(2002) Brides of year 2002

angph38, BlueChin,
we going strictly 8D, no extension, bec no more leaves, also budget constrain. 12-14 D is ideal.
We fly on 30Nov via NZ, to CHC via AKL (domestic transfer from AKL to CHC), night flight. Returning on 7December. No flight details yet. Sa Tour, $2500 per person. $500 each deposit. Balance on int-free instalment plan (UOB 6 months or citibank 12 mnths).
Basically we only go South island, my wife feels 8D too tush to go North and South. Feedback from friends said South is definitely better than North. I don't have itinery with me now. But all I know is, 8D does not include Mt Cook.

hahaa...then have to warn the kids in advance, each 1 allocate how mani balloons, if fly out their problem liao heheee

I have booked my F & E package to NZ at Natas too, we intend to travel on 10 Nov but all fully booked so we are on wait list now. The travel agent will call us in one week's time on the seat availability.

I have 15 days tour to North and South island and I wonder whether do we need to pre-book the Motel and pre-rent the car here b4 we depart or we can do it over there?

vincent,
Thanks! will check with hubby.... but i dunno whether i will be able to take the leave in December.

Jowie,
yah loh.... so funni.... my sis says like $$$ fly away....hee

We got this professional to do the pumping of the helium at my place.... a little ex.

Hi! Blossom,

So nice to see u back in this forum..
Happy to know that u've a smooth wedding..
After reading your experiences i could get that kind of joy in u.. So "xing-fu"...
So now i bet u must be feelin rather relax.. since all its over.. and it went on so well..
So envy .. So in nett did u make a gain for your dinner?.. Is your parents/relatives satisfied with the banquet service? Pray hard for me that my wedding could also be that smooth.. i so scared i would forgot some items to take note.. By the way, i've yet to prepare ang baos leh.. how many red packets did u prepare ? Did u give those little kids..? My parents was tellin me they would give we no need.. Even my mother in law said she would prepare to give angbao to our driver/bros and sis.. we no need.. I was thinking then who do we give????>.....????...

Hi! Eileen/Yuki,
Hows preparation? The last weekend i spent cleaning, moping, washing & tidying up 2 houses..(my new home & mother's home).. So shaged till my bones still feel abit aching.. So have u all gone on leave? Me would be on leave from Thur onwards..
In any case, lets pray hard for each other for a smooth and memorable 28TH SEPT ......
Have a blessing and enjoyable wedding day, ladies !

bluechin...i was told got sell the helium tank at $20+, can filled up to 50 balloons, tink have to pump ourselves...price is ok, can add a bit of decor to the house also

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie, bluechin,</FONT>
i oso tot of decor the restaurant with some ballons, but if get pro to pump them up might be a bit ex.. but if we pump ourself, the ballons won't float leh.
<FONT COLOR="ff6000">jowie,</FONT> u got lobang ah? share share leh...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
wah, u oso booked liao ah?! ur F&amp;E is fully self-drive or seat-in coach?! pls update us when u come back leh..

which agency u booked wif? how much?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">vincent,</FONT>
for ur price, urs probably not self-drive pkg rite? izzit the seat-in coach? hmmm... we intend to do self-drive leh..
therefore need more days, then can go at slow pace mah... in case we took wrong route.. hahaha...

angph38,
no, not self-driving. We sure get lost in NZ if self-dive. I only drove in Aussie b4 and that is when my sis was the navigator and she studied in Aussie then.
We prefer to follow the guy or lady with the flag. Never get lost!!!

hi loreal,
thks! i was feeling rather lonely since this forum is getting so silent. felt that im talking to myself at times.
9163.gif

i made a small gain. but totally used up in the honeymoon liao.
luckily my close friends gave quite a lot. the relatives weren't that generous.

everyone was very satisfied with the hotel service. im glad everything turned out well.

for the ang pows, we din prepare a lot. becos my wedding is on a weekday, no kids are around. we prepared about 50 but din gave out all eventually. we are supposed to give elders like grandparents and parents and little kids. i think the practice might be different for different dialects. i heard of so many different versions but decided to follow what our parents told us.

dun worry loreal, everything would just be perfect for u. i will pray real hard for u. just stay cool and pretty.
9164.gif

here's another pic to share with u....
9165.jpg

Angelia,

I actually wanted to book from Dynasty but they don want to take in any sales which is on wait list so I booked from Resorts Travel at $1318 included 4 night accomodation + 5 days car rental and extension per night is S$90 as for car will be S$70 per day. I am still on wait list, if can't get the confirm seats, most likely will be going to Australia or other places. I don really like to go Australia, beside Australia, any other to recommend?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
did u try chan brothers? t think their rate is something like 12xx.. can't really remember.

