(2003) Brides of year 2003

rain,

I know what u mean...My fiance and I only have a few places in mind...so maybe chijmes or sentosa or alkaff? We want something romantic and have nice ambience. Hopefully everything can work it out our way and dun end up in usual hotels ballroom. We intend to do two in one loh...if not only one church reception...no dinner. I still cannot finalise what our plans are...too many concerns and also muz coordinate with ppl and budgets.

Your church pastor quite strict about the location. Don't worry abt tat. Maybe u can discuss with ur pastor which church can hold ur wedding or ur own church if not rented.

rain,

thks for the info... i wonder is it my friend's church?? Church Of Saviour? Paya Lebar Methodist is much cheaper than chijmes leh...hmm...muz check it out...i heard Grace Methodist also can. Guess that Methodist is open not solely for their church members.

Wanna go irc now since u are here?

Rain i guess u jsut hve to wait lor. FOr now, just do more research. After the counselling, u can go full force into ur plans with confidence since u get so much info from here already. hehe.

Flyn the Mrt will be completed end of 2002. There are private buses that goes to the city too.
I was initially worried abt the distance too cos im a lazy person who hates to take mrt or bus. Always taking cab. hehe. My bf was afraid i will not change my ways when we move to punggol. And the cab fare from punggol to city will hit the roof! haha.
So i did some homework. Went to this punggol club chatrm to find out from those who were already staying there how are they are travelling to work. After hearing from them, i thought it is not so bad lar. so decided to choose punggol. Or else, we cant decide to choose btw punggol or near parents place.

Oh one thing is, Alkaff got pretty bad comments...so I will advise against it...One bad thing is the distant...I heard that it is really inconvinient and not many people appreciate it..and worst of all, the place is expensive...U might end up losing alot...( Just a thot!)

We share the same "vision" huh...want it to just be church wedding and no dinner!! Good, we can exchange notes...

Actually, I have thought of having a pool side wedding...And I thought of Hyatt..went there once and I really fell in love with that place...it is really beautiful!

Baptist Pastors are like that one...very strict...but I am ok with it as well...it is church rule, so, i have to follow...

Let's have a 2003 brides chat every Wednesday?
Just a suggestion.

Translucent,

AOG is Assembly of God. It's a penecoastal church so something like Baptist, Methodist, Anglican, etc. I thot u attend one of the church (Local Assembly) sorry, salah... i thot maybe Local Assembly is one of the churches

rain,

I also quite worried food not nice lah at alkaff but the ambience is nice. I have no prob meeting up every wed for a chat. SB forum ppl meet every Thu 9.30pm in #singaporebrides. U can also click the navigation bar and click chat. The chat windows will pop up by itself and u juz key in ur nick loh!!!

noo flyn. it is a diff church. not the same lar. ;)
I want my wedding to be 3-in-1 too. church,reception, dinner. everything in one night! Aftertt, can go home n sleep!

Hi Translucent, u good leh, 3-in-1...I thought 2 in 1 very good liao...u better...still got dinner...Me no dinner...save all the trouble...

U all chat lor...me here chating with myself and post all the messages...

By the way Flyn, Alkaff is pretty expensive ...and I heard the food is really a turn off...I have not tried of course..but I have a group of experience colleagues here and I ask them what they think of Alkaff, and they said no good..given a choice, they will not go...I thought of going Alkaff as well...but after all these bad comments, better think twice...

You inviting Relatives? Some relatives don't appreciate all these..and might think it is cheap...and will not give ang baos...u might end up losing quite a fair bit..of course unless you are willing to pay for all these for just a few hours lah...but ask yourself whether it is worth it or not? what's most disheartening is people complain about your wedding ...and u pay so much for people to complain..and that these people don't appreciate...I rather spend more money on my home or honeymoon....

hi rain,

i noe what u mean... one of my concerns also no aircon..only 2nd floor then got aircon...dunno lah...have to weigh the pros and cons with all the location....hehhehe...we are still here dun worry!!! u won't be alone...hahaha

u all chat about what?? I chat with you all when I am home ..maybe around 10.30...but I guess to late liao....

