(2004) Brides of year 2004

smallonion

Hi mich03.. oh IC, so the tube type is call bustier type. Shld understand what u meant, kekeke.

happybride.. thks, will take a look but then not sure if mine package allow MTM, maybe no have, but still can choose the style

soupie

amos / ralphine,
i have checked out moomedia too... but i dun think their forte is in photography :p... cos they dun have much portfolio to show for wedding.. but their video/mtv is well taken.. appears very funloving, casual and innovative.. andrew tay is very reasonable (the 950 pkg).. i quite like his photos too. but we have another photographer in mind.. still contemplating whether it's worth it to spend so much on AD photography or not :p

jenn,
i guess sometimes the elders can be quite 'childish'... kan bu kai... maybe ur FMIL thinks that u are not giving her respect for not using the date she gave u.. so she got upset and decide that she didnt wanna care abt the wedding anymore. on the other hand, considering the fact that she went to choose a date for u means that she do really care.. so do ask ur FH to coax and pacify her. hope everything will work out for u

blueberry

Hi Orosalind,

Seems like the choice is clear.

Hey Happybride,

Think about it. You rush here and there, bound to lose weight
you will be happy about it.
You not having banquet??

binbin

hi secret garden, can see u are in divine thread and conrad thread now hehehhee, welcome.
.... me getting blur with so many postings. we discuss the topics further in the other threads kae?
hehehehe...

ingenue78

cin_p,

which resort are u going? i'm thinking of going europe...but still considering becoz of the cold cold weather.

hi hoshi,
at least yr MIL buys all yr stuff. My MIL dun noe abt the customs...everything leave it to us!! urgghhhh...quite frustrating u noe...coz my fiancee's bro got married 2 yrs ago...and i'm surprised tat she still dun noe about the customs

velooi

Hi twinkleglint,
Mine not so soon. Oni going HDB's 1st apptmt dis sat. Have to wait till Mar'04 for the handover. Btw wats the room type for ur flat? Mine is a 4rm flat.

amos_aw

Soupie, Secretgarden:

We managed to get Chijmes Hall for that price with everthing included: Chair covers, stage, sound system, technical support, signing and reception tables, use of lawn for photography etc. $800 for the 2 hrs was good to go. So we grabbed that.

As of today, Wendy and i have decided to sign up with MooMedia. Granted that their forte isn't in photography, although the photography is not sub-standard, it's their MTV package that captured my heart. It's something that i don't see myself doing ever again, so we feel it will be well worth it. They do not have a set format for doing the MTV. What they do is plan the MTV style according to what the couple is like, circumstances under which the couple met, their jobs, their lifestyle etc. No 2 MTVs are similar. This, in my opinion, is hard work. Not easy planning for something like that. Shooting begins about 1.5mnths before actual day.

As far as the photographs went, i found that the standard was certainly acceptable. Mixture of creativity and focus on the wedding itself. By the time i was done looking over the photographs, i was already prepared to go with MooMedia. However, the video/MTV section just blew me away. It's more than i expected to see, and definetly something one will enjoy watching for years to come. I'd like to add that i was on the verge of tears after watching the MTV presentation. Only then did i realize that i simply had to do it this way. Of course, i don't expect everyone to have the same reaction. Seems my last appointment with a photographer is working for me. We're with the cows.

ralphine

Amos/Soupie
When I first looked at moo's website, I was impressed with their work. But after hearing both of your side of the story, maybe hubby and I shd go down and have a look at it ourselves and decide from there. I have also made an appt with Benny Ang to check out his portfolio. As I know, he has already KIV with a couple on the same AD. Have to see how it goes now.. sigh.. *headache*

twinkleglint

hi forest
u got a mail.

hi happybride,
me too have prob wif MIL on the reno....*sian*

hi Velooi,
mi is 5 rm std, 110 sq ft. the masterbedrm very small.....headache! i wana 8 ft wardrode but can only fit a 7 ft.....

hi amos,
ur package with moo is how much? wat it consist of? my heart is set with ateXXXX x but very ex lor, need to think again cos photography will cost a lot too. this sat will go down with gin gang too see again.

shinchan

Hi Blim,

Daniel Yam has his stores at Suntec as well Wisma. Maybe u can check them out. Prices shld be ard $70+ to $100+. Actually what kinda design u looking for?

