(2002) Brides of year 2002

And not to forget our 2nd batch Octbrides who are getting married this & next week ....

To Athena; Hippo; Garfield; Doggy Lover; Lollipop & Octbride - Happy preparations for yr forthcoming wedding.

Halo, everybody.

I am a december bride too.Will be havin my photoshooting next thursday.

My guo da li will be rather soon, is on 3/11/2002. I am very confused on wat should I prepare on that day. Could anyone kndly advise me? My hubby is Hokkien wherelse I am Hainanese.

Thanks a million

Morning JenJen,

Thanks for your well wishes

Paisey, wed din talk much to u too, too engross in seeing photos, i like those pics which u were taking those fireworks, something different lor

Paris album oso not bad, there's a few i like too

Angeline,

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Happy</FONT> <FONT COLOR="119911">Birthday</FONT> <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">To</FONT> <FONT COLOR="ff0000">You</FONT>

Heyo,

Berypig, I dunno what my bridal will provide for my mums but u are right, I think will be quite exaggerated so she may feel uneasy....hm....hope I can persuade her to go OG and buy cos she thinks that OG clothes very expensive...will surely look at the price first if she does see something she like...and yup if OG dun have then headache liao...Where else can get?
If tailor-made, I think she'll rather tailor it herself....Not stated on the package that father's suit is included meh? Mine has 2 suits provided for my father &amp; FIL..

Gemi, Allure is your bridal shop? Abit confused so u got your WG &amp; EG (cheong sum) from your bridal shop and another EG u bought yourself?

Btw, gals do u think we shld put on the dress we bought for ROM at the banquet? I feel very wasted leh..spend hundred over but wear once only...sigh..thinking of wearing it for the M'sia banquet...

Li May, your Guo Da li so early ah...I dunno what to prepare lair so sorry..My Guo Da Li should be in first wk of Dec, if I'm not wrong...Any other brides to her rescue???

jENJEN,

Thanks.....
Perhaps it is just a diff coz u have only indoor.That's y....

Personnally I think,
You will like it and enjoy the pix if you look at it slowly...

Irene

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">angeline,</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">h</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff0000">A</FONT><FONT COLOR="119911">p</FONT><FONT COLOR="aa00aa">P</FONT><FONT COLOR="0077aa">y</FONT> <FONT COLOR="ffff00">B</FONT><FONT COLOR="0000ff">i</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff0000">R</FONT><FONT COLOR="119911">t</FONT><FONT COLOR="aa00aa">H</FONT><FONT COLOR="0077aa">d</FONT><FONT COLOR="ffff00">A</FONT><FONT COLOR="0000ff">y</FONT> <FONT COLOR="ff0000">T</FONT><FONT COLOR="119911">o</FONT> <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Y</FONT><FONT COLOR="0077aa">o</FONT><FONT COLOR="ffff00">U</FONT>

9818.gif

Sancai, thanks!! me now very stress wor....got 1 very eye-catching, reddish &amp; large pimple on the centre of my left cheek!! *ARGHHH*

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Angeline,</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff"><FONT SIZE="+1">HaPPie BiRTHDAY!!!</FONT></FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">Ladies,</FONT>
I reached near midnight after chatting with my Grandpa last nite. Tried to log in to the chatroom immediately after i reached home and also to connect my digital camera to the PC so i can send the pics to all of ya today.

Horror of Horror my monitor gave up on me..... Now i can't use the PC at home. Will probably have to replace a new monitor.

Hi..Obride,
Naughty naughty...make us so curious and yet not telling us...still can laugh somemore..

Hi sancai,
my actual day photos were out..was disappointed the way it turned out..badly taken..it was taken by a professional recommended by the bridal shop. Everyone looks so fat and ugly in the photos. upset it turn out tat way..called up the bridal shop to complain.
my day was ruined becoz of him.. arrgghhh...so angry. he took all the ugly moments...tink an ordinary people can taken even better..than him.

Now can only rely on the video liao..poor me..

To all the rest of the Octbride,
Let us know if you need any help from us..we can give u some tips..

Garfield,
Dun eat too much heaty food..leave the dou dou alone..and it will go off..sure ..u wil look pretty on ur big day...

Irene,

I face the same problem with you, I tie the card and insert together but look ugly, then I use glue to glue it, save all my problems

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
ya, impt thing now is ur wedding preps.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
sorry, can't help u.. my invite got 2 "slits" for us to slot in the insert. but i hvn't decide to print on insert or print on card! if print on card, can see the 2 slits, if print on insert, later slot in, the back can see a bit of the insert... hiaz.. anyway, will get comments from my uncle. i oso worried my card not think enuff to hv the wordings print onto them.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">DE-STRESS IN NO TIME</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="119911">
Since most of the time stress and anxiety is caused by time constraints, or trying to do too much in too little time, we came up with some stress busters that will help you de-stress in less than 15 minutes..

