(2004) Brides of year 2004

fencnef

hey trixie...

mi going to the tunglok fair coming last sun of this mth...it will b held at imperium, i'll probably take a look at imperium's surroundings dan..so far i've oni seen imperium frm the magazines..if u r interested, u may want to check it out for the tunglok fair too..

jan

hello gals!

silver, if YC didnt give u a call then u call and pester them lah..

Yup, waiting for new issues of bridal mag to be out in Sep i think for Style and Female Brides Mag.

Silver, i think maybe u can consider doing ur WG into those less formal kind, since urs is outdoor wedding.. Wat i can imagine for outdoor wedding is like WG is slightly shorter without train and flowy kinds.. Dunno just my idea... Or u make detachable train otherwise can be troublesome if u need to mingle ard with guests and walk ard often?

Ya loh, Yvonne, how come dun have 4rm showflats? Last time in SK and punggol they have it, but that was like more than a year ago, dunno they still have or not..

jul

Hi <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Jan</FONT>,

I'm exploring different options. But even the so-called ala carte means photgraphy from 1 place; gowns, flowers, car decor, makeup, etc all from another place. Not going to try to get 1 item from every single shop, think I'll die lor.

Do you think anyone will wanna buy my package? It's not that the things at TWD are bad, just that I have weird fancy lor :p

I dun dare to tell my fiance yet!

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Yan</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Yvonne</FONT>,

So both of u gals are gog to kpo the show flats? I'm also tempted to go to *hee*

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Silver</FONT>,

There are no show flats for 4 rm, I think bcoz it's hard to do anything impressive with 4 rm, as the area is small. Then I think the cost of reno for both 4 &amp; 5 rm is abt the same, coz not much diff in area, only 20 m2.

I think it's better to wear the WG for solemnization. A few reasons :
1) No time to change. Even if u rush to change, u might mess up ur makeup/hair &amp; the makeup artist is already gone.
2) More meaningful. Imagine they proclaim u husband n wife, &amp; ur not wearing WG?
3) Must wear the WG as long as possible, after that have to return to bridal shop already
But IMHO only k?

jan

no leh Jul, i saw 4rm corner showrooms before in SK, it's very cosy and nice too! Was quite tempted to get 4rm initially coz much cheaper, can finish paying off much faster!! hahaha..

jan

Btw Jul, think maybe try asking ur fiance first loh, at least if he doesnt agree then u need not think abt it so much.. and if he agrees then u can start try advertising in this forum to sell it off!! So first thing first, ask ur fiance!! hehe..

silver

Jan,
Ya mine definately will not ve long train. Otherwise dunno how to walk hehe Still yet to see a design that is nice n not too formal.

Jul,
Why dun you try to advertise in SB? There are alot of gals selling their package over here but you ve to take note that ala carte would also mean more $$$ and more homework. Are you prepared for that?

Ya time would be an factor too cos if too rush dan it's a must to wear WG for solemnization. But again if I wear my WG, when I march in to dinner later there won't be any surprise liao.

navy

Hi dec04,
the best thing abt them is that they have no fixed style!
they'd do anything acc to ur needs/ wants but of coz they'd discuss wif u if wat u desire looks nice on u.
btw, will ur friend mind showing me her foto?
i'd love to see all of jawn's gown but hardly has chance becoz they dun keep most of their gowns in the shop.

jul

Hi Jan,

I guess HDB is trying to promote 5 rms &amp; execs. No point wasting money doing up the 4 rm when they're already so hot right?

Guess I gotta pluck up the courage to ask him right? But then first I must visit more bridal shops to see which shop I like. Scully sell off my package then cannot find a shop I like! Sure kena XXXXXX!!!

jul

Hi silver,

Actually, from what I see from the past few weddings I've been to... When the bride marches in to cut cake, then sit down, the guests cannot see much of the gown. Really too far, &amp; time too short to see anything. So a bit wasted, esp if your gown is very nice. If u greet them in ur WG, then they'll be able to admire ur gown for longer right?

I guess I'll have to check out more shops. Hopefully I find something I love, then got gd reason to sell off. But honestly, do u think my package is saleable?

yan

I have the same problem as silver..

