(2002) Brides of year 2002

Hi Bluechin,

Aiya, e-mail me your account number and I'll transfer the money back to you, ok? Don't be so "ke qi" lah.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
so u finished sending ur invites??

yup, it was fun last nite... it's always so rite, gals??? hope we'll still be meeting up after wedding, &amp; next time will be shouting at kids when we hv gatherings..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
how come buy <FONT COLOR="ff0000">1 face towel</FONT> then still need to buy <FONT COLOR="ff0000">1 dozen face towels</FONT>??

can i buy 1 face towel then "paste" the "si" myself??

<FONT COLOR="119911">angelia</FONT>

The <FONT COLOR="ff0000">1 face towel</FONT> is those tradition one with some pattern and the Xi is printed on one.

Those <FONT COLOR="ff6000">1 dozen face towels</FONT> was requested by my hubby's grandmother, she said have to put those towels in my wardrobe.

Me back too back from my wedding last fri, the day passes really quickly and before you know everything is all over!!

Mine quite smoothly except our table arrangements abit screw up at the very last minute and hubby was tensed so guess that why our 1st march in was a little fast cos it affect our mood you see!

Me did buy 4D but nothing leh!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">vincent,</FONT>
saw ur email... really wondering how u look like.. i mean, curious to meet up with someone who's so... (how shld i put it?!) ... hmm.. who can "preach" so well..

can i assume u'r a very good-tempered guy?!

really hope u &amp; ur wife can join us on our next gathering.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">gals (&amp; guys),

hv mailed all the list... no major updating, juz did some formatting..

btw, i forgot to update the "Subject" of the mail.. kekeke.. me so blur..</FONT>

Hi Val,

Haha let me see the photos first, nice I show, not nice better not lah. Actually both hairdos I like, I've got quite a few pieces of accessories - tiaras, flowers, so my makeup artiste played around with them. I had different hairdos for my cheongsam/kua and evening wear. Basically for evening wear, just let down totally.

Maybe can try different hairdos for morning and evening. Maybe morning tie up, banquet time let down or something like tat.

As for your friend, I think you'd better discuss with your parents, though I suppose ultimately it's your choice. Parents give us their advice for our good also lor. Whether to believe or not, still up to us lah.

really?

starfruit, thanks.....

Then I put the Ang Pao myself....
How much should be inside?
Must it be in separate Ang Pao with the wordings writing there what it represents?

Irene

Irene

initially i also tot of giving ang bao and save the hassle, but it is cheaper to get the stuff

Gals, do u all get 2 or 1 tea set? I onli have 1, can i used for the tea ceremony at my IL place, then bring it to my place to use again?

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Irene</FONT>

My hubby's grandmother not allow us to use Ang Bao to exchange and my mom said all these items is necessary, I am headarch, don know where to keep.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Jowie</FONT>

I got 1 tea set too, also will use for the tea ceremony at my IL place then bring it to my mom place and use again. Buy 2 set also got no place to keep. Anyway, just use the moment only....

no i din use epsilon. it was an ex colleague of mine.... he grew up in Aussie... so u can imagine how familiar he is :-p anyway, something really sweet happened and we quickly forgot about this glitch and all in all, we had fun. it was a good party.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Hi Gals</FONT>

Anybody have any slightest idea on what are we suppose to do during the Guo Da Li day? Do we have to 'hide' cos I seemed to hear different procedures from other ex-brides.

hi gemi,
do show your photos to us!!! glad that u enjoyed your photoshoot, i'm getting all excited too, (tomorrow is my photoshoot)!

hi val,
guess it all depends on whether you're "pantan" or not. cos if you really wanted your friend to go and you don't mind abt the 3 mths befoe and after thing, then i guess its alright loh. but if want to play safe, then maybe you can send her your wedding favor or something??

hey corrie,
guess great minds really think alike!!! another thing to add though we're not having our weddings in the same church, is that i'm also a methodist!! i'm with GMC.

Berypig,
where are you??

strawberry, i'am here . :> Hey, there's another strawberry in the pregnancy thread... not u hor?

Ah.. tomorrow is ur photoshoot... hope u enjoy ur photoshoot... remember to tell us abt ur ps tomorrow huh

As for caterer, i have decided to use Fu Kwee Catering. Have eaten their food at my friend's wedding (2 mths ago) when i was one of the ah yees.. find it very nice *slurp*.

Hi gemi,

Did you wear cheong sum or kua? My bridal only offered kua leh...no mention of cheong sum at all...

strawberry, wat is wedding favour? u tmr photoshoot meh? Rmb must enjoy yourself and put on your Big big smile keke

Wah berypig, u already thot of who to be the caterer liao ah? hehe I dun even know how many person to cater for yet....mainly the food is for ah yees, xiong dis and the bride's relatives right?