10 Nov oso no seats ah? hmmm... izzit the peak period huh? got surcharge or not?

wanna ask you all for advice? wat do you think of the color combination of this flowers: blue roses &amp; yellow gebras?
moi having wedding dinner at Pan Pac and the ballroom theme is garden &amp; candle light. the carpet is generally blue overall. wat do you think of my color? is it weird? got any suggestion?

I try Chan brothers too but they also don take in sales for wait list and they asked me to join their tour which I don want. Dynasty is the cheaper, their is $1188 for 5 night accomodation and 5 days car rental. Either chan brother, Dynasty, Resort Travel all offer the same airline (Air NZ), same car rental company and same accomodation, the only different is $$$.

We need not to pay extra becos 15 Nov onwards then consider peak season. But don know why so hot 10 Nov even b4 school holiday all fully booked till end Dec accordly to Chan Brother.

Jowie &amp; angelia,
me lazy to pump the balloons myself leh.... have not confirm whether i will use balloons to decorate the house.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
dun need u to pump lah.. get ur ah yees to help lah... that's what they are for leh...

Came in today after a long break and saw all the good wishes posted before my wedding... Thanks :o)
Really appreciate it!

Blossom: Hey, glad that you had a great honeymoon... blissfully married now I suppose? Keep in touch, yah?

Looking back, the day went by in a flash... am really glad and thankful that everything went on beautifully. It was much more than I can imagine.

To all other Sept Brides-to-be out there, remember, it's really normal to feel really stressed out prior to the big day. Just remember to keep your cool, delegate (if possible) and most importantly, to enjoy yourselves on your special day.

The most perfectly planned wedding can still go wrong, however, it's the special moments and the love that your husband and you share that matters!

Cheers to many more happy years of marriage. This is only the beginning...

Hello all, I've added in mine too

4 Oct, - crayon2512
4 Oct, - Sancai - Holiday Inn
4 oct, at Mandarin Orchard - catzball
5 Oct, at Hyatt - Emmie
5 Oct, - Jas
5 Oct, - thedevil
5 Oct, - tomyam, Hilton
7 Oct, at Oriental - OBride
12 Oct, - Athena
12 Oct, - hippo
17 Oct, - garfield
19 Oct - doggy lover
26 Oct - octbride - Novotel Apollo

Does anyone has the actual day "to-do" list to share ? i've fretting over the timing for actual day event and what needs to be coordinated at the wedding dinner.

Angelia, actually it is a miscommunication between my mother and his mother. My mother was expecting to see an invitation card from them together with the items. That invitation card is to my parents inviting them. The problem is his mother do not know of this practice as she did not receive any when she married off her daughter. However, my mother tell me she should know. Ah yeah, my mother tell me without the card she has the option not to attend my wedding.
Simply to say, communication problem. His mother say my mother should have told her if she need the invitation card. Very confusing right????
I stuck in-between them, don't know what to do. When told FH about the card, end up arguing that afternoon.

Anyway, it's over don't want to think about it anymore. Got things to prepare, still have not settle the caterer and church program.... headache already.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi gals,
I've added mine too.</FONT>

4 Oct, - crayon2512
5 Oct, at Hyatt - Emmie
5 Oct, - Jas
5 Oct, - thedevil
5 Oct, - tomyam, Hilton
12 Oct, - Athena
12 Oct, - hippo
17 Oct, - garfield
19 Oct - doggy lover
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">19 Oct - Lollipop- Chijmes/Oriental Hotel</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Garfield,
The combination may not go well together. Since it is a garden theme, perhaps you can get a bigger bouquet, those with fillers and ivy leaves hanging.. as for the flowers, go for something simpler, white and beige always work. Not necessary to match the carpet.

Hi Doggylover,
We share the same wedding date.