Silver -- Is your room near to the ceremony venue??

I will be having my solemnization roughly an hour before the reception, i.e. @6pm, and reception @7pm.. The solemnization is at the hotel's poolside..

I wanna wear my WG to the solemnization, but not to the reception... Ladies, should I change into a tea dress??

jul

Hi yan,

I guess this is very individual choice right? I think u just have to decide if u wanna show off ur WG for as long as possible, or want to do the big surprise thing. But I feel that if my WG is not very drama &amp; different from the rest, not much surprise to reap in the first place *hee*

silver

Hi Jul,
Paiseh would you mind to share wif us ur package again cos can't remember hehe

Hi Yan,
Err.. not v far fm room cos the yacht club not that big too. Yours at orential rite? Would it be too rush for u to change?

ever

Morning gals!! its friday!!!

hahahaha.... gals, its not shiok for me yesterday... had to wake up early for an interview!! heehehehehee...
that's why me took leave!! after that, went for pilates... so, didnt really "nua" at home!!

oh, i saw the foreign "Brides" magazine on sale yesterday... think its a new issue.... but exp leh, $14.90.... not sure if i shld buy.... i got lots of bridal mags liao.... and only MTM one gown!! hahahahahaha.... jan, maybe you can go take a look.... cos its really thick compared to those local mags which hav more bridal shops advertisements.....

Jul, dont worry so much about the gowns loh... maybe you shld browse thru more mags and if you find some designs that you like, get TWD to MTM for you loh.... like what silver said, a la carte very time-consuming.... and of course more exp!!

silver/yan, although its a bit troublesome, i would prefer to wear the wedding gown for the solemnization ceremony and change to a tea-dress to mingle with the guests prior to the banquet... and then change back to the wedding gown for the march-in.... troublesome, but i think its worth the effort.... oh, actually some people said that the bride usually dont mingle with the guests before the march-in.... if so, then you two need not change to the tea-dress liao.... ;o)

pebbles

it's finally friday ah....

Ino,
Glad u finally settled yr CS design, i think the CS at Ted's collection are really very sexy and they really brings out the best of the brides' figure and im sure u will look really nice in it and wow fully beaded....remember to show us yr CS ah...too bad it only looks nice on really tall and slim girls...
u know how to do up yr own accessories ah, so nice, i dun think im that creative ah, u pick up the skills from where..???

doreamon,
congrats!!! another problem settled...so now left with what ah..??? yr guestlist done up??? how abt your flowers and stuff..???

Amos,
so u and wendy done with studies..??? what happend??? sudden change of wedding date..??

blurydory,
hey woman, no stress ah, wedding preparation is never easy but think of it this way, u only get to do it once and of course it's like your life's biggest project and as a bride, im sure u just want things to be the best..
so relax!!! if u need to tok to someone, feel free to call me or email me..

pebbles

hi hi fellow may brides to be,
finally there are slightly more postings here..ahahha..

poox,
u having your wedding spread out to two days ah...that's quite good , won't be so tiring on yourself and for your hubby too. Actually now it seems like nothing much to do liao after settling the bridal and hotel hor..??? what else can we do ah, im so worried i might miss out on certain things and then come next year panic button...

elenne,
what happen??? i think that's the thing with service providers, they are always so keen before u sign up with them but once they close the deal, they dun bother to follow up, write straight to their director of sales lah, complain...which hotel did u book with...??? was it amara ah

Keann,
so whenn will u be going back to Aus??? still enjoying life back here i guess..
i think once u settled your hotel, there's really nothing much u can do liao except finding your actual day photographer and videographer so as long as u have a few in mind, should be quite save lah..me also KS bride lah, dun like to leave things to the very end , that's why want to settle things as soon as possible lor at least as it's approaching the wedding, we won't be so stressed mah

Garfield,
i have not gone to PM bridal before but being to their bridal show, think most of their gowns are quite nice, also noticed from their bridal show that their designs for gowns are mostly quite similar to those designer's gowns, maybe they kind of borrow the designs from those designer's lah..ahah...but u being to their bridal show, how's their service, must be careful with their package ah, must bargain for more things esp the photos cos they will really cut throat when it comes to choosing yr photos for the album

a&w

Pebbles..