I sorta agree wif BinBin, find a comfy pair first. One of my fren actually wore her casual sandals for outdoors shoot, cos it's easier to walk & dun wanna dirty her shoe b4 her AD... anyway our gowns will be too long for our shoes to be seen...

annmiko

Hi, Wen Li, booking the banquet is the most important and top priority for you and your hubby now. What Da Bee said is very true. So try to source around for a place now.

Hi Kate, DaBee, so qiao that we all are getting married on 23 Sep 04. hahaha....so we must help each other more and esp encourage each other more when nearer to our date. Perhaps both of you can start to book AD and bridal package first? I think our date is the only auspicious date in the month of Aug 04 (chinese month). So try to get everything ready in advance. Nowadays, brides all very kiasu. hahaha.....
DaBee, where's your dinner and have you booked your bridal package?
I would recommend Flamingo to both of you. Shirley's service is excellent (if you like her gowns that is).

Hi Cassie, thanks for the very good advice. Have just placed a tentative booking for a good AD. Hope everything goes on smoothly.

amos_aw

Twinkleglint:

Package is as follows:

moo³ Package

1 x Photography service for full day with 300 digital 4Rs
1 x Video services for full day
1 x Slide-show to be screened on the LCD at reception area
1 x MTV or Video to be screened during the wedding dinner or ceremony (5mins)
1 x DVD of the wedding
1 x Photo CD of the wedding
1 x Custom Layout Album

Package MSRP is $2900.

Andrew Mok is indeed a nice fellow to deal with. He takes a personal interest in all his projects, and gives me the feeling that i know i can trust this guy to deliver the goods. Like i said, i'm impressed by the personal and unique style of each couple's MTVs etc. They'll sit down and discuss the planning stages with you, in order to make the MTV a part of who you are.

For example: There was this couple that work for SIA, and they met on a flight and all that. So they used that idea, and did an inflight safety video presentation thingy as part of the video presentation. Very cool and funny as hell.

amos_aw

Secretgarden:

Wendy and I don't have a BS package etc. What we've done is we've contracted various parts of the wedding to individual establishments, including our relatives!

Wendy's gowns will be MTM by her auntie in Indonesia, same thing for her bridesmaids. Flowers, decor and makeup have been contracted out to her make-up artist who does all of it as a family business; the pricing on the floral stuff is not ready yet. Photo and video with the cows. Printing with some shop in Peninsular (this one we haven't finalized yet. Wendy's shoes are still "somewhere out there", while my suit will be MTM in JB. We'll be using both our brother's cars, which just so happens to be the same make and model. Solemnization at Chijmes from 10-12, cocktail reception at Conrad from 7-8pm, dinner from 8-1130pm. Errrrr...that's about it i think.

happybride

hi kk

i rush rush rush but no lose weight leh, dont know why... : )
yes, no banquet for me... heheee
but will have lunch buffet at his parent's place, night is dinner with family n helpers

hi orosalind
although it is stress, but try to enjoy the process, it is either u n FH gets closer bound, or the relationship gets not so good, due to the stress n argument (if any)

soupie

amos, i saw that video too.. it was so funny... i enjoyed the one on the couple in melbourne too.. they were walking backwards against all pple in the streets.. actually i'm more interested in the mtv rather than AD video hehehe :p

it is indeed memorable to have such a mtv.. both for the guests and u.... and watching in yrs to come.. can u imagine showing it to ur kids?! they'll say mum and dad are soooo coool hehehehe

amos_aw

Soupie:

They've got a very recent one. MTV made with the same storyline as the show "Turn Left, Turn Right". Couple was from Temasek Poly, and apparently had a very similar story to tell. End product was amazing. That's the one that brought me to shreds. It was very touching.

