(2002) Brides of year 2002

aiyo... i come in hor... u all dun want tok to me!!!
then i go off... u all come in and yak!!!

u gals must be busy with ur wedding preps rite?? me will be getting busier & busier with my work liao... especially after wedding... and now with the wedding preps, can't come in too often to chat lor..

i read some of ur posts above... i've been trying to source out whr i can get the helium for the ballons.. me gng to decor the ballroom with ballons... u all can gimme the helium contact not??

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">bluechin</FONT>

are u gonna stay at home and be a "tai tai" after ur wedding har??

then hor.. the wedding cakes to be given to relatives hor.. wat type of cake har?? pce by pce one isit? how many pcs in a box??

Jowie.
u verie funni....

u email Jaslyn the ballrooms contact ok....

Jaslyn,
i'll not be "tai tai"..... still believe on being dependent on myself and not on my husband.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">bluechin</FONT> u still here not??

but hor.. u realli sound like a tai tai leh.. ya lah.. true.. women have to be independent lor.. must "zi li geng sheng" lor...

sometimes it's diff not to quarrel one lah.. can't avoid means can't avoid lor... have to thrash out so that we know what's the problem..

like me... i oso quarrel a few time with hubby over the wedding preps.. but after.. we made up and now we are soooooo... loving again... :D

hi loreal,
dun worry too much. my hubby was sick few days before our wedding too. like what liz said, get him to drink lotsa water and avoid heaty food these few days. im sure he will be alright for the wedding.
9220.gif

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">jen</FONT>

i've just read ur posting... ya.. like u.. i oso have problems here and there lor.. but i always tell myself.. Marriage is a Once in a Lifetime thing and it's supposed to be a Happy Event.. so i try to tell myself to cool down and try to sort things out nicely lor..

u dun be sad sad k?? take care of urself and dun let the "hiccups" in the wedding preps jeopardise ur relationship with ur hubby..

hi liz,
wah seh, the hotel really too much. how can they be so rude to your sis???!!!
they are also very dishonest to keep that bottle of liq.

i have heard of such horror stories before. some hotels may keep ur liq and bluff that the liq had finished and persuade you to buy from them but u end up buying ur own liq back.
9221.gif

remember i mentioned that i had some minor hippcups during my wedding? i din want to mention but since we are on the topic and also to warn other brides, i dun mind sharing a bit....

me and hubby were very angry when we heard that the hotel had opened a barrel of beer without our consent. they tried to justify that by saying that our guests requested for it. the barrel was not finished eventually. we heard from our frens that the waitors were going round asking ppl to drink beer. that meant the barrel would have been less empty.
we did pay for the beer eventually since we know some of our guests really requested for the beer.

i din want that to spoil my wedding so both myself and hubby decided to let the matter rest and that allowed us to enjoy our honeymoon too.

let what i said before, nothing can be perfect. we can choose to remember the horrible stuff and ruin our sweet memories but me and hubby decided to stay cheerful. being angry wont change anything either.

so liz, dun let other ppl affect you.
i was rather upset when i received bad comments on my wedding photos but i realise that wedding is a happy affair, i should not allow other ppl to destroy the wonderful memories of my sweet wedding.

take care and stay cheerful!
9222.gif

thanx gals for all ur kind words... today i went out for a walk and on impulse, actually msged him to seriously think abt whether he wants to marry me or not... when I come back, I still feel sad but more calm... so I slowly write letter to him... that's why whole day never log in leow... I hope things work out... thanx for ur support...

Jaslyn,
alamak.... me no tai tai lah.... only like to be pampered u see.... All my life being pampered.... so now when i grow up.... still like to be pampered.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">jowie</FONT>

thnx me received ur email liao.. but hor.. is this the direct contact for the helium gas har??

Jaslyn...no, tis is the contact to a wedding planner, they have supplier for such helium gas tank, i went to a shop dat specially sell balloons and they dun have such DIY helium gas tanks

JenJen...buck up and no wollies!!
9224.gif

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">jowie</FONT>

so... how much is the helium gas if i get from the wedding planner???

if i nvr engage the service of teh wedding planner, i oso can get the helium gas from them meh?

Jaslyn...dunno exact price, but she said it's $20+ for the tank, balloons have to buy on your own
can buy wifout engaging their service, I've check wif her liao

Hi Enid,
If you want, can go to the China Square area to take photos...where they have the old buildings..
For me, won't be taking any outdoor shooting cos no idea indoor place as we are both staying far away from the town area.