Yah..Amos and I will be done with our studies around mid-Aug..Woo hoo..!
Huh? You didn't read about why we changed the date? You haven't log into this forum for a while huh. Anyway..I'll tell you. We just figured that we don't really have a reason to wait till Dec anymore..hehehe..cos none of our friends from overseas can really confirm if they'll be able to attend our wedding, so bring it forward lor. That way we can start getting things ready once we go home instead of waiting almost another year before we start making real plans

doreamon

Hi Pebbles,

Now left with flowers, corsages and wedding cake. Guest list done liao. Yesterday confirmed with Carol (Oaks), going down to sign the contract on 2nd Aug as she is busy in Takashimaya for the next two weeks.

Invitation cards ready liao, my gfs are helping me to do the ring pillow and the guest book.

yvonne

Morning Meimei,
Yeah is FRIDAY again!!! Time to let loose.... hee hee!

Ever,
How was yr interview yday, doing fine? I also saw some overseas bridal mag at the bookstore the other day, actually tot of buying but is quite X! Dun know whether their gowns are similar to local/Asian taste anot? Btw, i only hv 2 bridal mag rite now... kee kee! So hw many hv u gals collected so far???

Silver &amp; Jul,
I thk the choosing of WG or tea dress for solemnization ceremony is really up to individual. If you can manage yr time well and don't mind the hassle, then by all means change as many clothes as u like.

What i feel is that western wedding is so much diff from chinese wedding. They mingle around n hv tea reception/buffet dinner while chinese seldom go ard "PR" cos all the guests arrive late... haa haa!

jul

Silver,
My package ah... Let me see...
- OTR WG, OTR EG, 2 OTR men's jacket, 1 MTM men's pants
- PS &amp; AD bouquets
- E200 Merz w/ decor
- corsages
- 4 makeup sessions
- 16 pcs 15R
- 36 pcs 4R (6 poses)
- 1 mini-album (duplicate of big album)
- 8R tabletop
I think that's abt it. So do u think it's saleable?

Hi ever,
Oh, how'd the interview go? Got chance of pay rise? *hee hee*

But I dun wanna keep buying bridal mags, so waste of money. What am I gog to do with them after my wedding? But the gowns on website are usually not suitable at all. *sigh*

ever

Hi yvonne!! the interview was ok, but the job requires lots of travelling.... so, i need to consider carefully... me got 6-8 bridal mags liao!!! ya, some people feel that the foreign designs not suitable... but i think can adapt some of their designs to "asian" style... heehehehehehee.... cos i find the gowns in local mags quite boring..... always bustier!!!! which i cant wear!!!! *sigh*......

jul

Actually u're quite right. It's really up to the individual to decide what gown to wear when. at first I also tot I didn't wanna mingle w/ guests for the surprise element. But then I realised since I look my bexst that day, I'll show myself off to the guests for as long as possible. *hehe* Anyway, my fiance's firm is Jap, so the bosses will be early. Cannot imagine me being late to greet them *oops*

jul

Hi ever,

Oh travelling huh? As in overseas, or travelling ard Spore?

Hmm.. Why can't u wear bustier? At first I also didn't wanna wear bustier, then my fiance said I looked best in that, so I guess that sort of settles the style already :p

ever

hi jul, can consider buying one/two good bridal mags loh.... easier to convey yr liking to the designer mah.... these are monies not to be saved.... imagine the horror if yr gown didnt turn out like what you wanted it to be!!!! heeheehehehehee........

oh, travelling as in to overseas.... once a mth kind of thing.... very sian hor...

me cant wear bustier, cos me fat-fat.... when i wear bustier, can see the FATS above the bustier line... near the arms... *yuck**yuck*

yan

morning gals,

ever -- travelling is good.. better than sitting in the office for the whole day... sit for long, one's tummy starts to grow, and when the tummy reach the max, the bum starts to grow...

so what type of travelling do you need to do?? still going to be in the finance line??

Why cant you wear bustier?? Then what is your preferred style??