Do you have a wedding planner? If not, perhaps you can sit down with ure FH and family members to discuss the schedule, what are the things to prepare. Jot down the details and see that you dun miss anything out. Getting advise from married friends and relatives will be a great help too. The most impt thing is, not to be panicky. Be cool and collect
</FONT>

hi loreal,
my wk so far has been rather occupied. Had my final fitting at the bridal shop last Sat, &amp; tks gdness, the gowns still fits as it did 3 mths ago *phew* Very tired during the wkends thereafter &amp; slept alot. My table allocation is still not confirmed as there're guests who informed us that they won't be turning up
So had to reshuffle the seating arrangement. Moreover, my in-laws actually invite more than the max no. of tables! So a little worried if it's too crowded that nite. Keeping fingers crossed that everything will go smoothly
&amp; hopefully frens don't sabo us by playing games.

hi aileen,
my bridal car will be a white merz, &amp; I will be travelling from town to northwestern area &amp; then back to town again. Luckily mum allows me to leave my house b4 12 noon, so I can wake up at 9am

Jowie,
i know wat u mean....Thanks for checking....

i think it's not a matter of manually also... still have to tie the balloons leh. mee lazy mah

Hi Doggylover,
I have a list of stuff to do on actual day...i can email to you...mine is nothing much..just the actual day schedule, wat to co-ordinate ...tat all..

Wondering if u gals are having any ang pow box or just ang pow bag...?? by the way, rem. to get your fake eyelashes and ampoule for the makeup..

Long time never come in liao, kind of feeling lost leh!!!! Wedding date getting nearer &amp; nearer, everyone must be feeling very excited!!

Jowie, im thinking of adding more deco to my restaurant too but me &amp; my hubby very very scare of balloons leh, how??

Da jie da, how r u ??

Have all your ah yees think of any ways to tekan your hubbies?? My ah yees wanted him to sing from downstairs but cannot leh, too early liao, wait kena " xi jiao shui "

I updated the list again:

4 Oct, - crayon2512
5 Oct, at Hyatt - Emmie
5 Oct, - Jas
5 Oct, - thedevil
5 Oct, - tomyam, Hilton
12 Oct, - Athena
12 Oct, - hippo
17 Oct, - garfield @ Pan Pacific Hotel
19 Oct - doggy lover
19 Oct - Lollipop- Chijmes/Oriental Hotel

lollipop: Pan Pac main flowers are roses &amp; gebras. i think there will be leaves that act as fillers. The flower decoration is for the aisle, stage &amp; table centrepiece so i think they will add in leaves. i was wondering only if the colors i chose is ok anot?

do you all have any idea wat color to go for the gebras with blue roses. I personally love blue roses. beside the normal white &amp; beige, can anyone suggest some nice color combination for the rose &amp; gebras?

JasTan..
wow.. so confusing.. that is want I am afraid.. my mum also just told me (after the discussion with IL) that she need to change a few things.. I just told her to stick to what we agreed, make things easier. But she still going ard to consult other 'Aunties' who had daughters had married

Angeline,
my neighbour's ah yees made the hubby sang song at 8+am.. a bit noisy but I as a neighbour can understand one lah.. (not at 6am though)

My friend's ah yees made the hubby say I LUV U in 5 languages from downstairs as well..

How many rolls of films would be used up for the actual day?? any suggestions? I am tinking of 10 rolls....is it too many?
Wat are the flower bouquet u gals choose?

Angeline...how about floral decor? no need to be extravaganza, probably add some posies along the aisle, tied flowers at the back of the chairs or some floral centerpiece?
my FH also beri scared of balloons, so i tot using them for decor, as well as sabo my FH, gona ask him to squeeze burst them

Angeline,
i agree with Jowie about the floral decor thingy since both of ya r scared of balloons....

Jowie,
wow, u so cruel ah.... know that he scared still wanna sabo him....

Cherly,

I have told Angelia that i will let her know when the date is nearer cos im really very busy with my work,now have to do 2 person work coz one of coli being transferred to another dept &amp; no replacement till now!!
thus have to stay back almost everyday lor! I hope to join u gals too

PK, thanks for your suggestion but hor, my hubby reaching my house at 5.30AM leh!!! How to sing???
Sure kena complain one!!!