Hi Obride,
Mine is included in the bridal package. For the hand bouquet i got for ROM last time cost me abt $80 bucks. U may want to check with the florist. Think should be around $150 max for everything.

Jen,

Men and women are different (if u read Mars and Venus, it should help u to understand a bit more).

'No hug', 'No shoulder to cry on': This is MAN ! I'm oso 'like that one' if me and my wife have conflict similar to yours. What matters is, my wife sms me the next morning trying to patch up with me. I don't immediately reply sms because I'm still sort-of-angry with her, but deep inside me, I know I want to FORGET it and make peace. I feel a phone call is better (more loving) than sms. And I (men) need a few hours to cool down despite she initiate peacemaking.

A few ways that may help:
one, be silent for a while (maybe half an hour) when u realise talk has become hot (shouting or argument).

If FH does not accept yr money to pay for cake etc, he has high ego (that is a barrier to marriage). Make him understand you and him are now ONE, what u have is all his (and vice versa). Must mention what he has is yours too to make him feel HE HAS SOMETHING TO OFFER, not just take from you. Maybe you need to make this comment a few times then he'll try to accept this fact that u're now ONE, not 2 individuals anymore.
Also, try checking his wallet (if that is ok with him) and if there is less than 10 bucks, put in a hundred and later tell him "dear, I know u have no time to draw money, so I place some in it", oso "in case urgent matter like I am in hospital, u need some money to rush down to hospital in a cab' etc.

'shown black face cos he say his parents cannot afford' - think positive, 'he is a filial son'. Transfer some money into his account and advice him to give to his mother as allowance to his mother. He may think he chose the right woman for a wife being care for his mother. (Man's ego conflict with money-no-enough, more complicated if he is filial and has an temper).

Anoher trick: persuade him to open an joint account, he put a hundred ach month in and u put more, maybe $300, then when he needs it or his mom needs it, persuade him nicely to use the money in this account. It's easy if both of u has a POSB a/c and the joint a/c is oso POSB, by using internet fund transfer.

'where to get the cakes also want to argue' - if u call it argue, then both of u shd calm down and talk, not argue on such a trivial matter.

'too many boxes also want to argue', 'bride price also want to argue' - money problem again. Understand his man's ego (for money is very serious matter to a man).

Above suggestions may or may not be of help.
PS: Kids do not try them at home as I am specially trained to deal with men. heehee.

Vincent,

From your explantion of guys' ego, now i have a better understanding of guys liao!!
Thanks so much for sharing guys feeling

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">vincent,</FONT>
thanks.. u'r really a gem here.

muz drop in often to give us ur precious opinion leh..
then can help us cut down conflicts with hubby.. of coz, we'll also be here to help if u (touch wood) get into some conflicts with ur wife.

vincent...u sounds like <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Kang Kang</FONT> on channel u monday late nite show "Jacky Go Go Go" hehee he always says <FONT COLOR="0000ff">xiao hai zi bu yao shue, shu shu you nian guo!</FONT>

vincent,
i agree with angelia that u r a gem here to help all of us with yr opinions. Thanks!

Jowie,
i dunno wat is <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"xiao hai zi bu yao shue, shu shu you nian guo</FONT> too <FONT COLOR="119911">chim</FONT> for me.

bluechin...soli forgot to add translation
...it means, <FONT COLOR="ff0000">small kid dun learn, uncle got trained before</FONT>

Thanks ladies,
when here's a need for me to be here, I'll try to share my man's view.

I love Jacky Go Go Go and Fei Chang Nan Nu, these programs always make me laugh.

angelia,
ai yah, my chinese is terrible u know.... still trying to pick up better mandarin.....Can speak but when writing a letter.... i need to have a English Chinese Dictionary beside me so that my letter is flawless.

i had a rough idea of wat she mean.... but i dunno which "yin" Jowie's talking about.

vincent...i love these shows! and last nite Guess Guess Guess...about the ghostly look gals, so scary!

last nite i went to a place at Jln Kayu for dinner, heard the steak is good...but when we went, it's a bit disappointing...my FH and I both tink dat after Morton's steak, it will be hard to appreciate other places' steak liao

<FONT COLOR="119911">When will most of u issue your cards out to your guests? Should i start sending out the cards to overseas guest?</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
how far away are ur oversea guests? i think it's good to send them latest by next wk (o/seas guests) cos need to take into consideration the mailing time, &amp; need to give them time to make arrangements to come to SIN mah..