For me, my WG style is also settled... Visualise it to be a ball gown, bustier with visible fish bones... and of cos must be pure satin... I tried organiza, and my bf and GFs all say not suitable for me.. say i not suitable for the "soft" look... in other words, say i rough lah..

Jul -- I think your package is quite a standard one, so can give it a try to sell it off at the forum. But, i also agree with the gals that you should consult your bf first..

I also think that buying bridal magazines is a terrible waste of $$, but no choice, its an inevitable expenditure.. to date i bought 2 local and one US magazine... the US one is either too drama or too biang for local taste... Most of the EGs are super biang and simple... next time got chance, i show u gals... I also got some from friends who had gotten married, the issues may be backdated, but still relevant lor.

Silver -- Think your bf going to have a shock later when he meets up with me.. initially I told him there are 4 of us going, but this morning headcount is 10!!!. scary, i dun even know my colleagues all so on to exercise one..

yan

ever,

so nice, can travel overseas.. which countries mainly?? those happening ctries? usu for how long per trip?? your bf can bear u leaving??

aiya, u shouldn't worry about the "fats" la.. you not that fat ma, and besides, most brides will slim down during the preparations... if you are ready concern about the arms, you can request or MTM a gown with arm cut.. This arm cut can cover all the bulging flesh at the arm area... i was enlightened by one of the studio's designer.

jan

hello gals!

hey ever, u sure u fat, i dun beleive! hehe..But anyway if u wear a spaghetti strap ones, it's also the same, just that they have 2 littl ethin straps to hold up.. Me still thinking which type i want, currently like halter, toga or spaghetti but not bustier! Coz not enuf assets to hold up scared it'll drop down!! haha!

Me currently have 4 mags, all local ones, find local designs caters more to us leh...

Hmm, ever, if going to travel once a mth, think quite sian, but if just a few times a year, still acceptable i guess.. I'm also one of those who prefer a job not to travel one.. haha..

I think i wanna mingle with guests.. wanna show off my gown like wat Yvonne says.. If not, no one can really see or admire how pretty we look rite??

jan

hey Yan,

Wow, u're really fast, already know wat designs u want! That's good! Me still fickle minded!! urghh!!

jul

Hi ever,

Seems like I really have to invest in a few bridal mags already. *sigh* But then, my appt is in Jan next yr, is it too late to MTM?

Oh, travel once a mth. But is it a fixed location / all over the world? Gd also to 'broaden the horizon', but I agree that it's quite xian to leave home sweet home as well. Also difficult to coordinate b/w u &amp; ur bf coz he's also travelling right?

I also have the armpit fats problem! How?

jul

Hi yan,

Wow, you're gd, so settled already. Not like me, still dangling in the air. *sigh* I think u're describing the corset look right?

What's an ARM CUT???

trixie

hi fencnef,
I've been to imperium for a bridal show before. It's quite nice, and very big. good for big banquets.

Me not looking at restuarants though, looking for something more westernised.

ever

Hi gals!!

yan, no lah.... not to happening countries.... only to china!!!! sigh..... must go for 1-2 weeks each time!!!
yap yap!! still in finance....

jan, me also prefer jobs that dont require travelling.... actually, travelling occasionally is still bearable, but....

heehehehheee.... me not very very fat, but the bulging fats above the bustier line very obvious.... guess i'm born with it... so, no choice lah... actually, me also thinking of doing halter-neck, off-shoulders or spaghetti straps.... jan, same same as you!!
hhhmmmm..... certain spaghetti strap dress can hide the bulging fats!! depends on the neckline mah....

yan, really hope what you said is true!! brides will slim down during preparations!! oops! did you say "most" and not "all"?!?!? Shit!!! mustn't be the minority!!

me also wanna mingle with the guests before the dinner.... if not, all my frens got no chance to talk to me!!! heehehehehee.... hope my mum doesnt hav violent objection about it....

jul

Hi Jan,

You're not alone. I'm fickle too. I guess if I know exactly what I want, I can ask my bridal shop if they can do it. No, then I sell off package right? But now I still have no idea. *sigh*

Hey! I also have the same idea of mingling with as many guests as possible during reception, so that more pple can admire how nice I look. *haha*

yvonne

Hi Ever,
U NEVER TRY U NEVER KNOW... so go try on the gown! I thk the bridal shop will do a gown which suits for yr frame (bring out the assets) n hide yr faults, but of cos u know best where to show n hide... hee hee!