Play Like A Kid: We should take a page out of the book of children and learn to be more carefree and happy. Here's an easy way to do it; when things start going crazy at work, do a crossword puzzle, or word jumble games and you'll start feeling more relaxed in no time.

Snacking Right: We all know that stress often leads to snacking, but rather than having junk foods that won't do your body any favours, try snacking on foods like almonds, bananas, hard cheese and turkey. These foods contain a chemical called tryptophan which helps to stimulate brain activity.

Use Your Imagination: A great quick way to fight stress and negativity at work is to try this exercise; close your eyes and picture yourself in a beautiful, and peaceful area surrounded by water. Focus on the flow of the water and you'll be surprised at how your anxieties will melt away.

Do Something Nice: Taking the focus of yourself and doing something nice for someone else can quickly get you out of your stress funk. Volunteer work, pay someone a compliment, or donate to a cause.

Slip Into Something Sexy: Having silk, satin, or lace lingerie next to your skin can make you feel instantly better and it can change your whole attitude. Numerous studies have shown that women who tried on lingerie felt instantly better and more relaxed afterwards. So head to the store girl.</FONT>

Hi Val,

Sorry for the confusion. Actually I got another 2 gowns outside - a WG and a EG. I've got 2 banquets. Actually can wear the same set, but saw another gown I like outside, so got a 2nd package. A bit heart pain wif the $$, but then the famous phrase again" Once in a life time" mah...

Girls,
Thanks for understanding.... Think this weekend i'll be so lost without the PC....

This weekend will be really packed.... How about u gals?

angelia,
Thanks for sharing the article.
It will certainly do me good...... In fact i did some of the above on Wednesday..... but seems like after last nite...... i muz start everything all over again.......

hi gemi,

I quite like Allure's EG collections. Do you know whether they rent out their EG or custom make 1 piece(simple EG)?

Bluechin...my whole sat gotto stay home spring cleaning, for the wedding...hate dat

sunday go bridal shop confirm layout of photos

last nite chatroom not much people, but lotsa tok about ang bao

Thanks for all your well wishes &amp; cute cute emocons
really appreciated!!!

Tonite wont be celebrating with my hubby coz he's having in camp reservist!!

Bluechin, take your time to upload the pics

Jowie,
Spring Cleaning ah.... hubby and u?

talk about ang baos? wat about ang baos actually? anyone look for me? Who was there?

hee.... sorry for asking so many questions....

angelia,
i'm a regular for hair treatment. I do it twice a month. i think different salon uses different hair treatment products so it's good to check with your salon.

Thanks Sancai for ure well wishes... one week more... *bites fingernails*

Right now trying not to get stressed unnecessarily, and doing the program sheets..

Enjoy marital bliss!

HI Li May,

Welcome to the thread. My gou da li will also be the beginning of NOV...heee...

Well, what are the things to get I am not too sure. My mum is a Hokkien though I am a cantonese, so there is like a mixture of both. Actually, for Hainanese, think they are very easy with these things. They are not very fussy people and dun really follow the tradition one lor. My FH is a hainanese. When I ask his mum what she wan to get for gou da li, she says dunno, up to my mum.

Ok....maybe i can give you a general list of things to get.

1. wash basin
2. potty
3. a tray where used to place oranges on the actual day.
4. your fh has to get a basket to place oranges on the actual day when he come to fetch you.
5. a face towel
6. two paper fan. one to be thrown out of the car when u leave ur house on the wedding day.
7. a tea set used for serving tea on the wedding day. this to be given to your mil during gou da li.
8. a handkerchief. both the handkerchief and fan must only be used and held by you. To be placed on your wedding bed when you reached your FH's house on wedding day.
9. I got a red umbrella, as I am a cantonese. They believe that the bride must be sheltered to the car.
10. the plastic bath tub used by baby.
11. a sewing box with 12 coloured threads,needles and a needle pouch.
12. a jewelery box.
13. a pair of lamp to be placed on each side of ur bed the night before wedding day. must be lighted through the night.
14. a pair of pyjamas for you and ur FH used to do the hair combing ceremony.
15. Hair combing acessories.
16. a pair of mugs with a toothbrush and toothpaste in each mug.
17. a pair of red candle to be given to your pil by ur mum.
18. two pairs of dragon and pheonix candles to be given to ur mum by your mil. these are used to be light in each of ur house on the wedding day. The candle must be long enuff to be burn throughout the day as they are believed to be light since the moment you wake up till night. fire must not be put off....bad luck other wise...heehe......