Hi rain,

no prob... we can meet some other nites...tonite cannot...i got appt...maybe can translucent make it? chat abt flats loh and gowns, etc...general things...and talk behind ur back hahahah juz kidding...

rain,

i can oni meet u online muz later maybe abt 11pm plus...u can make it or not...maybe u sleep liao. i think we are flooding this thread hahahah

I also have appointment tonight, that is why can only chat at around 10.30..but never mind lah..cannot make it also never mind...can make it for another day..

SO , u gals going to meet tomorrow ? Both of you going HDB tomorrow right?

U tomorow have to go HDB right..?? and I have to wake up early in the morning as well..so, tonight's chat have to cancel lor...

Yeah, we are flooding this thread already...

aiya, I give you my Personal e-mail ok..
E-mail me lah..
..I don't have Icq...Three of us very talkative leh...
..Chat and Chat...like no need to work like that...hai...actually, I am off work liao...just stay in the office for the fun of it

rain,

I'm going to HDB tomorrow, maybe translucent too...didn't arrange to meet her up. U leh? are u going too? U got icq or not? maybe we can also chat there?

wow so hve to wake up so early! FLyn just left icq. going out soon. i jsut send u an email did u get it?

rain if we choose to hold our wedding at like country club instead of hotel right how much do u think pple will give ang bao huh/

it also depends on whether it is day or night...night, people will give more..lunch time, people will give less...maybe $20 or some even $10...they don't really care where you have your wedding..as long as can see day light one, will half the ang bao...

Hi ,

Just send u a e-mail...I am leaving office at 6 today...so, can still chat with you for a while..I mean through e-mail or something...

huh so stingy! i was thinking of holding it in a country club. so i can spend more on my house. sigh. maybe will end up like u, not hving a dinner to save all the worries! yar i got ur email! i stay very near murdoch!

So, u stay over at Kardinya? Or Melville?

People will usually give more if you have it in a ballroom..of course, that depends on the people u are inviting..Best friend will give alot more even if you have it in a hawker centre (*_*)..But for relatives, some will depend on the location, food, place , day or night etc...so, the ang bao varies...Just ask yourself who u are inviting and whether they will sabo you or not...if they are nice people, then no matter where u have your wedding, they will not sabo you and give u $10!!

Good luck

Wow, I talk like asif I am married right? ...hahhahaha'

Rain u just know more mah. must hve spend too much time in here.
Small world really. Almost feel im back in perth again chatting with u! I miss Perth...
I am staying very near WIntrop shopping centre man! But I study in CUrtin not Murdoch.

Tell u something ok..Now can go back to Perth...fly Malaysia Airline only $300 plus...today's paper...cheap hor....So tempted...But me no leave..

And I miss perth so much..
..Oh, Wintrop...THat chinese cafe still there? I like to eat their Assam Laksa.....And I always go the chinese provision shop for my maggie noddle...

hahaahah. Yar the cafe still there. i lurrve their mee goreng. n melaka sago! Oh n roast chicken is hot! Hey u dont hve to go already huh? still can chat with me. i every "run" now. hve to chk this thread n email!! can fix one place anot huh>?

ok lah...we chat off line on sensitive issues like religion and all...

when comes to wedding issues, we can chat here and share lor..ok?

Just came back from my dinner....so tire...talk to you and flyn tomorrow...

Hi flyn,

i can chat tonight in SB ...I do not have ICQ , so cannot chat ICQ...so, if you are online, just drop me a mail ok...

let me know

I am to be a 2003 bride as well.. can i join in the conversation.. seems like a lot has transpired.. can imagine why.. cuz all this while,me and FH ve been busy shopping for bridal boutique and hotel venues.. and i will love some view aside from my FH.. in fact he has been most patient with me all this while... quite stressful.. is it not..

look forward to talking to you gals..