Btw, have you all thot of what to ask your mum to wear? Or your mum are those chin chai ones? I feel like buying something from OG for her leh but she's those very spendthrift type lor...wun wanna spend so much $$ on her...we did try buying ourselves for her b'day but turn out that it's not quite her style. ai...headache...my bridal actually say that they can provide my mum with gowns but depends on whether they have the size anot...but I think my mum wun be used to wearing that...she quite traditional one...she always say she have a lot of clothes dun wan to buy...
tao tia man...

hi liz,
are you around? have not heard from u for quite some time. tried emailing you but ur mail box is full.

is your health better now? come in if u r free okie.

Hee hee... have not booked the caterer yet but more or less confirm which 1 i wana use lor. I won't be catering for my side cos i dun have many relatives. So the catering will be only at my in-laws house. Yeap, the food mainly for ah yees, xiong dis and relatives.

I also planned to bring my mum along to OG to choose her clothes. But if she can't find anything suitable , then i dunno which place to bring her liao.

Val, i think if ur bridal shop were to provide, sld be quite exxagerate cheong sum right? Ur mum likes to wear or not? If not, then better bring her to OG or other places...

Gals... how about suits for father? Will ur bridal shop be providing or will u all go n tailor made 1 for ur dad?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ohno,</FONT>
my mum said SHE gotta 'hide' until they put the stuff down, else will clash.. but she din say i need to.

Hi angelia (angph38),

My photos is in my website! If you've not seen it, it's at www.geocities.com.sg/happilywedd
(click on profile).

I hope we'll meet next outing too or any other time. We'll be more free after Nov, then, maybe we can meet one-to-one, or couple-to-couple or group meeting.

angelia,
Thanks for the explanation of <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"huang bai ming"</FONT> i think i've an idea of who now. cos i remember i watch the show when i was young. Izzit the vampire u r talking about? Chin Leng look like vampire ah....

will try to send the card to you tomolo.

Thanks for the cakes again.... tonight muz try.
and the revised list...Thankie!

vincent,
i also think your mail was very impressive! <FONT COLOR="119911">"Bei Fu"</FONT>

Chin Leng,
No worries about the money..... dun have to transfer back to me.

Ohno,
i also heard something about everyone muz hide.....dunno who hides also.

Starfruit,
didn't managed to chat with ya much yesterday..... supposed to talk about our invites rite.

angelia,
i think vincent's site address is <FONT COLOR="ff0000">without the sg</FONT>

i think i recall the vampire's english name liao..... izzit <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Raymond Wong?</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angelia, Bluechin</FONT>

If let's say our mother go 'hiding', who's going to receive those guo da li stuff? Can the bride receives it? Anther question: Also heard that hubby cannot come to our house with the matchmaker, the matchmaker and a helper will bring those stuff to the bride's house? very confusing now leh, too many different customs floating around.

yeah berypig,
of course its not me lah!!!!!! hai yohh!!!! hmmm..what are you doing in the pregnancy thread har????

ok, i'll remember what u told me: ask the photographer to take angles of me not so fat right??
see i heed ur advice...kekeke...

me also haven't confirm caterer, but mine is for church one.

val,
wedding favors are small little gifts that you would want to give to your guests as a token of "thank you". the common ones are potpurri, candles, chocolates, candies.etc..
ok, i'll try to enjoy tomorrow, hope its good weather..

hmm..u gals are fortunate, my mum not around anymore, so don't have the opportunity to choose clothes for her.. OG is a good option among mums, also can consider tailor-made for her if you have the budget. berypig, usually the bridal package provide coat for father too right? do check it out with them..

too bad hor, we can't invite each other to our weddings. may i suggest we have an outing/meeting after our wedding!! how abt that???

seems like dec brides this yr quite little compared to other months. (look at other months thread, very happening one!)

so we must come in here more often!!

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">All</FONT>:

Must hide ah? my mum never tell me anything leh.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Angelia</FONT>: So hide until they put the things down lah. put things down on the floor or on the table??

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Bluechin</FONT>:

Ya wanted to ask about ur card thingy. think u too distracted by ur photos eh. hehe. anyway i saw ur invite? very nice and unique. so how much is the cost of producing 1 card?

Ohno,
wat i remember now as told to me is that my mum will hide while hubby and the matchmaker walks into the house and places all the stuffs on the table. After which, mum will come out to receive them.

aiya, that pix not clear enuff lah..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
ya, ya, ya... <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Raymond Wong</FONT> hehehe..
btw, it's <FONT COLOR="0000ff">"pei fu"</FONT> not <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"bei"</FONT> lah..

TIA for the invitation card.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
think can put on the table lah.. <FONT COLOR="0000ff">hard liquor, oranges, pig trotters(can), si dian jin &amp; bridal cakes &amp; pin jin</FONT>.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ohno,</FONT>
hehehe.. me not sure abt that.. but then, think <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"tradition"</FONT> has been <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"modified"</FONT> to suit the <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"modern soceity"</FONT> already.

starfruit,
i check with my printer regarding the reprint already. Have to pay a set up cost followed by the additional cos of each card.