Sorry for the long msg.......hope these info helps. these are what my mum got and what she told me. YOu can go to chinatown market to get all these stuffs....all in one shop.

Hi Romona,

Frankly speaking, I think if you are looking for a simple EG, you may want to try an outside tailor instead, cos these bridal boutiques usually charge minimum $300-500 for an evening gown. Unless there's this design which is unique that you really like and can only be found at that boutique, then you buy from them.

How about bringing a pic of the design that you like and try outside tailor? Just a suggestion. I'm sure Allure can custom make for you, about rental I'm not so sure.

Hi irene,

I 'bent' the cards slightly so that i can tie the strings tighter, then try to pull the strings to make them loser when required. Hope this helps.

cupcake

Cupcake,

Thanks but after that? coz my string quite long, so got to cut or tie a butterfly (i tie not nice)?

Angelia,

I go for protein treatment and hair trimming almost every month since i think 2 months ago.

But my hair still too thick lah....

Irene

Wah Corie, u very knowledgable lair..so impressed...
Can I ask on no. 13 the lamps if we already bought table lamp on one side liao leh...the other side can buy different one? Cos I only wan to place 1 lamp leh and...no. 18 got candle so long can last from am to pm meh and what if got wind how huh?

Btw, if my mum din take any ping jin from my mil, does it mean that all these things my mil have to buy? Cos pingjin is really use for buying such things right?

Oh gemi, wah u so kuo qi ah...take up 2 packages??? Must be very ex huh? How much is it? So both also got photography? or the second one is just rental of the EG?

Hi Val,

What kinda lamp did you buy? I also have two lamps liao placed on each side of my bed. But then my mum bought any pair of red one which is used especially for wedding lor. Battery operated one. As for ping jin, it is a small sum of money that is used to so-called comfirm the marriage. It is like a 'deposit' that the groom will marry the bride lor.

During gou da li, ur mil is to give an ang boa (pin jin) and ur mum is to return part of it. All the things stated in the list are to be bought by your mum as they are so called ur jia zhuang. all ur mil is to bring are other things ur mum might ask for, such as pin jin, oranges, liquor, can food, etc. But, a must will be the two pair of dragon pheonix candles.

As for whether there are candles that can burn the whole day, I suppose there are lah. Saw some really long red candles at the chinatown shop. Can also ask the shop whether they can last that long mah. I also kinda worried like the wind etc. And worst, from noon time till two days later, no one will be at home lor. Very scary to leave the candles burning unattended.....dunno how also

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">irene</FONT>:

Just tie a knot can already, no need butterfly, simple single knot. MM pre tied all the strings for me and i just slip in the insert.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
i think <FONT COLOR="ff6000">irene's</FONT> concern is the knot she tied dun turn out nice

Angelia,

Thanks for explaining for me.....

by the way,
after tying the knot, how long should i leave balance?
will it be nice?
or wat?

Irene

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">irene</FONT>:
There is an approx 1 inch allowance after the knot. just leave that bit dangling, should be fine. do find it a bit troublsome when tucking teh card in teh envelope :p but its fine i guess

Hi Val,

Yup, I took the comprehensive package from Allure, and just gowns from American Wedding. Actually I also heart pain, but after we went for Sheraton Bridal show, my mum kept persuading me to take up the 2nd one, cos she loves the gowns so much. That's why lor. Actually I din spend a lot lah, considering that there are 4 gowns, plus photography, flowers, etc...just over 5k for the 2 packages. Got a good deal for the 2nd package. And now I love the 2nd gown so much I can't bear to return.

Anyone thinking of buying the gowns after the wedding? But dunno how to keep them leh...also take up a lot of space.

I'm arranging for food tasting. Will go for tasting next month. Yum yum..can't wait. Now deciding on the dishes.

hi gemi,

i thot of keeping my EG. but bf says no.

erm... i have my ROM gown w me n it's just hanging in the wardrobe loh. as much as I'd like to keep it as a momento, I think quite useless just laying there.

so this time round. don't think i'll keep either gown.

think the fotos will b enuff.

Hi Pinkapple,

True also lah...will end up hanging in the wardrobe. Also, I think I also cannot get into the gowns (EG) next time..now already so tight. But I'll be keeping my EGs, part of the package. Was jokingly telling my hubby tat if I keep the WG, next time my daughter can use for photoshoot mah. He said I crazy

I'm having my Guodali just 1 week b4 wedding. Both sets parents met, but they didn't really know what to discuss, cos they don't know what to ask for. So ended up, my parents just asked for cakes.