true.

yup, i miss ivory too, not cos of the spreadsheet but she's been a very lively contributor and she's one of my west kakis as well. rabbitwsk did say that ivory's busy with quite a lot of stuff now, that's why she's not been here.

rabbitwsk, do let ivory know that we miss her and ask her to come chat with us when she's free

hi chloe
welcome

nickel
have u confirmed ur AD photographer yet? our AD's pretty popular, u'd better get them confirmed before all the good ones are taken up. Mine will be Ngiap Heng from The Pond.

Wow, many posting again...
O.K I msg Ivory later and tell her we miss her! Will inform u gals what happen tml.

Paulyn, i send receipe to u but must give me ur address... or u PM me also can

hi rabbitwsk
thanks for helping us pass the message to ivory

hi chloe
there are a lot of photographers listed in SB's directory, i found mine from there, go to www.singaporebrides.com/photographers. i think there are a few things u need to consider. u'll need to look thru their portfolio, check their prices and see how well u communicate with them. good luck

hi chloe,
really!!!! wow, i prob ve seen or may even know ur FH then.. since i've lived there for my entire life!!!!!!! hmmmm... he cld b a sch mate for all i know!!! hahahah

yes gals,
i also missed ivory... had to tell her tt i've finaly decided on my BS.. n also finally got my 1st appt date!!! esp since she was soo nice to offer to bring me to her BS for her 1st appt then!!!

hi chloe

you can check out the availability of flats at www.hdb.gov.sg

for sengkang & punggol, there are not many units left. now they are moving towards BTO. these 2 estates are the most popular so I am not so sure whether there will be any walk in selection in the near future. I went into the website and for most of the units left chinese are full. unless you don't mind executive at 29X sengkang.

sengkang had WIS last Mar, punggol last Oct ( can't remember ). mine is just next to Compasspoint : )

i am a Oct bride toooo..on the ever popular 30th oct but very inactive cos I have only settle on my hotel. hehehe give myself 2 more weeks from now to settle everything.

u seem to be moving faster than me though...:P

hey iludia
thanks for the info. i understand from my frd that once the news is out on the papers/web abt the WIS, many ppl wld have queue overnite... so i was wondering if any of u have any first hand info so that i can also go and queue first.

dont think i am moving faster than u boy.. i've not even settle my venue and gown yet

i wonder if there's anything wrong with the date i've selected - 23 Oct... nobody seems to be getting married on this day.

BTW, any of u know when is the school exam in Oct?

Hi to all,

I'm new to this site. Just realised from reading your msgs that wow! you all have done a lot of things for your wedding. My customary is also on early Nov and the only thing I did so far was to book the venue

Hi Paulyn

I am having my banquet at Marina Mandarin too!! One day before u!! on the 9 October 2004. Who's ur coordinator?

I also fat far. Need to diet. My arms also look quite fat, but I think to myself, heck it lah. As long as we look radiant and confident that day, who cares what other pp think.

I lost about 10 kg in 2 months thro exercise and watching my diet. u will succeed with regular exercise and healthy diet. Take care!

Joyce

Hi Chloe

Welcome to the thread!!! My friend is having her wedding at Chijmes in October 2004 too. I've been there, and it's beautiful.

To share a bit with you on your questions:-

I agree with the rest of the girls that BS is really a matter of your personal preferences, depending on what styles you like, some examples:-

Lace : Kevin Seah, Kai
Embroidery: Ted Wu, Le Galleria, Flamingo
Low back, sexy gowns: Divine
Modern cheongsams: Dang
Crystals: Bridal Veil

Other bridal studios that I read good comments about too include Santiago, Golden Horse Awards. Depending on your budget, and what style you like, you can make an appointment with the bridal studios, chat with them and find out more. Generally, the good BS will be friendly and not try to hard sell you.

Look thro the list, and if you see that anyone of us is with a BS that you are interested in, drop us a line, we'll be more than happy to share with you.

Same for photographers, there is a long list for you to choose from in Singapore brides.

Personally, my AD is 9/10/2004. Only 2 Oct brides getting married on that day.