Jowie, good idea too, thanks u so much!!
Oh my god!!! u gonna ask your hubby to squeeze burst the balloons?????? Think he 's gonna scream!!!!!

JasTan... *sigh*... talk abt caught between both sides... I oso very upset... last 2 nights keep crying... thinking whether to marry is a bad decision or not... especially since my FH family not too well-to-do... *sigh*... so extreme until sometimes want to break it off leh!! I think I got big problem... and FH dun want to talk abt it cos it always involve $$ and later will quarrel... and if I cry, no use one lah... he just ignore me lor... dun even hug me to give me a shoulder to cry on... shown me black face since Sun when his mum bought jewellery for me... in the end he want to pay for it cos he say his parents cannot afford... where to get the cakes also want to argue with me... too many boxes also want to argue with me... bride price also want to argue... ARRR!!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jastan,</FONT>
i c.. then i better check wif my mum if she needs a formal invitation!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">pk,</FONT>
hahah.. my hubby can't sing.. if tekan him to sing from downstairs oso a great idea.. me staying on 3rd flr, so dun need sing so loud..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
will wait for ur reply on the helium gas thingy..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">angeline,</FONT>
aiya u, i even went to paris thread to post abt the gathering, but u still hvn't reply leh. tot u not gonna come in here anymore, then i'll "strike ur name off the list" lor...

Jowie.
so scary one.. my nephew was trying to do that in front of me.. I got so scared, and they so evil.. con't to do that.. so I decided to appear not scare.. so they got bored and stopped.. hiaks hiaks hiaks

Jenjen,

cool down.
Actually my side also have a bit of problem here and there but what to do.....

Now we are having the money problem also. Just pray hard that the dinner can give us a at least 50% return. No profit ok. But at least get back 50% and he fork out 50% then our honeymoon won't be so cham....

Irene

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
hey, what's happening?! these things shld be able to iron out rite? so ur ILs paying for all the wedding expenses? if so, and it's too taxing for them, maybe u 2 wanna help pay for it? if talking to ur hubby doesn't work, try talking to ur ILs.

hubby din want to get any $$ from his parents, so almost everything he's paying for it. so now i oso downgrading from my initial 4-pc diamond to 4-pc gold cos we out of budget.

for cakes, i initially oso tot of getting from choz, but guess if we need to cut cost, we need to lor.. anyway, dun think my relatives will appreciate even if we get them the expensive ones. so tentatively decided to get those 8/10 pc kind from neighbouring confectionary shop, which cost approx $5.50 - $6.00.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">jen,</FONT> if his mum is willing to pay for the jewellery she bought u, why shld ur hubby be so angry? unless she feedback to ur hubby that she's not comfortable with the amt. let him know that it's supposed to be paid for by ur MIL, if he wants to pay for it, get something else!!

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">bluechin</FONT>...dats the point mah, i even wan to make him kneel all the way to the bedroom if possible hehehee but my ah yees all gentle type, dunno can make it or not

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Angeline</FONT>...so early?? u or yr hubby teochew?
tink my FH will act cool and not scream, but in his heart muz be screaming like mad hehee tink i beri bad

<FONT COLOR="119911">angelia</FONT>...will let u know shortly, i call the person 1st

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">pk</FONT>...u are rite!! recently went to a kids party and my FH trying to act cool and pretend to burst a balloon in front of me, but i tink he act act onli hehee in 6 weeks time i gona make him regret!! hehee
he always say torturing him is my fav past time, i also tink likewise

JenJen...wat happen about IL not well to do? u dun stress too much, both of u will sure work out something, mine worse, both of us not earning much and my ILs is not paying for anything for the whole wedding, all is paid by both of us, the 2 dinners and even their 10days trip to SG (6 of them), but no choice coz they not well to do, and my FH really wan them to be around

pls dun cry anymore ok? u and FH will be together for life, so everything will work out, can't possible let a wedding, which supposed to start your life together, to ruin it before it start rite?

me last nite also cry cry hehee
9184.gif
coz FH going to set up own biz in nov...at this time when we need moni most! and our house coming next yr leh, if his biz die, both of us and the house will die together

but he has tried beri hard to reassure me, so if die, all die together lor

angelia...i juz spoken to this lady, she's actually my wedding planner, it's a small tank filled wif helium gas, there's switch to turn it on and off, need to tie the balloons manually....i am tinking of using cloth ribbons to tie the ballons...anyway i will email her number to u shortly

Angelia,

I got reply u in Paris thread lah!!!!! got lah, really got!!!! OH PLSSSSSSSS DUN STRIKE ME OFF THE LIST HOR??? I still want to join this thread one!!! Okie, i will sneak in more often when my boss is not around hor, pls dun " sweep " me out of this family!