I juz need to let her know the no of cards i need on the phone and she will get on with the rest. After which i juz need to go down and collect my cards. Phew.... only need to make one trip.

i dun have the receipt with me now.... but i remembered paying 1K plus. I also printed ang baos with our pics.

strawberry, here i am again after u say must come in more often. See, i heed ur advice too.. hee

No lah... if i too bo liao, i will go n look at those threads... kekeke.

Ya, remember to ask ur photographer dun take too close up of ur face cos some of my fotos quite closed up.. imagine the small prints u see the face oredi quite close up... i cannot imagine how i look when the pics get blowns up. Arghhh...

Hmm, i dunno whether wana get from bridal or tailor made ... my bridal shop very $$ face ...i see how it goes first lor :>

hehehe.. me nearly become a teacher leh..

aiya, next gathering muz join us leh.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">R we hving a gathering in <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Nov</FONT> or arrange next gathering in <FONT COLOR="119911">Dec</FONT>??? </FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">bluechin</FONT>:

wow, angpow with ur pix, pity didn't get to see last night. So u plan to use the angpow to pack the money to be given out or are these ang pow meant to for ur guest which u will insert in ur wedding card?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
dun think she brought the angpow last nite...

hehehe.. if someone places it in the insert (meant for guest to put money) &amp; send the invitation to me, i'll prob keep the special angpow and "bao" using normal angpow, kekekee...

remember to show us ur special angpow leh... if got extra then give each of us 1 as momento lah..

starfruit,
the ang baos r used to be given out to our ah yees and helpers etc. Decided not give the guests together with the invitation cards cos not many ppl will be able to accept this unless of course they request to have one.

angelia,
no problem to give each of you 1 ang pao should i've remaining ang baos which i think i'll have.

Actually it's not really ang bao.... it's pink in colour actually.
not fantastic though. doesn't have multicolours like those u get during CNY.

BLUECHIN,

wow, you even printed Ang Bao for it.
Must show us ok....

And also, open your eyes big big and check carefully tonite...

Irene

good gal berypig...
heheheh....

but really thanks giving me some tips on the photography..don't worry, i'm sure your photos will turn out great!

have you do ur homework on how much it cost to tailor-made or not??

ok lah i talk to you after photoshoot tomorrow, i going for my manicure now.
enjoy ur weekend har!!

HI Gals,

This thread is really quiet as compared to other threads. heehee..yar lor...we must come in more often.

Strawberry - Enjoy your photoshoot tomorrow ok? By the way, have you shortlisted on the caterer yet? I am still sourcing for one too. I hope we are not to late leh since we are both catering for church. think most caterer can only do a certain number of weddings per day. I am thinking of using Smiling Orchid, Harvest or Continental Delights.

You are from GMC? Is it The one that is gonna move to Sengkang soon? By the way, have you choosen ur processional, recessional and worship songs? I am also having headache on these. How many bridemaids do you have anyway?

Wah..this thread is really growing. Only away for a few hours and so many postings. Been so busy wif work, and my eyebags are terrible.

Strawberry,
You will definitely enjoy your shoot - remember to smile just b4 your photographer click. Aiyo. Many times I smiled too early, so by the time he clicked, my smile turned "plastic" already, according to Robin - meaning very fake.

My cheongsam is actually my EG from Allure. I got another EG outside. Allure lent the kwa to me. I'm planning to have three gowns for the banquet - WG, EG, and Cheongsam. Do you think that's too much? Aiyo..must get money worth leh...spend so much must utilise to the fullest

I am trying to find tailor too. My friend recommended me one but dunno good or not. Also tailor recommends to do fast, cos nearing end of year/new year, they have a lot of orders, and may not be able to get the gowns for mothers by wedding.

Anyway, time to go home...very tired. Actually just came back from a short trip to Phuket, was very refreshed, but battery running out fast. For those that need to do suits, Thailand is real cheap. One friend did 2 jackets, 2 pants, 2 shirts and dunno wat for about 500 bucks.

Sorry Crayon, it's personal... besides its a long story.... dun know how to explain to u gals.... hope u don't mind.

so what now? do u feel the shi luo gan now? hehehe.....

hi gals and CL... sorry for not coming in to chat... I had a good time that night... sorry I had to leave early...
did u take pics??

angeline... i know ur bday tomorrow!! sorry din sing u the song...
9809.gif

irene... thanx for ur compliments... acherly I think ur pics are not bad too... perhaps they knew I wun choose a lot so they din do too well for me... I esp like the shot of u at the sea shore...

CL... thanx for the drinks... I heard that the waiter passed the bill to u... hahah... :P

okie!! going to chatroom now!!