Hi Jan,
U reminded me! Now i wonder whether I can take bustier anot??? Me too BONEY(bo-ba... Errrhhh)!!! /clipart{sad}

ever

Hi jul, think it's best to start MTM in Dec... cos you can take your time to discuss with the designer and they can start work in Jan.... most probably, our PS will be in Mar, so i guess they can still MTM for you.... most shops can do it within a mth, but that's dependent on whether they hav other gowns to do and not forgetting the CNY holidays in Jan/Feb!!!!!

hhhmmmm.... if you ask them, they sure tell you can MTM that particular design for you!! so, it's up to you to take the risk or change to another shop!!!

ya, me very sick of travelling liao... been going to china for business trips since 2001.... my bf doesnt travel very often, but really sian to leave s'pore... and for work!!! not holiday.... heehehehehehehee..... and always spend a lot on phone calls!!!

ever

yvonne, yr clipart not working again!!! you shld use backleash "\", not "/".... heehehehehee... type too fast, rite??

me tried before.... always liked bustier, cos i think there're more designs for bustier gowns... but, my bf also think the bulging fats too obvious!! unless i dont put down my arms for the whole day!!! heehehehehehee.....

yvonne, you going to try yr ROM dress at white link soon, rite?? ask them to let you try some of the gowns loh!! anyway, since you're there, might as well.... *sob**sob* imagine you're too boney for bustier, while i'm too "ba-ba" for bustier!!! hahahahahaha.....

tell us more about yr ROM dress next mon, k?? and remember to book the KB for next sun!! then we can go together!! Yiiipppeeeee!!!!

yan

ever, travel every month, each trip around 2 weeks, meaning u only have 2 weeks in singapore?? that's quite siong lei.. u going back to audit izzit?? if not, how come so much travelling??

Jul, for arm cut, the neckline is slightly higher than the usual bustier, and then at the arm area, it cuts in towards the armpit. its not a straight neckline, it has a same curve near the armpit.. I not beri good at description.. u can try asking the BS about such cutting...

yes, the style is a corset style, makes one look real slim.. and besides, my tentative theme of the wedding is Victorian, so the corset ball gown sort of fit the bill.

I tried on many gowns before deciding on this particular style.. but bearing in mind my ficklemindness, most likely, the style may change later...

Me also wanna mingle with friends, colleagues and relatives during the reception too...
they came specially for you, and if u dun even have the chance to talk to them personally, its so sad.. I think i definitely will be at the reception, its just the question of in which gown?? think i worry abt this later la. now the next item on the agenda is to settle my gowns..

Jan, I am meeting david on sun. update u later la...

Gals, wish me luck... My hotel is hosting a tea reception tom with lucky draw, grand price is $10k credit on the banquet... Ladies, pray together with me!!!

jan

hello!

Just had lunch!

ever, if really got to stay for 1-2 weeks away, think that's a bit too much leh.. It'll be like u're staying in china for like half of the time! hmm..

hehe.. so we all like to mingle with guests first! Ya loh, wanna talk to my friends too!!

Yan, oh pls update me on ur visit to David!! hehe.. Hey, but 1 question tho... Coz ur wedding date same day rite, 10 Jul, so David can't possibly do 2 brides' make up and hairdo rite? how ah, in this case?? Saw the photospace web, tot the girl's make up quite good, not too thick...
Goodie Luck to ur lucky draw!!

yan

ya hor..

but think the siong part is only on the 10 Jul morning, cos my dinner is on 11 Jul..

anyway, my dates are not really confirmed confirmed dates... its still subjected to change..
let me ask him, and see what he say lor..

poox

hello all may brides!!

pebbles: u're right....after booking hotel and bridal and actual day photography...there isn't much to do

well....if u're having mtm gowns, just looking out for styles and designs u like....check out theknot.com, quite a good spread....enough to keep u busy for days...oso....if u're planning to design your own cards, can start thinking of the design.