Oh!!!
...see lah..need to get some tissue again.

fairy

Hi Bramble,

Oh yes,
I will also be taking my photography with Jawn too. Will be engaging Linn Kong to do the photography. Actually I had a hard time deciding between the photographers as I was torn between a few

Yes, Their package doesn't include car decoration. Car decoration would be at additional $250.00 if you are engaging their florist. Most probably I will be using their florist as I pretty much like the florist they tie up with. They do very beautiful and nice flowers.

I had visited Bridal Veil, Divine and Irene Creation too during my Bridal Hunt too. So far any one of them caught your fancy yet?

happybride

hi smallonion,

most BS will require u to do some "homework" u may need to bring pics of gowns u like, then they will let u try (those u like) then select gowns from there. So it is good to start gathering pics

blueberry

Hi Happybride,

So envy you can do away with dinner. I can't . MIL must die die have it. My parents ching chai... so no choice...
Very troublesome.

orosalind

Hi KK,

, u r rite, the choice is clear now. I will opt for package.

Hi happybride,

Ya, u r rite. I hope we get closer thru the process.

happybride

hi kk
cos the 2 of us are youngest, so the last one parents n in law are more ching chai.
another reason being my sisters' wedding dinner all lugi $$ (didnt manage to cover back the cost), especially in economy like this, we think v risky incase 1 of us go jobless, and lugi wedding dinner...

hi orosalind
: ) good for u. So did me n FH, the renovation stress, strain our relationship initallly, then we talked, and give in, now we are closer

blurq

hi Oct brides,

Think Oct is really a gd mth..so many new brides coming to this thread..

hi orosalind,
Glad to know that you have a gd deal for your renovation.I agreed with happybride that renovation although tiring, but it's definitely an enjoyable process. Do njoy it.

Anyone knows what is the procedure for 'an chuan'? Only put the mattress on the bed frame and that's it? Do we have to buy anything to put on top of the bed?

happybride

hi blurq

position the bedframe, put mattress, lay bedsheet, pillow cases
then put dried longans (with shells), dried red dates, lotus seeds, 2 oranges (if i no remember wrongly)
not suppose to touch the bed after that.

There may be some threads on An Chuang , do check check

smallonion

hi happybride.. oh is it, but pics from mag is not alot cos they mainly showing name of BS, hehehe. Any ideas to get more pics of gowns?
U wit JLC rigth? when u choosing ur gowns?

amethyst

Smurfy
I clicked on the url, but your album empty leh.
I'm still getting married on 21 Feb.
Just bought my gown, WG and CS from Amor Meus @ Esplanade.
No PS yet, have not chosen photographer leh... FH's responsibility as he's very picky.
very late hor...
hotel venue not confirmed yet, but we've tentatively booked with Intercon. Cannot decide whether to have wedding lunch or dinner.
Having church ceremony immediately before that, no reception in between. How? Any advice?
My WG:

36264.jpg

happybride

hi smallonion,

At least mine is like that... : )
i personally find buying local bridal magazine not worth cos they dont show much gowns, even if they do, they dont show the little little details... I bought a bridal magaize from a book shop at Novena Square (from Austrialia) featuring the 2004 bridal trends... a lot of gowns inside or alternatively u can go to the website i told u about, the david's bridal has alot of different types.

I was requested to do my homework even before signing up with JLC, they want to make sure i can find WG i like first before signing them up. Gown selection early next year lor, before PS i think... I dont know yet. My co-ordinator will call me up when she need me (she is doing time management for me)

orosalind

Happybride,

Agree with u. Economy not doing well, so higher chances of lugi fm banquet. My MIL oredi hint us not to book hotel in order not to lugi too much but we go ahead cos it's my dream to have a grand banquet.