Veil

Hi Rain, Cocoa, Tinki and translucent,

sorry for not replying as i lost this thread, could not locate it till i remembered how..

wow... so many of you are staying in ponggol...me too... but mine earliest ECD is in oct 2003...

flyn, have you decided on a venue?
veil, welcome.. have you decided which boutiques and hotels considered? wen exactly is your wedding?

I am a 2003 bride as well. Like some of you, my future love nest is at PG21 and ECD is suppose to be Dec 03. So now, thinking of doing wedding next 1/2 of the year.

Translucent and Rain, I just came back from Perth in Jan after doing a 2-week intensive study trip at Curtin Uni. I like the weather but I find Perth a bit boring though.

Hope u girls don't mind me joining in our little chats....

Hi cherubies & gals,

I think most likely I will choose Rasa Sentosa for my wedding dinner... it's alwaz been my dream to hold wedding near the beach.
When did u apply P21? How long did HDB get back to you? I haven't apply yet...wonder shld i apply now for this quarter? What abt urself? When is ur wedding date?

Hi lilac,

welcome to this thread... i think translucent has went back to perth last week for new semester. Guess she need some time to settle down first b4 coming back to this forum again. Are u doing multimedia or mass comm at curtin Uni? Have a friend who went there for study trip too 2 years ago. When is ur wedding?

Hi Flyn,

mine took about two years before HDB called us to select our flat last Oct. mine is the old system. now with so many available flats, i heard that if you apply now, next quarter can select your flat.

wow, Rasa Sentosa.. good choice.. always like the place and beach though never attended a wedding there yet...do you know the package?

my wedding should be in jul 03. but i have also not decide where for my dinner and have not selected the bridal shop for my gown...

hi lilac,
welcome too... is your wedding around the same time as mine?

Hi Flyn,

I am doing Curtin's Bachelor of Commerce at Marketing Institute of Singapore. As part of the course's requirements, I have to go on campus to do intensive study, so I went there this Jan.

For your info, HDB will not have the RFS for PG21 from now on. My parents juz selected their flat on 15 Feb and were told that if they fail to select their flats then, they would be put on the new system - BTO. However, I heard that there will be a walk-in selection round in April for the leftover flats. You may want to call HDB to find out more.

Hi Cherubies,

I am thinking of having my customary wedding after I get my keys, that is after June if I get my keys half a year early. My mum just sent my hubby and my eight character to the ShiFu, so now I am waiting for him to give me the auspicious dates.

Hello girls!

I'm back...but only to take a breather out of my work load.;P

FLyn: I think the nxt time u apply, you will be put on the Built-To-Order system right?

Hi Lilac

I hve a cousin who just came to Perth for her course too. I think doing the same thing as you? U know Serene?

Translucent

Hi Translucent,

I don't think I know your cousin. She is probably from the other classes. However, I quite like the campus life there....

So when are you completing your course there? I suppose you are getting married in 2003 as well?

Wat is BTO like? wat is it so different from the past? Wat do u think BTO? is it good?? I have no idea at all... I do hope there are still good leftover flats for me to choose.

Hi brides to be...

I am back..

i ve not done much since the last time i wrote the previous message..

Good news is i am gonna choose my ballot flat in cantonment close tomorrow...!!! so for the past weeks, we have been researching the flat and ve not had the time to go down to book the bridal boutique.. i am probably going along with Ted wu though.. how about the rest of you?

we put a hold on banquet cuz since we got the ballot flat, we are not sure if we can marry ext year.. cuz we need to produce the ROM cet and i really hope to do the ROM wit the wedding, so actually.. we are looking at end this year.. but if not dates, then it looks like we have no choice but to rom first.. which i feel a bit sad about cuz i think it is only meaningful if we can do both together...

okiee.. i will go choose my flat and let you know what step next.. meanwhile, keep the good news and exciting updates coming, tis tread actuve!!!