elenne: dun be upset....maybe he's really busy...better to call him then
are u gonna join the BV gals for dinner on next wed nite?

keanne: thanx for the wine contacts...let us know the result of your wine "testing".

garfield: i oso have not been to precious moments...but they appear a little more on the taiwanese style..tell us what kind of styles u like, we may be able to help advise...i've been to more than 10 shops!

yvonne

Hey Gals,
According to the contact list... seems like im the earliest to hold customary!!! I thk in Dec/Jan will be a good time for us to go for fitting/discussion with the designer. But bear in mind end year/beginning of year usually alot of weddings so the bridal shop might be very busy!

Yeah Ever, my clipart not working again!!! Aiyo... didnt even realised it!
Travel is bad idea cos' now tht ur busy preparing for wedding then got so many things to do yet u need to travel once a month/2 weeks, quite tiring man! I thk not suitable for woman who wanna to settle down n hv a family kinda also. I doubt ur dos "workaholic" women rite?

Ok Gals, will update my ROM dress &amp; Gown fitting on monday with you all. Hope is a good news!!!

I intend to book KB at Tiong Bahru next sat! Do you wanna join me there?

Yan, GOOD-E-LUCK TO YOU!!!
Also keep us update on yr discussion with David tis sun! I thk most of us would very much wanna catch up with friends &amp; relatives during wedding dinner. Also take lots n lots of pixs...haa haa!

jan

Yan.. maybe he ties up with other make up artists as back up also.. hehe.. But anyway, me havent visited any bridal yet, so dunno which one i'll choose also.. aiya.. hopefully i can confirm by next mth!
That means ur dinner same day as ever. hers also on Friday...

jan

oops, wat am i talking abt...
sorry, regards my last msg, i meant Yan's dinner same as ever which is 11 Jul on sunday not friday.. was distracted just now!!

keann

Hey hey...got a lot of things to do..such as schedule for that day....draft guest list....duties of ah yee...transportation for the morning from one place to another..make sure that all ah yees and friends are able to get from one place to another..etc etc....ang pow box.....

heehee.....was planning for good friend wedding for this sunday...that's why got an idea now.

Pebbles: will be back in aussieland next weekend...sigh...it's bye bye to good food!!

Have fun..weekend coming

jul

Hi gals! Just back from lunch, full, but neck aching like hell coz slept at the wrong angle yesterday night

Hi ever,

Dunno if I shd take the risk. I do agree that the bridal shop will definitely say they can do the gown for you. But dunno if the workmanship is on par, or how much top up they will charge you.

Haha! So funny, u wanna raise your arms the whole day? *hee*

Hi Yan,

Wah so complicated. So that means the front part is high, but the part near the arms is low? How does that help to conceal the fats??? Dunno if my bridal shop knows abt this...

Yeah, do settle ur bridal shop &amp; gowns first. Whether to change into what gown can wait till nexy yr, when u settle the programme.

Gd luck for your gown selection &amp; fitting next Mon. Hope u find some really nice gowns

yvonne

Hi Silver &amp; Yan,

LATEST UPDATE!!!
Y'day nite, me &amp; bf 'bo liao' drove to Sembawang/Admiralty to see the area/flat there. I like the Exe Premium Apt which looks like a condo at the exterior with balcony facing industrial/river (very cozy area) but I heard is abt 300K+, too EX cant afford, Hee hee......! Then we also saw some with semi-circle balcony, quite nice too... haa haa! Btw, my bf went to get the brochures n info this a.m! He said not much queue and the 4rooms is only 110K-160K i heard??? Cheap hoh!!!

jan

Hey Jul, think u can look thru and cut out some designs for ur bridal...
But so far, heard some gals using Thomson, and they're quite happy leh.. maybe u shouldn't worry too much

Yup, the ARM CUT sounds very complicated leh!

Actually, my hubby was saying, why do we need to book the bridal so early?? 1 yr in advance?!!?! haha.. U know lah, guys! He says scarly the bridal shop close down then how?

Yup, Yvonne, update us on ur gowns! oh, actually ur ROM is less than 2 mths away rite!