Think our situation oso just like yours. Our relationship strain a bit when we choose the banquet and neg with bridal shop. But now, when we talk abt reno, improve a bit. Guess we have learn fm our lesson fm the banquet and bridal shop.

Hi blurq,

I am learning to enjoy the process now. Tiring but fun, ya.

happybride

hi orosalind
we have big families and u know relatives dont give ang baos according to market rates, some will even bring babies and maids... : (
so i have to forgo my dream of grand banquet.
but FH 'compensate' me by having ROM lunch reception, buffet lunch at MIL place n casual dinner with families n helpers... : )

mich03

Hello smallonion,

Yap. I agree with happybride. Me also source the pics with the designs that i want on my WG and i have already cut out a few also.

Erm.... but hor, i find that local mags like Her World and Style(esp) got quite a handful of gown designs. (THis is where i found my pics).
Haiya.. the BB also copy ideas from other BBs one lar... so i think it doesn't matter of the pic got show other BB's names lor. Anyway, u have signed up with them liao, rite?
Happy sourcing!

blueberry

Hi Happybride,

My hubby is the youngest. All his sibling married. But MIL still wants to dinner. She said very hard to account to relatives.
I rather dun have dinner and save the money for holidays... I even promised my parents if can convince the MIL not to have dinner, I will bring whole family holiday.
but now will go also but to nearer location :p

Hi Orosalind,

Sometimes it is good to quarrel. You get message across. My hubby and I always quarrel, That shows we got things to talk about. But please dun be violent!!! and box or bite one another...

orosalind

Hi happybride,

Ya, I get what u mean. I'm oso expecting to lose a lot fm relative side. But for ur case, it's nice enuf cos ur ROM seems to be a big affair leh. Ur ROM shld be able to make up for the banquet lah. On my ROM we oni have just a simple steamboat buffet at cocca restaurant with our family (just 2 tables) and no frens invited. For the wedding dinner, I can cfm lugi liao cos my hubby and my relatives will take abt 20 tables and another 10 for frens oni.

Hi KK,

U v funny..... We cannot fight ah. I sure lose one. One box fm him, I sure faint liaoz..... *_*

blurq

hi happybride,

Thanks a lot. I will check it out, din know that it is so troublesome. Thot juz put the mattress and bedsheets and we can start using the bed already.

I think for banquet now, sure lugi wan, cos' most of the relatives and families will not give that much.
Was wondering how much will a couple lugi for a banquet..hope it will not be a lot!

blurq

orosalind, same as you, hopefully won't lugi more than 5K. Agreed with you that it depends on the banquet, and the no. of tables that the groom is giving for the bride.
do u gals decide to provide wine to your banquet as well? sigh..another extra cost..

smurfy

Hi Amethyst,

I thought u seen liao, so I set private again
Do you have any Yahoo Nick so I can authorise you to view my album?

Your gown very nice.. how about the front part? Any CS pixs to show?

I think you had to hurry up with your preps.. if I were you, I will be like "ants on hot pot"

happybride

hi orosalind,
i know of people who lugi more than 5K, so select ur friends properly, 1 of my sis made profit out of the whole event. Let me share with u : )
close friends invite to dinner, not close ones (office people) give cake.... heheee no need so many tables and yet all sharing ur joy with u

hi blurq,
the fortune teller i went to told me to lock up the bedroom after an chuang, AD then open the door. Before an chuang, can use bed, after can not

mee_mee

Hi poshies,

My invitation card only has english words. It is a very simple print on an existing card from the hotel. So... we are only printing words.

cassie

hi Wen Li,

you heard the ladies
not many places can accommodate 70 tables, so if you have already decided on shang you may wish to place at least a tentative booking first.

Annie, you're welcome

orosalind

blurq, nope, we dun intend to provide wine cos I saw a lot of wastage in my FH's frens' weddings. V often, they requested for many glasses just to sabo the couple but end up, din get the chance to do so and the glasses of wine just left there like that.

happybride, hey, me oso thinking of doing that leh - not so close off coll, just give cakes will do.