Hey! Blossom/Liz,

Thanks so much for sharing!..
I also keeping my fingers cross .. can't imagine wat hiccups i wld have on that day..
ANyway, i'm mentally prepared if the hotel were to be nasty.. Even now my banquet mgr is trying to be so strict till i cannot tahan.. Some of the things like dessert they cannot cham-xiong one..
I got a table w 10adults with one kid.. As my dessert is served individually (western style) i merely ask the mgr is it possible to spare one more plate of dessert for the kid, the mgr say "is better that u arrange them to sit other table, we may not have enuf... " In my mind i was thinking .. how much does a plate of dessert cost?!
U know hor.. yesterday nite i fall sick.. my turn to get fever.. So i took 2 panadols and slept early.. Not to worry now feelin better..But my mood abit spoil due to work.. Hoping i could clear them as soon as possible.. Tonite going to CC fitting..

Hey ladies.. Really nice chatting to both of u.. Think we really ought to meet up after my honeymoon.. By the way, i work till today.. would be off Thur/Fr .. Monday would be back to work..

Mean while thanks all for the blessing &amp; wishes.. I also look forward to a beautiful &amp; Happy wedding celebration this sat..

angelia &amp; Jowie,
That's was wat i thought.... wanted to send them out by next week just in case the cards gets lost.
I have guests from Canada, US, Germany, France, China, Japan, Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia &amp; Malaysia.

So i think i better get them ready by next week for mailing hor.

For the local guests, a month before will do rite?

wah, ur wedding very "international" leh.. so many countries!!

for local guest, i'll prob send 3 wks or 1 mth in advance... then call them up to confirm again abt 7 - 10 days b4 actual date.

angelia,
aiyah, many of my guests either migrated out of Singapore if not married overseas or working overseas or they r not locals here. *SiGH* One day maybe my turn hor.

Thanks! Glad to know that wat i thot is wat u will do too.

Thankie!

Girls,
does any of yr parents or in laws insist on you buying yr pyjamas/lingerie on a designated day? My MIL says my hubby and i can only buy ours tomolo and only tomolo.

Why huh?

bluechin...no designated day for buying pyjamas leh, did yr MIL read dat in Tong Shu??
i even lazy to buy new ones but mom said have to...

actually urs is the 1st case i heard got "specific day" to buy pyjamas.. for my fren, the "shifu" she went to told her to get white pyjamas only!!!

Bluechin,

Never heard before leh!!! Pyjamas oni mah, dun think need to have designated date lah!!!

Your MIL very funni leh, where did she heard from?

i also dunno.... she says it's written on the pink paper given by the shifu so we must all follow......... i also find it verie funni leh..... and the worst thing is tomolo die die my hubby and i muz get our pyjamas!!! i asked her Wat if i can't find a design i like? She says also muz buy the pyjamas!

I got my pyjamas already.. no need designated days leh.. but really must buy one izzit? mine is b-day present from colleagues.. consider new can or not??

Bluechin, 1st time i hear of it too! ok if tom u cannot find a design that you like, then u get something not to ex first lor. Then slowly then find something u like.

Angelia, i posted something to u at NZ.

Jenjen, u dun sad lah... cheer up, everything will work out one. Really. All of us will be happy Nov brides ok?

Jas03,
but my MIL say the one i buy tomolo must the one i wear that nite. also heard from colleague that she wore hers for the make up session in the morning and again in the nite. So funni* Tonight i check with her if i need to wear it in the morning or not.

initially she want us to get pant suit pyjamas.... i insist that i dun wear pant suit...... so i'll not buy them. So she gave in and say i can buy my usual lingerie &amp; robe but my hubby muz buy pant suit pyjamas.

pk,
i think if your in law didn't designate u a day then nevermind.

hi loreal,
ur hotel is so mean but dun be angry okie. must rest well. fever is no joke. i will pray hard for u. everything will be ok.
9254.gif

hey, how come u coming back to work next monday?? did i miss out on something?
9255.gif
when are u going for honeymoon?

Cherly,
actually i thot it's up to the dividual whether they wanna buy pyjamas/lingerie till my MIL asked if i'm free on Thursday and when i said i am she say my hubby and i muz buy our pyjamas that day......

Actually i find my MIL okay and nice at times.... but she always listen to this auntie that auntie become so many things.....