Jowie, I belong half to Teochew coz my mum Teochew but we r not following Teochew's rule lah. Due to my date is being selected one, so do my time lor! I must make sure i leave my house latest by 6.30AM, therfore i ask my hubby to reach my house at 5.30AM, an hour allowances for my ah yees to tekan him first lor.

Wa, your hubby still act cool man!!! U really very funni, he sure scream &amp; start scolding deep in his heart

Actually i can use this method on my hubby too but his brothers knew i scre balloons too, scare kena tekan by them so better give up this idea

guess we all more or less same same.. me n hubby footing all bills/expenses ourselves.. even the si dian jin.. so cheap cheap settle can already.. (anyway I should be getting number of jewellery from my sisters/cousins/auntie/sisters'IL.. coz I m youngest in the family.. hehe)

but i told my mum that all bills/angbos will be foot by 2 of us.. so she say she will refund most of it lor

dance40, angelia, jowie... if my hubby allow me to help him pay... all problems will be minimised... but he dun want my $$ help!!
9186.gif

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
wah, ur hubby so "da nan ren" one ah?! actually my huby oso.. but then when it really bring his bank balance to "0", he's got no choice.

let ur hubby noe nowadays it's normaal that the couple pay for the expenses. i was thinking, if my hubby like ur hubby, then i'll die die go for my diamond, and choz cakes.. who ask him to be so "yao mian zi".. u wan mian zi, then get everything expensive one lah..
there's a limit to everything.....

try talking to him again.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
got ur contact, thx.. but, she's ur wedding planner leh, if we get from her, got extra charge or not? 1 tank can fill 50 ballons rite?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">angeline,</FONT>
kidding only lah... u got reply me ah? hehehe.. i dun remember leh.. then somemore no record leh.. kekeke....

9188.gif

<FONT FACE="courier new"><FONT COLOR="0000ff">
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">4th Gathering (fotos viewing session) </FONT>

Date: 09 Oct, Wed
Venue: City Hall (again?)
Time: 6.30pm - 7pm

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Nick --------------- Coming? </FONT>
angph38 ------------ Yes
aprmin ------------- Yes
bluechin ----------- Yes
Chin Leng &amp; wife --- Yes
dance40 ------------ Yes
nikki -------------- Yes
jas03 -------------- Yes
jaslyn ------------- Yes
jastan ------------- Yes
jenjen ------------- Yes
jo jo -------------- Yes
jowie -------------- Yes
ohno --------------- Yes
pk ----------------- Yes
starfruit ---------- Yes
<FONT COLOR="119911">
angeline ----------- kiv
canfused ----------- kiv
cherly ------------- kiv
</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff0000">
mint --------------- No (exam)
vincent &amp; wife ----- No (in-camp reservist)
</FONT></FONT></FONT>

Really happy that I'll be able to meet you ladies soon!

Hi PK,

You've met me at The Regent Bridal show? I know your hubby, right?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jenjen</FONT>:

Dun be upset. Its usual to have quarrels during the wedding planning stage. This becos its one of the biggest event in both ur life and u both wants it to be perfect. little things will crop up here and there and its normal to argue about it. U just have to not get too affected by it cos eveything will turn out fine in the end.
Most of my married girl friends (about 80% of them) all cried before the wedding due to similar situation.
Me inclusive. i was crying a few days back cos my hubby is out of the country now and i have to sort out all the wedding details by myself.. I was beginning to feel that its a burden cos i even have to handle stuff that should be his responsibility (like his guest list, sorting tabel arrangement with my PIL etc). So its really taxing for my emotionally cos he is not here to work it out with me and i have to make all the decision and pray that everything i decide is correct.
But i am fine now cos i know everything will turn out fine. And not to mention that all you girls here in this forum has really been a great support group.

Let us know if u need to talk about it further, we will sure lend our ears