Ya, nid to invite pple selectively but usually the lugi part comes fm relatives and not so much coll and frens leh. How gd if we can selectively invite relatives hor. But too bad, cant leh. Ur sis is so lucky to make some profit out of the whole event. She oso choose a hotel? If so, then she is v v lucky.

happybride

hi orosalind,
she was at dai ichi hotel, the profit was on angbao earnings alone. the cake ang bao not included. See! so must be selective.

She invited mid & higher management ppl to her dinner, the rest gave cakes... Ya she was lucky , she is the only 1 in my family who made a profit.

If u r lucky, maybe the profit from friends can cover the losses from the relatives

amethyst

hi smurfy,
i don't have yahoo a/c leh...sorry.
i see by today, can?
my CS not ready yet, just chosen fabric only. tailor says ready in dec only.
the front og WG not ready also, too big, cannot show, will 'over expose' hee hee

orosalind

hi happybride, I know which one. It's now called M Hotel rite? My cousin oso held his wedding in Dai Icchi Hotel. Dint know if he did make a profit or breakeven or made a loss. Think I will be v v selective unless my final guest list cant even fill up the min no. of table which I have booked.

secret_garden

Hi girlfriend,
i also new here!when is your wedding?how's your wedding preps?

Hi jenn,
bring fruits is a bit too much.. like pgo pay respects or go pray to the gods like that. let your FH go talk to his mother n c how. Most of the times, best to leave her own son to takl to her better. you better stand aside and not interfere. Cheer up ok? don;t think it would be that bad. maybe let your mil simmer down then she may change her mind again?

hi happy bride,
worth going down to have a look later during the preps. Noted it down liao! Thanks!

hi yoyo,
saw your pics! you look real happy that day. It's ROM right? where was the venue?

hi xue,
understand that type of frustration when they don;t deliver what they promised. But overall, are there any other things they did that annoyed you? hope the rest would be well and pleasant experience for you.

hi binbin,
ya you are right! think you will see me in most thraeds you ar in since i am interested in quite some same stuffs as you.hehe!

hi amos/soupie,
would you be expecting alot of pple for your ROM soleminsation that day? is it going to be a church wedding?

I agree with soupie that photography not moomedia's forte. maybe can say their forte is in MTV and videgraphy. I have also watched the one with the flight attendance for the dinner. that was interesting idea! I also saw another with the girl mouthing the sun yanzi song in the turn left turn right show, the mouth partlooks abit fake but it's also another idea. If you really like them should go for it. Also find Andrew very nice. Like soupie,we also have another photgrapher in mind for AD as I realised that Andrew's photos are sticked on to the album which we worried abt the quality in long term. so still considering.

I am looking for someone who can do cartoon animation. anyone have lobangs?

blurq

hi orosalind,
Hmm..okie..I think it's really up to individual. For us, we might buy wine cos' I think most of my friends drink wine rather than beer..so it is not so nice if we say wine is not provided.

hi happybride,
Your sis is really lucky, cos' she can made a profit. Yes, be selective of your guests is very important..Hopefully we can invite more friends than relatives.

Have u gals finalised the guest list already? Usually will you be inviting more guests, since not all of them will come?

secret_garden

hi kk, happy bride, ivory, orosalind, blurq,

seems like after you confirm the venue n bs, can shake legs till leg pain hoh?unless of cos got reno to do then would be another story.

orosalind, dun take it as stress. Think you also happy to be seeing your lovenest built each day. so can consider positie stress! like that sure can lose wt like wat ivory says.
mi also going to start losing wt hehe

in terms of budgetting, are most of yuo relying on the ang baos from the banquet to cover cost? i mean, do you actually save up the $$$ for the banquet? or just save up for the estimated lugi cost? i think quite bad right? to say lugi here n there since wedding should be a joyous event n should not be read as profit or non-profit event.
hehe. cant be helped right i guess?